Submitted by Observing

After a lot of long talk and too many minutes of politicking on CBC TV it is clear that elections are upon us. Yes, we have been repeatedly told not to place much faith in promises. BUT, the current government came to power with a 30-0 mandate, promising good governance, transparency and consultation as a norm. It pledged to be a people’s government focusing on what was best for the small man. My how thing have quickly changed. Notwithstanding the current leader’s fixation with international attention, the growing heavy handed and unilateral and arrogant approach to domestic matters, nor the obvious rumblings that have led to some quick retirements swaps, a review of “promises made” tells me that I was fooled once so shame on me.

BLP 2018 Mission criticals

• Rebuilding Foreign reserves. Yes indeed, with the IMF’s money and no plan to earn foreign exchange
  • Dealing with debt. “Up to the end of June this year, the country’s debt stock stood at just over $13 billion, or 150.3 per cent of GDP.” Enough said
  • Bringing tax relief. Really? The only people who benefited were the corporations and the VAT write-offs and subsidies. Nothing much for the average guy
  • Financial Sector Threat: I guess a National Credit Bureau that stops poor people with no or bad rating from accessing emergency funds counts
  • Helping people to live. Yes indeed, form paycheck to paycheck and if you are nurse from quarter to quarter.
  • Arrears and refunds. Yes sireee!! All in 42 month zero interest bonds. Gotta love it! Protecting people’s health. If the treatment of nurses and the engagement of Million Dollar Mark Maloney is any indication well …
  • Sewerage Systems must work: Yip, directly into the sea, just as planned
  • Getting rid of garbage: Ok, this is actually a promise kept. Kudos
  • Putting buses back on the road: Including the private operators again. Kudos
  • Repairing our roads: Clearly only certain “parts”
  • Alleviating water woes: If we consider running water that’s brown then yes, it has been alleviated.
  • Safety and well being: The crime statistics and gun crimes speak for themselves. Let’s not talk about paying out 2+ million dollars to the current commissioner of police who LOST their court case.
  • Empowering young people: Youth unemployment in Barbados over 30%.

Look, the PM’s press conference was well put together, sought to castigate and criticize those who oppose or have dissenting views. This is how dictatorships start. Every “Average” man understands that any economic growth has not reached them. Every blind man on trotting horses know that the worse is yet to come next year, hence the “rush” to the polling booths. WE also know the waning popularity locally of the current PM. The do as I say, ignore what I do and shut up because I am in charge attitude doesn’t hold any more.

Fool me once, same one me. Fool me twice, that’s all at me.

208 responses to “Fool me ONCE, shame on you.. fool me TWICE”

1. If the Barbados Liberal Party wins less than 30 seats, I will scream ” rigging” loudly! The people and the Supreme Leader are one. They have never understood each other better.

Supreme Leader, Mother of the Nation, National Heroine in the making, deliver us once and for all from the rotten opposition.

2. “We now have a one-party state. Now is the time to act like one. One leader, one party, one people. In short, Barbados.” (Tron, Supreme Counselor, February 27, 2020 7:40 PM on BU)

“recalibrate as a people behind one Government and one leader” (Mia Mottley, Supreme Leader of Barbados, 28 December 2021 6:15 PM on TV)

3. Not making sense to me

” She vowed to support “whoever emerges as this leader ”.

“Earlier, Mottley said she had taken a look at Barbados and was not happy with some of what she was seeing.”

” She was concerned over what she called the “silly season” which seemed to be affecting many actions ”

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/12/27/mottley-calls-early-barbados-general-election-january-2022/

4. The PM said that the country is divided, my question is which country? There are prevailing winds but not enough to call an Election 18 months before the mandate expires so the question is why and why now?

@Donna noted in another blog that this effectively takes out Atherley and by default Caswell and this leads me to “will no one rid me of this meddlesome Senator”. If yuh want it done right yuh have to do it yuhself.

So why some are playing Checkers the PM is playing Chess, an Election during a pandemic with a DLP still trying to find its feet.

