The decision by Prime Minister Mia Mottley to reverse the controversial appointment of 18 year old Khaleel Kothdiwala is unfortunate. It was evident from exchanges in the last session of the Upper House the amendment to the Constitution to allow Khaleel’s sitting would not have garnered support from independent senators.

Immediately after the January 19, 2022 general election Prime Minister Mottley announced Kothdiwala’s as a BLP nominee for the Senate with the justification she was fulfilling an election promise to bring the youth into “the centre of governance and national determination…if you are old enough to vote then you must be old enough to serve”. All who have followed politics in Barbados are patently aware Khaleel’s politics is heavily influenced from Roebuck Street – and it is right to practice the politics of his choice.

The prime minister became swell headed by a second 30 to zero victory in the last general election and took for granted Khaleel’s appointment would have been rubber stamped by the Senate. Lest we forget, the Senate is currently involved indirectly in a fight for its legitimacy. Although the constitutional motion brought by former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite was tossed out by Justice Cicely Chase, legal counsel Garth Patterson signaled appeal documents will be filed this week to challenge the Upper Chamber doing business with 18 appointed Senators instead of 21.

From comments posted to BU and aired in other fora, those opposed to the appointment of Khaleel took umbrage to the lack of national consultation about the unprecedented decision to add an 18 year old BLP supporter to the Senate to represent youth matters. Bear in mind Mottley- also in controversial and contentious circumstances- transitioned Barbados to a Republic in November 2021. The dissenting cry then was – why not complete an exercise of national consensus to determine a new constitution to make the process to a republic comprehensive.

At the root of the uncertainty muddying the governance process is an election result that rejected opposition candidates AND the unwillingness of elected members of parliament to cross the floor to manufacture an opposition. This is interesting against the rumour Mottley called a snap general election to quell a political mutiny.  

There is also the contention that President Sandra Mason is partly responsible by her refusal to appoint two apposition Senators given the outcome of the general election. Had she appointed two Opposition Senators and Mottley a standin for Kothdiwala there would possibly have been no legal challenge brought and Mottley would have avoided the political embarrassment of having to withdraw Khaleel’s appointment.

It is what it is as the popular saying goes. We wait to endure the Court Appeal process and possible request for leave to appeal to the CCJ. In the meantime there is the potential lawmaking in parliament will be disrupted if Justice Chase decision is overturned.

At a time the country is battling to manage economic challenges acerbated by the pandemic we have become mired in process because of off flippant decision making. It is ironic the Upper House that is currently under challenge in the Barbados courts is responsible for Mottley’s decision to remove Kothdiwala. 

We are living in interesting times.

485 responses to “Mottley’s Decision Rejected”

1. BTW are you part of the Gov’t’s coterie that believes the Independent Senators should rubber stamp all the Gov’t’s proposals?

It appears my cursor jumped into Sargeant’s text and inserted a few letters. Auto-correct was removing one from his name. We live in exciting times.

2. “Interestingly, Drakes, an Opposition senator in the previous Parliament, but now an Independent, warned Government last Friday that amending the Constitution to lower the age for people to be elected to the House could be exposing them to matters they might not be mature enough to handle.
    She said there were things in the political realm for which intellect alone could not prepare a person at such an impressionable age.
    “I am in no way standing here saying that an 18-year-old should not be in the Senate, that has my full support. I, however, have my reservation about an 18-year-old being able to sit as an elected member of the House of Assembly,” Drakes adde”

Sorry, but …
    blah blah blah blah
    that’s how the white man speaks spoke spake
    dash away the damned constitution
    revolution

3. “Outliers in a country of morons, cause otherwise the damn place would be like Sodom and Gomorrah.”

Barbados should be like Jamaica

Rastaman Live Up

4. TheOGazertsMarch 21, 2022 7:19 AM

It happened that I saw his picture just before I saw the post as a senator.

It is natural that it would be mentioned.

