Peter Thompson - Welcome Stamp
This article was written and submitted by Peter L. Thompson, a Barbadian real estate professional

Vision for Holetown and Trents vital to high-value tourism

Barbados stands at a pivotal moment in its tourism and community development journey. The Government’s acquisition of 18.5 acres at Trents, St James, is a strategic master stroke that gives us a transformative opportunity to reimagine Holetown’s future – one that balances progress with preservation, economic vitality with cultural integrity and community needs with global appeal.

As a real estate professional, I understand that property developers strive for the “highest, best use” of land. However, the Government and agencies like Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTII) are not mere property developers, so they must strive for the highest best use not simply of the 3.6 acre lot that is currently the Holetown Civic Centre, but also the best interests of the wider community.

We must pursue a dual strategy: one that locates both Holetown’s civic bureaucracies and high-quality visitor accommodations at Trents, while developing a world-class Holetown town centre on the vacated beachfront. This plan isn’t just visionary – it’s essential for securing Barbados’ position as a leader in sustainable, high-value tourism.

Trents: a hub for both tourism expansion and civic services The 18.5 acres of development land at Trents is an ideal site for new hotel development. Instead of a paltry 80 rooms in a high rise that blocks the beach, we can invest in 400 rooms, suites and condominiums with ample elbow room and parking at Trents. This will both improve the capital returns for investors and diversify Barbados’ hotel stock to give the industry greater resilience.

Catering to long-stay

Sustainable, medium-density resorts on this land would cater to long-stay, high-spending visitors without overwhelming local infrastructure. Trents is only steps away from the beach, but it’s also on Highway C, a strategic transportation corridor that offers easy access to attractions such as Apes Hill Golf Course, the historic Farley Hill National Park, the East Coast and the Animal Flower Cave to diversify guest experiences. Critically, this expansion relieves pressure on Holetown’s crowded Highway 1, allowing the town to evolve into a cultural epicentre rather than a congested thoroughfare.

The relocation of Holetown’s civic services – including the police station, court, post office and Barbados Revenue Authority – to Trents gives us the opportunity to update this ageing infrastructure into a modern, efficient civic complex, improving accessibility for residents across St James.

A purpose-built facility could integrate technology for faster processing, add parking and even include community spaces like a technology centre or health centre, elevating public service standards.

New Holetown town centre – where history meets luxury Freeing Holetown’s 3.6-acre beachfront site from its current bureaucratic functions unlocks its potential as the “heart” of the West Coast. The proposed Holetown town centre must honour the area’s rich heritage – it is, after all, the landing place of Barbados’ first English settlers in 1627.

Pedestrian-friendly plaza We must create a premium destination distinct from the Oistins Bay Garden. Imagine a pedestrian-friendly plaza where visitors and locals mingle to enjoy: 

• Culinary excellence: Michelin-starred chefs and Bajan culinary icons helm restaurants offering fusion cuisine and elevated local staples (think mahi-mahi ceviche or rum-infused chocolate desserts), with pricing reflecting the West Coast’s luxury ethos.

• Cultural immersion: A compact museum detailing Holetown’s indigenous, colonial and post-Independence history, complemented by artisan stalls selling handmade pottery, art and fashion.

• Entertainment: Sunset jazz sessions, spoken-word poetry and pop-up performances by Barbados’ finest artistes, avoiding the bustling party vibe of Oistins for a more refined ambiance.

• Sustainable design: Architecture blending coral stone traditions with modern aesthetics, shaded by native palms and powered by renewable energy.

The new Holetown town centre isn’t an Oistins replica; it’s a sophisticated oasis where a $200-plus dinner for two is the norm and the souvenirs are authentic Bajan handmade crafts, not cheap Chinese imports. By targeting affluent visitors and locals celebrating special occasions, the town centre avoids overcrowding and aligns with Barbados’ shift toward high-yield, long-stay tourism.

Economic and community benefits: a win-win model For residents, the town centre becomes a vibrant community space – hosting farmers’ markets by morning and open-air cinema nights by evening. For tourists, it’s a mustvisit landmark, encouraging longer stays and higher spending. Studies show cultural visitors spend 38 per cent more than average tourists. By anchoring Holetown’s identity in its history and creativity, Barbados taps into this lucrative market.

Preserving heritage, pioneering progress

A high-rise hotel on the beach site will profoundly erode Holetown’s charm, but a town centre with thoughtful design can safeguard its soul. The town centre will incorporate the existing Holetown Monument, which commemorates the first English settlement, into its layout. Walking tours will link the site to St James’ Parish Church and Folkestone Marine Park, weaving tourism into the cultural fabric. Barbados cannot afford stagnation.

Global competitors are investing in experiential tourism, and our infrastructure must keep pace. By redeveloping Trents and the Holetown beach in tandem, we address civic needs, expand tourism capacity, and create a landmark that celebrates Barbadian excellence.

Let’s not settle for insipid incremental change – let’s build a legacy.

165 responses to “Vision for Holetown and Trents vital”

1. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

The Honourable Kerrie Symmonds is the MP for St. James Central and Holetown is in his constituency. How many of his constituents can we convince to email this article to him before the end of this week?

kerrie.symmonds@barbados.gov.bb

2. Pure BS as in Bare Shite.

3.6 acres is too tiny to make any impression on the economy!!

Shows an air of desperation as by now the plunderers must be realising there ain’t much left to plunder.

Ponzi schemes usually collapse in a heap, and it is usually the little guy who suffers.

The GOB has already spent out much of the NIS funds propping up these failed ventures.

3. PLT is delusional.

We have heard about high end tourism since the 1990’s.

4. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

@John said
    “3.6 acres is too tiny to make any impression on the economy!!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I’m so glad you agree that we should develop the 18.5 acres instead for tourism and make the 3.6 acre beachfront lot into an area that both Bajans and visitors use.

5. 18.5 acres ditto, way way too small to make any impression

6. What the GOB needs to do is to expand Culpeper Island or hope another island rises out of the sea on Barbados Ridge, close enough to Barbados to claim it is our economic Zone!!

7. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

I’m very aware that this very limited intervention aimed at harm reduction in the development process does not achieve the economic diversification that we need.

I know that large capital flows are being deployed… and we do not have the power, as a community, to put a halt to this capital… so I am simply trying to help the community divert this capital investment to paths that cause less harm.

8. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

For those who enjoy John’s posts as much as I do… he is perfectly aware that Culpepper Island is about 0.3 acres, more than 10 times smaller than the 3.6 acres that he correctly points out is much too small 😉

9. @ PLT

I agree and support your thinking, however I think you are too progressive in your thinking for this party who sees beach front hotels all foroign own, as all that we can look to as our salvation.

I am asked by tourist and visiting friends “where can we go to experience a genuine Bajan Buffet for dinner?” I am not talking about a fish fry now, but a nice beach front location where people can dress nice, park their cars and enjoy a good buffet, even if it cost a few dollars. We had Brown Sugar where many could go for lunch, but thats not with us now and the entire west coast offering for dinner is basically a la carte offering with a European leaning. Now we not talking bout somewhere offering litttle macaroni pie and baked chicken either, but a meal that starts with Bajan appetizers and ends with Bajan deserts. As you there try we mauby the same time. You will obvously have other drinks as well but you get my point dont you? So yes i support your thinking about a full Bajan Experince at the Holetown location and not another hotel even if its called The Holetown Plaza!

Remember the days of Limbo and other floor shows at The Pepperpot and Sunset Crest Beach Club? What now is our identity and where can our visitors and locals go to experience it while having a good local meal? Truth is our current offerings are generic, void of any identity and hence we have become no different than any of our competitors.

Look I am not speaking here as an old man who does not want change. What I do however want is progress that does not alienate the born Bajan. We must have access to our beaches and be able to park right next to the hired cars driven by our visitors. We need development that not only welcomes visitors, but also gives locals the right to empower themselves as well.

What I see happening here is a major concern to me. It is not just about 3.6 acres of beach front state land being sold, but more so about what clearly is the turning point of how the Bajan National is being seen by this party.

10. An excellent post John A.

11. Go and read a bit on the geology of Barbados.

Here are some of the key words, Accretionary Prism, Oceanics, Subduction, Plate Tectonics, Barbados Ridge.

Then take a drive out to Cove Bay and look at a cross section through the Coral Cap and oceanics as is shown in this picture.

https://barbadosbydrone.com/drones/cove-bay/

Up here the coral cap is pretty thin, but it serves to show how it grows on the white oceanics, … they look like chalk.

Chalk does not stand up well to compression or shear.

The coral cap will be thicker in Holetown but fresh water has made it “crumbly” …. like at Arch Cot and there is no bedrock, only chalk.

This is not going to stand up well to compression or shear either.

A 9 story edifice will need significant support which the oceanics and the coral cap will probably not give but you would have to ask Grenville, or better a geologist if you know one.

…. and even if it can be built, it will consume a whole lot of water a scarce commodity in Barbados and generate a whole lot of sewage.

The historic aspect of the site is the clincher.

So, go look at the proposed 6 story proposed edifice from 2006 in Paynes Bay which if memory serves me right required piles be driven to a depth of 150 feet and would have been prohibitively expensive.

Go look at the Geological map of Barbados, read off the height below sea level the basal coral contour passes under Holetown and that will be the thickness of the coral on which the building will be built.

You will probably find the 18.5 acres site at Trents presents the same problem, but at least you will get some more coral there as both are in the Holetown flood plain.

12. We have simply run out of land to develop, that is all!!

13. This might help in visualisation.

14. All of the known indicators for Four Seasons suggest to me that constructions may have ceased because it had to for safety reasons.

But you should ask around in circles where you fly!!

15. PLT

You must know that this writer has long held more than a modicum of respect for you, your thinking.

However, the general flavour of this promotional piece seems very similar to what we’ve been hearing for decades.

It doubles down on tourism as the singular national industry at a time when government has failed, miserably, to deliver at least one more wing to the one-winged economy.

It surely must be high time for us to consider the opportunity cost in constantly heading down this well worn road and never getting the results projected.

Might you not be allowing your professional side to over rule your better judgement as you help the country to fortify its position within the culdesac already entered?

16. @ David

Thanks. Truth is this choose hotels or eat sour grass for dinner is not our only option. What PLT is suggesting is progressive and inclusive. What this government is proposing is segregation dressed up in THIS IS OUR ONLY SALVATION. Oistins for example is a major draw for both toursit and locals alike. What is being proposed here is something more extensive with a west coast flair to it. The beach access by boat and the opportunities for expanded marine activity means you have a nice mix by both day and night in terms of activities.

At the same time put down a proper boat launch so the fellas can launch the jet skis and locals their small boats to the south end of the lot.

17. “An excellent post John A.”

It is rare that I agree with both Johns.

PLT appears to have gone rogue.

Promote and prioritise cultural tourism above gimmicks. Keep it real bro. It always amuses me when Caribbean cruise ships employ predominately South Asians and other foreigners to serve passengers and to provide entertainment on trips in the Caribbean. I want to be serve by people who have a connection to the region and not some foreigner who has no knowledge of our region.

duck://player/NTLifuwI7Dg

18. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    Well put but as @ Pacha says it’s still the old tourism based product. We are gearing everything towards tourism but it’s time to really look at diversifying the economy. We are in an extremely perilous situation if tourism stumbles, we may end up with many white elephants.
    We still believe that a modern performing arts centre is needed but it should be an investment in the arts and not constructed as something to attract tourists. We have many local retirees who need these facilities so that they can enjoy the arts , and our youth need to be inculcated into the arts beyond what is now being pedaled day and night.
    Having said that, we understand your position and suggestion.

19. Whitewashed tourism through the focus of a eurocentric camera person. Bajan whites were a contented lot back in those days. Would i be correct in my assumption Quaker John?

