A notification in today’s media raises a familiar question: why does a country that has been relying on its hospitality sector for decades need to import a Head Chef? It’s not just puzzling, it is insulting to the local talent pool.

Are we saying that after all the investment in culinary arts and tourism training, no Barbadian is qualified to lead kitchen operations at rh Haymans Market? Maybe it is time we stop pretending and start demanding transparency. The public deserves to see the job descriptions attached to these work permit applications. Let us judge for ourselves what “specialized skills” are being imported, and whether they truly justify bypassing homegrown professionals. Until then, the can be rightly accused of colluding with the money class at the expense of qualified Bajans.

The blogmaster of Barbados Underground objects!

Work Permit Notice for Head Chef position at Haymans Market, stating the intention to apply for a work permit for a non-national due to lack of suitable applications.

61 responses to “Work permit for Chef at Haymans Market”

1. KEEP CALM
    AND DON’T GET
    YOUR PANTIES
    ALL TWISTED

This is the standard process for visa applications required for employment.

There are never notices in the news when a position has been filled by a local.

2. Can you get it in your skull that the public has to object to the application? More importantly that local will be insulted by Bernie Weatherhead advertising for the position is insulting? Then again you have no idea except what you read on the internet.

3. Why don’t you raise a formal complaint / objection to “the man” if you smell a rat and check the response?

Re: So called Internet Shit
    Work Permits Section 17 of the Immigration Act, CAP. 190

All non-nationals desirous of working in Barbados are required to register with immigration prior to commencing employment.

The types of permits available to non nationals are:

Short-term /Training attachment).
    Long-term

Long-Term Work Permits are valid for a period of up to 3 years. In order to become eligible for a long-term Permit, prospective employers must sufficiently prove that no resident or Barbadian national is capable and willing to fulfill the requirements of the position in question.

4. This begs the question…
    What is the Pommarine Institute of the BCC there for?

If business owners can set whatever rules they wish, then it is fairly obvious that some of them will prefer to have high level employees of their own hue and blood.
    This may be fine in fully private businesses, but where GOVERNMENT has used taxpayers moneys to facilitate these ‘private’ businesses (for whatever unknown reasons), then some kind of SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY must be attached, to do what is best for the overall COMMUNITY.
    Enuff said… unless someone mek Bushie vex as shiite.

Think what a young Pommarine student must be seeing when this happens.
    Often, the imported incumbents are grossly INCOMPETENT with respect to the requirements of the LOCAL environment, and the SAME locals – who are overlooked and bypassed, are called to make things work…

In such circumstances, Bushie would likely go on the damn Block too… instead of going to shiite school.

It is such ‘problems’ that need to be solved if true EDUCATION is to become meaningful again.

What a place!!

5. @Bush Tea

What is begs is the question – whither the knowledge capital that should have been accrued over the last six decades.

6. Bushie begs to differ boss.
    The fact is that graduates of local institutions who go overseas often do exceptionally well when given fair opportunity and removed from our BB environment.

Also, “Knowledge capital” is no longer that critical, ANY SHIITE can now be ‘learned’ via the www in minutes.
    The ACTUAL problem that we face remains a MENTAL HANDICAP that chains our mentality with the remnants of 500 years of DEHUMANIZING depravation.

Unfortunately, our LEADERS – far from leading us OUT of this morass, seem to WALLOW in the jobby and are EVEN MORE exploitative than the former white massa – who AT LEAST managed to get things done.

LEADERSHIP is everything Boss…

7. @Bush Tea

The issue raised here is being able to supple local labour in a sector that we should have a grasp, tourism.

8. Good, Better and Best

The Best Individual for a Post with the most can come from anywhere in a meritocracy i.e. Government or the holding of power by people selected according to merit. “Barbados’ progress towards meritocracy was so slow”

Having received no suitable applications for the positions of Head of Government and Head of Opposition for the Political Duopoly of Barbados. It is our intention to apply for work permits for two non-nationals to fill these these positions.

Any person wishing to object to these applications should apply to the Chief Immigration Officer within two weeks of the publication of this advertisement.

9. @Bush Tea

Forgot to conclude. Leadership has to come from all actors. We tend to set expectations for government but what about citizens? Our passive behaviour in our so-called democracy doesn’t help.

10. @dub “Having received no suitable applications for the positions of Head of Government and Head of Opposition for the Political Duopoly of Barbados. It is our intention to apply for work permits for two non-nationals to fill these these positions.”

Ya killin’ me den. Lol!!!

