The decision by Prime Minister Mia Mottley to reverse the controversial appointment of 18 year old Khaleel Kothdiwala is unfortunate. It was evident from exchanges in the last session of the Upper House the amendment to the Constitution to allow Khaleel’s sitting would not have garnered support from independent senators.

Immediately after the January 19, 2022 general election Prime Minister Mottley announced Kothdiwala’s as a BLP nominee for the Senate with the justification she was fulfilling an election promise to bring the youth into “the centre of governance and national determination…if you are old enough to vote then you must be old enough to serve”. All who have followed politics in Barbados are patently aware Khaleel’s politics is heavily influenced from Roebuck Street – and it is right to practice the politics of his choice.

The prime minister became swell headed by a second 30 to zero victory in the last general election and took for granted Khaleel’s appointment would have been rubber stamped by the Senate. Lest we forget, the Senate is currently involved indirectly in a fight for its legitimacy. Although the constitutional motion brought by former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite was tossed out by Justice Cicely Chase, legal counsel Garth Patterson signaled appeal documents will be filed this week to challenge the Upper Chamber doing business with 18 appointed Senators instead of 21.

From comments posted to BU and aired in other fora, those opposed to the appointment of Khaleel took umbrage to the lack of national consultation about the unprecedented decision to add an 18 year old BLP supporter to the Senate to represent youth matters. Bear in mind Mottley- also in controversial and contentious circumstances- transitioned Barbados to a Republic in November 2021. The dissenting cry then was – why not complete an exercise of national consensus to determine a new constitution to make the process to a republic comprehensive.

At the root of the uncertainty muddying the governance process is an election result that rejected opposition candidates AND the unwillingness of elected members of parliament to cross the floor to manufacture an opposition. This is interesting against the rumour Mottley called a snap general election to quell a political mutiny.  

There is also the contention that President Sandra Mason is partly responsible by her refusal to appoint two apposition Senators given the outcome of the general election. Had she appointed two Opposition Senators and Mottley a standin for Kothdiwala there would possibly have been no legal challenge brought and Mottley would have avoided the political embarrassment of having to withdraw Khaleel’s appointment.

It is what it is as the popular saying goes. We wait to endure the Court Appeal process and possible request for leave to appeal to the CCJ. In the meantime there is the potential lawmaking in parliament will be disrupted if Justice Chase decision is overturned.

At a time the country is battling to manage economic challenges acerbated by the pandemic we have become mired in process because of off flippant decision making. It is ironic the Upper House that is currently under challenge in the Barbados courts is responsible for Mottley’s decision to remove Kothdiwala. 

We are living in interesting times.

485 responses to “Mottley’s Decision Rejected”

1. William Skinner Avatar

Kettle not cattle.

2. So, the PM failed in her attempt to get the Senate to “rubber stamp” her proposed Constitutional change to allow an 18-year-old to serve as a Senator. If the proposed nomination of KK was to allow for representation of youths, should we now consider that replacement Nicholls has been selected as the youth representative? Nicholls was closer to the magical 18 years in his first go around in the Senate than he is today, and I wonder if there aren’t any 21-year-old members of the BLP who could carry the torch as a youth representative other than KK.

I wager that Nicholls is just keeping the seat warm for KK to turn 21 or the revamp of the Constitution allows for 18-year-olds to serve in the Senate (whichever comes first) to allow the PM to fulfill her goal.

3. Ironically 3 is the number of years between 21 and 18 and also the vacant seats in the Senate of Republic Barbados
    21 – 18 = 3
    365 * 3 + 1 = 1096 days
    *not sure what his dob is
    what difference does circa 1000 days make to be ready like uncle freddie to do the rocksteady
    The Youthman has impressed the PM more than any senator in the upper house and has been in the game since he was 13

4. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Is that the purpose of the Senate? To accommodate seat warmers? Lol !!!. How we do devalue our institutions.!!!!

