Freundel Stuart was the prime minister of Barbados in the period 2010 to 2018 after assuming the caretaker role from David Thompson who became sick on the job soon after the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was voted to office in 2008. The legacy of Stuart’s stewardship is still being written although some pundits at this early stage are happy to label it worse than the Sandiford administration. The tactic engineered by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – the other member of the duopoly – has enjoyed success with branding of the Glorious Years as The Lost Decade.

The failure of a third party movement to gain traction in Barbados means the health of our democracy is nexus to well managed DLP and BLP political parties. A strident dissenting voice is a feature of the Westminster system we try to model – the lacuna created by the recent general election and ensuing legal challenge regarding how the Senate is constituted is a case in point. A good argument can therefore be made that the business of political parties is the public’s business although classified private entities. In fact the unwillingness of quality citizens to offer themselves to join political parties who aspire to selflessly serve the public is at the heart of the type of governments we are saddled.

Some of us who comment on political matters are not surprised at the dysfunctional state of the DLP. It was not difficult to forecast. Barbadians except for the rabidly partisan are turned off by the quality of politics and governments we have been getting since the Tom Adams era which ended in the mid 80s. The blogmaster opines both DLP and BLP political parties have been rotated to govern the country based on the level of voter apathy and lack of credible alternatives and little to do with substance. The unprecedented 30-0 victories at the polls by the BLP in 2018 and 2022 should give Barbadians reason to pause. The BLP despite making several mistakes in a brief tenure of just over three years the political opposition was unable to gain the public’s trust.   The quality of our system of government whether we like it or not is tied to the quality of individuals attracted to serve in political parties. There is that symbiotic relationship only a fool would deny.

Today makes 32 days since the last general election and except for a public position in response to a contentious offer from Prime Minister Mottley to participate in a discussion about accepting two Senate seats, the DLP has been silent and irrelevant in the public space. Sensible observers appreciate it will take the DLP time to assess, reorganize and mobilize BUT there is a reality to be considered by the DLP and onlookers. The silence coming out of George Street is consistent with the ‘glorious years’ of the Stuart administration and the longer it persists, the more difficult it will be for that party to be perceived as a credible alternative. The blogmaster is aware the DLP has skin in the game based on the matter that is before the court brought by AG Brathwaite – who we know is acting de facto for the DLP. Some of us are not so stupid to believe otherwise.

This is a cry for a different type of citizen with a passion and body of work for serving the public to join the two main political parties. An organization assumes the character of its members. If we want our governments to change how business is done, it must begin with the quality of personnel attracted to political parties. Today it is the DLP in crisis, it is not inconceivable the BLP may find itself in a similar position when Mia Mottley demits office whether for a forced or unforced reason. If that happens all of us will be adversely impacted.

The type of government we get starts with YOU!

366 responses to “Sound of Silence”

1. BTW watch Parliament.and you would see a 30 seat Parliament filled with Minister clowns all nodding yes in agreement to.a one govt debate
    The only thing missing are the red suits
    Shameful

2. “The DLP has a constitution”

A constitution is a legal basis for an entity

but losing 30 to 0 x 2 should be a crime

sponsors should ask for their funds back

on grounds of false advertising and fraud

3. “BTW watch Parliament.and you would see a 30 seat Parliament filled with Minister clowns all nodding yes in agreement to.a one govt debate”

Watch DLP for an important lesson on how not to be if you wish to avoid being a failure in life

4. A fake a.ss election and blp supporters heads in the clouds rejoicing
    Parliament tomorrow would put the final touch on what it looks like to be fake
    Sure worth recording for future generations to gazed upon
    30 govt Ministers debating the people’s business amongst themselves
    Fake to the bone

5. 555dubstreetFebruary 20, 2022 8:19 PM

“The DLP has a constitution”

A constitution is a legal basis for an entity

but losing 30 to 0 x 2 should be a crime

The crime was forming a Government in 2018.

So far all we getting is bluff after bluff in 2022.

The BLP is holding this country and its citizens to ransom

6. TheOGazertsFebruary 20, 2022 7:34 PM

I think waiting until April is a mistake. The DLP should have found a way to hold those two places whilst ‘cussing’ Mia.

No party should lend any credence to this farce and should keep far far away.

