Submitted by Observing

After a lot of long talk and too many minutes of politicking on CBC TV it is clear that elections are upon us. Yes, we have been repeatedly told not to place much faith in promises. BUT, the current government came to power with a 30-0 mandate, promising good governance, transparency and consultation as a norm. It pledged to be a people’s government focusing on what was best for the small man. My how thing have quickly changed. Notwithstanding the current leader’s fixation with international attention, the growing heavy handed and unilateral and arrogant approach to domestic matters, nor the obvious rumblings that have led to some quick retirements swaps, a review of “promises made” tells me that I was fooled once so shame on me.

BLP 2018 Mission criticals

• Rebuilding Foreign reserves. Yes indeed, with the IMF’s money and no plan to earn foreign exchange
  • Dealing with debt. “Up to the end of June this year, the country’s debt stock stood at just over $13 billion, or 150.3 per cent of GDP.” Enough said
  • Bringing tax relief. Really? The only people who benefited were the corporations and the VAT write-offs and subsidies. Nothing much for the average guy
  • Financial Sector Threat: I guess a National Credit Bureau that stops poor people with no or bad rating from accessing emergency funds counts
  • Helping people to live. Yes indeed, form paycheck to paycheck and if you are nurse from quarter to quarter.
  • Arrears and refunds. Yes sireee!! All in 42 month zero interest bonds. Gotta love it! Protecting people’s health. If the treatment of nurses and the engagement of Million Dollar Mark Maloney is any indication well …
  • Sewerage Systems must work: Yip, directly into the sea, just as planned
  • Getting rid of garbage: Ok, this is actually a promise kept. Kudos
  • Putting buses back on the road: Including the private operators again. Kudos
  • Repairing our roads: Clearly only certain “parts”
  • Alleviating water woes: If we consider running water that’s brown then yes, it has been alleviated.
  • Safety and well being: The crime statistics and gun crimes speak for themselves. Let’s not talk about paying out 2+ million dollars to the current commissioner of police who LOST their court case.
  • Empowering young people: Youth unemployment in Barbados over 30%.

Look, the PM’s press conference was well put together, sought to castigate and criticize those who oppose or have dissenting views. This is how dictatorships start. Every “Average” man understands that any economic growth has not reached them. Every blind man on trotting horses know that the worse is yet to come next year, hence the “rush” to the polling booths. WE also know the waning popularity locally of the current PM. The do as I say, ignore what I do and shut up because I am in charge attitude doesn’t hold any more.

Fool me once, same one me. Fool me twice, that’s all at me.

208 responses to “Fool me ONCE, shame on you.. fool me TWICE”

1. Not only will Mia win again, she will solve the problem of the big cabinet. The DLP will gain a few seats.

I fear my constituency will be one of them.

Alas, David was right! The people don’t care that Dr. Browne buys her own ride. She apparently does not visit even when one’s house is blown away! The other guy visits. Or so I am told.

I don’t know for sure as my house is still standing.

2. Presidential Pearlie Avatar
    Presidential Pearlie

Yes Mia Maguffy, cuss dem like dem hard ears and aint got no sense causing dem like it so. Dem aint know dis is you repubulic dat you mek? You is de archeetek and de Mason. Wuh dem is who run like sheepses an gih you all de seats and now them getting on suh ongrateful fuh all day you do fuh dem? Criticizing every blasted thing you do, just to mek you miserable and confuse and tuh besides de ecomony already hard like a exam and de corona scratching you all de time like piles in ya pooch.

Budget? Budget? Wuh Budget wuh? Hold a budget just to tell dem de country brek de same way you come and find um? Wuh da int nuh news flash dearheart. Well who din know before know now.

And Mia Mockery, tell all de men that seh dem aint tekking nuh juk dat you gine ring yuh mandate prick in dem botsy from de day dem vote ya back in causing you done know dem like it so. Dem int know a repubulic is only got ONE dicktator?

Murdaaaaaa!

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I do like your style of brief (I gine leff the rest to wunna) sentence presentation 😂

So in that vein ‘what is so difficult for you to understand that the head that wears the crown for this SID is deeply uneasy because of internal dissension that has bubbled up to the surface (despite her obvious acts to keep the lid on) !