I googled and found that he repaid the guy the next day. Given the flavor of lawyer in the news, I would remove him from the list
    Xxxxxxx

Also Google and u would read that Carrington also repaid his client and his name remains on BU most Wanted List ####lawyers in the news
    As to your concern for Nichols removal lol
    Can’t see that happening unless David is ready to bite off more than he can chew
    If one go all go

Await David excuse

5. Ooh Child
    Black folks have always recognised and promoted talent in their children
    they don’t discriminate holding them down like white folks who were their masters
    but we know Bajans are brain damaged from their tribulations of slavery emasculation

Ooh child Things are gonna get easier Ooh child Things’ll get brighter Ooh child Things are gonna get easier Ooh child Things’ll get brighter Some day, yeah We’ll put it together and we’ll get it undone Some day When your head is much lighter Some day, yeah We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun Some day When the world is much brighter Ooh child Things are gonna be easier Ooh child Things’ll be brighter Ooh child Things are gonna be easier Ooh child Things’ll be brighter Some day, yeah We’ll put it together and we’ll get it undone Some day When your head is much lighter Some day, yeah We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun Some day When the world is much brighter Some day, some day, some day, some day yeah We’ll put it together and we’ll get it undone Some day When your head is much lighter Some day, yeah We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun Some day When the world is much brighter Ooh child Things are gonna get easier Ooh child Things’ll get brighter Ooh child Things are gonna get easier Ooh child Things’ll get brighter (Right now) Oh yeah (Right now) Oh baby (Right now) and you just wait and see how things are gonna be (Right now) if you just wait and see how things are gonna be (Right now) if you just wait and wait and see

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“When we have reached the point where we listen to George Belle and Peter Wickham for analysis of the actions of our Senate it MUST surely be clear that Buhbadus is VERY NEAR to a nadir.
    Shiite man!!”

“illiteratti” PERSONIFIED/customized….thanks Piece, wherever you are…

“Outliers in a country of morons, cause otherwise the damn place would be like Sodom and Gomorrah.”

somehow they IGNORE that part of their bible, but quite offay with mostly everything else, ah wonder why..

.except for:

though shall NOT STEAL
    though shall NOT COVET’
    though shall NOT BEAR FALSE WITNESS
    though shall NOT ENVY, JEALOUSY….the whole coterie of SEVEN DEADLY SINS

and all the other parts about greed, treachery etc…that they ALL JUMP OVER because in their distorted minds, to ignore it is all well and good as long as they are the ones committing those SINS…

but RA, not them, is in control…..

7. As we know the mixed race “Kothdiwala’s” Asian name from the union between his Brown Daddy and Black Mummy that made him born triggered all the black and mixed white/black racists in DLP Senate and Bu and they started talking round the houses like they do

the Brown Home Boy becoming a man and be given a Senate Seat for his contributions would have sent out a strong message that you don’t have to be black or white in the Bajan Black and White Minstrel Show and people are promoted fairly and squarely on merit and Government is run by meritocracy or the holding of power by people selected according to merit, instead of it’s not what you know but who you know incestuous relationships of backward backwaters of inbreeding.

8. 1 Neigong
    Internal Arts

When planning a future for bigger better and brighter things as a way of living forwards ever backwards never
    Senate cannot be energy gates to block movement and cause stagnation as that is the root of all problems
    The cultivation of energy in good practice should be learned so that it can be applied to all aspects of life
    Otherwise Barbados will live in the prison of emotional stagnation and will never grow to potential and will always be a restricted and contracted society

9. @David

Yes, we may want to argue a similarity lie in the fact that both lawyers REPAID what they owed.

However, the circumstances that led to Nicholls and Carrington being highlighted in the news ‘in the first place,’ and how the funds were repaid are SIGNIFICANTLY DIFFERENT.

Whereas it was reported lawyer Gregory Nicholls BORROWED money from a constituent and, after much ‘hullabaloo,’ REPAID him the next day,………

……….. QUEEN’S COUNSEL and practising attorney-at-law Michael Carrington, who was also Speaker of the House of Assembly, was ORDERED by the High Court to SURRENDER nearly a quarter-million dollars to John Griffiths, funds RECEIVED and WITHHELD for OVER TWO YEARS, from the SALE of a property as well as VARIOUS BANK DEPOSITS, while refusing to respond to the gentleman’s several requests for payment.

“Justice Jacqueline Cornelius ruled that Carrington render an account of all sums belonging to the particular estate within 28 days. He was also ordered to “pay interest at the rate of per annum,” until the entire sum was paid, and legal costs of over $7,700 incurred by Griffiths.”

As such, Michael Carrington will always be remembered in the annals of history as another crooked who withheld his client’s property.

10. @TheOGazerts

Your suggestion is accepted.