Irrespective of this, it was amazing to view how beautiful Barbados was compared to the shithole it is now. Who allowed the place to become so run down?

John A spoke of a tourism model based on segregation. This video to a degree highlighted that this was the model back in the days.

You can not build a tourist industry based solely on the building and expansion of hotels.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cvQGIkhwELM

20. @ John A
    Well said.

21. TLSN
    March 2, 2025 at 7:09 pm

Whitewashed tourism through the focus of a eurocentric camera person. Bajan whites were a contented lot back in those days. Would i be correct in my assumption Quaker John?

Irrespective of this, it was amazing to view how beautiful Barbados was compared to the shithole it is now. Who allowed the place to become so run down?

To your first question the answer is I would not know because I was never a Bajan white but like most Bajans of all colours in the 60’s I was contented.

Aren’t most tourists coming to Barbados Eurocentric in appearance?

They still mostly speak English and are white.

To your second question the answer is obvious, the black politicians hipped on plunder and the acquisition of easy money ran this country down.

…. and yes, I agree with you that Barbados is a shithole now and many Bajans of all colours are miserable.

But I am not.

I’ve learnt (and continue to learn) truths in so many disciplines outside of my own, about myself, and more importantly, God and the Bible that I do not have time to be miserable.

Solving the Quaker puzzle was nirvana for me.

I share my joy of living, my knowledge and my understanding of the Truth with anyone who is prepared to listen.

… and I try to avoid temptation, sometimes successfully, sometimes not so successfully but I try, I know the difference!!

I also try to avoid miserable people I meet in person but recognise I have a responsibility to share the gifts I have been given by God …. like what I do on BU.

22. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

@TLSN
    “PLT appears to have gone rogue.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I’m glad you noticed…

This piece is a calculated intervention to test whether the administration is actually trying to provide jobs as they claim, or whether the proposed high rise hotel on the Holetown beach has more nefarious objectives.

If my proposal which provides MORE tourism jobs as well as MORE construction jobs is rejected, then that will establish beyond reasonable doubt that the stated objective of this project is not what is claimed.

We shall see.

23. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/15HuaLPtAa/?mibextid=wwXIfr

I spoke at a public meeting on the beach at Holetown. A couple of days later at the St Peter ideas forum PM Mottley went off script, looked at me directly and said ”Peter, I read what you said in the newspaper” (I had no idea I was on a first name basis with our Prime Minister).

She defended the proposed beachfront highrise hotel by pointing to its job creation potential and the problem of our aging hotel stock. This article is simply intended to point out that those objectives are better achieved by siting the hotel at Trents, and developing the beach front property in the best interests of both locals and visitors.

I am flattered that the PM reads what the Nation prints of my thoughts… so we will soon discover whether the problem that the government wants to solve is job creation and aging hotel stock, because my proposal does both of these things much better.

24. Bushie is disappointed in you ..on many fronts Peter.
    1 – The PM is on a first name basis with everyone that matters in Brassbados …and also with many that don’t.

2 – The PM not only reads, but influences ALL media bout here.. either by charming them, or by cussing them bad…

3 – The “problem that the government wants to solve” is staying in political power as long as possible – (and savoring the attached benefits).

But even if government TRULY desired job creation (do you mean the menial -type jobs that come with tourism? ..or REAL enfranchisement??) and to improve the hotel stock, you MUST KNOW that our PM really has little say in achieving anything but Plantation-type development…..

BECAUSE this is the natural IMF/ IDB agenda… and is what now sets the Barbados agenda.

IMF led ‘Privatization’ means selling national assets to rich people…. NOT enfranchising brass bowls…EVEN if the PM genuinely desired this.

The poor PM is therefore challenged to pacify us with promises – while actually meeting the targets set by our REAL rulers.

Do you REALLY think that any SANE Barbadian would agree to build UGLY walls all around the most beautiful and valuable asset that this little country owns… our coastline – UNLESS their hands were tied?
    Not even Duguid would be so dotish…

BUT THERE IS A HIGH PRICE TO BE PAID FOR SELLING OUR SOULS TO THE DEVIL.

Perhaps the REAL problem that government now face – is the level of UNDERSTANDING and analyses currently being spread via social media… and by a few like you in the shiite Press..

Bushie is here guessing if they will ‘convert you’ with a ‘Most Honorable’ award …or perhaps an ambassadorship to Albania… when you get the invite to Illaro..

25. I was thinking about the open site above KFC which was a part of the Halcyon ponzi scheme and wondering if that building had to be demolished because of foundation issues.

Then I realised there have been other demolitions and rebuilding.

The Hilton for example is 8 floors but if you enter it much of it is open space … no weight.

I am wondering if right under our noses these multi floor buildings have been condemned, demolished and rebuilt … or not …. or are the foundations of ponzi schemes in the past and to come.

26. Bush Tea
    March 2, 2025 at 11:47 pm

Do you REALLY think that any SANE Barbadian would agree to build UGLY walls all around the most beautiful and valuable asset that this little country owns… our coastline – UNLESS their hands were tied?
    Not even Duguid would be so dotish…

John
    February 16, 2025 at 11:59 am

OUR HERITAGE ….. penned by Edward A. Stoute for the Advocate Newspaper of Sunday July 13, 1969 …. a week before the first human walked on the moon!!

Recently we have heard announced of some scheme whereby Bridgetown and Speights Town are to be subjected to vast changes. Old buildings are to be demolished and replaced by more modern and up-to date structures. I would like to draw the attention of those in authority, as well as the public in general, to is an extract from The Reader’s Digest of March, 1968, under ‘Points to Ponder’ ; Caskie Stinnett :

If an author writes a poor book it ends up on the remainder table of a bookstore and the sensibilities of the public are not offended, A disastrous painting inevitably finds its destiny in the attic somewhere. But badly designed 49-story office buildings or high-rise apartments can’t be ignored. They sit, year after year, a massive cinder in the eye of the beholder. These monstrous buildings (to say nothing of the single-family dwelling which is also out of hand) are proliferating, while classical old buildings are being razed.