11. Blyma one of these days I going see an application for a car where that can speak 3 languages.

12. Meant car washer not car where.

13. According to Abrams, an application for a work permit does not mean automatic approval.The problem is that we don’t know which applications are approved and why. This is what we need to know.

14. Correct @Donna, we also need to know why some feel emboldened to subunit the application. Have we nurtured the wrong culture?

15. The checks and balances are simply legal games for the hiring process,
    such as when verification and authorisation stages are put in systems,
    which become auto-verification and auto-authorisation for straight thru processing

employers have inherent right to chose employees however they please
    and work visas are required for foreign candidates
    the adverts placed in papers are usually worded so they are specifically tailored for the chosen candidate’s experience and no one else

example of valid objections being raised are when locals are laid off and foreigners are kept which is ‘in breach of immigration law*”

(*) these laws are copies of US immigration law

16. Boss, sometimes you are amazing…

When you see such notices, it is usually because a PARTICULAR person has been pre-selected to come here for some specific reason.
    Most often it is about personal favors, family ties or succession planning.
    The ‘job requirements’ are then configured to meet THAT specific end, and the position is filled.
    This is pretty NORMAL behavior in ANY organization, and generally must be expected.
    However…
    Where almost ALL local businesses have been HANDED OVER TO FOREIGNERS – under the idiotic concept of foreign direct investment (AKA selling our asse(t)s to strangers), it results in those strangers bringing in THEIR kith and kin for any cushy positions, while assigning the exploitative labor and clerical posts to our UWI graduates.

Normally it would be about the Elcocks or Williamses giving priority to their OWN family and friends, BUT these would be LOCALS… and to be expected.

Our leaders are SO STUPID (cursed), …that the descendants of our slave masters have been able to convince them – that FDI is actually a desirable thing….
    …but then again, …back in the days, some slaves were given whips and convinced that beating their kith and kin for minor infractions was also a ‘desirable’ thing…

Isaiah 3:12
    “As for my people, children are their oppressors,
    And women rule over them.
    O my people, they which lead thee cause thee to err,
    And destroy the way of thy paths.”

What a place!!

17. @Bush Tea

You believe the blogmaster is not aware of these ‘check the box’ moves? Some of these posts are simply meant to remind how disengage as citizens we have become. The ability to deviate from the mean of simple positions is hilarious.

Imagine a country in the tourism business since the 60s and we have to give a work permit for a chef at rh Haymans.

18. What results do you really expect when the people in Barbados have been taught and programmed to act like Brits and Americans not Africans.

Identity is the crisis can’t you see?

19. What is your locus standi in this Kiki?
    You gotta Sri Lankan business bout here?
    You ever heard about waiting fuh yuh trough to put out, before you start bubbling in it..?
    ha ha

20. “Are we saying that after all the investment in culinary arts and tourism training, no Barbadian is qualified to lead kitchen operations at rh Haymans Market?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Asked a now deceased friend of mine who was the executive chef at a hotel owned by a major hotel group in Barbados, why this nonsense occurs.

This was a guy who won ‘Chef of the Year’ a few years ago, as well as gold medals at various culinary competitions held throughout the region.
    The hotel group eventually brought in a white expatriate chef, with the title ‘Group Executive Chef/Trainer,’ who became his boss.

However, he said one of the reasons was tourism authorities advertise Barbados more so as a ‘high end Caribbean destination,’ such as St. Barthelemy, while there is a concentrated effort by hotels and restaurants to advertise their properties’ restaurants as offering ‘international cuisine,’ ……

…… preferring instead to dedicate one or two days per week to local dishes.

Property owners, especially of luxury hotels such as Sandy Lane, Fairmont Royal Pavillion, Elegant Hotels Group, for example, cater to a specific tourist demographic.

Despite the level of training Barbadian chefs receive, they are of the opinion expatriate chefs are better trained in culinary skills, management, and preparing international menus than local chefs.

But, most importantly, there is the subtle, underlying belief that white chefs enhance hotels brand image, service quality, and bring extensive international experience and expertise in culinary management, which is valuable for hotels to attract the preferred demographic.

Unfortunately, this mind set comes as a result of successive ministers of tourism and tourism authorities, refusing to market Barbados…… as Barbados.

A destination where visitors could relax and enjoy local foods.

There is a reason why Oistins ‘does be burst pun weekends.’

21. My wisdom has been accumulated from my own case experience training and research of life.

.. But my messages come directly from God channeling through me.

Behavioural Analysis Profiler
    You give the impression and fit the profile of an unsub (unknown subject) that has never left Little Island and is suffering from Little Island Madness Syndrome

22. This morning I had a great idea.

I was looking at the cooking books that my wife collected over the years and it dawned me that I could apply for the chef position and satisfy both groups.
    (1) I am a Bajan and (2) I am based overseas. Local and foreign interests are satisfied.