You asked @Tron above: “Even if it had passed the upper house was there time to send it back to the lower house?”

I laughed uproariously.

Brother this is 2 years plus into a 29 seat majority…. this SAME admin that DIDNT have time for that integrity legis pushed through the republic matter and ON TOP of that anointed another national hero (a process that took us many, many months when we anointed the original heros).

Yet in your wonderful brevity u said that 😂🤦🏾‍♂️.

I know that u are a very serious fellow on the issues but often u offer some entertaining comedic release!

All good, bro.

Oh BTW, that pic of the PM and President dressed to impress with their matching dashiki style outfits was worth the proverbial 1,000 words. Impressively simple message of UNITY.

Large and very in charge!

4. Presidential Pearlie Avatar
    Presidential Pearlie

And anneda ting two, fore I fuget, Mia Monkey, tell dem again ta gih you de vote and watch yuh, neh. Dem dih like dah one bad. Dont mind dem head suh blastedwell hard dem can’t ondastan dat mean tuh vote fuh yuh and den dem is tuh shut up dey RH mout in your repubulic please and thanks.

And when dem done vote fuh you again like sheepses, laminate dem and blister blind dem every RH day pon de TV again like dem is lil trildren or invalids. Cause when dem run an vote fuh yuh again in janauary 2022 dem deserve all de bellyhurt dat coming fuh dem after dat.

Daffalickdem! Murdaaaa!

5. @Dee Word

We are on the same page- the integrity legislation was not prioritized. It has not been since the 70s by both parties.

6. “The Prime Minister said she made the decision to call the elections because she was “worried” about the divisiveness in the country.”

nah…it came about because of a PANIC ATTACK…..lawd..

7. We should listen to PM Mottley’s speech . We should read the reports in NationNews and Barbados Today.

Then tell me what logical reason she has for calling an election at this time.

8. Why wunna worried bout integrity legislation?

We got de Murcans to prosecute tiefs. Dah message aint get cross?

9. “And when dem done vote fuh you again like sheepses, laminate dem and blister blind dem every RH day pon de TV again like dem is lil trildren or invalids. Cause when dem run an vote fuh yuh again in janauary 2022 dem deserve all de bellyhurt dat coming fuh dem after dat.

Daffalickdem! Murdaaaa!”

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 too funny

10. Sorry i can’t say more, but am a woman of my word, can only sit back, spectate and enjoy the show, can only touch on human rights angles going forward, but yall will find out the whys and wherefores from others soon enuff……lawd..

11. I fear that the opposition will try to rig the elections. Just like in 2013, we must all be on our guard. Hopefully our National Youth Leader KK and his red shock troops will monitor all polling stations to ward off DLP sympathisers.

The elections are only truly free if our Supreme Leader´s Movement gets all the seats.

12. Peter Wickham is a very biased moderator.

13. I started this yesterday and decided to hold off on submitting it. Then I saw the election ( corruptus-interruptus) announcement and my anguish was no longer unspeakable.
    One man’s opinion
    Have you ever wondered what would be the final score if we could the sum the effects of recent events on the psyche of the average Barbadian. How could it be possible for average Joe to sit and witness these unfolding events and not have deleterious residual effects on his/her mind?

Our leader believes that pageantry and ceremony can be a salve for a pained mind, but now having seen that the joy derived from becoming a Republic was as fleeting as the light from exploding firework, she has provided us with another distraction. The 2022 elections.

Two questions immediately come to mind (1) What else can she pull from her bag of tricks and (2) why did she resort to such a desperate move.

It would be speculation for me to attempt to answer item (1) but nothing she does would surprise me. Some have indicated that it was the unpreparedness of any opposition that led to an early election (item 2). I can buy into that part of the argument, but she also announced a number of Christmas presents that would make Santa Claus envious and would considerably strengthen her case in 2023, I am still stuck on the why.

