Submitted by Observing

Barbados has always had a trend for celebrating a “maximum leader.”

We loved Errol Barrow and his accolades. We revered Grantley Adams and then his son Tom. Now we adore Mia Amor. Over and away we have other examples such as Dominica, Grenada and St. Vincent. But, is this trend healthy for a small island democracy?

A look at how events play out under such leaders show that support is consolidated, popularity is increased and machinations are employed to retain power. Decision making goes unopposed or unfettered. Allegations of infelicities disappear into the night. Opposition voices are stifled, or stifle themselves for lack of a persona equal in stature to he/she who leads from on high.

In Barbados, we have seen this leadership reap benefits in some instances. But we have also seen it bring a sense of arrogance, entitlement and a “I can do what I want” mentality. Tinkering with the constitution is now a norm. Double standards are now more open and blatant. Ignoring the “silent majority” is now also a trend, especially when tourist dollars or the macro economic picture is at play.

Similarly and negatively, the Freundel administration also practiced this, albeit, with foolish and arrogant abandon, disregarding the public it served. They ignored advice, plodded along with errant decisions and took the approach that “I am in charge.” 2018 speaks for itself.

But what really does this “maximum leader” bring?
After Tom died Bree took over and the rest is history.
After Barrow died Sandiford took over and the rest is history
After Thompson died Freundel took over and the rest is still an ongoing history

The maximum leader philosophy, rooted in a personality rather than collective progress can be dangerous. Without organs for continuity it gives a temporary illusion of success followed by a period of decline. Without sufficient controls and dissenting voices it gives rise to the Animal Farm mindset. Without an efficient fourth estate, it leads to a false perception of democracy and inclusion, which is really driven by public relations, marketing, psychological manipulation and popularity mining.

Think about it…
Is it truly a functional democracy when a leader can call an election whenever he or she feels like no matter the circumstances?
Is it truly a functional democracy when information is not free, integrity is not legislated and our elected leaders cannot be held to account other than at the ballot box?
Is it truly a democracy when those who control government, also fully control every aspect that regulates oversight and control of that government?
Is it truly a democracy when two-thirds of an electorate stay home leading to a 30-0?

A good democracy demands that government, civil society, labour and capital work together for the good of the people. Recent events have shown that at least three of these organs work together for the good of politics. The partisan divide, the whispers on the street and the frustration and despondency of many are the inevitable result.

We have always asked in this space, will the real leaders please stand up?
If ever there was a time for them, it is now.

318 responses to “Maximum Leaders, Absolute Power and Democracy”

1. William Skinner Avatar

@ Observing
    The truth hurts. We simply want to bury our heads in the sand and celebrate political victories.
    I learn this the very hard way , when Barrow passed the Public Order Act. The BLP has not repealed it.
    The current debate on the Constitution is frightening, here on BU and elsewhere and frankly, we seem quite happy to let the PM exercise powers , she does not have, under the constitution, and she is being supported by an Attorney General, whose track record is dismal.
    This Maximum Leader nonsense seems destined to lead us into some form of parliamentary sanctioned sophisticated abuse of well established constitutional norms.
    Congrats, on a fine piece. Keep up the good work.
    Peace

2. What about the media they have all but disappeared leaving not in as much as a note behind saying Finished
    Today the media highlights a baby in the oven
    Guess what! the people are in awe
    The media like the politics of a today’s Barbados has found a formula to.manipulate

3. The article turns the truth upside down. As usual.

“Is it truly a functional democracy when a leader can call an election whenever he or she feels like no matter the circumstances?”

This is the case in many Westminster democracies. Why doesn’t “Observing” complain about Barrow, the father of the constitution? Because he is a DLP grandee like “Observing” himself?

“Is it truly a functional democracy when information is not free, integrity is not legislated and our elected leaders cannot be held to account other than at the ballot box?”

It was not the ruling party but the opposition, led by the dishonourable senator, that sabotaged the anti-corruption bill in the Senate. The same people “Observing” admires so much.

“Is it truly a democracy when those who control government, also fully control every aspect that regulates oversight and control of that government?”

With an absolute majority, only the public, the press, etc. ever control the government. It is the same in all other democracies. An opposition party that is not elected to parliament and which the citizens hate does not deserve any privileges. That would be deeply undemocratic.

“Is it truly a democracy when two-thirds of an electorate stay home leading to a 30-0?”

“Observing” uses wrong numbers. If we do not count all overseas Barbadians, but only all adults on the island, about half voted. The rest were obviously so satisfied with our government that they did not vote at all.

