The February 22, 2024 edition of Business Insider (BI) featured an article American are facing a credit card debit crisis which piqued the author’s interest. Barbadians are heavily influenced by consumer habits of the North American consumer. Our TV feeds are mainly North American, it is the preferred destination for leisure, study and work opportunities. Also many local households have at least one family that migrated to North America in the 60s and 70s. It is fair to say- whether we like it or not- what is trending in the USA will influence what happens in Barbados.

When there’s an elephant in the room, you can’t pretend it isn’t there and just discuss the ants.”

Ellen Wittenlinger

The main point of the BI article is that credit card debt and delinquency reached record levels and with interest rate rising in the US market, it adds fuel to the fire. Based on the most recent Financial Stability Report credit card and other debt in Barbados has also been steadily increasing, interest rates on credit cards, although high, have been stable in the range of about 18% to 24%. It is noteworthy the emergence of many non traditional financial institutions not captured in official reporting.

The blogmaster’s perspective: household debt is increasing because of our insatiable appetite to engage in conspicuous consumption. For some, it is a method used to keep pace with the cost of living. Anecdotal research suggests unsecured debt is widely used to supplement salary income. In a nutshell, too many are living above their means and are in the grip of the debt trap.

Following years of casual observation by the blogmaster, it is obvious there is a careless approach to taking on debt at a personal level by Barbadians. Some will say it is because we are following the example of successive governments whose focus is on borrowing to solve problems instead of being a catalyst to encourage citizens and businesses to earn. It is too late to disrupt this pervasive consumption behaviour in Barbadians? It will possibly take a catastrophic intervention to force required change, unfortunately.

On a related matter, former Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados DeLisle Worrell recently reintroduced the benefits of Barbados pursuing dollarisation. Economists will happily share the financial benefits of dollarisation and neglect to talk about the struggle for small island states like Barbados to maintain our ‘identity’? Why give up control of our monetary system to be replaced by a Washington Consensus agenda. What does being a sovereign nation mean? Some will say under Prime Minister Mottley’s stewardship we are already marching to the beat of neoliberalists. It would be tantamount to selling our souls for a few pieces of silver. What would be the point of calling ourselves Barbadians? Where would the sense of national pride and patriotism come? That there has been nagging speculation for the last twenty four months about the US lurching into a recession – spiked by high unemployment – is another story to be told.

These kinds of matters are outside the pay grade of a lowly blogmaster, however, our system of government encourages citizens to value the right of participation. Hopefully others more intelligent will share perspectives about how Barbados needs to strategically bridge the gap between current and future state.

117 responses to “Debt, our ‘frenemy’”

1. Northern

I have never received cheques dropped through my window or via a government messenger so I need not duck and run. I just refuse to constantly engage with people who have their biases then accuse me of being biased: and people who know everything about nothing. I prefer to read and laugh at the comedic gold performed on the BU stage.

But if it were true that I D+R, is only the newly minted one entitled to duck and run? I wonder if Ronniew(h)o dropped off the envelope? 🤣🤣🤣

2. David, I’ve often mentioned in this forum that the hypocrisy never ceases to amaze me. That its not about what ‘is said’ but more so ‘WHO said it.’ That when someone has to referrence a coincidential occurrence, a jackass pushing a particular bias would interpret it as ‘holding a grudge’ against their ‘friend.’ That they purposely overlooked the fact the same individual upon whom they bestowed the honourary title of ‘great,’ never neglected to preface his comments by referring to the blogmaster as a ‘semi illiterate buffoon whose role should be confined to managing the blog and not commenting on issues.’ A man who wanted to control BU’s format for discussing issues, while calling contributors ‘slimy pigs, buzzing flies, cyber bullies, appallingly ignorant semi litterate buffoons who learnt by rote, animals, wild barking dogs, savages, mealy mouthed keyboard warriors, hyenas. We are now being warned to be careful of the ‘BU police’ by a hyprocrite who remained SILENT when his ‘friend,’ unprovoked, continually attacked people. But, to mention this means ‘you’re holding a grudge.’ TLSN IS A HYPOCRITICAL JACKASS.

3. Donna, I do not know what you are ‘talking’ about.

4. WHEN THORNE WAS IN THE BLP GOVERNMENT OVER 5 YEARS HIS ALLEGED CHECK CRIMES AND MONEY LAUNDERING FRAUD WAS OVERLOOKED.

IN THE USA THIS IS CALLED CRIMINAL CONSPIRACY AND RICO BOTH VERY SERIOUS CRIMES.

PRETTY OBVIOUS THE BLP LEADERS AND INSIDERS ARE ALL CRIMINALLY MINDED.

