The decision by Prime Minister Mia Mottley to reverse the controversial appointment of 18 year old Khaleel Kothdiwala is unfortunate. It was evident from exchanges in the last session of the Upper House the amendment to the Constitution to allow Khaleel’s sitting would not have garnered support from independent senators.

Immediately after the January 19, 2022 general election Prime Minister Mottley announced Kothdiwala’s as a BLP nominee for the Senate with the justification she was fulfilling an election promise to bring the youth into “the centre of governance and national determination…if you are old enough to vote then you must be old enough to serve”. All who have followed politics in Barbados are patently aware Khaleel’s politics is heavily influenced from Roebuck Street – and it is right to practice the politics of his choice.

The prime minister became swell headed by a second 30 to zero victory in the last general election and took for granted Khaleel’s appointment would have been rubber stamped by the Senate. Lest we forget, the Senate is currently involved indirectly in a fight for its legitimacy. Although the constitutional motion brought by former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite was tossed out by Justice Cicely Chase, legal counsel Garth Patterson signaled appeal documents will be filed this week to challenge the Upper Chamber doing business with 18 appointed Senators instead of 21.

From comments posted to BU and aired in other fora, those opposed to the appointment of Khaleel took umbrage to the lack of national consultation about the unprecedented decision to add an 18 year old BLP supporter to the Senate to represent youth matters. Bear in mind Mottley- also in controversial and contentious circumstances- transitioned Barbados to a Republic in November 2021. The dissenting cry then was – why not complete an exercise of national consensus to determine a new constitution to make the process to a republic comprehensive.

At the root of the uncertainty muddying the governance process is an election result that rejected opposition candidates AND the unwillingness of elected members of parliament to cross the floor to manufacture an opposition. This is interesting against the rumour Mottley called a snap general election to quell a political mutiny.  

There is also the contention that President Sandra Mason is partly responsible by her refusal to appoint two apposition Senators given the outcome of the general election. Had she appointed two Opposition Senators and Mottley a standin for Kothdiwala there would possibly have been no legal challenge brought and Mottley would have avoided the political embarrassment of having to withdraw Khaleel’s appointment.

It is what it is as the popular saying goes. We wait to endure the Court Appeal process and possible request for leave to appeal to the CCJ. In the meantime there is the potential lawmaking in parliament will be disrupted if Justice Chase decision is overturned.

At a time the country is battling to manage economic challenges acerbated by the pandemic we have become mired in process because of off flippant decision making. It is ironic the Upper House that is currently under challenge in the Barbados courts is responsible for Mottley’s decision to remove Kothdiwala. 

We are living in interesting times.

485 responses to “Mottley’s Decision Rejected”

1. Steuspe

2. “TheO
    Boss, you are spending too much time interacting with emotional arguments….
    Right is right, and wrong is shiite.”

Indeed my one thought is that this is a case where “being right or wrong does not matter”.
    It is amusing that the one thing rabbit may be right his conclusion is irrelevant.

I had a roommate who greeted each day with “life is a bitch”. well, reality is also a bitch.
    The outcome from the judge and the CCJ is a foregone conclusion “government must go on”
    Anything else is madness, pretense and a luxury that Barbados cannot afford.
    Reality is a bitch.

Move on folks, you can have your discussions on BU, but there is nothing to see here.

3. @ John 2

Remember, a decision was made to delay
    “all business in the Senate pending a decision from the High Court on whether the Upper Chamber may sit with three vacancies still to be filled.”

The Judge ruled, that “President Mason was well within her right to convene Parliament under the circumstances,” which simply meant the Senate was given the ‘green light’ to continue its functions as a result of that ruling

Independent Senators disagreeing with the proposed amendments cannot, in all seriousness, be interpreted as over turning the Judge’s ruling.

I believe it would be, according to Freundel Stuart, a “monstrous perversion of logic and common sense” for anyone to form such a conclusion.

Two COMPLETELY DIFFERENT ISSUES.

4. @🐇/🐰
    We know that our island is in great peril when you make the most sense of all the contributors.

I am usually sceptical of whatever you post and though I believe that you are correct on this matter, the solution that you offer is not workable.

