Felicia Dujon – DLP

The St. James North by-election is a few days away and the blogmaster must admit to having an unhealthy disinterest in the political campaign so far. It is fair to conclude that it is a contest between the main political parties Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP) aka the DUOPOLY. The fringe candidates although likely well intentioned will ‘gift deposits’ to the Treasury. Whether some us hat the idea of the duopoly being perpetuated, it is ‘we culture’.

The anointed BLP candidate Chad Blackman is favoured to maintain BLP’s dominance in the constituency. These kinds of elections are important to stoke life in the system of democracy practiced but as evidenced by the work of the Parliamentary Reform Commission (PRC). The precipitous decline of the DLP in recent elections – accentuated in the Mia Mottley era – has exposed a fault line in our electoral system that should be a concern for civic minded Barbadians. Especially those eligible to vote.

Unsurprisingly, we have the same talking heads called upon to reference political historical data which is disconnected from weaknesses in our electoral governance. What we have are the few happy to be spellbound (blinded) by the theatrics and cut and thrust of campaign politics. There is a minor place for the entertainment value political rhetoric injects into a political campaign, it only serves as a distraction from serious issues like increasing voter apathy and cynicism feeding the waning public trust. We have a large segment that are disengaged which does not augur well for maintaining a relevant governance model.

Chad Blackman – BLP

The current dysfunctional political climate continues to feed a level of political inertia that confirms why there is deepening public disillusionment because of an ensconced status quo. We are faced with the emergence of a de facto ‘strong woman’ and emerging analysis paralysis culture. For example the Mia Mottley government boasts of a slew of laws enacted under its tenure, however, the practice of successive governments sidestepping the implementation of transparency laws confirms the closing of ranks by the political directorate despite different colours colours.

Sadly we have observed local political dysfunction playing out regionally and internationally. We can cite the emergence of Trump politics to expose the emperor has no clothes era and his ‘lookalikes and acolytes’. In the overall scheme of things, the corn beef politics playing out in St. James North is following a tired political script.

Unfortunately the lack of an effective and effecient political governance framework will continue to widen the political governance ‘fault line’ on current trajectory. Where do we go from here?

79 responses to “A ‘redundant’ St. James North by election”

1. Well analyzed Boss.

A lotta shiite!
    Clearly contrived to distract brass from the desperately dangerous challenges that we have been completely unable to address over the years.

In ANY country with a modicum of normality, the voters would overwhelmingly vote for a DIFFERENT voice in a clearly dysfunctional parliament – rather than a continuation of the same old ‘many hands make shiite work’ lot.

But this is Brassbados – where promises continue to be comforting to the sheeple…
    – even as our fields and hills are being given away to foreigners
    – even as our growing debts gets passed on to our children
    – even as our families in St Lucy drink brown water

Best part is hearing the usual political scientists (an EXTREME oxymoron) talking shiite about ’trends’, posters, and political strategy…..

Looka..
    A spiritual CURSE is no laughing matter.
    WHAT A PLACE!!!

But on a serious note..
    Can you explain why we are now EXITING the IMF arrangement
    …and then going on a world tour seeking new financing sources –
    when we were told that the IMF was the cheapest and most reliable funding option?

Are WE leaving the IMF program?
    …or have they closed the door on future funding due to our not meeting set targets?

Something smells….

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

Bushy, nothing smells. The IMF en got nuh more money fah we at this time. And we have utilised all the bi and multi lateral loans we can find. So back to home grown financing, but Bajans en buying Bonds in sufficient quantity.
    Why keep the IMF on anything but speed dial, because you know some of these so called SOE changes are little more than a Copperfield illusion, and the IMF are unlikely to like them. Though these days, the IMF doesn’t say much publicly, other than cookie cutter statements.
    So time to try the international private market, with our improved credit ratings in hand.
    Even the Wild Coot, recently questioned the now 10yr old decision re commercial deposit rates. Moving that only ups the Bond rate? Yet do you offer Bonds at 8%, or do you pay foreign lenders 8% or more?
    You’ll have a BB answer to that.
    Mine is, do not buy a GoB Bond or TBill, until outstanding Reports are made public.

