Peter Thompson - Welcome Stamp
This article was written and submitted by Peter L. Thompson, a Barbadian real estate professional

Vision for Holetown and Trents vital to high-value tourism

Barbados stands at a pivotal moment in its tourism and community development journey. The Government’s acquisition of 18.5 acres at Trents, St James, is a strategic master stroke that gives us a transformative opportunity to reimagine Holetown’s future โ€“ one that balances progress with preservation, economic vitality with cultural integrity and community needs with global appeal.

As a real estate professional, I understand that property developers strive for the “highest, best use” of land. However, the Government and agencies like Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. (BTII) are not mere property developers, so they must strive for the highest best use not simply of the 3.6 acre lot that is currently the Holetown Civic Centre, but also the best interests of the wider community.

We must pursue a dual strategy: one that locates both Holetown’s civic bureaucracies and high-quality visitor accommodations at Trents, while developing a world-class Holetown town centre on the vacated beachfront. This plan isn’t just visionary โ€“ it’s essential for securing Barbados’ position as a leader in sustainable, high-value tourism.

Trents: a hub for both tourism expansion and civic services The 18.5 acres of development land at Trents is an ideal site for new hotel development. Instead of a paltry 80 rooms in a high rise that blocks the beach, we can invest in 400 rooms, suites and condominiums with ample elbow room and parking at Trents. This will both improve the capital returns for investors and diversify Barbados’ hotel stock to give the industry greater resilience.

Catering to long-stay

Sustainable, medium-density resorts on this land would cater to long-stay, high-spending visitors without overwhelming local infrastructure. Trents is only steps away from the beach, but it’s also on Highway C, a strategic transportation corridor that offers easy access to attractions such as Apes Hill Golf Course, the historic Farley Hill National Park, the East Coast and the Animal Flower Cave to diversify guest experiences. Critically, this expansion relieves pressure on Holetown’s crowded Highway 1, allowing the town to evolve into a cultural epicentre rather than a congested thoroughfare.

The relocation of Holetown’s civic services โ€“ including the police station, court, post office and Barbados Revenue Authority โ€“ to Trents gives us the opportunity to update this ageing infrastructure into a modern, efficient civic complex, improving accessibility for residents across St James.

A purpose-built facility could integrate technology for faster processing, add parking and even include community spaces like a technology centre or health centre, elevating public service standards.

New Holetown town centre โ€“ where history meets luxury Freeing Holetown’s 3.6-acre beachfront site from its current bureaucratic functions unlocks its potential as the “heart” of the West Coast. The proposed Holetown town centre must honour the area’s rich heritage โ€“ it is, after all, the landing place of Barbados’ first English settlers in 1627.

Pedestrian-friendly plaza We must create a premium destination distinct from the Oistins Bay Garden. Imagine a pedestrian-friendly plaza where visitors and locals mingle to enjoy: 

โ€ข Culinary excellence: Michelin-starred chefs and Bajan culinary icons helm restaurants offering fusion cuisine and elevated local staples (think mahi-mahi ceviche or rum-infused chocolate desserts), with pricing reflecting the West Coast’s luxury ethos.

โ€ข Cultural immersion: A compact museum detailing Holetown’s indigenous, colonial and post-Independence history, complemented by artisan stalls selling handmade pottery, art and fashion.

โ€ข Entertainment: Sunset jazz sessions, spoken-word poetry and pop-up performances by Barbados’ finest artistes, avoiding the bustling party vibe of Oistins for a more refined ambiance.

โ€ข Sustainable design: Architecture blending coral stone traditions with modern aesthetics, shaded by native palms and powered by renewable energy.

The new Holetown town centre isn’t an Oistins replica; it’s a sophisticated oasis where a $200-plus dinner for two is the norm and the souvenirs are authentic Bajan handmade crafts, not cheap Chinese imports. By targeting affluent visitors and locals celebrating special occasions, the town centre avoids overcrowding and aligns with Barbados’ shift toward high-yield, long-stay tourism.

Economic and community benefits: a win-win model For residents, the town centre becomes a vibrant community space โ€“ hosting farmers’ markets by morning and open-air cinema nights by evening. For tourists, it’s a mustvisit landmark, encouraging longer stays and higher spending. Studies show cultural visitors spend 38 per cent more than average tourists. By anchoring Holetown’s identity in its history and creativity, Barbados taps into this lucrative market.

