by Kemar J.D Stuart – Economist and Director Business Development , Finance and Investment Stuart & Perkins Caribbean

Government will be forced to decide the fate of Barbados very soon as the decision to enter into another International Monetary Fund (IMF) programme will be publicly known in some days ahead. In my analysis the Prime Minister may seek to table the proposed changes in legislation before September 30th 2022. In the press conference hosted by the PM she indicated that the NIS is not in crisis really but we must act now to save it. The rush to amend pension is the government following the dictates and timelines imposed by the BERT plan endorsed by the IMF.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley on May 13th 2022 told reporters at Ilaro Court that the current programme would end on September 30 , 2022 and discussions would begin once the mission report โ€œpasses the boardโ€ at the end of June.Mr. van Selm said Barbados had reached a staff level agreement with the EFF, following its latest review and once approved by the IMF Board in June, the country would have access to US $23 million in funding.

From the recent NIS political showcase with Actuary Derek Osbourne which caused serious civil & societal discomfort across the country . The GOB is going ahead to alter pension to meet the draconian proposals agreed to by signing the IMF program back in 2018. Pension reform is one of the major agreements the government agreed to enact and to date the government has not lived up to it’s end of the bargain with the iMF as the current IMF program winds up in 23 days and pension reform is still due.

The odd timing chosen by the Prime Minister to raise the NIS and pension reform conversation was not to sensitize the public about the NIS which she categorically stated is not in crisis but we must act now to save it was but a cliche is to hide the force and pressure being applied against Barbados to live up the agreement made with the IMF within the specific dictates and timelines imposed. This is why Bajans may have to work to 72 through no fault of their own.

My prediction is that the government may move swiftly to amend the pension before September 30th to avoid running over into the end of the IMF program. If no decision is made by then this will be an indication of the government’s intent to indeed enter into another IMF program come September 30th and pension reform will be a high priority requirement for the government to enact in the next program. The next program will be more difficult than the first including more cuts to jobs, deeper cuts to pensions especially non-contributory , cuts to SOEs, increased taxes and levies on government services, cuts in budgets to all ministries and to also privatize more government assets such as the GAIA airport which being leased out to an unknown we speak for 40 years and the water authority which is undergoing serious changes to it’s operations as we speak .

Prime Minister Mottley said that โ€œFrom July, we will start discussing. Will we have a successor programme? If so, what type of successor programme? Will we go it on our own or is it time or is it right to go on your own when interest rates are rising globally? Or do you stay in the comfort of concessional interest rates by having a programme or working closely with the other regional development banks and international financial institutions . July and August passed and no discourse took place

The Prime Minister of Barbados mentioned the possibility of a roadshow in September to start to tell our story to the capital markets pointing out โ€œwhether we go back into an IMF Programme or not, we believe that our story, which is a credible story, has to be told, in order to be able toโ€ฆget our way back to investment grade. Barbados was barred from capital markets because of the voluntary international debt default by the Mottley government in 2018 and in 23 days September comes to an end therefore the public should monitor social media over the next 23 days starting september 7th for comments from the Prime Minister surrounding Barbados’ fate in regards to signing another IMF program and proposed NIS reform.

346 responses to “Countdown to the End of Barbados’ IMF Program”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved

Gotta give it to the Chineses they are GENIUSES especially when dealing with BACKWARD FOOLS….

then again, any and everyone, once not of Afrikan ancestry, drops into the island and does some variation of same…..and these frauds claim they are intelligent…..of course, watch them punch above their intelligent weight…

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

“Several acres of land at Fortess Hill, St Thomas, are being prepared to be used for the living quarters for the hundreds of Chinese workers who will be employed on the Scotland District road rehabilitation project.

Sources told the Sunday Sun that more than 300 Chinese workers presently on-site at Sam Lordโ€™s Castle will soon be diverted to the Scotland District, as the rebuilding of the hotel was coming to an end.

The workers were brought to Barbados by the China National Complete Plant Import and Export Group (COMPLANT), the main contractor on the Sam Lordโ€™s project.

That same company was given the US$128 million contract, money which Government borrowed from China, to rehabilitate the Scotland District.”

2. @WW&C
    As I mentioned yday can one image if the fecking USA loaned us $$$, and then sent their own citizens to do the work, and built a compound to house them?
    Beggars can’t be choosers.
    Didn’t someone say there two Barbadoses. Maybe three.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“As I mentioned yday can one image if the fecking USA loaned us $$$, and then sent their own citizens to do the work, and built a compound to house them?”

