Submitted by Observing
Barbados has always had a trend for celebrating a “maximum leader.”
We loved Errol Barrow and his accolades. We revered Grantley Adams and then his son Tom. Now we adore Mia Amor. Over and away we have other examples such as Dominica, Grenada and St. Vincent. But, is this trend healthy for a small island democracy?
A look at how events play out under such leaders show that support is consolidated, popularity is increased and machinations are employed to retain power. Decision making goes unopposed or unfettered. Allegations of infelicities disappear into the night. Opposition voices are stifled, or stifle themselves for lack of a persona equal in stature to he/she who leads from on high.
In Barbados, we have seen this leadership reap benefits in some instances. But we have also seen it bring a sense of arrogance, entitlement and a “I can do what I want” mentality. Tinkering with the constitution is now a norm. Double standards are now more open and blatant. Ignoring the “silent majority” is now also a trend, especially when tourist dollars or the macro economic picture is at play.
Similarly and negatively, the Freundel administration also practiced this, albeit, with foolish and arrogant abandon, disregarding the public it served. They ignored advice, plodded along with errant decisions and took the approach that “I am in charge.” 2018 speaks for itself.
But what really does this “maximum leader” bring?
After Tom died Bree took over and the rest is history.
After Barrow died Sandiford took over and the rest is history
After Thompson died Freundel took over and the rest is still an ongoing history
The maximum leader philosophy, rooted in a personality rather than collective progress can be dangerous. Without organs for continuity it gives a temporary illusion of success followed by a period of decline. Without sufficient controls and dissenting voices it gives rise to the Animal Farm mindset. Without an efficient fourth estate, it leads to a false perception of democracy and inclusion, which is really driven by public relations, marketing, psychological manipulation and popularity mining.
Think about it…
Is it truly a functional democracy when a leader can call an election whenever he or she feels like no matter the circumstances?
Is it truly a functional democracy when information is not free, integrity is not legislated and our elected leaders cannot be held to account other than at the ballot box?
Is it truly a democracy when those who control government, also fully control every aspect that regulates oversight and control of that government?
Is it truly a democracy when two-thirds of an electorate stay home leading to a 30-0?
A good democracy demands that government, civil society, labour and capital work together for the good of the people. Recent events have shown that at least three of these organs work together for the good of politics. The partisan divide, the whispers on the street and the frustration and despondency of many are the inevitable result.
We have always asked in this space, will the real leaders please stand up?
If ever there was a time for them, it is now.
If there is no opposition, then the parts of Constitution that mention opposition are no longer applicable.
John Logic is for trolling.
@ Cuhdear BajanFebruary 1, 2022 7:22 PM
“Please note that science has not had to spend a cent on us.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
So why was HRT created? For only men who have lost their libido and cannot afford KY gel?
@ Cuhdear BajanFebruary 1, 2022 7:13 PM
@Donna February 1, 2022 6:26 PM ” The law is written to serve the people. People are not born to serve some words on a piece of paper.”
Then Jesus said to them, “The Sabbath was made to meet the needs of people, and not people to meet the requirements of the Sabbath. Mark 2:27
(Unquote).
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Why then shouldn’t we, the modern people living in an Age of Science, throw out those archaic Jewish-god stolen ‘Ten Commandments’ out of the window of brainwashing and write our own fit for the purposes of a modern age in order to resist the temptations of the modern devil called the Internet and those fruits of evil called porn and marijuana?
Why should the people continue worship Yahweh instead of Einstein or Edison or Tesla or even Nelson Mandela?
John February 1, 2022 3:19 PM #: “When presented with a lemon the DLP appears to be making lemonade!! With no seats, they are not obliged to do one thing, just sit down and squeeze Ms. Mockley’s lemons.”
Last/Last
RUBBISH!!!!
You adore in complicating simple issues. You’ve been spewing the same shiite since May 25, 2018. Three and a half years after, another 30-0.
What “lemons?”
Mottley made an unconstitutional suggestion to the DLP…. there aren’t any laws requiring Opposition Senators to be chosen from the political party receiving the second highest accumulated votes in a general election….. and, the President is NOT OBLIGATED to choose two Opposition Senator from among the DLP.
So, the DLP can do whatever pleases them. They could make lemonade, pickle for souse, or cut the lemon in wedges and serve it with grilled fish
You also seem to be implying elections should be called until there isn’t a 30-0 result. NONSENSE.
Supposed elections are called again and the result is 30-0? Then what? should Mottley and “her erstwhile cabinet colleagues should resign in shame and let the GG/President call new elections AGAIN, and AGAIN and AGAIN, until there isn’t a 30-0 result?
Let’s assume an election is called and the results are 30-0 in the DEMS favour?
You’re only ‘watering down’ the blog with shiite.
Artax,
That’s what I told him. He is a bloody nuisance.
Cuhdear Bajan,
Bushie is just proving his mysogyny. Typical old fart’s nonsense.