3. @Bush Tea

We claim to be an intelligent people but we do nothing to change. We have acquired the taste for the brown stuff.

4. @NO

It will be interesting to measure the success of Barbados foray into the capital markets post BERT.

5. “We claim to be an intelligent people….”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    BUT – no longer with a straight face Boss…
    Not since Froon, Stinkliar, ..and now the lotta shiite hands that can’t make light work…

@ NO
    Man skippa, Bushie smelling something fishy yuh… loosen up yuh mask…

So how come –
    The IMF stayed with Jamaica now since the lion on Gun Hill was a cub [(c) John A]
    The IMF offers the best possible loan terms
    The IMF is the lender of LAST resort
    The IMF seems to be in love with us and our Empress
    …but now we scrambling to find lenders of LAST LAST resort?

You know full well that when it comes to their money, those albino-centrics ALWAYS draw a line…

What the Hell happened to the ‘breathing space’ that was created by the IMF plunge and the $1B NIS write-off?

Wuh if Bushie was BREK, and de bailiffs were searching the bushes….
    You think that if de credit union agreed to give the bushman some breathing room, that after 7 years um could be back to square 1..?
    Bushie would have brought a good whacker and a rake, and be corning money – by servicing the lotta useless women with big lawns, .. and no men to help them…

(No name nuh lockup…..!! LOL ha ha )

Instead, we walking bout looking fuh new credit unions to bail we out yet again…

What a place….

6. Where are @General @John A @et tal?

7. He’ll be back says PM MAM.

8. Barbados had to pay the IMF a large commission that they were trying to get reduced/removed
    It was said that the commissions are to discourage countries from staying under the IMF for too long periods (Jamaica?)

9. Without a strong opposition this govt would do as it pleases
    Larger than life consultants
    The destruction of Coral by Big Cruise
    The mantra of many hands make light work
    Today barbadians standing tall and weary
    Never mind that on this very day a 300 hundred dollar gift of appeasement is extended to the people
    While IMF demands were extraordinary for a small unproductive sland
    As the barrage of consultants were paid handsomely and couldn’t care less about a 300hundred hand out

10. By elections can impact the political landscape, sadly this will not happen here. If one was visiting from Mars and heard some of the promises that the BLP candidate was making they would likely assume that the seat was held by a member of the opposition party.

These commitments raise the question of what the former member of the legislature, and by extension, the government, was doing for the residents of the community if this newly introduced candidate can propose such substantial offerings.

Sadly, the main opposition Party is like a car stuck in mud and no matter how hard the driver accelerates the wheels just keep spinning and it goes nowhere. Post-election, the status quo will be maintained, and the few people distracted will be able to focus on CropOver.

11. To Whom it OBVIOUSLY CONCERNS,

This unnamed woman (couldn’t be SS because we know she is a very handy woman, unafraid of hard work) is not useless. She has allergic rhinitus. Mowing her own lawn led to unstoppable post nasal drip and bronchitis. The resulting asthma attack nearly killed her. Luckily, she is a wildly successful mother, and has raised a wonderful, masculine son who finds whacking grass to be fun. When the Rasta cousin goes awol, the incredibly hardworking young man is eager to exercise his masculinity and have some fun away from his many keyboards.

I am at a loss as to how one can appear to be too independent and useless at the same time???

Heading out to fork up my rested garden beds. It’s time I reap something other than fruits and nuts again. The help I needed came from above in the form of rain. as my help always does. The ground is now soft enough for my “puny strength” to manage the fork.

P.S. Not having a man never worked as an insult for me as it was, and is, a matter of choice. I find that men don’t understand women and educating them is as frustrating as getting an old, domineering, misogynistic, supposed sage to understand that women communicate differently.