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yeah…and then call yaselves intelligent too…with such gusto…lol

6. When John Williams and DeLisle Bradshaw were appointed what was the plan?

7. Is K K a born Barbadian ?

8. CanBajans / Bajan Canadians should tread carefully around this issue.

We are used to politicians lobbying their ” own people ” in cities like Toronto and Vancouver.

I will recuse myself from this discussion as it could involve religious beliefs.

9. As an aside,

We now have J and J. Justin and Jagmeet

10. Atrax

All you have to do to appreciate the quandary in which the BLP finds itself with the nullity of a 30 – 0 result is look at what happened last time with Reverend Joe filling the absence of a presence.

Last time it seemed pretty sure there had to be an opposition for there to be a parliament.

This time, where is the goodly Revernt and what is the difference?

The only difference is the monkey tricks being played with the amendments to the constitution, the Republic and KK designed to avert the attention of those with limited attention span.

There is also one other difference …. the constitutionality is the subject of a legal challenge.

Reverent Joe is the precedent setter.

A blind man on a trotting horse could see Ms. Mockley is playing sleight of hand.

This is not going to end good.

11. @Hants

Born and bred.

12. In other words ATRAX, there is no need to read the constitution.

All you have to do is to look and see there is BS going on!!

13. @Vincent C

Asked: “Is that the purpose of the Senate? To accommodate seat warmers?”

Answered: “When John Williams and DeLisle Bradshaw were appointed what was the plan?”
    😊

14. Ms, Mockley is the child, wanting to hold on although the rules says she can’t.

To achieve her end, she is prepared to bring the judiciary into further disrepute.

KK may be the adult.

This toddler wants to take a seat where it is impossible to sit.

Parallels!!

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    You won’t get a reply.
    As prev displayed, what to do and how to do it is known.
    They opted to skip a step and play politricks with the Pres picks for the ‘vacant’ LoO.

16. The Leader of the Opposition post is not vacant.

It has to exist before it can become vacant and it does not exist!!

It was dissolved in 2018.

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Now they believe they can tinker with our ancestors and win…..watch them CRASH AND BURN…

RA!!!

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This is a direct result of the high levels of IGNORANCE and BACKWARDNESS in the society that the misleaders helped CULTIVATE for over 60 YEARS…then up and down the goddamn place shouting how educated they are……take responsibility FIRST and then reverse it….ignorance not only pauperizes people but ALSO KILLS people…

“In her contribution on the last day of debate on the Appropriation Bill 2022, Thompson spoke about a “high level of stigmatisation”, saying that people who like her had been stricken with the viral illness had often found themselves being shunned.

“It is a highly stigmatised disease and what we now have is a community of stigmatised persons, because whole families have come down with it, we have had people who have died from it, people who have lost income from it, people who are grappling with long COVID.”

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I saw PLT, Northern, John and others try to tell the know it alls….maybe it will SINK IN NOW…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/03/22/opposition-not-about-18-year-old-senate-pick-but-about-process-to-amend-constitution/

