The government of Barbados recently announced that it will not renew the current arrangement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF). There will be no BERT III BUT Prime Minister Mottley will maintain a “speed dial standby” connection, whatever that means. Lest we have forgotten, the Mottley government on winning the 2018 general election pursued the IMF option “due to significant economic challenges, including a high debt-to-GDP ratio, declining international reserves, and a struggling economy”.

Prime Minister Mottley was quoted in the press that the IMF arrangement was a success but “the government recognises the need for flexibility in the face of potential global economic challenges“. Many Barbadians directed vitriolic comments at the IMF forgetting that Barbados is a willing member of the fund and voluntarily triggered its involvement in 2018 after triggering a selective default(SD).

Although it is fair to say the economic state of the country has improved mainly due to a rebound in tourism post COVID. Key economic indicators confirm that Barbados remains a heavily indebted small country with GDP north of 100, a national social security system groaning under the weight of mismanagement and an ageing population, unstructured management of public pension fund, a decaying physical infrastructure; roads, water system, waste management etc. Although foreign reserve balance is ‘heathy’ it is mainly as a result of borrowing and not earning. It will be interesting to see the results of the decision to enter the capital markets in June 2025 post IMF and BERT program. Barbados does not have an investment grade.

Sensible people have to question Mottley’s decision to distribute millions of dollars to Barbadians under the guise of ‘sharing the bounty’. Sharing what bounty what! Barbados is in no position to share bounty given our current economic state. The blogmaster opines that it is fiscally irresponsible and sends a wrong message to Barbadians. We are a people already addicted to consumption behaviour and the message government should be sending is the need to change attitudes and behaviours given our present circumstances. Nothing has changed, we are still operating with a one-leg economy.

Could this be a naked grab by Mottley to feather popularity with a gullible public with a general election looming? The recent win by the Barbados Labour Party in St. James North should be seen for what it is – in the land of the blind a one eye person can be a queen. The main political opposition – Democratic Labour Party – remains ineffective with little or no credibility with an apathetic public. Talking heads like Wickham should hush.

Now that the optics of being entangled with the IMF has forced the termination of the relationship it will make for interesting times. Do we have the will to impose fiscal self discipline to prevent having to speed dial the IMF? A usually optimistic blogmaster is uncertain in this instance.

122 responses to “Solidarity Allowance or Political Bribe?”

1. @Hants

Are you tired of the ‘talk’?

2. But Boss…
    If your strong point is ‘talk’
    … and you are a person who is driven by emotions, feelings, and intuitions – rather than by science, strategy and logic…
    It stands to reason that we will get these ongoing conceptual outbursts.

What amazes, is that the almost 100% implementation failure rate so far seems NOT to impact on the approach being employed.

An almost ‘Trumpian’ determination to plod onwards…..

3. @Bush Tea

People who have had to operate in the PM’s orbit know she is weak on detail but for unknown reasons appear to intimidate support personnel read technocrats.

4. Perhaps because one of the key criterion for appointment as ‘support personnel’ is a distinct lack of balls…

Note the strange departures of such ‘appointment errors’ as Agard, Browne, Bostic, Payne etc – who clearly fail any such ‘no-ball’ tests….

What a place nuh!!

5. That $50M will reap what returns in the short, short term? In addition, the SA was announced in the Budget on 10 March, and on 31 March the Parliament approved nearly $400M in supplementaries. The supplementary included funding to finish the new Geriatric Hospital, to pay fisherfolk affected by the hurricane and to buy two new sites for educational purposes. To behave as though additional government revenue was solely spent on the SA is either to be disingenuous or uninformed. Few years ago I recall unexpected revenue being used to pay back investors. One day government is to reduce VAT and lose far more annually than the one-off SA, but the SA is an issue? Sometimes in our rush to push a narrative, we fail to offer more robust analyses. The same ones who preach voter apathy, seem blind to their contribution to said apathy. I noticed that after all the shouting about the Holetown Civic Centre and the DLP March, the party got less votes in the recent bt-election IN St.James. #BUapathy.

6. Don’t lose the plot, Enuff…

The question is one of BRIBERY, using State funds to benefit political interests.
    If it was $500 in TOTAL, it would be the same issue.

What announced in what budget what??!
    A report on the HOPE project was ALSO promised at Budget time…. where is DAT?