Bush Tea,
How the hell would YOU know what I am able with? And a man is the very last thing I need. There are few of you fit for the purpose, anyway. Who has time to waste? My patience has long worn thin.
But no, the problem is not menopause. I am good when I am away from the old fartism on BU.. i make my son laugh all day and my garden heloer too.
This is fifty bloody years I have been fighting misogyny!
IT IS ANNOYING! Who the hell do you old hypocrites think you are judging women by different standards than you judge yourselves in 2022?????!!!!
Nonsense!
TheO,
If your argument is valid you don’t have to think that long.
This is not rocket science.
I did not have to think.
Up until this point you have been FEELING not thinking. Now you are trying to think and you got NOTHING!
The navel string thing is all emotion.
The GOVERNED should be left to choose their GOVERNMENT.
THAT is a principle that cannot be refuted if one uses one’s brain instead of a navel string.
And Bushie,
Donna will be Donna. I will cuss who I want, when I want. I don’t give a damn what you say.
Except the blogmaster. Not in his own rumshop.
I think that Bushie is under his bed crying.
Artax,
As I recall, the nuisance John said there was no valid LOO in 2018 because he needed to command the votes of two other people.
So we must conduct elections until there is a 27: 3 result.
Nuisance!
CHAPTER V
PARLIAMENT
PART 1
Composition of Parliament
35. There shall be a Parliament of Barbados which shall
consist of Her Majesty, a Senate and a House of Assembly.
36. (1) The Senate shall consist of twenty-one persons who,
being qualified for appointment as Senators in accordance with
the provisions of this Constitution, have been so appointed in
accordance with the provisions of this section.
(2) Twelve Senators shall be appointed by the GovernorGeneral,
acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime
Minister, by instrument under the Public Seal.
(3) Two Senators shall be appointed by the GovernorGeneral,
acting in accordance with the advice of the Leader of
the Opposition, by instrument under the Public Seal.
(4) Seven Senators shall be appointed by the GovernorGeneral,
acting in his discretion, by instrument under the
Public Seal, to represent religious, economic or social interests
or such other interests as the Governor-General considers ought
to be represented:
Provided that before appointing any person under this
subsection the Governor-General shall consult such persons as,
in his discretion, he considers can speak for those interests and
ought to be consulted.
37. Subject to the provisions of section 38, any person who
at the date of his appointment-
(a) is a citizen of Barbados of the age of twenty-one years
or upwards; and
(6) has been ordinarily resident in Barbados for the immediately
preceding twelve months,
shall be qualified to be appointed as a Senator.
38. (1) No person shall be qualified to be appointed as a
Senator who-
Steupse! So wuh dah prove?
We must have a parliament and we must have a government.
The people have spoken.
Mia did not write the flawed Constitution that made an ass of itself by ASSUMING an opposition.
It is a flawed document that made no provision to carry out the will of the people in all its configurations.
Therefore if no-one decides to do an Atherley, the President must seek a solution.
That solution cannot be another election whose result cannot be guaranteed to provide an opposition.
@ The menopausal matriarchs of BU
Wanna running things!
Bushie recognizes that FACT of life (or is it death?), so no quarrels here.
But SURELY it must be clear by now that wanna don’t know what the hell wanna doing….. Not the two of wanna; ..Not Mia; ..Not the President; ..not the queen … not even ‘Miller’ the ex-annanakki – now turned BU sniper.
The shiite world is just about ready to implode with economic chaos, war, ridiculous weather, crime, hate and some of the most idiotic leaders in place since the Pharaoh who dealt with Moses.
…and wanna here talking shiite about ‘senators’…?
What senators what!!??
The ONLY damn senator worth shit in the last 20 years has been Caswell. Bunch of lackie ‘yes-people’ who make NO DIFFERENCE to anything.
We all know that Mia will do what ever the hell she feels like doing, – and that the Bajan yellow-belly black sheep will follow meekly while on brass tacks or BU saying ‘bbbaaa bbaa’… steupssss
By the end of this SAME year, wanna will SEE that none of this shiite matters…. finally…!
!Bush Tea February 1, 2022 11:59 PM “But SURELY it must be clear by now that wanna don’t know what the hell wanna doing…Not the two of wanna…The shiite world is just about ready to implode with economic chaos, war, ridiculous weather, crime, hate and some of the most idiotic leaders in place since the Pharaoh who dealt with Moses.
…and wanna here talking shiite about ‘senators’…?”
Please show me in the nearly 10 years I have posted on BU where I ever mentioned the word “senator” or “senators”
Tobesides we know that wunna impotent old men like nothing better than to make war.
If ya can’t make love, then you make war. Stupse! What else is new.
The logical step is for the insurrectionists to resign in shame and new elections called.
Three of them have already done so.
They have been replaced by three more eager to repeat the voiding of the constitution.
Their actions are clear and undeniable, from Ms. Mockley back down the chain.
Only the three who recently joined the show could claim not to have committed the offence.