Well, we have a suggestion. Let’s put the bulldozers and demolition cranes in mothballs for a while, not for long, but long enough to allow architects to sort of get the hang t of it again,”

In the same issue of the Digest there is an excellent article ‘The Dutch Salvage Their
    Architectural Heirlooms’, by Karl Detzer, ( pages 71-75) which shows how Holland is saving for posterity their old buildings, and ends with a quotation by an eighty­two old architect, Hendricus Theodorus Wijdeveld, who is enthusiastic about saving the buildings in his home town, who states :­

“People are wanting a sniff of the old; in the end we can make a wonderful world” .
    The average Canadian or American visitor to Barbados comes from some newly developed section of that country, and I have had one Canadian remark to me ‘Golly, when this was built Red Indians lived where my farm is now’. These people are looking for something old, and Barbados has many old and historic buildings, some of which are located in Bridgetown and Speightstown, and these should be preserved. It is these that the visitor is desirous of seeing and learning something about, It is this link with the past which gives this Island its character and makes it so different. Others can offer sea-bathing and beaches if that is all the visitor desires. It must be borne in mind that Antigua has its ‘Nelson’s Dockyard’ which is a drawing card; St, Kitts has its ‘Brimstone Hill’; and St. Lucia its Grand and Petit Petons and ‘Mon Fortune’, the latter being one of the bloodiest sots in the West Indies, for several bloody battles were fought here between the English and the French. What has Barbados got to offer in this line? The only remaining fortification in good preservation is St. Anne’s Garrison, and the structure of these buildings especially the Savannah Club with the clock tower, is admired by all who are fortunate to see them.

HOLETOWN.

The Police Station, or part of it, at Holetown, was part of an old battery, and this should not be demolished at any cost. It is noted that some renovations have been carried out in this town, and shops catering to visitors have been opened, however, I am happy to say that these places conform to the old setting of this town.

SPEIGHTSTOWN.

Within recent years this town has had several buildings demolished, and some new structures have replaced them, however, these new structures do not conform to the setting of this old town and are not in harmony with their surroundings· Messrs, Plantations Limited endeavoured to be in harmony with this town when they rebuilt their business premises. Could not other firms do this and not erect buildings which are in such great contrast with their surroundings?

Wherever one travels one hears high praise of Barbadians and Barbados. One may not
    realise it but it is the tranquil and harmonious surroundings which have ingrained themselves into the character of the Barbadian, irrespective of colour, class or creed+,
    and given to us this heritage which is so much admired by, and is sometimes the envy of, others.

I sincerely hope that my feeble prayer of ‘Please, oh please, do not spoil our Island home’ will reach the ears of those who have the power to prevent the unrestrained destruction of our heritage·

An addendum!!

Little did Edward Stoute know nor could he have imagined that one day the Harbour Police Station and all those wonderful old buildings around it would be demolished by those with the power to prevent unrestrained destruction of our heritage.

Maybe we should ask Elon if he would carry them back to the moon.

27. If Hotel sites like the Harlequin, Discovery Bay (next door to Holetown), Four Seasons are being abandoned because tourism like sugar before it is a break even or loss making proposition but like the plantation it makes economic sense to have then we should be discussing tourism as such.

If, however, there are serious foundational issues and the potential for collapse is a real and present danger, then put it in the open and let people know.

The liability accruing from a collapsed multi floor building collapse is mind boggling.

28. In a related tourism development matter.

Sun Group buys Savannah Hotel

by GERCINE CARTER

gercinecarter@nationnews.com

THE SAVANNAH HOTEL has been sold to the Bernie Weatherhead-led Sun Group.

Chairman Weatherhead confirmed this to the DAILY NATION last Thursday, saying “We are in full control of the hotel at this stage,” and that “the purchase agreement has been completed”.

While declining to disclose the price he paid for the last of the hotels in the GEMS Project, which was on the market since 2019, Weatherhead said: “They went to tender on two occasions . . . and I paid $2 million more than any tender that ever was made.”

“I had a contract that I leased Savannah and it had an option to buy and to make sure in the island that it was not something given to Bernie Weatherhead, they went out to the international market,” Weatherhead added while disclosing he had previously been approached by the Hard Rock International group who “asked if they could join with me in purchasing it, but I told them ‘no, I have my own direction’.”

He plans to expand the 93-room hotel which sits on approximately 3.32 acres of land, by adding another 140 rooms, 40 of them “in the immediate future”.

Weatherhead also disclosed his Sun Group would be buying additional land adjacent to the Savannah, currently occupied by the former Hastings Police Station, for the expansion, as well as properties “across the other side of the road in front of Savannah,” for further expansion of the hotel’s operations.

“We have already bought the three houses across the other side of the road in front of the hotel and we have paid the deposit on Brigade House. We want to transform all that area into staff facilities and a little shopping area with bistro-type operations where our guests would have a prime spot to watch horse racing.”

The Sun Group also owns Sugar Cane Club, Anthurium Suites, Sunny Isle Car Rentals, Time Out at the Gap, and Worthing Court Hotel, the last two being former Gems hotels.

Weatherhead also shared plans to extend the Sun Group’s footprints along the Bay Street corridor.

“I have made a big investment in Carlisle Bay and basically bought up all the properties between Copacabana and the Selbys’ house on Lower Bay Street,” he said, adding that some properties on the opposite side of the road, including the historic Martineau House had also been acquired by his company.

He also hinted that a project called Forest Safari which he designed some years ago for more than 30 acres of land he owns in Joe’s River, St Joseph, might be “back on the table” at Government’s request.

“I never got off the ground with it. They have asked me to put it back on the table,” Weatherhead said.

He believes Barbados’ tourism has “a good future in a lot of things”, despite “crime that seems to be raising its head higher and higher”.