Paying BACK investors something OWED them, is completely different to bribing voters DIRECTLY before a by-election with public funds…

…and PLEASE stop using the DLP votes to justify wunna doing shiite.
    What a LOW standard of performance to set wunna selves…
    The DLP IS NOT the guvment!
    Bajans did not vote them a SINGLE seat –
    The DLP is on the same level as the PPP right now
    So …
    Stop spotting yuh bright lights on the DLP
    Bajans have ALREADY judged them..
    Spot yuh LEDs on Illaro and Bay Street
    …and perhaps we can see some HOPE

7. Good Better Best
    B- is not A+
    I did mention that there will be room for improvement in Mia’s 3rd term
    Such as better project delivery

This offended the BU censors
    they removed it but now they copy it
    which means I must be right

8. Let us get this right, the government has decided to share the bounty and intends to dish out close to 50 million dollars to all and sundry, BUT, on the flip side BOSS bonds and Treasury Bills are being undersubscribed supported by a large deficit to be funded in the national budget.

9. Believe you can heal
    You are healed

Tao Te Ching – Lao Tzu – chapter 71

Knowing ignorance is strength.
    Ignoring knowledge is sickness.

If one is sick of sickness, then one is not sick.
    The sage is not sick because he is sick of sickness.
    Therefore he is not sick.

Alternate translation
    Knowing that you do not know is the best.
    Not knowing that you do not know is an illness.

Truly, only those who see illness as illness
    Can avoid illness.
    The sage is not ill,

Because he sees illness as illness.
    Therefore he is not ill.

When Lao Tzu uses the metaphor of illness, he is referring to a mental capacity, but hardly any kind of real insanity. He speaks about the ability to be aware of what you know and what you don’t know. They are not easy to tell apart, again a paradox of the mind.

10. Judging from the stars on Bush Tea’s post, I see that we have added a few more misogynists who believe that using logic to make a point with women is like casting pearls before swine.

Despite the fact that this womsn, half of the BU local female contingent, not only got the point but was of the same opinion when the allowance was announced.

Make that make sense if you can!

Hint: You can’t.

Therefore I should stop casting my pearls before boars.

11. This blog has deteriorated into straight up woman bashing!

And so, here are some more pearls cast before boars :

The idea of privatizing the transport services in Barbados has been around “since Adam was a lad” and blaming Eve.

We have had a series of Adams running the government and the Transport Board, none of whom managed to get the service up and running well, the last one actually running it into the ground.

Seeing that the creatures of the swibbly balls and stick have such superior command of logic, I wonder why logistics seems to have been beyond them for the last half century.

P.S. Don’t bother to remind me that a woman was the general manager under Freundel. The Chairman of Board was male. The minister was male. That makes three men to one woman in the driver’s seat.

AND, I am reliably informed that Donald Trump has a little stick.

So says Stormy Daniel.

12. Bushie
    Based on your reasoning every government policy that involves a benefit to the electorate is BRIBERY. Since last year both the PM and Straughn signalled “a sharing of the bounty” because it was clear corporation taxes were doing better than projected. So I expected a “bribe” (lower taxes to be precise) in the Budget. When egofowls forage in an echo chamber only certain types of grain are found. Misogyny included.

13. Enuff,do not worry with Bushie.All he does is spout a lot of nonsense on the blog to appear intelligent.What bribery what.Utter foolishness.Nearly 150,000 persons collected so far.Clearly they do not agree with him.Just Dems sour grapes after the licking up Mr Thorne and Ms Dujon received in the by election.Anybody who can compare conditions in 1937 to now is clearly delusional.

14. If anyone truly believes giving people 💰$300 cashback is a political bribe
    (👆🏻 like when Donville did the dirty deed )
    then they should file a case in Court to have their day
    🍊 Orange is the new Black 👨‍

⚖️👮🏽 ♀️⛓️⚖️🚨🚓🚔👮🐕

15. If we keep going down this slippery gender-framing, gender-blaming slope, we could easily end up where the United States of America is right now, caught up in culture wars that brought the moron/maniac/ monster named Donald Trump into power. If American men had used logic instead of emotion, Barbados would not be bracing for the impact of nonsensical tariffs!

Imagine listening to Donald Trump’s nonsense and thinking that he is going to be America’s saviour! If American men had voted as the women voted percentage-wise, Kamala Harris would be president.

And we all know that if Kamala Harris were president right now with all her feminine hormones and her lack of balls and stick, America would be chugging along as usual and still in the game. And yet it is women in leadership that is the problem.

No illness is ever solved without a proper diagnosis. Bush Tea’s gender theory is the wrong diagnosis.

All it does is make old farts feel good about themselves.

Meanwhile we focus on red herrings when we should be looking for flying fish.

I have mixed a metaphor or two here, but you should get the point.

STOP DISTRACTING US WITH THE LOTTA SHITE!

16. @ Enuff
    A government is elected to oversee GOOD MANAGEMENT of the society and to strategize to ensure a safe and secure home for future citizens.
    This involves enacting policies and activities that benefit the whole society, …that do so as efficiently as possible (ie with the least NEEDED levels of taxation)… AND that provides for an IMPROVED society for our children.

