Is it a genuine attempt to regulate the tourist industry, or is it a money grab. Many of the players affected, who are small to medium size operators, believe the latter.

The government is currently introducing the Tourist Accommodation Bill, 2025, and it has provoked a hailstorm of public commentary. The blogmaster suspects that Minister of Tourism Ian Gooding-Edgehill may now regret appearing on Brasstacks last Friday with veteran moderator David Ellis. The calls that came in, many from those directly affected by the proposed legislation, did not hold back. Glaring gaps were exposed. One is left to wonder: is this yet another piece of legislation the government will have to wheel and come again?

The blogmaster has long mused on a troubling pattern. Successive governments seem to find urgency when pushing through legislation that disproportionately affects small players, especially those without the benefit of deep pockets or political connections. Meanwhile, laws that promise transparency and accountability, Freedom of Information, Integrity in Public Office, and other long-promised reform at Licensing Authority and Barbados Revenue Authority for example, remain stuck in draft form, buried in committee or implementation deficit malaise. Why the selective urgency? Who the horse like it licks and kicks those it dislikes.

Why is there no rush to pass legislation that would hold the Barbados Bar Association and the Disciplinary Committee accountable to long suffering clients? What about meaningful support for the Police Complaints Authority? Over a year ago, Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce promised Barbadians an investigation into a slapping incident that occurred on Kadooment Day 2024. A promise some say, is comfort for a fool – see the video.

The blogmaster also recalls the fate of small Black businessmen who pioneered the reconditioned vehicle industry in the 80s. They were forced out of business when government sided with big dealerships and overregulated the sector. The result? Barbadians at the lower end of the economic scale – those who relied on affordable transportation – were the ones left to pay the price.

This is the Barbados we know. A country where legislation is often wielded not as a tool of justice, but as a weapon to exclude. Where the small man is asked to comply, while the big man is allowed to maneuver to hearts content. Until we level the playing field between the Meades and Persians, the cycle will continue.

Here is the Brasstacks podcast to listen to the Minister of Tourism.

127 responses to “Wheel and Come Again Mr. Minister?”

1. @Simple Simon

According to the Bill you have 5 years to comply?

2. “The Bill contains more than the 250k fine….”
    ~~~~~~~
    Fair Enuff Boss.

But we ALL know, (and the ‘guvament’ knows well Enuff too,) …that such inspections, and indeed ANY regulation of 6000 short term rental units (some of which may be just one-off or ‘once-in-a-while’ rentals, IS IMPOSSIBLE in a place where …
    – not even vehicle registrations are DOABLE.
    – the police are not even able to deal with road accidents
    – you can’t get yuh OVERPAID tax refunds … some owed SINCE 2014….
    – critical medical operations are often scheduled a YEAR away..
    – SIMPLE court cases takes 10 YEARS

In which universe are we now able to inspect a constantly changing pool of 6000 short term rental properties, in a timely manner (guests arrive whether the permit is given or not), and in any meaningful way?

AND WHY??!!
    What is the urgent (or indeed ANY) problem that needs to be addressed in an IMPRESSIVELY successful sector?
    – EXCEPT for the increasingly EMPTY shiite hotels?
    ( a domino tournament at the spanking new Sam Lords? – WHAT A BARGAIN!!!)

Steupsss…
    ANY level of analysis shows this to be an IDIOTIC attempt to protect a dying sector by suppressing the new kid on the block – who happens to be MUCH darker in hue.

Consider…
    90% of ALL hotel receipts NEVER reach Barbados.
    During Covid, when we had NO damn tourists, the impact on our foreign exchange holdings was MINIMAL – (and why?) …because LESS of our resources was being DRAINED by the damn hotels.

Karma is a female canine…
    Just when they invested BILLIONS into their enhanced attempts to rob us EVEN more, with multiple new foreign owned structures blocking our world class sea views, …their product is being SUPERSEDED by ORDINARY accommodation, owned by ORDINARY citizens – AND THE MONEY EARNED STAYS AT HOME.