7. SERIOUSLY
    WAS THERE A DULY HELD ELECTION OR NOT?
    WAS THIS OR THE LAST ELECTION RIGGED TO GET THE RESULTS OBTAINED?
    WAS ANY ONE COERCED OR FORCED TO VOTE THE WAY THEY DID?
    WAS ANY OF THE TWO ELECTIONS STOLEN BY FOUL MEANS?
    SO WHY THE CONTINUED BICKERING?
    FIX WHAT NEEDS FIXING AND MOVE ON NUH.

8. It is fake because the citizens who voted preferred it to be so.

Vox populi!

9. There is a matter before the court brought by former AG Brathwaite challenging the legitimacy of the Senate. No challenge to the lower House. The DLP has not challenged the general election despite some hignorant supporters are arguing.

10. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 11:20 PM

There is a matter before the court brought by former AG Brathwaite challenging the legitimacy of the Senate. No challenge to the lower House. The DLP has not challenged the general election despite some hignorant supporters are arguing.

The political parties are clubs, can’t sue or be sued in a court of law.

Individual citizens or legal entities protected under the constitution need to sue.

Citizen Braithwaite is one citizen who has the matter before the court.

He also happens to be a former AG, MP and we assume, still a DLP

Problem is at the GG/President.

She has to appoint 2 opposition senators but can only do so if the Leader of the Opposition advises her who to appoint.

The Leader of the Opposition does not exist because there is no group in the House of Assembly which sits in opposition to the Government in waiting that can select the first person to hold office.

We have a nullity as we did last time.

The problem this time is if the nullity is addressed it will expose the nullity of the last time and everything the unconstitutional Government did would become null, void and of no effect.

It will also expose Grenada’s nullity (3X) and Grenada after all is our CARICOM partner and partners are not supposed to expose the infelicities of partners!!

So the BLP is left to bluff and pretend its way through with no opposition in a Parliamentary Democracy which must have one constitutionally!!

Any citizen could in theory challenge the constitutionality of the Lower House.

In a normal court it would be a slam dunk.

The current matter before the court seeks to determine how many senators can fit on a pinhead and does not address the elephant outside the house.

11. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 11:20 PM

There is a matter before the court brought by former AG Brathwaite challenging the legitimacy of the Senate. No challenge to the lower House. The DLP has not challenged the general election despite some hignorant supporters are arguing
    Xxcccc
    If it walks like a duck
    Quacks like a duck
    It must be a duck
    All.that fix past election like a glove
    The rigging started at the point of voters Suppression
    And yes there was a challenge sent to the law courts to halt the election on such grounds

12. The judge dismissed the challenge stating ” There was no.election court whereby the case could move forward “

13. John and his poo..

The 2018 solution was called a work around
    The 2022 scenario requires a constitutional amendment for clarification of opposition wipe outs

2 or 3 missing seats in senate does not mean senate is not valid
    No LoO does not mean parliament is not kosher

14. Small.island people does not have the resources to.take these crooks to court
    However the Bible long time ago.warned of powers in high places
    So anything seen and heard by the powerful should be placed under a microscope of scrutiny
    These people are quick.in covering their ar.sses
    Still.trying to figure out what is an election court

15. “However the Bible long time ago.warned of powers in high places”

I just spoke to God ✟ on the bubbling telephone ☎ chalice

She said that biggest misinterpretation by the Christians who drew up the Bible and it’s social laws to hold and control the masses in her name was that she created everything in the universe and there should be no division between good and bad as everything is her creation

This is another point that is way beyond your level of comprehension but should be put out there for others to think about

16. disambiguation clarification
    there should be no division between race colour creed nation religion sex as everything is her creation

17. Now on to the law courts waiting to see how much more fake this issue can become

18. Who is saying the DLP as a private entity can sue? That point has been made in this forum many times. The pertinent issue is that the DLP in a public statement stated it is not associated with the matter. At minimum if as a political party it felt vested in the matter it could have issued a more sup[portive statement. The blogmaster recalls how quick the deposed former leader of the DLP Verla De Peiza was quick to be supportive of Donville Inniss as he negotiated a matter in the US Court.

19. The Court will determine whether DLP are guilty of throwing the election

Throw a game
    To lose some competitive game intentionally, especially in order to take advantage of the bets placed on one’s odds of winning.