AND…..get paid by the SAME MONEY THEY LOANED YOU WITH INTEREST….to do so……they would have everyone lined up to burn the US at the stake…can’t play that shite with the Chinese though…..lol

“Didnโ€™t someone say there two Barbadoses. Maybe three.”

give it time, ya might find 5 and 6 all lined up for their share……while the Afrikan population gets PUSHED LOWER AND LOWER to the bottom…..where the slave minded love to reside…

4. “As I mentioned yday can one image if the fecking USA loaned us $$$, and then sent their own citizens to do the work, and built a compound to house them?”

costs would be over 10 times higher for lazier poor quality workers

5. @ African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved,

We can complain or go out on the streets and protest like Donna. The only conclusions we can draw is that the Caribbean remains a no-go zone for its black people. Let them find their own solutions.

….โ€œI am ashamed of my country,โ€ he sighed, โ€œbecause thatโ€™s whoring and you can quote me on that. (Derek Walcott)

https://stluciastar.com/derek-walcott-comments-on-new-development-near-pitons/

6. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“https://www.middleeastmonitor.com/20200916-16000-african-migrants-detained-under-hellish-condition-in-a-single-saudi-detention-centre/

Pacha…this right here is what i have a real problem with in these arab countries…

enslaver countries are a HUGE PROBLEM in the people of the world’s lives…

I did see info where Gaddafi said if they got rid of him slavery in its most BRUTAL FORM will return to Libya, and it has…and Afrika is the target……very ugly…

“Saudi Arabia Repatriates Hundreds of Detained Ethiopians
    Thousands of Migrants to be Freed After Being Held in Abysmal Conditions”

7. Another blog where the lack of financial literacy gives an excuse for commenters to push their narrow agendas.

US$70M OFFER

Govt bids to buy back portion of bonds owned by external investors
    By Shawn Cumberbatch
    shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com
    Government has officially launched a bid to purchase up to US$70 million of the US$530.6 million in restructured Barbados bonds now in the hands of external investors.
    The offer for the 6.5 per cent 2029 notes signals the start of the countryโ€™s first-ever debt for marine swap initiated by the Mia Mottley administration to reprofile some of its debt while channelling the savings into protecting Barbadosโ€™ ocean environment.
    It was tabled last Friday
    and expires at 5 p.m. on Thursday. Announcement of the results is expected on Friday this week and payment to investors is currently scheduled for September 21.
    Government told investors in a 39-page tender offer memorandum that it wanted to acquire the securities โ€œin connection withโ€ฆdebt management and as part of a broader refinancing operation to channel savings from the operation towards certain conservation and sustainability effortsโ€.
    Conservation fund
    This relates to the Debt Conversion (Counter-Guarantee) Act, which was recently passed by both Houses of Parliament. The legislation facilitates the establishment of a conservation fund being
    made possible by US$150 million of financial backing from the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and The Nature Conservancy, a global environmental organisation based in the United States.
    Avinash Persaud, special envoy to the Prime Minister on investment and financial services, has been an advisor to the debt for marine initiative first led by Minister Kirk Humphrey when his portfolio included the blue economy, and now being piloted by Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn.
    Speaking from Cairo, Egypt, where he is attending climate finance meetings ahead of the 2022 United Nations Climate Change Conference being held in that country in November, Persaud called the debt for marine swap Barbados was implementing โ€œone of the first ever and the largestโ€.
    โ€œItโ€™s also the first ever bond instrument issued by a Government in the world that has a pandemic clause. The reason why we are doing it is not to save us a lot of money; it is to create a trust to channel savings of US$40 million over ten years into marine conservation,โ€ he explained.
    โ€œThat is going to be directed not by the Government of Barbados, but by Barbados-based non-governmental organisations in marine conservation, working with The Nature Conservancy.
    โ€œItโ€™s a sign of confidence in our bonds, a sign of our commitment to marine conservation, and a measure of Barbados innovation. I think people in the financial sector should be comfortable that Barbados is exploring new instruments,โ€ he added.
    The financial analyst elaborated on how the programme would benefit Barbados: โ€œWe are saying to the marketplace there is an open tender and Barbados is buying US$70 million. So we will buy and if we have to push the price up to get more, that will happen โ€“ that is how the market operates.
    โ€œWe will continue to buy until we reach US$70 million and then we get the US$70 million back from The Nature Conservancy and the IDB, who buy a bond with a four per cent coupon from us.
    โ€œSo we have now suddenly saved 2.5 per
    cent every year for ten years and can put US$40 million of those savings into a marine conservation trust. That US$40 million is going to be broken down to a number of projects based around our marine environment,โ€ he said.
    Persaud pointed out that the arrangement was also significant because of the insertion of a pandemic clause, along with the natural disaster clause that is already attached to the restructured bonds.
    โ€œWhat that means is if a pandemic hits us again, we donโ€™t need to pay the coupon for two years and we can use all of that coupon payments, the four per cent, to re-channel that towards dealing with the pandemic,โ€ he said.

