The February 22, 2024 edition of Business Insider (BI) featured an article American are facing a credit card debit crisis which piqued the author’s interest. Barbadians are heavily influenced by consumer habits of the North American consumer. Our TV feeds are mainly North American, it is the preferred destination for leisure, study and work opportunities. Also many local households have at least one family that migrated to North America in the 60s and 70s. It is fair to say- whether we like it or not- what is trending in the USA will influence what happens in Barbados.

When there’s an elephant in the room, you can’t pretend it isn’t there and just discuss the ants.”

Ellen Wittenlinger

The main point of the BI article is that credit card debt and delinquency reached record levels and with interest rate rising in the US market, it adds fuel to the fire. Based on the most recent Financial Stability Report credit card and other debt in Barbados has also been steadily increasing, interest rates on credit cards, although high, have been stable in the range of about 18% to 24%. It is noteworthy the emergence of many non traditional financial institutions not captured in official reporting.

The blogmaster’s perspective: household debt is increasing because of our insatiable appetite to engage in conspicuous consumption. For some, it is a method used to keep pace with the cost of living. Anecdotal research suggests unsecured debt is widely used to supplement salary income. In a nutshell, too many are living above their means and are in the grip of the debt trap.

Following years of casual observation by the blogmaster, it is obvious there is a careless approach to taking on debt at a personal level by Barbadians. Some will say it is because we are following the example of successive governments whose focus is on borrowing to solve problems instead of being a catalyst to encourage citizens and businesses to earn. It is too late to disrupt this pervasive consumption behaviour in Barbadians? It will possibly take a catastrophic intervention to force required change, unfortunately.

On a related matter, former Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados DeLisle Worrell recently reintroduced the benefits of Barbados pursuing dollarisation. Economists will happily share the financial benefits of dollarisation and neglect to talk about the struggle for small island states like Barbados to maintain our ‘identity’? Why give up control of our monetary system to be replaced by a Washington Consensus agenda. What does being a sovereign nation mean? Some will say under Prime Minister Mottley’s stewardship we are already marching to the beat of neoliberalists. It would be tantamount to selling our souls for a few pieces of silver. What would be the point of calling ourselves Barbadians? Where would the sense of national pride and patriotism come? That there has been nagging speculation for the last twenty four months about the US lurching into a recession – spiked by high unemployment – is another story to be told.

These kinds of matters are outside the pay grade of a lowly blogmaster, however, our system of government encourages citizens to value the right of participation. Hopefully others more intelligent will share perspectives about how Barbados needs to strategically bridge the gap between current and future state.

117 responses to “Debt, our ‘frenemy’”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

You are answering Barbadian individuals re longer term GoB paper.
    Note. Very few, of the admittedly few public corporations on BSE, have any exposure to GoB Bonds.
    Put on your investor cap and shoes.
    What is relevant to your decision? Obviously they will differ by opportunity but you’ll find some common threads. Also take a condition and apply it to somewhere you don’t live or were born, and see if your answer is the same.

2. @NO

BOSS+ is the equivalent to Savings bond, 5 yr. 30 day Treasury Bills are undersubscribed as well. The term doesn’t seem to matter.

3. @ David March 20, 2024 at 4:53 am
    • Government accused of squandering public funds on high-paid consultants.

• White Oak paid US$85 000 a month retainer to restructure debt.
    (Unquote).

The more things change the more they remain the same.

Didn’t the last BLP Opposition accuse the previous DLP administration of unprecedented levels of corruption under the guise of exorbitant supply contracts and unnecessary consultancies especially to their incestuous lawyering friends like the God-horse gollop?

Do you remember that Big Red Bag full of propaganda and political poison grapes?

It’s now the turn of the ‘Red-robed’ robbers to fleece the poor naïve taxpayers of the Bushman’s true-blue ‘Brassbados’.

Instead of being just a niggling ‘Thorn(e) in the side of the current bunch of crooks and scammers he must mutate into more than just a poodle to a Pitbull called Estwick.

If political acorns -like financial mana from the Bajan heaven–are to fall from that big crooked Oak tree he, the turncoat LoO, ought do more than just bark up the White Oak tree and must begin to piss against it.

Maybe the stench of such persistence would attract a mole in the Financial Times investigatory tunnel.