20. Today’s Nation editorial

Unfair attack on senators
    IT IS SAD that a recent debate in the Senate has been construed to look as if Independent senators are trying to deny an 18-yearold an opportunity to be part of the legislative process and, as one commentator described it, “denying young people” a voice.
    In an era when the mentioned debate could have been accessed by tuning into a radio station, logging on to YouTube or perusing the website of Barbados’ Parliament, it is ironic that Barbadians – like some of our neighbours to the north, particularly those who support a former president – should create a controversy around “alternative facts”.
    Barbadians, especially at the leadership level, should leave that kind of behaviour to the average Facebooker who posts something innocuous but allows his followers to skew it with comments that are microscopically related to the core of the original post. Worse than that, leave such conduct to those who speak as if the January 6, 2021 attack on the Capitol Building in Washington never occurred.
    Opposition to the appointment
    In recent days we have been hearing across media platforms in this country that Independent senators have clearly indicated their opposition to the appointment of an 18-year-old to our Senate.
    The Independent senators discussed last week, among other issues, the constitutional amendments seeking to create Opposition representation in the Upper House in the absence of an official Opposition elected by the people of Barbados, an eventuality which has led to there being no Opposition presence in either of the two Houses of Parliament.
    An amendment to reduce the minimum age, from 21 to 18, of a representative to sit in the Upper and Lower Houses has also been proposed.
    To both proposals, five Independent senators stated that the relevant amendments could be made during the process of consultation on Barbados’ new status as a republic.
    According to storyteller Paul Keens-Douglas, “who tell dem say dat?”
    As soon as the Prime Minister announced last Saturday that Khaleel Kothdiwala would be unable to sit in the Senate at this time because of a clear “indication” by Independent senators that they would not have supported the amendment, all the darts began to be hurled.
    Political scientist and retired university lecturer and commentator Dr George Belle charged that Independent senators should not be “an instrument of frustration” to a majority Government, while the accusation of “denying youths a voice” followed, from another political scientist, namely Peter Wickham.
    Today, members of the public, some in typical Bajan modus operandi, have been adding their twists and turns to the conversation while making the main, overarching point – this sensationalised “denial” of an opportunity for an 18-year-old Barbadian to sit in the legislative sanctum.
    Any attempt to impute some underlying agenda, by senators or whoever, to reject an 18-year-old is not only a misrepresentation of the Senate debate but it is also unfair to Barbadians, particularly young people who would have been undoubtedly inspired by the possibility of one of their peers representing them in the Senate. The ease of misrepresenting facts in this information age is amazing.
    Today, members of the public, some in typical Bajan modus operandi, have been adding their twists and turns to the conversation.

21. The following is a social media post by Khaleel Kothdiwala last Sunday, a day after Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley announced she was opting not to pursue her bid to have the 18-year-old appointed as a senator, in light of the indication by Independent senators that they would not have supported a bill to amend the Constitution.

MANY OF YOU have reached out to me since yesterday and I appreciated the kindness of all of the sentiments. The reality is that life doesn’t take place in a straight line and I have always been keenly aware of that.
    I will reflect upon the arguments related to the amendments in due time. But for right now, I feel the following is most important: When the Prime Minister announced her intention to pursue this course of action back in January, I indicated that I was humbled that I was considered to serve, conscious of what it meant, not for me, but for the scores of young people who hear daily that neither they nor their perspectives matter. Regrettably, however, events at this time have not transpired as many might have hoped they would.
    But what this episode does not change is that there is still a Government in office which is completely committed to advancing the youth agenda and to creating an equitable and sustainable future, for which young people will be the primary beneficiaries.
    What this does not change is that there is still a Government side in the Senate that is for the first time in history completely gender balanced, demonstrating an unwavering commitment to gender equity, and that equally there is representation of the differently abled community, whose perspective and contribution are as important as any other.
    What this does not change is that there are still four senators, in particular, who are outstanding young people, and whose contributions have made and will continue to make this country proud. I refer specifically to: Senator Dr Crystal Haynes, who takes her legislative duties extremely seriously and applies herself with aplomb, and whose work in both medicine and philanthropy is a credit to this nation;
    Formidable advocate
    Senator Lorenzo Harewood, a formidable advocate for sustainable development, who has been in the trenches for some time literally walking the walk; Senator Shanika Roberts-Odle, one of the most hard-working and dedicated persons
    you could meet who is deeply passionate about our country; and Senator Andwele Boyce, a remarkable young man whose many achievements are proof-positive of the capacity of persons with disabilities.
    Indeed, every other member on the Government side is eminently capable and committed to the rebuilding and transformation of this country.
    To young people, do not be disheartened by recent events. The above clearly shows how bright the future is, for when you have people of such extraordinary vision and capacity in the Senate and Government, generally, there is so much to be hopeful about.
    The journey of redressing those historical silences and imbalances has been long, and we are not yet at the destination, but every day young people across this country are making phenomenal strides in various fields demonstrating that whether or not space and seats are provided, young people will boldly forge forward, convicted that it is absolutely the right and deserved thing to do. I salute those young people today.
    How can a person feel anything but sheer joy and anticipation that at this moment in history we have in Barbados an intersection of outstanding, visionary political leadership, as well as a deep well of young talent from which to draw. The future of this country remains as bright as ever, if only we work together.