“What I would say off-hand, is what we have not done, is to develop more things of interest for people, whether they are Barbadians or tourists”.

It is one reason he said he created Haymans Market, his latest venture, “feeling that this would be a focal place for everybody in Barbados, whether it is Barbadian or foreigner”.

29. Related to tourism development concerns.

A serious conundrum

THERE IS A WEIGHT upon our shoulders that we need to carry, because unless we do, we shall not be able to balance. And you know that balancing has been the core requirement of our existence.

One of the goals that we wish to achieve is to bring more tourists into the island. In order to achieve this, our first thinking is to build more hotels in order to accommodate the expected tourists. This we do by granting more and more concessions, as we cannot get something without giving something. But we need to be careful about the percentage of land which we provide for these hotels, and about the impact on our beaches and, more importantly, on the people themselves.

Recently, we have had a flood of tourists from the United States and Canada which have been experiencing huge fires and inordinate wintry weather such as they had not experienced in years. As a result, we in Barbados have been the benefit of a flood of tourists. As a matter of fact, we see tourists everywhere in hotels, on the street, on beaches and variously mixed with the population.

One place where tourists are in evidence is in the supermarkets buying food and mixing with the people. This is because not all tourists will want to stay in a hotel and want to be served. So with this new flood of tourists, we need to provide them in the shops and supermarkets not only with locally-grown or made items but with things familiar to their tastes.

This means that we are constrained to import these things as we are unable to provide them otherwise. In other words, use scarce foreign exchange.

We are caught in a dilemma. We need to spend foreign exchange in order to get the foreign exchange of the tourists both in the hotels and outside of the hotels, in the shops and supermarkets.

Now, it would be good if we could differentiate between people who are tourists and who are locals in stores, shops and supermarkets in order to require payment, but we can’t – not even by colour, language or looks – so we charge them both the same thing.

In this way the poorest among us are caught in a dilemma – not only the poorest but the Government itself. It also cannot differentiate.

But the Government also has a problem. It has to produce foreign exchange to import what cannot be provided locally and its foreign exchange is constricted by the preponderance of borrowed loans that has restricted foreign exchange use. You see the need for caution over the Central Bank-boasted foreign exchange holding?

So what does the Government do?

For every dollar it has to spend importing those items that the tourists require – and even for necessary requirement of locals – it imposes a tax in order to balance its budget. Very few items even of local growth or produce escape this tax and the poorest among us suffers.

If you should check your supermarket bill or even your rum shop bill, you will see a long line of 17 per cent tax attachments.

Given this dilemma – the real level of exchange that we hold – we ask ourselves how weather-safe we are.

What do we wish the Government to do?

It cannot make the things that the tourists want here. Even if it could put all the tourists in hotels it would have to import the same items as that would be the requirement of the hotels. Thus, it is not only a problem that places like supermarkets have to face but the hotels themselves that we are so anxious to build. I am not even questioning the percentage of tourismgenerated foreign exchange that is reaching us. It reminds me of a flying mare [wrestling move] that a lady once put me in – nowhere out.

This scenario for Barbadians is serious. It means that there is little room to shield poor Barbadians from the impact of the cost of living – perhaps not only poor Barbadians but most of us. This situation is made even worse by the unhealthy position of changes that exist in our Parliament and the apparent squabbling in the Opposition.

Barbadians now face a situation where they are the beneficiaries of a huge influx of tourists that is impacting on the country’s cost of living instead of bringing benefits and goodwill.

Moreover, there is an even a more worrying problem. The recent resignations and transfers signal that a new thinking process is required and that neither Government nor the Opposition is equipped. There is need for rewiring. There is a new generation since 2010.

Harry Russell is a banker.

Email quijote70@gmail.com

30. Concern over beach access

BACK IN 2023, this column was successful in getting the National Conservation Commission (NCC) to repair the steps at Derricks Beach, St James.

However, two years later while the steps have remained intact, sections of the popular beach have become inaccessible, due to a fallen tree and a huge collection of rocks which are blocking the pathway.

Retiree, Erlyn Toppin, who bathes at the beach every day and who highlighted the situation back in 2023 is pleading for assistance once again.

She pointed out that this was months since the huge tree had fallen across the sand, blocking one side of the pathway to the beach, while the other side which she utilises has become more difficult for her to travel along because of the rocks and protruding tree roots.

The 82-year-old Toppin, who has been bathing at Derricks Beach for more than 40 years said she fears that she or someone could be seriously injured while stepping across the dangerous rocks and tree roots, as she has slipped and fallen many times.

“The sign says public access to the beach but you cannot access the beach properly. First of all, there is a huge tree at the top of the walk way and now this tree has fallen and you got all of these rocks here.

It’s very difficult,” she cried. She recalled that many years ago, the then owners of Crystal Cove Hotel placed the rocks across the sand. “I understand that they were asked to remove the rocks after people complained but they never did,” she said, pointing out that since then more and more rocks had been deposited on the sand. In addition she said the hotel was recently sold and a perimeter fence was placed around it. “For many years I would walk on the pathway of the hotel to get to the beach but now they have fenced it off,” she said.

“This is one of the best beaches around this area. A lot of tourists come here but those rocks need to be removed and the area cleaned up,” she said.

“It’s not fair. It’s not fair at all,” she added.

This column reached out to management at the Crystal Cove Hotel and a man who identified himself as Michael Andrews pointed out that the hotel was currently closed for renovation.

He said the fence was installed for security reasons and would be there until the renovation was finished.

In terms of the rocks, he said he would convey Toppin’s concerns to the new owners.

This column also contacted Ryan Als, general manager of the NCC, who said he would have the matter investigated as he was not aware that the access was blocked.

EIGHTY-TWO YEAR-OLD Erlyn Toppin has to crawl over rocks and tree roots to get to an area along Derricks Beach, St James where she can safely bathe in the sea.

THIS HUGE TREE at the top of the pathway to the beach is also a concern as people have to squeeze through it to get to the beach. (Pictures by Maria Bradshaw.)