Bushie would concede however, that if an elected government found itself INCAPABLE of good management and of securing a safe future for the country, then one can see how such a government may decide to ‘give dem back some of the tax money’ – perhaps as a discount for the poor management … not to mention GIVING AWAY the few ‘fields and hills beyond recall’ to foreigners in exchange for a few pieces of silver…
    So that our children will be forced to revert back to a Strathclyde / High park kind of segregation like our grand parents endured.

Leadership is NOT a calling for the simple-minded, mendicant, or for the incompetent.

Obviously Lorenzo is a successful millionaire, who has made himself and family into outstanding examples, …and it is on this basis that he is able to defend the BLP and its SA program….
    ….if he is NOT, …then kindly ask him to STFU….
    (stop talking foolishness unlimited)

17. And we all know that if Kamala Harris were president right now with all her feminine hormones and her lack of balls and stick, America would be chugging along as usual and still in the game. And yet it is women in leadership that is the problem.

XXXXXXXXXXXXX

YES IF KAMLA ELECTED MILLIONS MORE UNDOCUMENTED IMMIGRANTS AMONGST THEM MANY VOILENT CRIMINALS FROM THEIR COUNTRIES SUCKING BILLIONS OF DOLLARS FROM US TAXPAYERS AS THOUGH THEY DESERVE IT. IT WAS SAID MORE THAN 11 MILLION ILLEGALS CAME OVER THE BORDER DURING BIDEN-HARRIS 4 YEARS.

DURING THE PRESIDENTIAL CAMPAIGN WHEN ASKED ON A MAJOR TELEVISION NETWORK SHE SAID WOULD NOT CHANGE A THING GOING FORWARD.

KAMALA UNFORTUNATELY IS A DUMB BLACK WOMAN WHO KEPT PUTTING HER FOOT IN HER MOUTH TIME AND TIME AGAIN.

UNDER KAMALA HARRIS IF ELECTED PLEDGED TRANSSEXUALS IN PRISON WOULD BE GETTING FREE SEX CHANGE OPERATIONS AND MEDICINES AGAIN AT US TAXPAYERS EXPENSE.

MORE CORRUPTION BEHIND CLOSED DOORS AS BIDEN PARDONED HIS FAMILY AS HE LEFT OFFICE AFTER THEY STOLE MILLIONS AND WERE NOT BEING PROSECUTED BY THE US JUSTICE SYSTEM.

NEVER MIND TRUMP THE USA WILL BE FINE.

IT DOESN’T GIVE ITS CITIZENS US$150 BUT US THOUSANDS $ IN TIMES OF DISBURSEMENTS

18. Lorenzo
    More rubbish from you.As for me,I am just an ordinary hardworking bajan.I do not depend on any handouts or favour’s from anyone.I work everyday for what I want.However, I lived here before and during 5he lost decade.The worst period of my life and no one certainly cannot convince that we have come a long way from that dark period with persons like Mr Stuart,Mr Sinckler and others.As far as I am concerned I am more comfortable now than then .All is not well but would be a lot worse under the dems.I for one and I know the majority feels the same do not want to see the dems return to office under 20 years from now.I gone.

19. More time to register for $300

Government is giving Barbadians more time to register for the $300 Solidarity Allowance.

The original deadline was today, but Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn said yesterday that Cabinet agreed to give people until July 31 to register at selected post offices and at the National Insurance and Social Security Service (NISSS).

“We still continue to urge people to go as early as possible [so] that we can get the payments out as quickly as possible. Therefore the centres will remain open for much longer in order to ensure that nobody is disenfranchised with respect to this particular process,” he told a post-Cabinet press conference at Ilaro Court.

Straughn also reminded that there was an appellate process available for any Barbadian who “may feel as if they are disenfranchised for one reason or another” by not being paid the $300.

“You will recall in the Budget I announced that there was an appellate mechanism in place. I want to remind the country . . . that is still the case and therefore the Director of Finance, along with the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Labour as well as the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of People Empowerment . . . those three officials will sit as the appellate mechanism,” he said.

Appellate mechanism

The minister said this meant that if there was anyone who applied for the Solidarity Allowance and did not meet requirements but felt aggrieved, “they are free to use the appellate mechanism and we will investigate to make sure that those things are corrected”.

With the registration period being extended by two months, Straughn reminded Barbadians that they “will require some means of identification, which is going to be critical with respect to being able to validate who you say you are”.

He said that once the NISSS was able to validate individuals’ identities, they would receive the $300 either through a direct deposit to their bank or credit union account or via a cheque.