Omission, commission …. same thing.
They have not got much longer to do something unless they want to be roped in with the others.
The GG got about 7 weeks to call a new election, 90 days from whenever Parliament was prorogued!!
The constitution does provide for an opposition….read it myself…
“By the end of this SAME year, wanna will SEE that none of this shiite matters…. finally…!”
go Bushman…while they SQUABBLE and WOBBLE….we already GONE CLEAR….lol
as i told Mia VERY EARLY ON…she has NO RIGHT MISUSING Elizabeth’s constitution…..GET YA OWN..
ya CANNOT change reality to suit ya narrow agendas….ya CANNOT change the path RA set….especially since ya DON’T even know…who RA is…
ya DON’T and NEVER WILL have that level of power…
Thanks for posting that section Angela…
.people believe this is some joke and they can make things up as they go along while bypassing reality…
Remember the Guyana election
Remember the players who played a crucial role in ensuring the Guyana results had a preffered ending
Barbados election was in some way founded on having a preferred result
The suppression of voters rights was the preffered stamp meted out
Women start the fights and then claim they are the victims when the Man stands his ground.
You can’t be a Queen without a King.
Bitches.
The shiite world has been here before. The shiite world will probably be here again.
The men were running it then. The men are running it now.
All the stupidest leaders in power are MEN!
But what am I supposed to do about what is happening in the world?
Dig a bunker and hide out?
Steupse! Life must go on until it doesn’t.
Which women start which fights and claim to be the victims?
I ain’t no bloody victim!
All the stupidest leaders in power are MEN!
~~~~~
You got THAT right Donna.
BUT, as Kiki said, “You can’t be a Queen without a King.”
Similarly, it is ONLY possible to create a REAL man with the support of a REAL woman…..
Let’s use YOU as an example…
What kind of ‘leader’ do you think your son will become…. after YOU continue to ‘skotch’ his lazy donkey under your skirts while you entertain him with mirth? Obviously you are just taking out your rejection from ‘someone’ by smothering him…
TYPICAL of the modern female – who wanted to be like ‘men’ – not realizing that WOMEN and MEN are completely DIFFERENT – but are fully complementary AND at the same time, mutually exclusive (ie you CANNOT have MEN and WOMEN separately, these entities can ONLY exists TOGETHER)
Once separated, they BOTH become Brass Bowls.
The REAL issue, when you dig deep down, is the misguided Devil philosophy coming from the usual suspects, about ‘equality of the sexes’ – which has created the modern female brass bowls who now dominate our world, and who are now as bad as the male brass bowls who have been suffering from the shortage of REAL women from childhood all the way to their drooling idiocy…
No wonder so many of the damn ‘boys’ end up looking for men to marry them and move to France…. and the girls are so enthralled with their macho ‘female’ leaders….
Damn place mash up…. just like Sodom, but ‘BBE’ has solutions for such challenges.
☮️
Dove of peace
99 Bitches
People have opinions they post on the barbados underground dot net
but if they didn’t have the technology these opinions would not clog their brane
as-salāmu ʿalaykum, “peace be upon you”
“(ie you CANNOT have MEN and WOMEN separately, these entities can ONLY exists TOGETHER)
Once separated, they BOTH become Brass Bowls.”
prophetic words, both in the physical and spiritual WORLDS..
Bushie,
Coddle him under my skirts????? My eighteen year old son is working from home and making money, INCLUDING FOREIGN EXCHANGE. Been making money siince the age of thirteen. Running his own fledgling business. Works for hours on end and shuts off his phone while doing so.
Got serious plans and giving them his best shot with some success. Been looking about for land far enough to keep me out of his business and close enough to stick his nose in mine (to protect and care for me, he says)
Everyone who meets him says that he has an old head on young shoulders.
Can whip men’s butt above his weight class and has. Always tries to make peace but does not back down and run away from bullies.
Loves girls ( and I have the proof) but possesses NO TOXIC masculinity.
Spends time searching and researching and thinking about life daily.
Thinks for himself and does not give in to peer pressure.
My son is STRONG-WILLED and decisive and thoughtful and brave but peaceful.
He is staying put more these days because he does not want to bring COVID home to potentially kill his mother.
But……I could no more coddle him than I could a blasted porcupine!
So much for your perceptiveness! Now I know you just how much that’s worth!
Lotta shite!
Coddle my son! Murdaaaaaah!
Now take your real man and real woman shite and piss off, if you still can!
Bloody old fart!
@angela cox February 1, 2022 9:51 PM
@Donna February 1, 2022 10:34 PM
Elections must have conseqeunces, so the senate should remain 2 senators short at 19 senators and parliament business will continue as it always did.
As there is no Leader of the Opposition to instruct the Governor General, the two senators posts will and should remain vacant until a sitting MP decided to form the opposition. We should not be changing the constitution to reward parties with participation trophies.