22. @ John

As I have mentioned on several occasions, you’re the type of guy who needlessly overcomplicate simple, easily understood issues. ‘Complexity bias?’

When people do this, it is usually because they are unwilling to deal with their own short-comings and insecurities.
    You seem to have an insatiable desire to continually prove you’re ‘John the island scholar’ and the ‘brightest bulb’ in this forum.

Are you suggesting the posts of Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition are SUDDENLY ABOLISHED, rather than become VACANT, after Parliament is dissolved?

If it is accepted that a 20-10 general election result, for example, guarantees both posts being ‘filled,’ then, why is it so difficult to accept after a 30-0 result the post of Opposition Leader remains vacant?

As it relates to Joseph Atherley, I don’t buy into the nonsense that he ‘sacrificed himself’ by ‘crossing the floor’ to become Opposition Leader, to somehow ‘save the day.’
    I based my opinion on the fact that he expressed great disappointment at not being included in Mottley’s 2018 Cabinet.

Atherley “accused Mottley of implicitly suggesting that he was not valued as a sitting member of the ruling party.”

He argued that, “if you appoint 26 people to a cabinet out of 30 and then you make another one the speaker, another one the deputy speaker and another one the chairman of committees… and you look at Joseph Atherley, who has served as a parliamentary secretary, who has served in the Cabinet of Barbados, in the office of the Prime Minister, who has represented this country at home and abroad…something is wrong.”

“I say it’s a clear message that I don’t want you…for whatever reason, ‘I don’t want you’ and it could not have been based on past performance…….”

Your continual posting of that YouTube video about Atherley does not prove otherwise.

In MY opinion, Atherley was just another ‘disgruntled BLP’ who believed he was jilted by Mottley for being an ‘Owen BEE.’

23. re You seem to have an insatiable desire to continually prove you’re ‘John the island scholar’ and the ‘brightest bulb’ in this forum.
    ARTAX
    WITH ALL DUE RESPECT
    IT IS NOT HARD ON BU TO PROVE THAT KNOX IS ‘John the island scholar’. AFTER ALL MOST OF THE POSTERS DONT REALLY HAVE MUCH TO OFFER.
    IT IS QUITE OBVIOUS TO ME THAT KNOX IS ONE OF THE FEW BRIGHT BULBS IN THE BU RUM SHOP

PERSONALLY, IF I WAS HIM, I WOULD REDUCE POSTING OR STOP POSTING ALL TOGETHER, BECAUSE HE IS NOT REALLY APPRECIATED HERE

I BELIEVE THAT IF I AM NOT TEACHING THAT I OUGHT TO BE TAUGHT OF COURSE THERE IS ALSO THE NEED FOR ENTERTAINMENT……….AND BU BRIMBLERS CAN BE DEPENDED ON FOR SOME DAILY MIRTH

VERY FEW FOLK TEACH OR SHARE ANYTHING MUCH AND THE ILLITERATI ARE UNTEACHABLE IN MY AREAS OF EXPERTISE. INSTEAD THEY SEEK TO TEACH ME, HAVING CLEARLY NOT STUDIED OR LEARNED THEMSELVES
    QUITE HILARIOUS

BU IS MUCH LIKE WATCHING CRICKET ON TV. APART FROM WHEN THE EX CRICKETERS DISCUSS THE TECHNICALITIES, THE REST OF THE COMMENTARY INDICATES THAT THE EX CRICKETER COMMENTORS ARE BEREFT OF AN ADEQUATE VOCABULARY FOR THE PURPOSE.

