A notification in today’s media raises a familiar question: why does a country that has been relying on its hospitality sector for decades need to import a Head Chef? It’s not just puzzling, it is insulting to the local talent pool.

Are we saying that after all the investment in culinary arts and tourism training, no Barbadian is qualified to lead kitchen operations at rh Haymans Market? Maybe it is time we stop pretending and start demanding transparency. The public deserves to see the job descriptions attached to these work permit applications. Let us judge for ourselves what “specialized skills” are being imported, and whether they truly justify bypassing homegrown professionals. Until then, the can be rightly accused of colluding with the money class at the expense of qualified Bajans.

The blogmaster of Barbados Underground objects!

Work Permit Notice for Head Chef position at Haymans Market, stating the intention to apply for a work permit for a non-national due to lack of suitable applications.

61 responses to “Work permit for Chef at Haymans Market”

1. @Bush Tea

Your yesterday comment summarizes the issue.

2. “For example, despite there being a maintenance manager, head housekeeper, chief of security, financial controller, payroll clerk, sous chef, and head gardener, hotels would advertise for a chief engineer, executive housekeeper, director of security, director of finance, payroll administrator, executive sous chef, and horticulturist to MANAGE those departments.”

Looking at the last two ads posted by David, it appears that employers no longer feel the need to be creative in with the job titles in the ads. It will be amusing to see some come here and justify why not one Bajan is qualified to be a Kitchen Assistant, Roti Maker, Assistant Chef and Meat Department Manager.

I see that one joker has already started. I remember attending a convention in Los Angeles and overhearing on guy recommend the best Chinese cuisine in town ‘it is done by two white cooks”. Isn’t it amazing how some can easily master West Indian and other dishes, but their style of cooking always remain a mystery to us.

I have been accused of not knowing the DNA of the USA even as the blogmaster was posting the above two ads . Clearly, he does not know the DNA of Barbados. Here is a little help, soon there will be ads for gardeners, laundry assistants, messengers and .DoorDash delivery guys. Post those as well or just accept the fact, it is a liquidation sale, everything is on the table.

3. The transformation has started, one day we will wake up and realize Barbados don’t belong to we.

4. The disgruntled chattering in the echo chamber claims Bajans are held with contempt by foreign businesses making their monies from them and do not want them to manage them and pay them higher wages.

Political mileage formula
    There is good money to be made from bitter decisive political movements,
    Charlie Kirk made $12m at age 31, multiculturalism is for liberals not Conservatives.

Lets hear it for the mono-cultures on earth

🌎❤️☀️

5. LOL
    Boss … is joke yuh ah joke!!??

You REALLY mean to say that one day we will wake up…
    Cause…
    Barbados ALREADY don’t belong to us…

6. bitter divisive* political movements

Don’t confuse divisive with decisive, which means “able to make decisions” and “unmistakable, beyond a doubt.” Definitions of divisive. adjective. dissenting (especially dissenting with the majority opinion) synonyms: dissentious, factional, factious.

7. The issues: Crop Over, We Gatherin, Carifesta costs.while roads, drainage, crime, guns go mostly unimproved. Support communist regimes: Venezuela (oil) Cuba(medical) China (loans), while most of the diaspora are in North America. $250,000 is an unreasonable non-compliance charge, when water bills, property taxes, and VAT go uncollected. Now come the downgrade to tier 2 when it comes to human trafficking, open borders, Is this a government for the people, or just certain people. Prices rising because of tariff’s, or as an excuse to raise prices?

8. @ David

Okala Building Group applying for work permits for non-nationals to fill the positions of GENERAL WORKERS and CLEANERS, because they did not receive suitable applications for those positions, is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS.

That Barbadian general workers and cleaners CANNOT be found in Barbados is simply UNBELIEVABLE.

This is definitely ‘going overboard.’

I believe the relevant Minister, or even the Prime Minister, should intervene in this situation, and REJECT those applications, while making it clear to these businesses that such DISERSPECT will NOT be TOLERATED.

9. @Artax

It is.

Let us hope the application is declined.