Maybe the Thorn in the Red side can get the FT mole to collaborate with ‘its’ opposite number in London to see if there is more than just an incestuous relationship between the now enriched White Oak money tree and its scamming partner of slick-talking Capitally-intelligent former consultant and lifelong buddy of the red-handbag-carrying Queen of Propaganda.

Maybe Hal Austin, the former B U overseas correspondent can assist by throwing- from his London flat in N. London- a bucket of very hot water to the feet of clay belonging to his favourite hand-f(l)ailing dictator.

4. @Miller

Deja vu, worthy of a separate blog.

5. ‘Deja vu,’ David?? I’ll remind of the press conference Thompson held immediately after the 2008 general elections, during which he ‘accused the previous BLP administration of unprecedented levels of corruption, under the guise of exorbitant supply contracts and unnecessary consultancies, especially to their incestuous friends such as ‘Mark Smart’ and ‘Hammie Lah,’ while waving about papers and promising to ‘recover all the money former ministers stole from the Treasury and stashed in overseas bank accounts.’ Remember HMP Dodds Prison was the ‘hobby horse’ and Thompson also promised to ‘lock up’ former BLP ministers there? What happened next? Cranston Browne and Undene Whittaker replaced Mark and Hammie as consultants, respectively. ‘Up to now, not uh boy ent get lock up.’ Same t’ing wid de red bag.’

6. @Artax

The PM defends restructure decision.

https://youtu.be/-jbyrvU1eU4

7. Government looked for ‘dirt’ on Ralph Thorne which miraculaously came to light after he departed from their ranks a month ago.

https://youtu.be/0lgRnEtCoM4

8. Prime Minister Mottley owns the problems at HOPE and promises to fix it when the ongoing investigation is completed.

https://youtu.be/VHoFt6ba_c0

9. One must be honest to say Ralph Thorne delivery style struck a chord with many views who one must admit has been starved of ‘tangible’ political debate in the House of Assemble for a couple years now.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Today’s Nation newspaper editorial

Thorne stirs Budget

LEADER OF THE Opposition Ralph Thorne has managed to stir back to life interest in the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals following public apathy over the last few years.

Much of that apathy had to do with the ruling Barbados Labour Party’s double sweep of the 2018 and 2022 General Elections.

Immediately following both elections there was an absence of an Opposition Leader based on the provisions in the Constitution.

In 2018, former Member of Parliament for St Michael West, Bishop Joseph Atherley acted within a week to cross the floor and take up the position. By Budget time there was a formal and measured reply and that obtained until 2021.

The 2022 landslide offered up no such swift solution and so for that year and 2023 there was no one to temper the self-congratulatory replies which Barbadians eventually came to expect of the ruling party.

This year was looking to be the same ho-hum reply exercise, except that Thorne made his move just in time and created an air of expectancy. He, no doubt, must have realised the weight of the burden he would be carrying since from the political analysts to the apolitical observers worried about the lack of an Opposition to carry out the checks and balances of the Government.

Since Thorne’s move only took place just over a month ago, it was anticipated that fresh from the bosom of this Government, his information should be sound and credible and so too his analysis of the party policies from which he took flight.

On the surface, Thorne appeared to be what the public was longing for as he mounted a challenge to the Government on the performance of the economy; whether it has the pulse of the people and the always controversial, how the public funds are spent. Thorne did not struggle to match the more than four hours that Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley took to present the Budget on Monday. In fact, he went just beyond her time. The Opposition Leader was strategic in questioning some of the areas that the public has long been asking about. These areas include excessive travel by Mottley, the HOPE (Home Ownership Providing Energy) housing project, payment of US$85 000 retainer to White Oak during the island’s restructuring; the number of consultants and why $188 million was paid to the Prime Minister’s Office.

At the time of writing this Editorial, Mottley had not yet responded to the accusations levelled by Thorne.

Up until that time, Thorne had managed to get public discussion going not just on his delivery style but the content of his utterances.

Thorne drew first blood when he shocked the country and the Prime Minister by leaving the party without a word to anyone there, leaving the President of Barbados to complete her duty and informed the Prime Minister of his intention to be Opposition Leader.

Then on Tuesday, he delivered a strong reply that has forced the BLP team members to assemble in her defence.

For some, Thorne’s strategy so far may well cause Mottley to find she has finally met an adversary worthy of her political cunning.

Thorne had managed to get public discussion going not just on his delivery style but the content of his utterances

10. David,

Well, well, well! This is very poor politicking by Mr. Bradshaw’s daughter. Doesn’t she or THEY know how this will be perceived by the public?