I have been overseas much longer than I was at home. Though I do not think of myself as a foreigner, a few of you already consider me as such. In fact, I suspect a few has gone on the hunt for my navel string with a plan of digging it up and casting it into the sea. I will not be amused if those who think I am a wannabe American, would now oppose my application and try to push me out of Barbados. I gatherin.

23. “white chefs enhance hotels brand image, service quality, and bring extensive international experience and expertise in culinary management, which is valuable for hotels to attract the preferred demographic.”

If ‘experienced’ foreign candidates trained locals to higher standards which they could carry on with then it world be ‘acceptable practice’

but..
    white hotels cater for white people
    (and the local blacks place is to serve the whites)

I have been to a German Hotel for German Tourists (invited by the Chairman) and it was just like being in Germany

Some countries have laws that foreign businesses are co-owned by selected locals
    So these selected locals become stinking rich fat cats

24. On reading more posts, it appears that I may fail because of Color….
    _*_
    Some good posts, but my hero (000) ad for “positions of Head of Government and Head of Opposition” is brilliant and his ‘check and balances” is well written.

His “.. But my messages come directly from God channeling through me.” shows what happens after a few puffs.

-*-
    The A guy at 8:57.
    Jus great.

Have a great day all.
    (As most of these topic are a yearly rehash of previous material, I cannot take it seriously. That is a great flaw in my character.)

25. The0 CIA Spy could apply for a job as a snitch bitch, his retarded marking mental masturbation of comments is a drag man and such a bummer he acts like a smart ass white boy who should be blanked out avoid engaging with him like the clap

AI Overview
    The relationship between cannabis and spirituality is deeply historical achieving a state of enlightenment or a deeper understanding of the mind and subconscious

26. “…… (1) I am a Bajan and (2) I am based overseas. Local and foreign interests are satisfied.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Are you white? 🤔

If not, then……. 😂😂😂

I agree that many of “these topics are a yearly rehash of previous material.” The only difference this time is the articles are serving a particular purpose.

However, I’ll ‘rehash’ a comment I previously made on several occasions.

I remember reading an article in the Sunday Advocate, a few years ago, in which the author outlined he was qualified teacher who decided to leave Barbados, and became a chef. He had also completed a degree in computer science.

He saw a vacancy application for a ‘chef/trainer’ at a local hotel. The applicant was obviously required to be a qualified chef, with a teacher’s certificate and a degree in computer science.

The guy applied for the job, and despite having met all the requirements, his application was rejected.

Another friend of mine was the sales manager at one of the local luxury hotels. The owners hired a white woman as sales director, and my friend had to teach her the about the job, simply because she did not know anything about it.

27. i am beginning to think that money recently spent on ‘How to win friends and influence people’ could have been better spent elsewhere.

28. “Another friend of mine was the sales manager at one of the local luxury hotels. The owners hired a white woman as sales director, and my friend had to teach her the about the job, simply because she did not know anything about it.”

It’s more a case of who did the senior directors want to deal with
    I’m sure she had some assets that they admired
    these people get the credit for work results their underlings achieve

29. “It’s more a case of who did the senior directors want to deal with……”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How do you know that?

Are you aware of the situation to make such a definitive comment?

30. “Are you aware of the situation to make such a definitive comment?”

The moral of your anecdote may be left for the hearer to determine for themselves or may be explicitly encapsulated in a maxim

Some employees (such as those with pretty faces, or those deemed top cream, or teacher’s pets who remind bosses of their own children) are interviewed and ear marked for higher positions and are fast tracked for promotions, which are followed by more promotions all the way to the top. When they join a company and receive basic initial training in a role their attitude is “I don’t need to know this shit”.
    Heads of Departments are groomed. Point made was top management want to interface with people they like and can go to business meetings and trips with. Potential Leaders have different qualities to the hard productive workers who are overworked and underpaid.

31. Why do we have to stray from the central point? Barbados should not be entertaining work permit applications for the post of Head Chef at Haymans. It is not even a 3 star establishment.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol. The central point is once certain can eat at Hayman’s at “reduced rates”, the ownership can do whatever they want. Any additional financial support cannot hurt 😀😁

33. @NO

Smh.

Should we include Cliff?

34. It’s their prerogative
    perhaps the chef has a reputation to produce good food
    with taste tests and reviews: the proof is in the pudding

presumably business decisions are made for valid reasons
    and they will either sink or swim depending on their moves
    bad decisions can lead to businesses failing

35. “The moral of your anecdote may be left for the hearer to determine for themselves or may be explicitly encapsulated in a maxim…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Okay.