The only real disappointment is the EAGERNESS of our Judas-like politicians and their second-rate ‘advisors’ and proxies to become agents of these pirates.
    BUT OF COURSE this is related to the FACT that the ’stay-at-home’ money is not very likely to pay bribes, make ‘political contributions’ or to provide personal ‘off-the-book’ favors….

What a set of traitors!
    What a place!

3. Reading this morning’s Nation and the case of a couple of “gentlemen’ convicted of being in possession of nearly 900 pounds of marijuana. The offense took place in 2008. The fines are $25,000 for the main guy and $20,000 for his assistant. One of the gentlemen had his attorney submit a sick certificate on his behalf and has been granted an extension to complete payment for an offense which took place almost a generation ago.

If drug traffickers have difficulty paying “petty” fines, how can mom and pop operators pay $250,000 fines?

Very likely the “system” was slow in bringing the men to trial.

4. I am sitting here asking myself how many of our “ruling class” that is MP’s, Senators, Judges, Permanent Secretaries like in wheelchair accessible houses? How many have ramps, how many have stair lifts?

Our “ruling class” are us. And just like us are susceptible to NCD’s. If anyone of them gets a a stroke or an amputation today will they be able to go home to a fully accessible home?

Is government House/President’s House, or the official residences of our Chief Justice, and our Prime Minister fully wheelchair accessible? Are there downstairs bathrooms? Are there a bathrooms with doors wide enough to accommodate a wheelchair? Are there grab bars in the bathrooms? Are there bath-boards or bath chairs available?

I am asking these questions not only pertaining to the current occupants of these posts, but what about their elderly parents? Do any of our “ruling class” live in homes in which they can safely accommodate their elderly mother or father if a disability happens suddenly? And “yes” disabilities very often happen suddenly.

“Take the mote out of your own eye first” is a biblical phrase from the Sermon on the Mount, found in Matthew 7:3-5, that encourages self-examination and humility before judging others.

5. The ONLY intent is to scare the shit out of black people who are ‘uppity Enuff’ to seek to take bread out of the albino-centric hotels’ mouths…
    This is EXACTLY the same tactic used when slavery was supposed to have ‘ended’, but was replaced by ‘apprenticeship’.

Wunna really don’t understand that INDEPENDENT, self-sufficient, proud BLACK families are considered a MAJOR threat to the POLITICAL status quo?

Now if these holiday rental properties were owned by foreigners, booked overseas, rents collected overseas, and the visitors just turn up here to stay in their “friend’s” place … how will this be regulated?
    Would it even a ‘problem’ that needs to be addressed?
    Would this be the government’s responsibility too?

Of course not!
    No local blacks are being empowered
    No local ownership is being enhanced

Ours is a SELL-OUT government.

6. Northern

“I was waiting for the comparative numbers issued by Barbadian authorities? You could choose a parish or the country as done above, admission times via ER, ER times to be treated, by 4hrs or 8hrs or 12 hrs.”

We all know QEH waits are long and for various reasons; but there’s no need for me to provide comparative numbers from Barbados because I was not making a comparison. I was simply giving examples of things that “work” as pontificated by the Oracle BushTea. No matter how you how try to goalpost shift, a 20-hr wait, especially in a first world country does not exemplify something that “works”. Unless Canadian and Bajan hours are not both 60 mins. By the way the QEH recently issued this: “Patients arriving at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital’s Accident and Emergency Department are now being registered in as little as three minutes, the hospital said Monday, with overall triage waiting times cut by 40 per cent, following sweeping efficiency reforms.” They use a Canadian triage system. Here’s another tidbit I ran into doing a lil searching, in FY24 the QEH AED saw 25,725 patients–66% were serious problems that were not immediately life-threatening but required attention within a reasonable timeframe, 20% were not urgent and did not pose an immediate threat to life and 3% could wait for treatment when time permitted.

“BUT, surely we could be told the approved Budgeted cost?”

You mean as PRINTED in the Estimates 2025-2026 and the subsequent supplementary vote where the LOTO was present on both occasions? Yet, as you know, the CARIFESTA Budget spaghetti toss was started by the DLP’s third vice-president Stephen Lashley saying “the government has not or did not come to the country and indicate what budget it was working with.” You also know no one is genuinely interested in the budgeted, but the actual costs.

