The decision by Prime Minister Mia Mottley to reverse the controversial appointment of 18 year old Khaleel Kothdiwala is unfortunate. It was evident from exchanges in the last session of the Upper House the amendment to the Constitution to allow Khaleel’s sitting would not have garnered support from independent senators.

Immediately after the January 19, 2022 general election Prime Minister Mottley announced Kothdiwala’s as a BLP nominee for the Senate with the justification she was fulfilling an election promise to bring the youth into “the centre of governance and national determination…if you are old enough to vote then you must be old enough to serve”. All who have followed politics in Barbados are patently aware Khaleel’s politics is heavily influenced from Roebuck Street – and it is right to practice the politics of his choice.

The prime minister became swell headed by a second 30 to zero victory in the last general election and took for granted Khaleel’s appointment would have been rubber stamped by the Senate. Lest we forget, the Senate is currently involved indirectly in a fight for its legitimacy. Although the constitutional motion brought by former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite was tossed out by Justice Cicely Chase, legal counsel Garth Patterson signaled appeal documents will be filed this week to challenge the Upper Chamber doing business with 18 appointed Senators instead of 21.

From comments posted to BU and aired in other fora, those opposed to the appointment of Khaleel took umbrage to the lack of national consultation about the unprecedented decision to add an 18 year old BLP supporter to the Senate to represent youth matters. Bear in mind Mottley- also in controversial and contentious circumstances- transitioned Barbados to a Republic in November 2021. The dissenting cry then was – why not complete an exercise of national consensus to determine a new constitution to make the process to a republic comprehensive.

At the root of the uncertainty muddying the governance process is an election result that rejected opposition candidates AND the unwillingness of elected members of parliament to cross the floor to manufacture an opposition. This is interesting against the rumour Mottley called a snap general election to quell a political mutiny.  

There is also the contention that President Sandra Mason is partly responsible by her refusal to appoint two apposition Senators given the outcome of the general election. Had she appointed two Opposition Senators and Mottley a standin for Kothdiwala there would possibly have been no legal challenge brought and Mottley would have avoided the political embarrassment of having to withdraw Khaleel’s appointment.

It is what it is as the popular saying goes. We wait to endure the Court Appeal process and possible request for leave to appeal to the CCJ. In the meantime there is the potential lawmaking in parliament will be disrupted if Justice Chase decision is overturned.

At a time the country is battling to manage economic challenges acerbated by the pandemic we have become mired in process because of off flippant decision making. It is ironic the Upper House that is currently under challenge in the Barbados courts is responsible for Mottley’s decision to remove Kothdiwala. 

We are living in interesting times.

485 responses to “Mottley’s Decision Rejected”

1. ” “In the interim, she announced that Kothdiwala has been invited to be an honorary member of the Barbados Labour Party’s parliamentary party” What does that mean? Does that mean that he will be able to partake in private meetings of the BLP’s parliamentary group? If members of parliament take an oath of office with respect to their activities and deliberations can an outsider who is not party to the oath join them in any meetings relating to the activities of the H of A?”

Governments and Parties hire advisers for any purpose, his input into political matters from a youth’s perspective can still be used as counsel. As a schoolboy he had a legal case about exams. As an outspoken student advocate, Khaleel Kothdiwala warned the CXC examination body they would face legal action as a result of bad grades fiasco and then won his lawsuit.

Under Sixteen [Rock And Come In]

2. The statement from the PMO is profoundly misleading. It says that the amendments would not get through the Senate because Independent Senators opposed the appointment of an 18 year old to that body, but that is NOT what the Independent Senators said.
    The Senate was asked to make TWO amendments to the constitution. To lower the age for appointment to the Senate and to change the way that 2 Senators are appointed when there is no official opposition in the Lower House.

ALL of the independent Senators who spoke asked a version of the following question– why are they being rushed to push through these amendments when the PM had promised that there would be a comprehensive Constitutional Commission early in 2022?. They expressed significant reservations about making more piecemeal change to the Constitution Instead of more considered reform when a Constitutional Commission and a Chair of that Commission, has already been announced.

