Felicia Dujon – DLP

The St. James North by-election is a few days away and the blogmaster must admit to having an unhealthy disinterest in the political campaign so far. It is fair to conclude that it is a contest between the main political parties Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP) aka the DUOPOLY. The fringe candidates although likely well intentioned will ‘gift deposits’ to the Treasury. Whether some us hat the idea of the duopoly being perpetuated, it is ‘we culture’.

The anointed BLP candidate Chad Blackman is favoured to maintain BLP’s dominance in the constituency. These kinds of elections are important to stoke life in the system of democracy practiced but as evidenced by the work of the Parliamentary Reform Commission (PRC). The precipitous decline of the DLP in recent elections – accentuated in the Mia Mottley era – has exposed a fault line in our electoral system that should be a concern for civic minded Barbadians. Especially those eligible to vote.

Unsurprisingly, we have the same talking heads called upon to reference political historical data which is disconnected from weaknesses in our electoral governance. What we have are the few happy to be spellbound (blinded) by the theatrics and cut and thrust of campaign politics. There is a minor place for the entertainment value political rhetoric injects into a political campaign, it only serves as a distraction from serious issues like increasing voter apathy and cynicism feeding the waning public trust. We have a large segment that are disengaged which does not augur well for maintaining a relevant governance model.

Chad Blackman – BLP

The current dysfunctional political climate continues to feed a level of political inertia that confirms why there is deepening public disillusionment because of an ensconced status quo. We are faced with the emergence of a de facto ‘strong woman’ and emerging analysis paralysis culture. For example the Mia Mottley government boasts of a slew of laws enacted under its tenure, however, the practice of successive governments sidestepping the implementation of transparency laws confirms the closing of ranks by the political directorate despite different colours colours.

Sadly we have observed local political dysfunction playing out regionally and internationally. We can cite the emergence of Trump politics to expose the emperor has no clothes era and his ‘lookalikes and acolytes’. In the overall scheme of things, the corn beef politics playing out in St. James North is following a tired political script.

Unfortunately the lack of an effective and effecient political governance framework will continue to widen the political governance ‘fault line’ on current trajectory. Where do we go from here?

79 responses to “A ‘redundant’ St. James North by election”

1. Weak opposition !

Arthur vs Thompson turnout was over 60%

A Quick Look up of Jamaica , st Lucia and USA presidential election showed a similar turn out (50ish)
    Grenada was a little higher ( 63 I think )

There are a lot more like me that chose to exercise their right not to vote.

2. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

@DavidBU you cannot discount what i stated as contributing to the decline in voter turnout in Barbados at least. If you read carefully , voters do not ONLY comprise “hardcore supporters” for a party. It would ALSO comprise persons that think a particular candidate (and by extension their party) is suitable enough to form a govt. These set of voters decide general elections. and would periodically change the govt from the Bees to the DEMS. I’m stating that the DEMS are not motivating these voters nor their “hardcore” support. This would have a consequent effect on turnout.

3. @DLandPTV

And the blogmaster is saying even if DEMS were motivated to vote it would be because of some altruistic reason and NOT because of appetizing candidate selection.

4. Trinidad 54%

5. How do you motivate people to vote – when NONE of the candidates show ANY indication of the ability to solve the many and growing problems that we face..?

Shiite, the politicians did not EVEN TALK about the problems – far less about solutions..?

So vote for what!!?
    ..leave that for the dumb political lackies on the various parties… who looking for a food.

‘Let the dead bury their dead’

When someone can articulate a COHERENT strategic pathway for national development – and project a degree of HONESTY, INTEGRITY and TRANSPARENCY…

THEN normal BBs may be inclined to show support.

6. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

@DavidBU well, all i can say is that the votes Ms Dujon got would be such DEMS as she was only made known as a candidate for the 3-4 weeks of the campaign (as far as i know). There would be “DEMS” that stayed home for varying reasons. That is obvious as she got 200 votes less than the last DLP candidate that ran in the 2022 elections (only 3 years ago).

7. When you vote for someone then you are responsible for their actions in power.
    Nobody wanted to bear the burden of responsibility to endorse these candidates.

8. Psychology of Not Voting or Voting Not
    Not voting can be liberating when politics is lame and also not voting for your usual party is also liberating if they don’t deserve your vote or align with your views.

9. Big tune.

10. Lorenzo
    David BU,what say you now.I told you Mr Blackman will wash off Ms Dujon in links.It has come to past.I also told you whenever a general election is called the in my view wannabe dictator Mr Thorne will lose whereever he shows up alike Rev Atherley.All the arrogance with his 10 hour speech will not change this in my view.The writing on the wall.

11. @Lorenzo

SJN is a BLP stronghold.

The candidate was not the best for that constituency.

DLP strategy was too ‘petty’.

Is there time to course correct? This is the question.

12. Bushtea

You know everything but won’t run!! BU, where the reductive is celebrated.

13. THE PERSON WHO AMUSED ME THE MOST IS ALEX MITCHELL WHO PROMISED VOTERS LAND AND THAT HE OWNS A LARGE PART OF THE 2X3 ISLAND AND ONLY GOT 11 VOTES IN HIS 3RD, 4TH OR 5TH TRY.

THEY NEED TO FIND A PRIVATE ROOM FOR HIM IN THE MENTAL HOSPITAL IF STILL IN BLACK ROCK SO HE COULD CONTINUE TO TALK TO HIMSELF EVERYDAY.