If the BU intelligentsia wasn’t so driven by a certain narrative, their members would do a little reading (like I do) before spouting.

7. The Carifesta and We Gatherin cost are bundled in the Estimates?

Page 23 of the Appropriation Bill shows 4 million budgeted but we know the deal. The cost to purchase the land at Carifesta Village site was included? The people have a right to know the allocation of f public dollars. We are not begging, it is our rh money.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/db1e133e2325112062e20e5755ad8961.pdf

8. We Gathering is 2,5 million? Really?

9. Everybody, including Enuff, knows that the estimates allow for various items to be arbitrarily spread across a variety of ‘Heads’.
    The ONLY person who likely can ‘follow the funds allocated’ would be the final voice.
    (allocate that under ‘Culture’ no one will notice it there…)

A BUDGET would provide a comprehensive spending PLAN for a particular project – ALL UNDER A SINGLE item, …AND it provides a gauge by which we can measure PERFORMANCE at the end.

In circumstances where there are hidden agendas, lack of proper planning, shoddy execution and / or questionable practices, it is understandable that NO SUCH BUDGET ITEM will be forthcoming.

Darkness is a natural cover for evil.

Thanks for NOT leaving us @Enuff….

10. Here again with the goalpost shifting. The original argument was that nothing was said. Now that has been debunked, the response is to continue with the disinformation. Have the PM and Minister not publicly stated that the full costs will be announced once all contractors are paid etc? Did you not publish MB’s article yesterday reporting that people are complaining of not being paid yet? The RHing will not make your rant anymore genuine or sensible, it does however prove my point, people want costs not budget.

11. We will wait @enuff like we waited for clarification around crab hill police station costs and Clearwater.

12. @Bush Tea

If being transparent was a priority 1 in the updates from government via Munroe-Knight what is wrong with saying the budget for project is x and invoices paid to date is y? Wouldn’t such an approach enhance public trust?

Piss in the blogmaster’s pocket do.

13. LOL
    Enuff want to be the ‘goal post shifter’ in chief…

Bottom line….
    “The ONLY intent of the Bill is to scare the shit out of black people who are ‘uppity Enuff’ to seek to take bread out of the albino-centric hotels’ mouths…”

It is intended for the protection of the big-ups, …and of wunna commissions.

Defend THAT goal!!

14. IN THE USA OR AFRICA ANYONE CAN CREATE AN ACCOUNT, UPLOAD THEIR PROPERTY OFFER PLUS PICTURES TO AIRBNB, VRBO AND BOOKING.COM ALONG WITH PRICE ON OFFER PER DAY OR DISCOUNTS FOR LONG STAYS.

FINAL APPROVAL IS WITH EACH OF THE ABOVE FOR APPROVED LISTINGS/ACCOUNT.

IT IS OBVIOUS THE BACKWARD THINKING PARASITES CALLING THEMSELVES “LEADERS” ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND ARE SEEKING WAYS TO INDIRECTLY TAX AND CONTROL THE LOCAL BLACK MAN OR WOMAN WITH FEET UPON THEIR NECKS.

MANY HANDS MEANS MANY POCKETS TO FILL BY ANY MEANS NECCESSARY.

15. “This accusation is informed by our well placed contacts at BRA. Carry on.”

Your “well placed contacts in the BRA?”

You mean the same BRA that is responsible for the assessment and collection of taxes?

Why would I trust the word of incompetent people working in that department, many of whom cannot answer simple questions about TAMIS and filing income tax returns……

…… that do not know partnerships exist in accounting?