Preserving heritage, pioneering progress

A high-rise hotel on the beach site will profoundly erode Holetown’s charm, but a town centre with thoughtful design can safeguard its soul. The town centre will incorporate the existing Holetown Monument, which commemorates the first English settlement, into its layout. Walking tours will link the site to St James’ Parish Church and Folkestone Marine Park, weaving tourism into the cultural fabric. Barbados cannot afford stagnation.

Global competitors are investing in experiential tourism, and our infrastructure must keep pace. By redeveloping Trents and the Holetown beach in tandem, we address civic needs, expand tourism capacity, and create a landmark that celebrates Barbadian excellence.

Let’s not settle for insipid incremental change โ€“ let’s build a legacy.

164 responses to “Vision for Holetown and Trents vital”

1. Are we witnessing in Barbados a real estate frenzy similar to the great wildebeest migration from the Serengeti to the Masi-Mara. The foreign predator beasts are waiting patiently. They have heard that Barbados is up for sale. Richard Branson’s Caribbean outpost: Necker island is a template which could be replicated throughout Barbados.

We are in deep trouble.

2. @ TLSN
    What governments what??!!

We have mostly had a bunch of house niggers carrying messages and fronting for the MASSAs – who have simply changed tactics on our donkeys…

How could they possibly not see the folly…?

The current lot has just taken the roles to new levels.
    But then they have been lured with unprecedented โ€˜free money and fameโ€™.

But in the end, a people ALWAYS get the government that they DESERVE.

3. William Skinner Avatar

It has been long established that whatever tourism gives with the right hand it takes back twice as much with the left. The politicians decided to fool the people with numbers but never once gave no proper ROI. Another myth was saying Bim was a world wide leader in tourism , anybody reading real analyses of the industry would know that we have only had one hotel described as meeting truly high end status and that was Sandy Lane. None of our beaches has ever been mentioned in the top 5/10. However our product started to be deemed too expensive by the end of the eighties.
    The only English speaking country in the region that leads in any sector is Guyana that is a well established world wide leader in Eco -tourism. This was so even before Guyana started to have economic growth. In recent years : Grenada, St. Lucia and Dominica have shown considerable growth in the industry.
    We have always found it amazing that we are averse to real facts when it comes to the tourist industry. it is our main industry but it has been badly even foolishly developed. Imagine running an ad for years telling us to keep crime down for the tourists; keep the country clean for the tourists; keep the beaches clean for the tourists and on and on. We just shot ourselves in the foot.
    Numbers are important only when they are properly managed.

4. Savannah Hotel has 100 rooms according to the internet.

The expansion plan is to add 140 rooms.

Clearly a new building is needed.

Where is it going?

Down in there is already very well built up.

St. Ann’s perhaps?

My buddy told me that last week.

He is not too pleased.

Also told me GOB HQ to move Trents and of course the Geriatric Horspittle moving too to Waterford Bottom to a formerly Zone 1 Area now rezoned to Zone B!!

Sea water at 141 feet below ground so piles may not extend so low.

5. @ John

They also aquired or are in the process of acquiring the old police station to the west of them, which also has land to be beach I believe. I am not opposed to this as like Heywoods, this is an existing hotel project and we the public have good access by a wide paved road to the Drill Hall Beach already.

This to me is not a Holetown type issue at all, so dont let us lose focus on the topic by being thrown a sprat as a distraction.

6. All any citizen of Barbados has to do is to go to court and use the Law to challenge the validity of any sale on the grounds that there has been no constitutional Parliament in existence since 2018. The sale is null void and of no effect.

In fact, it could be a class action suit brought by a multiplicity of citizens against the AG and the purchaser to share the load.

30-0 is a nullity!!!

Use the same Law that Bastiat wrote about to get redress.

7. Then, bring an action against the 30 members of the House of Assembly in their personal capacity for fraud and rinse them out.

8. “We have mostly had a bunch of house niggers carrying messages and fronting for the MASSAs โ€“ who have simply changed tactics on our donkeysโ€ฆ” Bush Tea.