People can register using their Trident ID, old national ID, driver’s licence or passport.

Straughn added that “if for whatever reason you do not have any identification, you will be required to present yourself to the Electoral and Boundaries Commission . . . to be issued a new ID card”.

Minister of Home Affairs and Information Wilfred Abrahams said anyone needing a Trident ID for this purpose would be fast-tracked.

“So those persons can present themselves to Electoral and Boundaries and once they give their information, Electoral and Boundaries will actually do the background check . . . once you supply the information”. (SC)

SOURCE: Nation

20. We have government begging citizens to register for the 50 million handout and on the flip side it is getting ready to flow aa USD$100 million bond.

Government to cash in on $1.6b in foreign currency

Government is moving to cash in on the $1.6 billion in foreign currency Barbadians have deposited in accounts at commercial banks and other institutions.

Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn announced yesterday that Government had launched a United States dollar denominated bond to raise US$100 million on the local market.

He also told a post-Cabinet press conference at Ilaro Court that another $200 million in Barbados Optional Saving Scheme (BOSS) Plus bonds would hit the market on June 1 to further whet the appetite of domestic investors.

The authorities are expected to use the money raised to replace some expensive debt with cheaper debt, while also helping to finance the public purse.

Straughn gave this update yesterday while sharing that in the coming days Government “will be undertaking a non-deal roadshow to be able to go and sensitise potential [overseas] investors as to what Barbados has to offer”.

He noted that the US$100 million bond was the first time Government was offering an investment instrument that was exclusively denominated in US dollars on the local market.

“When we came to office, we allowed . . . Barbadians to hold [foreign currency] accounts and therefore we are targeting those persons with respect to the ability to raise US$100 million. Three per cent is the interest rate over 18 months,” he said.

“Those resources that are now available in the banking system, $1.6 billion has accumulated over the last few years, earning zero per cent. Government, having restarted the capital market, was able to ensure then that we can provide opportunities for . . . Barbadians to be able to help finance the development of Barbados.”

He said in this regard that yesterday Cabinet approved the additional $200 million in BOSS Plus bonds from which investors will be able to earn a 4.5 per cent interest return over five years.

US$100 million bond

On the US$100 million bond, Straughn said that having engaged the market, Government believed there was “quite a bit of appetite there given that currently those deposits are not earning any interest”.

“So the feedback is good. Now that it is out, we will obviously monitor to make sure that it achieves the subscription level that we intend. It is a financing mechanism to make sure that we create as much fiscal space as possible,” he noted.

“But Government’s overall capital programme, obviously, has to be financed. And therefore the extent to which we are doing that, plus the issuance of the BOSS bonds, is really part of how we finance Government going forward.

“As we look at how we utilise these resources over the course of the next few years for financing Government, some of it specifically will go towards what we describe as liability management, effectively replacing more expensive debt with cheaper debt, but equally, where there are Government’s operations to be financed, we will utilise for financing as well,” he added.

With Barbados preparing to conclude its second successive International Monetary Fund arrangement, the minister explained that “to the extent that the Government of Barbados is contemplating how we are able to navigate the next few years, the Government will be undertaking a non-deal roadshow to be able to go and sensitise potential investors as to what Barbados has to offer”.

“We have had a significant amount of investment take place in the country and, therefore, whilst we are on the road, we will be meeting with investors who currently hold Barbados paper and looking to make sure that they understand exactly where not just the Government, but the country is going with respect to levels of investment,” he said.

Straughn also told the media that Cabinet had given its approval for Barbados to become a full member of the Development Bank For Latin America and the Caribbean (CAF).

“As we mark just about 11 years of membership of CAF, we feel that the time is right to be able to ensure that as we start to accelerate our climate resilience building in the country, that we are able to not just unlock financing from public sector projects, but, equally, that the entire country be able to access resources from CAF,” he said. (SC)

21. Baje is still the stupid bamboozled negro shucking and jiving for masa

for context he parrots the narrative of a racist white man whitesplaining what a black brown woman would do for the nation

22. In normal circumstances, it would be OBVIOUS that this $300 SA scheme is in reality, just cover for a hidden agenda by our now notoriously NONTRANSPARENT government.
    …in Brassbados however, it may NOT be so obvious. (de curse!)

Why would guvment be BEGGING persons – who missed long set deadlines, to come in and get free money? … while still OWING tax refunds to hardworking citizens, who had PRE-PAID taxes with their earnings YEARS AGO …??

Why would they EXTEND deadlines for this freeness, …but BRING FORWARD the deadlines for the payment of onerous Land Taxes?

Why do this gimmick in the first place…? You are $15 BILLION in debt, and you are walking bout handing out $300 to Tom, Dick and Jenny…?