For the brainy guy that you are . What you have done is provided the point of intersection of two parallel lines. You know, there is no possible solution

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman…i don’t know what these think this is….i could just see them posting the same crap on BU in 2033 that they have posted since 2012 when i came on the blog…with NO CHANGES WHATSOEVER, no RESULTS, no upward mobility……in 2012 there were more sensible people like Amused, Jeff, and a lot of others…few have remained…

there were also lots of deceitful government ministers and their imps and pimps and a barrage of dirty racists, who all purged themselves….and only left the fowls and pimps….to haunt

now you have a new crowd……just posting to impress themselves or make mischief, divisions, strife and confusion….

16 years is a very long time to have a blog where MOST BLOGGERS..are not as EFFECTIVE as they should/COULD be….when it comes to FOCUSING….to bring about positives…

certain blogs have streamlined in the last 5 years because they want to see results and intelligent solutions…not old talk and opposition every day that goes NOWHERE…other platforms have gone full on intellectual…because times are serious and they are changing right along with it…

6. Steuspe

7. Reviving rhythms drum circle play-along

Relaxing rhythms drum circle play-along

8. “16 years is a very long time to have a blog where MOST BLOGGERS..are not as EFFECTIVE as they should/COULD be….when it comes to FOCUSING….to bring about positives…”

Says Bu’s number one author that Bu is sleeping on
    Is she a sycophant
    Is she a psychotic
    Is she a psychopath
    yes
    yes
    yes

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The WINNER.,,

..not psychotic…

.anyone on BU trying to diagnose anyone else unprofessionally, UNTRAINED and unpracticed…., needs diagnosing themselves….ya get a lot of that on here..

GP is the exception, except for one year when he diagnosed a medical condition for me without ever seeing me or examining me, i put that down to a moment of madness…lol

10. Seek medical advice

Your views about minorities that you repeat for every subject is proof of psychosis

Psychosis is when people lose some contact with reality. This might involve seeing or hearing things that other people cannot see or hear (hallucinations) and believing things that are not actually true (delusions).

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

says the FAKE SCHOLAR…

12. Patriotic DBLP member Avatar
    Patriotic DBLP member

Would just like the Prime Minister to have second thoughts when brilliant ideas require a constitutional amendment. She should have consulted her AG.

I, too would be doubtful about getting advice from this AG (given his past track record); it is doubtful if in his case two heads are better than one and given his penchant for arse licking getting a different opinion may be impossible.. wait a minute.. she might have consulted him

Some words that provide an escape
    I am considering nominating
    I am thinking of rewarding
    Mr KK has been a great supporter and could possibly be rewarded with a senate seat. Wha do ya tink?
    Or even make an anonymous contribution to BU with your list of senators

13. The Senate is a racist-imperialist-colonialist instrument for the oppression of the black masses and the perpetuation of slavery. How else can it be that the opposition sets the tone in the Senate, even though the opposition has not won a single seat in parliament?

Time for our Supreme Leader to command KK as National Youth Leader of the Mottley Youth to storm the Senate!

14. The alternative is to watch the judiciary further destroy itself as it struggles to make sense of a nullity.

There has to be some adult somewhere along the chain of command who will do the right thing.

But I know there is no one.

Civil strife is a likely result.

15. Now it is plausible and clear by the Senators decision
    The Judge was not allowed to have the last rule
    Absurdity or whatever call it your choice to name it
    The judge made a ruling above and beyond the tenets of the Constitution and her ruling was shot down
    I dun
    The fact of law still remains as the Constitution intended

16. And around and around they go and where they’ll stop no-one knows!

Rabbit making the most sense SHITE! Rabbit said that there must be THREE MPs to form the Oppisition. So how did the Red Bishop save us in 2018.

Did anybody read PLT’s offering? Then it seems none of us heard the arguments in the Senate. I admit that I didn’t. I have no doubt that Peter got it right. Why would such a faulty statement come from the PMO?

17. David & Artax

I agree 100% with Artax 2:51pm

18. @John 2

Artax has shown himself to be a level headed commenter over the years.

19. @ angels cox March 20, 2022 4:04 PM
    (Quote).
    The fact of law still remains as the Constitution intended
    (Unquote).

Agree!!