8. Mixed views on second IMF programme
    By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews. com

While one economist believes Barbadians must brace for more austere conditions following Governmentโ€™s announcement that it will be entering a second arrangement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF), another says it will have some positive impact.
    Political economist and Head of the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies (SALISES), Professor Don Marshall said Barbadians had essentially undergone 13 years of austerity, starting with the 2009 global recession, the 2018 debt restructuring and now the current cost of living struggles brought on by the war in Ukraine and the COVID-19 pandemic.
    Pro Vice-Chancellor of the Board for Undergraduate Studies at the University of the West Indies and economist, Professor Justin Robinson said: โ€œThe relatively low take up of locally offered Government of Barbados bonds suggests that Barbados may face challenges in accessing financing from the private capital markets, hence the perceived need to continue to source financing from multi-lateral sources such as the IMF. The new IMF programme may also send a powerful signal to the private capital markets that Barbados is committed to the fiscal discipline and economic reform programme in BERT, which may give investors the confidence needed to invest in Government of Barbados bonds,โ€ Robinson said.
    He also pointed out that at face value, Barbados was not in an economic crisis, having flush foreign exchange reserves, noting that policymakers had repeatedly assured the country that the economy was poised for takeoff.
    โ€œThe motives for this new IMF programme appear to be precautionary and thus represents an interesting development in the role of the IMF in the international financial system and the way countries use the IMFโ€™s resources. This new more
    developmental thrust from the IMF seems to be borne out by the fact that the majority of the funding will be sourced from the IMFโ€™s Resilience and Sustainability Trust,โ€ he said.
    Marshall, however, questioned whether Barbadians could bear the likely additional IMF conditionalities, such as the six per cent fiscal surplus that was initially required at the start of the Barbados Recovery and Transformation Programme (BERT).
    โ€œBarbadians were approaching adjustment fatigue just before the COVID-19 outbreak, going back to the 2009 global recession. Since then, the global pandemic and the Russian-Ukraine war have combined to produce a further extended period of austerity, only this time with unprecedented increases in the cost of living,โ€ said Marshall.
    He added: โ€œIt is difficult to imagine what 13 years of austerity has meant for the working majority with further austerity in store in the wake of the announcement that Barbados will renew its engagement with the IMF through its Enhanced Finance Facility programme. No relief appears in sight. The ruling administration is also aware that it cannot count on Bajans to buy up securities and bonds to shore up its expenditure plans, so it remains constrained in providing a substantial ease in levies and taxes. The country is in a fiscal logjam.โ€
    The SALISES head said Government needed to clear the air on the conditionalities, stressing that the country could ill-afford to chase ambitious IMF mandated fiscal targets, pursue economic transformation and achieve social stability all at once.
    โ€œSo, while we undertake to engage the Fund my question is about the conditionalities we will accept. Is the fiscal going to trump the developmental?
    Is the fiscal consolidation going to be attenuated by a great moderation and relaxation of ambitious fiscal targets? Will the IMF afford the policy
    space Barbados desperately needs or are we content to fold developmental futures into debates and designs about our public finances? Anything less is to scupper hope for the commencement of the economic transformation that has been postponed by successive administrations,โ€ Marshall said.
    On Friday Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said Barbados would be seeking a three-year Extended Fund Facility (EFF), with an aim to borrow US$340 million. She explained that under the EFF, Barbados is expected to unlock US$130 million in funding as well as US$210 million under the IMFโ€™s Resilience and Sustainability Trust.