Let the Games begin

Many hands make light work

5. @ Sargeant,

Why only allowing a 3 week campaign ?

6. @ Observing

It seems that you are not going to vote for BLP / Mia Mottley

To save up time queuing on Election day.. as your vote will only cancel out my vote why don’t we come to an agreement that neither of us will vote to save time. If Mia wins by 1 vote then it would have made a difference.

7. Is it possible that the PM is feeling pressure from within her own party ?

8. 14 members are supposed to have been in the process of a no confidence motion not so long ago!!

9. President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Verla De Peiza, described the announcement of a January 19, 2022 General Election in Barbados as a “panic” move by the Mia Mottley administration.

10. Sarge poor fellow the PM has in my view called the election now because she as most 8n Barbados know the dems led by the nightwatchman Ms Depeiza ain, t ready.The less said about Rev Atherley the better.This is a master stroke and i can only see one winner.The electorate will have a choice to make in a few weeks.Let us see what the sudden know all dems come with.As for Mr Franklyn we will see how his political game plays out.I gone.

11. @555
    A fair trade but how do I know you won’t vote twice!!!?

@Sargeant
    The blame for a divided country with a 30-0 parliament and a “maxim” leader can only lie in one place with one person .

The concern over the silly season and a divisive country are blatant excuses to mask the truth and the fear of what lies ahead.

Let’s wait to hear the supportive voices of the BLP candidates tomorrow morning.

12. Did the BLP supreme leader had a revolt from within ? If no, why would she pledge to support the leadership of Barbados if she don’t win

13. @Hants
    Why only allowing a 3 week campaign
    +++++++++++++++
    You move when you are ready not when the Opposition is ready

14. I think that I will sit this one out. Won’t attend political meetings, not even on zoom, for the first time in my life I won’t vote because I have a grudge against both the BLP and the DLP, and I can’t take the other parties seriously.

15. “We expect the Royalton Hotel in Holetown where the old Discovery Bay was to break ground within the first two months of 2022. We expect Hyatt finally to break ground as well. We expect the Pierhead project within the first six months in Bridgetown to break ground. We expect a new townhouse project next year at Porters in St James. We expect a very large Cineplex and commercial centre at Welches in St James and you see the work digging out there for it. We expect a green energy park at Vaucluse, subject now only to the tariffs that will be applicable to get that project off the ground and going.”

Additionally, Mottley disclosed there was also the current redevelopment project at Apes Hill, the completion of Sam Lord’s Castle and a new civic complex and hotel complex to be built in Holetown.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/12/27/brighter-days-are-ahead-pm-mottley/

16. Cuhdear BajanDecember 27, 2021 10:25 PM

I think that I will sit this one out. Won’t attend political meetings, not even on zoom, for the first time in my life I won’t vote because I have a grudge against both the BLP and the DLP, and I can’t take the other parties seriously.

I voting like last time.

Whoever isn’t B or D in my constituency I will vote for unless de body is a total lunatic.

17. Life goes on!!

18. “PM Mottley cussed bajans tonight and said she does not like who they have become lately. She said she kept people employed and people still criticized her (ungrateful lot). She can’t understand why they would even criticize a VAT Free day (too frivolous and vexing). She said national reasoning was deteriorating (no need for different views). She said she was concerned about the disunity in the country ( I feel she mean the BLP ) and she wants to go into 2022 as a united front to fight omicron among other things. Explain to me how an election will solve the problem of national disunity? The BLP has the majority seats in Parliament and can get any bill passed. No disunity there. Why risk-reducing BLP numbers and causing more disunity in the country if more opposition parliamentarians are likely to be elected? How will elections unite the country and stop the division? How will elections address and or halt the deterioration of national reasoning and creasing loyal servants with no dissenting views? Somehow I feel that the elections are about addressing the disunity in her party. It is a chance to get rid of the ones she fired and the ones who continue to oppose her. She is hoping to start with a slate of young loyal subjects and a reduced cabinet. After all, she has to reduce government and focus on revenue-generating projects most of the current MPs are incapable of achieving.”