20. DavidFebruary 21, 2022 6:24 AM

Who is saying the DLP as a private entity can sue? That point has been made in this forum many times. The pertinent issue is that the DLP in a public statement stated it is not associated with the matter. At minimum if as a political party it felt vested in the matter it could have issued a more sup[portive statement. The blogmaster recalls how quick the deposed former leader of the DLP Verla De Peiza was quick to be supportive of Donville Inniss as he negotiated a matter in the US Court

Xxxx
    Steupse
    Sometimes I wonder

21. What you should give introspection to is that the blogmaster and others here opined many times De Peiza was not the one to lead the party. Here is another opinion, the DLP is walking a very dangerous path to nowhere at the moment.

22. Yuh know it makes for wonder if those talking loud about the Dlp problems have such short memories as not to remember the blp having problems and having a wilderness life for ten years under Freundel Stuart when OSA was leader and when Mia was leader
    So what the blp wins two terms
    Don’t see much to celebrate especially when this last election remains under a cloud of various suspicions
    Having a first in the history of Barbados democracy of several legal threats against this present govt lead by Mia Mottley

23. “The pertinent issue is that the DLP in a public statement stated it is not associated with the matter.”

DLP have earned the reputation of being the biggest losers

to associate their name with the case would be the kiss of death

24. We live here, we vote here, we are entitled to discuss the problems that will ultimately effect us. Weak leadership of political parties is an important issue. If you read the blog with comprehension you should have picked up the concern is for the quality of parliamentary democracy we have been getting which has been causing apathy and cynicism to rise among the electorate. Instead you are too busy being defensive about a DLP struggling and should be open to criticism as a way of informing a new path.

25. Out Beyond Ideas

by Rumi

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing,
    there is a field. I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass,
    the world is too full to talk about.
    Ideas, language, even the phrase ‘each other’
    doesn’t make any sense.

26. DavidFebruary 21, 2022 7:09 AM

We live here, we vote here, we are entitled to discuss the problems that will ultimately effect us. Weak leadership of political parties is an important issue. If you read the blog with comprehension you should have picked up the concern is for the quality of parliamentary democracy we have been getting which has been causing apathy and cynicism to rise among the electorate. Instead you are too busy being defensive about a DLP struggling and should be open to criticism as a way of informing a new path
    Xxxxx
    I would not be distracted by your opinion of what u think I should opinion on
    The subject matter at present is a level of concentration being placed on the PM finger prints and boisterous positioning of herself to undermine the Constitution
    The dlp problems would be solved
    But of most importance is the safety and security of a democratic process which has taken a hit by the way in which the election process was handled involving the Constitution which is now being taken to the courts for resolution
    U can belly ache as many times over about dlp leadership
    However the country leadership should be one which must watched carefully as the PM crosses paths with the Constitution in more ways than one
    Dlp.problems would be solved that matter is in their hands entirely to do so

27. The constitution will be changed
    drastically

you need to be mindful and not mindless

when you twist truths in life you are rejected like a DLP

problem with liars is no one believes a word they say
    even when they tell the truth or are correct about something
    they have no credibility

28. 555dubstreetFebruary 21, 2022 8:22 AM

The constitution will be changed
    drastically

Even if an unconstitutional government changes the constitution the change can be challenged in a court of law and become null, void and of no effect.

The Barbados Courts could, if asked to do so decide that Barbados is not a Republic!!

29. John
    The Barbados Courts could, if asked to do so decide that Barbados is not a Republic
    Xxxx
    That would never happen the corruption is wide spread
    E.g a court decision not to.listen to the grievances of citizens who challenged the election process
    This is a Barbados where wealth equals power to receive all kinds of awards and rewards
    I think the word entitlement rings clearly

30. Tell me about it!!

But seriously,

Give the powers that be the opportunity to fix the problem, develop a paper trail and then embarrass them.

They may just surprise you and do their jobs.

31. “Even if an unconstitutional government changes the constitution the change can be challenged in a court of law and become null, void and of no effect.”

why persist in inane anal bullshit

the legal Republic has the legal right to make their own legal brand new constitution

despite time wasting energy vampire draining bitches moaning with nonsense circular arguments from nobodies like you and ac
    your wittering trivialities are irrelevant and meaningless

32. So here you got the David of BU telling some where the emphasis should be placed
    In meanwhile a govt is being concocted under the pretense of democracy
    Say what ! Yes
    This type of process ever occurred in the great USA these same hypocrites of self interest would run up and down the halls of BU talking about corruption and capitalist greed
    But not in Barbados such areas of corruption must be swept away from the eyes of the people
    So 😔

33. Setting the bar low
    leave the 2 tag team trolls John and AC to masturbate away with each other time wasting scum are a disgrace to their race

34. @ John February 21, 2022 5:31 AM
    The political parties are clubs, can’t sue or be sued in a court of law.
    Individual citizens or legal entities protected under the constitution need to sue.
    Citizen Braithwaite is one citizen who has the matter before the court.
    He also happens to be a former AG, MP and we assume, still a DLP
    Problem is at the GG/President.
    (Unquote).

