Prime Minister Mia Mottley continues to be committed to an aggressive international agenda which requires significant air travel to attend meetings and engage in meet and greets. Her latest stop Nassau in the Bahamas to attend the Annual Meeting and the AfriCaribbean Trade and Investment Forum in Nassau.

While the Prime Minister is busy growing her international image, and we offer congratulations, her promise to intercede in the Savvy on the Bay matter remains one for fools.

Minister of Finance
The Honourable Prime Minister Mia Mottley

But what I will say to you now is that I have said to the two gentlemen, ‘you have a timeline on these negotiations, and if these negotiations don’t finish within the next few weeks, there must be a ministerial statement to the Parliament and all of the facts laid bare, including how this matter started under the last government; why there was a need to go to court under the last government; how, therefore, the sale was proceeded with as a result of an act of specific performance; and why we would not have been able to act before when we said from the very beginning, those two lots in the middle were always car parks’,” the Prime Minister [Mia Mottley] explained.

Barbados Today (26 August 2023)

Today the traditional media has reported on a flare up between the management of Savvy on the Bay and the adjoining business Copacabana which required Minister of Transport and Works and Acting Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw to intervene. The tension between Savvy on the Bay and Copacabana has been reported many times in the BU space. What is obvious is that the Savvy on the Bay matter needs to be brought to a resolution – Prime Mottley agrees given her public pronouncement on the matter in August 2023 – however, there appears to be an effort to keep the matter in abeyance.

At the root of the dispute yesterday is a pipe running across Savvy land which was allegedly tampered with to divert water from Copacabana the adjacent property.

How long will Prime Minister Mia Mottley allow this matter to bubble? Instead scarce resources must be wasted with the Acting Prime Minister and minister in an already large Cabinet having to waste taxpayers dollars negotiating with an operator of a government excavator, not to mention the many other government officials present at the dispute. What are we doing?

See today’s Nation newspaper article.

Santia steps in at Savvy stand-off

By Carlos Atwell

carlosatwell@nationnews.com

Tempers flared at Savvy on the Bay yesterday as action by the Ministry of Transport and Works (MTW) agitated longstanding issues between management at the business and next-door neighbour Copacabana.

The matter lasted for several hours at the Bay Street, St Michael location until Minister of Transport and Works Santia Bradshaw arrived and presided over a compromise.

When the Weekend Nation arrived, an irate Sarah Taylor, the spokesman for Savvy, was upset personnel from the MTW’s Drainage Division were on their property to clear a blocked water pipe which was supposed to take water from areas such as Wellington Street and Nelson Street to the sea.

“Having MTW here digging on our property without just cause is crazy. Do we not have any rights? If there is a problem, meet with people first. It is so heart-breaking to try and do your best for your country by investing and how are you treated? Like your property is worth nothing. How is that fair?” she asked.

Taylor said she saw the excavator digging when she arrived on the property and after not receiving an answer to what they were doing, she stood in front of the excavator, blocking their progress. She said she then called for Bradshaw and Member of Parliament for The City, Corey Lane, as well as the police.

Members of the Town Planning Department and Kinch himself soon arrived on the scene. Kinch said the pipe was originally running through Lewis Gap but charged that it was diverted.

“I have no objection to Government building a drain across my boundary but no one should be able to dump water on another’s land so I blocked it up,” he said.

Blocked drain

Bradshaw arrived and spoke to the parties involved after which she told the media: “The Drainage Unit of the MTW responded to a report of a blocked drainage area which is responsible for bringing water from a lot of City districts to the sea. They responded to that [blocked] area which happens to be on the property of Savvy on the Bay, right next to Copacabana.

“It is clear from examination of the area with the drainage team that there is work which has to be carried out on the site in order for water to flow freely into the ocean. The team is going to do a further assessment to make a determination as to the best way to proceed and then we will meet again with the various parties and come up with a solution,” she said, adding she was grateful to Kinch and Taylor for agreeing to the terms.