11. I don’t care an illegality is an illegality
    Both men showed up.after noises were made
    What kind of defense is that anyway
    Artax go back on yuh fence too early to fly off the fence and land in muddy waters
    The stink is not yours to defend
    The PM had plenty to say about illegality in the past ten years
    Now she packs on a baggage that has a stench of illegal ties attached and placed the complete baggage in the House of Parliament
    Go figure that part out
    It is what it is! sometimes it is better to leave well along than to get stuck in muddy water

12. @Artax

Correct and in a reply to TheO Nicholls will be removed.

13. DavidMarch 21, 2022 9:23 AM

@TheOGazerts

Your suggestion is accepted.

Xxx
    Now watch the stinking politics attached and at play
    David Thompson was never brought before a court of law
    Of interest that many years of having no conviction on things said illegal
    Never brought to the court attention even as an accessory to illegal activities as name mentioned
    Thompson name is still active on BU
    For sole purpose of salacious unproven slander
    Xxxxc
    Meanwhile govt finds a has been low life named character whose name was associated with illegal actions and behavior plants him as a replacement in the House of Assembly
    David BU decides no problem
    He is good enough for govt he is good enough for BU
    Said and done
    Lol crazy

14. David Thompson was a collaborator in the CLICO scam. Unfortunately he died before he was held to account. Of this the blogmaster is certain.

15. I Ching
    Book of Change

䷃ – The I Ching as a Tool for Wisdom – Scholar Sage Short

Should I strive for enlightenment?

should barbados strive for enlightenment
    The coins have been tossed…
    Yin (New)
    Yang (Old)
    Yin (New)
    Yang (New)
    Yin (New)
    Yin (New)

Present

Limping

Future

Humbling

The present is embodied in Hexagram 39 - Chien (Obstruction): Advantage will be found in the southwest, and the contrary in the northeast. It will be advantageous to meet with the great man. With firmness and correctness, there will be good fortune.
    The fifth line, undivided, shows its subject struggling with the greatest difficulties, while friends are coming to help him.
    The situation is evolving slowly, and Yin (the passive feminine force) is gaining ground.

Yin (New)
    Yin (New)
    Yin (New)
    Yang (New)
    Yin (New)
    Yin (New)
    The future is embodied in Hexagram 15 – Ch’ien (Modesty): There is progress and success. The superior man, being humble, will have a good issue to his undertakings.
    The things most apparent, those above and in front, are embodied by the upper trigram K’an (Water), which is transforming into K’un (Earth). As part of this process, danger and the unknown are giving way to docility and receptivity.
    The things least apparent, those below and behind, are embodied by the lower trigram Ken (Mountain), which represents stillness and obstruction.

16. Hmmmm…..

I did not know it was ILLEGAL to BORROW money in Barbados.

And, that borrowing funds and withholding funds are BOTH CATEGORIZED and RECOGNIZED as ILLEGALITIES under the Laws of Barbados.

Okay, I’m sorry. Perhaps I definitely “flew off the fence too early.”

17. @ David

Interestingly, the DLP supporters always remind BU about the time when David Thompson displayed a copy of a returned CLICO cheque for $75,000 that was originally issued to Owen Arthur for the BLP, which he deposited to his personal bank account.

Arthur was likewise “Never brought to the court attention even as an accessory to illegal activities as name mentioned,” yet, he was vilified by the DEMS for stealing.

Same difference?

18. This is an excellent exercise routine for the Senate Opposition to practice to eliminate their residual feces

19. Critical Analyzer Avatar

I have not followed any of the senate debate but I would like to put forward a different take on withdrawing the constitutional amendment.

I am sure they could have found 2 independent senators to support the amendment to reach the 2/3 if they were so inclined. Could the real reason not be to put a lash in the DLP for the Adriel Bathwhaite’s continued court case by way of claiming there was not enough support for the 18 year old change since this is lumped in with the change to take away appointing the two opposition senators posts from the President.

20. @ Artax
    “I did not know it was ILLEGAL to BORROW money in Barbados.”
    ~~~~~~~
    Bushie always thought that he was in the list because of the REASON he borrowed the funds….

21. Never mind
    None of them mentioned are sitting in Parliament for obvious reason
    On the other side of the coin
    Neither OSA or Thompson were selected or appointed by a PM to sit in Parliament when illegal allegations were pressed against them
    This PM has set precedents which in the long run would hurt rather than help

22. @AC
    Your loyal supporter is surprised that you cannot see a difference in the behavior of the two men.