I hope that is too much information for you. If not, I could go on until David gets tired.

Signed: An independently happy woman who ain’t got time for the bullshit.

12. Economist warns of repeat debt cycle as Barbados exits IMF programme
    By Shanna Moore
    Barbados risks slipping back into a cycle of external debt and economic dependency despite the government’s claims of a successful exit from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) programme, a leading UWI economist has warned.
    Professor Don Marshall challenged the government’s narrative as it ends its sevenyear, IMF-backed, Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme. He described the exit as a case of “political success but policy failure”, arguing that despite improved debt ratios and foreign reserves, the economy remains structurally unchanged.
    Barbados’ real GDP is projected to grow by 2.7 per cent in 2025, according to the IMF, with international reserves at $3.4 billion, equivalent to over seven months of import cover.
    “How does the announcement of Barbados ending its arrangement with the IMF square with the recognition that it is seeking to draw down on the final tranche of IMF funding in June, and that it will immediately pursue other debt-tied loans in the international capital market?” Marshall asked in a statement to Barbados TODAY.
    “In the same breath, the minister of finance makes clear that she will quickly resort to IMF lending again if storm clouds gather.”
    The government has secured a stafflevel agreement with the IMF for the final disbursement of US$114 million (BDS$228 million), and plans to pursue a precautionary standby arrangement to maintain access to the Fund in the event of future shocks.
    Prime Minister Mia Mottley, who also serves as the finance minister, said last week that while the formal IMF programme is ending, structural reforms must continue, and Barbados must remain nimble, strengthen its institutions, and build skills.
    But Professor Marshall suggested the country was far from self-reliant.
    “The economy, however, has not been transformed or built out,” he said.
    “And so, we are to immediately go on a whistle tour to borrow more money. The ruling regime will be returned to office, of course. It’s the partisan endgame in sight.”
    He noted that the IMF’s original involvement in 2018 was to stabilise a debt and foreign exchange crisis, followed by another four-year programme after the COVID-19 pandemic.
    Professor Marshall argued that despite meeting targets under both programmes, the long-term development vision remains unclear.
    “All across the country, taxpayers are to receive a $300 share in the recovery bounty,” he noted.
    “But from my vantage point as a student of development studies, we are witnessing the unfolding of a politically successful, policy failure.”
    Professor Marshall also pointed to the case of Nigeria, which recently announced that it had fully repaid its US$3.4 billion debt to the IMF, with no further drawdowns, contrasting it with Barbados’ continued borrowing.
    shannamoore@barbadostoday.bb

Source: BT

13. Life, like Debt Management, is a highway, not a destination
    You can turn off at various exits, taking your overdraft to another lender

14. Bajan in Exile Avatar
    Bajan in Exile

All of the people in Barbados who support the Chinese Communist Party NEED to read this link from the Independent and Highly Esteemed publication The Epoch News.

You will be absolutely DISGUSTED when you read what the Chinese Government is doing in China. HARVESTING ORGANS from “Prisoners of Conscience” people of particular religious sects and selling these organs to the world wide market. If you have a CONSCIENCE you will read this.

https://www.theepochtimes.com/china/arizona-becomes-5th-state-to-ban-funding-for-china-linked-organ-transplants-5855087?utm_source=ref_share&utm_campaign=copy

15. Elections and Colonialism Business As Usual aka Rambling Concepts for Dummies

In the old days people felt better being colonised / colonized by the Brits than the Dutch and by the Dutch than the Spanish and the Spanish than the Portuguese.

But these people weren’t trusted to be Nation Builders themselves and the Gatemaster’s prevented them from working in these areas for careers.

When colonialists were removed they were replaced by businesses and leaders who continued following the colonialist masters biddings and orders.

Nowadays there are Palestinians who are being driven out by Israelis
    and Americans say they will be better at controlling them than Israelis

You are offered to select bad or worse options in elections
    Parties don’t win elections to become Governments
    Governments lose elections for the next Party

16. @ Baje

Western Propaganda has bamboozled you

News is as bent as fuck

War News is fuck

USA becoming #2 would be copacetic

The Global South will Rise again

up! Up! UP!