Copacabana owner/ managing director Raj Chatrani said: “We understand that a public drain located in the property next to Copacabana has been blocked with concrete.

I can say that neither Copacabana nor myself, Raj Chatrani, have ever obstructed the public drain in question. We support any measures deemed necessary by the drainage unit to help resolve the problem that is causing flooding and overflow throughout the lower Bay Street area,” he said. (CA)

Source: Nation Newspaper

107 responses to “Savvy Copacabana dispute ignored by Mottley”

1. @William

The non Blacks form syndicates to qualify for big loans. Do you think Maloney got 200 million because he has two million on an account?

2. Truthandfairness

Not only did the diversion happen under Freundel but at the time the land was still owned by government. I recall this very blog lambasting the sale to Mr.Kinch, inferring corruption based on the selling price. Yes this same BUI! So in essence the property was bought with an existing stormwater drain. Again, had they developed Savvy with planning permission this would not now be a problem.

3. William Skinner Avatar

However he got it ;he got it. Right under our collective noses , Mottley went the length and breath of the country castigating Mark Maloney. The BU archives are pure evidence that we believed every single word she said. Immediately after being sworn in as PM, she showed us exactly who she was.
    We have no time to apologise for speaking the truth about Mottley, Stuart, Barrow, the Adamses , the Sandifords , the Arthurs or any one of them. Similarly , we have no problem giving them credit when in our estimation it is merited and deserved. But don’t expect us to sugar coat what is a blatant, hypocritical act, when it comes to Mottley and Mark Maloney. After castigating Maloney , the same Mottley, a few months ago , said that she actually “admired” him. She is now firmly in Mark Maloney’s pocket in the same manner as the Dees. What she did was in order to capture votes . Like um or lump um.
    When we talking and writing about the obvious atrocities that these politicians and their cohorts engage in ,we know it comes at a price. We felt it under a Democratic Labour Party administration back in 1978. That’s why we put the name to every piece we write.
    We know the Brothers and Sisters that were driven out of our country and vouched never to come back. We know the conspiracy of the banks . who made sure that Black busineses failed only to see the ideas and businesses pop back up with minority ownership supported by the same banks and underhandedness of the Black lawyer political class.We know the ones resting with the Ancestors who were destroyed professionally.
    We write on their behalf, not on the behalf of party pimps and sophisticated yardfowls, whom ever they are and where ever they are and whatevr title they write under to hide their nastiness.
    All uh we fuh cup

4. David,

I thought that what William Skinner has said above was widely known and accepted as fact.

???????????????????????????????

5. @William

The rebut was not to challenge anything about how MAM2 has been highly favoured under both administrations. The question you have to ask is why and do so leaving emotional arguments at the door.

Maloney for all his ‘baggage’ is the only active/visible player who has emerged from our passive private sector. The blogmaster suspects his rise is driven not by his ‘mixed’ heritage but his ability to network with his group locally and outside Barbados borders. His ability to sell his projects to financial backers in order to access resources, his ability to “grease hands” to get what he wants. You get the drift?

You speak to Indians, Syrians in Barbados and this is how they operate, they support projects from within their nest and work hard to make them possible. This is a simple view of their model, one Blacks in Barbados fail to adopt in a significant way.

6. In other words WE(blacks) have to work hard to break the shackles while continuing to advocate for change. Learn to replicate the models being used by the minorities to help ourselves. It is a process.

7. David

The truth but not the whole truth, David.

8. Fairnessandtruth Avatar
    Fairnessandtruth

@Enuff

You are correct in part.

One in that there is Storm water drain on the property. It is to the Garrison side of the property with the Old Eye Hospital and Mr Kinch maintains it. Drainage inspected it up to Thursday.

One the point of corruption. I will say we do suspect that that was the intention and was actually fouled by Mr Kinch submitting a bid.

