Prime Minister Mia Mottley continues to be committed to an aggressive international agenda which requires significant air travel to attend meetings and engage in meet and greets. Her latest stop Nassau in the Bahamas to attend the Annual Meeting and the AfriCaribbean Trade and Investment Forum in Nassau.

While the Prime Minister is busy growing her international image, and we offer congratulations, her promise to intercede in the Savvy on the Bay matter remains one for fools.

Minister of Finance
The Honourable Prime Minister Mia Mottley

But what I will say to you now is that I have said to the two gentlemen, ‘you have a timeline on these negotiations, and if these negotiations don’t finish within the next few weeks, there must be a ministerial statement to the Parliament and all of the facts laid bare, including how this matter started under the last government; why there was a need to go to court under the last government; how, therefore, the sale was proceeded with as a result of an act of specific performance; and why we would not have been able to act before when we said from the very beginning, those two lots in the middle were always car parks’,” the Prime Minister [Mia Mottley] explained.

Barbados Today (26 August 2023)

Today the traditional media has reported on a flare up between the management of Savvy on the Bay and the adjoining business Copacabana which required Minister of Transport and Works and Acting Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw to intervene. The tension between Savvy on the Bay and Copacabana has been reported many times in the BU space. What is obvious is that the Savvy on the Bay matter needs to be brought to a resolution – Prime Mottley agrees given her public pronouncement on the matter in August 2023 – however, there appears to be an effort to keep the matter in abeyance.

At the root of the dispute yesterday is a pipe running across Savvy land which was allegedly tampered with to divert water from Copacabana the adjacent property.

How long will Prime Minister Mia Mottley allow this matter to bubble? Instead scarce resources must be wasted with the Acting Prime Minister and minister in an already large Cabinet having to waste taxpayers dollars negotiating with an operator of a government excavator, not to mention the many other government officials present at the dispute. What are we doing?

See today’s Nation newspaper article.

Santia steps in at Savvy stand-off

By Carlos Atwell

carlosatwell@nationnews.com

Tempers flared at Savvy on the Bay yesterday as action by the Ministry of Transport and Works (MTW) agitated longstanding issues between management at the business and next-door neighbour Copacabana.

The matter lasted for several hours at the Bay Street, St Michael location until Minister of Transport and Works Santia Bradshaw arrived and presided over a compromise.

When the Weekend Nation arrived, an irate Sarah Taylor, the spokesman for Savvy, was upset personnel from the MTW’s Drainage Division were on their property to clear a blocked water pipe which was supposed to take water from areas such as Wellington Street and Nelson Street to the sea.

“Having MTW here digging on our property without just cause is crazy. Do we not have any rights? If there is a problem, meet with people first. It is so heart-breaking to try and do your best for your country by investing and how are you treated? Like your property is worth nothing. How is that fair?” she asked.

Taylor said she saw the excavator digging when she arrived on the property and after not receiving an answer to what they were doing, she stood in front of the excavator, blocking their progress. She said she then called for Bradshaw and Member of Parliament for The City, Corey Lane, as well as the police.

Members of the Town Planning Department and Kinch himself soon arrived on the scene. Kinch said the pipe was originally running through Lewis Gap but charged that it was diverted.

“I have no objection to Government building a drain across my boundary but no one should be able to dump water on another’s land so I blocked it up,” he said.

Blocked drain

Bradshaw arrived and spoke to the parties involved after which she told the media: “The Drainage Unit of the MTW responded to a report of a blocked drainage area which is responsible for bringing water from a lot of City districts to the sea. They responded to that [blocked] area which happens to be on the property of Savvy on the Bay, right next to Copacabana.

“It is clear from examination of the area with the drainage team that there is work which has to be carried out on the site in order for water to flow freely into the ocean. The team is going to do a further assessment to make a determination as to the best way to proceed and then we will meet again with the various parties and come up with a solution,” she said, adding she was grateful to Kinch and Taylor for agreeing to the terms.

Copacabana owner/ managing director Raj Chatrani said: “We understand that a public drain located in the property next to Copacabana has been blocked with concrete.