And that is why the Constitution should not be amended to allow 2 senators from any of the other ‘political clubs aka parties deemed to have been in electoral competition/opposition to the political party making up the current government without a concomitant amendment to reflect the clear recognition of legally registered political parties and their role in the electoral process in electing members to the HoA.

Let the two senators be selected and appointed as Individuals; even though their association to a political membership club is publicly known.

We dare Ezra (or even the jurist heavyweight Mr. Enuff aka the Two DCoP joker) to argue to the contrary!

35. @David
    The pertinent issue is that the DLP in a public statement stated it is not associated with the matter.
    +++++++
    So what? Perhaps the DLP is displaying some intelligence and holding its cards close to its chest. If the DLP doesn’t take a public stand it can attach itself to whatever ruling comes down, something it would be unable to do if it gets ahead of any decision the Court makes

36. The DLP could rebuild the party with a focus on governing for the benefit of the people of Barbados.

The PM MIA BLP should not be entertained in any contrived ” opposition Senate seats “

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants
    I quite agree. There is a clear directive in the Constitution that states how the seats , normally nominated by the the LoO,should me settled. There is no need for the PM to intervene.

38. The DLP could rebuild the party with a focus on governing for the benefit of the people of Barbados.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie is struggling to follow this line of thinking from persons of the ilk of Hants and the Blog Master.

Why the hell would the DLP be interested in the ‘benefit’ of the people who rejected them 61-0???
    …because they are ‘altruistic citizens of impeccable repute’…?
    Are these different to the bunch of selfish BB’s who paraded their arrogance for 10 long years WHEN THEY HAD THE POWER TO DEMONSTRATE altruism?

Wunna should REALLY listen to ac … who has been (honestly) telling us (over and over) since the election that “wunna vote yuh de supreme leader – so wunna tek wuh wunna get..”.

The DLP is actually hoping for the worse possible outcomes – so that they can then do what MIA did to them during THEIR ten years of damage to Barbados…and that hopefully things will be so bad that even Froon will like like a good option.

The REAL idiots in the whole process are the usual suspects … the collection of mendicant BBs who are nothing more than collateral damage in the political self-interest game of greed and spite.

39. @ Bush Tea who wrote ” persons of the ilk of Hants ” .

40. @Miller

Does it matter? Senators flying ‘club’ colours do not historically vote conscience. They toe the line. Also the debate about a new constitution should capture all views including yours. The question to be asked is until that process is gone through we need to bridge that time until the new constitution is in place in light of the 60 to zero results.

41. “BTW watch Parliament.and you would see a 30 seat Parliament filled with Minister clowns all nodding yes in agreement to.a one govt debate
    The only thing missing are the red suits
    Shameful”
    You back to blaming the people/voters again?
    Whose fault is it all 30 elected MPs are from the same party?
    Just like FJS you haven’t a clue when you are calling the people stupid (lambs? 🤡?)

42. As the old adage says
    Sowing corn and expecting potatoes not gonna happen
    The PM has extended her hand in the wrong direction
    So much so that Today’s Parliament Dog and Pony show with an addition of Carrot and stick would go down in the history of Barbados democracy as quackery and an.insult to the intelligence of all Barbadians
    Really dumbfounding that the PM would have the audacity to show her hand at one state goverance an indifference to the Constitution
    The dlp does not have to say pint
    Let this govt ruled and run by the authority of PM Mottley shows its true colors
    As a matter of fact they should let this form of an undemocratic process run the full course and let the people feel the fall out
    BTW the IMF and China has a stake in this outcome
    Remember it is called politricks

43. @Sargeant

The blogmaster agrees the DLP should not publicly align with the motion brought by Brathwaite. The pertinent point however is that we know as a party they are vested given its public position on the matter of accepting two positions in the upper House.

