The blogmaster is unsure how many Barbadians are going about business today blissfully unaware of the meltdown in global financial markets. Central banks around the world are reluctant to be aggressive with tightening monetary policy for fear it will trigger another financial crisis. The ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine will continue to spike inflation given disruption to global supply in a ‘post Covid 19’ period.

For Small Developing States (SIDs) there is no quick fix to the hardships that will have to be endured for an indeterminable period. The Barbados dollar is pegged to the USD and combined with being a net importer with key components being food and oil, as the local parlance goes – we in ducks guts.

This is no time to play politics.

Global markets are tanking ahead of a huge week for central banks

PUBLISHED MON, JUN 13 20224:40 AM EDTUPDATED MON, JUN 13 20227:58 AM EDT

Elliot Smith@ELLIOTSMITHCNBC

SHAREShare Article via FacebookShare Article via TwitterShare Article via LinkedInShare Article via Email

KEY POINTS

• Global stock markets are falling sharply after May’s U.S. inflation print reignited fears that central banks will be forced into aggressive monetary policy tightening.
  • The U.S. 2-year Treasury rate hit its highest level since 2007 on Monday morning and edged closer to an inversion with the benchmark 10-year rate – seen by many as a sign of an impending recession.
  • “While [the Fed] can’t sit there and say their job is to end job creation for the moment, that is basically what they need to do if they are going to get inflation back under control now,” TD Securities’ Richard Kelly said.

Read full CNBC report

122 responses to “Financial Crisis in the Forecast – Whither Barbados and SIDs?”

1. Multi-million dollar aid package for Latin America and the Caribbean

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/06/13/multi-million-dollar-aid-package-latin-america-caribbean/

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Don’t know why anyone would invest in crypto/digital scams…..people can’t even withdraw from bitcoin, Binance but a temporary stop to that .. so did Celsius, .because of some “problem impacting the bitcoin network”

if ya can’t flip from digital to hard currency at short notice……..it’s a SCAM..

3. Waru
    You are quite right. This the next big bust.

4. Waru
    The Ukraine War has shifted currencies to being based on real assets, minerals, gold, etc Fiat money is dead!

5. It always leaves me wondering how come when the markets are booming and billionaires are daily being created by the hundreds, the average Joe just reads about all the wealth that’s being created on paper, and yet when the markets tumble, the average Joe’s a*s is grass. Yup, there are people out there who sit behind a keyboard, manipulate a few keys and presto, instant millionaires having never lifter a finger or created anything of value to mankind.

Average Joe takes a bus, goes to the Garrison and wins a million bucks – he’s a no-good gambler. Put on a suit, drive to the office in a Lamborghini, bet on some stock rises and presto, he’s an investment banker.

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

These things are backed by BS, thin air and bold lying promises, they are NOT STABLE…they are TOO UNSTABLE…

Pacha…don’t know what it’s going to take for them to learn….but they look good getting robbed…

don’t know if you hooked up with the LUMI yet…backed by 4oz of gold and solar…i don’t even have to bother my head with it, and can flip to hard currency at any time..

..bitcoin and this and that are BACKED BY NOTHING…

7. @Pacha

And how many countries can eliminate FIAT currency with asset back options?

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Waru
    The Ukraine War has shifted currencies to being based on real assets, minerals, gold, etc Fiat money is dead!”

i don’t think those on BU will believe you….had to repeat it….they are so far behind….don’t know what else to say…

it’s very clear that the Afrikan Kingdoms saw this coming…

9. @Fearplay

Isn’t it the same when the USA invades in the name of justice? When other countries do same it is seen as being hostile or terrorist.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“And how many countries can eliminate FIAT currency with asset back options?”

and to think they HAD that opportunity right in the palm of their hand and WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO LOSE IT…

..murdahhhh!!!

11. David
    You never cease to amaze. Would you prefer the people with fiat currencies to steal the resources of those which have, as is the history. Imperialism.

Or in the case of Barbados and the Caribbean, we’ve been arguing for a lifetime that our ancestral home should be Afrika and we should have long been deeply linked, long ago.

But regardless, it’s right to remove this sin from society. It only creates unrepeatable debt.

12. @Pacha

No need to repeat the unanswered question. Carry on.