I can say that neither Copacabana nor myself, Raj Chatrani, have ever obstructed the public drain in question. We support any measures deemed necessary by the drainage unit to help resolve the problem that is causing flooding and overflow throughout the lower Bay Street area,” he said. (CA)

Source: Nation Newspaper

107 responses to “Savvy Copacabana dispute ignored by Mottley”

1. Truthanfairness Avatar
    Truthanfairness

Let the facts speak… the source of the below information is TCPO

20. Formal Application – 0548/04/2018B (Submitted)
    Applicant(s): CARLISLE INVESTMENTS INC.
    Agent: RICHARD GILL ASSOCIATES
    Address: COPACABANA BEACH BAR,, BAY STREET, , ST. MICHAEL
    Description: (A) RETENTION, ERECTION AND EXTENTION OF BUILDINGS FOR PASSENGER RECEPTION, ENTERTAINMENT AND BEACH BAR PURPOSES;(B) RETENTION OF ROAD WORKS FOR A NEW BEACH ACCESS (C) ABANDWORMENT OF A PUBLIC ALLEY AND CREATION OF A PUBLIC DRANAGE EASEMENT
    Coordinates:
    13.092174902000068, -59.61052382999998

22. Unauthorised Development – 522/B/0010/2018 (Investigating)
    Offender(s): CARLISLE INVESTMENT INC
    Address: LEWIS ALLEY, BAY STREET , ST. MICHAEL
    Description: UNAUTHORISED ENGINEERING WORKS AND CONSTRUCTION OFA BUILDING WITHOUT PLANNING PERMISSION AT LEWIS ALLEY, BAY STREET, ST. MICHAEL
    Coordinates: N/A
    View decisions/conditions

2. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

They eased the public drain off of a public alley that they enclosed as their own and put the public drain onto the private land belonging to someone else without government authorization

3. David truth is this matter has gone on way too long. The PM owes us an explanation here as she has promised months ago.

As to the drain its simple. Acquire the land needed for the drain at the $34 a square foot and lets move on.

4. @John A

What better time for this matter to flare than at a time the country will be teaming with visitors?

5. I actually begged the workers from MTW to stop because I did not believe that the PM would want this in the press at this time. It was only after they would not and one man instructed the operator to keep working despite I was inches away from the bucket of the excavator and that my initial attempts to reach Deputy PM and Minister Corey Layne failed that I called the press.
    Seems there is someone new in a position at drainage and they were not aware of everything and they were just trying to clear the pipes without knowing the background that lead to everything and that it needed to be addressed and fixed properly. When Deputy PM Bradshaw came she looked at everything, listened and spoke to everyone and handled the situation very well and is working on a solution for everyone.

6. Truthandfairness

Too much unauthorised development, including Savvy. You should not have set up shop without planning permission. Planning permission more than likely would have addressed this issue of drainage. No sympathy, none.

7. @Enuff

You love to focus on the problem and not the fact PM Mottley promised to intercede almost one year ago.

8. TruthandFairness Avatar
    TruthandFairness

@ John A

Perhaps the government should also acquire your land for less than half its value and press on.

Believe me there is much much much more than can be uncovered about this and no one would be able to stand and throw any stone in the direction of Savvy that anyone will think sensible if and when it all comes out.

9. @Enuff

Some are still curious about Minister Ian Gooding-Edghill’s statement in the well of parliament confirming the Savvy matter is being litigated and therefore he was not at liberty to deep dive the issue. The blogmaster has unsuccessfully used best research skills in the absence of FOI to confirm the matter. You are better, can you point to a confirmation of what he stated under the cloak of privilege?

10. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@enuff

I appreciate your point but ask you to recognize that The drainage problem was created by the neighboring property owned by Carlisle Bay Investments and known as Copa.

Let the facts speak… the source of the below information is TCPO

20. Formal Application – 0548/04/2018B (Submitted)
Applicant(s): CARLISLE INVESTMENTS INC.
Agent: RICHARD GILL ASSOCIATES
Address: COPACABANA BEACH BAR,, BAY STREET, , ST. MICHAEL
Description: (A) RETENTION, ERECTION AND EXTENTION OF BUILDINGS FOR PASSENGER RECEPTION, ENTERTAINMENT AND BEACH BAR PURPOSES;(B) RETENTION OF ROAD WORKS FOR A NEW BEACH ACCESS (C) ABANDWORMENT OF A PUBLIC ALLEY AND CREATION OF A PUBLIC DRANAGE EASEMENT
Coordinates:
13.092174902000068, -59.61052382999998

22. Unauthorised Development – 522/B/0010/2018 (Investigating)
Offender(s): CARLISLE INVESTMENT INC
Address: LEWIS ALLEY, BAY STREET , ST. MICHAEL
Description: UNAUTHORISED ENGINEERING WORKS AND CONSTRUCTION OFA BUILDING WITHOUT PLANNING PERMISSION AT LEWIS ALLEY, BAY STREET, ST. MICHAEL
Coordinates: N/A
View decisions/conditions

They eased the public drain off of a public alley that they enclosed as their own and put the public drain onto the private land belonging to someone else without government authorization

Permission was applied for Savvy but Mr Kinch can’t get permission and for reasons that have yet to truly all be revealed.