9. Two not seeing eye-to-eye with PM
    Yearwood, Atherley question growth
    By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Dr Ronnie Yearwood is accusing Government of not being upfront with Barbadians regarding the reason for taking the country into a second successive arrangement with the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
    Yearwood said Government was โ€œcontradictingโ€ itself, claiming on one hand that the economy was in good health and poised for growth, yet on the other hand, borrowing from the fund to shore up the economy. He also argued that the ruling administration was carrying a heavier than normal foreign debt burden, while at the same time leading an economy that was not generating enough foreign exchange to service said debt.
    โ€œWhat I found interesting about the whole discussion that the Prime Minister was trying to put forward, is the contention that the economy is doing so well. If the economy is doing as well as the Prime Minister claims, then why are we going into another IMF programme?
    This is one of the first questions that everyone should be asking themselves. On one hand you have the Prime Minister claiming that the economy is doing so well, and we are expecting ten per cent growth etc, then on the other hand you are telling us that we need to go into another IMF programme to stabilise the economy.
    You canโ€™t have your cake and eat it too,โ€ Yearwood said.
    During a nationally televised press conference on Friday, Mottley said Barbados would be seeking a three-year Extended Fund Facility (EFF), with an aim to borrow US$340 million. She explained that under the EFF, Barbados was
    expected to unlock US$130 million in funding as well as US$210 million under the IMFโ€™s Resilience and Sustainability Trust.
    She said the decision was predicated largely on the need to secure adequate finances that would ensure the country could navigate the current global โ€œuncertaintiesโ€.
    However, Yearwood went on to argue that the growth which Mottley spoke of did not paint an accurate picture of the state of affairs.
    โ€œIf we want real economic growth, the economy has to grow by at least 14 per cent to make up for the COVID losses and then that would be registered growth. If we are growing by ten per cent then that is actually not growth, that is actually just bringing us back to where we were. In fact, that ten per cent is even questionable because we know that the British pound is struggling against the dollar, so we know that we are not going to have that buoyant winter tourist season that we usually have. So I am wondering where this magical growth is coming from. The repayment of these loans is very much dependent on growth, that is the problem,โ€ Yearwood said.
    The DLP leaderโ€™s perspective was shared by former Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley, who warned that the debt burden is going to be felt by multiple generations to come.
    He also disclosed that he was not surprised by the announcement, stating he warned Barbadians that this move formed part of the rationale for Mottleyโ€™s decision to call elections two years before they were constitutionally due.
    โ€œThe only thing that surprised me yesterday was that the Prime Minister seemed to want to emphasise that Barbados was doing
    well with respect to growth. If you hit rock bottom then the only place you can go is up, but the truth of the matter is that Barbadosโ€™ economy is not growing, there is no growth platform. Debt is all right but it must be done within the context of a proper platform of growth and viable prospects. Right now, I donโ€™t know that there are either of those things,โ€ he said.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Sometimes I think I hear the wooden floors jeering at me about our insanity that permits us still to be governed by protocols and to a large extent a constitution that have more to do with our former colonial masters than with our own wishes. Better days huh?”

TLSN….that’s why more FERTILE MINDS SUGGESTS that we are being PLAYED by the LONG CON…..it’s a TRAP for our grandchildren to be ROBBED and DISENFRANCHISED….into 3 or 4 more generations……with the stinking dirty racism as the foundation……and the top negro/slaves ruling roost and delivering their 100 year old evil…..more of the same…

don’t know who would voluntarily set up their grandchildren for that type of socio-economic REDUCTION that has worked for CENTURIES……except for Slaves…

11. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and of course Walcott is the quintessential Poet Laureate, not just some anonymous person….so he HOLDS INFLUENCE……as the genius he is…

12. @Dub
    The Yanks have jail birds too.

13. Online reasoning is like in the gutter politics where prejudices are spoken out loud.
    The remedy is to make Holy Herb compulsory.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“As for his thoughts on the establishment of a Ministry of Creative Industries, Walcott asked in apparent shock: โ€œThatโ€™s the name of a ministry? Someone who was creative did not do it? Itโ€™s not a nice title. I donโ€™t know what creative industries means!โ€”

this is the problem with WEAK black colonial employees WHO ARE ALSO paid by Afrikan taxpayers…..who employ them….THEY ARE NOT CREATIVES….don’t know or understand the first thing about creativity, that’s why they are in the bottom feeding roles provided for them as manufactured…

roles that creatives would see and DEFINE AS BENEATH THEM…

.that is why the islands can NEVER MOVE FORWARD…just as designed……but creatives don’t have to care, we can be creatives ANYWHERE…

15. “The Yanks have jail birds too.”