NOW THAT Crystal Cove Hotel has erected a fence, sea-bather Erlyn Toppin says it restricts her safe walkway access to the beach.

31. The economic stranger in the room

AS I SAT TO WRITE this article, it had been approximately 16 hours since I first saw a news broadcast of President Donald Trump and Vice-President JD Vance of the United States of America (USA) verbally dressing down President Volodymyr Zelensky of Ukraine in the Oval Office.

It’s possibly the most embarrassing event I’ve ever seen replayed on prime-time television; certainly more so than when Will Smith slapped Chris Rock in the face a few years ago. But the implications are far-reaching.

From my point of view, a world war is more probable than ever before, or Ukraine will concede even more of its resources than it had bargained for during preceding negotiations with the USA.

Trump is reputed to be an expert deal-maker. I view last Friday’s show of force as a delay tactic – one that, if both sides aren’t careful, they could live to see a bolder Putin as a result.

It’s, however, the presence and role of Vance during that meeting that intrigues me.

It could be true that US vice-presidents take on an active role in these sorts of events. I do not have a reference point from which to dispute this. Vance’s involvement reminds me greatly of the concept of the “stranger in the room” and how many seemingly well-intentioned negotiations are scuttled in their concluding phases.

Invited to observe

The stranger in the room is nothing more than a person who, initially unrelated to and uninvolved in the scope of the meeting or negotiation, is seemingly invited to observe or “lightly” participate in the later or concluding rounds of negotiations. They tend to be in attendance at the invitation of the party that seeks to kill or critically delay the outcome of the negotiation.

They intervene eventually during the course of deliberations, offering some intervention that calls the outcomes into question.

They do this either deliberately, as planned with the inviting party, or unintentionally, as it is their nature to disagree with the outcomes for whatever reason. The benefit to the inviting party is that they can portray a need to withdraw from negotiations because someone they trust has made a pertinent intervention. This is done to avoid making the party look as bad as possible given the decision to walk away or postpone at such a late and concluding stage.

My gut tells me that last Friday Vance was indeed the stranger in the room. Let’s not spend any more time exploring why I saw that to be the case. I’m motivated to write about why I think the concept can damage small island economies when it comes to opportunities to develop themselves.

Projects always delayed

Let us assume that most very large-scale investment projects are designed through the use of rigorous levels of analysis and with certain access to financing. It would be incorrect to believe that small island governments will have a difficult time valuing or accepting the economic or developmental impact.

Furthermore, since the project has great all-round potential benefit to these states, why are the majority of such projects always delayed in implementation?

First thoughts would have you thinking of a lack of political will.

But that isn’t logical because such projects promise the ability to grow foreign exchange earnings; improve physical infrastructure (while maintaining historic and cultural value) with minimal environmental impact risk; and create jobs. All of these are success factors for a developing economy, so a government should prioritise the successful and timely completion of such projects.

My experience has shown that, if you look and listen long enough across all aspects of media, you will see several strangers in the room emerging as said projects are in marginally advanced stages. I would be the first to say that many of the points they make have immense merit but, once more, my experience has not shown that those concerns tend to outweigh the benefits to the country. Again, that is if the projects are defined by the conditions that I previously mentioned.

The Hyatt Project is a perfect example, excluding the clear concerns about environmental impact. The law is clear about government’s right to eminent domain. Any challenges to that must be addressed at the constitutional level and are beyond the scope of any such project. Barbados, back then, was in need of the short-term boost of construction as a remedy to flagging GDP. My view on the matter is quite different than you’d expect, but for the reader’s sake, I wish to make clear that I am speaking as a logical and professional observer.

Mixture of two factors

Apparently, all remaining success factors were there. Capital was ready for deployment and, on the government’s side, all the necessary permits were either granted or close to completion. Yet, the project was stalled, and it is my belief that this was the result of a mixture of two factors: the media and the court system.

Government has since changed, and that project still has economic benefits. But benefits derived later do not always result in greater benefit. In other words, the economy now might have been even bigger and/or more developed had that project not been stalled. To this day, I believe that no real blame has ever been attributed to those who benefited immensely from the delay. Overall, the country has not.

This brings me to the much-embattled sale of the Holetown Civic Centre to a locally-resident Canadian entrepreneur. According to all reports, he plans to make a more than US$150 million investment into the construction of an 80-room hotel on the site.

Personally, I am consistent in saying that I am never in support of more hotels on the island, as I do not see material or sustainable benefit in doing so, especially when considering the cost to government by way of subventions and grants, nor the environmental impact. I also have not followed much of the debacle surrounding the debate in both Houses of Parliament regarding the sale.

On the plus side, I see it as being no different to the motivation behind Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s decision to sell the Barbados National Bank (BNB) just over 20 years ago. On the negative side, I can see the legacy results as being fairly similar to those emanating from Arthur’s decision to divest the government’s majority stake in the BNB back then. I know that you, the reader over 35 years old, understand exactly what I mean here.

My main point is that all development comes with both good and bad. The objective is that the benefit must outweigh the cost.

So while I am personally against tourism being placed as the driver of the country’s growth in the fashion in which it is done, I am realistic when it comes to the political objectives that government finds itself balancing with the economic.

To that point, once certain covenants surrounding the historic character and the wider environment were agreed upon and maintained, I would not offer opposition. Besides, it is too late for me to be a stranger in the room.

There was one, who I supported their right to intervention and disagreement, but it seems that the cost of their actions outweighed the benefit of doing so.

Jeremy Stephen is an economist/ financial analyst with extensive experience in private equity and economic consulting in Barbados and the region. Email: economistfeedback@gmail.com

32. I am beginning to wonder now my brain is on these matters, if the Hilton was blown up (or rather blown down) because its structure after all those years was compromised by failing foundations?

If we have ground conditions which are inimical to the support of multistory edifices, should we not be concentrating more on this?

How will the additional 140 rooms be added to the Savannah Hotel?