SO IT IS ON BU
    LOOK AT THE VOLUME OF BLARNEY THAT IS POSTED, AND ALLOWED
    THEN YOU COME TEACHING THE TRUTH SAY ABOUT COVID OR OTHER MEDICAL MATTER AND YUH POST DOES GET TEK DUNG
    BUT SINCE I LOVE TO LAUGH…….I DO THAT……I JUST LAUGH
    BUT I RARELY CAST MY PEARLS TO THE SWINE HERE AS ONCE BEFORE

LET ME SAY IT……..STEUPSE

24. ArtaxMarch 23, 2022 8:06 AM

@ John

Are you suggesting the posts of Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition are SUDDENLY ABOLISHED, rather than become VACANT, after Parliament is dissolved?

Yup, that’s how it works.

Simplicity itself, no need for any scholarship!!

The seats of individual members become vacant once Parliament and its posts are dissolved.

The posts evaporate, are dissolved whatever, until the group who would govern in the new term select the person who would be PM and the GG swears him/her in!!

The group who would be in opposition select their leader and the the GG swears him/her in.

Each of the leaders have to have won a vacant seat.

The winning of the seat does not create the post.

30 – 0 is a nullity because a constitutional parliament cannot be formed in the absence of an opposition.

Simplicity itself.

To subject the judiciary to trying to get around the fact that nothing is nothing just brings it into further disrepute.

Another way of thinking of it is that it isn’t the voters who select either leader, it is the members of the group to which they belong.

Voters do not vote for the PM or Leader of the Opposition just as they do not vote for parties, but for their individual representatives.

This is too simple for big able adults to be spending any time in cogitations.

25. The only reason this has been going on since 2018 is that there is no way for nothing to be any other thing than nothing and that does not suit the squatters in the House.

26. The rising starboy will be online

streamhttps://pages.pagesuite.com/2/2/229d09ec-8947-4f53-9460-0ed90c636528/page.jpg

27. “IT IS NOT HARD ON BU TO PROVE THAT KNOX IS ‘John the island scholar’. AFTER ALL MOST OF THE POSTERS DONT REALLY HAVE MUCH TO OFFER.
    IT IS QUITE OBVIOUS TO ME THAT KNOX IS ONE OF THE FEW BRIGHT BULBS IN THE BU RUM SHOP”

That is more unsound doctrine that must be refuted as homework for all Bu scholars and bitches

But, can you prove scientifically how an egg can be fertilised by immaculate conception Christian dogma asserting that Mary, the mother of Jesus, was preserved free from the effects of the original sin of Adam from the first instant of her conception,
    while a pre-embryo circa 20 BCE — gained support in the church. It was only in modern times that scientists determined that both the woman and man contributed genetic information to the production of offspring.

28. @ John March 22, 2022 8:31 PM
    The Leader of the Opposition post is not vacant.
    It has to exist before it can become vacant and it does not exist!!
    It was dissolved in 2018.
    (Unquote).

Sir Johnny, why don’t you stop with your nonsense?

Of course the Post of the Leader of the Opposition (loO) does exist in the ‘eyes’ of the Constitution.
    That’s why it was filled in 2018 by a duly elected member of the HoA.

And that’s why it is vacant today because No member has offered him or herself to fill the vacancy. Neither have any other elected members decided, yet, to sit in Opposition to the government aka Executive appointed by the President.

In the meantime the Office of the President will have to fill that breach by performing the functions allocated to the office of the LoO as stipulated by the same Constitution.

Stop expecting a return to the polls to merely elect a member from some other ‘non-red’ political party to fill the vacancy of the LoO since the Same Constitution does NOT recognize political parties as electoral vehicles to transport candidates to Parliament; neither to the HoA or to the Senate.

