Freundel Stuart was the prime minister of Barbados in the period 2010 to 2018 after assuming the caretaker role from David Thompson who became sick on the job soon after the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was voted to office in 2008. The legacy of Stuart’s stewardship is still being written although some pundits at this early stage are happy to label it worse than the Sandiford administration. The tactic engineered by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) – the other member of the duopoly – has enjoyed success with branding of the Glorious Years as The Lost Decade.

The failure of a third party movement to gain traction in Barbados means the health of our democracy is nexus to well managed DLP and BLP political parties. A strident dissenting voice is a feature of the Westminster system we try to model – the lacuna created by the recent general election and ensuing legal challenge regarding how the Senate is constituted is a case in point. A good argument can therefore be made that the business of political parties is the public’s business although classified private entities. In fact the unwillingness of quality citizens to offer themselves to join political parties who aspire to selflessly serve the public is at the heart of the type of governments we are saddled.

Some of us who comment on political matters are not surprised at the dysfunctional state of the DLP. It was not difficult to forecast. Barbadians except for the rabidly partisan are turned off by the quality of politics and governments we have been getting since the Tom Adams era which ended in the mid 80s. The blogmaster opines both DLP and BLP political parties have been rotated to govern the country based on the level of voter apathy and lack of credible alternatives and little to do with substance. The unprecedented 30-0 victories at the polls by the BLP in 2018 and 2022 should give Barbadians reason to pause. The BLP despite making several mistakes in a brief tenure of just over three years the political opposition was unable to gain the public’s trust.   The quality of our system of government whether we like it or not is tied to the quality of individuals attracted to serve in political parties. There is that symbiotic relationship only a fool would deny.

Today makes 32 days since the last general election and except for a public position in response to a contentious offer from Prime Minister Mottley to participate in a discussion about accepting two Senate seats, the DLP has been silent and irrelevant in the public space. Sensible observers appreciate it will take the DLP time to assess, reorganize and mobilize BUT there is a reality to be considered by the DLP and onlookers. The silence coming out of George Street is consistent with the ‘glorious years’ of the Stuart administration and the longer it persists, the more difficult it will be for that party to be perceived as a credible alternative. The blogmaster is aware the DLP has skin in the game based on the matter that is before the court brought by AG Brathwaite – who we know is acting de facto for the DLP. Some of us are not so stupid to believe otherwise.

This is a cry for a different type of citizen with a passion and body of work for serving the public to join the two main political parties. An organization assumes the character of its members. If we want our governments to change how business is done, it must begin with the quality of personnel attracted to political parties. Today it is the DLP in crisis, it is not inconceivable the BLP may find itself in a similar position when Mia Mottley demits office whether for a forced or unforced reason. If that happens all of us will be adversely impacted.

The type of government we get starts with YOU!

366 responses to “Sound of Silence”

1. No snitching to trace who are the importers of the weapons? This must be the priority?

2. YouTube ” Open Conversations on Race in Barbados ”

Interesting videos and discussions.

3. What “debate” is that going to be

Welcome to the Chinese House Assembly
    Tomorrow the debate would be one of govt and only govt consideration on how to spend the taxpayers money
    Also would be the consideration on govt proposals to shore up spending shortages
    Since we are a govt unto ourselves having been given a 29 percent mandate by the peopleb
    This govt as presently seated would have no problem in taking these matters with all seriousness exclusive of any opposition
    The final count on votes yea or nay would followed a true and proven democratic process as well as recorded for future reference

4. Again the DLP finds itself on the outside looking in at the request of the electorate.

5. It is amazing how many here mostly Mia supporters can sit still and watch this mockery taking place in Parliament and does not utter a word of condemnation
    Atherley tried a few days ago but his remarks did not take any form of traction
    I am hoping this issue goes to the CCJ so that world wide attention would bring out the truth of a democratic process which has become a joke in Barbados
    Every time this issues come mind shades of dictators come the.my mind
    Never have crossed my mind that democracy in Barbados would be dimmed

6. What is also amazing is a DLP in still mode after 61 love.

7. TheOGazertsFebruary 20, 2022 1:42 PM

The DLP is under no time obligation to make life easier for MIa.

