SCOTUS has the votes to overturn Roe vs Wade. Former President Donald Trump appointed 3 conservative justices to the Supreme Court of the United States which has given the SCOTUS a conservative leaning for the many years to come. Another example how political maneuverings affect the delivery of justice by the highest court in the USA (not uncommon to the USA). A leak of a draft opinion suggests SCOTUS will reverse Roe vs Wade, one of the biggest wedge issues ‘bubbling’ in the US public space; the right of a woman to have an abortion which the Roe vs Wade decision has protected for 50 years after SCOTUS issued a 7 to 2 decision in favour of Norma McCorvey 1973.

Length of video: 3 minutes 4 seconds

418 responses to “SCOTUS Exposed: Roe vs Wade”

1. Surprise, surprise! It’s all about control of women. Men, of course, get to run away, leaving women holding the baby.

In backward Republican states, there are already laws in place waiting for this decision. Not even pre-teens who have been raped by their fathers will be exempt. The life of the girl/woman is of no consequence.

So, what’s new?

“Freedom!” shout the hypocrites! But we know that this freedom is only meant for old, heterosexual, so-called Christian white men to do as they like and to make everybody else serve them.

What is Barbados’ legal position on abortion rights?

Legal or not, abortions are performed pretty much on demand by many doctors. Never heard of one prosecution.

I have always thought that I would prefer to be an aborted foetus than an unwanted child. Unwanted children present some of the biggest problems in society. They never get over being unwanted and are more prone to being abused throughout their mostly miserable lives.

But who wishes to be logical when they can be “idealistic”?

And where are the practically helpful black men who worry about black people becoming extinct because of abortion?

“Who help yuh buy a big guts horse doan help yuh feed it.”

And never was this more glaringly so than with Republicans in the USA!

Women need to have control over their own bodies because men generally do a terrible job of taking care of them.

Some disjointed thoughts from a thoroughly digusted woman.

2. US Supreme Court has become a joke just like the government against equality for all. White supremacy reigns…..

3. It is unfortunate the highest court in a country is perceived as too liberal or conservative instead of being able fairly dispense justice.

4. This activist has worked for years to undo Roe v. Wade. Here’s what she says should happen next

https://www.cnn.com/videos/tv/2022/05/03/amanpour-abortion-supreme-court-draft-opinion-carrie-severino.cnn

5. The thing to realise is that the overturning of Roe v Wade will not affect states where abortion is permissible.

Those states who want to make it illegal can without any problem.

Indeed, some have.

Women can still get an abortion by simply getting on a plane, bus or in a car and going to the state where it is permissible.

6. Fortunately sensible humans fight for rights to be protected and be universal. Not to be accessed based on geographical location.

7. The whole of America is now exposed as joke. Trump said he would only appoint justices who would overturn Roe v. Wade. The nominees lied at their hearings. Everyone knew they were lying.

Those who say we shouldn’t vote should now see that though some politicians may fail to make their lives better, some politicians do not fail to make their lives worse.

And that is why voting still matters.

8. Except that some people cannot afford to travel. Those who can least afford to raise a child are the same ones who can least afford to travel.

You do understand the term “dirt poor”, don’t you?

9. DavidMay 4, 2022 7:20 AM

Fortunately sensible humans fight for rights to be protected and be universal. Not to be accessed based on geographical location.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Obviously not because Europe is far less permissive of abortion than is the USA.

We would expect Europeans then to be berating USA and rejoicing at the prospect of the overturning of Roe v Wade!!

10. DonnaMay 4, 2022 7:26 AM

Except that some people cannot afford to travel. Those who can least afford to raise a child are the same ones who can least afford to travel.

You do understand the term “dirt poor”, don’t you?

The Biden Administration busses illegal immigrants all over the US for free.

11. Do you understand free?

12. You may have the last word.

13. Just now…
    This will be the very LEAST of the USA’s problems.
    Their donkey is in so much potter that this issue will not even be on the radar.

BTW what does it say about a high court judge who can be shown to have LIED at his job interview…?
    How the mighty have fallen!

14. This was leaked to affect the midterms. This position is wildly unpopular even in red states.

Unless the Republican tiefing machinery is firmly in place, they may have just shot themselves in the foot here.

Women do not wish to have their decisions made by old men. Women do want their young daughters raped and forced to carry the child of their rapist.

An actual rape may last minutes. This prolongs the invasion of privacy by nine months. What a horror! I can think of no greater humiliation than being forced to carry the nasty rapist’s child.

These Republican lawmakers and justices are primative beasts. Cave men, really.

This shows them to be so, without a doubt!

And bloody hypocrites of the “lowest” order!