29. Steuspe

30. @ John March 23, 2022 8:42 AM
    The seats of individual members become vacant once Parliament and its posts are dissolved.
    The posts evaporate, are dissolved whatever, until the group who would govern in the new term select the person who would be PM and the GG swears him/her in
    (Unquote).

What you say about the seats of individual members becoming vacant is Constitutionally sound.

What is NOT sound is that the posts also “evaporate/dissolved” or disappear.

Why then is there a Prime Minister in office from the date of dissolution to the time a ‘New’ PM is chosen by the members elected to the ‘new’ Parliament after the results of the general elections?

31. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Atherley knew full well that his anti- same sex marriage stance; his frequent criticism of the gay lifestyle , would have been his downfall and deservedly so.
    It was the same hocus pocus BS, that Arthur came with , when he said that Mia had some attributes that Barbadians would never accept. He never said what they were and after all the negatives, he still ended up taking every piece of crumb he she offered .
    Sometimes, I personally agree with Mia for treating everybody with contempt because she long ago realised these men were weaklings.
    All of them who went with Arthur , she put them in her cabinet. I dislike some of her policies but in terms of pure political leadership , she has no challenger to worry about.
    She stands head and shoulders above all. Quite frankly, in pure political terms, she is by far the best we have had to date.
    Her destruction of Payne was simply brilliant. He too deserved it. He thought that , in the early stages, being allowed to act as PM, all was forgiven.
    Not so , Mia drove the knife into him , when he least expected. Brilliant!!
    A for politics ; C for policy , that’s how I look at Mia. Policy may improve but it will never surpass her political skills.

32. Atherley is a Pastor, when he agreed to run under a Mia MOTTLEY banner what was his expectation? That she would recant ?

33. John March 23, 2022 8:42 AM

RE: “The SEATS of individual members BECOME VACANT once Parliament and its posts are dissolved.”

Remember, YOUR words…. NOT mine.

As Miller correctly mentioned, “Of course the Post of the Leader of the Opposition (LoO) does exist in the ‘eyes’ of the Constitution.”

Which proves my point that you’re needlessly overcomplicating a simple issue.

And, it won’t surprise me if you soon begin to argue that, since the Constitution refers to the Governor General, PM, Leader of the Opposition, Attorney General Auditor General etc, as male, it is unconstitutional for a female to be appointed Governor General, for example, therefore, the functions performed by Dames Nita and Sandra should become ‘null and void.’

34. @ John

Last/last

Miller also asked a very interesting question.

If the posts “dissolves” with the dissolution of Parliament………

“Why then is there a Prime Minister in office from the date of dissolution to the time a ‘New’ PM is chosen by the members elected to the ‘new’ Parliament after the results of the general elections?”

35. ArtaxMarch 23, 2022 10:11 AM

John March 23, 2022 8:42 AM

RE: “The SEATS of individual members BECOME VACANT once Parliament and its posts are dissolved.”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

https://imgur.com/fQLlyqL

36. Parliament is not a physical entity, the HOA is.

Parliament is a legal construct which requires a Leader of the Opposition and thus an opposition.

37. Hants honest Bajan opinion.

Kothdiwalla is being rewarded for his political attacks of the DLP and unwavering support for the BLP.

He is being groomed to be a future Prime Minister of Barbados. He currently has over 4000 possible supporters.

38. The 10 seat warmers who are not ministers could resign their seats forcing 10 by elections without destroying the House of Assembly.

What would be their reason for resignation?

They don’t want to be used as pawns of Ms. Mockley to force an unconstitutional Parliament.

Here is the problem.

The resignations would cast the 20 squatters, including Ms. Mockley, in the role of members who are prepared to form an unconstitutional Parliament.

Reverent Joe should really have resigned on that basis.

The mere fact that he did not means he was no more a Leader of the Opposition than you or I …. assuming you are not the Leader of the Opposition from the last Constitutional Parliament in 2018.

