385 responses to “Politics Makes Strange Bedfellows”

1. Same article, “She was flanked by Governor of the Central Bank Cleviston Haynes, Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn, Director of Finance and Economic Affairs Ian Carrington, Senior Economic Advisor to Government Dr Kevin Greenidge, and Economic Advisor Dr Clyde Mascoll.” Wunna ain’t gine win this…”watch muh”.๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

2. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved

” But this from Barbados Today says otherwise: โ€œ[PM Mottley] saidโ€ฆโ€ฆthe Government had repaid 98 per cent of the $1.7 billion debt it had inherited in 2018.โ€”

yall tell LIES TO THE NEWSPAPERS…because a couple months ago, it was said in one of the same DIALIES…that the DEBT will not be repaid until later this year or sometime next year….ya remember the lie yall told barbadostoday about reparations, yall and the digicel clown, only a couple months ago, when not an hour after that misleading article…i found the truth in an article from UK on another forum…disputing ya lies…

if ya don’t mind i will take it with a pinch of salt until i learn the TRUTH…i saw the article, but yall lie and IMF don’t care about ya lies once they are PAID ON TIME..

3. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

try again….

4. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

hope yall are tuned in….i forgot, so late by 20 minutes.

5. Mia cautioned Union’s not to make the issue of wage increase a political football taking the issue across media platforms
    As laughable and deceitful that statement be
    Makes for wonder her participating in marches joined hand in hand with Union’s in full view of media and social media spotlight during those periods of a time when govt workers were fighting for wage increases
    Also noted the PM was then opposition leader of the blp

6. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bad luck for yall…i just heard Jackie Stuart on the show…lawd….what a surprise, and that caused a further break-down on HOW yall operate….murdahhhhh!!!

7. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lawd….others are joining the show and speaking………information and THEATRE… enuff…

8. No skin off my nose! Those who have genuine grievances should speak.

Nobody wants it kept quiet but those who are implicated.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Well…they are giving advice how to catch these criminals who launder by the hundreds of millions, all their THIEVERY is out there, the people’s VAT, PENSION and MONEY IN THE TREASURY, the bank accounts of the elderly and their estates……

..we heard how they start the initial laundering…now just to pick them up…not hard to identify who is who….eventually..

10. @ Enuff
    โ€œ[PM Mottley] saidโ€ฆโ€ฆthe Government had repaid 98 per cent of the $1.7 billion debt it had inherited in 2018.โ€
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    If Ms Motley really said that, then it tells us why she sends her minions to the public to deal with financial matters.
    If you borrow from Peter to pay Paul you have NOT โ€˜repaidโ€™ the debt.

It does not matter how many of the wussies were around her. None of them has the balls to contradict even her most outrageous nonsense – such as those decisions ‘national heroes’, Republic procedures, and vaccine procurement etc.

Boss…
    The Supreme Leader has no clothes, and she has no one to advise here thusly….

Some day a small child will comment appropriately…

11. “The Supreme Leader has no clothes, and she has no one to advise here thuslyโ€ฆ”

I had to scroll up to see if this was the post with a picture of two cheap suits and a guy in the hospital gown.

12. True indeed! She has simply replaced one debt with another. Nothing to shout about.

13. Mia sending threats to the Union’s is well noted
    Also noted is the missing voice of Caswell Franklyn who became a thorn in the side of govt
    No longer does one.hear his out cries after govt placed both knees in his throat
    Now govt has bodly gone via media outlets to send messages to Union’s stating any mention of wage increase by media would not be tolerated
    Let the games begin

14. @ angela cox May 12, 2022 12:18 PM

Why are you worried about democracy? It is a form of government that is obviously unsuitable for developing countries with their backward populations.

We need a strong leader who rules with an iron fist, suppresses trade unions and erodes workers’ rights. We need an Augusta Pinochet who will liberalise our economy and scrap the welfare state.

That’s why I rejoice at all the positive news from the IMF. How wonderful! A positive report from the IMF means that we are no longer a West Indian Cuba, but are moving along the path of liberalisation, privatisation and flexibilisation.

In my personal opinion, our cabinet ministers deserve a big bonus for this success. To compensate, we may lower the salaries of the many civil servants.

Tron, commemorating the takeover of power in May 2018, the beginning of a new era for leader, people and state.