We are told that they was trying to sell it to the lowest bidder who was not Mr Kinch but that as Mr Kinch was the highest bidder there was pressure to sell it to him. The board on an official letter head which has been published asked him to pay 1 million more as they felt his price was too low…. Note we were told years later that they were intending to sell it to someone else for less than his original offer. They were in fact renting it to someone already for free. That someone complained to the prime ministers office their parking was taken when the land was sold and Mr Kinch enclosed it.
    However Mr Kinch did what I think they did not expect and agreed to the million more. All documented.
    After the agreement was signed and the deposit paid the government then tried to backpedal and get out of the sale. Mr Kinch filed for completion. They say they could not have gotten out of the sale but that was not true because there is a clause in the agreement also posted online that it the government wanted Acquired the land for another purpose before the sale closed that the sale would basically be cancelled and the purchaser paid back his deposit.

The big question remains…. The board has changed but there are still those there in charge that are still there under this government…….

For exposing the above we have yes been victimized and faced many, many other mind blowing glaring challenges that perhaps may have to be brought to light.

Wrong place wrong time in the middle of small people wars. I say small because I will NEVER have respect for people who are soooooo greedy that they can act in such callous ways and think themselves so much more worthy and deserving than their fellow man that they drive them to poverty or that when they are able to bring them from poverty they instead act in ways that make it their death. Massa mentality surely still lives and it lives clothed in skin tones of all colors and genders but hey now I guess you can choose that….. what a world we live in.

In another note a I watched a gender reveal the other day on Facebook and it showed a light show as a gender reveal a smaller scale one than what you would see at a Epcot light show but all the same it would have cost thousands…. The reveal said the child is a boy…. I laughed because suppose it’s born and says I am girl…. So much is made and spent on gender revels now but it appears it’s not God or the doctor that delivers the child that says the gender now lol

9. Well Donna speak or forever hold thy ‘tongue’.

10. How it is possible to win a tender and the final price was negotiated outside the tender?

#askingforafriend

11. Fairnessandtruth Avatar
    Fairnessandtruth

@David You know very well it was an advertised tender and you have seen the documents they are not hidden from anyone?

What BTII should have done was set a price that they would not accept anything lower done at the start of the tender process.

Further do you think if there was any crookedness we would still be struggling? And remember the struggle started under DLP and was years under the DLP and now years under the BLP

I did not have to offer any of the information I have. I did so because it is truth and truth no matter how innocent of what one is accused of is truth no man no matter how much hatred, bitterness, resentment or any other thing that causes one to accuse a innocent man can change his innocence.

How does it benefit people to crucify one that stands against the same things that those criticizing his stand against?

If you think what you have read is bad as I have said you have not seen the worst the worst is what he has suffered for refusing to bend to the hills of the types of people William Skinner talks about.

12. Fairnessandtruth Avatar
    Fairnessandtruth

sorry typo…Bending to hills should be bending to wills.

13. Asking questions for some joining this matter late. It has been a tortuous year are to this point you will agree?

14. Truthandfirness Avatar
    Truthandfirness

I also want to clarify the pressure to sell it to Mr Kinch was because a board member said you can not sell public lands the lands of the Barbados people to the lowest bidder you just sell it to the highest bidder who was Mr Kinch.

15. Truthandfirness Avatar
    Truthandfirness

@David It’s been tortuous years….. I keep saying we must get the the REAL root of the problem. If we do not who will we ask reparations of? Because we can ask reparation for the sins of enslavment but the ugliness has burrowed its way and concealed itself more and yet not more because we all know it. Will we be able to ask for reparations from the politicians and the small wigs in years to come?

The Politican of the corrupt mentality pusses the race issue to continue to divide and concur. They know I they keep people divided and tell the “back” people that their enemy is the white man that they can keep their focus off of them the corrupt politician. For if the voices of all who are being affected by corruption which are far more than those who benefit begin to clang and make noise the noise will travel further and have more effect.