With the exception of Crystal Drakes, none of the other independent Senators who spoke (Boyce, Rogers, Maynard and Nurse) had reservations about including 18 year olds, and Drakes only opposed them being in the Lower House, not in the Senate. But they expressed strong reservations about the changes to the appointment of the two opposition Senators, since the Constitution as is currently gives the President that authority, but the amendment would, in fact, curtail the powers of the President in this respect.

3. The statement from the PMO is profoundly misleading. It says that the amendments would not get through the Senate because Independent Senators opposed the appointment of an 18 year old to that body, but that is NOT what the Independent Senators said.
    The Senate was asked to make TWO amendments to the constitution. To lower the age for appointment to the Senate and to change the way that 2 Senators are appointed when there is no official opposition in the Lower House.

ALL of the independent Senators who spoke asked a version of the following question– why are they being rushed to push through these amendments when the PM had promised that there would be a comprehensive Constitutional Commission early in 2022?. They expressed significant reservations about making more piecemeal change to the Constitution Instead of more considered reform when a Constitutional Commission and a Chair of that Commission, has already been announced.

With the exception of Crystal Drakes, none of the other independent Senators who spoke (Boyce, Rogers, Maynard and Nurse) had reservations about including 18 year olds, and Drakes only opposed them being in the Lower House, not in the Senate. But they expressed strong reservations about the changes to the appointment of the two opposition Senators, since the Constitution as is currently gives the President that authority, but the amendment would, in fact, curtail the powers of the President in this respect.

4. Who is going to stop them now
    The Congo man is coming
    We pray daily
    Jah jah
    Hey Youthman
    I’m Telling You
    Your rights for you
    Judgement on the land
    You got to understand

5. Silly Johnny, give it a rest, nuh!

6. (1) The Senate shall consist of twenty-one persons who,
    being qualified for appointment as Senators in accordance with
    the provisions of this Constitution, have been so appointed in
    accordance with the provisions of this section.
    (2) Twelve Senators shall be appointed by the GovernorGeneral, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime
    Minister, by instrument under the Public Seal.
    (3) Two Senators shall be appointed by the GovernorGeneral, acting in accordance with the advice of the Leader of
    the Opposition, by instrument under the Public Seal.
    (4) Seven Senators shall be appointed by the GovernorGeneral, acting in his discretion, by instrument under the
    Public Seal, to represent religious, economic or social interests
    or such other interests as the Governor-General considers ought
    to be represented:
    Provided that before appointing any person under this
    subsection the Governor-General shall consult such persons as,
    in his discretion, he considers can speak for those interests and
    ought to be consulted.

KK was a red herring, not worth the time of day!!

Meant to divert attention.

The “president” appointed Crystal Drakes in an attempt to coat the senate with a veneer of respectability.

The whole set of them should resign and walk before they end up looking like poppets.

We have a mock parliament, a mock president and a mock government..

7. We also have a problem with the judiciary.

Judge Chase in the High Court and Justice Narine in the Court of Appeal cannot find parliament to be unconstitutional without being out of a job.

The president/gg is the “sister” of whichever three justices who will sit on the matter if it gets there.

So, we go on and on, with big able adults who should know better and act to suit drawing huge salaries on pretense.

They let it go too far and it can only end badly.

Houston, we have a problem.

8. @ David BU

Thanks.

@ Mr. Skinner, John 2 and Donna

Thanks for your condolences.

9. RE YOU MAY SPLIT HAIRS AS YOU ALWAYS DO, BUT MS MICHAEL’S COMMENT IS REASONABLE.
    IF RIHANNA CAN BE A NATIONAL HERO, THEN THE YOUNG MAN COULD BE A SENATOR ON MERIT.
    THE CONSTITUTION CAN EASILY BE AMENDED

I REPEAT THAT I THINK THAT MS MICHAEL’S COMMENT IS REASONABLE.
    NOTE THAT SINCE I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT MISS FENTY AND AM NOT INTERESTED IN HER COLOUR, CREED CUISINE, CHARACTER OR THE CONTENT OF HER MUSIC , I HAVE BEEN CAREFUL NOT TO COMMENT ON HER ELEVATION OR THE EXALTATION BY HER LOYAL FOLLOWERS.