I have no idea what evidence would be found at the end of any investigation into Ralph Thorne, but I do have some weighty evidence indicating that Santia Bradshaw may only care because Ralph Thorne is now on the other side.

I think that Ms. Bradshaw has revealed more about herself than she has so far managed to reveal about Mr. Thorne. We shouldn’t need an investigation to see what she is about.

Don’t just call for the investigation, Santia, come back with the facts! We now know about you, but we still want to know about him.

We’ll wait.

11. WRT the budget and reply – I find myself unable to get excited by any utterance from the mouth of a politician when nothing much seems to come of it. No problem, however small, seems to be solved by the Government, no revelations from the opposition bear any fruit.

At least with Tom, Barrow et al, I used to be entertained.

Dese people en got nuh wit! I prefer to read the transcript.

12. @Donna

If the worse evidence is discovered against Thorne it will reflect poorly on the political directorate and duopoly but the DLP has the most to lose in this scenario.

13. Still Ain’t Free
    Hard Truth Soldiers

The “scholars” were harping on about “emancipation” for “slaves”,

but the next stage in the game was “indentured servitude” or “debt bondage”

Indentured servitude is a form of labor in which a person is contracted to work without salary for a specific number of years.

https://taxjustice.net/2020/06/09/slavery-compensation-uk-questions/

Keep bustin’ and cussin’ at the government
    World wide vendetta, this reparations above cheddar
    I’m a Speaking Black Revolutionary, that’s my title
    While these stupid niggas wanna be American Idols
    America hold your breath, we the last left
    They still got my black ass on the bottom
    Being black in America is some shit to juggle
    They won’t give mothafuckers a job
    They wanna throw you in the Pen’ when you forced to rob
    You mothafuckers in the jury, that’s why I shot them
    I shot down one, to get away from two
    Now tell me what the fuck I’ma suppose to do?

14. David, the BEES ‘looking for dirt’ on Thorne?? Reminds me of when ‘dirt on Clyde Mascoll miraculously appeared’ in the form of Hardwood Housing. At that time Barbadians were told about financial infeliticies therein and promises made to conduct a forensic audit thereof, because ‘somebody had to pay.’ We are yet to know what were the results of that investigation and whereabouts of the forensic audit report. These types of scenarios only result in giving the party supporters a reason ‘to call Brass Tacks everyday to talk shiite,’ while the politicians CONTINUE to PROTECT EACH OTHER. I don’t why we allow ourselves to become ‘caught up’ in the ‘duopoly’s political games.’

15. The response to Thorne by EVERY government speaker came across as juvenile, spiteful, and vindictive. They would have been MUCH better served to accept it as a DEMOCRATIC opposition challenge, and to respond with FACTS and DETAILS.

Instead of being measured, methodological and factual, they all sought to get at the messenger. In fact, most of what Thorne said is well known to those wise enough to follow BU. …some of us know even more……
    We ALSO know that the DLP jokers are just as bad or worse – and just as spiteful.

Why Thorne may be different is that he is NEITHER Bee NOR Dee (or he is BOTH) and hence there is a glimmer of hope that he MAY be actually be interested in BARBADOS.

The PM’s response was clearly the most self-condemning of them all (which were obviously coordinated like all ‘BIG WORKS’ are…)
    To use her words, Thorne OBVIOUSLY got ‘up her craw’, and her emotional rant only reinforces Bushie’s position on the BIBLICAL warnings about being led by women. (Bushie is only a messenger here LOL)

Instead of CLARIFYING what really happened at the ill-conceived HOPE project, the Hyatt myth that the BU anunnaki Miller predicted, the radical vaccine scam, the Santia cheque-taking case, and the growing number of UNDERHAND high-cost-to-the-treasury SCAMS now associated with her government, AND COMMITTING TO CLEAN UP SHOP, her whole presentation focused on showing that Thorne was a lawyer (and therefore had issues with Client’s funds – LIKE ALL OTHER lawyers) … and that her ‘intentions’ are beyond reproach.

Arthur was of course right.

But brass bowls LOVE emotional rants and meaningless promises….until the contents of the bowls hits the fan….