The same way it was intended for it to mean that twenty-one (21) years, not younger, is the age at which a person can be appointed to the Senate or elected to the HoA.

If the Constitution had said ‘No More than 21persons to be appointed to the Senate’ then there would have been no justifiable challenge.

BTW, ‘ac’ it seems the words of warning from your now dead nemesis OSA have not fallen on the now angelic anal cox deaf ears.

20. DonnaMarch 20, 2022 4:38 PM

So how did the Red Bishop save us in 2018.

He didn’t!!!

He landed the GG in the soup.

The last constitutional Parliament was under Froon!!

Every thing done since then is null void and of no effect..

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, I agree that @PLT’s post gave better clarity of what happened in the Senators’ ruling, however, his remarks on the reasoning for the dismissal of the amendments do not make the PM’s “statement faulty”!!

@David, it seems that they stopped teaching reading and legal comprehension in George Street … how on earth can a political pundit analyse the ruling from the Justice that the court had no jurisdiction to overrule or question the President on this matter of discretion and thus ruled in her favor construe the ruling as a rejection by this Senate decision..

You speak often about the billions of $$ on education but good Lord!

That’s just nonsensical … the Senators’ action says NOTHING about the court ruling … SMH.

Anyhow let’s see if the CCJ agrees … I don’t see how they can’t but stranger things have happened like that ruling in the Selby case!

Whaloss!

22. @Dee Word

Is there any surprise at the rising apathy and cynicism by the public?

23. Fascinating that some are so aggressively on the attack of my interpretation as to what happen in the Senate as it correlates to the judges ruling
    A ruling which the judge made clear whereby giving govt the go ahead to defy the Constitution and its intent
    Also it is clear in my mind that the Judge for all intents and with a purpose of force underestimate the power of the Senate as it is now presently unconstitutionaly constructed
    I also within my frame of mind belives that at the point where the judges ruling went in favour of govt
    The govt also underestimate the Senate hoping within hope that the absence of the two democratic Senators would have given govt a better chance when the votes were cast
    Some times reading tea leaves gives a better perspective of how corruption works in the minds of tea
    That judge is one for the books
    Don’t bother chasing me
    I stand by my conclusion

24. The Two opposition senators would be expected to vote NO. How would that have help the government?

25. Prominent attorney-at-law Gregory Nicholls will on Monday become the country’s newest Government senator.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/03/20/gregory-nicholls-appointed-senate/

26. John2March 20, 2022 7:43 PM

The Two opposition senators would be expected to vote NO. How would that have help the government?
    Xxcccc
    Very few expected this challenge to meet any opposition

27. In 2022 we really need public consultation to decide whether an 18yr old should be able to sit in the lower or upper house? You can vote but barred from debating the issues you voted on or against? The same Independent senators upended the integrity legislation too. Maybe we do need some young, genuinely progressive senators. Small wonder our money in the banks getting 0.01% interest.

28. Watch Hants bob and weave..

Hants is this the same Gregory Nicholls who appears below in “Lawyers in the news”? Why is he there?

29. If the BLP controls 12 members of the senate it determines the result.

What do 7 other senators matter?

The 7 so called independent senators should resign or should have never accepted their appointment.

Difficult to understand how anyone can consider them independent.

It is like Caswell, Crystal Drakes and Reverent Joe.

Obviously they bent over backwards to see the BLP through.

30. Having thoroughly investigated the ‘news’ below, that one should be removed.

Gregory Nicholls
    Theo’s rating👍 👍

31. @ TheoGazerts,

David the blog master may clarify why Gregory Nicholls is still in Lawyers in the news.

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, surely there is no “surprise at the rising apathy and cynicism by the public”

And what is also NOT surprising are the number of people parading publicly doing Ossie Moore imitations !

They write very strangely and interpret the most elementary points of comprehension as if they are translating a piece of Latin … and only remember from Ossie’s 2nd and last year at school when he learned the declinations amo, amos, amat, amamus … but decided that was enough love for him 🤣😇!

Oh Lordie.

The awesomeness of social media is that we can ALL get to play with guns (or Latin) but the problem is that it also shows us how many monkeys are bout de place handling de guns (and amare) … and don’t KNOW a butt from a barrel of a gun!🤣

@AC I’ll leave you to @Artax as he said it best: your interpretation of the Justice’s ruling and the Senate action is a “monstrous perversion of logic and common sense”.