“To your second question the answer is obvious, the black politicians hipped on plunder and the acquisition of easy money ran this country down.” Quaker John.

If we are to believe from the two commentators above that it is black faced politicians who have destroyed Barbados. Can we not point a finger at the majority domestic black Bajan population who acted like passers-by at a funeral service.

Any form of resistance is probably futile now. PLT we already know where Mia stands so there is no point testing her. Our ancestors 400 years of suffering has all been in vain. Their descendants will share the same fate as them minus the whip.

9. TLSN

PLT making excuses for himself, ignore him.

I figured him out years ago.

He has clearly identified his position and suddenly realised that despite all his sweet talk, he has walked out on a limb which cannot support him and there are alot of cruel vex Bajans chopping down his tree.

The only white Bajan faces I can think of in Parliament post-Independence were Peter Morgan and perhaps Rannie Fields.

So, to be accurate, there were also a couple of white faces involved.

… and yes I agree, we can point a finger at the majority domestic black Bajan population who acted like passers-by at a funeral service …. in fact all colours sat quietly by and let the plunderers get away with their plunder as did those in the diaspora.

Sometime to come, I will tell you the story about Rowans Plantation I heard growing up in the 60’s.

It was the start of things to come.

10. Holetown man 1952 to 1971.Fact checking,

11. Bushie 11:23

Could have been John 3:16.๐Ÿค‘

One of the most profound group of words ever written here. The first sentence.

Until these such words are widely accepted weee will continue to be at loss.

12. How come I read PLT’s words and they seem so different from what he says!!!

I will reread but listening to him he makes sense.

I guess it is because he supports a 9 floor monstrosity and identifies as a real estate professional … what is a real estate professional.

13. Johnny!

Why don’t you leave PLT alone?

Heโ€™s a better human than you, by far.

Indeed, thereโ€™s no comparison at all. For you are the lowest life form possible, as heโ€™s amongst the best of humans.

14. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

โ€œHow come I read PLTโ€™s words and they seem so different from what he says!!!

I will reread but listening to him he makes sense.โ€
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I will try to help you understand, John.

The objective is the same, but I am speaking to different audiences. The objective is to prevent the construction of a multi story monstrosity blocking the beach.

On the beach I am speaking to the peopleโ€ฆ at an event organized by Marcia Weekes I am not addressing the few dozen on the beach, I am speaking to the several thousand Bajans that she reaches online. These Bajans feel the acute pain of being disinherited in their own land by exploitative neocolonial economic development policies. I share their pain even though I am relatively privileged. If you listen carefully you will hear me say that in order to divert the governmentโ€™s plan we will have to do more than oppose them, we will have to present a better plan.

In the Nation newspaper I am speaking to the money. The article is addressed to the elites and moneyed interests that the government habitually listens to. It is addressed to the influential rich residents of St James Central along Molyneux Rd and in St Jamestown and the other places up by the US Ambassadorโ€™s residence. That is where THEY walk down the hill to swim. Itโ€™s also aimed at Peter Odle and the other owners of beachfront hotels near Holetown for whom this new highrise is just competition, but for whom a beachfront attraction like the Holetown Town Centre improves the value and marketability of THEIR properties.

By republishing in BU the audience is a bunch of critical minds that will poke every hole they can in the ideaโ€ฆ and I rely on people poking holes in my ideas so that I have the opportunity to improve them.

15. Peter L. Thompson
    March 4, 2025 at 10:20 am

โ€œHow come I read PLTโ€™s words and they seem so different from what he says!!!

I will reread but listening to him he makes sense.โ€
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I will try to help you understand, John.

The objective is the same, but I am speaking to different audiences. The objective is to prevent the construction of a multi story monstrosity blocking the beach.

I picked up the divergence clearly!!

You see, I am against any multi floor construction on the coast, I guess that’s where we differ. It doesn’t matter what audience I address, I will say the same words.

My reasons are technical in nature.

Availability of Water

Sewage Disposal

Geological in nature

These are real issues which Bajan’s, and visitors face every day, not imagined ones informed by neocolonial considerations.

Water is trucked daily to St. Lucy because that parish is served by a well that is affected by sediment.

Go and drive about St. Lucy and see the water tanks for community use.