19. I just had a brainwave cooking a little food on the stove.

I am the only person in Barbados who understands how to solve COVID so maybe I should run in my constituency as an independent.

20. If Mia is tired and fed up of domestic politics; or believes she is been pressured by her colleagues. She should resign and allow her party to elect a new leader.

Going to the country prematurely is inappropriate. She has governed Barbados, unilaterally, since her party was elected.

Why vote back in a leader who has contempt for her cabinet and disdain for the masses. The country is not divided; it is appalled by the actions and manner of our current leader who seems unable to exercise any prudence with her unhealthy spending habits.

21. “Why risk-reducing BLP numbers and causing more disunity in the country if more opposition parliamentarians are likely to be elected? “

the opposition has gone extinct
    all bets are off already

22. Makes one wonder what bad news is expected in 2022. Clearly, Mia saw that a 2023 election was not a walk in the park.

23. @SS
    “I can’t take the other parties seriously.”
    Sadly this is the crux of the matter.

Several weeks back I asked you if 23-7 sounded good. You didn’t reply. Based on that cut and paste post, others would take that gladly.

The PM is aware her detractors focus on her domineering style (dictator like), so her comment is to appear humble, as though a victory isn’t guaranteed.

24. @TheO
    I always said there would not be two defaults in one term. I never said there wouldn’t be two in 5 years.

25. Some hard decisions will have to be made, getting a mandate from the people will give the PM the mandate. Here is the chance for the Opposition to put the alternative for acceptance by the electorate.

26. @watchman

It seems like many you are running with the WhatsApp message about a revolt in the BLP? This is something the BlP can put to bed as early as tomorrow. Another perspective is with covid numbers trending down this maybe the best timing before the more transmissible Omnicron takes effect, and it well.

27. January 19, 2022

CBC Newsnight

Dems 16 seats

BLP 12 seats

Atherley & Caswell…..the remaining 2 seats

In a 30 seat Parliament

Mark (Maloney)….my word !

28. @NO

Are you in a position to call the 7 seats?

29. TLSNDecember 27, 2021 11:11 PM

If Mia is tired and fed up of domestic politics; or believes she is been pressured by her colleagues. She should resign and allow her party to elect a new leader.

Going to the country prematurely is inappropriate. She has governed Barbados, unilaterally, since her party was elected.

Why vote back in a leader who has contempt for her cabinet and disdain for the masses. The country is not divided; it is appalled by the actions and manner of our current leader who seems unable to exercise any prudence with her unhealthy spending habits.

Only happens in a civilised country.

30. You have a pre 1966 slavery constitution maliciously put in place, that was no accident, it is very, very clear, if you vote for these international attention seekers you will be VOTING FOR SLAVERY….now we will definitely get a better inkling of who the slaves are if they are dumb enuff to vote for theirs and their family’s perpetual enslavement…

under the roman/euro papal bull of 1445 Afrikan enslavement is perpetual….we have seen the attention seeker racing up and down gushing:

“i like Pope White Dress” = SLAVERY

“please, please, please, give us a new world order” = SLAVERY

secretly negotiated to send Black people from Barbados to work on farms in Europe and UK = SLAVERY..

the pre 1966 constitution is already firmly in place = SLAVERY

the rest is up to yall…heard a gang was approaching the new president of the slave society to have her removed, she heard about it and AND IMMEDIATELY DISSOLVED PARLIAMENT…SNAP ELECTION = SLAVERY

and all the KNOWN anti-Black THIEVES AND RACISTS are ALL LINED UP..

31. Our Supreme Leader will rally young candidates for the next elections who will look up to her and follow orders unconditionally. I could well imagine KK, the National Youth Leader of the Red Shirts, becoming a minister soon.

Indeed, tough decisions lie ahead: the devaluation of the BBD, which I have been eagerly awaiting, the streamlining of the civil service and compulsory vaccination for the vaccine-averse, superstitious masses, and perhaps even the transformation of the republic into a monarchy with the queen of our hearts at its head by next November.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

No. I don’t follow Bajan politics that closely. I just figure the proverbial pendulum began its return voyage in June 2018 from its uppermost extreme. Hence some non B candidates will secure seats. 7 is a guesstimate.

