One of the challenges of life is the constant battle to detach from an incessant stream of negativity about us. It is not uncommon for those who hold an optimistic outlook about life to be ridiculed by what seems to be a majority. This blogmaster lives it and knows it.

To avoid being suffocated by the constant tide of negative views, it is important to feed the mind with evidence based perspectives. It seems appropriate during the month of November when there will be a psychological need by many to romanticize the past that we remember to embrace an optimistic mindset that says problems are to be solved. We do not live on Utopia.

Based on the sources, Homo sapiens is reported as existing for greater than 300,000 years. We may quibble as usual about the number but the fact is, mankind has been walking the planet for an unimaginably long time. Through the ages mankind has demonstrated untold resilience by overcoming challenges whether man made or tossed up by nature.

It seems a simple task human beings having been given life and the resources of a bountiful planet to experience to enjoy the changing scenes of life in trouble and in joy, we make good use of it.

As is customary the blogmaster often entertains commentators away from the blog to assist with mental stimulation in pursuit of the elusive state of nirvana. One such commentator Steven Pinker, a psychologist presented on the topic – Is the world getting better or worse? A look at the numbers. Some will question his yardstick about matters where quantitative and qualitative approaches get blurred. A reminder no man made constructs are perfect. Our mindset to solve issues presented must be never ending.

Steven Pinker is a professor of cognitive science.

308 responses to “Down With Negativity!”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I remain completely kerfuffled by the seemingly multiple bajans who say (as expressed so well by Greene) that (1)“… the lack of involvement of the people got the public concerned Dis republic ting got nuff people confused”; and (2) “…dem ain want tuh hole on pun de Queen but dem ain sure when dey leggo wuh dem gun lose”.

AFTER 50 plus years as an independent nation and we still unsure… NONSENSE!

Legal eagle Alleyne may be on to something when he says that any **misunderstanding has to do not only with an absence of civics classes in the schools, but also with the fact* ***that we may not have understood the literature of our writers of recent years.***

Not RECENT years but eversnce independence!

Because ANY Bajan who ACTUALLY paid more than scant attention to our status as a monarchical HofS Commonwealth nation in the UN (and 90% don’t) SURELY, I repeat, SURELY understand what is taking place now.

Bluntly speaking those 90% have repeatedly given up their ‘need’ to decipher such detail to their elected leaders … so stop this harangiung about NOT being informed … the leaders are acting as directed.

Now, don’t let’s get caught up on lack of clarity, info or transparency on this… that’s BS.

We have been at this really since before Nov 30th 1966 and with renewed gusto and focus since 1999!

Isn’t it amusing (facetiously so) … that any youngster can tell us the freaking latest meal Kim ate or who is Rhianna’s BFF or what colour blouse she wore last month on the 23rd day or some such absurdly nonsensical piece of data … but can’t tell us about what is Repulicanism per Bdos!

More Nonsense.

Further when Alleyne says about the ‘Mirror Image Speech’ that “[s]hould we not clasp that speech to “our breasts with hoops of steel” as the seminal speech that it is; understanding all the while that it is much an appeal to us to recognise and respect our national identity” … he absolutely hits all this palaver out the ground!

And too re **Growing Up Stupid Under the Union Jack’*.

Forever and a day we have been at this… what is FREAKING NEW!

Look all those who want to KNOW what cutting the ties mean MUST know that “The characteristics of our present Constitution will not change on November 30, except in the area of who is the Head of State and the wording of the oaths to be taken by public governance figures.”

So if they want to continue the foolish political two-step dance so be it.

As again as said so sweetly: A house constructed and secured to a solid foundation does not lose the security of foundation because of a change of roof. So too the change of head of state does not in any way, form, shape or manner extinguish the firm foundations in any sense of our democratic traditions.”

Those Bajans who STILL uneasy bout a Republic can go and ease their stress quite easily; those who ent sure wha gine happen when we.leh she go, can let their leaders lead!

And any who want to retain THEIR Mirror Image in the features of. WHITE BRITISH PERSONAGE can emigrate.

Lata. I gone. Good essays above.

2. Jeeze! Wunnah gone an’ mention de low murdah rate!

I have been keeping my mouth shut because it is like the commentator’s curse is in my mouth.

As I ask for somebody that I have not seen in a very long time dum does dead!

Just four weeks ago I asked for a woman and lo and behold two weeks later I had to blink when I saw her obituary.

I think I am up to six souls in a few years. My son actually thinks it is a thing.

But seriously though, it seems the drug lords have called truce for some reason.