I MOST CERTAINLY ENJOYED AND APPLAUD HER REMARKS ABOUT THE GUIDANCE OF HER FORMER SCHOOL TEACHER, AT COMBERMERE, THE CURRENT WINDIES BOWLING COACH WHEN SHE VISITED THE TEAM ON THIER LAST VISIT TO THE UK

HOWEVER JUST AS IN YOUR OPINION, SHE HAS DEMONSRATED LOVE FOR COUNTRY BY HER PHILANTROPY, AND IN OTHER WAYS. KHALLEEL OUGHT TO DEMOSTRATE THE SAME, REGARDLESS TO WHICH POLITICAL IDEALS HE SUBSCRIBES TO.

APPART FROM THE MORONIC AND BIDEN-ESQUE STEWART, WHO FAILED TO FOLLOW IN THE WAYS OF LEADERS ON BOTH SIDES OF THE POLITICAL AISLE IN BARBADOS, GENERALLY SPEAKING, UP TO HIS TIME, THEY WERE WORTHY LEADERS IN BOTH PLITICAL PARTIES IN BARBADOS

THERE IS NO REASON WHY KHALLEEL CAN NOT FOLLOW IN THIER FOOTSTEPS OR EVEN SURPASS THEM ALL.
    WHEN THE TEENAGED SOBERS FIRST PLAYED FOR THE WINDIES IN THE FIFTIES, NO ONE PERCIEVED THAT HE WOULD BECOME THE VERY BEST CRICKETER OF ALL TIME.

10. @John
    Perhaps you should quote the most recent version of our constitution. I believe the words “governor general” were replacd by “president”
    ————————xx———————————-

Withdrawing of/reversing the nomination of KK was the correct course of action.

Some who would see the need for deliberation in the case with GP3 and AB where there is only one sensible outcome (the government must go on) seem to accept that amending the constitution should be done at the whim and caprice of Mia.

Suddenly an island with a population of over 275,000 is reduced to a single brain in a teenager. I believe that other (and perhaps better) than KK can be found to fit the role. Mia should consult with her legal team instead of just spouting off her mouth every time a microphone is pushed in front of it.

11. @John2

You will figure it if are so inclined.

12. My primary issue is the manufacturing the need for a constitutional amendment.
    The second issue is Mia’s attempting to reward KK. I am doubtful that the best interest of the nation was the reason for this nomination

Perhaps Mia had some internal poll that showed KK’s support led to an increase in BLP support among the youths of the nation.

13. “Why not wait until the revised Constitution promised for the New Republic is debated and agreed upon to incorporate such ‘welcome’ changes including the right to use marijuana and to enter into a legal sexual relationship (aka marry) their own gender?”

Not everything in life should be subjected to votes and determined dependent on majorities

Decriminalizing use of a plant and homosexuality should be sanctioned for the minority of people who already choose to partake in one or the other as is already happening around the world

Buzz Phrases
    • Bridging Political Divides •
    • Self Responsibility •
    • Collective Consciousness •
    • Spontaneous Correct Action •

Yoga: Ancient Secrets to Immediately Improve Your Life and the World •
    Yoga: Bridging Political Divides: Self Responsibility & Collective Consciousness

Yoga: Consciousness and Spontaneous Correct Action

14. The REALLY sad thing is that John is technically correct….

Except that mass resignations would be not only too extreme, but too embarrassing to the country as a whole – that so many ‘educated’ persons could paint themselves into such a basic catch 22 corner…. would ruin our ‘educated’ status.