33. The question all.over social media is asking
    How did Mia make such a giant leap from 18 to 45
    What about Nicholls looks youthful or suggest youthful
    Once again OSA was right politics of gimmicks

34. No 18 year old can be worldly enough to be a parliamentarian; what a foolish idea.

35. @Enuff
    The same Independent senators upended the integrity legislation too. Maybe we do need some young, genuinely progressive senators.
    ++++++++
    As I recall didn’t a couple of Gov’t appointed Senators absent themselves from the proceedings re Integrity legislation? Give this current lot some credit, as per PLT they didn’t object to the 18-year-old per se, their beef was about a piece meal amendment when the PM promised a full revamp of the Constitution subsequent to the establishment of the Republic.

BTW are you part of the Gov’t’s coterie that believes the Independent Senators should rubber stamp all the Gov’t’s proposals?

36. @Hants

It is disappointing to observe a recycling of the same old same old. Ironic too that Nicholls was on the team that fought the constitutional motion brought by Adriel Brathwaite.

37. @TheoG

The info about Nicholls is in “Lawyers in The News”, he was sued civilly regarding an unpaid loan.

38. The blogmaster has to say it is satisfying to see the Senate flexing its muscle and showing a different position to compare with the usual talking heads.

Senators slammed

Independents blasted over failed bid to amend Constitution
    by SHERIA BRATHWAITE sheriabrathwaite@nationnews.com
    TWO POLITICAL SCIENTISTS and the former Leader of the Opposition are concerned about Government’s decision to withdraw the bid to amend the Constitution that will allow an 18-year-old to serve in the Senate.
    Yesterday, Dr George Belle told the DAILY NATION that Government moved to avoid political embarrassment, adding it was a slap in the face for democracy in Barbados, while Peter Wickham said it was selfish of the Senate to oppose the amendment.
    Former Opposition Leader and leader of the Alliance Party for Progress, Bishop Joseph Atherley, remained adamant that Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley should have never revealed the identity of the teenager she intended to appoint.
    During last Friday’s sitting of the Senate, Leader of Government Business Senator Lisa Cummins moved to adjourn debate on the Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2022, when it became evident that the required two-thirds majority vote would not have been achieved.
    The amendment sought to repeal Sections 37 and 43 of the Constitution, which respectively deal with the allowable age for a person to be appointed to the Senate or membership in the House of Assembly, from 21 to 18.
    The next day, Mottley announced that she was abandoning her bid to have 18-year-old Khaleel Kothdiwala appointed as a senator in light of the clear indication by Independent senators that they would not support the measure.
    Belle said the Mottley
    administration was now in a “strange” position, as this development uncovered a fundamental flaw within the new Senate.
    ‘Reflective institution’
    “The Senate is supposed to be a reflective institution of Government. It is not supposed to be an instrument of frustration of a majority Government as it is an unelected house. The make-up of the Senate is designed so that the Government should not be frustrated, although in a situation where it is wishing for a procedure to be covered by two-thirds majority it could be cautious,” he said.
    “But to be faced in a situation where Government is being told that the Senate, by two-thirds majority, would be against the Government seems very strange to me.
    “The only reason that that can happen is if the Independent senators are sufficiently opposed to the Government and that should not be the condition of the Independent senators. The Independent senators should be independent and should not be such that they are likely to oppose a Government’s will,” he added.
    The retired University of the West Indies, Cave Hill lecturer said Government pulled out before the situation got any worse.
    “Having won two elections with a maximum number of seats, the question is, why would the will of such a Government, more than any other Government, be frustrated with an act from an unelected house? That is the political embarrassment . . . . It is a slap in the face to the democratic process in Barbados,” said Belle.
    Peter Wickham said the amendment would have provided a unique opportunity for inclusion and a platform where the voice of the youth could have been expanded.
    “I think what they (Independent senators) have also done is denied young people a voice and it is quite sad . . . . I think it is selfish and unfortunate,” he said.
    Atherley said that given all the advancements of Barbados in education, 18-year-olds were more than capable of serving in the Senate, so in principle he was not opposed to the idea. However, he did not like the way in which Mottley went about it.
    “What I did say back then was I thought the Prime Minister was making a serious error of judgement around the process when she identified the individual at the time, because it would make it seem as though you are changing the law to accommodate this individual . . . . It would be a serious disappointment not only to her but to the boy and that is exactly what has happened,” he said.
    Atherley said Mottley, in the initial stages, gave Kothdiwala too much publicity, especially since the amendment did not materialise before he was announced to be a senator.
    However, Kothdiwala, in a statement posted on his Facebook page yesterday, said this
    episode did not change the fact there were still outstanding young senators – Dr Crystal Drakes, Lorenzo Harewood, Shanika Roberts Odle and Andwele Boyce – who continued to make Barbados proud.
    “To young people, be not disheartened by recent events. The above clearly shows how bright the future is, for when you have persons of such extraordinary vision and capacity in the Senate and Government, generally, there is so much to be hopeful about . . . ,” he wrote.
    Interestingly, Drakes, an Opposition senator in the previous Parliament, but now an Independent, warned Government last Friday that amending the Constitution to lower the age for people to be elected to the House could be exposing them to matters they might not be mature enough to handle.
    She said there were things in the political realm for which intellect alone could not prepare a person at such an impressionable age.
    “I am in no way standing here saying that an 18-year-old should not be in the Senate, that has my full support. I, however, have my reservation about an 18-year-old being able to sit as an elected member of the House of Assembly,” Drakes added.