16. I now get around to Artax. Please say it louder for the reductive BU intelligentsia! The argument about the fine is a red herring. To avoid being fined all you need are a fire safety certificate, health services certificate, liability insurance, number and type of rooms, hazard management plan and any other info requested by the Minister. The license is for 2 years. The hazard management plan and fire safety of the building are unlikely to change over that period. This sounds herculean or unreasonable? The other fines in the bill relate to making sure your license is displayed and invoicing your guests honestly. Shortsightedness, baby spoon-depth intellect, sophistry and being plain disingenuous have led to scapegoating the fine. The same choristers would blame government if something were to happen at a property and the owner is found negligent. I’m convinced most here haven’t a clue about the Airbnb properties in Bim and who owns most. Go research. Still in shock though at the reaction here because this BU intelligentsia often says tourism is dead and only benefits the white and rich. What a ting! Anybody want to talk about the data benefits of a comprehensive licensing system? I’ll leave wunna to continue spitting up in the air.🤭

17. Enuff of the bullshit do!!
    Who is arguing about the fine?
    It is OBVIOUSLY intended to intimidate the shit out of Bajans, so that your rich owner-friends can have ALL of the tourist dollars for themselves, …and so that wunna can fund wunna elections.

Your shiite government cannot even get a SIMPLE auditor general’s review done.
    In fact wunna decades behind in some cases. Yet YOU posit that all these small business owners need “are a fire safety certificate, health services certificate, liability insurance, number and type of rooms, hazard management plan and any other info requested by the Minister.”
    …and therefore the quarter million dollar fine is not important.

What fine wunna politicians does pay for ILLEGALLY failing to report – for decades..?

You obviously think that you are talking to children, idiots, or to those lackies in your mafia on whom wunna got nuff dirt.

That is the most pathetic of your post to date skippa.
    It is beginning to sound like even YOU realize the level of betrayal of the trust of locals who voted fuh wunna – that this represents, and it got yuh talking shiite.

Wunna does sleep at night doh…?
    What a place!!

18. @Enuff September 27, 2025 at 7:38 pm “…and any other info requested by the Minister.”

As always, the devil is in the details.

How do we know or how can we anticipate what other information the Minister is going to ask for?

Especially now that we have lost trust in the Minister.

19. @Artax

You are entitled to your view like all others.

20. @Enuff

It is a good thing the government is not of your opinion and decided to pause the Bill. An election is in the offing after all.

21. @Enuff
    What 20hr wait? That was the time until the decision had been made to hospitalise, and the patient was ADMITTED.
    Which was different from the given UK example of time to be SEEN.
    If you made your point with BT great. I’d take my chances in most Ontario ERs over the QEH, having experienced both. Barbados has some very competent doctors, but most are private.
    On goal post shifting, now you introduce a third statistic, patient registration time?

Others have already jumped on lack of specificity of budgeting in the public sector, and to use your non-comparative approach, it’s an accountability dodge practiced widely. One growing term is the Ombudsman bill, which lumps all manner of expenses, non specifically into a single number. That way, determining specifics is near impossible.

I didn’t expect a response to the Public Pension Reports, as there is none.

22. To avoid being fined all you need are a fire safety certificate, health services certificate, liability insurance, number and type of rooms, hazard management plan and any other info requested by the Minister. The license is for 2 years

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

WHAT A LOAD OF BULLSHIT.

I RETURNED TO TANZANIA AT THE BEGINNING OF JULY AND STAYED AT A SMALL GUEST HOUSE WHICH HAS 10 ROOMS THAT THEY RENT PER DAY SEPERATELY FOR 2 WEEKS UNTIL I MOVED INTO MY NEW APARTMENT.

I NOTICED DURING THAT TIME THAT THE PLACE HARDLY HAD ANY VISITORS SO I SPOKE TO THE OWNER AND SUGGESTED I COULD HELP HIM OUT AND LIST HIS ROOMS ON AIRBNB, VRBO AND BOOKING.COM TO WHICH HE AGREED.

I TOOK PHOTOS OF 6 OF THE ROOMS, THE EXTERNAL OF THE PROPERTY AND PARKING AREA AND UPLOADED.

WITHING 3 DAYS ALL 3 LISTINGS WERE APPROVED AND UP ONLINE FOR RENTAL.

THE ABOVE NONSENSICAL REQUIREMENTS FROM THE MINISTER IS TO MAKE HIM/THEM SEEM LIKE THEY ARE WORKING AND ARE ON TOP OF THINGS.