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Or in the case of Barbados and the Caribbean, we’ve been arguing for a lifetime that our ancestral home should be Afrika and we should have long been deeply linked, long ago.”

those who worked overtime to prevent it will pay a very heavy price…while trying not to DROWN…in this mess..

14. David
    What you talking bout.
    Countries with high pollution rates are buying carbon credits from countries like Batbados. The reverse of this.

How hard is that.

15. @Pacha

You were asked a simple question- how can Barbados or countries with high debt profiles displace its fiat currency with a commodity based setup.

16. David
    These matter are dynamic. Meaning more than one thing has to be at the same time.

Estimation that the elevation of the asset based money will occur with the rise of the Eurasion bloc Barbados will have a Jubillee. No more debt. One problem solved.

Secondly, Barbsdos can handle this as previously described. Acquiring assets like carbon credits are. Or real assets from countries having them like a corporation would. This ight even spur industrisl development offshore.

Thirdly, receipts from services will have an asset value as well in the basket.

17. @Pacha

What then must be the short to midterm strategy for SIDs given the unfolding?

18. Fearplay

Not true A real investment banker can also make money when the market is falling . It the average joe that don’t know how to protect ASSets that usually get burned in a bear market

19. Grantley Adams airport concession in Barbados resumes within the ‘new realities’ of aviation | CAPA – Centre for Aviation | Routes

https://www.routesonline.com/suppliers/10554/capa-centre-for-aviation/news/298196/grantley-adams-airport-concession-in-barbados-resumes-within-the-new-realities-of-aviation/

20. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

What me worry?
    Everything is going according to plan
    Watch the Ride
    Investment Scams
    Economic Crises
    Emotion Based Reasoning
    Jah Man hear dem fashion
    Banker Wankers start to worry and fret
    A whole heap of weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth
    Wars followed by Recession are standard excuses for industries redundancies and pay cuts
    Price wars and lower profits to kill off competition is just another tool in the NWO tool box
    Fear = Control. The Problem Reaction Solution Paradigm
    Conspiracy theorists propose that problem–reaction–solution (PRS) functions as a New World Odour mechanism for constructing and exaggerating social problems to garner populist support for the implementation (imposition) of laws that society would normally deem unacceptable.
    OWG One World Government One World Currency is coming to your neighbourhood

21. Easy squeeze mek no riot

a gentle approach averts confrontation

Jamaican Reggae Quotables

David used a stone and killed Goliath,
    so don’t you run down badness you see,
    a small axe cut down big tree

Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Spiritual Healing / Economic Crises / Dub Crises

Oh no my gosh lord have mercy
    my 100k is now worth 50k
    Americans without money go crazy

22. Oh Lord what a whole heap of problems
    The shitty city of iniquity down in a Babylon
    Oppression is the revenue situation get screw
    The system resistance discourage the masses
    Problems remedial is procedural
    In our happening in our day to living find us in the hustling and bustling
    Tax increase employments decrease
    Jah Jah what a whole heap of problems
    Jah Jah what a whole lot of problems
    Under our firmament no job is permanent
    Why Why

My fall to grace testimony | I bought a $2,000,000 house with a mortgage and deposit in a gated community, 10 years later it was worth $3,000,000 on paper, I could not tap into the unrealised profit of $1,500,000 equity, so now I am homeless, living in tent city with outcast pedophilles crack heads and smack heads as neighbours
    Who Is Laughing, Look Who Is Laughing Dub

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Since they have NO control of anything and DEPEND on EVERYONE for EVERYTHING….maybe it’s time to get off the dependency train….but some apparently like being talked down to and looked down on….their comfort zone…

all of that now falls under… their problem….they had a very long time to get it right and wasted every minute…

.Afrikans have STOOD UP like the ancient WARRIOR BLOODLINES we came from and are famous for over millennia…while more and more are rising every day, over 1 billion Afrikans taking their rightful place as the earth’s original people…

..the cowards can stay in their corner and do what they do best, depend on minorities and cower from them….weak traitor bloodlines……

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Medew Netcher …Pacha…

25. @David
    Analyst now predit that the yeild on US 10 year treasuries will hit 5% before the end of summer at this rate. Given that, I now predict that Barbados will almost certainly seek another IMF deal. If US debt is trading at 5%, the market will ask Barbados to pay more that 7% for any new debt. In this environment it might make sense to seek a new stand bu arrangement with the Fund that would allow you to unlock Financing from development banks at less than 2.5% interest when you need it. This arrangement would be a little different in nature to the current EFF but the priciples are smilar.