Mature national leadership would instead be upfront with the whole mess, and NEGOTIATE a workable way out by consensus.
    But of course, emotional ranting and grandstanding is programmed into our future, so we should expect ‘cat piss and pepper’ from the most routine of situations.

When it can be argued that a ‘child’, (not yet pass sixth form), would be an ‘asset’ to our parliament… then NOTHING points more clearly to the level of brass bowlery that is endemic in our society. Presumably he would be an improvement of Caswell???….
    Murda!!

WTH
    Are we making prophesy fulfill on us..?
    Isaiah Again…. Chp 3

10 Say to the righteous that it will go well with them,
    For they will eat the fruit of their [righteous] actions.
    11 Woe (judgment is coming) to the wicked! It shall go badly with him,
    For what his hand has done shall be done to him.
    12 O My people! Children are their oppressors,
    And women rule over them.
    O My people! Your leaders lead you astray
    And confuse (destroy, swallow up) the direction of your paths.

‘educated’ ….Indeed!!!

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“As an outspoken student advocate, Khaleel Kothdiwala warned the CXC examination body they would face legal action as a result of bad grades fiasco and then won his lawsuit.”

no wins, still on appeal…

16. John2March 20, 2022 10:43 AM

AC

What was the judge ruling hat was over turned by the senate?

Xxxxxxxxxx

The High Court judge also held that President Mason was well within her right to convene Parliament under the circumstances.
    Based on the ruling, the Prime Minister is free to proceed with constitutional amendments to facilitate the appointment of 18-year-old Khaleel Kothdiwala and two DLP nominees to the Senate.

17. Do we know if the president refused to exercise discretion by appointing two senators? What prompted Mottley to promote two seats for opposition parties? There is a lot that goes on behind the scenes we are not privy. Greater transparency in a democracy required, the irony.

18. TheOGazertsMarch 20, 2022 12:54 PM

Perhaps you should quote the most recent version of our constitution. I believe the words “governor general” were replacd by “president”
    ————————xx———————————-

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If you believe that you would be wrong.

That is to be done whenever there is a constitutional parliament!!!

There is a Constitution Amendment Bill that has been passed in the previous “term”.

If you go to the GIS website you cannot find the constitution .. the link is broken.

In institutions like the OAS, you can find it as it exists.

Check and see.

Here is what claims to be the website of the Barbados Government or BArbados Integrated Government, BIG!!.

https://www.gov.bb/Government/barbados-constitution

No constitution available.

To get the current version of the constitution you need to go to the OAS website which will change it when it is officially informed!!

https://www.oas.org/dil/the_constitution_of_barbados.pdf

It is all smoke and mirrors.

These squatters need to go.

19. @Bush Tea

Some of us tend to focus on the problem. What about what brought us here? The people voted 30-0, this means no opposition. They have done is twice, in 2018 we were saved by the red bishop. We kicked the van down the road and here we are, again.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“that so many ‘educated’ persons could paint themselves into such a basic catch 22 corner…. would ruin our ‘educated’ status.”

you mean more than it already has…they are being compared to oddities, hard to recover from that……

..don’t quite understand where the word “educated” fits into all of that, but i have already done a written assessment, and it still don’t look pretty….on or off paper

21. Steuspe

22. @ GP March 20, 2022 12:30 PM
    THE CONSTITUTION CAN EASILY BE AMENDED
    HOWEVER JUST AS IN YOUR OPINION, SHE HAS DEMONSRATED LOVE FOR COUNTRY BY HER PHILANTROPY, AND IN OTHER WAYS. KHALLEEL OUGHT TO DEMOSTRATE THE SAME, REGARDLESS TO WHICH POLITICAL IDEALS HE SUBSCRIBES TO.
    (Unquote).

And why has his appointment NOT received the blessing of the (majority) of the other appointed 7 Independent Senators?

Are they too against the youngster because he is a nominee of the PM?

The Constitution is NOT any piece of ‘ordinary’ legislation.