THORNE MOVES TO THE OTHER SIDE IN THE BOSOM OF ANOTHER CRIMINAL ENTERPRISE DLP AND ATTACKS HIS FORMER BLP ALIBABA AND THE FORTY THIEVES WHO ARE NOW SEEKING TO EXPOSE HIS PAST ALLEGED CRIMINAL ACTIVITY.

O WHAT A WEB THEY WEAVE AS THEY CONTINUE TO DECEIVE AND RUN FOR COVER.

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ Baje
    Rather than say what you said, we prefer to say: they did um and we doing um too. And we believe this is the best way to protect our partisan interest. Balderdash.

6. @ MR. WILLIAM SKINNER

THE GOOD THING ABOUT LIVING ABROAD AND TRAVELLING, ALL THE BRAINWASHING AND WINDOW DRESSING FROM THE 2X3 ISLAND QUICKLY DISAPPEARS AS ONE LEARNS HOW TO DEAL WITH REALITY.

SEEMS BLACK LOCALS ARE RATHER CONTENTED FOR THE MOST PART TO COMPLAIN, BE MISGUIDED AND FIGHT WITH EACH OTHER AND NOT THEIR ENEMIES WITHIN BEING THEIR OWN BLACK LEADERS WHO ENRICH THEMSELVES BOTH LEGALLY AND ILLEGALLY AS PART OF A CABAL.

STUPIDITY IS BELIEVING THE LIES AND DECEPTION OVER AND OVER AGAIN WHILST EXPECTING A DIFFERENT RESULT.

ON THE 2X3 ISLAND THE MORE THINGS CHANGE THE MORE REMAINS THE SAME.

7. Was Donville Railroaded?

In his defense about an alleged scheme to launder into the United States several cheques issued to third parties for several politically related projects including, educational, sports and cultural activities he claimed that any alleged “corrupt activity” that he laundered Bribe Payments from a Barbados-Based Insurance Company through Banks on Long Island took place in Barbados and it was simply part of the culture and normalised practice of Little Island Colonial Politics, which was deemed irrelevant inadmissible circumstantial mitigating evidence as a supporting argument and struck out in a Court of Law and it dented the reputation of Barbados when the former Minister Donville Inniss* was convicted and jailed in the USA for money laundering.

The Jury is still out regarding intuitive Moral and Spiritual Laws as a Guiding Light..
    Some say “Fix Up” some say “Foul Fowl” some say “So what” some say “It was only $36,536.73” some say “Bum Deal” some say “Everyone there does it” some say “Donville is a Star and a National Hero”

Footnote:
    Donnie is allegedly writing a book so his story may be told which may be sold to become a Movie.

8. @ 555

DONVILLE INNISS AS YOU HAVE OUTLINED SAID EVERYONE DOES IT IN POLITICS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND SO WHAT HE DID WAS PAR FOR THE COURSE.

THE USA DIDN’T BUY HIS STORY AND HE GOT LOCKED UP IN A US PRISON.

FAST FORWARD DONNY BOY RETURNED TO THE 2X3 ISLAND A CONVICTED CRIMINAL AND BECAME A PART OF THE “EXECUTIVE COUNSEL” OF THE DLP.

ONE COULD NOT MAKE THIS SHIT UP.

RALPH THORNE THEN LEAVES ONE CRIMINAL ENTERPRISE TO REJOIN ANOTHER CRIMINAL ENTERPRISE BOTH ENGAGING IN A RACKETEERING SCHEME.

WHAT THEY ALL HAVE IN COMMON IS FOOLING THE LOCAL PUBLIC THAT THEY ARE OUT TO HELP AND UPLIFT THE POOR MAN WHILST IN REALITY DOING THE OPPOSITE.

THEY ALL REMIND ME OF THE PROSPERITY PREACHERS ALL OVER THE WORLD PREACHING PROSPERITY ONLY THE REALITY TO THEMSELVES WHILST THE CONGREGATIONS/BELIEVERS STAY POOR AND SUFFERING FOR THE MOST PART.

THE BLIND LEADING THE BLIND.

9. An alleged culture of political corruption practices awarding Government contracts prevalent in abuse of power for opportunism and greed could plausibly be the root cause or a contributory factor in the lack of progress and financial indebtedness penury that Barbados is undergoing today.
    When individual people raid the barn the collective people have no corn.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    B or D, we or dem, I could care less. They are simply persons elected by the voters to run the GoB.
    Said operation, comes with some built in checks and balances, which are being wantonly abused, and ignored, whether the Bs or Ds have the majority.
    And let’s appreciate, it isn’t the elected who keep records or who are assembling the various legally required reports, it is their staff and/or appointed Boards. Yet, it is their responsibility to ensure it happens.
    And if it doesn’t, to report in a timely manner as to why not, versus merely ignoring it.