All of these things need to be addressed and order brought to ALL of the situations for our country to to go forward in the right path.

11. First Altman and a redesigned Pierhead, then Hoyos and HOPE, then Hoyos and Trimart, soon Maloney and his USD 100M and now Savvy all over again.

The price of progress. The more things change.

Just Observing

12. I see my favorite topic has again taken center stage, but as usual .. no real information is forthcoming.

I will express my ignorance on this matter but “not enuff’s” contributions always convince me that ‘Savvy’ is in the right. Mr Kinch should hire ‘ not enuff’ and don’t give him a script. ‘Wat a ting’

Waiting on Mia speaks.

13. Listen to all and sundry this is a simple example of what happens when govermment fails to act promply. Had they of stepped in 2 years ago and dealt with this the way they would of it was a small man setting up shop, it could never of reached this point. You see they got some that will do as they like and flaunt the law because they know the court system functions poorly. Then what could of been a simple matter of enforcement is allowed to fester into what now exist.

Wunna remember when a fellow had set up a few beach chairs down Batts Rock and quick so the authorites made him move? I could mention many other examples of such prejudice towards the small man, but the point is he nor any of the others had no brand name lawyers to fight for them.

The PM needs to close this matter once and for all so all can move forward and her commitment to the public is honoured.

14. The optics look bad but does the average person pay enough attention to these kinds of matters?

15. @ Sarah

I am not trying to say your land should be taken up for the drain. What I am saying is that under the laws of acquisition, government has the right to acquire the land needed at land tax value if you did not contest the value as being other than indiciated by the land tax bill.

Now the landtax bill usually outside a valuation year, would represent the transaction value that last occcured. So the $34 a square foot that YOU paid for the land would be the acquisition value for the land needed for the drainage unit.

What are you saying now are you claiming that you did not pay government a fair price when you bought it at the $34 a square foot? Is it in your view worth now $100 a square foot and if so, have you written the land tax office to have the value increased for this tax year?

I mean what exactly are you trying to say? After all you cant have one rule for the romans and another for the Christians can we?

16. @John A

Didn’t Minister Ryan Straughn touch on the matter of the land tax bill needing to be reform so that it can be used for tax, valuation for sale and insurance? This may not occur in our lifetime.

17. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@ John A

Your words “After all you can’t have one rule for the Roman’s and another for the Christians can we?”

Explain please why you think it was ok then for the neighbors to enclose public lands and divert a public drain to flood someone’s private property…. Which is illegal both the talking up of the public land and the diversion of the pipe. You conveniently turn a blind eye to this.

Also explain when BRA or a bank sells land at auction or a bidding process and the highest bidder wins: even if they pay less than the value how does that make them guilty? Or deserving of punishment. After all the desire was to sell it to the lowest bidder which did not happen but of course you seem to like the government have a separate set of rules for this person. Perhaps you know about the brown paper bags. Tell me are they still brown? someone who used to deliver them told me they are brown.

18. Is Copacabana a ‘pleasure’ house?

Why is it so important to expect a PM to fix all these kinds of problems, which attend almost everything. A PM who has shown no particular aptitude in this regard and seems intent on burnishing her ‘stature’ as an international figure?

That the PM has now awakened to the elephant within her favored space and to now presume that there could be some role for what she has now become the ‘poster girl’, the imperialism of the Collective West’, was always at least fanciful.

We anticipate that this PM will lose both at home and abroad. As go this PM, so goes Barbados!

19. @ Sarah

Again you have diverted and not answered the questions.

Did you object to your land tax bill this year as not representing the true market value of your land and ask that it be increased to represent what you see as the TRUE market value and not the $34 a square foot you paid for it?

Its a simple yes or no answer no need for diversion.