It represents the will, aspirations and expectations of the People which must always be devoid of narrow partisan interests.

That is why the Constitution does not ‘recognize’ political parties in their current configuration as vehicles for elections to the HoA.

Rihanna has proven her worth even though she is still a relatively young person.

So too can KK; but only within the four walls of the Constitution which must reflect the will of the People.

The President’s ‘Independent’ representatives of the people’s Voice have indicated the People’s ‘NO’; not yet.
    And so shall it be until further notice!

That’s how a parliamentary democracy ought to function unless Barbadoes has morphed into some autocratic banana republic managed by some despot whom, you Doc. GP, constantly refer to as the “PRIME WICKER” of Bully-Bados!

23. I too believe that there is merit in rabbit’s argument. However, his “hourly’ elections until the population becomes irritated and votes 0-30 instead of 30-0 is not realistic and will not/should not happen.

This is a case where the judge has one choice (government must go on). Going to the CCJ is a waste of their time.

24. Barbados is a religious place in the bad sense of the word where religion not a personal matter or choice but is used to tell everyone else what they should be doing

25. Here is the “Official Website” of the Barbados Government.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/main_page_content/show_content/9

The Constitution

Barbados is a leading parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy, recognising Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State. She is represented by the Governor-General, His Excellency Sir Clifford Husbands, G.C.M.G., K.A., The country has a bicameral legislature and a mature social democratic party system, based on universal adult suffrage and total purity in elections.

The Senate has 21 members, all appointed by the Governor-General , 12 on the advice of the Prime Minister, two on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition, and seven at the Governor-General’s discretion. The House of Assembly has 30 members, all elected. Both Houses debate all legislation. However, the House of Assembly may ultimately override Senate’s rejection of money Bills and other Bills except Bills amending the Constitution. The House of Assembly sits 40 – 45 days a years and the Senate 20 – 25 days.

Officers
    Officers of each House (President and Deputy President of the Senate and Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees of the Assembly) are elected from the Members of the respective Houses.

The Cabinet
    The Cabinet is headed by the Prime Minister who must be an elected MP and other Ministers are appointed from either House by the Governor-General as advised by the Prime Minister.

The Governor General
    The Governor General appoints as Leader of the Opposition the Member of House of Assembly who commands the support of the largest number of Members of that House in opposition to the government. The maximum duration of a Parliament is five years. There is a simultaneous dissolution of both Houses of Parliament by the Governor-General acting on the advice of the Prime Minister.

The Constitution
    The Constitution may be amended by Act of Parliament. Amendments to entrenched clauses require the support of 2/3 of all the members of each House. Since Independence, the Barbados Labour Party held office from 1976 to 1986 and has formed the Government since September 1994.

The Democratic Labour Party governed from 1966 to 1976 and from 1986 to 1994.

Control of the government was regained in 2008 by the Democratic Labour Party.

Fundamental Rights and Freedoms of the individual are set out in the Constitution and are protected by a strict legal code.

There is an established non-political public service.

Also, there are separate constitutional commissions for:-

the Judicial and Legal Service
    the Public Service
    the Police Service

A Constitution Review Commission (1996-98) has reported on its review of the Constitution and its institutions. The Commission has recommended the adoption of a fully republican Constitution with a Barbadian, to be styled President, as non Executive Head of State. The full recommendations of the commission are published on Government’s Website.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I want to see who could stop publishing an article on UNDEREDUCATION….on MY SITEs in MY magazine……

“That is why the Constitution does not ‘recognize’ political parties in their current configuration as vehicles for elections to the HoA.”

they may well try to have that changed, they will have to ask the drafters of the new constitution…if they are ALLOWED ANY SAY..