What bad news is she aware of that would make her go for an 8-year term instead of ‘the certain’ 10-year term? What made her think that her 10-year term is doubtful? Pharaoh was told there would be seven years of plenty followed by 7 years of famine. Has her courtiers told her there would be 3 years of tricks followed by two years of hell and then her exit? I am convinced that this election is to prolong our agony.

As we march towards 2022, here are the top 10 woes to bear in mind:
    Unkept promises
    Hasty and defective legislation
    Wrong prioritization of legislation
    J2 Bonds
    Scam slogans
    Sham/scam vaccines
    Sham/scam testing kits (I wonder if the importation was a bone thrown to placate the importer)
    Nuff hands plus consultants
    Port scammers
    White Hoax

Yes, these rapacious and brutal events seem to induce amnesia into the general populace. How can you forget these atrocities. Mia, at her best (not a good thing) is unequalled by any of our other politicians. Average Joe, it is up to you. I cannot tell you who to vote for, but 30-0 is not an option. My mind is numb.

How short is too short, when things are bad??

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner and @The Miller, yes of course this is political BS about all the projects in the pipeline … but good grief if something works why the hell change it!

At no time in our history (well not as unprecedented) did a govt have a MANDATE to complete their pre-election promises and this admin DID NOT do that… on key really BIG ones. Yet here the PM has the cajones to make MORE grandiose promises!

So senor Skinner know not that the politicians “offer shit”… rather let it be known far and wide WE who elect them love and wallow in ‘shite talk’ and all that it provides!

And also btw, brother you need to fully accept reality and get past your attempt to change local electoral behaviour … you (the NDP) failed for ALL the reasons which you lambaste the duopoly: principal among them was a very self confident (arrogant maybe) leader.

Respectfully, good sir, but if your party had a different ethos (in practice not theory) than the groups we excoriate now, then …. despite its hiccups it would HAVE prevailed as a current viable entity.

So the duopoly is not the problem … it remains the people who perpetuate it: all ah we *”***apologists; propagandists; obstructionists [who] will become complicit and duplicit, once more in the sham.***”

If we vote for what the 29 strong BLP did NOT do as promised they should lose half the majority; if we vote for how they governed in severe adversity then we step back but give our nation maybe a 7 – 10 seat opposition (as @Nothern opined)!

So we are ideally going to the booth to vote SENSIBLY … the Dems were piss poor at governance and the Bees were stupendously better BUT we cannot maintain an autocracy. Period.

Vote out the BLP driftwood and give ourselves a viable voice of opposition to prepare them for governance next time around.

ALL the opposition parties better get on board.

15. @ TheOGazerts December 28, 2021 12:24 PM

I do not understand your complaints at all. We had great parties over Christmas. The tourists are flocking to us again in masses and flushing money into our coffers. Many roads have been freshly tarred for the first time since the declaration of independence and the subsequent agony of incompetent, native, male prime ministers, the state finances have been fixed, the south coast no longer stinks of shit, the bureaucracy has been reorganised, crime has been fought (P. Innis is in US jail).

Nobody laughs at us now. With Mia Mottley and her ministers, rationality, common sense and honesty have re-entered the government quarter. We have handled the pandemic much better than many other countries. We have proved to everyone that good governance is not a question of skin colour, but of decency and honesty. Unlike the old government, which confirmed the worst prejudices in the eyes of many diplomats and expats.

If Mia Mottley orders me to jump off the cliff, I’ll do it, provided it’s the eponymous restaurant. That’s how much I trust our Supreme Leader.

16. tron tempting fate. I hope you havent put goat mouth on the island for omicron wave.

17. “What bad news is she aware of that would make her go for an 8-year term instead of ‘the certain’ 10-year term? What made her think that her 10-year term is doubtful? Pharaoh was told there would be seven years of plenty followed by 7 years of famine. Has her courtiers told her there would be 3 years of tricks followed by two years of hell and then her exit? I am convinced that this election is to prolong our agony”

getting warm…

18. Yes in a way Donna I want barbados to succeed , it may be a little self serving but I cant stand to see those crying faces in a bad economy ..when brits realize they are expected to tip.

19. can only sit back, spectate and enjoy the show,” (quote).