The point made for simpletons was do a cost analysis and revert back

16. NO
    The USA has done that all the time. The IDB, for instance, gives US citizens and companies preference for work around loans. And others. They control the bank.

Like a genuine colonialist you merely seek to critize China for its own sake.

The Chinese are straight forward and they care not about Western bs about human rights like you lot pretend to.

They have the money. The terms are the terms. It’s only when it comes to China do we see these attempts to attribute irrational power to beggars.

In addition, the Chinese are willing to do deals with general terms the West would scarely accept. This is the reason the country is in the market for Chinese money in the first place.

If you and ilk think it’s a condescension to borrow from the Yellow man. Or have him as paymaster then return to the White master you’re comfortable with..

17. “Itโ€™s a sign of confidence in our bonds, a sign of our commitment to marine conservation, and a measure of Barbados innovation”.
    How can ‘my buddy’ (for David) lie so bad?
    Debt for nature swaps are relatively new, but how can he refer to them as a Barbados innovation.
    The Seychelles and Belize have done this already.
    And how does this show ‘confidence’ in the island’s bonds?

18. You can never trust a Yank, not that they are offering to help developing countries anyhow, but there is always their Quid Pro Quo, and do what I say MOs.

The 2008 Global Financial Crises was due to Yanks flooding Money Markets with cheap credit, used for daily settlement in Banking and then suddenly stopping supply, making Banks default, and toxic debt instruments sold to BFF allies in illegal war failing and worthless.

19. @NO

He can say what he wants because the bevy of financial consultants are never challenged by traditional media, what about the DLP? Here is an opportunity for a callout by then @kemar. You may recall it is BU that forced Avi from using these honorary titles in front his name.

20. David
    Did we not warn you that Barbados and the Caribbean was going to leverage the so-called Blue Economy in these ways. A year ago. They are following Belize with their Nature Conservacy setup. Same players, same deal. A new form of colonialism which makes the West appear to be making progress on climate change.

21. @Pacha

You did but you are not a fan of growing the blue economy โ€˜conceptโ€™?

22. @Pacha
    Fuck off, I am not criticizing the Chinese. Nor suggesting any nation should not do business with them.
    I have great respect for their loan framework.
    And yes the west does similarly. I even noted this some weeks ago in a comment on CIDA. They are just not smart enough to demand collateral?
    I merely asked if the USA sent a crew of their citizens to a local compound if the independent island nation would be happy?
    The beggar is Barbados?
    And please don’t mix human rights by either China or the USA, neither know the meaning of the word.

23. @NO @Pacha

Hegemonists A vs hegemonist B is an argument to nowhere? This make Wilyโ€™s comment irrelevant in the scheme of things. As NO opines, Barbados is swimming in debt and has little leverage at the table especially after going the route of a SD.

24. NO

What a cunt, a liar!

Blue Economy is nothing real. Smoke and mirrors to play with debt.

25. It should be a surprise if many of the islands have things in common: small, poor, similar history, similar ethnic makeup with a few departures, Several islands but just one story. Each island with their own little sets of heroes failing the people.

Tourism is the low lying fruit that they all choose to pick.

From the Walcott story:
    “All they care about are the rich tourists they felt certain would come in droves to Jalousie once their resort was open for business. Visitors will have no reason to venture outside the periphery; every luxury will be provided for their enjoyment.โ€

“The project went ahead anyway, with the government making the usual promises of jobs, jobs, jobs and a leading politician labeling a critical Walcott โ€œa reckless armchair politician in Boston.โ€

26. David

Well. If yuh swimming in debt how is more debt going to solve that problem without a plan to pay off all borrowings.

And for a country burdened by debt, given that labour costs are relatively high in Barbados. Are Chinese labour practices and culture not beneficial.

Could we have Bajan workers almost living on site 24/7 like the Chinese often do? Or will American workers be so prepared to do?

The Chinese terns are their terms, as negotiated.

27. I see that Lawson was unable to wriggle out of his shite skin, even for a moment.

His ears can only register shite talk.