15. @ Enugu your@7.55 am
    I couldnโ€™t help but hear Dr.Greenidge in an interview on the CBC talk of the โ€œlost decadeโ€ and here I was thinking that he was some mandarin on loan from an International agency to assist the Gov.t when he went full yardfowl with his utterances. I would accept that from Gov,t Ministers, BLP partisans, hangers on and associated yardfowls but not from someone who is supposed to be non partisan
    BTW does Chris excuse himself from any meetings when the โ€œ lost decadeโ€ is the subject since he presided over the economy for the majority of those years

16. Note Dr. Greenidgeโ€™s sister heads Invest Barbados. In the spirit of full disclosure.

17. Any one eyed man is king in ‘repaid’ land. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ
    May all the bond holders of 2018, TBill holders, and Series J holders recall how they were ‘repaid’. Buhbaydus too sweet.

18. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“If you borrow from Peter to pay Paul you have NOT โ€˜repaidโ€™ the debt.”

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ sleight of hand but the fowl thinks he “got she now” lol …too love their “got yuh” moments…

anyhoo…now that both Europe and North America are acquainted with the fowls and their politicians….what next? their star power is EVERYWHERE….people calling in saying what was STOLEN FROM THEM…yes, people who live in the diaspora…ah guess everyone will run away from them now…

19. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

we are well past the “keeping quiet” stage, that’s a Barbados tradition, not so in Europe or North America…

20. Smoke and mirror policies would sooner than later catch up.with this govt
    Govt toots and applauds itself for paying off 1.7 billion Barbados debt will borrowing an additional 1.5million and about to agree on another 23million from the IMF

21. I simply provided info as reported in the media and undies in a twist.

22. The original statement wasnโ€™t โ€œ did not pay off the debtโ€
    Xxxxxxxxxxx

biggest achievement in the life of a fowl to brag about a passed testโ€ฆโ€ฆ.BUT STILL CANโ€™T PAY OFF ANY DEBTS or close the dificitโ€ฆstuepppppssโ€ฆlolโ€ฆor do anything about the STEEP RISE IN PRICES..

23. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So these world class crooks are accused of stealing bank accounts of the elderly living in the diaspora…. and then letting them know, they will have them arrested if they return to Barbados to investigate what happened to THEIR MONEY….Valerie Suzette paid to learn that….when her deceased fatherโ€™s bank accounts and property disappeared…and his ID used to commit crimes in UK….and the fowls…ENDORSE these criminal acts against other people…

man wunna famous enuff…

24. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“โ€œIf you borrow from Peter to pay Paul you have NOT โ€˜repaidโ€™ the debt.โ€”

me thinks my question was answered by someone not living in la la land…..nothing left to say…

25. If u owe 5 person $100 each and u borrow $1000 and repay them you have repaid The DEBTS and have another $500 to buy garbage trucks, solar buses, repay roads and put gas in bushie wacker when the price get too high for his pocket – all things that werenโ€™t / couldnโ€™t be done pre-IMF
    All Debt is not bad dept.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

am just curious, what should we expect to hear come next radio show, or from Article 2 compliments of rijock….just asking, don’t want any nasty surprises now, i was surprised to hear yall friend Jackie on the radio show talking about yall threatened to have her and her Mom arrested for their own land, ……could have knocked me over with a feather……..maybe fowls can clue us in, ya know, prepare us…my heart can only take so much ya know…

do you have ANY IDEA HOW MANY PEOPLE LISTEN TO THAT SHOW…..lawd

27. The issue is the shouting it is some kind of achievement.

28. Salemite
    Tell BU who made up the $1.7m and what was borrowed from whom to pay who? The current level of debt is less than when this government came to office in 2018, If not for covid, it would be lower. Everyone borrowed during covid. Your problem is that when cornered, which is most of the time, you change your tune and attempt to rewrite your own history. Pathetic af, but nothing less is expected from a liar.๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

29. Shouting???

Itโ€™s good news in that we passed ( again) as apposed to hearing downgrades after downgrades and it also the last one of this imf deal ( donโ€™t know if we will enter another )

But the pick a nose โ€ฆโ€ฆ. Gloom and doom โ€ฆ overseas bajan does alway got to find some fault in any good new for the island

Tell the salemite go check the deficit , the pay back of debts / off the debt and t rising cost of living at where she is
    And not one negative word out of her

30. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Salemite
    Tell BU who made up the $1.7m and what was borrowed from whom to pay who?”:

am going by what i heard someone who is known for intelligence said, am not about to take any garden variety fowl’s word for it…yall got a reputation…and it ain’t good…..ya are known to cover up crimes…and endorse them…yall are notorious…