26. BRACE 4 IMPACT:

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“US Dollar Falls Below 56 Rubles on Moscow’s Exchange Tuesday

That was for the first time since May 25. The euro has also dipped to 58 rubles.”

if they still need other people to read the tea leaves for them, if they can’t see and are impotent to GET UP….dah iz dem problem….am not in the business of raising the dead…who have no ancestral value..

28. @wargeneral

As you know IMF assistance is to provide a blanket primarily to protect foreign reserves. You would have noted a local news report last week that the payment for oil imports has increased astronomically year over year for the same period. At current rate the foreign currency reserve we boast about will be exhausted if we consume at current rate.

29. Waru

Uganda just found over 300 million tons of gold worth about 15 trillion usd.

Watch as David and his people try to steal it🤮

The irony will be that Uganda is currently acting as Western proxy to steal Congo’s mineral wealth.

BTW

The purest form in English would be Mdu Ntr

30. ARE ARSONISTS BURNING DOWN US FOOD PRODUCTION INFRASTRUCTURE???
    https://www.brighteon.com/e5ba1f81-8c62-4f38-b92c-6f953c11c024

31. @Pacha

The owners of the resources history has shown have been their worse enemies.

32. Guyana preparing to receive Black belly sheep from Barbados

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/06/14/guyana-preparing-receive-black-belly-sheep-barbados/

33. David

Because your people, the devil, have been always trying to steal them.

34. Thanks Pacha wanted you to be clear.

35. J.P MORGAN’S JAMIE DIMON SPARKS COLLAPSE FEARS AS BANK BRACE 4 IMPACT:

36. MASS EXODUS: WARNING SIGNS AS THE “birds” FLY SOUTH…

37. GOT SOME GOLD? TOO BAD IF YOU DON’T – THEY INTEND 2 CRASH EVERYTHING!!!

38. SRI LANKA: COMING 2 A CITY-STATE NEAR YOU…

39. Run The Jewels – Run The Jewels

“Run The Jewels”

[El-P:]
    Oh dear what the fuck have we here?
    These motherfuckers all thorn no rose
    Egads what a bad dream better not sleep
    Take a No-Doz, do some blow
    Oh shit what the hell have we done?
    It’s alive and it’s hungry as fuck
    Better hide all the snacks and the dough
    It is out of my control, you are shit out of luck
    I don’t wanna be unfair but the pair
    We got beat that weak shit you got (true god)
    Blew up the spot with that new bop
    Crew drops, do up ya squad without nuance
    I don’t wanna sound unkind but the
    Sounds I make are the sounds of the hounds
    That are howlin – Under your bed I’m here growling
    Same time under the blanket you’re cowering

[Killer Mike:]
    Cowering like cowards cowering on
    Concrete showers in Rikers Island
    Victims, we the wolves that’s wilding
    We often smile at sights of violence
    Acting brave and courageous
    Ain’t advantageous for health and safety
    So when we say run the jewels
    Just run’ em baby, please don’t delay me
    And that goes for a guy or lady
    The fam god damn we fuckin crazy
    I’ll pull this pistol
    Put it on your poodle or your fuckin baby
    She clutched the pearls, said “What in the world!”
    And “I won’t give up shit!”
    I put the pistol on that poodle
    And I shot that bitch

[Hook:]
    Run the jewels…[x2]

And the crowd chants “Get that paper!”
    And the mob says “Kill that witch!”
    This city get mad to the max
    Better wave bye-de bye to the high scrapes kids
    Get a tin foil hat for the rain, in
    Hot water from the roof to the basement
    I’mma smoke ’til the planet erases
    Build a white flag out of Zig Zags, wave it

Often I’m smoking coffin
    Sip lean on a bean like Boston
    My young bitch here fine like
    Pam Grier when she made that movie Coffy
    But when my wife’s in town
    Ay Jackie Brown just stay up off me
    Cause if they don’t somebody get shot
    And they gon’ buy a coffin