Unfortunately, you’ve use EXCESSIVE reasoning, facts, and logic in your response, thereby resulting in a rather stagnant or unhelpful discussion that is essentially irrelevant to my original comment.

Surely, it’s indicative of the fact you’re UNFAMILIAR with the ‘INTRICACIES’ of the hotel sector.

If you were, rather than attempting to ‘intellectualize the issue,’ you would’ve known that property owners have a penchant for creating certain positions.

For example, despite there being a maintenance manager, head housekeeper, chief of security, financial controller, payroll clerk, sous chef, and head gardener, hotels would advertise for a chief engineer, executive housekeeper, director of security, director of finance, payroll administrator, executive sous chef, and horticulturist to MANAGE those departments.

Then, as usual, they don’t receive suitable applications, and ‘before you know it,’ white expatriates are recruited for the jobs, with some very generous remuneration packages, including travelling, entertainment, utilities and housing allowances.

Additionally, they’re given the privilege of free food and beverages from the restaurants.

36. There must be a Glass Ceiling for Black People an [un]acknowledged barrier to advancement in a profession,

White people given preference over black / brown people has been going on since 1444.

Do have they have special DNA in their genes for leadership qualities that other races lack.

Anecdote
    In the IT trade White South Africans were recruited in USA and UK with made up pretend experience (aka bullshit) when Apartheid was dying. They were assumed to be good bosses for controlling people and the Nation had invested in IT like Israel, but they were shit.

19:05
    Tuesday, 9 September 2025 (GMT-4)
    Conspiracy Theory Time in Barbados
    No BU thread is bonafide unless there is at least one conspiracy theory thrown in the mix

Putting my Anti-Money Laundering Hat on..
    Perhaps the restaurant is recruiting the foreigner for cartel money laundering ops
    their extra income could be drug funds put through the wash

37. Artax, FYI, for clarification and disambiguation

the sentence
    “It’s more a case of who did the senior directors want to deal with
    I’m sure she had some assets that they admired”

was a reference alluding to dirty old men wanting to work with dolly birds
    which may have gone whoosh! over your head

38. “…… was a reference alluding to dirty old men wanting to work with dolly birds which may have gone whoosh! over your head.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Gone whoosh over my head???!!???” 😂😂😂

Are you crazy??? 🤪

Why would I need “clarification” for something to which I DID NOT referenced or made a comment? 🤔

My friend, I responded SPECIFICALLY to your September 9, 2025 3:40 at pm comment, re:

“The moral of your anecdote may be left for the hearer to determine for themselves or may be explicitly encapsulated in a maxim,”….

….. as INDICATED by the CAPTION ABOVE my September 9, 2025 at 6:53 pm contribution, and NOT anything else, as you seem to be suggesting.

It seems as though you’re a social media troll. Rather than engage in MEANINGFUL, RATIONAL discussion, you prefer to deliberately begin arguments on every thread, by posting aggressive comments with insults, provocations and insulting threatening language, to provoke BU contributors into reacting. 😠

Therefore, BU has to be VIGILANT, because similarly to our ‘adversary the devil👿, you goeth about as a roaring lion, SEEKING whom you may DEVOUR.’ 🫨🙏🤣🤣

Anyhow, the last words are yours.

39. Why would I need “clarification” for something to which I DID NOT referenced or made a comment? 🤔

My friend, I responded SPECIFICALLY to your September 9, 2025 3:40

You referenced it at 2:53

==

Barbados has a small pool for recruitment compared to international market
    and hires managers from across the world ‘for greater chance of change’
    this rubs up the local employees who feel the process is unfair and excludes them

adverts for management positions that require visas are meaningless workarounds of the rules of immigration law as locals are automatically rejected

40. “Here is another appearing in today’s press.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Importing Massa.
    …and these are just the cases where Immigration FORCE them to advertise first.

With our politicians’ STUPIDLY opening our borders to all and sundry, …
    AND with them SELLING and GIVING AWAY our ASSE(t)S to any albino centric demon with MONEY…
    You can EXPECT that any job of worth will be channelled to foreign STRANGERS, while our local highly schooled and eddykated brass bowls will revert to the plantation – like jobs … JUST LIKE IN THE GOOD OLD DAYS…..
    …except for the bad boys on the Block of course.

Our Politicians are OWNED by the IMF, World Bank, IDB and other racist lenders. Why would we EXPECT them to be nationalistic… or even sensible?

What a place…
    …where a set of BB people STRIVE to re-enter slavery.