William….don’t get too caught up with the COCKUP in Barbados that ya are not noticing what the thing in St. Vincent is doing….looks like a preemptive STRIKE to me, but he opened the island for Vincy mass 2022…
As I said before, Bushie thinks he knows more than he does.
Coddle my son! I could try but I’d fail!
Oh, the battles we had in the last few years when he was flexing his muscles.
On his eighteenth birthday, he reminded me that he is legally an adult and I acknowledged and celebrated and reminded him what that entailed.
Murdaaaah! Perceptive and “too wise fir this epoch indeed!
My son is a real man who does not need to screw every woman to prove his manhood and does not need to keep them in subjection to prove his manhood.
@WURA
Not too caught up in it at all. What makes me actually laugh is that those who live BIm do much are prepared to dump the Constitution in order to support the PM.
As for Gonsalves nothing he does surprises me. He is the biggest disappointment in my view, in Caribbean politics and leadership.
Peace
Should be those who love Bim so much and not live Bim so much.,My apologies.
those who love Bim so much and not live Bim are prepared to dump the Constitution in order to support the PM.
blind followers of MISLEADERS….they are so insignificant that they did not even need them for this election…all they needed was to pass a few grantleys to return to the parliament…..many of them took the money too…a farce of fakeness.
LOL @ Donna
You sound almost as convincing as the mother who was talking about her ‘loving son’ after his murder conviction some time ago…
FYI, mother-son relationships are not counted when we speak of MEN/WOMEN relationships in terms of countering the development of brass bowlery.
You don’t even get the point of the argument …as usual resolving everything into personal, petty issues.
But you are not alone. This is also why our elections were called so irresponsibly; why the nurses are being penalized to spite Caswell; why the ONLY three males in the previous house that looked ‘slightly’ like REAL men, called it quits…; and why our ‘constitution’ is being constantly assaulted to cater to petty, emotional, and VERY PERSONAL issues.
Your son is possibly highly talented. However, a REAL mother’s job is largely done by age 14.
After that age, the boy NEEDS a MAN’S guidance in. order to become a REAL MAN…. not a miserable, fretting, petty, emotional hen who is battling with menopause AND with Waru…
And we done know they are incapable of criticizing what is KILLING THE PEOPLE….
they won’t want to lose their social standing of INVISIBILITY…..lol
Great that you love your son Donna
However ……..
A boy’s best chance of success is getting away from his mother as soon as he turns 18
A boy ain’t no man until he can provide for himself and a family
WS you are too damn emotional for a man, offended at everything, worst than a white liberal
But hold this, Rihanna is not a business genius, Sean Carter is. He saw in Rihanna a blank slate, what he could not have with his wife Beyonce. Who you think opened the doors for her?
Wall Street??? The business geniuses are not on Wall Street, they are 120 IQ and above Indian immigrants working in Silicon Valley
You sir are a dinosaur, your ideas are stuck in the 90’s
Redguard,
My main job WAS indeed over at around fourteen. The groundwork was laid and then I told his father it was over to him for the most part. I had him on speed dial. Their interactions were between them. I never even asked for a report.
My son and his best friend have their plans. Covid slowed down business. When things pick up they plan to rent together.
After we finished laughing at Bushie, my son told me that his description of a real man is that he takes care of his responsibilities.
He is well on his way!
I know you mean well, but I generally do not need to be told what is what.
Old Fart,
Shows how much you know! Menopause dun long ago and Donna rejoiced when it came and when it left.
Ain’t nobody calling me miserable these days besides old misogynistic farts on BU. The word is that “Donna real real igrunt an’ love to skin she teet’.” That is why not even Omicron could keep her away from the dental hygienist last week!
But to your nastiness!
Any of yours get lock up yet? Wuh en catch yuh en pass yuh!
My opinion of my son is the same as that of his father and his uncle. As a matter of fact my son is pretty much like his father’s other four sons in character.
And people who know him ALWAYS tell me they like how he moves.
But….I did not miss your point, at all. It is a very old point, made by very many men.
YOU made it personal when you used my son and me to illustrate your point.
A point based on bloody mysogyny which admits that woman and man are meant to complement each other. That nobody can deny. But the big BUT is the usual lotta “get thee behind me” crap!
Lotta shite!
The End. I dun wid dat! You can have the last mysogynistic word!
P.S. I thought you did not argue with women or idiots.
Wuhlaus!
We can’t leave any of this for our present and future descendants to address…it all has to be DRAGGED INTO the open right NOW and LEFT THERE..
And we done know they are incapable of criticizing what is KILLING THE PEOPLE….
they won’t want to lose their social standing of INVISIBILITY and VOICELESSNESS…
Maybe some day those who are blinded by their own fantasies will see that they DO NOT NEED those in the parliament, they are not only manufactured but created to benefit minorities, who need them most, to UPKEEP their criminal syndicates of corruption…..without parliament RATS…it will ALL GO BUST….’
there is no argument that everything these black face white, mask fools do is to benefit the minorities and NOT THE PEOPLE WHO LOOK LIKE or elected THEM..