I say this but I also want to make it clear that this does not take away from atrocities of the past committed in slavery. When I was in my 20’s I bought and read books written about slavery and what men and women suffered both Affrican, Indian and Irish. I want to say that many times I had to close each and every book I read and many times tears streamed down my face and my stomach hurt. But each and every time I forced myself to reopen the book and read. Read because those that suffered deserved at the very least that I read and deserve that every living man that has lived after them read. Read and ensure these things never occur again……. The sad truth is they still do and the sad truth is many who fight and make the noise about it have not even read about it.

16. You know i have looked at this situation and it has brought to light a larger issue to me. The disrespect for law is not only a product of the poor but seems to cross all barriers, both of wealth and colour. I am not speaking only of Savvy here where the developer ignored stop notices and pushed ahead with his development, but to to society on the whole.

In other words the state entity responsible tells a developer to stop work and he proceeds to work. So its a case of a dog barking with no bite. In other words i said ” stop or else!”. The developer replies “Or else what? Not one shite! ”

Is this not a society type behaviour though? Not making any excuse for Kinch here but asking a question? The motor cycle twits on the back wheels every sunday, the ZRs every day of the week, the 50% of uninsured vehicles on our roads, the new vouge of reckles and i speak here to the fast food delivery swifts that seem to be driven by ex ZR drivers and on and on it goes.

My point here is that ALL of our enforcement entities seem to be all talk and no action. Our Ministers talk and never act and this act of blowing smoke, seems to have filtered down through ALL state entities. The problem with this though is we have a sector of the community who know this and intend to exploit it. They will break the law because they know that after all the talk, not a dam thing will happen.

So who do we blame here the law breakers or the state for their pathetic lack of enforcement to ALL COLOURS AND CLASSES who intend so to do?

17. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@John A

Because all laws are not only laws to prevent thing that should not happen from happening.

A man from Town Planning once told me. It does not matter what the law it matters what the Prime Minister allows and what she does not.

So in other words those that are “Anointed” within whatever favor deemed on them to benefit them and theirs are allowed to advert these laws.

What Mr Kinch has done is chattel, it can move, its temporary structure. Yes some permission is required for some of the things but their are also regulations for if a request could be turned down and then questions come and have as towny things that have o reason to be rejected are.

I know of one case in Barbados two competing business owners went forward for the same project. Both men white. One submitted his project for approval long before the other but the other was MUCH MUCH MUCH more successful business owner. The one that was MUCH MUCH MUCH more successful was approved and the other denied. There was NO reason that the other was denied and in fact both could have been approved. The much much much more “successful” business owner now deceased and I have heard from several people including the man that ran his company that the deceased man paid the department to have the first mans application refused and used to brag about it.

So basically this is how revolts and revolutions start when the rules are slated to benefit only some. The rules now are in appearance for the good of all but what happens behinds it all and how they are upheld and who gets a pass is NOT for the benefit of all. We ALL know this.

Our National Hero’s were those that spoke up and kept speaking, speaking we ALL know is not liked. lol and yes I speak we ALL know and have been told I speak.

18. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@ John A

I swill add. I think some respond to the uneven scale by grumbling, some speak a little louder some protest. I think Mr Kinch from observation pushes the envelope by contesting the legality of the refusals because they do have to have grounds for refusals and when they are clearly not because of fairness or legal he will push. That’s just my observation.

19. @John A

Let us not add questionable appointments to the judiciary, the fact prominent lawyers are anointed although cases are pending with the disciplinary committee or have serious accusations pending against them.

Veteran journalist David Ellis made an insightful observation yesterday – the ‘popular’ practice by government of late is to co-opt, endorse social media influencers to disseminate information on their behalf. They are paid to do this not withstanding government’s large PR apparatus.

20. William Skinner Avatar

Your response reminds of the typical response that white Americans give to Black people , whenever the Blacks have to forcibly speak the damn truth. They tell the Blacks stop being “so emotional.”
    So, We leave you where you are in this discussion. We will continue to be “emmotional” Massa you can now proceed to whip my ass.

21. @ David

The thruth is ALL must start to feel the weight of enforcement ! Without that the island will continue to deteriorate into a state of lawlessness worst than what we are witnessing now.