33. https://youtu.be/VhM3p3o72C0

Wow
    No apology from the BLP as George Payne called for…..before the General Elections are set.
    By George, will George Payne turn up on Jan 3 2022 – Nomi ation Day to run wid the Bees who ain’t apologise to Bajans ?

Oh what a pampalam !

34. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Cuhdear Bajan December 27, 2021 10:25 PM

I think that I will sit this one out. Won’t attend political meetings, not even on zoom, for the first time in my life I won’t vote because I have a grudge against both the BLP and the DLP, and I can’t take the other parties seriously.

Just like you, I sitting this one out too and I never thought I would ever sit out any election. The only person that could get me out to vote is Caswell running in my constituency but we all know he not interested in running.

I believe she only called elections to get rid of Atherley and Senator Caswell Franklin, the later being the only common pin repeatedly giving her very hard pricks. She knows Caswell is her only real opposition and now is the best time to deal with him before his supporters convince him to run for a seat.

35. PM: Project roll-out soon

PRIME MINISTER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY says she is not worried about Barbados’ economic revival going into 2022, as there are a number of projects about to get rolling that will spur growth and employment.
    Against the backdrop of the economy declining by double digits during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, she announced last night during a national address that major private sector works will get under way between next month and June.
    Prior to announcing that Barbadians will go to the polls on January 19, she told the country that in the last month she had met with principals or representatives of a number of firms undertaking the projects.
    “The horizon is bright for the start-up of major projects in 2022,” she said. “All of them have given start-up dates for the most time between January and June of next year . . . . So, believe you me, I am not worried about the economic revival as we go into 2022.
    “We expect the Royalton Hotel in Holetown [St James], where the old Discovery Bay was, to break ground within the first two months of 2022. We expect Hyatt [on Bay Street, St Michael] finally to break ground as well. We expect the Pierhead, within the first six months, in Bridgetown to break ground,” she added.
    Other construction activity on stream included:
    • a new townhouse project in Porters, St James;
    • a large cineplex and commercial complex at Welches, St James, where excavation is currently taking place; and
    • a green energy park at Vaucluse, St Thomas.
    The Prime Minister said the list was not exhaustive, as there was ongoing redevelopment at Apes Hill, St James, while work at Sam Lord’s Castle is to be completed.
    Mottley said there were also plans for a new civic complex and hotel in Holetown; the Beaches project at Heywoods, St Peter “is being redesigned and should finish with the redesigns by the middle of the year”; and Margaritaville at Hastings, Christ Church, has to go through a number of public meetings before commencement.
    (BW)

36. ‘Warmed over promises’ won’t do this time

OVER THE COMING DAYS the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) plans to lay out a case for why it is best placed to take the country forward.
    This is according to president Verla De Peiza, as she called last night’s announcement of a General Election next month by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley a panicked reaction.
    “This is a dark day for our country. Truly we are in the silly season – but our people are not silly . . . . It is clear that the Government of the day has succumbed to feelings of panic and that the nation’s first call, which is its people’s safety, has been set aside to pursue selfish ends which expose our people to great harm and possible death,” she charged.
    “We agree that the nation is divided, but in a climate of 29-1 we must ask ourselves who divided the nation . . . . The Democratic Labour Party looks forward to being your standard-bearer come January 20, 2022,” she said shortly after the election date was announced.
    De Peiza pointed to the party’s construction of the Blackman and Gollop multipurpose facility and Best-dos Santos Public Health Lab, two of the major institutions in the fight against COVID-19, as part of the DLP’s foresight.
    “That is the foresight that we need now. We recall the days when basic services were not available because that day is today: water woes continue in St Lucy and the other rural parishes and up to today electricity was off in St Philip. Unprecedented in recent times, our pensioners who took a significant hit with BERT [Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation programme] and suffered further indignity by going through this Christmas season without their pension. We wear our debt like a millstone about the neck on behalf of our children and even their children,” she added.
    De Peiza suggested voters asked themselves whether they were better off now than in 2018; whether it was easier to feed their families and whether after $400 million was spent on EduTech, they
    would be scrambling with online learning.
    She said the Hyatt hotel project could have been completed were it not subject to political shenanigans, and if the ruling Barbados Labour Party had faith in its projects in the next few months, then elections would be scheduled after completion.
    “Warmed over promises will not do this time. Our people will do more than watch this time. Because we have learned the lessons of the past, and we know how dangerous it is to have a one-party state. Therefore, my fellow Barbadians, this is your moment to have your say. It is your moment to send a message that a one-party state will not cut it.” ( AC)