Tron, year 1 NR, year 4 SL

4. Even here on BU the gas pedal is always pressed
    The issue of any day would find the BU intelligent fussing and cussing on things of no relevance to the governance of Barbados
    Just stand in the hallways and one would hear the circular arguments
    I chuckle

5. It will take a paradigm shift: revolution; to undermine this deeply ingrained regional political structure.

Portugal on April 25th, 1974 had a bloodless revolution/military coup which was supported by the masses.

Observering, if the region’s population remain silent than nothing will change. All it takes are a few brave men and women to usher in a new era and bring about the demise of these weak and economical broken Caribbean countries.

6. Allegations of infelicities disappear into the night. Opposition voices are stifled, or stifle themselves for lack of a persona equal in stature to he/she who leads from on high.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

DONT WORRY IN THE NEXT SEVERAL YEARS THE 100 BARBADOS DOLLAR WILL NOT BE ABLE TO BUY 1 SINGLE BANANA LIKE JAMAICA OR GUYANA WHERE 1 BANANA IS OVER 100 DOLLARS IN THEIR LOCAL IMF DEVALUED CURRENCY.

STUPITY CATCHES UP SOONER OR LATER

7. @ King David,
    An excellent contribution from Marsha Hinds.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/30/btcolumn-bim-in-a-mess/

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, it is perfectly true or only an opinion that : “The current debate on the Constitution is frightening, […], we seem quite happy to let the PM exercise powers , she does not have, under the constitution,…”

The PM did not nor did she attempt to exercise any ulta constitutional power -re the two senators. I too dislike her meglomaniacal behaviour on this matter I do not see where the outrage is valid.

She publicly voiced an altruistic desire re a long time leading political party which – because of her position and the current state of affairs – she definitely should NOT have said … but it was NOT an attempt to subvert the constitution.

On this matter of “Barrow passed the Public Order Act. The BLP has not repealed it” that says undeniably that ALL the political directorate in Bim COMPLETELY disavowed the supposed radicals of the Black Power movement … you may not like that based on your political leanings but our nation’s leaders were NOT enamored of that level of progressive discourse and acted forcibly to curb it.

To the author @Observing … a few remarks (unlike @Tron) on your … Is it truly a functional democracy….

“Is it truly a functional democracy when a leader can call an election whenever he or she feels like […]”

That IS part of the constitution power she has … so unless we change it we absolutely have to go with the flow!

“Is it truly a functional democracy when information is not free, integrity is not legislated and our elected leaders cannot be held to account other than at the ballot box?”

Ahem, but the ballot box is absolutely the ultimate power and as long as we have that … we have a democracy. And realistically the problem is that the agencies in place to check freedom of info, integrity and accountability simply REFUSE to do their job…

“Is it truly a democracy when two-thirds of an electorate stay home leading to a 30-0?”

YES. Absolutely… particularly when the nearly same two-thirds (60%) gave the same 30-0 result about 4 years ago.

Democracy will never be perfect … but as long as we do have that ability to make a FREE choice whether we do so by a deliberate act or one of omission then still Is it truly a functional
    democracy

9. 10,000 Houses in 5 years

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Correctoon: I too dislike her meglomaniacal behaviour.. BUT on this matter

11. We have hundreds of people who are still waiting on the Government, but they have given us a new mandate on January 19.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/01/30/sutherland-formulates-plan-to-provide-housing-solutions-for-storm-victims/

12. @DPD
    The democratic experiment may be in need of review then!!!

@TLSN
    Will those few brave souls ever stand up?

@William Skinner
    Totally understood

@Tron
    How does that supper taste now you have rested your vocal chords??

Just observing

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    “The PM did not nor did she attempt to exercise any ulta constitutional power -re the two senators. I too dislike her meglomaniacal behaviour on this matter I do not see where the outrage is valid”
    The PM did attempt to subvert the constitution when she publicly said she will give two senatorial seats to a political party when in fact the constitution does not recognize parties.
    The PM again at the installation of the current MPs said she had consulted with her AG and that it was declared that the two senate seats can go to her political twin.
    The PM has gone silent and her AG must now be the laughing stock of all his contemporaries. He is talking about a get together with him ,the DLP and the president , and telling the DLP to stop the politics and take the seats. In other words we screwed up so let us go around the constitution. .Barbados must not become a Banana Republic .
    Such course of action can only be achieved by an amendment to the constitution not by her wishes.
    When you say “ I too” in relation to the PM being a megalomaniac, allow me to say that at this time , I do not consider her to be such.
    As for the Public Order Act, your position is that held by most. However, underpinning that decision was ultimately a desire to ensure that the white Barbadians knew that we will all be executed if they ever got to feeling too uncomfortable.
    In other words without saying it , the Act was nothing more than a vicious assault on Black freedom of speech and political activity .
    There will be a time to pay for that and other atrocities that were committed .
    Peace