27. @ David
    The root problem is NOT the 30-0 vote. That will always be a possible outcome in a first past the post system

The root issue is the fact that our brightest and best are NOT engaged in the complex matters of state, and BB retards are instead engaged as underhanded favors to friends, family, and party faithfuls.
    Basic common sense should have led to this eventuality having been contemplated proactively

Failing this, after having had the SAME problem in 2018, you would think that TOP PRIORITY would have been given to addressing the weakness… instead, we are dumped hastily into the same sh.. mess with a snap election.
    Who the hell was going to vote DLP? …and even if 1000 people felt so inclined, Froon reappeared …to remind everyone why we needed 30-0. steupsss..

But if this is the best that the BLP ’30′ can do, then Bajans betta start learning to ‘scrunt’, as the GT folks would say…

28. Barbados is a leading parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy, recognising Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State. She is represented by the Governor-General, His Excellency Sir Clifford Husbands, G.C.M.G., K.A., The country has a bicameral legislature and a mature social democratic party system, based on universal adult suffrage and total purity in elections.

The Senate has 21 members, all appointed by the Governor-General , 12 on the advice of the Prime Minister, two on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition, and seven at the Governor-General’s discretion.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why are the squatters wasting the court’s time if the Government agrees Barbados is a Parliamentary Democracy and the Senate has 21 members?

29. @Bush Tea

The problem at hand is how do we solve that in our parliamentary system an opposition is recognized and designed to be integral to the system of government practiced. This is against an electorate not recognizing opposition candidates at the elect booth.

30. @John

You have made your point many times on the blog, we get it.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The root issue is the fact that our brightest and best are NOT engaged in the complex matters of state, and BB retards are instead engaged as underhanded favors to friends, family, and party faithfuls.”

they KNOW much BETTER and know not to get involved EVER……..given the TRUE REALITIES…of any such situation….and where it will ultimately lead…

John…they are going to wear you down…

32. The Shift Network
    Shift Your World
    1 Minute Shifts

Breaking Free of Limited Ideas

How to Create the Life You Want to Live

33. BUSH TEA
    RE @ GP
    When it can be argued that a ‘child’, (not yet pass sixth form), would be an ‘asset’ to our parliament… then NOTHING points more clearly to the level of brass bowlery that is endemic in our society. INDEED SIR
    THE FACT THAT OUR SOCIETY IS MEDIOCRE IS EVIDENCED BY THE RUBBISH DELIVERED DAILY ON BU
    KK MIGHT VERY WELL BE A ONE EYE MAN, FIGURATIVELY, IN OUR VERY DEFINITE CONTEMPORARY BLIND SOCIETY

Presumably he would be an improvement of Caswell???
    ONE WOULD HOPE SO.
    ONE MUST ALWAYS HOPE THAT THE YOUTH AND OUR OWN CHILDREN WILL SUPERDE OUR EFFORTS (ONE OF MY SON’S IS A FAR BETTER PHOTOGRAPHER THAN I WAS…AS A SCHOOL BOY…….BUT HE WAS ALLOWED TO STUDY THIS FIELD) LOL

I AM SURE THAT YOU CAN ARGUE THAT GOOD THINGS ACTUALLY DO COME OUT OF COMBERMERE—–EVEN KRAIG BRATHWAITHE

Murda!!

34. TheO
    Boss, you are spending too much time interacting with emotional arguments….
    Right is right, and wrong is shiite.

Whenever this matter appears before a ‘real real’ court, the judges will apply the FACTS of the case and of the LAW, and make the required rulings.
    They will NOT rule because ‘government must go on’ or even because LIFE must go on. They will rule in a manner that keeps their PERSONAL INTEGRITY intact. (something that in not an issue in our system)

The mature way out of John’s scenario is through transparency, discussion, admission of brass bowlery (repentance) and by reaching consensus on a way forward …WITHOUT the letter of the Law.

If you KNOW that you thief the neighbor’s fowl …and know yuh get catch….yuh gwine wait til he bring the police?… steupsss
    Carry back the damn fowl, …ALONG with some bananas, and ask the neighbors pardon … even beg a little… and if he ask back for the eggs too – GIVE THEM!!
    steupsss
    What the hell is so difficult to understand?