44. @Bush Tea

The DLP is a ‘CLUB’ comprised of human beings; citizens from the communities in which we live. Can we start a conversation after acknowledging this point?

45. Don’t worry about it, at the next election whether by or general the DLP should remind the electorate about those glorious years once more.

#hignorance

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, it’s futile discussing the issue with @John Fellow or @AC. The former despite clearly enunciated legal direction repeats HIS absurd interpretation (ie that the Pres can ONLY be advised by a LoO) … he is therefore jerking around for his personal pet peeving.

The latter is just jerking around for partisan sake. The remarks that the BLP was “having a wilderness life for ten years […] when OSA was leader…” has NO comparison to this shellacking in TWO election cycles and most importantly no comparison whatever to the complete lack of leadership (or a developing leader). That anyone considering him/herself to be a political pundit would opione such BS is astoundingly ridiculous…
    It reinforces your well reasoned point that “the DLP is walking a very dangerous path to nowhere at the moment.”

Does this person have any perspectives of the true impact of the lost of the subvention which his party will suffer for another 5 years! When did the BLP EVER suffer that and have to rely COMPLETELY on funding from private sources… always nonsensical piffle from this person. Steeupse.

Now @Sargeant and @Codgy … that’s an interesting position you take re the DLP and court case!

Tell me guys where is the LEADERSHIP in that ‘submissive’ stance!

The issue is very simple: there is a constitutional query relevant to good governance! Shouldn’t our supposedly avowed opposition who has the best interest of the nation at heart be firmly backing such a key question of GOOD GOVERNANCE.

The court case has nothing to do with them getting Senate seats or not … it’s about legality and rule of law.

I complete agree with the blogmaster on this one… they should have adopted publicly an ‘amicus’ position (not directly of course as they are NOT a legal entity).

That’s leadership of the people and FOR the people… if Braithwaite prevails then what! …. They would just be lackeys benefiting … if he loses they are just lackeys benefiting too

That’s NOT leadership. That’s AC style behaviour … we already know the results of that!

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ooops… I am seeing your new post @David which completely is opposite to how I interpreted ur earlier comments.

So to clarify then… “I don’t agree _with the Blogmaster on this one..they should have adopted publicly an ‘amicus’ position (not directly of course as they are NOT a legal entity)” 😇

On dear. Lata 🤦🏾‍♂️👍🏿

48. Got news for yuh
    The way this country is heading having the democratic process on bending knees and at the mercy of govt and court
    That alone is a sure sign that whatever the people will
    There is a naked unadulterated turning point that has occurred during this and past election
    One that exposes wealth power and those who carries the mighty weight of the voting process
    What election or any other election !
    Barbados democracy is no more longer a democratic process than there is one in China or even Venezuela
    Look even the God and pray is under attack in this now farce of a democracy
    Sounds Familiar????

49. @ David February 21, 2022 11:12 AM
    Does it matter? Senators flying ‘club’ colours do not historically vote conscience. They toe the line. Also the debate about a new constitution should capture all views including yours. The question to be asked is until that process is gone through we need to bridge that time until the new constitution is in place in light of the 60 to zero results.
    (Unquote).

Bingo!
    The bridge is already in place; just for the elected and selected players to cross over to the land of action to perform the people’s business and implement the promises made to them in their government’s manifesto.

If the HoA can function without a LoO and the Senate can convene to conduct business without the presence of two senators why all the fuss if the President continues to deliberate in filling those 2 empty seats assigned in the Constitution to Oppose Her government?

50. de pedantic DribblerFebruary 21, 2022 11:46 AM

@David, it’s futile discussing the issue with @John Fellow or @AC. The former despite clearly enunciated legal direction repeats HIS absurd interpretation (ie that the Pres can ONLY be advised by a LoO) … he is therefore jerking around for his personal pet peeving.

There are times when the GG/President can only be advised by the Leader of the Opposition and that time is in the appointment of 2 senators.

Then there are times when the GG/President can only be advised by the PM, AFTER CONSULTATION WITH THE LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION eg appointment of a Chief Justice.

Clearly the first time is now.

We are mostly all agreed that vacancy to which 75 refers is the OFFICE which is yet to be created by the GG/President although there are those who will deny what is written.

Here is 75 again for those who cannot understand what is written.

During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no
    person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the
    Governor-General shall-

(a) act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that
    the Governor-General shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and

(b) act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in
    this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with
    the Leader of the Opposition