14. If that was the daughter (I do not have) walking around with a big belly …
    One must question the decision making of Mia

Rabbit was right

15. I am sure the Maximum Bitches of Barbados would nail Mia to the ground if they had any shit on her apart from innuendo, but they ain’t got shit

Observing’s propagandistic musings seem to end up damaging DLPs hopes and ambitions even more

16. “Is it truly a democracy when two-thirds of an electorate stay home leading to a 30-0?”

I can’t be bothered to scroll back to see who wrote this, but if the Mottley administration had used their 29-0 majority to make voting compulsory, people woulda be screaming blue murder and accusing her of being a despot a meglomaniac or something so.

There was NOTHING, NOTHING stopping most Bajans from voting on January 19th. It was a day of such beautiful weather.

Yes I know that some people were isolating because of covid, but some women were in labour too and couldn’t get to the polls and yet I have never heard a single person advocating that women due to deliver soon should be permitted to vote early.

Why not?

17. In America when someone is bitching it means they are in a good mood.
    Bitches love bitching. It’s all they do.

18. Strong Woman – FATDADDY

19. @TheOGazerts January 31, 2022 8:03 PM “If that was the daughter (I do not have) walking around with a big belly…One must question the decision making of Mia. Rabbit was right.”

Rihanna will be 34 in exactly 3 weeks. 35 is middled-aged. Almost too late for a woman to bear children. Do you old men expect her to be a virgin at 34? Were YOU virgins at 34? Was your mother a virgin at 34? Was your father a virgin at 34? Are your 34 year old sons and daughters virgins. Oh! you can’t ask them. You don’t dare to get all up in the business of your adult sons and daughters.

Have any of the BU men ever “accidentally” or deliberately impregnated a woman, and then failed to raise the child?

Would wunna have been happy if she had terminated her pregnancy?

Would wunna have been happy if she had concealed the pregnancy and given the child to the foster care system in the USA? How does the USA foster care system work for little black boys and girls.

And don’t get me started on the rabbit. How is it that most African descended people in the “New World” are of mixed race? Didn’t men white just like the white rabbit impregnate hundreds of thousands or millions of black women?

Looka fellas. Rihanna is NOT yur daughter. She does not have to ask your permission to do anything. When you were 34 and doinour thing, did you ask the permission of Rihanna’s parents or grandparents?

20. Our Supreme Leader cannot even bend the existing constitution. She IS the constitution. By the will of the people. She has achieved 100 per cent approval of her policies for the second time.

Like Leviathan. And so she far outshines Grantley Adams, Barrow and OSA. No other historical leader can match her.

People, state, party and Supreme Leader are one. I even heard she might sometimes dress up as a commoner to check out the mood in the hinterland villages. Or as a rich safari lady to ask around among the tourists and expats. Who knows. Her eyes and ears are everywhere. Even on BU.

How can our beloved Prime Minister be a dictator if she keeps holding elections? Doesn’t she speak to us almost every day on TV?

For me, she is the national saint, the concerned mother of the nation, the big sister.

21. I am beginning to lean towards Beyoncé more than Rihanna

22. Wait! What the hell is wrong with walking around with a big belly?????

Does she not know who the father is? Are they not in a committed relationship?

How many women did Barrow have sex with? Was he married to all of them?

How many women did Gary Sobers have sex with?

Was he married to all of them?

Is your problem the sex or the evidence of the sex?

So it is fine to have nuff nuff sex with nuff nuff partners as long as there is no baby?

Nuff nuff old fartism in de place! Young people doan rate hypocrisy!

Congratulations to Sweet Girl Ri Ri! Continue to mek de old farts shite dum pants! Many old farts would love to have made it into your pants but I know you would not put up with having to fake your orgasm.

I bet you taught A$AP a thing or two about female anatomy!

You go, girl!

23. Has any Bajan man ever asked a single question about the sexuality of any of the men llisted below?

Bussa, Charles Duncan O’neal, Clement Osbourne Payne, Errol Walton Barrow, Samuel Jackman Prescod, Sarah Ann Gill, Sir Frank Walcott, Sir Garfield St. Aubrun Sobers, Sir Grantley Adams, Sir Hugh Springer.