17. Cuhdear Bajanc Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajanc

@Hants May 15, 2025 at 12:09 pm “Hope my fellow BU bloggers in Barbados get theirs.”

Got mine since Tuesday, Thinking of ways to lick it up,I may buy $10 worth of lottery tickets lol! or to spend it wisely. I may buy some seeds and slips and things to plant up de ground, or I have a little repair job to do at home. Just one day’s work, so I may pay the workman out of that.

But it won’t influence my vote one way or the other.

If any of the BU resident Bajans don’t want theirs I would be happy to find good use for it.

18. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna “I am at a loss as to how one can appear to be too independent and useless at the same time???

Only in Bushie’s demented mind.

I pay a young husband and father to cut my grass. because young husbands and fathers deserve paid work. I am happy to pay him $115 BDS for 3 hours work.

My hard earned money to spend EXACTLY as I like.

But still I work the ground. It is ploughed already. Needs to be rotavated. Will plant yams, sweet potatoes, cassava, pumpkins and sweet peppers before the end of the month at the “plantation” I’ve already planted tomatoes at home, and will plant okras at home as soon as I clear that bed. Had surgery recently so had to take it easy for a few weeks. Down temporarily, but not anywhere near out yet.

And misogynistic talk is to me like water offa a duck’s back.

I will continue to be me, happy and healthy and well past 70.

19. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Bajan in Exile May 16, 2025 at 10:08 am “HARVESTING ORGANS from “Prisoners of Conscience” people of particular religious sects and selling these organs to the world wide market.”

I trust that we ALL understand that those who sell organs and those who buy organs are ALL cut from the same cloth. None of them is better than the other.

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bajan in Exile May 16, 2025 at 10:08 am

The Epoch Times is a far-right international multi-language newspaper and media company affiliated with the Falun Gong new religious movement. The newspaper, based in New York City, is part of the Epoch Media Group, which also operates New Tang Dynasty (NTD) Television.

According to Wikipedia “Falun Gong, also called Falun Dafa, is a new religious movement founded by its leader Li Hongzhi in China in the early 1990s. Falun Gong has its global headquarters in Dragon Springs, a 173-hectare (427-acre) compound in Deerpark, New York, United States, near the residence of Li Hongzhi.”

“Led by Li Hongzhi, who is viewed by adherents as a god-like figure, Falun Gong practitioners operate a variety of organizations in the United States and elsewhere, including the dance troupe Shen Yun. They are known for their opposition to the Chinese Communist Party (CCP), espousing anti-evolutionary views, opposition to homosexuality and feminism, and rejection of modern medicine, among other views described as “ultra-conservative”.

21. Lorenzo
    Bushie ,I feel your pain for the in my view dead DLP your party.In my view after Mr Blackman wash off Ms Dujon in links come May 21st,the attention will turn to the so called leader of the Dems elected on aBLP ticket.In my opinion this wannabe dictator will lose wherever he ends up running like Rev Atherley did.The 10 hour speeches will not help him in my view.In conlusion Bushie and others like Northern the waiting already on the wall.This is my opinion.

22. @Lorenzo

The only person who qualify for de facto dictator is the PM. She should consider democratizing the electoral process given the current fault line. The BLP is as strong as opposition parties.

23. Hants you have an eye for the ladies as does the PM?

24. And that takes care of that. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

25. Lorenzo
    David Bu not surprised by your comment.Tell me did Ns Mottley lock anyone out of Roebuck Street?Did she discard one of her best candidates like Mr Thorne did with Mr M Lashley? Who is the real dictator? You need to take off your blinkers.

26. @Lorenzo

Your example is not relevant which you know. The DLP has created the loudest ‘noise’ post 2028. What this election will gauge is if there is a significant national swing coming.