35. @Bush Tea

Where have you been able to glean that transparent and dispassionate discussion can take place about anything in Barbados? Everything under the sun has to take on an adversarial position.

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lol….i think Theo is still trying to wrap his head around all of this, unlike some who are trying to pretend it’s some exercise in intellectual genius..that has magically FAILED in everything…

..when people who never went to school could do so much better based exclusively on COMMONSENSE….and have throughout the last 500 YEARS….and even before that…and we have not even gotten to the REAL intellectuals and geniuses yet, out of Kemet, Kush and Timbuktu…

37. David
    The problem at hand is how do we solve that in our parliamentary system an opposition is recognized and designed to be integral to the system of government practiced.
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    What problem what??!! How could THAT be a problem?
    The ‘Opposition’ is WHOMEVER the President appoints among the 30 that indicates that THEY are willing to fill that role, and have the needed support to be the second largest grouping in the place.
    This is EXACTLY like any school debating club where the teacher arbitrarily decides who is proponents, and who are opponents. (and our shiite parliament is not too much more advanced that a school club anyway…)

30 INDIVIDUALS are elected to play these various roles.
    Luckily for us in 2018, the Bishop was intelligent enough to recognize this BASIC requirement.
    Of course, he paid for his wisdom and commitment as is to be expected. (at least we did not crucify his donkey)

How the hell we can make so much out of a BASIC challenge… is a wonder to behold.
    One wonders what we will do later this year… when REAL SHIT is bouncing off the fan….

38. @Bush Tea

What happens if the president refuses to appoint?

39. Where have you been able to glean that transparent and dispassionate discussion can take place about anything in Barbados?
    ~~~~~~~
    Never said it CAN Boss…
    Bushie said that was the OBVIOUS solution….
    So how do you think Bushie knows for a FACT that our ass is grass….?

40. David,

Your bullshit now reach!

41. I would argue that there is in existence a Bill to Amend the Constitution.

I would further argue that the Constitution is yet to be amended!!

42. You can download the Constitutional Amendment Bill here up in the top right hand corner..

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/bills/details/581

43. This narrative of the world and Barbados being worse than ever before is not supported by history.

44. Acting President
    Where the office of President is vacant or the President is incapable of performing the functions of President by reason of illness or absence from Barbados or is on vacation leave or for any other reason unable to perform the functions of the office, the Prime Minister shall, after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition, appoint a person who is qualified to be elected to the office of President to act during the vacancy or as the case may be, during the absence of the President.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This is how we get an acting president.

No Leader of the Opposition, no president!!

The algorithm cannot restart.

Badly written.

The sensible thing is for the parliament to be declared unconstitutional from 2018.

Everything done is null, void and of no effect.

Her Majesty the Queen appoints a new GG.

The whole menagerie of members of the House, Senate and the President resign in shame.

The new GG issues a writ for elections.

The new GG appoints the new leader of the opposition, and the 2 senators the leader of the opposition nominates.

We get a constitutional parliament.

… and we all live happily ever after!!

If we want a republic, we get a republic through a referendum.

I am quite prepared to act as the new GG for 2 years!!

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“(and our shiite parliament is not too much more advanced that a school club anyway…)”

tell them Bushman…they are the ones believe they got intellectual geniuses and want everyone to fall in line with that CRAP…like people cannot think INDEPENDENTLY FOR THEMSELVES….and arrive at sensible conclusions…

..like de diktor shite rubbin off pon dem….lol….buh dey gine keep um….and let sensible people use rational thought…

46. Governments and Parties hire advisers for any purpose, his input into political matters from a youth’s perspective can still be used as counsel
    ++++++
    I understand Gov’ts hire/invite experts in various fields to appear before Parliamentary committees etc. and deliver information based on their field of expertise but none of them are named “honorary members of the parliamentary party.” Yuh can’t make up things as yuh go along otherwise we are down a slippery slope as we have been reminded.

