132 responses to “No Confidence Motion against President Ronnie Yearwood”

1. ‘In my mind, the right leader is a reluctant one who has leadership thrust upon him or her, not one who fights for it.’

My apologies, but I will not participate in a farce. I respectfully decline your implied offer of support.

😀

2. “Let me you see you shake it/That’s what we call sacude, letting go of that fake shit.”

I have never accused you of having fake shit, but I know when you get your hands on extremely good stuff. Need to change today’s supplier.

Have a great day all.
    Don’t get too serious over anything. Put effort into trying to laugh or to generate a laugh. You may fail, but you may enjoying the effort.

Be good and be kind to each other
    Have a great day 000

3. S.M.I².L.E. –Space Migration, Intelligence Increase and Life Extension–
    I never did like you one bit with your endless accusations and insinuations every time you speak about me that I must be high simply because I am higher than you

“The Info-Worlds our species will discover, create, explore and inhabit in the immediate future will not be reached from launch pads alone, but also through our personal computer screens.”

4. Mia’s stature and brand has grown since 2018 and has overpowered all others in the political space. Despite growing people dissent she is still the one. Were she to demit office in the near future there is the possibility the BLP could tailspin. It always comes down to personality and length of coat tails.

5. “Bajans” are screaming in their speeches for a Constitution without any logic..
    If a party wins with a landslide again (.. and again.. .. .. .. and again..), then a member should leave the party to take his seat to become the leader of the opposition…

6. Why do post simplistic bs to the blog? An MP runs on a party ticket with an agenda and because of a wart on the backside of our system of government, that MP for convenience should switch speaking to the other side of their tongue?

7. “Why do post simplistic bs to the blog?”

because the quality of the political speeches are pure comedy gold

8. William Skinner Avatar

The current circus , when viewed, without blinkered party spectacles, reveals another episode in a rapidly decaying political culture, that is really a bridge to nowhere.
    There was a time when Fruendel Stewart was president of the DLP the powers that be , via the democratic process, within their party, changed to David Thompson. Sometime later the same democratic process in the party , changed Clyde Mascoll for David Thompson.
    It was certainly an opportunistic move because many thought that Mascoll had seen the party’s electoral lot improve . However, the simple truth is that the power brokers, read the tea leaves correctly and figured that Thompson, would have been the best choice to secure a victory. There was no over throwing of Mascoll, his removal was democratic, he simply did not have the votes to internally defeat Thompson. They were right. Thompson won the next election. Mascoll switched to the BLP and failed to be elected under the BLP’s flag.
    Sometime later Mia Mottley as opposition leader, was removed from that office, when headed by George Payne, all but three BLP parliamentarians went to then Governor General and said Mottley no longer commanded the numbers needed to remain opposition leader and Owen Arthur was made Opposition Leader. The reason was two-fold ; they believed that Mottley would not be viewed positively by the electorate and that Arthur would take them to victory. They were wrong.
    None of the scenarios mentioned here has anything to do with philosophy or ideology; none of them had anything to do, with any differences, relating to how our country could be better managed. All of them were were about internal party politics, personalities and winning elections.
    And it will be the same with Dr. Yearwood and Ralph Thorne . One of them will emerge the victor and we would await the next tantrum within the BLPDLP.
    Ironically , both Stuart and Mottley eventually became Prime Ministers !
    So , here we go again . Another family squabble…..a bridge to nowhere.

9. The road to Damascus can be as long as you want it to be Avatar
    The road to Damascus can be as long as you want it to be

I saw a response yesterday that, at first, I thought was brilliant. But the passage of time has given me insight into the mind of the author and I was able to see his fear of an energized electorate. Parts of his response drove me to tears.

First set of tears
    ‘At the end of the day,’ issues such as ‘scams, Savvy (a DLP made problem), steel houses, bungled slogans,’ etc., do not mean anything to ‘die hard supporters.’

*Is he serious? Is he saying that some Barbadians will ride and die with a party even if they know it is corrupt? Has he excluded the possibility of diehards experiencing a Damascene moment, a prick of their conscience, a moment of patriotism or a bout of honesty. My man, I must call on you to take that statement back. Revise it or ‘tek’ it back.

Second set of tears
    “Should they continue with the BLP….. ‘see wuh happen and hope fuh de best”.

*I think he admits that voting for the BLP is like tossing a die. Hopefully, he will reach a stage where he confesses that this administration regardless of 60-0 of 91-0 is just not up to the job. I pray for his Damascene moment.

Third set of tears
    “or, return to the DLP, bearing in mind the ‘lost decade,’ constant disunity and power struggle infighting that embraced the party ….

*Notice he mentioned “the lost decade”. I wish to applaud whoever thought up that phrase. It was very clever. Some of us are trying to find the two magic words that would describe the current administration but. Mottley’s motley, mistake making, and mediocre mismanagement team has done so much damage that two words are inadequate to describe these incompetents.