BECAUSE THEY WERE TOLD TO…..!!

It is clear that DATA is being collected for some reason, and that it is worth $50million to get that information.

Having made THAT decision, it was deemed politically smart to leverage this scheme in line with a by-election (which coincidentally happened to arise for no clear reason).

However, if the election bribe was the MAIN objective, there would be no need for extensions, or for Straughn’s poppet-like interventions…

Bottom line…
    – Barbados is now owned lock, stock and barrel by the albino-centric forces of Evil – who ‘kindly loaned us whatever we wanted’.
    – Population information and management is KEY to Global mind control and domination…. Surveys on school children for example….
    – Just like we were USED during the Covid19 PLAN as a PILOT project to test the COMPLIANCE of populations in response to FEAR and THREATS, we are now being used to test our response to BRIBERY and MONEY.

We can expect to see the results of these experiments rolled out GLOBALLY by the Demons soon – using a combination of fear, lies, threats, and money – to get us all to sign up to receive their MARK of approval.

Nothing new here folks…
    Barbados was ALSO the PILOT project on how Black People could be SUBJUGATED hopelessly for GENERATIONS – using torture, fear, bribes, and money…
    WE wrote the book…
    The Barbados Slave Code

Brassbados ain’t just ANY place…. IT IS A VERY SPECIAL PLACE
    …which is WHY the Demons wanted their ALTAR placed here at the Garrison…

It seems that the Demons KNOW something about the place that BBs don’t … 🙂

What a place…
    What a time!

23. @Bush Tea

Behave, you and your conspiracy theories!

24. “for context he parrots the narrative of a racist white man whitesplaining what a black brown woman would do for the nation.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I remember during the US presidential debate, Trump said, Harris “wants to do transgender operations on illegal aliens that are in prison.”

Approximately ten (10) days after the debate, his campaign released an ad repeating the claim, which they explained was a reference to Harris’ response to a 2019 questionnaire from a legal civil rights organisation, known as the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU).

Trump’s assertions and ad require context.

It was reported that Harris checked the box for “yes” and wrote, “I support policies ensuring that federal prisoners and detainees are able to obtain medically necessary care for gender transition, including surgical care, while incarcerated or detained.”

Apparently, the U.S Constitution (8th Amendment) requires government to provide necessary medical care for prisoners, according to a 1976 Supreme Court ruling, in the case of Estelle v. J.W. Gamble.

Ironically, under the Trump administration, legal obligations to provide such care were also acknowledged by the Federal Bureau of Prisons.

An ICE memorandum dated June 19, 2015, outlined policies for transgender detainees, including some recommendations on gender-affirming care.

There are several articles dealing with this issue as well as fact-checks from reliable sources, of Harris’ statement that provide context.

This is a topic that requires an in-depth discussion.

After all, Trump is a pathological liar.

Recall his assertion about Haitian immigrants…… “they’re eating the dogs, they’re eating the cats.”

Or, purposely insisting that an edited image of tattoos on Kilmar Garcia’s knuckles was enough evidence to prove he was a member of ‘MS 13.’

And recently, during a meeting with SA President Ramaphosa in the White House, Trump claimed white farmers were victims of genocide and, to support that assertion, he held up several photos, one of which he said showed some of the victims being buried when, in actuality, it was victims from the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Trump also played a video of an aerial shot showing several cars driving on a rural road lined with white crosses on both sides, which he misconstrued to be thousands of white farmers who were victims of ‘genocide.’

25. We are all MS 13 members in these times.

“Barbados was ALSO the PILOT project on how Black People could be SUBJUGATED hopelessly for GENERATIONS – using torture, fear, bribes, and money…
    WE wrote the book…
    The Barbados Slave Code”

That would explain why Barbadians are so soft and compliant
    and not militant minded rebellious blacks scaring whites like in the rest of the world

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

“effectively replacing more expensive debt with cheaper debt”
    So unnerstand, they want to pay new Bondholders LESS than they are currently paying others.
    But after playing rich, and giving way nuff money, they want you to feel the sweetness, and acquiesce to buying highly risky Bonds at less than market rate.
    Do NOT buy a GoB Bond, whether in $US or $BDD, until the GoB begins Reporting as required by law.

27. @BT 7:50 a.m.
    It is frightening how far you reached into the conspiracy theory barrel and came out with what seem like a genuine story. Scary.

Silly me wanna get home ‘before they gi way my $300″

28. BAJE had to fly all the way to Tanzania as a middle-aged man to discover what I worked out by watching Saturday morning television as a child.