39. All 30 need to resign before this goes too far.

40. Letter of Recommendation for JK
    It can be easily seen that JK 🐇/🐰is an extremely smart fellow.

He generate a number of different hypotheses, some of which are extremely smart and creative and others that appears to be just wrong.

One of his strength is his ability to maintain his belief in the face of opposition. It is also one of his weaknesses when he is dead wrong.

🐇/🐰Has demonstrated a strong and sound knowledge of water supply in Barbados. It is therefore surprising that he does not know the difference between drinking water and sewage.

Quite strong when it comes to historical facts. Even stronger on the history he makes up…

Good morning 🐇/🐰😃

41. Formula 1
    ❤ Unconditional Love 🥰 = Peace 🙌🕊️ ☮️

Formula 2
    Stratos + Entropy = Anarchy

To reiterate, the Law of Entropy says that when left alone in natural states, eventually everything goes into disorder. Furthermore, entropy is the measure of disorder of a given system and is derived by combinations and permutations of the various states probabilistic comprisals.

Stratos
    Greek element meaning “army”.

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, it needs repeating again and again so … “. The ease of misrepresenting facts in this information age is amazing.”
    That’s my take-away from the editorial you posted above.

After we were given the clarity by PLT of the independent senators’ remarks I was truly shocked by the retorts from Dr Belle and Wickham as it related to them frustrating the gov’t’s will. That was a particularly non-objective view of what transpired, I thought. But off to the races with barbs and bullets went continued bias commentaries that as the editorial also nicely said, “… are microscopically related to the core of the original” debate in the Chamber!

@Skinner, I share your assessment of MAM’s political acumen, she is undoubtedly unmatched now and compared to pass maguffy PM’s does better than most (or all). However, I believe you grade her too poorly on policy. Considering how the island has landed on its feet since three years ago I think at least a ‘B’ is deserving.

One may not like – I don’t- her authoritarian methods (and we WILL suffer the comeuppance for that eventually, a Putin-lite type of thing) but some of her force-fed policies have worked well so far.

The story of MAM will be like that of DT: what comes out in the wash after the laundry is finally sorted, washed and hang out to dry. Only then will we be able to properly determine how dirty or clean she maintained her ‘clothing’ …. at the moment, however, she is dressed quite, quite well!

43. We can treat these senatorial appointments and change of the constitution as if it is a school debate.

Reality states that like life government must go on’

There will be no rerunning of elections until some magic configuration is obtained.

Mia has now learnt that the constitution is more than an essay which she can edit when and how she likes.

We will get 21 senators no matter how the game is played.

Nothing to see here. Move on

44. All these square pegs immoral precedent setting laws Mia trying to force down people’s throat would find there way into causing more division and confusion later
    If politicians cannot accept Morals and good commonsense guided by logic
    Barbados would continue to find itself in the vice grip of political potholes founded on self interest
    If only the framers of the Constitution were around to see the foolishness and nonsense that politicians say and do to win elections
    Amen

45. “If only the framers of the Constitution were around to see the foolishness and nonsense that politicians say and do to win elections”

Don’t get carried away. There were no founding fathers. Constitution was probably based of a boilerplate text on a shelf in London.

I see you have mounted Lazarus and are taking a warm-up lap.

46. Trolls like 🐇/🐰 are known as Energy Vampires to Energy Beings

Whether you’re a sensitive soul, an empath, or simply a good person, you too may have an Energy Vampire in your life.

#InspireNation #EnergyVampires
    Save Yourself from ENERGY VAMPIRES! Spot Sneaky Narcissists BEFORE It’s Too Late

47. Just stating the obvious!!

48. eOGazertsMarch 23, 2022 10:55

I see you have mounted Lazarus and are taking a warm-up lap

Xxxxxx
    Lazarus is dead and cannot be mounted
    Fortunately there is a bigger and more outspoken horse alive and well kicking a.rse called the Constitution
    Deal with that