African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved February 2, 2022 11:50 AM
War-on-U:
We trust you are following keenly the war of words taking place between your former attacker Dame Don and the reinvigorated Bushman spitting fire with his reconditioned w(h)acker.
We suspect the English-bashing dame has met her match and is about to lose not only her head but also the overgrown menopausal-looking daisies which she has been pushing up since winning the battle but losing the war with you.
For a woman to have Bush Tea holding your back you must be awfully good!
The Bushman has been stealthily taking in everything and saw the wrong direction LOOMING…..faster than the acela express…
since i came on BU he has been WARNING and WARNING US about the approaching CALAMITIES…if we did not see it all on a fast track toward us from BACK THEN….means we were NOT paying attention and MISSED the thread……those who did, because they were too busy with their colonial fantasies… can now have their ASSES SAVED by those who DIDN’T….and they are WELCOME…
Paying attention to JOKERS who NEGLECT their people is enabling and encouraging them…
“Residents fixing what Government failed to address – by Barbados Today Traffic February 2, 2022
by Kareem Smith
Frustrated with broken promises from successive Governments over the years about addressing the vexing problem of land slippage, residents in a St. Andrew community have taken matters into their own hands.
On any given evening just after 4 p.m., a visit to King Street, St Simon will reveal men at work packing gabions to repair a road that has been breaking away for over a decade.
There is only one road leading into the community.
Because of the slippage, large vehicles like fire trucks, garbage trucks, and water tanks cannot enter, making life miserable for the close-knit community.”
Back in yuh pants, yuh Little Pee Pee! Yuh should be shame to show yuhself!
I remember DPD recently saying that Bush Tea long told people they should not bother to argue with Wura.
APPARENTLY HE SAW SOMETHING GOING ON THERE AS WELL!
MURDAAAAAH!
You remind me of the woman driver in Paul Keens Douglas’s hilarious piece. Yuh got it ALL WRONG, ALL WRONG, ALL WRONG!
I asked before if you are going senile. I hear it is much worse than menopause.
STARVING THE YOUTH of knowledge, then PRETENDING they are ALL EXPERTS….when there is SO MUCH most of them DON’T KNOW…and DON’T WANT TO…is not helping the situation either…
No Donna….you don’t understand Bushman….he knew EXACTLY what he was talking about AND YOU DON’T…..that’s part of your problem… accurate. INTERPRETATION IS LACKING…
he also said i was HUNDREDS OF YEARS OLD…..he missed it by A FEW THOUSANDS….called me a witch too BUT SO DID YOU…
.you have NO CLUE what is going on…..that’s why it’s seen as MISCHIEF and CONFUSION making…
How childish that any time somebody takes a stab at me out comes the Miller to celebrate!
I guess Enuff gone and Donna tek over now.
Ah well, “Once a man. Twice a child,” they say.
Though I really ,cannot say if he was ever a man.
You really feel Bushie could hand me my head? The only thing I fear is that he might bury it in his misogynistic shite!
Hero worship was never my thing. Apparently it is for you silly men!
SEND OUT THE BAT SIGNAL!
BATMAN BUSHIE TO THE RESCUE!
Yeah, right!
Oh lawd! Bare mock sport in de rumshop!
I too love to skin my teet!
Oh hell! Went back and read the post. It is even worse than I remembered.
A man uses me and my son for an example and then says I am making it personal.
IT IS AMAZING HOW I AM ABLE TO EXPOSE ALL YOU MEN FOR THE LIARS THAT YOU ARE!
THAT IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU RUN OUT OF RETORTS.
SHAME, SHAME on “STINKING BUSHIE”!
Trying to work a Donald Trump!
The post is there for all t0 see, yet he says that I, being petty, reduce it to the personal.
For shame!
Bushman, Miller, William, TLSN, and all the others who know who they are… …you will be PLEASED to hear that the machinery is UP and RUNNING….
lots of work, but it PAID OFF.
Let’s take YOU as an example!
What kind of leader do you think your son will become when YOU continue to skoch his LAZY DONKEY under your skirts while you entertain him with mirth all day long? (Paraphrased from memory.)
The Miller, who KNOWS that my son is no LAZY DONKEY and stressed to me that from my accounts of his dedication to business and his accomplishments so far, is NOT your average youngster, the same Miller now characterises this pack of nasty lies from Bushie as “handing me my head”!
You all are a very dishonest and petty bunch!
Sad.
…methinks that you doth protest too much Donna…
People may think that the cap fits you.
Bushie was just drawing a general reference, …not saying that you were down there creating another Petra Wickman….
LOL ha ha murda!!
You are obviously taking out your rejection by someone by smothering him. (paraphrased from memory)
Does not sound like a hypothetical example now does it?
You are a blasted LIAR! Bushie.
Shame on you!
I knew you were a misogynist but I never expected that you would get so riled up as to lie like that. I make allowances for old farts who were raised in the era of old fartism but I cannot make peace with liars.