Will it be in a multi floor structure or will it overrun the Garrison and its historic buildings?

Have we gone completely bonkers?

33. David
    March 3, 2025 at 4:54 am

“The Hyatt Project is a perfect example, excluding the clear concerns about environmental impact. The law is clear about government’s right to eminent domain. Any challenges to that must be addressed at the constitutional level and are beyond the scope of any such project. Barbados, back then, was in need of the short-term boost of construction as a remedy to flagging GDP. My view on the matter is quite different than you’d expect, but for the reader’s sake, I wish to make clear that I am speaking as a logical and professional observer.

Mixture of two factors

Apparently, all remaining success factors were there. Capital was ready for deployment and, on the government’s side, all the necessary permits were either granted or close to completion. Yet, the project was stalled, and it is my belief that this was the result of a mixture of two factors: the media and the court system.”

Jeremy Stephen is an economist/ financial analyst with extensive experience in private equity and economic consulting in Barbados and the region. All due respect but I would venture to stake my life on the fact that he has not got the faintest idea of the physics involved in supporting a multi floor building nor could his training and experience allow him to understand it.

Jeremey Stephen may be a well trained economist or whatever, but he is not equipped to understand the physics of supporting the Hyatt Hotel which we are told is to be a multistory structure. These matters are way beyond his capabilities and he would need a geologist to explain them to him.

Quite apart from the physics involved which is the single determining factor of success, the apparent success factors of which he speaks are just that apparent, not real. He is dealing in smoke and mirrors.

An old sea dog, Dr. Donawa, who pioneered the Witch Doctor and Brown Sugar restaurant and had actual experience in investing his OWN money (euphemistically referred toas Capital) and skills once told me that if someone tells you money is not a problem it usually is.

If in overcoming the physics, the single determining factor for success, the requirements for capital/money are excessive and the project cannot breakeven or will do so at the end of the life of the building, then success is impossible.

… and make no mistake, a multi floor building built in the sea on concrete piles will have an end of life moment as did the Hilton.

The concrete only has to crack and the seawater will corrode the steel and one by one the piles will fail.

I wonder if he has included the cost of demolition in his spread sheet analysis and can tell us when he expects that will be.

34. Sometimes we just have to face reality.

Spain is allegedly now limiting the numbers of tourists who visit and the backlash from its population is evident.

35. Imagine if nuff Bajans were opening their homes to tourist rentals to make an extra dollar to survive.

Imagine if they were paid in cash.

Imagine how much of that money the GOB would see.

Imagine if the GOB could restrict the practice, if it existed and could use the Law to profit from it?

I know the hotels were full recently because not a room could be found by an institution to house participants at a planned meeting and it had to be postponed.

Is that why Coverly is furiously digging up the land along the highway and creating an eyesore to build more units?

36. We will see how the saga at Holetown and the Garrison unfolds.

Seems to me the GOB should be encouraging more Bajans to rent space in their houses as it has no means to expand Culpeper Island.

… only one problem, the price for housing for locals will rise.

37. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

I must be in heaven… although I don’t think I’m dead yet. Imagine my delight in reading John railing against the stupidity of expanding our tourism industry. Tourism has always been just a slight remodeling of the Plantation.

Bush Tea, Pacha, Walter, TLSN et al… I all fully expected to see through my mask here, but it is truly gratifying to read even John railing against the neocolonial Plantation that we call a tourism industry.

38. On the tourism sector I have to ask the question AGAIN to the state ” what is the true net value to the island?”

In other words when an English visitor buys a package in the Uk say for £1500 what amount actually comes into Barbados? Also is it not time that we pay more attention to the spend by tourist per head as opposed to bragging rights about how many tourist come? We had this bumper tourism season we are told arrival wise, but does the spend reflect the head count? I ask because I can not recall seeing the January and February spend figures compared to last year published anywhere.

I keep saying that covid has taught us nothing. When the virus shut down the tourism sector their was so much talk about diversifying the economy and ensuring food security bla bla bla. Today we are even more vulnerable for another covid type development than we were 5 years ago. It therefore seems like all our divine leaders think we are capable of is tourism and by extension giving away our lands for hotels. What are we doing about the domestic non tourism based economy? Why cant we see that the suggestion by PLT and others speak to, as a form of development that benefits ALL people both locals and visitors alike? In my view we always go for the quick fix, the easy road that requires little thought. The problem with this approach is you can only sell the family silver once. If you create a false economy that depends on the sale of family silver to survive what happens when the last fork is sold?

So in closing i suggest before we go further with singing the ” toursim is our only salvation song,” we spend some time trying to figure out what this sector is truly worth and as a result I suggest you start here.

WHAT IS THE NET EARNINGS TO THE STATE FROM THE SALE OF A SUMMER PACKAGE?

WHAT IS THE TRUE VALUE NET FOR THE INFORMAL TOURISM SECTOR?

HAVE WE REACHED SATURATION POINT IN EARNINGS PER HEAD? In other words are more people coming percentage wise but does the spend not reflect a similar growth percentage wise?

ARE WE ENTERING INTO TOURISM INVESTMENTS THAT ARE INCLUSIVE FOR THE LOCAL BAJAN OR ARE THE INVESTMENTS SEGREGATIVE IN NATURE AND OF BENEFIT ONLY TO THE HOTEL OWNER?

FINALLY WHAT CAN WE DO TO ENSURE A MORE FRANCHISED FORM OF DEVELOPMENT THAT IS INCLUSIVE FOR OUR PEOPLE LIKE WHAT IS SUGGESTED HERE?

As far as I am concerned until we can answer the above questions with facts and a plan, to continue to place more eggs in the tourism basket would be financial folly to say the least. Yes welcome the visitors and let us continue to run with the tourism game, but let us seek ways to get more out of it and empower opportunities for more of our people. Not just as maids and barmen but as small entrepreneurs instead.

Right i dun dey.