27. What will happen here is that the short term goal of cutting votes from the DLP in the next general election will be achieved but the long term expectation by many, especially independents, of breaking up the duopoly will fail, miserably.

Friends to enter ring

THE FRIENDS OF DEMOCRACY plans to be a foe to wrongdoers and speak out on behalf of the voiceless, and by the time the next General Election is called, it will be ready to offer candidates.

Chairman Karina Goodridge, an attorney, was one of the executive members of the group announcing their intentions yesterday to become a full-blown political party.

“We see the beauty of Barbados, but we still see things that need correction. We still see things that are going wrong and we plan to be the voice.

“If you don’t have a voice, who’s going to be speaking on your behalf? The same people that may be hurting you? We don’t want you to be in a position where you have to choose between the lesser of two evils. We want you to have a proper organisation that has been developed to speak on your behalf – people who have credibility and integrity,” Goodridge said.

She was speaking to members during their inaugural general conference at 1st Avenue, Belleville, St Michael.

Goodridge further outlined their intentions. “We are not just here as a ‘third party’ or a third group opposing the Government. I am determined and I am going to put my best foot forward. I am going to make sure I am not going to be a disappointment to you. I want to ensure I add value to this political organisation and that some day we can remember and say, ‘Look, where we started’.

“We are people who are serious about our nation.

We are not here to play games. I’m not here for the bread and butter. I am here to work,” she said to the group.

Goodridge will be supported by an elected executive committee of management comprising first vice-chairman Ricardo Harrison, second vice-chairman Ricardo Williams, secretary Steve Blackett [former Democratic Labour Party Cabinet minister and general secretary], treasurer Felicia Corbin, secretary-treasurer Sandra Estwick, and floor members Raymond Wiggins, Jabari Welch and Deborah Hinds.

A general committee of management was also elected: Jason Hurdle, Danielle Forte, Eleanor Blackett, Michael Turton, Paulette Drakes, Carlise Harrison, Adrian Lovell, Colin Brown, Cleeton Coppin and Marcia Holder.

The Friends’ party colours will be green and purple, with the green signifying nature, life, growth, renewal and harmony, while purple represents royalty, power, spirituality and creativity. Their emblems are the desert rose and diamonds.

Last year February, former Barbados Labour Party Member of Parliament Ralph Thorne crossed the floor and became the DLP’s political leader. Since then, there has been a public fallout, which led to significant divisions. There were expulsions and resignations, including that of former DLP president Dr Ronnie Yearwood and Blackett.

Recently, former DLP election candidate for The City of Bridgetown in 2022, Kemar Stuart, announced the formation of a new political party, the New National Party.

A few months ago, Blackett announced they had formed the Friends of Democracy. At that time he said they were a civic group.

Yesterday, Blackett said although they were in the beginning stages, they were moving forward with their political agenda, with mission and vision statements, and finalising a constitution.

“We are laying the foundational work which I believe any political party that is in its embryonic stage should go through. That is exactly what we are doing today,” he said.

He projected that they will be ready for the next General Election.

“There is room in Barbados to accommodate another party. We are going to be ready. We are not going to say how many seats we will propose to go after, but certainly we will be ready and some of our candidates will be ready by that time to be actively engaged in that process whenever the bell is rung,” Blackett said.

Harrison, who was a DLP candidate in the 2022 poll, is expected to be one of the contenders. He said they will be holding public officials accountable.

“Our vision is to keep the Government on its toes. We recognise there is no real advocate for the average Barbadian. We’ve seen how the DLP has imploded and offers no real advocacy to the people of Barbados. We intend to fill that void,” he said.

(TG)

28. Are you sure Boss…?

Given recent trends, Bajans are VERY likely to elect a party like the FOD next election.
    This lot looks like the most likely way of our continuing to go from bad to worse…
    (…or more accurately over the past decade, ..from worse to ‘wosser’.)

The main plus for the DLP has been in their getting rid of SB.
    Does that not make the FOD a very attractive alternative party for brassbadians…?