The fact that he enlisted and served in the military of a brutal empire shows how bloody uninformed he was, sorry, still is, judging from the fact that he has swallowed the racist immigration narrative of a pathological liar, hook, line, and sinker without grasping the fact that HE is no longer welcome in that intended white nationalist space any more than those coming over the border!

Perhaps he is too busy making money to know that. But I have all day to listen to the hateful words they spew from their mouths about anyone who isn’t white. I have heard of the Great Replacement Theory. I have heard how emboldened the White Nationalists have become. I have seen Afrikaners welcolmed to America and given the VIP experience at the same time that black Africans under threat of violence are being thrown out.

And, by the way, the invitation to Afrikaners is open to all. Very few are leaving. So much for white fear of genocide!

The narrative that is being created here is, “This is what happens when you let blacks and other non-whites take over. They will kill you.”

That includes Baje. Somebody ought to tell him.

Not me though.

29. Just in time for Crop Over.

“The national minimum wage, first implemented in 2021, will be raised from $8.50 per hour to $10.50 an hour, while the hourly rate for security guards will be increased from $9.25 to $11.43.”

30. MY LAST COMMENT TO STUPIDITY.

LAST TIME I CHECKED THE LANGUAGE ON THIS BLOG IS ENGLISH WHERE DID IT COME FROM BUT THE SAME WHITE MAN.

THE NAMES USED ARE DERIVED FROM THE SAME WHITE MAN.

MY TRAVELS TO MANY COUNTRIES EXPOSES ME TO REAL LIFE.

FOR ANY FOOL TO SAY THEY GET THEIR FACTS FROM A TV IS BETTER OFF TALKING TO THEIR PLANTS WHO DON’T KNOW ANY BETTER.

31. 333.33 dollars of new Boss bonds should have been awarded to citizens instead.

A bird In hand is worth two in the bush
    proverb: it’s better to be content with what you have than to risk losing everything by seeking to get more.

Beginners Guide to Reading the Akashic Records
    — The Akashic Records are like an energetic log, a Google search for your soul. And in it are records are everything that has ever existed or taken place.
    They are believed by theosophists to be encoded in a non-physical plane of existence known as the mental plane
    In the religion of Theosophy and the spiritual movement of Anthroposophy, the Akashic records are believed to be a compendium of all universal events, thoughts, words, emotions, and intent ever to have occurred in the past, present, or future, regarding not just humans, but all entities and life forms.
    The Akashic Records represent a universal memory bank. Derived from the Sanskrit word akasha (meaning sky, space, or ether), these records are believed to store all events, actions, and thoughts of every soul that has ever existed.

Bird In Hand,
    Milte Hi Ankhen,
    I Don’t Mind,
    Live Good Today,
    Life Is a Flower,
    Life is Gonna Easy

32. She did not say she got her facts from tv. Seem like the jackass does not understand English

33. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea at 7:50 AM “we are now being used to test our response to BRIBERY and MONEY.”

No need to test when the answers are well know before hand.

Many humans engage in money and bribery. No need to test for that. That is like testing for adultery, or stealing or lying. It has been well know for tens of thousands of years that all human populations lie, steal and commit adultery, so no need to test for those things, nor to test for the love of money, when we already know the answers.

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@BAJE Avatar May 29, 2025 at 6:45 pm “THE USA WILL BE FINE. IT DOESN’T GIVE ITS CITIZENS US$150 BUT US THOUSANDS $ IN TIMES OF DISBURSEMENTS…”

Since the USA’s population is 1,000 times that of Barbados, and since its land mass is much more than 1,000 times that of Barbados, and since its GDP is more than 1,000 times that of Barbados, then the USA should be handing its citizens at least $300,000 each. Tell me when you receive yours and I’ll send you my banking information.

35. Cuhdear Bajan #: May 30, 2025 at 10:14 pm: Baje @6:45 PM on May 29th “KAMALA UNFORTUNATELY IS A DUMB BLACK WOMAN.”

Trump fans have been pushing a particular narrative that “Kamala Harris is a dumb Black woman.” Piers Morgan, host of ‘Piers Morgan Uncensored,’ for example, has been constantly saying how ‘useless’ Harris was as a presidential candidate, while ‘bigging up’ his friend Trump at the same time.

‘It harrows me with fear and wonder’ how so-called educated people could support a useless, ‘dumb as a doorknob’ individual such as Donald Trump.

The idiot believes the imposition of tariffs on goods imported from China, for example, means China pays the tariff…. NOT the importer.
    That America will make ‘trillions and trillions of dollars’ from the tariffs, because the countries upon which tariffs are imposed will pay them.
    Not only does his base believe him…… he has two so-called qualified individuals, Scott Bessent Secretary of the Treasury and Commerce Secretary Howard Lutnick, refusing to tell the ‘orange idiot’ he is incorrect, preferring instead to ‘kiss his ass,’ while singing, ‘how great thou art’ at the same time.