With the pull of a pin a grenade
    Get a crowd to they feet and a soul to its options
    I’m a fool for the win I been made
    To be loud while these other cats drowning in softness
    In a urn or the dirt get tossed in
    With a grin or a smirk get accosted
    I’m a sin on the verse like a kid in a hearse
    Or a nun in a cum shot (stop it)

Big beast in a cage with a heart
    Full of rage, it seems I can’t behave
    You could try till you die, oh well
    You failed, it seems the world can’t be saved
    These streets is full with the wolves
    That starve for the week so they after the weak
    In a land full of lambs I am
    And I’ll be damned if I don’t show my teeth

[Hook]

40. Pacha this commentary speaks to a sell off by investors in India read exiting stock market and dumping in US treasuries.

FYI

41. David,

Unlike some, Donna does not pretend to have a firm grip on complex financial systems. I watch and listen but if there is going to be an upending of this system, I am all for it, whatever the initial or short-term cost to me. I remain unconvinced that it will happen in my lifetime but I hope that it will.

It is obvious that this “fiat” system is a fake one, unhinged to actual resources. How is it that Africa is the most resourced continent and its people are the poorest? These tiefing white bitches need to be stopped. And all tiefing bitches of other hues.

Those who, as you say, are blithely unaware are the ones who probably have little to lose anyway. For them, every day is a struggle for the basics of survival.

42. @Donna

Fair enough, you should note however the avarice and the agenda of the 1% will not be going anywhere soon. If at all.

43. This gem from yesterday. WRT sanctions, the U.S saying do as I say not as I do.
    https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2022-06-13/us-quietly-urges-russia-fertilizer-deals-to-unlock-grain-trade

44. David,

That has been my point for ages. The avarice and agenda of the 1% ain’t going nowhere. Neither is the mindset of those average people who have been brainwashed into their way of defining success.

This DISEASE infects most of the world’s people. They aspire to nothing greater than to be among the world’s 1%!

This is why I do not believe the solution is as simple as a change in financial systems.

Most human beings are still to effed up!

45. Oh dear what panic can cause. Let’s look at the facts here for little Bim. First let’s list the factors against us.

A. High Inflation
    B. High fuel prices
    C. Falling stock markets globally
    E. Weak dollar
    F. Falling personal liquidity.

Them basically is the key factors that will affect our tourism and our cost of living. Our visitors come from the countries facing A-F listed above. Let us not believe therefore that our tourism industry will not be affected. After all higher airfares coupled to less liquidity due to inflation does not exactly make one want to take what’s left and get on a plane to one of the most expensive destinations out there.

So next what A-F mean for Bajans here? Well higher food prices for sure followed by increased interest rates will come our way. No doubt Tourism receipts will be affected as well. With sterling where it is travel out of the UK which is our major market, will also prove expensive. So yes these factors we know and must brace for.

As for whether the dow crashes or not let’s leave that to the sooth sayers and instead focus on where we are and what we can do. Simply put consuming only what we need and not want is a start. Protect our reserves even though most are borrowed and understand we will have to deal with this for the balance of 2022 at least. If the markets do collapse as happened in 2008, we all know what that meant for us. But cross that bridge when it happens, however deal with what we can do today. Wunna stop buying all the crap you see. You don’t need no 70 inch TV when the one wunna got showing perfect! The Toyota more reliable than any Range Rover or Jaguar so left out impressing the neighbour’s and drive a blasted Toyota or Hyundai. Wunna ever realise that the real money people don’t get caught up in all that crap?

If however the market does crash, the value of the lost will be way greater than in 2008 for sure and as a result the removal of the amount of money from the system in 2022 will make what was lost in 2008 look like lunch money.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Watch as David and his people try to steal it”

let’s see how that plays out….lots of black people, not Afrikans, are of that mindset, sit their backsides in the west as Slaves and see who could tief from Afrika and give them the crumbs…..which is their inheritance…useless breathers…

“BTW

The purest form in English would be Mdu Ntr”
    also seeing Duul Neter Neb

yes…i have to carve out the time for classes…