Th clock, however, may be ticking on the GG/President!!

She has 90 days to issue a writ from dissolution,

She did but the result was a nullity.

54 days or so gone … and counting.

8. @ Miller February 20, 2022 2:53 PM

Opposition is not a necessary element of democracy. The people wanted one-party rule and the unity of powers in 2018 and again now. No more and no less.

Those who want to see the opposition in Parliament and Senate are acting against democracy and the people. Just as we trust Goddess Bim, we must trust and follow unconditionally her High Priestess and Emissary Mia Mottley. Leadership and followership are the basic principles of the New Order, our new constiutional framework, not written yet, now consisting of customs developed since 2018.

9. @ angela cox February 20, 2022 3:18 PM
    What “debate” is that going to be
    Welcome to the Chinese House Assembly
    Tomorrow the debate would be one of govt and only govt consideration on how to spend the taxpayers money
    (Unquote).

You can bet your last Yuan (Chinese cent required to enter the theatre of boredom) that during the upcoming bout of thirty soliloquies and repeats your dear loving party (DLP) will be held responsible for the current (and past) ills plaguing Barbados including your party’s reluctance to take up the opportunity of being the selected punching bag to pose as the poster child of Opposition in the Senate.

Maybe it is simply a reincarnation of the OSA brand of a Poor-Rakey Parliament.

Don’t you see it as a grand opportunity for those red ‘obese partisan political siblings’ to pay a much needed visit to the Fat Farm and to cut out all the long-winded speeches for 4 days in order to save the taxpayers money by not having to underwrite the full 5 day costs of those big-belly lunches and dinners; with free ‘big-mout’ drinks to boot?

10. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 3:26 PM

What is also amazing is a DLP in still mode after 61 love
    Xxxxx
    Silence is golden at times rewarding

11. “Are you a programmer? /computer scientist? Just asking for my edification.”

AFFIRMATORY

My brain is a computer

12. “Welcome to the Chinese House Assembly”

DLP election campaign started with China bashing and then ejaculated

13. Off topic my deepest condolences to Hon Elizabeth Thompson on the passing of your mother.May god keep you amd the family strong at this difficult time.I gone.

14. Lorenzo
    Could u not have sent her an email
    Why use BU to toot your self-serving horn

15. @LorenzoFebruary 20, 2022 5:09 PM

I join in the condolences.

However, enough of the diplomatic words! Our Ambassador must finally return to her post in NYC from which she walked away almost two years ago.

16. And then all yuh wonder why I refer to the majority posts as hogwash. Get up good. #61-0andcounting

17. EnuffFebruary 20, 2022 5:33 PM

And then all yuh wonder why I refer to the majority posts as hogwash. Get up good. #61-0andcounting
    Xxxxx
    So why don’t u post something that is not hogwash

###morehogwashandcounting

18. Some of us are slower than others…
    61?
    30+30=60
    Are you saying that El President is a creature of Mia????

Is that a warning to El President?

19. There was the BLP victory in the by election in SGN.

20. You are correct.
    It slipped my mind….

21. The DLP needs to rebuild. They could accept the 2 opposition Senate seats and pretend to be effective.

For the next couple years they have an opportunity to build a credible political party.

22. @ 555 dubstreetFebruary 20, 2022 1:16 PM
    (Unquote).
    “For the DLP to act on the offer at this stage is akin to diving head first off a pier into murky and shallow waters.”
    not necessarily, accepting an offer from existing 2 main heads of state PM and President, would circumvent the drama and waste in court resources and could be implemented immeadiately..
    (Unquote).

And that is when and where the unnecessary power play dominates the proceedings in the Mickey mouse brand of the charade called parliamentary democracy.

There is Absolutely No need for any PM to be involved in the election or selection of anyone to oppose his or her administration in the ‘aping’ of the Westminster style of governance.

Leave that to the electorate or to the third leg of the tripod of Parliament called the Head of State as enshrined in the Supreme Law called the Constitution.