Trump kept repeating a nonsensical story about a battery powered boat, a shark and electrocution.
    The fool said, ‘What would happen if the boat sank from its weight? And you’re in the boat and you have this tremendously powerful battery and the battery is now underwater and there’s a shark that’s approximately 10 yards over there?”
    “So I said, so there’s a shark 10 yards away from the boat, 10 yards or here, do I get electrocuted if the boat is sinking? Water goes over the battery, the boat is sinking. Do I stay on top of the boat and get electrocuted, or do I jump over by the shark and not get electrocuted? Because I will tell you, he didn’t know the answer. He said, ‘You know, nobody’s ever asked me that question.” I said, ‘I think it’s a good question.’ I think there’s a lot of electric current coming through that water. But you know what I’d do if there was a shark or you get electrocuted, I’ll take electrocution every single time. I’m not getting near the shark. So we’re going to end that.”

Rather than tell the idiot that since, according to him, “a lot of electric current coming through that water,” means the shark will be electrocuted as well.
    And that the world’s heaviest cruise ship, ‘Icon of the Seas,’ stays afloat despite weighing more than 550 million pounds.

His audience remains silent.

Yet, we’re saying Harris is a dumb Black woman.

36. A tired refrain.
    Push for tourism sector to buy local

A new policy will be introduced to encourage the tourism sector to buy more of their goods on the local market, including from farmers and manufacturers.

That is the aim of the Tourism Linkages Programme, which Minister of Tourism and International Transport Ian Gooding-Edghill said was approved by Cabinet last Thursday.

He told a post-Cabinet press conference at Ilaro Court that the initiative was intended to “allow for the deepening of the procurement of goods and services from the local sector in Barbados to further contribute to the buying practices and other procurement activities centred within the tourism sector”.

“We had stakeholder engagement that was held last December, where we had in excess of 60 participants who helped us to map out . . .the policy. We will continue to work with all of the tourism related entities to ensure that we continue to source more goods locally,” he said.

“And this is about not only the resilience of the sector, but this is also in keeping with food security and other measures. There is a much discussed topic on tourism leakages and . . . it is important that we ensure that we earn more from this sector.

“But not only that we earn more from this sector, but . . .l retain more earnings from the sector.”

Foreign exchange

Gooding-Edghill said part of the objective of the tourism linkages undertaking was encouraging hoteliers “to buy even more from the farmers [and] . . . in order to procure goods from the manufacturers”.

“It helps us to retain foreign exchange in Barbados, while it’s at the same time increasing employment opportunities for persons within communities.”

Gooding-Edghill said his ministry recruit a tourism sector integration specialist “who will help us and continue to advance this work”.

The minister also said that on Thursday, Cabinet also considered a report on the competitiveness of local tourist attractions.

“This is not only to refresh the attractions that we have to offer more attractions to our visitors and locals alike, but also an attempt to ensure that we continue to integrate the culture, the heritage and entertainment within the society, to ensure that, again, we earn more from the tourism sector,” he said.

Gooding-Edghill also reported that in accordance with the Budget Speech, the first standalone restaurant was approved to receive Tourism Development Act ( TDA) concessions similar to those afforded to hotels.

“There are others who have applied to the Ministry of Tourism under the TDA. We believe that this, again, will not only enhance the competitiveness of tourism in Barbados, but again, we will set out to earn even more from the tourism sector.”

“It will also give those who are involved in the business an opportunity to further reinvest and to upgrade and enhance their product, especially as they prepare for a number of major events to come this year, including Crop Over, we have CARIFESTA and other major conventions that we will have, and then roll into the winter season.”

Gooding-Edghill also said that he was advised that the Ministry of Commerce would publish the form required for cook shop operators to apply for duty-free concessions to purchase kitchen equipment.

“That . . . will be one additional measure to help us build out and prepare for what we believe will be a very good summer season, but also a very busy winter season,” he stated. (SC)

Sources. Nation

37. WHAT I LEARNT FROM WATCHING SATURDAY MORNING TELEVISION IN THE EARLY 1970s:

When the redskins who defended themselves against the invading pale faces were labelled savages for doing so, I learnt of the mental manipulation of white supremacy. This also prevented me from answering the question on my history test in the usual way of the brainwashed – Columbus DISCOVERED the “Americas”. My “stupid” brain found a way to answer truthfully without relinquishing the marks.

My answer, AS A CHILD, was that Columbus made the western world known to Europe.

So that Sitting Bull was my hero, not George Custer of the colonizing army. And I was always the “indian” when we played Cowboys and Indians.