Just now reading Barrow’s bio on Wikipedia

“Errol Barrow married Carolyn Marie Plaskett, the daughter of a prominent American Baptist minister in Orange, NJ, on 18 November 1945. Their union produced two children: Lesley (1949–2008) and David (b. 1953). Despite their eventual estrangement THE COUPLE NEVER DIVORCED.[citation needed]. In the late 1950s HIS RELATIONSHIP WITH UNION ACTIVIST THELMA PADMORE PRODUCED A SON, ERIC. (b. 1960).

In her autobiography the AMERICAN SINGER NINA SIMONE CLAIMED TO HAVE HAD AN AFFAIR WITH BARROW (whose first name she misspells) during the brief period that she lived in Barbados.

DURING THE LAST THIRTEEN YEARS OF HIS LIFE UNTIL HIS DEATH, BARROW LIVED WITH SOCIALITE JEANINE LEEMANS.

So if Wikipedia is correct at least 2 adulterous relationships and a child he may have begotten and may or may not have spent any significant time raising.

And wunna got talk for Ri-Ri???

24. So if Wikipedia is correct at least 3 adulterous relationships

25. A$AP Rocky – L$D (LOVE x $EX x DREAMS)

26. Slam on the brakes
    Just wondering if being a national hero and being unmarried with a big belly is the right message to send to young girls.
    I was questioning the reasoning and decision making skills of Mia.

You must agree… flawed decision making.

27. My only comment is that it was freezing cold in Brooklyn.

” doan touch Rhi Rhi lef she lone “

28. Barrow’s belly was bigger than Rihanna’s will ever be, and nobody questioned that “manager belly.” Nobody ever asked if it was symbolic of ill discipline? If that sort of belly might be a bad example to the youth, cause them to over eat and over drink, and under exercise, and develop NCD’s and be a colossal burden to the tax payers.

Not a fella asked then or now a question about Barrow’s belly.

29. Adult human beings are entitled to a sex life. And they need permission from nobody, except the person they are having sex with.

30. @cuhdear
    🙂
    That was good.
    I throw in the towel.

31. @ TheOGazerts,

You are a brave man questioning the decision of Mia the Magnificent to make Princess Rhi a National Heroine.

32. Men! I really cannot stand their NONsense!

These are the “logical” creatures whom the male God put in charge!

Steupse!

Their “thinking” is as straight as a pretzel!

All day nonsense from all but a few of them.

I am tired.

Enough for the day!

33. It was a good decision to put Republic Day on November 30.
    I forgot what day it was on and then I remembered “Independence Day”
    If it was on November 2, I would be here thinking “I am losing it”.

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    I find this unwarranted attack on our National Hero Rihanna Fenty extremely distasteful.
    Bringing a life into the universe is one of the highest honors of all civilizations.
    Sharing with us all a picture of such beauty should be hailed as an inspiration.
    We need as men to stop this childish behaviour when it comes to our women.
    The choice to have or not have a child is a woman’s right and if she chooses to become pregnant out of wedlock it is her right.
    This applies to all women of all social, and economic groups.

35. It is said Barbados is a patriarchal society. It may explain why a level of undeserved criticism is directed at Mia Mottley.

36. I am sure that 33 year Rihanna did not promise Mia or the people of Barbados that she would be celibate. And indeed why should she? Have we ever asked for, expected or got celibacy from any 34 year old Prime Minister or from any national hero.
    From any 34 year old Cabinet Minister?
    From any 34 year old PS?
    From any 34 year old captain of industry
    From any 34 year old trade union boss?
    From any 34 year old Board Chairman?
    From any 34 year old doctor, lawyer, male nurse, teacher, engineer?
    From any 34 year old pastor or priest?
    From any 34 year old carpenter, mason, plumber, electrician?
    From our own 34 year old parents?
    From our 34 year old spouses?
    From our own 34 year old selves?

37. From any 34 year old Harsun or Cawmere bwoy?

38. @Donna January 31, 2022 9:39 PM “Men! I really cannot stand their NONsense!”

Weird creatures indeed.

Men we are told like nuff, nuff heterosexual sex [some like nuff, nuff of the other kind too]. Some on this very blog have boasted about how many women they have had sex with.

But they prefer women, except their wives to be sexless? And even so some don’t like their wives to like sex too-too much. If the madam likes sex too much it may arouse their jealousy and lead them to ask impertinent questions.

So how does a world work when men like nuff, nuff sex and feel entitled to get it, but they much prefer women to have little or no sex at all.

Somebody explain that to me please.

39. @Hants January 31, 2022 9:19 PM “My only comment is that it was freezing cold in Brooklyn.”