Admit your nastiness and we’ll chalk it up to ego!
Real men, as my son reminded me after we laughed at the image you painted of him, real men accept their responsibility.
You are still trying to fob it off on me!
Typical Adam and Eve in the garden stuff. And I did not even hand you the fruit!
A Psalm of Praises to the Most High
Offer a prayer for The Lying Bushman!
Bushie was just drawing a general reference, …not saying that you were down there creating another Petra Wickman….
(Unquote).
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Wuhloss! Heavens to Murgatroyd, the miller is off to the mill!
Bushie, be careful how you push that w(h)acker; for it might go in too far and hurt the lady’s feelings.
Instead of creating the elite man of her dreams she might just find out she has been blessed by winning the parenting lotto twice with having to buy ONE ticket only.
Why should we ever think about depriving our sweet D of the hope of being the ‘ideal’ granny!
William,
I who love Barbados am not willing to dump the Constitution in favour of Ms. Mottley.
I think she jumped the gun in offering those senate seats to the DLP.
However…. a solution must be sought and fresh elections a la Rabbit OBVIOUSLY ARE NOT IT.
From what read here, the solution is in the President’s hands.
If the Constitution had, as I first thought, made no provision for a 30:0 result then the flawed Constitution could not be allowed to keep Barbados in limbo.
That would definitely not be in the people’s interest.
Jesus’s words, whether real or imagined, make more sense than any of the nonsense posted here.
The Sabbath Law was made for the people’s wellbeing. It means NOTHING if it does not do that.
(paraphrased).
The Constitution was made to serve the people and not the people to serve the Constitution.
The Constitution is “sacred” . The people’s will is more “sacred”. The Constitution cannot be allowed to hold the people to ransome.
The people did not provide an opposition. Their choice must be honoured. The Constitution would have to step aside.
But….it seems DPD has solved the mystery. The Constitution was not an ass after all!
You should be off to the nursing home, you senile piss dripper!
Miller…am just waiting for further fallout to ADD to my book…lol, with all the drama, it keeps writing itself…i just hope others are using the opportunity to put ALL THIS into publications….i cannot do it all myself and have very different plans…
Steuspe
Like I said , and I find it absolutely amazing , that we seem to want to side step the issue.
The PM did not jump any gun. She has been in Parliament for nearly thirty years and she made the identical offer twice.
We pay an Attorney General , whose job is to advise her . This is the second time he failed or she did not listen.
This whole snafu could have been easily avoided but Mottley knows and the proof is there that right now , she can politically escape anything.
The people did not. vote for Mottley to mess with the Constitution.
I am totally against giving the DLP any Senate seats. They don’t have any divine right to a seat in the Upper or Lower house.
Having said that , if the President has the constitutional power. to do so, I as a law abiding citizen , would understand that.
However , I know that once we encourage a dog to suck eggs , he will eventually suck his owners.
This debate and discussion on BU and Brasstacks, has been most revealing..
The excuses made on Mottley’s behalf are also very frightening.
Of course the matter will soon be resolved but I stand firm.
Our PM screwed up .
Like anybody else she will make a mistake but the numerous defenses of are politically pathetic.
Wuh happen….Blogmaster don’t like publications…well, who knew…
“The excuses made on Mottley’s behalf are also very frightening. Our PM screwed up.”
can anyone say with any certainty WHY these stupid, basic and DANGEROUS mistakes are being made…by those who consider themselves the brightest thing since light bulbs..
..and with the SCORES of lawyers SUCKING on taxpayers, how is it even possible that it keeps happening over and over and over again in the last HALF CENTURY….
there is a message in there somewhere…
William,
She needs to be kept in check. I do not dispute that.
Thing is, there are many on BU who can point no finger at politicians!
People lie, are seen to be lying and it means NOTHING to most of you. And I do not mean Angela Cox, the usual suspect.
You just ignore and keep on going like Donald Trump and his supporters.
People pick their “favourites” and back them no matter what.
Shameless and shameful!
These are the so-called “Real men of BU.”
Depressing!
Jesus’s words, whether real or imagined, make more sense than any of the nonsense posted here.
(Unquote).
Didn’t the same Jesus tell his followers to obey the Law hence his trial, condemnation and inevitable crucifixion?
The said Jesus also got involved in an argument and said the following:
One of the lawyers answered him, “Teacher, in saying these things you insult us also.” And he said, “Woe to you lawyers also! For you load people with burdens hard to bear, and you yourselves do not touch the burdens with one of your fingers. Woe to you! F
(Unquote):
Now which piece of advice should the Bajan lovers of Jesus follow to sort out the current conundrum given the fact that the same political game is dominated by lawyers from the very top to the bottom?
The Law of Caesar (Constitution) or the wishes of a majority of a voting minority?