Similarly, Muhammad Ali became my hero for refusing to be drafted into the army of the brutal, imperialist, white supremacist military of the United States to kill yellow men in Vietnam who never oppressed him or called him nigger.

Unlike BAJE, who volunteered to join the United States Imperialist Military and thought it was a flex to come here to this forum and brag about brutal service to white supremacy.

I wonder how much innocent blood he has on his hands! Because, he who facilitates, aids and abets a murder, is legally convicted as an accomplice! Whether or not he pulled the trigger or dropped the bomb, BAJE is a killer in service of a system that counts him as an inferior being, his life of consequence only insofar as it perpetuates white Western dominance.

I wonder what unjust and lawless wars, invasions, and operations empire was involved in during his time of service! Hope it wasn’t Iraq, another war based on KNOWN false narratives. I hope it wasn’t Libya, because we know that Gadaffi was assassinated, not for being a brutal dictator, but for attempting to bridge the divide between Africans north of the Sahara and African south of the Sahara, all towards the defeat of Western imperialism. Whichever the war, BAJE participated in the oppression of his own people.

And speaking about Africa, I repeat, BAJE, by his own admission here on BU, had to wait until he travelled to Tanzania last year to see with his eyes what this child deduced with her brain – THAT WHITE SUPREMACY LIED ON AFRICA!

It was necessary to erase all that was civilized about Africans, their rich history, their scientific prowess, their technological prowess, their religions, their culture in order to justify their treatment as subhumans and dumb beasts.

This little child deduced that the false narrative applied to the red skins was most likely applied to the Africans. After all, the aim was the same -to justify their subjugation of all non-pale people. And so this child, unable to raise the fare to Tanzania AT THAT TIME, (lol) repaired to the libraries to investigate. and there her childish intution was proven to be spot on! She saw what BAJE saw…..about fifty years before Baje, and without getting on a plane to Tanzania!

Meanwhile, Baje and the six other jackasses that totally missed the point, think that travelling trumps brainpower!

Wuh any fool can travel! This fool too!

Murdaaaaaaaah!

A big shout out to Saturday morning television!

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

38. @ David,
    Were you aware that Barbados had a Tourism Development Act ( TDA). If yes, have you read it?

https://barbadostourisminvestment.com/tourism-development-act/

39. Okay. I’m going to say it. Great to have you back, Artax!

David pined so much that we thought you were dead!

40. My theory is that I have stepped on the swibbly balls and sticks of certain male contributors. It wouldn’t be the first time. They now lash out emotionally with silly stars on any illogical post that would oppose or demean me.

All you lot do is confirm that you are not the logical creatures you purport to be.

Fools may travel far and return just as foolish! While others sit in their armchairs and unravel the mysteries of life.

You know my favourite thing is studying human behaviour. I’ll be studying! And crushing some balls as needed.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Meanwhile, here is some Sunday morning television for you.

https://youtube.com/shorts/mntcRRdKK88?si=2LrpO1MXLVKFjU_H

41. Glad to see him back as well.
    For, the past few days I was wondering if someone had decided to make use of a well known but now unused name.
    Was just watching and wondering.
    Glad to see the real McCoy is still with us.

42. I was watching the discussion and not really participating, but the use of the phrase ‘swibbly balls’ has incensed me. Why drag me into this exchange? Don’t you know that hitting an old man in his balls is still painful?

Purely, as a matter of self defense or survival I may have to go over to the other side, unless … you promise no more hitting in the balls.

I suspect that you are also losing the man who finds all women beautiful … Commander Hants.

43. Not sure why this rumination is disallowed in the Bu nation.
    I guess we all have a petty trump fascist lurking inside us.
    Did Bush sign up for $300 offered or was it rejected due to his reasoning
    or did his Mrs collect the small monies for some pocket change

44. Swibbler,

You are not a misogynist I doubt Hants is a misogynist. I have no problem with the swibbly balls and stick. Some of my favourite people have them. My problem is with those who discount me and women in general because we don’t have them.

I suggest that you and Hants use you big heads to think logically, instead of emotionally. ☺️. I do it all the time, often agreeing with Misogynist in Chief BushTea, Pachamama, and others who attempt to dismiss and disparage me, in any matter, as long as their point is valid.

But I am sure you know that I am prepared to lose anybody who does not stand alongside me in my fight for the granddaughter I hope to have some day.

Silence is consent!

To me, having a good man by my side is nice, but never necessary.

45. Taoist Sacred Breathing Practice
    Men (and women) should learn to channel their sexual energy upwards to revitalise the brain. The vital energy manufactured in the body used to create babies is the strongest energy.