16. Leave the PM alone, attack all you want, she will rise.

17. Attack Boss?
    This is an impartial analysis.

PM does NOT need to ‘rise’ anymore. She is at the pinnacle of human aspiration.
    What she needs to do now is to INSPIRE others around her to the kind of ideals that she speaks so convincingly about…
    -Caring for ordinary BBs
    -Doing the best for brassbados
    -Honesty and integrity
    -Stop with the kickbacks
    etc….

18. Nothing more than a prick! Let me keep quiet do.

19. The PM dismissed any discussion on impropriety on the cheque delivered to Santia’s office with a “case closed”. Now Santia is calling on the AG to investigate Thorne on cheques allegedly delivered to him, can we say “case opened”? Incidentally did Santia say that this happened in 2009?
    Based on the response to Thorne one could surmise that he struck a nerve in the BLP and that’s why they are furiously trying to discredit him.

Vamos a ver

20. A report prepared by the same party he now leads and people who greeted him at George Street.🤣🤣🤣🤣

21. @Enuff

How does it differ from the PM frequent references to the late Owen Arthur last night who in his last days was most vicious and uncomplimentary in his comments towards her.

22. Opinion vs facts. You can prepare a thesis.

23. Do really want to know about Hard Times?
    The Have All have all and the Have None have none
    Don’t Diss the Wombman
    Mothering Slaves are strong and know their duration

⏪ Rewind
    The Efficiency in the Production Something
    A slave wombman became a mother at 14
    a grandmother at 28
    a great grandmother at 42
    a great great grandmother at 64

If she birthed 15 children she could be free to become the matriarch of her plantation family

⏩ Fast Forward
    the European Masters clamped down offshore banking
    and now lend money to the small islands

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    I dare say it is opinions vs opinions? Facts, information verified by a third party is hard to find. Even on the few occasions ‘we’ are told it is available, it doesn’t appear publicly, as required by law. And with the IMF now involved, the facts are available. Intentional suppression? The IMF can demand, but they cannot force the laws requiring public disclosure.

25. Northern – You want the Santia cheque?

26. Governments need good crises so they can pretend to fix the problems, and keep justifying taking ⅓ of people’s salaries.

When an economy is going down (or struggling going uphill barely managing) it is due to ‘global problems’, but when it reverses and goes up (or is an easy downhill cruise they will take all the credit for their perceived brilliance.

27. Or you want the cheques referenced by the Dems in their report?🤣🤣🤣

28. @ NO
    Correct – as is often the case…
    Transparency is the GREATEST of all political virtues…

-Talk is cheap (imagine PMMIA accusing Thorne of ‘a lotta sweet talk’ .. LOL ha ha ha )
    -Promises are effective when dealing with brass (like how EVERYTHING at the QEH is “in the works” to be fixed in 2 years time)
    -Excuses are a dime a dozen – COVID, Hurricane, Volcano, Caswell, DLP, unsolicited cheque donors, anti-vaxers …etc

But TRANSPARENCY and INDEPENDENT reviews – TRUMPS everything else( except with BBs.)

The absence of full transparency should be a CLEAR CLARION call for skepticism…..

29. When will the FOIA be delivered?

30. David
    You want them.pass FOIA and then with no structure in place to deal with requests, delay proclamation and then you behave like you are now with the IL?

You want FOIA but many times show no regard for the truth.

All now you’re scrambling with the Mayers Report but want to crucify someone who so far no one can show deposited the stolen cheque.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    No. Just tell Mrs Hoyos to have them made to her Foundation in future.
    I would like the annual reports for the NIS, the BMAC, the QEH and the BWA for starters.
    It is SIX years under the IMF. We KNOW the information exists.

I say they are intentionally suppressing information that should be shared by law.
    What say you? They are incompetent like the D’s?

32. Speech of the decade. A masterclass.

33. @Enuff

Take your time, maybe another 20 years?

34. Northern
    And that’s you’re right. Note I am not swearing fuh a soul.

You don’t even understand the operationalisation of FOI. Go find another QEH hospital story do. Ah gone.

35. @enuff

The blogmaster understands that transparency legislation has been promised to Barbados by both parties since the 70s. What is there to understand?

Weren’t you on this blog knocking calls for its implementation – citing T&T – back when the BLP was languishing in opposition threatening to explode with the imbroglio between BLP elders and Mottley?

Time longer than twine.

Steuspe

36. Bare Bible Bushshit! Freundel was a a cool, calm MAN. Yet he led us off a cliff.

Had not for a woman in a leaky boat, we would have drowned already.