Sewage affects sea water quality. It doesn’t matter if the multi floor hotel is at Trents or on the beach, the sewage can end up in the sea. I stopped bathing at Mullins Bay a trip from Christ Church I used to enjoy most Saturday afternoons in the 1980’s because I understood the effect of human habitation and water use on the coast.

I know from an ENT specialist that Carlisle Bay provided much of his practice as he had to treat tourists in agony with ear infections after enjoying a seabath at the most popular beach in Barbados.

These are real impacts on people, Bajans and Visitors alike, they are not informed by neocolonial considerations.

… and then there are geological issues. Regardless of where the multifloor structures are placed around the coast, west or south, their foundations are built in the sea and will probaby contain steel. Steel and seawater don’t do well together. The foundations will fail. The building has a life … and a death
    ย 
    Next time I run into any of the facilities men I knew at the Hilton, I did some work there in the late 80’s and early 90’s and like me many came from Intel, I will ask about the real reasons for the demolition of the Hilton Hotel.

These are not ethereal neocolonial considerations.

All are real public safety issues.

“I feel your pain” was Bill Clinton’s line which you have adopted. BTW, Clinton was pretty privileged too, maybe even more than you.

You cannot hide, your words betray you.

16. The biggest reason should be โ€˜aestheticsโ€™. We have to develop the island for other reasons than for tourism development. At the rate we are going the Barbados appeal is being rapidly diminished. The Barbados appeal should not be what politicians define it, it must be a people definition. We have too many derelict properties on the coast that should be in the development queue before having to demolish/change historical buildings or sites like the area being discussed.

17. David
    March 4, 2025 at 11:14 am

The biggest reason should be โ€˜aestheticsโ€™. We have to develop the island for other reasons than for tourism development. At the rate we are going the Barbados appeal is being rapidly diminished. The Barbados appeal should not be what politicians define it, it must be a people definition. We have too many derelict properties on the coast that should be in the development queue before having to demolish/change historical buildings or sites like the area being discussed.

The only development that makes any sense is returning all available arable land to agriculture, best bet sugar cane.

The island is largely destroyed and needs to regenerate.

18. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

@ John
    March 4, 2025 at 11:02 am
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    For sewage treatment all hotels need to be equipped with onsite plants that provide tertiary treatment all effluent to being safe to drink. Ecohesion is a Bajan company that has been building such facilities across the Caribbean for decades https://ecohesion.bb/

All reinforced concrete construction in Barbados should have been using non-steel rebar from a long time since. Such technology has been in widespread use around the world for decades in high corrosion environments. https://www.frp-cqdj.com/solid-fiberglass-rebar-frp-flexible-product/

19. My first real job was in a manufacturing plant, Intel. We had some really sophisticated and when they were working optimally produced product that was “perfect” in every respect.

However, they would wander out of specification while still making product and produce crap, and alot of it. The problem was that this crap was passed on to the next process step if not caught quickly.

I’ve also worked on equipment at the same Hilton Hotel after Intel, not the packaged sewage plant they had back then, but it was a known fact that more often than not it produced pure crap and at times it was bypassed if the part required for repair had to be found overseas.

You can’t stop guests using the toilets because there is a breakdown and bypassing is as easy as turning a valve. That simple reality more or less settled it for me, and I stopped going in the sea in Barbados.

Same principle which I have used to argue that COVID was water borne and spread probably from the Ionics plant which processed raw sewage from the dense housing construction around it.

Regarding rebar, from what I see online GFRP is inferior to steel.

You are way out of your depth and you should leave this to a structural engineer. I am an Electrical/Electronic engineer who has worked on all sorts of building sites in Barbados and has never seen GFRP rebar used far less heard of it. It is a while since I practiced and maybe it is the norm now, but I doubt. For one thing it can’t be bent and formed like steel so I would imagine its use would be limited.

A real estate professional, like a historian cannot venture into the technical field without causing real problems, but an engineer can easily do a real estate professional’s job … like falling off a log.

I hope Grenville does not come along and tell me I am FOS, but I distinctly recall him raising the rust problem with steel reinforced concrete and GFRP does not rust.

20. Back in the late 80’s, I was set a problem by the Hilton Hotel to solve, why its water consumption was so high.

I failed.

I am pretty certain I now know what caused the problem.