I made the very same comment, and the young people in my family tell me that if you ask “if Rihanna belly int cold” it is a sure sign that you are old.

The senior citizens club meets on BU. Lol!

40. “It is said Barbados is a patriarchal society. “

Elephants are matriarchal and boot the fathers and young males out the herd asap.

A Christian Country like Barbados with prudish British Victorian values must think Women on Top is the end of the world

41. When my mother was Rihanna’s age she had already given birth to 5 children. and she would have given birth to 7 by age 34 if our father was not away from Barbados helping out the British, the Europeans and the Americans for most of “The Second European War”

They children were all raised successfully to adulthood. All now over 60. One “died early” at only 65+.

And when she and our father got together, she barely out of her teens, they had not a po to piss in nor a window to throw it through. She told me herself that they had a 16 X 8, an outdoor fireplace, an outdoor toilet, a wooden barrel which served both as a water barrell and as a dining table, a kerosene oil lantern, and the wooden floor to sleep on. But they had nuff, nuff love, enough love to raise a family, enough to last them more than 70 years..

42. And tobesides “Auntie” wants 80,000 more Bajan people.

I am glad that Rihanna has started the ball rolling

Just 79,999 more babies to go.

Hope that nuff, nuff more young, healthy Bajan MEN and women DO take the hint and bring some children into the world.

43. @555dubstreet January 31, 2022 10:50 PM ” prudish British Victorian values…”

Victorian values what.

When Victoria was 34 she had been teking man since she was 20, so she had been fooping for donkey’s years. By age 34 she had 8 children. I am not sure if the men on this blog understand, but unlike men, women are NOT fertile every day of the month. Female fertility is about 3 days per month, so in order to have 8 children between the age of 20 and 34 it requires nuff, nuff sex, essentially sex at a minimum of every other day, less the fertile period is missed. And Victorian Victoria never missed her fertile period. So we can fairly safely assume that by age 34 Victorian had had sex more than 2500 times.

So I am not sure what people mean when they talk about Victorian values.

44. Any sign of the new Leader of the Opposition and the two senators he/she has to recommend to the GG/President?

45. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan January 31, 2022 10:59 PM

It is still 80,000 needed to prop up the huge politicians’ pensions. That child will not be contributing a cent to prop up the NIS and their poor decisions to investment its funds in government paper and failed government projects.

46. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Bajans love and want Maximum Leaders because we have been fortunate to have only had benevolent dictators in the form of the Prime Minister.

Few people seem concerned with the ability of our PMs and governments to
    – wake up any morning and call an election when few including the EBC were ready
    – the lack of accountability for how government revenue earned from our taxes, user fees and other revenue sources are allocated
    – attempts to control my medical decisions and curtail my freedoms through mandates and coercion while simultaneously refusing to accept responsibility if they turn out to have be ill informed causing more harm than good.

Until we have a PM or government who goes too far in the wielding of their absolute power, we will never push for the constitutional changes required to prevent our leaders from having absolute decision-making power without the experiencing the consequences of their bad decisions.

47. Critical AnalyzerFebruary 1, 2022 3:52 AM

Until we have a PM or government who goes too far in the wielding of their absolute power, we will never push for the constitutional changes required to prevent our leaders from having absolute decision-making power without the experiencing the consequences of their bad decisions.

We really do not need any constitutional changes just peeps who will actually follow the constitution.

If it calls for an opposition then no senate, parliament or government can exist without it.

I gave Ms. Mockley the name because she sought to become the “PM” of an unconstitutional/mock parliament.

We need the real thing, not pretenders.

Either go back to the polls or form an unconstitutional parliament which gets as close to the people’s will as is possible.

Survey Monkey and SMS surveys are readily available to see what voters will accept.

If they do not accept an unconstitutional Government, go back to the polls.

48. @CA

The PM committed an illegal act by calling a snap election?

49. Critical Analyzer Avatar

That is a prime example of absolute power. I have never kept track of the intervals between elections in the past but our last two prime ministers definitely abused that power.

No PM should ever have the power to call snap elections. It is an affront to a country that wants to claim it is mature enough to become a republic.

The next Election date should be automatically set 5 years after the last one within a 2 week window with parliament being prorogued a month before with an official election season announced and campaigning rules in effect.

50. No.the PM did not perform an illegality by calling an election
    However the purpose for governance is for govt to perform properly
    Hence before jumping out without considering that all.proper procedures alligned with the election process was able and ready to function properly and if not done
    The PM could of as well be seen to have set out to put certain political wheels in motion to obtain the desired result