47. First time 30 to 0 MIA is PM

Barbados becomes a Republic

Second time 30 to 0 MIA is PM of a Republic.

There is nothing that should surprise any of you about what is happening in Barbados.

MIA has been transparent in her actions as a politician.

I will rely on Bushie and Miller to say what I frighten to say.

48. “Young Jesus in the Temple”

After the Feast was over, His parents left to go back home. The boy Jesus stayed behind in Jerusalem. But they were not aware of it.

They traveled an entire day before Mary and Joseph discovered Jesus was not with their group. Mary may have discovered her firstborn Son was missing by having a conversation like this: “Mama, I’m thirsty,” said Jesus’ little brother, Simon.

“Ask Jesus to give you some of His water,” answered Mary.

“Where is Jesus?” asked the young boy.

“I haven’t seen Him today. He must be with your father,”
    said Mary.

“No, I just came from Papa. Jesus isn’t with Him.”

Jerusalem was one of the largest towns in its day. As Mary and Joseph came to the edge of town, they were very afraid. Where could Jesus be? Where would they look first?
    There are times when everything seems to go wrong. Still, God is in control. When you can’t understand what God is doing, pray for the faith to trust Him anyway (Luke 17:5). He ALWAYS does what is right, and He is worthy of our trust (Psalm 9:10).

Day #5 Thoughtful Questions

Jesus was found in the temple, talking to the greatest Jewish teachers of the time. Jesus certainly knew more than these great teachers! These men only knew the tiniest part about God, but Jesus was God’s Word, God’s truth, God Himself! Yet Jesus did not point His finger and argue with them.
    He was sitting with the teachers. He was listening to them and asking them questions. Everyone who heard Him was amazed at how much He understood. They also were amazed at His answers. – Luke 2:46b-47
    Jesus was not asking questions in order to learn from them, but to teach the teachers! Everyone was amazed at how much He knew. Jesus, Himself, had the answers to the questions He asked. He asked questions to make the teachers think, and to make them realize that they didn’t know the answers themselves. Asking questions was a great way to teach these older men while still showing respect to them.
    Sometimes we are placed under the authority of people who do not follow God. This may be a government official, or even a teacher at school. Even though you are young, you may have more spiritual wisdom than those who are in authority over you, because the greatest wisdom comes from knowing God and His word.
    Thinking about Your teachings gives me better understanding than my teachers, and obeying Your laws makes me wiser than those who have lived a long time. – Psalm 119:99- 100 CEV
    If you are ever in a situation where someone older than you is speaking against what the Bible teaches, follow Jesus’ example. Ask questions in a respectful way. Practice this at home with a parent or Christian friend. For example, what question could you ask a teacher who says, “The world was formed by a big explosion”? (How can an explosion make things come together? Or, What caused the explosion?)
    Remember to be kind and humble when you speak.

The elders Vs change/political spectrum. Age limitations. What about tomorrow???

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I still advise some of them, like i have for YEARS…. to VISIT OTHER PLATFORMS and see what REAL BLOGGING IS ABOUT….and see….that EVERY COUNTRY is SHOWN up for its WEAKNESSES….that is how changes come about…

or stay insular, smallminded, and ISOLATED on BU and be BEATEN INTO THE GROUND…with facts….

i saw Cuddear complain about legislation still in place from 1967 that disadvantages WHOLE FAMILIES…Black families…..that was not the first time i saw her bring up those problems…

.BU has been around for what…about 16 YEARS…..has anything changed as a result….has anyone ADVOCATED and PRESSURED useless breathers DBLP to make the requisite changes, to BENEFIT as opposed to disadvantaging, Black mothers/fathers/children……NO?? right…

well sites that i go on……..CHANGES HAPPEN after pressure is applied…..in those jurisdictions……changes do not come about because of WEAK SHITE TALK om a blog……or i would still be cussing everyone from top to bottom…

50. @Sargeant

Let us drop the bs, Khaleel is being groomed by Roebuck Street for higher service, this we know. It will happen if a little delayed.