The large concrete tanks built into the foundations were beginning to crack and water was leaking out unseen.

My bet today is that was the precursor to further cracks which led to a structural engineer condemning the building as prone to collapse.

My further bet is the GOB kept it quiet and covered it over by putting on a show to create the impression that there was no problem.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uod9IJ4-47s&t=693s

21. The life of the building was 30 years or so.

Absolutely shocking, but at least it happened with no one inside.

22. Within 20 years of the construction of the hotel and with tens of millions of dollars invested, the building was failing.

Within 10 more years it was dead.

The South Coast Sewage Project was another abject failure.

Who is responsible for these disasters?

I can tell stories … hearsay … about the fraud and corrupting involved in the building of each.

Growing up I heard the story about the theft of funds in the building of the Hilton. An audit was ordered and all documents were collected into a purpose built structure by the roundabout.

Wouldn’t you know, some wicked body burnt it down.

23. @John

The blogmaster finds your reference to people cheering like monkeys offensive. The offensive sentence was removed and any further use will result in you being banned from posting to BU.

24. No balance in landowning

A RECENT NEWS STORY screamed that the Sun Group has acquired the Savannah Hotel and detailed the many tracts of lands owned by said group.

It comes against the backdrop of Governmentโ€™s plans for the Holetown Civic Centre site, which will soon be in foreign hands, and the raging battle of patrimony for the scenic Joeโ€™s River.

Amidst all of the ink spilled over Joeโ€™s River and the political intrigue over Holetown, the Sun Groupโ€™s praiseworthy investment of a once-abandoned south coast hotel must stand out because of its local ownership; but even so it ironically magnifies one small detail which fades back into acceptance, or oblivion, each time land-based issues arise: the absence of a black landowning class.

While all of the business entities are merely continuing on their path of showing confidence in the economy by investing in the hospitality and real estate sectors, and while some lands have been recently acquired, will be acquired, and others large tracts continue to be under either foreign ownership or generations of local wealthy expatriate possession, what do average black Barbadians own but comparatively tiny, individual pieces of this precious rock?

Also those who do not own a sliver of the increasingly scarce commodity are either paying high-interest mortgages to banks, waiting on some family inheritance which will in all likelihood be contentious, or settling for the umpteenth time into the grim acceptance that rent will be their lot until lifeโ€™s end.

While there is absolutely nothing legally wrong with the investments mentioned, they are a microcosm of the neverending land-grab that has been given the blessings of successive Governments in order to fuel the largest foreign exchange earner and economic pillar, tourism; now perhaps more than ever.

If a balance is not found between patrimony and the land-grab, where will future generations of black Barbadians live except to swarm further into overcrowded urban districts, some of which are in danger of becoming ghettoes because of gun crime?

While many leave already halfempty rural areas seeking jobs near to urban spaces, the basically abandoned countryside properties with their vistas will be even more fodder for those leading the apparent onslaught of multi-milliondollar investment.

The State is the largest landowner, of course, but if the Sun Group has publicly listed about a dozen properties, each worth millions, we wonder what comprises others who are either purchasing beachfront land on the west and south coasts, building mansions on the scenic northern ridges, or transforming the eastern and northeastern spots via rapidly rising foreign investment.

We dare not belittle the numerous homes which testify to black upward mobility via free education and the rise of a middle class in the 1970s. If those achievements are enough today after nearly 60 years of Independence and the status of a republic, should we on the other hand accept the increasingly limited access to our best beaches and the loss of scenic, spiritually significant lands such as the Newton slave burial ground?

The protests of citizens, including that of a Government Senator sacrificed politically last week, seem to fall on deaf ears in the interim.

Once again patrimony falls by the wayside as a casualty of the mainly tourism-based infrastructure of an island which, though supposedly governed by the people and for the people, now seems to unapologetically allow direct foreign investment to outweigh the future of most black Barbadians, who seem forever likely not to be co-owners of these massive tourism projects.

National Hero Errol Walton Barrow may not have been far from the truth when he warned that one day, black Barbadians, might awake and find themselves not having a country. The facts are revealing daily that this nightmare could become a painful reality.