39. ANYBODY with a modicum of common sense and SELF RESPECT must know that tourism is just the modern version of the old plantations.
    Absentee ownership, along with ‘fronting’ and influence from the local pale skins, and from the inevitable Judases, are all IDENTICAL to the old sugar days.
    Back then they took ALL of the fertile lands. Now they have taken the beach vistas that used to be unmatchably marketable.

The ONLY differences are:
    – Whereas our fore parents were FORCED into the slavery status ‘vi et armis’ (with guns ant terror), THIS highly eddykated generation have WILLINGLY subjected ourselves, AND OUR CHILDREN – to even an worse future through our GREED, LAZINESS, and lack of self-esteem.

– Like PROSTITUTION, tourism appears to present EASY and attractive options – BUT ONLY short term, – WHILE YOU HAVE ATTRACTIVE ASSE(T)S.
    When the greedy JOHNS have had their way with the ‘old hoe’, we ALL know what the RESULT looks like… BOTH for the greedy victim… and their unfortunate offspring.

How EDDYKATED people, WHO ONLY RECENTLY EMERGED FROM THE WORSE EXAMPLE OF HUMAN SUFFERING IN ALL HISTORY, can fall so quickly for such an EVEN WORSE option, is beyond explanation…

..unless you understand how a CURSE from God, ..on those who were specially CHOSEN to demonstrate God’s virtues of LOVE, WISDOM, RIGHTEOUSNESS, and GODLINESS..
    BUT who CHOSE INSTEAD to be like the albino-centric materialists of this shiite world…

What a place!!
    What folly!

…If only…….!!!

40. Peter L. Thompson
    March 3, 2025 at 7:20 am
    1 Vote

I must be in heaven… although I don’t think I’m dead yet. Imagine my delight in reading John railing against the stupidity of expanding our tourism industry. Tourism has always been just a slight remodeling of the Plantation.

Bush Tea, Pacha, Walter, TLSN et al… I all fully expected to see through my mask here, but it is truly gratifying to read even John railing against the neocolonial Plantation that we call a tourism industry.

It is called carrying capacity, a term used in the 1990’s by no less a personage than the Right Honourable Dame Billie Miller, a prominent member of your BLP.

You must have been either sleeping or over and away with not a care in the world for your country.

You will find it in the Tourism Master Plan 2014-2023 and in various other papers including some by the Central Bank.

An extract from Report 1 of the 186-page Tourism Master Plan goes something like this:

“The Government is therefore committed to maintaining a policy and regulatory
    framework that stimulates demand and growth circumscribed by the optimum numbers determined from the carrying capacity audit, while ensuring competitive market access and a sustainable and safe aviation sector.”

https://www.greenpolicyplatform.org/sites/default/files/downloads/policy-database/BARBADOS)%20Barbados%20Tourism%20Master%20Plan%202014-2023%20Report%20I.%20The%20Master%20Plan.pdf

I am not railing against tourism, I am an engineer, and my fundamental responsibility is to public safety. Water, sewage, foundational issues etc. all engage my attention. It is my responsibility as it is any other engineer, to raise concerns for discussion when possibly irresponsible plans are being mooted by untrained individuals with little knowledge of the physical realities.

What is your opinion on these issues?

Do you even have an opinion or is all you can do is to attack me and not address what I am saying.

Have you gone and looked up anything about the geology of your country?6

If and when you do and you want to discuss anything or ask questions, I am here, quite willing to answer them or direct you to places where you can get answers.

I’ve been at it since 1994 and have spoken with and ask questions of two of the foremost geologists with research interests in Barbados.

41. Walter?

42. John A
    March 3, 2025 at 8:32 am

On the tourism sector I have to ask the question AGAIN to the state ” what is the true net value to the island?”

I seem to remember from a report in the 90’s that a tiny percentage of the foreign exchange earnings from tourism remains in the island versus upwards of 90% of the foreign exchange earnings from sugar.

43. Lots of pretty pictures in it.

44. We are scared to implement aliens landholding legislation?

45. We are scared to implement aliens landholding legislation?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not scared… UNABLE!

How do you implement aliens landholding legislation when you are UNDER THE CONTROL of the damn Aliens?

It is MUCH EASIER to bamboozle brass bowl Bajans with shiite talk and false promises…
    …and a few shiite fetes..

But you only PLAYING that you ain’t know….

46. PLT

Pacha still like yuh bad as shiiite. And in that, there is no requirement for perfection. If there was, Pacha would have to start by first hating self.

47. @ John A
    “On the tourism sector I have to ask the question AGAIN to the state ” what is the true net value to the island?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Actually it is a NEGATIVE value.
    WE are actually SUBSIDIZING the travel agencies and absentee owners in Albino-land.

Why do you think that, with such a FLURISHING industry, we are having to BORROW and BORROW and BORROW…?

Also, as Bushie said before, DURING COVID – with the shiite SHUT DOWN, our forex level were STABLE – as we were in a hiatus from being RAPED…

You CAN’T make this shiite up…
    ..unless you truly understand the nature of a ‘curse’….

The ONLY CURE is sackcloth and ashes… or we die…

48. “We are scared to implement aliens landholding legislation?” questioned David.

However in Kenya, a vast country in comparison to Barbados, allows foreigners to purchase land on a leasehold basis only.

“Additionally, non-citizens, including foreign individuals and companies, cannot own first-row beach plots and agricultural land unless the president explicitly allows such ownership through a notice in the Kenyan Gazette”.

https://fanaka.co.ke/can-non-citizen-legally-buy-and-own-land-in-kenya

We in Barbados have a well entrenched slave history. Our island measures a mere 166sq miles.
    Of all people you would have thought that we would have been more vigilant after independence. This discussion that we’re having has come too late in the day.

David’s question is pertinent and is absolute proof that Caribbean black governments are truly incapable of running their own country. By allowing foreigners to purchase our land we’ve effectively lost complete control of our island and our destiny.

John A, you need to take it for granted that the last family fork has already been sold.

49. Visions of Trents and Holetown Beach.