31. Pay borrow Pay borrow all monies borrowed to pay the same debt Govt policy
    My policy I borrow have the means to pay back
    Next spend less save a little maybe find a productive way to make more money resulting in a life style I can afford avoiding by all means necessary not having to borrow unless an emergency give reason for me to borrow
    Borrowing to pay debt without having the resources or means to pay back is liken to a revolving door that never closes
    These small.islands govts lack of vision or commonsense are unable to recognize when international finance institutions like the IMF are leading their economies into a debt trap of misery

32. Enuffclearly the loudmouth knowall does not have a clue who the debt is consigned to.This does not stop her from spouting off her mouth based on something she heard.Unbelievable!She does this all the time amd to think that some on here defend her.She needs to stop telling lies or the blogmaster needs to take action. In my view.I heard her talking about Ms Stuart again who gives a damn about her.I gone.

33. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved May 14, 2022 6:46 PM #: “am going by what i heard someone who is known for INTELLIGENCE said….”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m curious.

You posted the following comments on another thread:

African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved May 12, 2022 6:30 AM:
    “For those who love to MISINTERPRET the word INTELLIGENCE โ€ฆ.US intelligence uses the word EVERY DAY in its proper context, itโ€™s posted to every news outlet for those who care to learn anything, but if we use it on BU, the clown brigade make it their personal business to MISINTERPRET IT to suit narrow, uneducated agendasโ€ฆ”

“Intelligence is related to the setting of goals. GOALS.”

(1). Did you use “the word in its proper context?”

(2). If not, then, do you accept you’re a member of “the clown brigade who made it your personal business to MISINTERPRET IT to suit narrow, uneducated agendas?”

(3). Is the particular “someone who is known for intelligence” also “known for setting goals?”

34. angela cox May 14, 2022 7:00 PM #: “Borrowing to pay debt without having the resources or means to pay back is liken to a revolving door that never closes…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Economics 101: the international financial institutions will not lend money to countries that cannot demonstrate they have the capability to repay the debt.

It’s similar to how the bank or credit union would not lend you money after determining that your net income is insufficient to enable you to meet your debt obligations.

Then, you have to determine the reasons for the loans.
    Are they for productive purposes, i.e. if loans will be used to finance projects that will generate revenue for ‘government,’ such as infrastructural development…..

……. or for unproductive purposes, such as financing social services or a budget deficit.

35. Understands such economic purposes that lends themselves to borrowing
    However small islands govts have not over the years used such purposes for borrowing but instead borrow to repay debt

On another note the CCJ with purpose and justifiable so done reduced the sentence of a man because of time served
    The man murdered his common law wife but because of a slow tardy and inept Barbados justice system the case was not brought to trail in a timely fashion with and in accordance of law

36. angela cox May 14, 2022 9:41 PM #: “However small islands govts have not over the years used such purposes for borrowing but instead borrow to repay debt..”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

Where is the evidence? Or, are you repeating what you heard because it is consistent with your existing opinions …..’confirmation bias?’

Once AGAIN, you’re NOT THINKING.

SVG and ANU, for example, borrowed money to finance the construction of new international airports.
    Are you suggesting the ‘governments’ of both islands would’ve incurred further debt by borrowing money from another financial institution to repay the previous or existing debts?

If you’re suggesting ‘government’ borrowed for debt consolidation purposes, then, I can understand your comment.

If ‘governments’ borrowed money for the specific purpose of repaying debt, how would the much touted electric buses and garbage trucks would’ve been purchased….. or the ongoing road works be financed?

But, we all know as long as you come across information that, as long as in your opinion, it impacts negatively on ‘government,’ no one cannot change your mind, even after the information was proven to be false, misleading or absurd.

37. The evidence is out there debt repayment has been a source for borrowing for many small island govts
    Two or three garbage trucksand buses is not an indication that govt source for borrowing was for such sole intention

38. A merger of BLP and DLP would be the best thing for our island. In other words, a kind of Barbados Unity Party (BUP). This would take into account the fact that the people want one-party rule with unity of powers.

The people are always right.