We fight against all the “Demonic Democrat paedophiles” but….if they get your nine year old girl pregnant, she must bear their children!

15. As I understand it overturning Roe V Wade returns power to the electorate in the individual states.

Those states like New York for which unrestricted abortion is permissible will choose that path.

Those states like Mississippi which think abortion is only permissible after 15 weeks will choose that.

If a woman in Mississippi is 20 weeks pregnant and chooses to have an abortion, she just goes to New York.

It is all about freedom of choice.

16. Side note..
    I used to say “better here than there”. But 2016 and the years that followed were a rude awakening for me. The USA has gone crazy. Liars seeking high office. Manipulation of elections, voting districts and election officials. Decency and common sense have fled. I am also preparing to flee.

For certain, Barbados has problems. But I now prefer to take my chances with crooked politicians and incompetence than to face the wickedness and intolerance coming down the road. Trump was just the beginning. I fear worse is to come. Coming soon to a neighborhood near you …Theo.

It is funny, but I saw a Bajan in a next group saying what I used to say four years ago. Hopefully, he wakes up before the next and and a worse Trimp.

Unable to contribute further.

17. Don’t get distracted by the bright shiny object…

My concerns is what others laws can be reversed. Can gains just be wiped away.

Someone was talking about how difficult it was to amend the Constitution. The assumptions made when those limitations for amendment were applied no longer hold. When you have a majority who sees its power declining then friends and foes may join hands to preserve their hold on power.

Concerned about more than Roe vs Wade. What is next?

A good checkers/chess player is a few moves ahead of the current play.

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It does not matter what POSITIVES have or were legislated 200 years ago or recently…they are man-made laws and can be reversed at any stinking political whim and fancy..

the abortion rights decision of Roe v. Wade only lasted 49 years…it served its purpose for those who wanted that back then to make themselves look somewhat human, nothing to do with women’s rights becoming permanent.

nothing man-made is EVER written in stone, has and always will be self-serving shit…only around for as long as it benefits those who devise it…time to REJECT man-made anything….yall like to suck up to sub-humans and BEASTS too much…

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“My concerns is what others laws can be reversed. Can gains just be wiped away.”

now you got it…we were typing at the same time…

20. When you select partisan judges expect partisan results, did Uncle Thomas ever say that he was going to recuse himself if any case from Jan. 6 came to the SC after his wife was discovered to have sent texts to the Pres Chief of Staff urging him to fight the Election results? It took 58 years for the US Supreme Court to invalidate Plessy V Fergusson (separate but equal) it only took 50 years for it to strike down Roe v Wade. Alito wrote that Abortion is not mentioned in the US Constitution however the Declaration of Independence contains these words “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness” yet the US has never lived up to those ideals and the so called “founding fathers” owned slaves.

One other note the self- righteous Republican politicians e.g., Senator McConnell who said of the leak “this is a lawless act” and demands an investigation yet when a crowd egged on by a US President stormed the Capitol seeking to maim the representatives and overthrow the results of a fair election the same Republicans repeat ad infinitum “these are tourists who were demonstrating and got lost in the building an investigation is unnecessary”.

21. Those who say we shouldn’t vote should now see that though some politicians may fail to make their lives better, some politicians do not fail to make their lives worse.And that is why voting still matters.

IS THIS NOT WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THE USA UNDER BIDEN? LOL LOL
    IS IT NOT TRUE THAT THIS MOST EXCELENT POLITICIAN HAS MADE THE LIVES OF AMERICANS WORSE?

FOR EXAMPLE HAVING LIVED AT THE TEXAS -MEXICAN BORDER IN 2006 WHEN IT WAS BAD——ONE CAN IMAGINE HOW MUCH WORSE IT IS TODAY.

ONE USED TO ENJOY GOING TO NY AND TRAVELLING ON THE SUB WAY. I WOULD NOT DO THAT TODAY

THESE ARE JUST TWO ISSUES THAT ARE CLEAR EXAMPLES

THERE ARE MANY MANY MORE THAT ARE AFFECTING THE LIVES OF COUNTLESS OTHERS THAN THOSE WHO WANT TO LIKE KING HEROD OF OLD, SLAUGHTER THE INNOCENTS, SUCH AS RISING OIL AND GAS PRICES AND THE UNAVAILABILITY OF FOOD AND OTHER ESSENTIALS ON SUPERMARKET SHELVES

WHERE IS THE BALANCE?