25. Look at the QEH building built PRIOR TO INDEPENDENCE.

…. and the bulk handling facility also built PRIOR TO INDEPENDENCE

….. and the Dep Water Harbour built in the sea PRIOR TO INDEPENDENCE

Then compare those projects with the Hilton Hotel and South Coast Sewage Project built AFTER INDEPENDENCE!!

The evidence is right in front of us.

26. The foundations of the QEH are in the sea!!!

… as are those of the Barbados Mutual Building in Bridgetown.

What happened?

27. Then there is the NIS Building on Fairchild Street.

Foundations in the sea and opposite Diocesan House.

Both are gone, one sunk and the other …… well …. we really don’t know why.

28. The walls of the Empire Theatre are still standing, built decades ago.

Somebody will soon realise the block stone in the walls are valuable and it needs to come down.

Anything for a dollar.

29. What building codes existed when Nicholas Abbey, Drax Hall, Mutual Building, QEH etc. were built?

30. David
    March 5, 2025 at 5:25 am

The blogmaster finds your reference to people cheering like monkeys offensive. The offensive sentence was removed and any further use will result in you being banned from posting to BU.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“PM Mottley โ€˜laughingโ€™ at we” was an earlier title used on the same subject.

Clearly, you believe that we are worth laughing at.

Watch the clip on the demolition of the Hilton when all and sundry gathered in an earlier version of “We Gatherin” to laugh and raise a raucous cheer as OUR flagship 1966 project representing our Independence was blown up in 1999, barely 30 years on, a generation.

What were the reasons the GOB, with Ms. Mockley in it, that would have caused the destruction of a building worth perhaps hundreds of millions of dollars by then?

Why wasn’t the people’s money, “we money” simply put down to accumulate interest and not put in play for all and sundry to waste and steal?

… and we all laughed and cheered.

My words are as apt as it gets as is the title to which I will add a single word, “still” as in “PM Mottley still โ€˜laughingโ€™ at we”.

We are fools and idiots, too scared to raise hell to protect ourselves from these plunderers.

Why was it necessary to demolish the Hilton 30 years after it was built and supposedly meant to symbolize our Independence?

https://youtu.be/LfOjBARwtzc

31. “The blogmaster finds your reference to people cheering like monkeys offensive. The offensive sentence was removed and any further use will result in you being banned from posting to BU.”

Forgive me” I was surprised you picked up on it. John posts are often filled with racists imagery. Some are direct and some are subtle..

When my son was younger I would often tell him “People are not as foolish as you think they are and you are not as smart as you think you are. You are only fooling yourself”.

John seems to have moments of sanity follow with bouts of ignorance and madness. For, the life of me, I cannot understand why he chooses to go down this insulting avenue. ‘He is racist’ does not explain the idiocy

32. Sometimes it is necessary to shock folks into reality before real problems can be addressed.

Hopefully you will go forward with a new understanding of why the Hilton was blown up and the huge financial loss we incurred.

Maybe you will even learn from the different perspective.

It was never a laughing matter, but we laughed because the GOB cast the implosion as a theatrical event, and we fell for it.

I remember that Sunday clearly.

I was not one of many Bajans who flocked to the event.

I came home from my Sunday morning hike with a sense of foreboding about what was happening and how oblivious Bajans were to the disaster that had befallen the country …. like sheep (hopefully you don’t consider sheep to be racist) we were led to the slaughter.

I never understood why it was done until now I think back.

PS: I will avoid as far as I can using the M word if it so offends and substitute it in future where possible with the word sheep but to be honest, the M word seems to work really well in getting attention.

33. I struggle to understand the leadership of Barbados. Many of these leaders grew up aware of the condition of the average citizen. I am certain that at some stage they had empathy and promised themselves that they would fight to better the condition of the people.

When do they lose this concern for their neighbors? Is it in the secondary schools or in their tertiary education? Is it possible that they see the life of luxury of some schoolmates and become driven to reach this standard for themselves and their families at all cost.

When does ‘all for self’ replace ‘betterment of the people’? When does it begin?

Are they looking at the society and seeing a strain of selfishness in those who better themselves?
    Do older politicians give younger politicians the idea that they must put themselves first (before the island); that they must first get theirs when they are in office; the next election may find them on the outside.

Where do we lose them? When does this madness begins.
    Something is wrong somewhere. Some bad advice or bad example is being followed.