39. David it has to be a slap in the face for u to see your Supreme Leader appoint Nicholls to sit in Parliament
    A person of known illegalities
    Hopefully this a time of humility which has presented itself to u and as a reminder that people living in glass houses should not throw stones

40. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

““The Senate is supposed to be a reflective institution of Government. It is not supposed to be an instrument of frustration of a majority Government as it is an unelected house. The make-up of the Senate is designed so that the Government should not be frustrated, although in a situation where it is wishing for a procedure to be covered by two-thirds majority it could be cautious,” “

In other words the senate are failing in their duty and are unwilling to join the effort to make Barbados a progressive country.
    The Barbados Senate Opposition are Partisan Trash.

41. A harder slap is that there are zero opposition members who were recommended by the DLP.

42. Senate Cunts
    Cut the Crap
    PM and President can overrule Senate making Executive Orders.

43. “A harder slap is that there are zero opposition members who were recommended by the DLP”

Devil is in the Detail
    The Right Time has come to make Selection of Senate by Election

44. @David
    It happened that I saw his picture just before I saw the post as a senator.

It is natural that it would be mentioned.

I googled and found that he repaid the guy the next day. Given the flavor of lawyer in the news, I would remove him from the list

45. “BTW are yddou part of the Gov’t’s coterie that believes the Independent Senators should rubber stamp all the Gov’t’s proposals?”

I am somewhat surprise at the opinion some here have of our senators. It appears only a simple brain is required, just enough to turn a light switch on/off. All thinking was already done for them

46. DavidMarch 21, 2022 5:59 AM

A harder slap is that there are zero opposition members who were recommended by the DLP.
    Xcc
    Oh I see David it is time for tit for tat
    Not a slap in my face but by all reason and guided by Constitutional law
    It is a slap that hits hard in the face of a nation where at its root lies a history of being guided by a free and fair democratic process
    Needless to say which has been abridged and discarded ever since Barbados became a Republic
    However as the saying goes the longest day have an end which by way observation this day might not end well

47. When we have reached the point where we listen to George Belle and Peter Wickham for analysis of the actions of our Senate it MUST surely be clear that Buhbadus is VERY NEAR to a nadir.
    Shiite man!!
    The only real failure in the Belle family, and the black sheep of the Wickham clan who has managed to distinguish himself by marrying a Frenchman…?
    steupsss

The damn Senate has shown that there remains a modicum of common sense – even in the midst of universal brass bowlery.

No thanks to anything but the grace of God who, according to Isaiah1, has had mercy, and adopted a few BBs who stand out like beacons in the darkness. Outliers in a country of morons, cause otherwise the damn place would be like Sodom and Gomorrah.