YOU ALL ARE A BUNCH OF JOKERS

FOR THE LAST TWO YEARS, THERE HAS NOT BEEN ONE WORD ON THIS FORUM ABOUT THE SEVERAL INCESSANT ILLS AND EVILS IN THE USA IN THE PREVAILING SITUATION

NOW THAT THE FAILING FLAILING DEMOCRATS ARE FINDING ALL KINDS OF WAYS TO SALVAGE THIER SAD STATE THEY LEAK INFO ABOUT A DECISION ABOUT ROE V WADE ALL THE MORONS HERE BULL SHITTING

WHERE IS THE BALANCE?
    BUT CARRY ON SMARTLY
    YOU ARE GIVING ME MUCH MIRTH
    THANKS FOR THE MORNING MIRTH

NOW TEK DIS DUNG TOO CAUSE HEAD AINT BRAIN NOR IS COMMON SENSE AND LOGIC AND BALANCE
    LETS HAVE SOME MUSIC VIDEOS AND LET THE IDIOT THAT IS ALL OVER THE BLOG ALL DAY EVERY DAY EVERY YEAR COME IN NOW AND GIVE US SOME MORE SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP

22. TheO,

Many of my cousins, the siblings of my garden helper, are coming home too. They say America has gone totally crazy. His brother in England is also coming home. He says the same thing – England has gone crazy. Not one is at the age of retirement but they say that they can take it no more. We are simple people who enjoy the simple things in life. They garden. They fish. They will live quite comfortably on a reduced income.

Got another thirty-five year old lady born in England, mother also born in England and she is trying to get resident status here. Spends months at a time here in a house opposite me. She too says she cannot take England any longer.

Took you a while again but I knew you would get it eventually.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Politicians are SLAVES…..owned by corporations…as long as you understand that, makes things much easier for everything else to fall into place without long discussions/debates…

hope there is no disappointment…Pacha warned and warned.

24. RE When you select partisan judges expect partisan results
    WHEN ROE VS WADE WAS DECIDED 7-2 WAS IT NOT BY SELECTED PARTISAN JUDGES?
    JUST ASKING?

RE One other note the self- righteous Republican politicians e.g., Senator McConnell who said of the leak “this is a lawless act” and demands an investigation
    I DONT LIKE THE RINO MCCONNELL, BUT WAS THE LEAK LAWLESS OR NOT ……AND WILL IT NOT BE INVESTIGATED?

RE yet when a crowd egged on by a US President stormed the Capitol seeking to maim the representatives and overthrow the results of a fair election the same Republicans repeat ad infinitum “these are tourists who were demonstrating and got lost in the building an investigation is unnecessary”.
    IS IT NOT TRUE NOT MANY INNOCENT FOLK HAVE BEEN JAILED SINCE THEN WITHOUT A TRIAL BY THE BRANDON ADMINISTRATION. IS THIS NOT AMORAL AND UNETHICAL AND UNLAWFUL?
    WHERE IS THE BALANCE? JUST ASKING?.

25. John is being ridiculous, as usual. Yes, this ruling throws it back to the states. And your neanderthals will revert to cave man tactics.

You are suggesting that Democrats in other stats should bus all women and young girls who have been raped to blue states where they can be treated as humans because Republican lawmakers prefer that they be treated as less than.

Nice!

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

yes…the politicians in the Caribbean as well..

they are NOT their own people

they put on a really good show,

tell a LOT OF LIES, practice daily deceit, sleight of hand,

given freedom to commit CRIMES AGAINST THE PEOPLE……traitors…

.but at the end of the day, they are NOT WORTH SHIT….other than the ORDERS handed to them for which they have to COMPLY or face the consequences…

and this is what they aspire to be….lying ass, useless, mindless slaves to their masters and their job descriptions include working against the people…..there are riots everywhere that people are saying no more, they have had it up to here, and are RESISTING because of all of the above….

27. Steupse! What balance what? You call that balance? You need a new scale!

28. RE They say America has gone totally crazy. VERY TRUE
    England has gone crazy. ALSO VERY TRUE

THE WHOLE WORLD HAS GONE CRAZY TOUT MA BAGUY GONE CRAZY
    THE WHOLE WORLD IS NOW LED BY A SERIES OF ANTIOCHUS EPIPHANES EPIMANES
    THEY ARE CALLING OUT FOR A WORLD WIDE LEADER TO SOLVE ALL THIER PROBLEMS
    AND THEY WILL GET HIM SOON — HE IS CALLED BY MANY NAMES INCLUDING THE LAWLESS ONE.

CANT WE SEE HIS LAWLESS PREDECESSORS ALL AROUND TODAY?
    SWEET SWEET SWEET MAN TOO SWEET WHEN THE WORD IS FULFILLED. TOO SWEET.