Everything should not be seen through the eyes of my party/not my party.

—x–

I did not take his participation in the case about senators as a lean to one side but saw it as that of a lawyer. It could be both, but it was legal work… his profession.

23. Theo
    I have no problem with govt asking him to defend their case
    However when it comes to how far such person interest should be engaged in the handling of managing Barbados affairs
    The character of the person should be examined fully with uttermost caution especially when issues are tilted close to immoral actions or behavior against the person

24. Some here sounds very shady
    Hate to say trust seems to take on a life of its own thinking doubt very much if Nicholls could get a job as a bank attendant outside of Barbados
    Was his record after being brought before court cleared of charges

25. BU headline screams…..Mottley’s Decision Rejected.

However, what really was Mottley’s Decision ?

Was it right to ‘ tack on ‘ the issue with the 2 opposition senators with amendment to the Constitution to have an 18 yr old sit in the Senate ?

Was it right to have included in the said Constitutional amendment – words referring to political parties …..when the Constitution does recognise – political parties ?

The truth will eventually be – accepted – in this matter

Until then…let the BLPites continue to bash the Independent Senators !

David of BU….continue with your drum roll

26. Does not recognise political parties

27. “Was it right to have included in the said Constitutional amendment – words referring to political parties …..when the Constitution does recognise – political parties ?

The truth will eventually be – accepted – in this matter

Until then…let the BLPites continue to bash the Independent Senators !

David of BU….continue with your drum roll”

The 18 year old was a required amendment to accommodate the youth / khaleel in the house
    The 2 vacant opposition seats require an amendment to the old crown constitution to accommodate 2 Bums on vacnat seats due to DLP trashing

Riddimwise we speacialise
    I man beat the drum
    for the Bajan hearts

Ayube rhythm

28. Bush Tea March 21, 2022 10:42 AM #: “Bushie always thought that he was in the list because of the REASON he borrowed the funds….”

@ Bush Tea

And, I thought Nicholls was on the list because, SIMILARLY to the other lawyers listed, his issue was one involving ‘lawyer and missing money.’

……… LAWYERS – MONEY = LAW COURTS

The difference with him being that, according to Court documents, he did not HONOUR a verbal agreement to repay the money in two weeks and a civil suit was filed against him as a result.

Remember, those lawyers on BU’s list either had criminal charges or civil law suits filed against them for ‘withholding’ their clients’ funds and NOT the “REASON” WHY the funds were initially withheld.

I was reading an ongoing case involving a lawyer named Lynch stealing money from one Arthur Thomas.
    Lynch essentially admitted one of the “REASONS” why he was unable to account for some of the missing money was that he “helped a lot of people.”

Totally irrelevant.

But, as you are aware, I’m usually wrong.

29. “David Thompson was a collaborator in the CLICO scam. Unfortunately he died before he was held to account. Of this the blogmaster is certain.”

people in 3rd world developing countries are corrupt as fuck to build bigger bank

I like PM Mia as she is anti-corruption and not working the angles like DLP clowns

30. Instead of amending the constitution to accommodate the Youthman

Mia should try a different tack ask for Senate to grant a dispensation like the Pope and leave the regressive law in place

31. I’m wondering what would prevent Nicholls from getting a job as even a bank manager outside of Barbados?

Firstly, he did not do anything that one could reasonably deem to be immoral, such as wilfully withholding his client’s property for over two years and refused to respond to numerous requests for payment.

And, secondly, neither was he involved in an illegal activity that warranted criminal charges being filed against him nor he was “brought before court (to be) cleared of charges.”

But, the problem with this issue lies in the fact that “some here sounds very shady” because they continue to PURPOSELY equate Nicholls’ situation with that of Carrington, mainly for the usual political reasons, while demonstrating their INABILITY to UNDERSTAND the DIFFERENCES between civil and criminal law suits.

Anyhow, won’t waste anymore time revisiting these old issues.

32. From some responses here I am convinced
    That some of yuh all are shady
    If a person have to seek court resolution on monies lent to a Borrower the reflection on the borrowers character comes into question such as trustworthiness
    Simple done

33. I don’t care how any one rejects my position
    Good governance commands ethical standards
    A moral component missing in this appointment

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    My condolences. I tend to skim and missed your post.

35. @ NorthernObserver

Thanks for offering your condolences.