Hit-Mia has a theatrical presence. She loves being the centre of attention. She has become a luvvie on the international stage and bestrides her country like a colossus. How fortunate we are in Barbados to have such a great and strong female leader.

May the Gods continue to bless Hit-Mia. The saviour of our nation.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, your thesis of pending gloom is sound and based on simple historical facts it’s actually quite likely a key factor, however, let’s also fundamentally accept that 1) the westminster governance model gives a PM this tactical tool and 2) this PM is absolutely a very skilled tactician.

So regardless of (and/or because of) whatever dark secrets of internal strife, opposition disarray, looming rapture and all in between the simple fact is that this is a MASTERFUL political maneuver.

She is not the first PM to call an early (or very early election)… in fact I would opine that in the US was it not locked in stone re election dates that the former president would have surely called an early election there too.

It’s all about political circumstances and the prevailing hot button populace issues … MAM has used her trump card very, very effectively.

Time for WHYs is past (and will be present again surely) … but most important is time for action to win or lose.

Thats now … so if as they say the past can project the future or is a prelude to it then maybe a smart opposition can use it to their advantage. But I think not!

Lata.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

If Mia Mottley orders me to jump off the cliff, I’ll do it, provided it’s the eponymous restaurant. That’s how much I trust our Supreme Leader.

Fantastic. LOLROF 🤣🤣🤣

That’s an expensively or exceedingly high ClIFF, tho

22. @ DPD
    Agree with your submission. However I never said politicians “ offer shite”. I said I know the Republicans and Democrats “ offer shite.

23. Waru’s moron boyfriend called an election up here early thinking he was going to be better off , people hate when you waste money on unnecessary elections especially in a pandemic he was lucky to survive . If the other putz didnt keep tripping over his tongue he would be gone.

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Re “However I never said politicians “ offer shite”. I said I know the Republicans and Democrats “ offer shite.
    Peace.”

🤣😇🙏🏿

Well as they are politicians I safely extrapolated !

Are u suggesting that local Bees and Dees POLITICIANS offer flying fish and coucou instead! 😇

Lata

25. LMFAO. BU is too funny.

26. https://barbados.loopnews.com/content/mottley-slams-partisan-pollitics-talks-midst-covid-surge

ah guess the silly season and pick, pick, pick just took precedence,,,lawd look how things changed in less than 2 months…another Loop article said clearly…”there will be NO ELECTION, during a pandemic.”

“I don’t believe that the opposition has malice in their heart, but I believe that something has happened that would have caused them to want to pick, pick, pick, pick at these kinds of things. And what is it? It is clearly the belief that we are in a silly season. . . If they want the silly season to come to full fruition, tell me. But I would not know how to continue in this job anymore while putting people’s lives at risk and I am being deadly serious. “

27. Yep…funny Enuff…

28. Waru and Theo could be wrong

PM’s decision may have been based on her perceived strengths not weaknesses
    while opposition seem to be very weak
    the fruits of which will probably bear another slam dunk victory

29. If Verla was unable to name 30 candidates in 3 years, I am doubtful if she can complete the list in 3 weeks. The drip-drip of naming possible DLP candidates is now seen to be a deeply flawed strategy,

Should the DLP run a reduce slate with less than 30 candidates?

Running less than 30 candidates is “gifting some constituencies” to the BLP. Is this a wise strategy?

Would it be better to resurrect some old DLP politicians and run them in the “gift constituencies”? If so, who in the rejected former lot stands a chance of being elected or looking like viable candidates?

A next strategy would be encouraged to encourage 3rd parties to run in the “gift constituencies”?

Consequently, will we see a coalition of the DLP and a 3rd party?

Answers and decisions are needed in a haste. The drip-drip response is not helping the DLP.

30. William…maybe the apologists can tell us what went wrong in less than 2 months that the electorate’s lives can now be PUT AT RISK…for a snap election…what’s the endgame and should the people all 100,000 thousand voters stay home to SAVE THEIR LIVES, during a pandemic….OR she could just resign…and put the people FIRST…..since she could not “continue in this job anymore, while putting people’s lives at risk and I am being deadly serious”

31. BDS Supreme Leader Call on you the people January 19, 2022. You have responsibilities as citizens of this great Nation…

BU shadow cabinet and opposition parties were bushwhack?