28. US$70M OFFER
    Numbers are strewn around in this post as if they are plucked out of the air. Perhaps there us a need for our newspaper to employ “financial’ journalists so that they can thread the numbers together and provide us with a story that we can all understand. I tried to work through the numbers myself but just gave up.

Hopefully, a next person can full in the blanks.

(2) Mixed views on second IMF programme
    There was a time when very few were able to afford newspapers and the information was spread to a very few “Little Englanders”. Time has changed and we can now all use google. Our journalists have not changed, they still write for the select few. They will parrot large chunks of a story instead of breaking it down for the uneducated like myself.

Some will talk of the need for financial education, little realizing that the real issue is the continuing financial miseducation of the masses. When I read a story like that one, I can only read it like this
    Star girls & Star boys: Mia and Company
    Bad boy: IMF, Mia and Company
    Loot: Lots of IMF money
    Plot: Large sums of money; cap in hand; the big scam, BS

(3) Two not seeing eye-to-eye with PM
    1/3 isn’t bad.
    Here comes Ronnie O and Mr Atherley like the cowboys heroes of old rushing through the door with gun blazing. The discharge both barrel of their guns into the schemes, shams, scams, and plans of the fleeing star boys and star girls.

Sadly, the audience has already lost interest because the journalist describes a complicated plot.
    Three Cheers for the few remaining heroes that we have.

It frightens me when I see eye to eye with some. I wonder “Is Ronnie O, the guy to follow”, seeing it wrong?:
    But I think he got it right.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

At least the people can NOW SEE….the SCAM, the PLOT, the TRAP for exactly what it is, they have no excuse NOT TO ABANDON IT, and move out of the way…..

..this belongs to the politicians and their slimy partners….ALL OF IT…let them have it with PLEASURE…

30. The mealy-mouthed politicians send their mealy-mouthed condolences and Lawson believes that through them speak the people of the world.

Meanwhile, the non-shite people of the world are having an entirely different conversation, a conversation that Lawson, in his shitiness, cannot even acknowledge.

The only conversation that matters to him is the one that follows his shite man’s narrative.

The BILLIONS of people who agree with me are therefore reduced in Lawson’s mind, to Donna’s opinion, marching to the beat of her lonely drum.

Meanwhile, the beat goes on and the drums get louder and louder!

I can assure you that we outnumber the shite man, who, as we know, are the minority of the world’s people.

Poor Lawson cannot get his brain around that fact!

No, Lawson, YOU are out of step!

31. David
    By the way and unlike what an idiot stated earlier a sovereign guarantee even by a defaulted country, gives the lender a broader range of ways to be repaid than a lien on a particular project unless that project is likely to add higher value to lender in circumstances of default. Obviously, a lender may not necessarily want to own all projects funded.

32. M y quote may not be accurate. I saw where someone asked
    “Who would want to lend these jokers clean money”?

I doubt if these jokers are searching for clean money.
    Clean money is accurate. It is exact, it comes in a fixed currency; it is transparent (the amount, lenders and recipients are known)

There is no shaving a bit here or there; there is little or no kick-back; The exact amount is known – I would not be thinking BDS $ (or national currency) and later learning that it is US $). There would be no – it was missing because it was in the wrong bucket,

You may be right, but these borrowers don’t want clean money.. There is ‘no profit’ in clean money.

33. @Pacha
    You have previously bestowed your “C” status upon me, though I know it is not an exclusive Club.
    What did I lie about?
    The Chinese loan terms should be copied by other bi and multilateral bodies.

They are appealing to your other high honour, neoliberal. Albeit you would commit hari Kari before admitting their loan framework is thusly. Because you can somehow picture “intent” which provides comfort.
    But you are full of contradictions today.
    Is living on a worksite nearly 24/7 something Bajan labour should aspire to? Or is it the compensation for doing so?
    And “pay off” what? If a govt cannot refinance debt, they can always declare bankruptcy? Another reason why the China loan framework makes sense.

34. It seems as if QE2 gave the bucket a big kick.
    Interesting to see the various stories being floated out about her.
    Why do we have these different and conflicting stories
    Mother Theresa – a saint to some, the devil to other
    Princess Diana – a heroine to some, a tramp to others
    QE2 – she saved the world to some, wouldn’t save a roach if it affected her bottom line; some says she was silent on the ills of apartheid government of South Africa
    ‘DonalsdTrump — fulfilling biblical prophecy, thinking biblical prophecy is a pussy. Me, I don’t really care one way or the other, but you got to admire a man who sees the opportunity and grabs it with both hands.