20. truthandfairness Avatar
    truthandfairness

@John A

Please read the Barbados Today Article published today. Mr Kinch himself said he objected to the land tax bill and valuation which they ac reduced the value.

I again remind you that you can tender below the value of something and still purchase it. I also remind you Mr Kinch was the highest bidder. The government had the right to refuse his bid.

21. @ Sarah

For the final time i ask you did you object to the land tax bill you receiced this year claiming it was not a true reflection of its true value as it reflects what you paid for it at $34 a square foot and not what you see it as worth at 3 times that amount? If you did not you have no grounds to expect to be paid more for the land required by the drainage unit its that simple.

Cuh dear its a yes or no answer. Stop the diversion and answer the question asked

As for Kinch claiming he was being charged too much land tax, i would love to hear the arguement he used based on what he paid and what the true market value is. Then again David did publish revised land tax bills for your establishment and from memory 1 of the 3 parcels did get a massive diacount. What made this lot so different to the other 2 lots does it flood? LOL

22. @ David

What Mr Straughn was proposing was not practical and this was pointed out to him by many.

The land tax already has in place several provisions for fluctuations. They revised values every 3 years and ALL property owners can file an objection on their valuation based on the valuation by a recognised valuator. If a property sells during the 3 year period the land tax value is then set at the value of the transaction price. It is a perfectly viable system but it is left to the property owner to protect their interest.

In other words if you are being charged a grossly under stated value on your land tax and have not objected, then dont quarrel if government acquires the land for a public drain down the road at land tax value.

23. @John A

Is it that straightforward?

Most land owners have no issue with low value on land tax bill because it translates to lower tax due. On the other hand for the purpose of sale or insurance a true value is required. There is a conflicting dynamic you have to consider.

24. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@John A

Ok I see you are having problems finding the article so here is an excerpt for you

But the future of the popular beach spot which is at the centre of a tussle with the government over its proposed acquisition of the land remains in limbo, according to Kinch.

“They asked me to get an evaluation, which I did,” he said. “They told me the evaluation was not reasonable. They told me it is too high. So, they had an evaluation done by the land tax department, the commissioner of land tax, who valued it at less than the purchase price, and they lowered my land tax. So, I went and pay the land tax bill, and I have objected to the lowering of my land tax.”

Note I have noted you continue to avoid the neighbors actions.

Oh and re being paid for the land for the drain … well let’s see Mr Kinch is still waiting on payment for land acquired over around 15 years for land government acquired to build a round about and to be factually the area where they will build a new drain is within the area Mr Kinch offered to the government back in 2019 I believe so and I have not heard him ask the government to pay anything for it. Putting in a drain is to the benefit of our community.

25. @ David

The truth is its a balancing act but every owner must protect their interest. Under valuation is liked by owners, but it can come back to bite you down the road. Remember what happened to those who had land acquired by government decades ago for the ABC Highway?

I also feel Mr Straughn should focus on property owned by pensioners and family land that has been in the family for generAtions differently as well. So lets say an old pensioner has a piece of land next to a new upmarket development should he be taxed under Mr Straughn’s Plan at the same per sq ft as the millionaires next door? No

Should a grand child of an original owner who was given a piece of land by her grandfather be taxed at the same rate as the millionaire next door?

In other words we need to have a precedent in the proposals for pre existing and inherited land origin. If this is done a family holding by a middle class person 3 generations on can not be valued at the same land tax per sq ft as the Millionaire next door. All this was pointed out to the minister and you therefore can not adopt the one size fits all approach he was proposing. Of course if the grandchild sold the land to one of the rich for a song then that land would THEN Pay tax as its sale value.

In other words dont bring a system that could force a 3rd generation owner or pensioner to sell because he can no longer afford to pay the land tax.

26. @ David

The truth is its a balancing act but every owner must protect their interest. Under valuation is liked by owners, but it can come back to bite you down the road. Remember what happened to those who had land acquired by government decades ago for the ABC Highway?

I also feel Mr Straughn should focus on property owned by pensioners and family land that has been in the family for generAtions differently as well. So lets say an old pensioner has a piece of land next to a new upmarket development should he be taxed under Mr Straughn’s Plan at the same per sq ft as the millionaires next door? No

Should a grand child of an original owner who was given a piece of land by her grandfather be taxed at the same rate as the millionaire next door?