11. aHOY there. all is fair in love and HOPE springs.

12. Politicians that live in glass houses and should not pelt rocks.

13. DLP and BLP are currently at War..

and the first causality of War is Truth..

so it is okay to lie and speak obvious false propaganda about the enemy..

.. just like Israel do.

14. NO
    You realise that private sector auditors are involved in the process too? I got a feeling there are many whys, one being capacity. But we got enuff people.🤐

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    That is entirely possible?
    This administration recognized publicly early in their tenure such reporting was missing. And pledged to rectify it. I even recall them seeking the larger firms to help in the challenge.
    It is further possible, as we saw with the two BTMI reports from the D era, they were “unqualified” (not enough information to verify what occured). A similar position the PM echoed recently w.r.t. BWA.
    So we have professional capacity possibly, and also availability of verifiable information.
    We also have SIX years?
    This PM understood (financial restructuring) the need to cut the cord, and begin from whatever square you have. Which ‘may’ also be the case with several of these public entities. It also, conveniently buries accountability, when delayed this long?
    Given some recent news items, collecting small business fees and penalties, land taxes, and we know from history VAT has frequently been a challenge, etc, HOW can the government expect citizens and business to comply with rules and regulations when they do not? That message is particularly unacceptable.
    Time is up. Make a decision (publicly) and let’s move on from a known position.

16. Was the choice to beg or borrow?

IN 2018 WAS THE CHOICE for Barbados beg or borrow? Who was consulted?

Maybe we chose to borrow. But was it Hobson’s choice, or were we playing smart when we chose to borrow?

We could have chosen to beg, but like Jamaica we would have had to “scrunt”, as we could not even feed ourselves and most activity would have come to a screeching halt, even feeding the few tourists.

So we borrowed, and the borrowing continues today. Each time we need something, we have to borrow. This has been the way of governing as we see the mounting borrowing from all sources.

Jamaica was in a similar position but decided to “scrunt” or leave for Florida. In addition, Jamaica was showing some left-leaning characteristics. That decision meant that its citizens would pay, and have to pay JAM$160 for US$1 but could feed itself. The standard of living was drastically reduced.

Barbados, on the other hand, with only peanuts in the Treasury had to either beg or borrow. It could not depreciate what little currency it had, as that would have meant abject poverty and nothing to feed the few tourists – besides ruin for businesses. Begging was done as we begged foreign lenders for mercy or decided not to pay either foreign or local creditors (the consequences we feel now in reluctance to invest). This is a difficult decision for investors who see, in addition, bottlenecks in our country’s unclear decision-making.

So, when our foreign actual earnings fall short to defend our local lifestyle, we borrow or we fall short of local supporting. We beg banks not to concentrate on charging fees but to remember their core values. Our Central Bank is silent, preferring nonintervention. Remember my article on the options available to credit unions.

Not sustainable

This cannot go on forever. The International Monetary Fund (IMF), our main support must realise that this form of Government cannot be sustained, although the IMF did support our decision to borrow and this borrowing now supports our lifestyle. Are we now at the point when we should review that decision in 2018? Why did the IMF go along with our decision that was different from the decision of Jamaica? What or who else was the influence?

What sweet-sounding language did the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme extol that convinced the IMF to go along with the first half of the BERT programme that the second half of the programme will not require our government to continue the pace of borrowing in order to support our lifestyle of unearned appetite?

Promised hotel-building explosion has not happened, but our propensity to spend has continued unabated as if the future holds some magic in dealing with repayment of debt. The situation would be acceptable if the real reserves were not borrowed. Worse yet, if the real reserves were not subject to the vicissitudes of world interest rates. Besides, we cannot use the borrowed funds as collateral to import food or medication as its import value is tied up in the commercial value of a country that had 25 successive downgrades Unfortunately, we have an Opposition that has not yet recovered from a two-election trouncing that has recently been joined by a disaffected government member. Noise will continue, but the next few years will be a challenge once we continue to base our future on borrowings, a lifestyle that the IMF has endorsed for now.

What if the hotels like the ones in Bridgetown are not built or are ecologically not feasible to be built? Then “cat n’am yuh suppa”! Shall we continue to be the blue-eyed boys of the IMF or at some time be the subject of a hard, realistic decision, especially if our spokesman is absent?

We are riding on a fine-edged mountain where the reality of a fall can be catastrophic. It is regretful that an opposition voice will find it difficult against the full force of Government assaults as was seen in the prior parliament.

Challenging all that has been said is the uncertainty of the situation on the world scene, as Barbados’ options depend on what may be available to it on the world scene.

In the midst of all of this we have our own fires to extinguish in the Caribbean with contentious issues in Venezuela and Guyana and in Haiti.

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com