14. “Bushtea .. You know everything but won’t run!!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    LOL @ Enuff
    Boss, if you knew what Bushie knows, you would not run bout behind BB politics either…

We can assume that you have some time for us, now that your SJN election distraction is over…

So what wunna got planned next – to keep the BBs’ minds distracted?
    …perhaps yet another setta shiite talk about scrapping the 11+?
    …or maybe a new Hotel in Warrens
    …or wunna hoping for another freak storm – to spawn another NorthSouth China project? LOL

Don’t be so scarce from BU Boss – your insights are priceless..
    …especially your lame PR posts for the BLP’s haplessness…

15. @ Enuff
    Think about it for a moment…

Why would someone who ACTUALLY HAS SOMETHING TO OFFER…
    1 – choose to kowtow to a political party infested with parasites
    2 – prostrate themselves before hoards of cluless, mendicant BBs for votes
    3 – subject themselves and family to lies, gossip, malicious rumors
    4 – bend over to mendicant, lazy beggars and con artists
    5 – open themselves to bribes from greedy albino-centric business-crooks
    … all in an effort to ‘OFFER VALUABLE SERVICE’ to a BB country that is itself in chaos as it is..?

Wuh you think that stinking Bushie is an idiot!!?
    You ever heard of throwing pearls to swine?

If stinking Bushie was looking for WORTHWHILE leadership, it would NOT be from snake-oil salespersons on nightly political platforms making shiite promises that EVERYONE knows will ONLY be honored for the likes of Malmoney, Bizzy, and such company.
    NO!!!
    Bushie would RESEARCH the track record of SUCCESSFUL, HONEST, patriots – those with a sound TRACK RECORD of performance…. and then BEG that person to come and lend us a hand…
    A hand with the Midas touch, …..(rather than many hands make shiite work…)
    When Bushie sees normally UNMANNERLY, unapproachable, incompetent jokers, on political platforms, talking shiite and ‘offering themselves as servants of the people’ at election time – the bushman does dead wid laughter….

not you…?
    🙂

16. @ Enuff

1 Corinthians 8: 2

17. Lorenzo
    David BU,you are stating the obvious.Howevrr the arrogance of Mr Thorne is no Mr Barrow or Mr Adam’s will do the gems no good.He in my view needs to tone it down or his party will crash and burn in the next elections.In my view he has no outstanding record in politics and maybe should consider stepping down from the leadership.

18. @Lorenzo

No problem, a win is a win.

Walk good.

19. Bushie

All you have to do is clone yourself 29 times. Once you is the government, no kowtowing is required. You’re nuffin more than bluster and grandstanding. 🤣🤣

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@BAJE May 22, 2025 at 7:25 pm “THE PERSON WHO AMUSED ME THE MOST IS ALEX MITCHELL WHO PROMISED VOTERS LAND AND THAT HE OWNS A LARGE PART OF THE 2X3 ISLAND”

Unlikely.

And unlike urban constituencies, in rural constituencies the people mostly own their own house spots, so promising free land for housing would not appeal to the people in St. James North.

Alex and his party would benefit from spending a lot more time on the ground.

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Enuff May 23, 2025 at 8:23 pm “Bushie. All you have to do is clone yourself 29 times.”

Please “no” The thought of 30 Bushies is a nightmare.

I haven’t been this scared since I watched “Jaws” the movie.

22. fuh true ?

23. You still don’t get it Enuff…
    Why would a bushman be interested in being the ‘government’ of a hopeless bunch of BBs – who can’t manage their own banks, supermarkets, utilities or even land?

Bushie has NO such interest – besides perhaps, laughing out loud at the gross incompetence of your ‘successful’ lot of many ‘guvament’ hands that can’t make one shiite work.

The Bushman is like Jonah…

But if wunna ever need some help in ACTUALLY getting things done, you done know that the bushman will not let yuh down.

When you have a stepfather like Bushie’s the whole perspective is different…

BTW
    Tell John2 that Bushie has NEVER claimed to know everything….
    Whose fault is it that Stepdad knows all, is rich as shiite, and like Bushie bad, bad…?

24. Bushie

Why u sending message to me by enuff?
    Where have I said, accused or indicated that u know everything ( or anything)???

25. LOL @ John2
    May 23, 2025 at 1:18 am

1 Corinthians 8: 2

Nuh name, nuh lockup!

26. Lorenzo
    Snuff pay Bushie no mind.Years ago,he was on here praising up Mr Thompson as the greatest thing since slice bread.A politician not know for anything of substance except talk of bus fate and lunch money and some so call secret IMF deal that Mr Arthur had tied Barbados to.We all know how that revelation turned out.Mr Thompson turned out in my view to be one of the worst Pm ever in his short stint only to be outdone by Mr Stuart in my view.

27. LOL @ Lorenzo
    You may be right.

…and Bushie is also guilty of hoping that our current Empress would turn out to be a success, and that all of Bushie’s dastardly fears for Brassbados would have come to nought….
    But alas, you may well be forced to update your list of ‘worse PMs’ yet again… if you are lucky Enuff not to be robbed and murdered in broad daylight, that is…

The nature of SYSTEMIC DECLINE is such, that ONLY WISE, INSPIRED leadership – that is SANCTIONED by the Creator, can guarantee a reversal of fortunes…

…and you try and keep out of Bushie’s and Enuff’s (Snuff 🙂 )business yuh hear…??!!
    murduh!!

28. Lorenzo
    Bushie,Ms Mottley has done a great deal already bringing the country back from where it was in 2018 to where it is today.She has had to face more obstacles than most PM,s of the past including Covid,Hurricane Elsa,the freak storm,volcano Ash etc and we are still here.I believe she may become a greater leader than some of the past PM,s.Only time will tell.