In other words we need to have a precident in the proposals for pre existing and inherited land origin. If this is done a family holding by a middle class person 3 generations on can not be valued at the same land tax per sq ft as the Millionaire next door. All this was pointed out to the minister and you therefore can not adopt the one size fits all approach he was proposing. Of course if the grandchild sold the land to one of the rich for a song then that land would THEN Pay tax as its sale value.

In other words dont bring a system that could force a 3rd generation owner or pensioner to sell because he can no longer afford to pay the land tax.

27. David

Isn’t focusing on the problem.your’s and BU’s daily endeavour?

What the PM promised, a resolution to the land acquisition right? Have you noticed that the retention application is dated prior to the 2018 election? So the PM in 2023 would have done what to this drain?

JohnA is right, prompt responses by the department to development without planning permission avoids these issues; and the serial abusers who feel they’re entitled would stop doing shite because they’d know the authorities watching. You continue to be tricked.

28. Teuthandfairness Avatar
    Teuthandfairness

Ahhhhh @ Enuff

The information about retention and taking a public alley and the drain are applications made by Carlisle Investments which is the company that own the Land Copa is on. This would have been when Frundel was PM

29. @Enuff

The PM stated publicly that if her two senior ministers Marshall and Duguid couldn’t resolve the Savvy matter she will make time to give the public the whys and wherefores troubling this matter. Stay focused!

30. @ David

The other issue alot use to do as they wish is the 7 year period. In other words a structure built and not addressed by the TCP as being an illegal structure is deemed as permanent.

So the thinking was here is that if you had a structure or amendment to a building and no one objected to it in 7 years, it cant be bothering nobody. LOL

31. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@ John A

I think that law does not apply to on Government land which Lewis Allleys is.

Re the drain Mr Kinch Objected when it was first done to several government departments.

32. Sarah i am not sure. What i know is the law of acquistion over rides the law of freehold ownership.

33. Truthandfairness Avatar
    Truthandfairness

@John A

I was talking about the Alley that Carlisle Investments built over that is public land Lewis Alley. Even after years they can’t claim it.

Re Acquisition over riding freehold ownership you are correct but their has to be a legitimate reason that they are acquiring the land and a parking lot would not fly. There has already been a case in Barbados where the person whose land they were trying to take was able to show that they had several other viable options for what the government wanted his land for. So the man won the case.

I know you think the last sold too cheap and I would agree but the governments way of handling it is wrong and Allan already offered before all the big noise started that he would give some back to the people of Barbados but for the people of Barbados not for another developer. Since then I even got him to agree to giving more rather than this ugly mess to continue and it ending up costing innocent tax payers money.

I just wish you would understand Allan bid that was the process and he won the bid he should not be seen as guilty by anyone for that. What is honorable is knowing he has been blessed with a beautiful property and that the right thing to do is to ensure we could preserve some of it for Bajans for all time and that is what we tried to do from the beginning and we expanded on that but despite all the good we have tried to do everything has been rejected and they have actually now devalued the land below what he paid yet land on the same beach sold for a lot more quite recently.

He bought the land with the promise of what he could build he has lost BIG time and if you think this is all they have made him loose you have not yet begun to learn all that can be learned and may yet have to be shared.

34. @ David

I understand a ‘special unit’ was established within the BRA, located in Wildey, to oversee the auction of land (especially in upscaled areas) owned by people who are indebted to the Authority in respect of land taxes.

I am familiar with a situation whereby a lady who owns land in a certain development, learnt that lands adjoining hers were earmarked as the site for the construction of an “apartment hotel block.”
    The news was subsequently confirmed when she was notified of the proposed development by the Planning and Development Department.
    Landowners were invited to inspect a copy of the application, plans and other documents at the PDP, ‘within 14 days following the date of receipt of the notice,’ which she did.
    Interestingly, her property would obstruct access to the entrance driveway of the ‘apartments.’

‘Lo and behold,’ the lady recently read in the newspaper that her property was to be auctioned by the BRA, unless she settled her land tax arrears within 2 weeks.

Mottley’s idea of development seems to be focused on how many hotels, apartments and condominiums could be built all over Barbados.

This island’s Land Acquisition Act makes provision for the compulsory acquisition of land for PUBLIC purposes.
    Problems were created when ‘Ms Ram’s’ land in Bay Street was compulsorily acquired to facilitate the construction of Hyatt Hotel.