And January 1st went and January 1st came back again as NOT foretold by “the prophet”!

Make the message make sense!

37. 2008 is fifeen years away (in the past, long gone) Avatar
    2008 is fifeen years away (in the past, long gone)

What year is this? I thought 2024 would follow 2023, but it seems as if one of us is still in lost decade or earlier. Don’t explain the BLP suck by saying the DLP suck too.

38. No, I wasn’t! I always said it is in Tdad and dem still tief.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Duck’n’Run
    Lol…were you being asked to swear for another?
    You need to keep to cussing David whenever he posts an MPs pic, and telling him to do more research.
    That is the Factual type of discussion you prefer. 😂

40. I called it right again
    a con
    a scan
    a trick
    Stop fooling yourself and give up all HOPE.

Breaking news: Government offers the dopes of the nation HOPE and a rope. The rope is to be used after they lose all HOPE.

41. Fellow asking about the new constitution.
    This may be a case whene none is better than some.
    When wunna get the new constititution, wunna will find that wunna don’t like them.

42. Artax,

You really feel I waiting for “the Thorne Inquiry”, or rather, the results of “the Thorne Inquiry”????

43. William Skinner Avatar

As expected, we have lined up once more to be served the cold soup and we seem to be enjoying it. Approximately ten hours of siblings squabbling with each other, knowing full well that like a puff of wind, it will all go away , and that “joy cometh in the morning “.
    Amazingly , it’s a game of anything you can do I can do better or let me show you what you did that I doing now. Our pens never dry when it comes to spinning for our party of choice.
    So lets enjoy this cold soup some more. It too sweet……………….but remember : wuh sweetun goat mout is burn he backside. Lets drink up, Comrades. !!

44. In Barbados last two elections, the BLP whitewashed the DLP by 30 love. Even in the most extreme right wing fascist state such a result would be deemed impossible. How could the defection of one MP create such turmoil within the BLP. They are now intimidating and threatening their ex-pal in the most obnoxious way. Meanwhile the masses look on in.

The great Hal Austin often got it right. How he seriously erred on his judgement of Santia whom he referred to as a class act. Well we did not observe much class on her part as she threatened to call for an investigation on her ex-political colleague.

Can we see why Barbados has become a shithole. If a politician can not speak on behalf of the people of Barbados then who can. I also noted that he spoke about the constitution and when would it be delivered. Barbados is a genuine mock country ran by a mock house of parliament which rules with a rod of iron.

Theo you certainly are correct in your judgement that there is no hope for those dopes. But be careful with the words you use to describe the masses. The BU police will monitor you and use your words (always out of context) to attack you. A trait which they have inherited from those animals whom they have seen practising their vocation on the floor of the house of parliament.

45. Which suggests no need for it to be a priority for Barbados.

46. Thorne seems to be taking his LOTO role too seriously LOL.

47. To Whom it May Concern,

My business is with the old tired Bible “messenger” not with the BLP or the DLP!

My business is with January 1st, 2023 and January 1st 2024!

Seems like the “messenger” has a bad connection!

His message makes no blasted sense!

Men were our leaders from December 1st 1966 to May 24th, 2018. Yet it was during this time that we fell off the cliff! We have been through a freak storm, a hurricane, a volcanic ashfall and a pandemic and yet we are no worse off now than we were then. Still some so-called sage insists that women leaders are the problem.

Do you know how annoying it is to be constantly demeaned like this in 2024?

This nonsense needs to be buried….along with old stupid men! Seriously!

48. William Skinner Avatar

We have experienced much disappointment recently and its obvious that we are in political grief. To handle this grief, we take out our hankies and try to dry away our tears with : they did um and we doing um too. We cannot defend the indefensible by using an indefensible precedent ; when that happens , we have bad law. We cannot bury our political grief that way.
    We understand those who openly dry their tears and hope that their faith will be restored at some time down the road. We were taught that’s probably to the best way to handle political grief, even if we have to drink a little cold soup from time to time.

49. DLP are BLP are like 2 gangs fighting or 2 Hip Hop Crews in a dance or rap battle.

But, they are just actors playing a role to keep the customers satisfied.

50. “Bare Bible Bushshit! Freundel was a a cool, calm MAN. Yet he led us off a cliff.

Had not for a woman in a leaky boat, we would have drowned already.”

We all have male and female sun and moon energies and characteristics
    male energies are harder and faster female energies are softer and slower