37. Solutions Barbados wants people

SOLUTIONS BARBADOS is looking for General Election candidates as it scrambles to be ready for the January 19, 2022 poll, after Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s announcement last night.
    On social media, its leader Grenville Phillips II wasted no time calling on Barbadians to join his party.
    “If you love God, . . . and want Barbadians to have a competent alternative, then ask the only living God whether this is your time to offer yourself. If it is, then you may contact Solutions Barbados to facilitate your new responsibilities,” he stated.
    Phillips had declared his departure from active politics after the by-election in St George North last year, after trailing winner Toni Moore of the Barbados Labour Party by more than 3 000 votes. (CA)

38. We should know by Jan 3, 2022 the candidates to run in the next general election. Up to now it has been a laborious process.

39. Absolute power has pickled the Prime Minister’s brains. Her displays of petulance are comparable to the man in the moustache.
    Rommel asks his leader what can be gone now to save the country.. Hitler replies he has many ideas in the pipeline. Our leader like Hitler has many ideas, specifically building projects, in the pipeline. She claims the works will be carried out using private money..
    Like Hitler she cares little for her people who she believes have the minds of enfants
    I have shown the link below before. It is too close for comfort. The era of dictatorship has already arrived.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=185vCvsvEP8

40. A Three week deal tossed out to the public by the PM
    A strategic move that have tongues asking why the rush
    A strategic move that also asked the question
    Is the vaccine case about to resumed
    Does the PM know or have evidence provided which can open a Pandora box of evidence against this govt during the case
    Well something or somethings are amidst coming out of this strategy and the PM has chosen an opportunity to close the stable door as early as possible

41. Do you remember the slogan … How long is too long if it is good?

Apparently Mia decided…. Five years is too long if it is bad
    …..
    2023 slogan
    2023 she can’t wait

She’ll kill us all by 28

You have to vote in 2022

Rid our country of do-do

2018 Mia was given a clean slate
    2022 is time to clean her plate

42. Indeed, one must wonder what created this haste for an early 2022 election. She announce a start of new activities that would have given her momentum in 2023.

Her hasty action has to be prompted by more than other parties inability to get out of the box. I guess we will have to wait for real bad news to drop.

Prediction…. Mia will drop some real bad news on us after June 2022.

43. The joke of 2022

Blogmaster asks bloggers to give Mia a honeymoon.

A short post-election honeymoon
    Bad news surfaces in June

44. Corruptus-interruptus – scammers calling an early election

45. I have never heard such words employed from a leader of a democratic country.

“I need for us to unite around a common cause, unite behind a single Government, unite behind a single leader and let us unite to fight the threats to our safety, our development and our prosperity,” Mottley said.

46. Something we know is that she cannot please some of you. For months the blogmaster warned about the sloth of Verla selecting a team -that political pundits read the signs and indicated an early general election is a possibility for many reasons.

We have a convergence of many issues: pandemic, honeymoon over, important debates coming up re amendment to the constitution and other matters. If we are to analyze the political landscape let us do so with some rational thought instead of thr usual mumbo jumbo by some.

47. Have a great day..
    Gotta go..

Mind is feverishly trying to understand the 2022 corruptus-interruptus.

48. Give me the mumbo-jumbo.
    The pretense of dealing with heavy matters in an intellectual manner is just self stimulation for a few.