I CAN ASSURE THAT LOCAL BLACKS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND WHO HAVE LISTED VACANCY ON ANY OF THOSE PLATFORMS GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO PROVIDE A COMFORTABLE PLACE TO FOREIGNERS WHO ARE PAYING THEM MONEY FROM ABROAD AND LOOK TO CONTINUE TO DO SO ON A LONG-TERM BASIS.

THEY ARE ALSO AWARE THAT THEY CAN BE BLOCKED OR DELISTED FROM THESE PLATFORMS DEPENDING ON THE COMPLAINT OR MANY COMPLAINTS BY DIFFERENT GUESTS.

23. BHTA speaks…
    Here comes the usual black Judas, CONFIRMING that the Bill is ALL about protecting the financial interests of the Hotel moguls, and keeping small players away from the tourism pie…
    Amazing how such people are able to allow themselves to be used so unashamedly by the albino-centric demons of this world – who will discard their donkeys with great disdain – once they have served their traitorous purposes.

Fortunately the Wild Coot is there to bring clarity to the treason.

What a world!!

24. BHTA backs delay but urges regulation

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

WHILE WELCOMING GOVERNMENT’S decision to shelve the proposed Tourist Accommodation Bill for wider consultation, the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) is warning that the regulation of the sector cannot be put on the back burner.

Chairman of the BHTA, Javon Griffith, described the pause as “a constructive step, one that creates space for meaningful dialogue and collaboration across the sector”.

He said that while the BHTA respected the need to engage more voices, particularly small operators who may have been concerned about costs and obligations under the proposed law, Barbados could not afford to delay indefinitely on an issue central to its international competitiveness.

Opportunities

“This Bill has been under development for some time. A town hall meeting at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre in January 2024, open to all tourism stakeholders and the general public, examined the proposed standards in detail. The draft was also circulated by our secretariat to members on January 15, 2024,” Griffith told the DAILY NATION.

“This underlines why every effort should be made to attend such forums when they are convened, as they provide the ideal opportunity for stakeholders and the public alike to engage directly with lawmakers.”

Griffith said the BHTA has consistently supported a framework that regulates all types of accommodation providers, from large hotels to small guesthouses and the rapidly growing sharedeconomy platforms such as Airbnb and Vrbo. He pointed out that most hosts already offered “excellent experiences” to their guests, but there remained a minority whose practices fell short of what was expected in a tourismdriven economy.

“A fair and consistent framework is essential to levelling the playing field, setting minimum service and product standards, and safeguarding Barbados’ reputation as a worldclass destination,” he noted.

The BHTA chairman added that consumer protection, quality assurance, and brand integrity were at stake.

“While hotels are subject to rigorous inspections and licensing, unregulated operators can enter the market with little oversight. That imbalance creates risks – not only for visitors, but also for the thousands of Barbadians whose livelihoods depend on a strong and credible tourism product.”

Griffith made clear that the BHTA was not pushing for the Bill in its current form to be rushed through Parliament. Instead, he outlined several areas that needed further examination.

“The Bill represents a welcome step towards addressing these issues, but some areas merit reexamination, including licence validity cycles, proportionality of fees and obligations, enforcement mechanisms, and transitional arrangements,” he said.

Adjustments

According to Griffith, stakeholders had expressed concern that smaller operators could be disproportionately affected by fees or red tape, even as they agreed on the importance of raising standards. He argued that refining these provisions could strike a balance between fairness, inclusivity, and practicality.

“Adjustments in these areas would help ensure the framework is practical, inclusive, and fair for all stakeholders,” he added.

The proposed Tourist Accommodation Bill was introduced earlier this month as part of Government’s push to modernise the legislative environment for tourism. It sought to mandate licensing for all properties offering tourist accommodation, whether a five-star resort or a single rented apartment.

Officials argued that regulation would improve safety, quality, and consumer confidence, while also ensuring a more equitable tax contribution from all players. However, the Bill quickly became the subject of heated debate.