39. Barbados is currently a one party state. It would be good to see Mia’s cabinet becoming more proactive within their roles as representatives of the people. Mia is far too comfortable in her role and should be placed under severe pressure from her fellow MPs to raise the bar. St Kitt’s ministers have set an example for our weak-kneed politicians.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/05/11/st-kitts-dismissed-minister-defends-position-social-media/

40. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So is this true…..no wonder some of them look like swines with 60 inch waist lines and ready to pop off…drop-dead…over excess….greed, licorishness….Hal Austin’s words did not drop

“Wretched excess is so out of control that someone needs to ask the OECS to step in. It was reported today, in Parliament, that Barbados’ Deputy Prime Minister and each of the three Senior Ministers are receiving BBD$181,345.88 (USD$90.673.44), as Annual Entertainment Allowance ! You would think they are hosting the prime ministers and presidents of every country in the European Union each week. WTF is all that money for ? Your tax dollars at work, Bajans.

Given the rampant corruption running wild in Barbados, it’s a wonder the United Nations has not yet dispatched peacekeepers to the island nation, as a failed state.”

41. You must be aware (you love to Google) that St. Kittsโ€™s Harris government was a coalition arrangement?

42. Perhaps AC, The0, Waru, William Skinner could form a new official opposition party.
    Their theme tune could be “No one likes us, we don’t care”

43. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

are yall aware that a people who have eaten the black belly sheep for 400 YEARS….did not know its origin or genetic make up….never googled to find out….did not know the sheep had AFRIKAN ANCESTRY LIKE YASELVES…..but can google every error another blogger post…or post shite about accurate posts….

therefore, no one, ESPECIALLY ME…will EVER take any of you seriously or answer ya SHITE QUESTIONS, right…

hope that answers your past, present and future nuisance questions.

lawd… the idjit fowls STRUCK OUT AGAIN…they can only fall back to their usual limited intellect excuses…

who cares about yall DEBT…yall created the debt…now live with it, ya want people to be impressed with MEDIOCRITY..well, NOT ME…..yall need to care more about what the people in the diaspora YA ROBBED will do with you NEXT….i don’t even want to know, but am sure will hear…..AND it will be one for the ages and RESONATE across the WORLD……….

44. @ David,
    Google why Somalia became a failed state. Google why Nigeria became a failed state. Google why Haiti became a failed state. Google why Colombia became a failed state. Google why so many countries became failed states. And google why so many developing countries are on the verge of anarchy and revolution.

Your sarcastic reply is based on complacency. It will not save Barbados from becoming a failed state as critiqued by the UK journalist.

45. “If u owe 5 person $100 each and u borrow $1000 and repay them you have repaid The DEBTS and have another $500 to buy garbage trucks, solar buses, repay roads and put gas in bushie wacker when the price get too high for his pocket โ€“ all things that werenโ€™t / couldnโ€™t be done pre-IMF
    All Debt is not bad dept.”

I am not an economist or too bright for that matter. My head start to spin when I see legal jargon or heavy economics.

So if I owe $500.00 which I am unable to repay. I can look around and borrow $1000 to pay off the initial $500 and use the extra $500 to buy new stuff.
    Now if I can find someone to lend me $1500, I can pay off that $1000 and buy more new stuff.

“Borrowing to pay debt without having the resources or means to pay back is liken to a revolving door that never closes,”

What nonsense is AC talking? Doesn’t she know that you don’t have to worry about paying down your debt; all you have to is find a new lender.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“So if I owe $500.00 which I am unable to repay. I can look around and borrow $1000 to pay off the initial $500 and use the extra $500 to buy new stuff.
    Now if I can find someone to lend me $1500, I can pay off that $1000 and buy more new stuff.”

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ yardfowl economics….murdahhhh!!

47. The other side of the issue if problems created by carrying a high debt burden werenโ€™t addressed in the short term what would have been the fallout? We tend in our discussions to ignore a balanced view. Successive governments brought us to a position by pandering to unbridled consumption of Barbadians, there was the point triggered by exogenous shocks that painted us in a corner. At the root we have two issues to address – a lack of leadership at the highest level and individuals not taking intelligent decisions at a personal level.

48. “Economics 101: the international financial institutions will not lend money to countries that cannot demonstrate they have the capability to repay the debt. – Artax.

“What nonsense is AC talking? Doesnโ€™t she know that you donโ€™t have to worry about paying down your debt; all you have to is find a new lender.” – TheOGazerts

“My policy I borrow have the means to pay back” – AC

49. Let’s not mix words. A country that is judged capable of repaying its debts. Must be prepared to have all of its assets stripped; and have the entirety of its land repossessed if it cannot pay off its debts, unless, it’s America which has the war machine infrastructure to steal a sovereign country’s mineral wealth and assets if and when it so desires.

50. American has the greenback which is used as a reserve currency for most countries in the world. Some say this state is increasingly coming under threat.