The knuckle heads on BU who LIE THE MOST are always the FIRST ones to POINT FINGERS and call other people LIARS…their favorite hobby horse…STUCK IN A LOOP while everyone else has MOVED ON…mischief, STRIFE and CONFUSION MAKERS…
good thing intelligent people need them for NOTHING….or we will ALL BE LOST…
@ Donna,
I posted 2 videos in the Diaspora corner just for you to show your son. lol
Bushman glad to have ya back, we sorely need more thinkers on BU…
@Skinner, when u say that “I am totally against giving the DLP any Senate seats. They don’t have any divine right to a seat …” that quite understandable and supported by the writers of the constitution.
Also when u say that “if the President has the constitutional power. to do so [use her discretion to appoint DLP supported senators], I as a law abiding citizen , would understand that.” that too is a practical acceptance of our condtitutional directives.
However, you then completely dismiss the also clearly stated dicta in the SAME constitution when it pellucidly gives the PM the ability to do exactly what she did … WHY is that!
None of us here are constitutional law experts but we are all intelligent enough to read and dissect statues or a constitution for its ordinary interpretative meaning – what Americans would call the original intent!
So please tell me if the original intent of the quoted text below (Sect 75 a and b) does not mean that a PM can offer advice to the President in circumstances where the LoO would have otherwise done so.
And if no then in plain ordinary grade school English comprehension interpretation as I give here please tell me what it does mean!
_”During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the [President] shall _
a. act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the [Pres] shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and
b. act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the [Pres] shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition.
You are right I believe that “The PM did not jump any gun.”. She gave the same advice 3 years ago because she was LEGALLY able to .so do..
Help me understand WHAT I am missing here.. as I am confounded by the noise on this matter.
Donna
People lie, are seen to be lying and it means NOTHING to most of you. And I do not mean Angela Cox, the usual suspect
Xxxcccc
Here is the thing
I takes one to.know one
As usual I will ask you to point me to my lies.
I would be very happy to clear them up.
That’s your answer????
“It takes one to know one”?????
No, it doesn’t.
Does it take a thief to know a thief?
Does it take a murderer to know a murderer?
What absolute puerile piffle!
Who can converse with such people?
Hants,
Will have a look and show him.
DonnaFebruary 2, 2022 6:30 PM
That’s your answer????
“It takes one to know one”?????
No, it doesn’t.
Does it take a thief to know a thief?
Does it take a murderer to know a murderer?
What absolute puerile piffle!
Who can converse with such people?
Xxxcxxxx
Uh see how quick uh bust out trying to defend a truth
Now take a another step out and figure out the others
@ DPD
The PM has no constitutional power to offer the DLP or any party seats in the Senate.
The PM having the constitutional power to discuss anything with the president is not the problem here.
Obviously , the matter will be resolved only when ( a )the President makes her two additional choices or (b) the constitution is amended to get the desired change
My position on the DLP not being given any seats , is highly personal and subjective. I honestly do not believe the taxpayers, should be underwriting its electoral failures.
Therefore my position remains; I will only support what the constitution allows.
I firmly believe the PM is to blame for this snafu and that will not change.
The Constitution must always reign supreme and that’s why it takes a two third majority to change it.
It was never meant to be taken lightly. I have been a community worker for over six decades. I have seen sports clubs and other community organizations take their constitutions more seriously,
Peace
“@ William,
She needs to be kept in check. I do not dispute that.”
Not only the PM but all of them , even the independent senators. My position is clear , once the taxpayers are paying I am going to scrutinize you. .Mottley enjoys a very stellar political career- she earned it. A remarkable politician by any measure.
She has established herself on the global scene ; good for the country; she inherited a very dismal economy and so on and although I am not supportive of IMF, I understand why she did it.
But, none of this matters to me , when she messes around with the Constitution.
The struggle continues.
@Skinner, it’s fair to say that over 60% of Bajans agree with you that the DLP are not worthy of a seat in the Senate … no issues there atall.
And of course the PM must take ultimate responsibility for the snafu… just as all leaders must when things go askew … particularly when their careless actions cause the problems.
That said I can only perceive that you are stuck on the plain reading of the constitution. If you accept that “having the constitutional power to discuss anything with the president is not the problem here” then clearly – as you go on to suggest – your strong personal biases do not allow u to rationally decide on what is plainly written.
Fair enough!
@Dee Word
How can you validate that 60% number?
Well @David if I take 78% (based on 2018 BLP vote) of those who didn’t vote, plus those who actually voted BLP and add in those who could give a damn about the DLP I should be way over 60% of voting population, yah don’t think!
The DLP got badly rejected TWICE, bro… I was being conservative 🤣🤦🏾♂️!
BLP 69% 30
112,839 voters
DLP 27% 0
30,273 voterrs
@Hants … I pulled my numbers from caribbeanelections… the BLP got 72.8% of vote in 2018… DLP 22.1% according to that site. I expect their stats are from the EBC.
The 78% was a generous rounding of ALL non
DLP votes … a bit of poetic license but not egregiously so for the guesstimated purposes.