Some small property owners complained that the penalties – as high as $250 000 in cases of non-compliance – were excessive. Others questioned whether the requirements for inspections and certification were tailored to the realities of micro-operators, particularly those who rent out rooms seasonally or on a parttime basis.

By contrast, established hoteliers argued that they had long borne the burden of regulation and that it was unfair for competitors in the shared-economy space to operate without the same standards. The Bill, they insisted, was overdue in levelling the playing field.

Against this backdrop, Griffith sought to strike a middle ground: applauding Government for reopening the consultation process, while making it clear that the conversation must lead to action.

“The BHTA remains committed to working in close partnership with Government and other stakeholders to refine this legislation. Together, we can create a regulatory environment that strengthens the sector, protects consumers, and supports the sustainable growth of Barbados’ tourism industry,” he said.

25. @Enuff has others to cuss.

Big hotels vs small people

THE LAST Democratic Labour Party administration left us in an unsustainable position. It printed Barbados dollars to appease the public (or themselves), and when the public spent the Barbados dollars there was no foreign exchange to support the imports.

This time we have another problem. We borrow from Tom, Dick and Harry such that we have not enough foreign exchange as Barbados dollars with which to manage the economy, or am I wrong. Can we use borrowed money to meet a contingency? There is need to tax everything in order to survive and such survival is uncertain. Suppose Janet comes again? This time I would be unable to climb on the roof and nail down the galvanise or dodge the flying debris.

SOE concern

Take for example the state-owned enterprises. For a long time they are just there unattached and a source of concern. They are essential services without order and direction. I have been calling for books to be kept, and directors to be called to account.

Chickens have come home to roost.

Can we now borrow some more in order to give them a helping hand?

And now, you want to get involved with the fledgling Airbnb? Don’t you have sufficient problems? As soon as a sector raises its head to prosper Government wants to get in on the action. Government sees that US dollars are coming into the country by visitors and people putting those dollars in the bank, not so much from the established hotels over whom they have sparse control, and instead of letting things be, it wants to get in on the action.

Can it be that people are coming to Barbados, some booking into the big hotels, spending little time in the hotels but seeking their enjoyment outside, like at small restaurants getting good food, at Oistins and the fetes, and the big hotels are feeling the pinch and complaining to Government to do something about Airbnb?

Have we had complaints from people that there are no water toilets provided by Airbnb accommodation?

Are the bathrooms inaccessible? Do people with one foot have to climb staircases? Why in God’s name does a widow whose children have flown the coop now have to provide an elevator when she can choose what people she would have as guests?

You know that there is a fine line between a paying guest and someone who helps to pay for the food during their stay. How do you measure? What is preposterous is the proposed fine of $250 000 for anyone breaching the regulation.

The backlash to Government has been swift and vicious.

People have found a little berry.

Government says that it wants order and it has responsibility. Did it have responsibility when it was encouraging people to open their houses for the World Cup in 2007?

But suppose someone threaten to sue the Government because somebody provided a pit toilet for their accommodation? Barbados cannot ignore those who put up big buildings and advertise all over the place.

Argument

If I were a betting man, and I am not, I would not say that this problem will go away. Small people now have an argument with the big hotels. Big hotels now have an argument with Government. They are big employers. Carpenters are busy fixing up more Airbnb places as more Barbadians are making space for guests however they are called.

For Airbnb people, it could be a home away from home. There is the additional attention of the owner of the place. The Airbnb owner can be a provider of reasonable transportation, knowledge and contact. There is also the establishment of close friendships and reciprocal accommodation when Airbnb is enjoyed. The long talk about wanting to put order in the place may be just a lot of long talk.

Unfortunately, we are left to battle with Government on our own, but there is a saying “every skin teet ain’t no laugh” and people serious about their Airbnb. The little berry does come in handy.

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

26. Whose brand? Whose tourism?

WHEN PARLIAMENT TABLED the Tourist Accommodation Bill, 2025, its stated aim was “to level the playing field” between traditional hotels and the mushrooming, short-term rental sector, powered largely by Airbnb.

The use of this metaphor was not accidental. For nearly a decade, hoteliers have argued that unregistered guest houses, villas and homestays escape taxes, undercut standards and threaten Barbados’ carefully cultivated “brand”.