23. Don’t get side tracked by the
    30-0 victory that only had a 39percent voter turn out
    A victory handed and orchestrated by the PM during a pandemic with an asterisk placed which shows prove of voters Suppression
    Instead of blp supports touting this victory they should be holding heads in shame as to the realities that took place having a PM positioning herself in the most despicable manner to achieve a favorable result for self and party
    As the old people says time is longer than twine
    And as seen by the present ongoing occurrences having the govt and President place under the microscope of scrutiny heading towards maybe not one but two courthouses
    So much shame attached to the victory that blp.supporters ought to hide and not remind people about this victory
    Xxcccc
    Be that as it may
    Tomorrow the PM has promised a debate
    Here once again with another asterisk attached with the asking of question who other than govt going to.participate in the debate
    Boy yuh tell.yuh not even Hollywood could write this script

24. 39% is incorrect, this number was posted by BU before a couple boxes outcomes were updated. The number is 43%. There you go arguing nonsense. While there are concerns about voter turnout and growing apathy, voters who turned out in our FPTP system voted for BLP. The end!

25. @ angela cox February 20, 2022 6:10 PM

The remaining 61 percent are mainly made up of deadbeats and windrushers whose citizenship is highly dubious.

The overwhelming majority of the citizens actually living on our island have given our Supreme Leader the mandate to rule alone for the good of the people and the state.

26. “There is Absolutely No need for any PM to be involved in the election or selection of anyone to oppose his or her administration in the ‘aping’ of the Westminster style of governance.”

she was being generous magnanimous bounteous chivalrous lenient big-hearted and kind to the wounded dog called Dee
    have some pity on the shitty DLP who were stripped naked

27. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 6:13 PM

39% is incorrect, this number was posted by BU before a couple boxes outcomes were updated. The number is 43%. There you go arguing nonsense. While there are concerns about voter turnout and growing apathy, voters who turned out in our FPTP system voted for BLP. The end!

Xxxx
    I stand by my comment
    No.apologies here
    The End

28. No need to apologize, we know how you operate already. Hopefully the DLP leadership ignoring you. It is important they do, to avoid 90 love.

29. Barbados Elections 2022 Results by Constituency – caribbeansignal.com

https://www.caribbeansignal.com/2022/01/21/barbados-elections-2022-results-by-constituency/

30. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 6:33 PM

No need to apologize, we know how you operate already. Hopefully the DLP leadership ignoring you. It is important they do, to avoid 90 love.
    Xxc
    Why u invoking the dlp.name in this bu back and forth
    My guess they not listening to u as well
    Think about that
    When a govt and supporters can latched on to a 39 percent voters turn out and interpret that small margin of voters turn out as a mandate
    One just have to wonder with amazement how far would this govt go to manipulate the people minds
    Mia should be apologizing to the country for such a small turnout as well as placing blame on herself for allowing poor judgement built on self interest that allow the election to be called during the pandemic
    Adding that voters Suppression was also a factor to be reckoned

31. Now tomorrow a charade mockery would be staged in Parliament
    Another manipulation staged as a debate
    What a farce but the govt says that this is not a problem
    Worst yet the govt supports agree
    Lawd have merci

32. Poor you, try as you might it will not erase the 61 love and the morass the DLP finds itself. We will continue the vigil until April when a good leader will emerge.

33. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 6:57 PM

Poor you, try as you might it will not erase the 61 love and the morass the DLP finds itself. We will continue the vigil until April when a good leader will emerge.
    Xxxxx
    While u have found an erase
    Let me add that also not to be erased is govt finding itself before the law courts as modern day political architects of attempting to undermine the Constitution in others words a PM using tactics to obstruct
    How is that for political manipulation of the Constitution after having a 30-0 victory

34. We wait to listen to the DLP outside parliament offering stiff resistance.

35. Ac poor you 39 % is better than anything.You dems still moanijng and groaning and bitching everyday.Weather it is Alvin gearbox or Mr P on brasstacks or you, Skinner or TLSN on here.You all ain, t get the memo yet.THE DEMS GET A SECOND REDWASH 30 TO 0 due to very poor leadership and not being ready period.Let tjat sink in most bajans do mot want to hear anything from the dems.Ms Mottley should withdraw her offer to the dems forthwith and let Mr Blackett and the arrogant dems stay on the outside looking in.In fact i am quite sure had this result been had under Mr Adams or Mr Barrow no offer of this sort would have been made.I gone.