29. RE You are suggesting that Democrats in other stats should bus all women and young girls who have been raped to blue states where they can be treated as humans because Republican lawmakers prefer that they be treated as less than.

IS IT NOT TRUE THAT BIDEN IS BUSSING ILLEGALS ALL OVER THE STATES……..AND THAT MANY OF THEM ARE MURDERING AND RAPING?
    You call that balance? YES THAT IS BIDEN BALANCE. THAT IS LEFT WING BALANCE. THAT IS ILLOGICAL BALANCE . THAT IS OFF BALANCE, UH LIE.
    ROCKING AND MOCKING TOO SWEET DOAH. LOL

30. How exactly is Biden responsible for a rise in crime in NY?

Outside of the war in Ukraine which is responsible for some of the inflation, how exactly is Biden the direct cause of inflation? American foreign policy is generally the same whether Republican or Democrat.

I never liked Joe Biden really but you are ridiculous.

31. THEO
    RE My concerns is what others laws can be reversed. Can gains just be wiped away.
    OF COURSE IT SEEMS THAT THEY CAN
    HAS BIDEN NOT WIPED AWAY ALL THE GAINS OF THE LAST USA ADMINISTRATION?

RE When you have a majority who sees its power declining then friends and foes may join hands to preserve their hold on power.
    IS THIS NOT WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THE USA UNDER THE CORRUPT BRANDON ADMIN.

HOW LONG DOES ILL GOTTEN GAINS LAST?

BILLIE JEAM KING HAS WELL SAID ” YOU HAVE NOT REALLY BROKEN UNLESS YOU CAN HOLD YOUR OWN SERVICE”
    WELL BIDEN ET AL THIEF AND BREAK BUT IT SEEMS THAT THEY JUST CANT HOLD.
    IT IS EXTREMELY HILARIOUS.

32. Many of them are murdering and raping? I’m sure there are a few rapists among them, there always will be, among European, Australian and Canadian immigrants as well. Where are your stats to show higher incidence among these particular people?????

I laugh too at the whole racist hog stuck in your throat!

Nonsense!

33. Anyway, I am leaving Looneytown now for the right-wing extremist loonies. No sense spending any more time there arguing. I tire of the crazy.

34. How exactly is Biden responsible for a rise in crime in NY?
    how exactly is Biden the direct cause of inflation?
    HE IS NOT MY FRIEND
    ALL THIS IS DUE TO TRUMP….UH LIE?
    JUST AS IT IS SAID THE DEVIL MADE ME DO IT, SO TOO BIDEN IS SAYING THAT TRUMP MADE HIM DO THE RUBBISH HE IS DOING. LOL LOL
    BUT ACTUALLY IT IS OBAMA THAT MEKING HIM DO IT……..OBAMA IS STILL BIDEN BOSS
    ANTIOCHUS IV EPIMANES IN THE WHITE HOUSE
    AND BARE MIRTH IN DE BU RUM SHOP HOUSE UH LIE

BIDEN BREAK BUT HE CANT HOLD

IT WAS BOUND TO HAPPEN

NOW DE FELLAS GWINE WADE INTO ROE
    PUN INTENDED TOO SWEET DOAH UH LUV UM
    MAN I AM A POET
    BUT I DIDN’T KNOW IT
    TOO SWEET DOAH UH LUV UM

35. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Donna
    Killing unborn babies without a valid medical reason i.e. serious risk to mother’s life is wrong, period. I know a mother that had a boy because she realised she was pregnant too late to abort and that boy turned man is now the best thing in her life. Can you look that man in the face and tell him he has no right to be alive. Heck, you yourself might not be here if abortion was as available as it is now when you parents conceived you.

Too many women want sexual gratification without the consequences and too many men want sex without the responsibility. My body my choice should mean I don’t want a man inside me that can’t be a father. If you want my body, my choice, it must be universal and also apply to experimental vaccines and any other medical treatments too. Too many people want to have their cake and eat it too.

All that is required is for states to provide free services to
    1) To adopt babies from pregnancies that are the product of teen sex, rape, sexual slavery, etc.
    2) For women addicted to sex and don’t want children, get your tubes tied.

36. William Skinner Avatar

Anybody body who feels there is anything new or surprising in America has been asleep for very, very long time.If it takes the overturn of Roe vs Wade to wake them up; they should go straight back to sleep.

37. DonnaMay 4, 2022 7:22 AM

The whole of America is now exposed as joke

There is legally no such entity as America.

America is a colloquialism.

When you understand that the legal entity/entities to which you refer is/are THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA you will understand the wisdom of the judgment.

Each of the States is effectively a separate country with its own peculiar laws and its Legislature elected by its voters.