36. William Skinner Avatar

For donkey years , we have been saying that the senate is useless and needs to be dumped.
    In recent times due mainly to the contributions of Caswell and absolutely brilliant efforts by Drakes , it started to look and act productive.
    We now have a situation where it derailed the so-called integrity legislation and has now incurred the wrath of the Mottley cult because it mashed up her bogus attempt to put one of her political pit bulls in the chamber along with two of her political siblings from the other decadent half of the corrupt Duopoly’.
    I thought that all those who shout : give us transparency , checks and balances , would have been supportive of the now active senate.
    It takes a pure bred idiot to believe that Mottley was putting Mr. Kothdiwala there to “ represent “ the youth. That was a deceptive move to launch his political career on the biggest stage. Nothing more.
    Hypocrites !

37. @William

A reality is that politicians will always be political to gain advantage. What we want is for the citizenry to be wise enough to be sufficiently active in the democracy to be able to hold them accountable. We will not win at every turn but we must aspire to commit to our civic responsibilities.

38. Some on this blog are downright nasty eh but come here and preach morality. Angela Cox comments all over Facebook yet comes to BU and wrongfully accuses a man of illegality. He should put you in court.

39. Dr.Shantal Munro-Knight.🔥🔥🔥

40. Last/last

On one hand, they’re questioning Gregory Nicholls’ appointment to the Senate, conveniently ‘punctuated’ with words and statements such as “trustworthiness,”
    “character,” “good governance commands ethical standards” and a “missing moral component”…………

……….but, ‘on the other hand,’ those words were either PURPOSELY or CONVENIENTLY IGNORED when they STOUTLY DEFENDED Carrington withholding Griffiths’ property…….. as well as former PM Stuart’s DECISION to ALLOW him to REMAIN Speaker of the House.

Likewise, “if a person had to seek court resolution on monies withheld by his lawyer, then, surely the reflection on the lawyer’s character comes into question such as trustworthiness.”

“SHADY,” hypocritical people indeed.

41. Cuss me all want the bottom of the basket that is critical to guide good governance has fell out
    Carry on smartly
    One day coming soon yuh reap what yuh sow
    Shameless bunch

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I thought that all those who shout : give us transparency , checks and balances , would have been supportive of the now active senate.”

you know that is empty talk…along with the favorite….performing….”civic services”.

….DECADES of no effective changes….and years and years of social media…AND STILL NO CHANGES…what does that tell you William…..that’s why all the important information i have, getting DAILY, goes directly into my books and magazine…..where people can read, understand and make their personal and individual changes to SAVE THEMSELVES…as this is going to get MUCH WORSE…….there is NO BETTER forthcoming in a corrupt. dis-organized, disenfranchising to BLACK PEOPLE ONLY system enabled and condoned by those who say one thing and practice something else right in front of us…….since mindsets will remain distorted and negative…we can only save the young..

information is cascading and still, no one seems concerned….i just watch it these days and smile..

43. William Skinner Avatar

This has been your mantra but every time the same citizens question any decision by this administration, people come here with a lot of hypocritical, prosecutorial nonsense.
    It’s obvious that some of us believe that once we had gotten rid of Stuart and Company, that whatever this crowd does must be acceptable and endorsed by all and sundry.

44. @William

Some will agree and others will not. Such is life.

45. WS
    You duz mek me laugh. A real 🦕.🤣

46. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Some of them are just shameless or think people are idiots.

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ Enuff
    I’m always happy to bring you mirth. Anything to make you comfortable. I used to raise pigs. Treated them good for a few months and then………….

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Leave them….won’t want to spoil their fantasies or stop their slave mindedness……let them carry on smartly, the hardest thing is to know, and we found out exactly who and what they are, so we can move forward accordingly..

.they were left behind years and years ago, they only just recently found out, so there is no getting out of this for them, they just don’t know certain things yet……..stuck, right where they always wanted to be………all i can say is bonne chance to them;….

William….with all that has been thrown at them and still they can’t see….what else to do but laugh…

49. On this item, the little train that can needs to just stop going. This needs to be moved off of the B vs D burner.

If I thought it was an issue or that HONEST points could be made, I would be joining you. But when I saw his name and started to Google, I saw that this could happen to anyone. He had the misfortune of being a ‘high profile’ person with a reputation to protect.

Get off of Lazarus and find a next horse.
    Unable to see the poetry/poem😃

50. Good debate by many of the senators.