36. I think waiting until April is a mistake. The DLP should have found a way to hold those two places whilst ‘cussing’ Mia.

“In the best interest of the Nation and to provide a defiant opposition we accept the two seats that are not Mia’s to give but are constitutionally due to us”..

Get your DLP lawyers to do the hard work and to finesse the simultaneous acceptance and rejection of Mia’s gift.

You were waiting until 2023. Now you are waiting until April and then to 2026. Take your tail from between your legs and get out there.

37. Lorenzo at least at least u have owned up to the 39percent voters turned out
    Now go a step.further and admit that the PM should also take responsibility for such a low turn out
    The evidence of higher vote turn out is there from.previuos election absent of pandemics
    Confession is good for the soul

38. They have no choice to wait, this is when the special meeting is scheduled. Verla resigning with immediate effect upset the apple cart. Left the party without a leader. Some may consider it selfish on her partZ

39. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 7:13 PM

We wait to listen to the DLP outside parliament offering stiff resistance
    Xcx
    Go sit in a corner till yuh name call
    Better yet stop putting yuh hands up to get attention

40. Your hignorance knows no bound. Even when the numbers are given to you, yet persist with the untruth. No wonder you have to pine in the political wilderness for five more years.

41. Five more years of yelling from outside.

42. TheOGazertsFebruary 20, 2022 7:34 PM

I think waiting until April is a mistake. The DLP should have found a way to hold those two places whilst ‘cussing’ Mia.
    Xxx
    The dlp party has a Constitution that directs the party on such issues when problems such as these occur
    It is not as simple as some here wants to belive
    There are rules and guidelines which agreeded upon which just cannot be ignored
    Unlike Mia having a disrespect for the legal language of the Constitution which has brought her name into ill repute and cause damage and harm to the President

43. “We wait to listen to the DLP outside parliament offering stiff resistance
    Five more years of yelling from outside.”

Find Ease Within Effort
    Relax Upward
    Relax Away from Distraction
    Relax into Soul Awareness

Politics is like daily yoga practice
    it is not just about moving into a position
    but it is about comfortably staying in the position when you get there

44. The DLP has a constitution, what is does not have is a leader.

45. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 7:39 PM

Your hignorance knows no bound. Even when the numbers are given to you, yet persist with the untruth. No wonder you have to pine in the political wilderness for five more years

Xxxc
    One request of you
    Please let me pine in peace
    But knowing how u operate that request would be too.hard for u to give
    Xxxccc
    BTW what truth
    Still awaiting the naked truth
    However do not expect to hear from u
    Hence I settle for the first truth of 39percent

46. ” Verla resigning with immediate effect upset the apple cart”

by rights from 2022 election result
    she should have been made LoO

47. What the DLP needs to do as a matter of urgency is to recruit a few knowledgeable persons to patrol social media to respond intelligently to issues.

48. “What the DLP needs to do as a matter of urgency is to recruit a few knowledgeable persons to patrol social media to respond intelligently to issues.”

during the campaign AC stopped moaning on Bu like she had been on the regular
    and was working hard on other platforms but to no avail

DLP were annihilated like a bomb 1 month ago

but the real work is the present and future prospects of Barbados

49. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 7:52 PM

What the DLP needs to do as a matter of urgency is to recruit a few knowledgeable persons to patrol social media to respond intelligently to issues
    Xxxx
    What

50. DavidFebruary 20, 2022 7:49 PM

The DLP has a constitution, what is does not have is a leader

Xxx
    Go read it
    If u call yourself an administrator of BU
    My advice to u is to stay informed instead of spouting half a.ss information speaking about those things you don’t know
    Speaking of highnorance go take a look in the mirror