When a woman in say Mississipi finds a doctor who will break the law and give her an abortion or if she does it herself after 15 weeks and a Court in Mississippi applies its law, all she and/or the doctor have to do is take the matter to the Supreme Court and achieve a favourable verdict.

The Supreme Court cannot usurp the power of an individual state whose electors have elected its Legislature on the basis that 15 weeks is the limit they will tolerate.

After all, not a single Judge of the Supreme Court is elected, they are all appointed.

They are also all sworn to uphold the Constitution which allows States to have their own laws, made by their own Legislatures ELECTED by their own voters.

This is Common Sense.

38. If you live in Mississippi and don’t like its laws, move to New York or California or whichever state has laws with which you agree.

That is why if the leak won’t work if it is meant to switch voters to the Democrats in the Midterms in various states.

Those voters have already spoken and elected a Legislature which has enacted laws with which they are pleased.

39. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Donna May 4, 2022 9:21 AM

What is looney is how this straightforward moral issue has been made into a political football to divide people to garner votes with stupid catchphrases like My Body, My Choice.

But when it comes up against freedom of medical information and medical choice that affects the bottom line of the pharmaceutical companies contributing to political campaigns, My Body, My Choice suddenly disappears and are replaced by phrases like Take one for the Team.

Don’t fall into the Hail Mary political trap to try to stave off a Democratic drubbing come November.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….it only came full circle….as it was bound to..

wait until the rest starts trickling down, then they will have something to chew on while crying…

41. So what if I weren’t here? So what if any of us weren’t here?

Why MUST we be here? Who decided that nothing is more important than being here. I am more concerned with how we fare after we have no choice in the matter.

Aborting fully formed and FEELING unborn babies is wrong because it causes suffering.

NO HARM DONE IN OTHER CASES.

NOW, you climb up on some lame high horse talking about wanting sexual gratification without responsibility and behave as though the sex urge is not one of the strongest urges known to humans.

Steupse! People lose control! I bet we all have a few times.

But what I find missing from your “lofty” position, apart from a womb that is, is the outrage that a young girl who was raped should be forced to carry the rapist’s baby!

And if Republicans had their way, they xwould provide no health care before or after the birth of the child and no housing, food, or daycare. They pretend to care about right and wrong but they don’t really. Because if these so-called evangelical Christians read their Bibles with two eyes, they would care about how the child fares after it is born.

Bloody hypocrites! You too!

In short, this has nothing to do with anything other than control. All religions are about control, especially control of women.

Steupse!

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

case in point, when political slaves get summoned by their masters, can only say…we will be there…and ask…. what time is convenient for you?…

getting tied up when looking to politicians for anything other than FAILURES…cause the next round will be coming at those who believe that politicians and dirty politics are the answer to everything…

“by TONY BEST PRIME MINISTER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY is set to meet with key executives of three of the world’s leading financial institutions – the World Bank, International Monetary Fund (IMF) and Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) – for a series of crucial talks in Washington spread over three days.”

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

“As I understand it overturning Roe V Wade returns power to the electorate in the individual states”
    @John….this is how you want to understand it. And it gets MIS-labelled as Freedom? TRUE freedom is the right to choose? Not the right to choose which state.
    Why not return it to the townships, cities, counties and municipalities if you wish to ‘return power to the electorate’.

44. Supreme Court will investigate leaked draft of abortion opinion – The Washington Post

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2022/05/03/supreme-court-leak-investigation-abortion-roe-wade/

45. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

this event is sad to say “par for the course” the current course the USA democracy finds itself on. It has always boggled my mind how the highest court of the land in this case the USA has a bias or leaning. Is not the whole idea behind the legal system; the court/judicial system; the justice system a sense that it is fair, unbiased, balanced, impregnatable to influence either for or against, and in the USA to uphold the constitution that governs all the human activity in the republic?

This tells me that we have been fed a fair (amount or nuff) hog-wash about the US Supreme court. It tells me that the shining beacon on the hill that many other democracies look up to, especially its justice system is a farce, or becoming such. The banana/plantain has started to peel and it will eventually expose the fruit. And we know that after a while the color of the edible parts turns dark/black and not something you look to kindly upon. The scale of justice is handicapped just like some jockeys are on race day, the question now remains in whose favor is the handicap for

46. NorthernObserverMay 4, 2022 10:37 AM

Why not return it to the townships, cities, counties and municipalities if you wish to ‘return power to the electorate’.

Because it is not the United townships of America it is the United States of America.

Each state is made up of its own townships, cities and municipalities and the voters from all in aggregate determine the character of their state.

Our “parallel” would be the electoral districts in the carious constituencies that elect a member of the House of Assembly.