In this enforcement though ALL must be targeted equally. Dont “grabble up” 2 vendors for operating illegally say in Swan Street and leave store owners with racks outside their door untouched for example. We are a country of lawlessness right now, from our roads to many other aspects of life. Do we intend to continue talking or will action be taken?

22. Artax

(1). It was reported ‘Government’s compulsory acquisition of the Liquidation Center because site formed part of the tourism footprint identified by the Mia Mottley Administration for a number of hotel developments, including the new Hyatt Ziva Centric. Are those proposed ‘hotel developments and the Hyatt, public or private ventures?

Most of Bay Street/Pierhead is privately owned. We both know the government does not have the money to finance the redevelopment of the Pierhead or even the land it owns. Private or joint ventures will be required, as is the norm across the world in regeneration projects. I haven’t seen any indication that these are public projects or joint projects. Although where government partially or fully owns the land, unless it sells to the developer, that can be considered a joint venture. I didn’t see Ryan Straughn standing behind Maloney as he signed the AFREXIM Bank loan (as some here claimed); and I haven’t heard the government announced they’re guarantors or joint applicants. So my guess is that in the case of Hyatt, Maloney will purchase the land from government for whatever is paid to Mrs. Ram. Let’s wait and see. But the acquisition of private land by government to facilitate private development (including hotels) is normal practice in urban regeneration. It is called land assembly and is done especially when the private-private or public-private negotiations are delaying the process.

23. Truthandfairness

To be clear, I wasn’t part of the corruption bandwagon. What I find funny is the same folks here batting strong for Kinch. Then turn around and cuss the PM for Maloney getting a loan from the african bank.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@David 7.23am
    It is actually very common. Happens daily in foreclosures. Esp where there are multiple mortgages.
    The battleground here, is the land tender had to be accompanied by a “development proposal”. It didn’t say the proposal would get permission, but it certainly implied the land was ‘developable’, beyond paving paradise and putting down a parking lot.
    The value of land is directly proportional to location and “available uses”.
    This is where an explanation of ‘specific performance’ (general concept) is required as it relates to this matter. Is the beneficiary the MoH who actually is claimed to own part of the lands the BTII was tendering.
    The PM, in that same Aug ’23 address, also gave permission for the current occupants of Savvy to stay, regardless of who owned/leased the land. That could be on the ground floor of a 14sty structure?
    Time to hear from the AG, IN the House?

25. @William

Your opinion is obviously shaped by your life experience and respected. This a soft issue with no known schematic, we have to allow all bistro contend to build consensus on a way forward.

26. @John A

You have outlined the mission but getting there is currently obstructed by the politics and mediocrity weaved into the establishment modus operandi. It is a hard road to travel to arrive where we need to be.

27. Thanks NO, you are always pellucid regarding these kinds of matters.

28. William Skinner is all emotions until Prescod is involved. Anyone remember his position when Pressie had the same Kinch trees pulled up?🤣🤣

29. @truth
    Your 8:11 a.m. post was excellent.
    So good that I must give you a minor criticism on a point that I am also guilty of.
    A few typos takes away from that beautiful message. Slow down and reread before posting. Put it aside and then go back to it.

I must add that your posts after 8:11 have transcended the Savvy affair. You have found a good note and is speaking it. I doubt you can maintain.

30. Fairnessandtruth

“One in that there is Storm water drain on the property. It is to the Garrison side of the property with the Old Eye Hospital and Mr Kinch maintains it. Drainage inspected it up to Thursday.”

This is not the drain I’m referring to. I’m talking about the one Truthandfairness referred: “a public drainage easement”. Was this not the blocked drain in the news article as opposed to one to the Garrison side?

31. @ Enuff

The Drain placed by the owners of the property Copa is located on was the one that was blocked.

It had no permission to be placed where it was nor could it have been given legal permission because it was don’t in an incorrect way. It was not done to ensure the water could run to the sea which should have been done. It was done to flood the land belonging to another person. A person who now owns the land that the other person also bid on.

32. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@ OG

I respect and appreciate your comments.

Yes you are right I do have too many typos because I am often rushing.

I also appreciate your other comments.

I wish I had the time to address so many things.

I have a dream. I have a lot of dreams.

Quarries turned into green houses with ponds in the bottom and towers with vegetable growing in them.

Some Old plantations should be used as agricultural schools to teach young persons agriculture and business. When they graduate the lease the land for farming for a time until they are established and can move on to their own farms and then more persons could go through the program.

Community centers should have business opportunities. Small food trucks and kiosk for things like nail care and salons. Bring the community back to the community centers. Open them up teach young people the stories of our hero’s like Clement Payne, Sarah Anne Gill, Garfield Sobers and as I call him Long Live Gabby 😃 he knows why. Show the young people the good strength they come from. Let them preform plays on what they learn. Let the community cook and sell food at the plays. Locals and tourist will buy tickets and the money can go back into helping those in the community.

We also need community gardening and farming centers.

There are so many things that can be done, things that need to be done but instead my time is spent fighting for justice where I should not have to.

33. “The Drain placed by the owners of the property Copa is located on was the one that was blocked.”

Well I was correct and stick to my position. Had Savvy not developed the site without permission there would be no need to war over a drain that was constructed, even before the current owner was the owner. Because the “illegal” drain would have had to be sorted. JohnA is right about the sheer disrespect for law.

Finally, I’ve noticed two comments by Truth that made me go hmmm: “Permission was applied for Savvy but Mr Kinch can’t get permission and for reasons that have yet to truly all be revealed” and “I think Mr Kinch from observation pushes the envelope by contesting the legality of the refusals because they do have to have grounds for refusals and when they are clearly not because of fairness or legal he will push.”

Why do I have a feeling that a decision has been given but not in Savvy’s favour?🤔

34. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@Enuff

One little story for you.

Once upon a time there was a land in whom many lived but some felt themselves much more privileged than others. Though their wealth was already sizable they conceived a plan that if they came together their wealth would be even greater. They had all they needed. They had the puppets in all the right places and could pull all the strings at will….. they wanted one more piece to complete their plan but that piece would not play their game it was a game that to that piece was of no honor so that peice was told never in these lands will you ever find favor. You will never find favor in any of these places we or our puppets have power and so years past and all over the land the other peices many sat and watched as they grew and some questioned why and saw things that displeased them but they continued to grow. For the other piece however it was like he lived in a land with no water no source of growth….. The important thing to remember is that this world is not our own it is not the growth in wealth that matters here. Spiritual growth as a person internally is what is of true importance.

There is a story in the Bible of a man named Daniel who stood up for his principles and beliefs and he was thrown in a lions den for it. Men will always create pits for other men and think that they can devour each other but there is one whose Roar is much louder than any roar of any earthly man and that one will one day silence every man.

35. @ WILLIAM SKINNER

OTHERS WILL SEEK TO MALIGN YOU AND CALL YOU EMOTIONAL TO DISMISS YOUR FEEDBACK WHICH IS SPOT ON.

ONE THING OBVIOUSLY FOREIGN BORN WHITE PERSON COMMENTING ON THIS BLOG EXPOSING A NUMBER OF SHENANIGANS THAT A LOCAL WHITE WOULD NOT.

COW WILLIAMS, BIZZY WILLIAMS, MARK MALONEY AND OTHER LOCAL WHITES KNOW BLACKS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND ARE GREEDY AND GULLIBLE AND WOULD SELL OUT EACH OTHER SAME AS IN THE DAYS OF SLAVERY.

BLACK POLITICIANS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND LIKE DEALING WITH THESE WHITE SHADOWS BECAUSE THEY KNOW WILL RECEIVE LARGE BRIBES AND FAVOURS WITHOUT THE FEAR OF BEING EXPOSED IF THEY FALLOUT OR CHANGE OF GOVERNMENT.