I could no longer cry silently, I bawled my head off when I read
    “The voter turnout may be less than 50% next election.”
    It was obvious to me that some are once again the BLP are hoping for a small voter turnout. They wish to rule but fear an active and energized electorate.

10. A) Forgive me! Posting simplistic stuff is a part of my nature.
    B) Not liking or liking me has no influence on my thoughts or actions. Is your head hard?

11. Brought you by stalkers anonymous Avatar
    Brought you by stalkers anonymous

A bit of advice
    Never interact with a stalker… It only encourages them

12. @William

You captured the animal farm scenario perfectly.

13. Whilst we are referencing Animal Farm. How about a big hand for Farmer Jones in his element at the DLP farm.

https://youtu.be/vJqIjP021mo?t=917

14. David, as I recall, Thompson became leader of the DLP after Sandiford resigned as a result of a parliamentary no-confidence motion. Thompson unsuccessfully led the DEMS into the 1994 and 1999 general elections. He subsequently resigned as DLP leader in 2000, after that political party failed to win the St. Thomas by-election. Mascoll defeated Branford Taitt 310 votes to 260 to become president. Recall in January 2006, Thompson, Michael Lashley, Ronald Jones and Richard Sealy met with then GG Husbands to file a no-confidence motion against Mascoll. On January 16, 2006 GG Husbands revoked Mascoll’s appointment as LLO, and appointed Thompson to that role. Mascoll subsequently informed Parliament that he severed ties with the DLP, and “now sit representing the people, the constituents of St. Michael North West in the capacity as an independent.”

15. @Artax

Politics!

16. Anyone who is familiar with writing techniques, would understand why I surround certain words and phrases with commas. Simply ‘playing on words.’ Mascoll was removed as LOO, because 4 of his 7 colleagues in Parliament lost confidence in his ability to function in that role. In actuality, the totality of circumstances suggested party members believed Mascoll should give way, because it was Thompson’s time. ‘Saying’ he was ‘overthrown,’ is simply a play on the process used to remove him.

17. @Artax

Thompson won and history proved the decision to be correct? We will never know if Mascoll would have won.

18. Yes, David, “politics.” The significant difference between the Mascoll/Thompson and Yearwood/Thorne ‘power struggles,’ is that Yearwood is not a MP. He does not have a ‘seat,’ and is therefore not ‘powerful enough to win the struggle.’

19. Ahhh, David. You’re NOW ‘getting the drift.’ The ‘powers that be’ realise it’s not Yearwood’s time, but Thorne’s….. and should give way to the latter, in the party’s interest….. lest he is forced out.

20. Yearwood has the executive but the old guard has the advantage with Thorne defaulting to political leader.

21. The BU intelligentsia. Always tripping over themselves. Yawn!

22. When all the talking is done, that is all that shall be done.

Personal ambition is what motivates these people. Nothing will change until the people of Barbados demand change. And for the people of Barbados to forcefully demand change requires that they themselves change.

23. Thorne may have 1 seat and Yearwood does not

but the takeaway point is DLP are shit and the old guard are toxic

next election Thorne will lose his seat fo’ sho’

24. But Donna, aren’t all these people battling for position because they love us and want to spend the rest of their lives in great service to us?

25. @ David April 16, 2024 at 4:52 pm
    “Yearwood has the executive but the old guard has the advantage with Thorne defaulting to political leader.”

Avatar, Political leader of whom or what?

To be a’ ‘one-man band’; just like another preacher man and, like his predecessor Rev. Atherley, will not win back his seat in Ch Ch South?

Why not let ‘Commonsense’ prevail for the survival of Barrow’s breakaway blue and yellow party?

RT is old and battered, and, in a sense, irrelevant both political and gerontological.

Harping back to a Barbados of yesteryear will make him attractive only to voters with one foot in the grave and set in their pre-Thompson DLP ways.

Why Not let the dead bury the dead, and with anyone associated with the Stuart’s ancien régime, go the way of the dodo bird.

26. Last year Yearwood beat off the challenge to his DLP leadership against 3 others.

DLP’s Last Stand
    DLP Oldies can’t see the woods for the trees and they cannot secure enough new members or the voting public’s interest and will surely die.
    R.I.P. D.L.P.

27. Cuhdear Bajan,

Good one!

28. “Some of us are trying to find the two magic words that would describe the current administration but. Mottley’s motley, mistake making, and mediocre mismanagement team has done so much damage that two words are inadequate to describe these incompetents.”

The reality of the situation is, ‘the lost decade’ was term formulated to describe the DLP’s tenure, AFTER they lost the 2018 general elections.

I’m sure by the time Mottley and her crew are ‘voted out of office,’ there will be several choice phrases to describe her tenure.

29. @Artax

Politicians and their strategists use cliches to provoke emotions in the electorate to their advantage.

30. A BLP MP left that party
    and became the LoO
    he [re]joined the DLP
    and now expects to be Leader of DLP

If a BLP MP can become Leader of the DLP
    then DLP have got no respect for their party
    and they have no values and stand for nothing