The expected opposition platform topics “COVID/Economy.”

Nothing New..

32. @ 555 Nairobi

“PM’s decision may have been based on her perceived strengths not weaknesses”

Xxxxxx

Absolutely…

33. you won’t get much Theo…they just the second half of the tag team, i thought Atherley’s team was the official opposition…don’t be paying much attention on who is who.

34. @ WURA-War-on-U

“OR she could just resign…and put the people FIRST…..since she could not “continue in this job anymore, while putting people’s lives at risk and I am being deadly serious”

Xxxxx

Dream on my African Bajan Brother….

35. Verla 3 point strategy
    (1) Mia imperious and autocratic nature
    (2) Bungles, scams and corruption
    (3) 30-0 is not a desirable outcome. The past 3-years has shown the need for a counterweight to the administration
    On item (3) Verla need to respect the wishes of the people and not insult their intelligence. Just point at the numerous debacles over the past three years.

(Send me my check soon)

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

This election is about that ‘of which we don’t like to speak’.
    It is about the D’s. Not the DLP, rather the other D’s. Namely Debt, Dismissals, Decreases and the thorny D’s, Devaluation#1, Default#2. And the most likely D…Delay.
    The strategy for the past 15 years in a nutshell…Devour and Delay. We have devoured debt at an uncanny rate, and similarly Delayed much related to repaying these Debts.
    Or is it about the B’s, not the BLP? The island has Borrowed at a matching rate. As is said in Bajan politics, B & D live in the same house, as do Borrowing and Debt. Broke is another B word. Meaning insolvent. Which can lead to other B word, the biggie, Bankruptcy.
    Steupse. Got my head hurting. Lewwee drink a rum, celebrate the Old Year (always a battle whether I should celebrate the past…Old Year…or the future…New Year) and talk cricket or whatever feels good.

37. Covid cases are rising again, is that the end game…these are dangerous times to have people out and about for at least 24 hours during an election, so what’s the sleight of hand plan…..ah guess we will hear after the infection rate skyrockets.

…so who cares again???

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/12/28/st-lucians-told-to-brace-for-fifth-covid-19-wave/

38. Can one call back a snap election after being outed….and then have another 15-17 months to FACE THE PEOPLE EVERY DAY…guess the die is cast…”watch muh nuh”

39. @ WURA-War-on-U

Change your perspective and adopting a more rational thinking style. …Brother!!!

40. Ya mean something like a Slave…i will pass thank you very much, never had any Slave tendencies, was not born that way..born with all my ancestral wisdom intact and no matter how hard they tried, could not beat or traumatize or injure it out of me, a little late to succeed now…ya don’t notice how they try to bully me with ignorance on BU and make fools of themselves…..same thing…

41. DpD

I see you got slapped on your Hands for telling a lie
    Dah fuh lick yuh 🤣😂

42. “It is about the D’s. Not the DLP, rather the other D’s. Namely Debt, Dismissals, Decreases and the thorny D’s, Devaluation#1, Default#2. And the most likely D…Delay.”

yep…and the other D…..and… B..

Dazzling with Bullshit…

43. @ TheOGazerts December 28, 2021 3:14 PM

The question is whether Donville Inniss will run from jail. Given the affinity of the DLP grandees to organised crime, this step would be logical.

44. @ Slave!!!

Odin can hear you. However, he can’t see your thoughts 💭

45. Slaves HAVE TRIGGERS…

politics is ONE OF THEM…

46. Steupse

47. @ WURA-War-on-U

You need to run Independently..

Your Entry Will Be Guaranteed…

48. So you were the clown laughing at me when i said i was studying the Yoruba language, then yall sent ya minority criminals to Nigeria to try to rob my people….so how well did that turn out….outside of working for us at a temporary job…our employees..

49. You think you are so smart. Continue for the moment.

50. your mind is bent…again

politics….+ Afrikan descended people = WILL NEVER END WELL…