BLACK POLITICIANS FOR THE MOST PART ARE NOT AS COMFORTABLE DEALING WITH THEIR OWN BECAUSE OF FEAR OF TALKING TOO MUCH OR AIRING DIRTY LINEN IN PUBLIC.

ALL THE BULLSHIT ABOUT MARK MALONEY AND OTHER WHITE SHADOWS WOULD NOT BE SUCCESSFUL UNLESS ILLEGALLY OBTAINED AND KICKBACK GOVERNMENT MULTIMILLION $$$ CONTRACTS WHICH ALLOWS THEM TO GET MORE PRIVATE WORK TO GROW BECAUSE OF LIQUIDITY.

THEY ARE NOT GOOD BUSINESS PEOPLE JUST EXCELLENT AT BRIBING ON A LONG TERM BASIS KNOWING NO JAIL TIME SAME AS DONVILLE INNISS.

LET ME REPEAT THE WHITE PERSON COMMENTING AND EXPOSING ON THIS TOPIC IS NOT A LOCAL BORN WHITE.

WHEN I HAD A REGIONAL COMPANY AND USED TO PLAY GOLF ALL OVER THE ISLAND THE FOREIGN WHITES INCLUDING THOSE MANAGING OFFSHORE COMPANIES DETESTED THE LOCAL WHITES AND WOULD ALWAYS SHUN THEM AND SIT AMONG THE BLACK LOCALS AFTER A GOLF GAME TO DRINK, EAT AND CONVERSATE.

PICK SENSE FROM NONSENSE.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    This continuation of “lawless” behaviour by Kinch is frivolous. Kinch is NOT the law? That rests with the GoB and it’s agencies. In the same way the coconut trees were removed, so too could the bar and vendors.
    Savvy on the Bay should never have developed.
    Kinch pushed the envelope and the authorities did nothing.
    This is the exact same thing successive administrations did with the NIS. By failing to report annually, they were breaking the law. But since nobody kept a major noise or worse, they continued. And rest assured numerous other public bodies which failed to report during the Lost Decade have CONTINUED not reporting in the last 6 years.
    Monkey see, Monkey do?
    The AG via eminent domain has all the power? The GoB can take over Savvy and likely cost the taxpayer millions a year running it (the vendors can stay). Shyte you might even be CEO 😀😀
    The good news is you can lose $5M/yr and not a soul would know, because reporting is now a thing of the past.

37. William Skinner Avatar

@ Baje
    Sometimes they ( the politicians) take anything even a few well tailored suits ! But like everything else it’s every man breaking fuh heself.
    An example: we talk about a mini bus culture. Remember the pioneers in that business were some blacks who used to transport the vendors from the country to town with their produce; they also used to use pick ups.
    Fast forward to today that industry is really controlled by minorities who give the Blacks the PSVs to drive and tell them how much money they need each day . Result : chaos on the streets and the lawlessness start.
    All the original Blacks are gone. Same thing with hired cars. Same thing with car parts. Same thing with the small hotels and now they are getting into housing construction.
    The clowns can come here with all the fancy talk about “ being balanced” and being “ emotional” and nonsense about Blacks don’t support Blacks. The gem is the foolishness about Indians starting walking and then motor cycles and how they helped poor Black people but just look at the reality and all of that is nonsense , Black people were traders as well selling potatoes and other produce from donkey carts; and operating hundreds of shops trusting their brothers and sisters from one crop season to the next. Many Blacks had small private schools and so on.
    Our politicians bluntly refused to develop progressive enfranchisement policies.,
    Ask these jokers how many Blacks ownhotels., In the last fifty years we know of one Black owned hotel that was passed on to the next generation . We know of the successive governments refusing to give concessions to Black restaurants who wanted to import equipment and we can go on and on.
    So, the clowns can continue to bury their BLPDLP heads in the sand but not even the truth can set some of us free. That’s why Mia all up in Maloney now but can gather us in town hall meetings and feed us the slips while giving the chosen few potatoes.