Is ‘government’ now compulsorily acquiring land by stealth for PRIVATE purposes?

35. @Artax

Not doubting you but let us hope this is not happening. We the public’s trust is eroded then outcomes will be adversely affected.

36. she does talk real sweet doh.

37. ‘………..An aggressive international agenda ……’

Today, yesterday, the G7 which are international crooks decided to seize the interest on the USD300 billion in sovereign funds of Russia as held in European banks, to repay a loan to be given to the state of Ukraine in which gangsterism is second to none.

Previously, the same oligarchs when Putin was begging them for decades, to force these same people to disgorge Russian stolen assets, stolen with the help of the Collective West and help in Western banks, generally had those same assets stolen.

Venezuela had a fictitious president imposed and its sovereign assets in Western banks were stolen.

Afghanistan a country undergoing starvation had its sovereign wealth stolen by America after the triumph of the Taliban a few years ago.

Even a country like Iraq is being forced to deposit its oil revenues in US banks. The movement of these funds require Treasury Department approval.

The European are degenerately ignorant! For these same Europeans have over a trillion invested in Russia. We will be made aware of this only when Putin takes them over.

Moreover, that a country with 6000 thermal nuclear weapons could be so treated, weee wonder what they’ll do to the most easterly of the regional island chain.

Mottley lacks courage and as such has grossly misread the gravemen of the international circumstances, this historical moment.

Barbados is destined to be in a worse position after Mottley, in the same way it has been since the demise of OSA.

A net negative.

38. William Skinner Avatar

We know beyond a shadow of a doubt that the Black political lawyer class from within both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party has systematically being taking money from the rich and powerful minorities and fooling the masses.
    Every single Black voice that has ever dared to mention this known fact has been marginalised : economically, socially , professionally, politically and economically. This same Black lawyer political class has looked the other way when racism was practiced against its Black brothers and sisters in the tourism industry at all levels.White gigolos were allowed unhindered into hotel problems while Black gigolos were denied entry.The Savvy, Marina in St. Peter are all examples of the duplicity and complicity in these matters.
    We heard COW Williams on a Brasstacks program demanding that the government repair and upgrade the clubhouse at his mulit million dollar golf course. We heard the same COW Williams castigate his workers because they wanted an increase. The silence of the Black political class was deafening.
    We now have the extension of this duplicity and complicity. The same Ms. Ramchandi was accused of exploiting her employess for donkey years and she was left alone to amass a fortune. The nefarious racist activities at the Carlise Club were well known but very weekend Black politicians were fetting in there and avoiding the Black establishments.
    We are not surprised that the Black political class is now reaping the rewards of their dastardly conduct. When these powerful minorities expire and can no longer breathe , we learn who their lawyers were.
    Marcus Garvey always warned about the enemy within.
    Finally, @ David, we can tell you that there are not three Black businessmen on our island who can even dream of being loaned $200 million dollars by any bank. They simply cannot meet that bar. They simply will not have the collateral to cover such a loan. Believe it or not, there are about six Black business that will survive two or more generations. There is money and there is money.

39. William Skinner Avatar

Hotel rooms not problems.

40. truthandfairness Avatar
    truthandfairness

@willam skinner you are not all wrong but you are wrong when you say black people are marginalised : economically, socially , professionally, politically and economically. It is not only black people that are marginalised : economically, socially , professionally, politically and economically For speaking out against it and refusing to partake in it. Color is blinding you. Do your think these people that make these type of deals really care about color of skin? A prime example is the new loan to build Hyatt. You may say that that proves your point but it does not because who had what to offer and offered it to whom.
    Looking at color blinds people to today’s economic atrocities. Yes that’s the still racial atrocities, horrible unspeakable ones that need to be spoken that occur but one should never allow one self to be so blinded by in to to think that when it involves big money that color is what controls the beast. I can tell you for a fact that when white people have opposed such activity the marginalization and the victimization is at levels you cannot imagine.
    I tell you this personally, just as I tell you that any man or woman that lives live to answer one judge and so the choice of every man and woman is his own but I rather a mouse hole in Gods kingdom than a mansion in this one.

I ask you remember this and not be offended. Black men sold black men. In your own account black men marginalize black men. Do you not think that when there is big money involved white men do not sell out their own brothers or persons of the same color I can give you examples of needed. It has nothing to do with color but ALL to do with the selfish greedy mentality that lives not just in the Island but across the world where one man thinks of himself more than his neighbor.