A curse is a serious matter.

29. “The Naba Band is the music ministry of Divine Visitation Assemblies in Bridgetown, Barbados.”

30. People who present themselves for political office should start with full disclosure of past party affiliations.

This is the age of Google and You Tube.

31. Lorenzo
    David Bu,the only thing this by election will prove is the bees will win hands down.Having heard Ms Dujon,she does not inspire confidence.Then the attention will turn to Mr Thorne in the general election which in my view will be his Swansong.

32. @Bush Tea

What you suggest is an absurdity.

33. @ David
    “What you suggest is an absurdity.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Correct!
    But how would you categorize or CURRENT status quo?
    What term best describes our decision-making processes so far for this Century?

Bushie is just extrapolating Boss…
    It would have been seen as an ‘absurdity’ just a few years ago, to suggest that – with our expensive free education, we would be in the position we now see…
    ..BUT WE ARE HERE…

A curse is a SERIOUS thing yuh hear!!

34. Yes Bush Tea, by hook or by crook the nonsense must stop. On current trajectory if we extrapolate from the social decline there will be some kind of ‘spring’ appearing on the horizon soon.

What kind of country are we leaving for the children? Do we care?

35. Prediction. BLP wins.

36. Hopefully the talking heads will discuss the low voter turnout. We do not want to hear about the need to cull the voting list. If it needs to be done, do it!

37. D supporter no show
    B overconfident supporters no show

Saw two pics of Dujon online and she look like she taking it hard.

Where are her colleagues beside the senator ( next leader of the DLP) in the nation news pic

38. The issue of low voter turnout is a systematic problem, not a BLP or DLP issue. Voter apathy and cynicism is real.

39. Indeed! My main takeaway is the low voter turnout.

40. The de facto One party state solidified.

41. Political Analysis (Official Version)
    When votes don’t make much of a difference (such as 29-1 Vs 28-2) why bother?
    Low turnout tactical voting gave DLP half a chance but they still blew it
    If anything by elections are good for protest votes against Government

42. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

DavidBU
    May 22, 2025 at 8:31 am
    “The issue of low voter turnout is a systematic problem, not a BLP or DLP issue. Voter apathy and cynicism is real.”

I listened to Ms. Mottley and Ms. Thompson comments early this morning and they are 100% correct. The DLP has not energized their supporters to vote. Consequently, their weakness as a perceived “alternate govt” has not energized more people to vote in general. Also, there would have been persons that would have voted BLP but thought that Chad would win comfortably so they did not “turn out”. Also by-elections usually have a lower voter turnout than general elections.
    Even so the election “metrics” last night are a damning indictment on the the DLP. You have the BLP in govt for 7 years. The incumbent party USUALLY has a negative swing at the polls. The exact opposite happened in the St. James North by-election. Peter Wickham is right, It is not that democracy is under threat or that Barbadians do not want an “opposition”. They are telling the DLP that they are so poor they do not even want the DEMS in opposition.

43. @DLandPTV

You have missed the plot as well. Elections should not be based on hardcore support for a party. Added to which voter turnout has been declining for several elections now. Even PM Mottley and others admitted it is a concern.

44. @Kiki
    “If anything by elections are good for protest votes against Government”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    For normal, thinking people, – perhaps…
    But for cursed BBs???

Why would BBs protest against leaders that are EXACTLY representative of THEIR OWN mendicancy, morals, characteristics, lack of performance, and albino-centric predisposition?
    Why do you think that Trump’s base support is unwavering – despite the increasingly obvious fact that the man is a demented, possessed, demonic idiot?

Our local ‘culture’ of begging, borrowing, laziness, lack of productivity, lethargy and addiction to fetes, kadooment and partying is PERFECTLY replicated by our leadership.

What is to protest…?

…until the inevitable CONSEQUENCES of our brassbowlery are brought to bear by Lady Karma, we can continue eat, drink and be merry….