38. That’s why Mia all up in Maloney now but can gather us in town hall meetings and feed us the slips while giving the chosen few potatoes.

xxxxxxx

COULDN’T HAVE SAID IT ANY BETTER.

39. @William

No one has to tell you what was the complexion of the politicians during that time.

40. By the way William you are wrong about why Maloney is favoured by respective governments. Do you recall what former governor DeLisle Worrell said about Maloney when he was publicized to bring Jeremy Clarkson and Top Gear to Barbados? It is all about who can bring projects to the table that creates jobs and foreign exchange.

41. William Skinner Avatar

We dealing in what is the truth. We will find howver we cut it slice it and dice it the end result will be the same. All of these little deflections mean nothing . There is always going to be somebody edging the ball through the slip or a drop catch; occassionally tail enders make some runs. At the end, the score book says exactly how the match ended.
    If you and others want to say the result wrong and the score book lie; we can’t argue. If you and others are happy with how our country is after nearly six decades of Independence that’s okay.
    Many of us feel this is a Mottley thing or a Barrow thing. It certainly is not. This is really a glaring failure of the BLPDLP to simply do what is right by the Black people that underwrite their education.
    We have little time for all the little nicecities that when the minority group read our contributions they could say: Oh, he’s not so bad; he’s balanced; he’s not emotional; we can work with him because he still seems to like us . We simply don’t mind being called : a racist, communist, bitter, emotional, ignorant, hateful, or anything so.
    We’ve been called all those things before.
    Rest assured that when the true history of this period is written you will be given praises for giving the country and people like us, the opportunity to express our pints of view. And the praises will be deserved. Peace.

42. Not saying that William, if we are representing the down pressed honesty must prevail, in large measure we contribute to it. We have to do more to organize and lose the crabs in a barrel mentality.

43. Bruce Vale link road paved, bridge constructed and ready to be shipped.

Construction to start on Laynes Bridge on Monday, June 24

44. search You Tube

a deputy essential calypso

45. Some small minded people here continue to fail in developing a more dynamic approach to the fundamental issues.

For example, race, class, capital formation, ethnicity, minibuses, are not merely internally bound but they interact with all the forces around them.

So to argue that because politicians appear Black that their economic orientation is to be so directed represents a simpleton’s view.

Where this has happened in the world, over a thousand years, represents the exception to the rule.

This kind of infantile mindset continues even as we live in a world where politicians in Europe aré destroying their economies to serve White domination.

Where Mia Mottley herself, despite the hard limitations neoliberal presents, continues at a relentless pace to obliterate any semblance of a future.

In these circumstances it cannot be surprising that people who look not like the dominant population type and with class collaboration and better access to capital would have eventually distorted the traditional arrangements within deep the minibus culture leaving it unrecognizable from what our parents developed.

There was even a time when it was fashionable here to promote an Uchi Kuchi Indian type as some BLP political prodigy.

How are you any different to the Black politicians who consolidated the minibus licenses into fewer and fewer hands of ruthless foreigners.

Is this trajectory indifferent to everything else neoliberal capitalism has wrought anywhere else?

There needs to be a more rigorous or materialist interrogation, less shiiite talk.

46. Following on from Pachamama here is an interesting debate on black businesses in Barbados featuring Sharon Husbands.

We should be very thankful to the domestic Bajan, William Skinner, who always brings a historical perspective to BU. He has age over, perhaps, everyone else on BU. He uses his voice in a positive manner unlike some of our domestic Bajan contributors whom to paraphrase Winston Churchill prefer to wage war war in lieu of jaw jaw.

47. Let’s hope that the above debate will prick the conscience of the right honourable Santia Bradshaw and Mia Mottley.

I hope that Sandra Husband whom whilst exiled from the BLP found “refuge” on the BU platform for a very short period. It is clear that she swims in a different pond to her two illustrious colleagues.

Mia will at some stage step down from being our prime minister. It is up to others to raise their game.

PLEASE, PLEASE, stop FEEDING THE BIG FISH.