41. Artax

The public acquisition of Ram’s land is legit because it facilitates the construction of Hyatt Hotel, which is part of the regeneration of Bridgetown. The regeneration is the PUBLIC purpose.

42. Skinner

Yuh right as shiiiite.

One, a Black group tried to bring much more than 200M some years ago and the local bank manager bad talked that group with the funder.

That group only found out because the funder sought ti avoid a lawsuit.

We can adumbrate, ad infinitum.

Investors don’t have to care about Black or White until they are schooled by local elites that we have a crypto racist society, as written about by the UN.

Once they get to know the state of play in Barbados about our genre of racism, why would they do anything different.

Skinner!

Every rasssoul word yuh say is right as shiiiiite!

43. William Skinner Avatar

@truthandfairness
    Respectfully, we take your point but we write the truth. Other groups /ethnicities should speak out on their behalf and explain the atrocities that they suffer or suffered.

44. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    We are still sweeping things under the carpet but those of us who know the truth are expected to speak the truth especially at this time when it is very obvious that the country is being mislead and the people are being fed nothing but lies and sickening political PR.
    Both the BLP and DLP should be politically exterminated.
    We have witnessed poor Black peoples’ possessions being thrown out on the streets; we have seen law enforcement take caterpillars and lick down their properties under both administrations but when it comes to dealing with the minorities they drag the shite through the courts and the same politicians/lawyers make millions defending them.
    @David and others scarcely know the horror stories that some relatively Black successful business persons faced and many were rooted in nothing but pure racis. Now we are perplexed and embarrassed because we now realise that if Mark Maloney gives one of the twins a mercedes the other twin going to make sure he gets $200 million. For those who thought Mottley was going to be different, we interpreted : “Gimme the vote and watch muh” wrong. She told us. Now we are watching her.

45. Enuff

Never mentioned or implied anything that suggested “the public acquisition of Ram’s land (WAS NOT) legit.”

I specifically stated “problems were created” as a result of the acquisition.

(1). It was reported ‘Government’s compulsory acquisition of the Liquidation Center because site formed part of the tourism footprint identified by the Mia Mottley Administration for a number of hotel developments, including the new Hyatt Ziva Centric.

Are those proposed ‘hotel developments and the Hyatt, public or private ventures?

(2). Barbados National Trust expressed its opposition to the destruction of the 18th century historically listed building.

(3). Remember, according to media reports, “on November 16, 2019, the owners sought injunctive relief through the High Court, which dismissed the application on the basis that there was no serious issue to be tried. The company then sought a stay of execution, which the court also rejected.”

“They revealed that the former Liquidation Centre owners have not received any money from the Government yet and they are being made to lose Christmas sales because of the acquisition of the building. It was noted that Government did not give an alternative property; and the former owners had asked for funds to move as well as the extension to the date they were required to leave. These were not given.” [The Barbados Advocate – Wednesday, November 27, 2019]

(4). The Liquidation Centre property comprised two units…… Furniture Limited and Tiny Tots Limited.
    Government did not provide the Merchandanis with an alternative property to conduct business to sell inventory on hand at the time.

According the former DLP President, Verla DePeiza:

“The action of forcing her out before Christmas affects not only her but also the members of staff who suddenly find themselves on the breadline compliments of the Government of Barbados.”

We all know the Christmas season is special to Barbadians and, to suddenly become unemployed during that time, would’ve created some problems for the former employees.

Problems, my friend, problems.

Please note, ‘I hold no beef for Mrs. Ram.’

She had been exploiting poor Barbadians employees for several years, without any concerns expressed by BLP, DLP or even the Barbados Workers’ Union.

But politicians came to her defense as a result of the compulsory acquisition.

46. Mathematics advances because scholars build on existing knowledge. Some here refuse to use what is known and start at zero everyday. Sisyphus was a Bajan.

Start with the knowledge that most of what went before and most of what is happening is corrupt. Don’t wait until a check lands on a desk or until an airline take our money and run to begin to suspect corruption.

Any new initiative is corrupt.

47. She is so smooth.

48. @William

The electorate has to believe the promises until those who make them fail to deliver. What other approach can be taken to be sure promises will be kept. A big part of our problem is that good men and women prefer to do nothing.

49. Since the acquisition of Miss Ram please what other major projects has government undertaken as part of their gentrification plan?