35. @David
    I know @HA used to expound on Avi and his titles, but I wasn’t aware it was the devil BU which led to his abandoning them.

36. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oops
    I thought it was the B Team that was here …
    On close reading, it is the C Team
    That explains Lawson
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    To be honest, I don’t think of anyone as being on the C Team. We have different strengths and weaknesses.
    NO is a must read.
    x— Just for Lawson:
    I like Lawson, he is a part-time comedian that is why large parts of his jokes fail –x

Jesus Christ! I am now fighting ฬถaฬถuฬถtฬถoฬถ-ฬถeฬถrฬถeฬถcฬถtฬถiฬถoฬถnฬถsฬถ auto-corrections and auto-suggestions.
    Taken from Lawson’s book of jokes.

37. Donna it must gut you every time barbados goes on there knees and begs every countries mealy mouth politicians for scraps. From what I see you are the problem for the state of barbados cricket, you have created a generation to approach every one palm up, how the hell will you ever be able to hold a bat properly or catch anything over your head. You may despise the queen but she stayed and fought so you woudnt be spreaking german right now and that system that you abhor has given you the where with all to form sentences to write on this blog… So you dont feel sorry for her death….. I do……..and she didnt give me an island.

38. @Pacha

The majority of SIDs run budget deficits; carry heavy debt burden and all that comes from it. Is the objective to repay ALL debt or to refinance to capitalize on lower interest rate. We have to fix crumbling physical infrastructure among other things to enable and facilitate economic activity and at the top of the list, satisfy unrealistic people expectations because of a opportunistic political system. Where do we go from here?

39. @NO

BU was engaged in a โ€˜spatโ€™ a few years ago, the Gresham crowd believe it was. The things that go in below the radar.

40. David BU nothing new here just the same doom and gloomers everyday.Off topic i want to congratulate Mr Maurice Norville on his 50 years in broadcasting.One of the few excellent broadcasters left who does not allow the same persons or anyone to call in to wish people hsppy birthday all day.zHis sessions are usually very educational.Therefore all the best to you Mr Norville.I gone.

41. NO people want to be led..its easier ,no responsibility for mistakes,..no pre planning ,never have to think for themselves. Go home at the end of the day never think about work till the next. Thank god for people who take the initiative by either vote or by birth.. Barbados likes to say how many 100 year olds there are on the rock but why…no stress, look at the people who grabbed for the brass ring Thompson dead Barrow dead Tom Adams dead . Did I say Donna was given an island.

42. @ TheOGazerts,

The road will be unblocked when PMMIA gets involved.

43. David

Thanks but thereโ€™s no need to tell us any of that.

Our issue is fundamental, for all we hear from you and see elsewhere is this recycling of debt.

But the Chinese system is anathema to you though they have brought one billion people out of poverty and extreme poverty.

Centrally, we canโ€™t keep borrowing money which we canโ€™t repay under the pretext of creating an enabling environment and never develop sustainable industrial or other activities to mek money.

All our lives this junk economics was given us. It must be rejected.

Question. Did the Chinese get themselves head and heel in debt under such pretexts? Or did they try to build a sustainable economy first?

Truthfully, we see no sets of circumstances where this cart will not be before the development horse.

44. @Pacha

Who is disagreeing about the debt we continue to carry? These days governments run with a metric to indicate what is a capacity to borrow. The end.

45. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“All our lives this junk economics was given us. It must be rejected.”

at all times, every day, year, and century…

..same old scam….the people generate BILLIONS of dollars in vat, taxes and pension fund BY THEIR VERY PRESENCE………, but IT IS STOLEN, WASTED, MISMANAGED….ergo……borrow……..billions in UNPAYABLE debt…..wash, rinse, repeat….inclusive of recessions REAL or IMAGINED or ORGANIZED…

….ABANDON IT….because there is NO END…

46. David

The borrowing was not our main point. The cart before the horse was.

47. @Pacha

How can we clawback from the current situation? It is not as simple to say stop.

48. David

Yes, we agree! But show us some plan to exit this thread mill to nowhere.

49. @Pacha

You donโ€™t get it, there is no exit being contemplated. It is about pursuing opportunities by operating the existing models of government financing.