34. Imagine buying land and building a house with a thirty-year mortgage, going through life skimping, saving and working your ass off to pay the mortgage so you have something to pass on to your children only to find the building has to be demolished after 30 years and you have to pay to do it?

Instead of marching forward after all those 30 tough years, your children have to start from scratch, take out another mortgage and hope this time around history does not repeat itself.

That is the sad tale of the Hilton.

It should make us all pause for thought that laughter and merriment should occur.

Something is crazy wrong with our psyche.

35. Goeht
    March 5, 2025 at 9:54 am

Do older politicians give younger politicians the idea that they must put themselves first (before the island); that they must first get theirs when they are in office; the next election may find them on the outside.

Plundering is a family business!!

36. Check this video and watch how plunderers react when they know the game is up.

37. Yes, we noticed the pre-independence and post-independence references above. The “everything was better before black people took over” is never far away from any of John’s offerings on ANY subject.

England is a mess today. Its people are terribly unhappy and no longer believe in their country. Yet John persists in portraying the colonisers as superior beings. Those who have so quickly lost the great advantage forcibly acquired off the backs of our ancestors, John Knox believes would have served us better than their own people.

Let us just accept that the man is sick and move on!

38. William Skinner Avatar

We recall when the Blogmaster, a few years ago, was being advised by some to ban their own Black people from BU. These people were accused of disrespecting the Blogmaster. Not one of those , whom he was advised to ban, was insinuating or implying that white people were inferior. The Blogmaster, to his eternal credit ignored the calls.
    They even suggested that those who can’t respect the Blogmaster should start their own blogs. We have concluded that those “advisers” have either deserted BU or have contracted permanent laryngitis.

39. Well we DO have to admit that the albino-centrics ARE better than we have been – at plundering, greed, promoting self-interest at ALL cost, and plain โ€˜CAPITALISM’.

Shiite, even Bushie is FORCED to admire their DEDICATION and lifelong commitment to โ€˜making moneyโ€™….what ever it takes.

Our problem is in our being โ€˜wannabesโ€™ , when we are WIRED DIFFERENTLY…

Which BB do we know of that could be a Netanyahu, Trump, Putin , Gates -or a even a Musk?
    We were blessed with characteristics of empathy, peace, spiritual awareness and compassion – which are OBVIOUS WEAKNESSES – if we CHOOSE to be albino-centric wannabes.

If however, we understood the spiritual LAW of ‘reaping what we sow’, then our natural characteristics will be UNBEATABLE….

@ TheOG
    So when do our politicians become ignorant of their roots and adopt the tactics of the oppressors..?
    When their GREED places them under the CONTROL of the manipulative albino-centric powers-that-be and of their MONEY….

Note that EVERYTHING they EVER say is about $$$$$.
    Every issue is valued in $$$$$… $100M, $50M, $2B…
    Nothing about VALUES, HERETAGE, TRADITIONS, COMMUNITY and …NEVER a word about our CREATOR….

Soon (REAL soon) all that money will be worth jobby…. But the righteous will be FOREVER.

40. In America the saying that “the buck stops here” was coined by a former president.

This is true regardless of the colour of the holder of the office.

In Barbados, where does the buck stop ….. regardless of colour?

Depends by what is meant by “buck”.

Maybe that’s why we have a problem, the politicians expect the bucks to stop at them.

41. By the way, EWB was premier before independence.

…. Grantley Adams too!!

What colour were they?

42. Bush Tea
    March 5, 2025 at 11:27 am

Well we DO have to admit that the albino-centrics ARE better than we have been โ€“ at plundering, greed, promoting self-interest at ALL cost, and plain โ€˜CAPITALISMโ€™.

You have obviously never heard of Mansa Musa, long befor Columbus sailed the oceans blue!!

He traded slaves and gold with the Arab world for salt.

Richest person ever in the world.

43. Yeah, I expected you to bring the Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow plausible deniability schtick this time. But you have already stated point blank many times that things were better under colonial rule. You have even opined that slavery was the perfect socialist society where the enslaved were given everything they needed and that there was harmony between them and slave masters. Content and Pleasant village names were offered as evidence of the contentment of slaves living pleasant lives.

Wuhlaus!

Yuh sick as shite! Ignore button activated.