41. The work permit is designed to recruit a resource that is unavailable in the local market? While that resource is in country there should be a program to train a replacement? The bottom line is that these jobs should not be rotating routinely to foreign individuals.

That said there are some jobs that will always go to foreigners because it is conditional on regional and international companies operating in the country.

42. Worrell: CARICOM’s integration goals no longer realistic

As Barbados and three other CARICOM member states prepare to deepen regional ties through expanded freedom of movement, Dr Delisle Worrell is arguing that some of the grouping’s most cherished goals may no longer be attainable.
    “To continue to set freedom of movement of goods and persons across the region as the goal of the integration movement is to ask the impossible,” the former Central Bank governor said in his September Economic Letter, Beyond the Dream of a Single Market and Currency.
    As of October 1, citizens of Barbados, Belize, Dominica, and St Vincent and the Grenadines will be able to live and work freely across those four nations, accessing not just jobs, but also education and healthcare.
    The move, agreed independently by the quartet, marks a step forward in regional integration, though broader CARICOM efforts remain stalled.
    Worrell argued that CARICOM’s ambitions have long exceeded its structural capacity. He pointed to the 1992 West Indian Commission report Time for Action as the last credible attempt to reshape the regional body, with proposals for a CARICOM parliament, executive commissioners, a shared budget and a single currency.
    “As we all know, none of these initiatives was implemented, and by now all but the dream of a common currency has been forgotten,” wrote the former IMF adviser whose resume spans regional finance, policy and academia.
    Rather than lament what CARICOM has failed to become, Worrell urged the region to embrace its real value: a network of cultural, educational and professional linkages that fosters regional consciousness.
    “We cannot imagine the region without these linkages,” he said. “To have motivated and inspired this regional network is the true value of CARICOM.”
    He warned that unrealistic expectations risk undermining public faith “because we have set goals for the regional organisation which can no longer be attained”.
    “CARICOM will never be a decisionmaking body,” Worrell said. “The apex body of CARICOM, the Heads of Government, lacks a regional mandate. On every issue where decisions of the regional body conflict with national interests, the regional decision will be sacrificed.”
    The former executive director of the Caribbean Centre for Money and Finance suggested that a similar logic applies to the common currency.
    At the recent CARIFESTA XV Grand Market in Barbados, he noted, vendors from across the region transacted in US dollars.
    “The individual country currencies have no value beyond the borders of the territories where they originate,” he said. “All payments and exchanges between currencies are settled in US dollars.”
    He argued that clinging to the idea of a single Caribbean currency ignores the region’s economic reality. “We should dispense with the inconvenience of individual currencies that derive their value from the US dollar, which we already use for all regional and international payments.”
    (EJ)

43. What I worry about is that suddenly CBI citizens will be able to roam the other islands. quite freely. Armed with a Caribbean passport and citizenship they may offer ‘navel string citizens’ a type of competition that was not imagined in the first place. This could be in purchasing property, starting businesses or even jobs for which no Bajan is qualified.

I could sit here and scare myself to death. Al I am asking is that we think things through from start to end. Have the big ideas, but do the big thinking also.

Hon EWB asked us about our mirror image; a next guy told us about punching above our weight; my simple instruction is to “know yourself and know your weight or someone going to knock you out”

44. “… All I am asking is that we think things through from start to end.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~`
    TheO
    You are asking people who have PROVEN themselves to be UNABLE to think through the BASIC cleaning and painting of a few schools during three months of PROGRAMMED school holidays…
    … or of permanently fixing potholes in KNOWN areas of the country…
    … or to explain the STEAL component of the East West STEEL travesty or HOPE…
    … to ‘think through’ the consequences of opening our doors to all and sundry???

Do you STILL fail to grasp the level of ineptitude of brass?
    SMH

45. Authentic Food
    International Cuisine can be viewed as an art form, so it makes some sense to bring in specidalised Chefs to train staff in the various skills, ingredients, processes, secrets etc required to make the variety of dishes. You don’t have to be French, Italian, Chinese or Indian to make that type food, but you need to learn and practice how to do it well, beyond using resources of cook books and youtube videos available.

Foreign tourists can also be fussy eaters who can’t handle spicy food and can have very bland taste buds.

46. Simple solution…
    Our government will likely just (be instructed to) remove the requirement for these foreign owners to publish that advertisement (which means nothing anyway, and only causes frustration), and to let the damn people take back their plantation.

Brass bowls don’t care anyway…
    Ours is probably the ONLY recorded case in history of a people ACTIVELY looking to be enslaved…
    … as long as there is a fete and a free food somewhere, we don’t see any issue.

What a place!!