@ DPD
“ However, you then completely dismiss the also clearly stated dicta in the SAME constitution when it pellucidly gives the PM the ability to do exactly what she did … WHY is that!”
The Constitution never gave the PM the right to offer Senate seats to the DLP or any other party.
We cannot possibly be debating the current issue. Perhaps , I have clearly misunderstood you.
What is really the bone of your contention.?
My personal opinion or “ biases” in relation to not giving any comfort to the DLP are totally irrelevant.
I said that I would only support what the Constitution allows.
The Constitution is very clear and that is why we have this situation. No doubt the issue will be resolved sooner rather than later.
The section you quoted in reality is a mere accommodation extended by the Constitution, that in itself cannot solve anything.
I simply don’t understand what you mean by she did what the Constitution allows. I don’t get that part because what she did was not covered by the Constitution otherwise we would not be here.
Peace
🐇/🐰
One thing I would wager on, there will not be a second election in 2022.
One of the strengths of Mia is that her opponents often underestimate her. Whilst they spend time conjuring up different scenarios, she executes her plan.
Perhaps, the process for amending the constitution needs fixing as the AG often measures once and cuts twice . The kind of tool a calculating leader needs,
@Skinner, as I noted previously I simply attempted to execute a plain English interpretation of the relevant section of the constitution and I asked u to also simply explain your interpretation of the same section 75 a) and b) to avoid the exact issue of ‘cross talk’ u raised above.
Thus where you say you “simply don’t understand what you mean by she did what the Constitution allows. […] because what she did was not covered by the Constitution” let me quickly revisit what I previously sought to clarify.
Allegation: The PM unconstitutionally offered seats to an opposition party who has no current standing in Parliament.
My reference: That’s political noise. The PM did NO such thing but rather made a recommendation along the lines legally allowed in the constitution where it says inter alia …:
”During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition […] the [President] shall” _
_a. act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the [Pres] shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and
b. act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the [Pres] shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition.
1.Yes it’s merely an accommodation as you noted
2.What the PM did was merely to effect that accommodation … she did not and cannot impose her will on the President’s discretionary power… she made a ‘recommendation’ as she is entitled to so do.
(And everyone is pissed off she had such gall to make that pompous recommendation … still ONLY a recommendation, however)
Just as you have strong biases she undoubtedly does as well … alas, hers are not as irrelevant as yours because of her significantly greater persuasive power but she still must be willing to abide by the laws …. as you are.
So again please interpret the plain meaning of the section and advise: does the PM have the legal ability to herself advise or make NON BINDING recommendations to the President in circumstances where a LofO would otherwise have acted. Yes or No???
We can leave it there because as you suggest this will be resolved and the endless noise will be quickly forgotten for its incredulity!
@Dee Word
You are wasting time. Political rhetoric is par for the course in this kind of discourse. We have some here who conflate to satisfy narrow interest. Their voices have also become ‘noise’.
@TheOGazertsFebruary 3, 2022 4:44 AM
Our Supreme Leader is getting the best ideas for transforming society and reshaping the so-called “constitution” on BU for free. Are we not adding fuel to the fire every day and encouraging our Supreme Leader on her way to absolute power?
@ DPD
Respectfully, I think you are saying recommendation; I am saying offer. When the PM made her statement , she did not mention no Constitution and Atherley saved the day.
She came back again and then independently minded lawyers ( Patterson, et al) started to question the nonsense.
The PM never sought no recommendation via the Constitution. You are quite correct to say that she legally or Constitutionally can but the point is she never did.She thanks offered or sought to offer a gift that was not hers to give.
A recommendation and offer are not the same thing.!
I therefore conclude that that’s where you and I seem to be.
Stimulating discussion , as always.
You seem to have a serious problem ,with me because, I refuse to come here and call people JA and RH, while engaged in robust debate. Very sorry to disappoint you and I can’t even promise you that I will try.
Have a nice day my Brother.
@William
Relax.
You have been posting here long enough we know the size of the chip you carry. The blogmaster as always will call it as it is being played out.
Hippy Hooray
BLP V DLP
Duopoly is Dead
R.I.P.
Maximum Leaders Vs Minimum Leaders
NO CONTEST
BLP = Champions
“ Like
David February 3, 2022 8:15 AM
@William
“Relax.
You have been posting here long enough we know the size of the chip you carry. The blogmaster as always will call it as it is being played out.”
I await full exposure of the chip, that is obviously a very well guarded secret.
And , as always , chip or no chip, thanks for allowing me to continue contributing to your blog
I can promise you that I will always express my opposition and support for positions , with the proper decorum;after all , my real name is always attached. That’s all I have brother.
Barbados’ much-touted Welcome Stamp initiative has been ranked number seven in the list of Best Countries to Work From in the Caribbean and South America.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/02/03/welcome-stamp-programme-rated-seventh-in-caribbean-and-south-america/
Pingback: Rihanna BOOM, Kothdiwala BOOM | Barbados Underground