On its face, the Bill seeks to harmonise regulation across the sector. But beneath the rhetoric lies a deeper struggle – one rooted in class power, historical privilege and technological disruption – that the Bill both reflects and reinforces.

Historically, tourism ownership was concentrated among a small group of elites, buoyed by state concessions and global alliances. The “sharing economy” suddenly widened the circle. Teachers, nurses and retirees could list a spare room online, tapping into global demand with minimal cost. For the first time, Barbadians without access to large pools of capital could earn directly from tourism.

Dominance eroded

A 2019 study titled Airbnb, Technological Change And Disruption in Barbadian Tourism: A Theoretical Framework, co-authored by Dr Tennyson Joseph and me, argues that technological change, as represented by Airbnb, eroded the dominance of entrenched players and opened space for new entrants. This widening of participation explains why the loudest calls for regulation have been most strident from those whose power had been eroded.

The Bill introduces mandatory registration of all accommodation providers, imposes licensing fees, sets minimum health and safety standards and creates a regime of fines for non-compliance. It establishes a new Accommodation Regulatory Authority to oversee enforcement and pledges to integrate short-term rentals into the value added tax (VAT) and room levy system.

Proponents, including the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA), argue that this is about “fairness”: hotels pay VAT, health levy and room rate taxes, while many Airbnbs do not. They also frame it as an issue of consumer protection – ensuring visitors are not misled by substandard offerings.

The Government, facing fiscal pressures, also sees revenue potential. On the surface, few can quarrel with these aims. But regulation is never neutral; it reflects the balance of class power. Which providers bear the brunt of compliance costs? Who benefits from the new authority’s decisions? And will “levelling the playing field” mean granting small players the same concessions reserved for traditional hotels, or simply pull them under the same burdens without support?

The recent history of tourism concessions provides the answers.

25-year tax holiday

In 2013, the Government handed Sandals a 25-year tax holiday, triggering outrage from local hoteliers, ultimately forcing similar concessions. Yet, no such generosity was extended to small community providers. This asymmetry reveals the real contours of power: lobbying muscle, not economic logic, drives policy.

Even as Barbados’ tourism model can be characterised as concessionheavy, it is also resistant to innovation and fails to promote backward and forward linkages. Airbnb and other peer-to-peer platforms offered avenues to broaden participation, diversify offerings and inject innovation. The Bill risks stifling that innovation just as it was gaining traction.

A more progressive approach would align regulation with the 2012 Barbados White Paper On Tourism, which emphasises inclusivity, community integration and entrepreneurship.

Instead, the legislation opts for a “one-size-fits-all” regulatory net, treating disruptive innovation as a nuisance to be tamed rather than an opportunity to be leveraged.

Much of the debate has been couched in protecting the “Barbados brand”. Vocal hoteliers warn that visitors browsing Airbnb listings have no idea if the hundreds of lodging options comply with minimum standards, implying reputational risk. But platforms like Airbnb have their own peer-review systems – star ratings, “Superhost” status, consumer feedback – that are often more transparent than government inspections.

Control

The insistence that regulation is about brand protection, therefore, rings hollow. What is really at stake is not quality, but control. The ability of traditional hoteliers to define what counts as “real tourism” had been undermined. The Bill restores that gatekeeping function under the guise of standards.

Another critical issue is whether the Bill will deliver its promised fiscal gains. Proponents estimate that registering short-term rentals could add millions to VAT and levy collections. But collection costs, enforcement challenges and likely shrinkage of the sector may erode those gains.

Some hosts will simply exit the market rather than navigate stifling, inefficient Government bureaucracy, leading to less revenue than expected.

To truly “level the playing field”, Government should revisit the Bill and craft legislation that protects consumers and ensures fairness without choking off grassroots participation in the industry.

Otherwise, the Bill will go down not as a milestone of fairness, but as a legislative millstone around the necks of small accommodation providers.

Professor Troy Lorde is an economist and Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus. Email troy.lorde@cavehill.uwi.edu