3. @GP
    This is a gem. Of all that is written, that was stuck in Theo’s sieve …
    “AND MIA MUTLEY IS A SUPREME LEADER CAUSE SHE CAN TALK GOOD WID A BLANKET OVER SHE SHOULDER—SHE MUST BE LINUS”

4. RE Those Bajans who STILL uneasy bout a Republic can go and ease their stress quite easily;

THEY CAN TEK SOME PROPRANOLOL MAN OR MAYBE GO TO THE TOILET I GUESS OR BOTH
    IF YA OLD AND TEK PROPRANOLOL, YA MIGHT FEEL LIKE GOING TO THE TOILET BEFORE YA COCK UP AND DEAD ——A COMMON FEATURE PRIOR TO DEATH

5. RE Not everyone is depressed at BU.

SOME ARE REPRESSED AND COME COMPRESSED AND SOME JUST PRESSED UH LIE

Does Tron not praise the great achievements of our Supreme Leader to the skies?

YES HE DOES BECAUSE HE HAS DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR, OR HE IS PAID SO TO DO, OR HE LIKES TO APPROXIMATE HIS LABIA ORAE TO THE ADIPOSE TISSUE.

CANT TRON GET DE BACKSIDE OF A REAL WOMAN TO LICK IF HE LIKES LIKING WOMAN BACKSIDE?

Does she/he not blindly trust the official information servive of our beloved government? SO WHAT PRAY TELL?

Does she/he not consider the natural immunisation of the anti-vaccinationists a great achievement of our government? REALLY

Praising our Supreme Leader daily and calling Barbados a paradise is the best anti-depressant in the world.
    REALLY. WHAT IS THE MECHANISM OF ACTION DEPLOYED THEREWITH SIR. ON WHAT RECEPTOR SITES DOES THIS “DRUG”WORK DO YOU GIVE IT CONCOMITANTLY WITH PROPRANOLOL

I JUST ASKING

6. Old people are dying and flying to their source
    especially with Covid
    if you are a student of the world in data of John Kingsland Knox
    old people drink the most water

7. I man endorse the Holy Herb as much more preferable to Propanolol for chilling to the max
    Doctors Lawyers and Indian Chiefs smoke it as they know what it is good for and why God gave it
    It is the healing of all nations

8. RE Sick Note for GP
    XDR GP needs a script for 40mg Propanolol 3 times a day with 10mg Valium Diazepam for 6 months or more
    plus counseling

WHY GIVE THE BETA BLOCKER? IS NOT DIAZEPAM ENOUGH HERE? CERTAINLY DIAZEPAM ACTS AT THE GABA RECEPTORS
    PROPANOL ACTS AT BETA RECEPTORS IN HEART AND LUNGS AND OUGHT NOT TO BE GIVEN TO ASTHMATICS AND THOSE WITH RESPORATORY AILMENTS

NOTE THAT IN IN ASTHMA WE GIVE BETA ADRENERGIC AGONISTS

9. @Dee Word

A good catch. Bajans love to talk. Some will say it has served us well compared to Grenada, Dominica, Jamaica and a few other neighboring that have resorted to more violent means to demonstrate for change. What BU has exposed over the years is that Bajans have little interest in governance issues. They become involved only when shrouded in controversy.

10. Symongodiaforkel Avatar

En 539 a.C., menos de un siglo después de su fundación, el legendario rey persa Ciro el Grande conquistó Babilonia.La caída de Babilonia fue completa cuando el imperio quedó bajo control persa.

Have a great DAY….

11. DIAZEPAM will take the edge out of the flutters in you heart from the Propanalol and will help you sleep for 6+ months

12. I am back what have I missed………….Dub I will stop using lol if you promise to stop posting your shit music that sounds like kids banging on the kitchen pots with a wooden spoon..fair .Donna lighten up with the doom and gloom , I thought this post was about getting away from negativity?? I have heard that to change a persons way of thinking you should compliment them, identify the issue and then ask how someone could help with the change. I will go first Donna your aubergines have grown large and plentiful this season, I realize this bumper crop is so big a lot of it will go to waste.. Would it help if DUB shoved one up his ass.

13. I am in favour of a Republic but not a country going from one slave master to another
    China is very cunning sounds sweet opens hands freely to loans
    However keeps its eye on the prize
    No matter how long it takes to get control
    By the time bajans wake up Barbados would be handed over to China without China every having to fire a shot

14. @ Lawson:
    learning chinese from exercise videos…… I guess that beats the old fashion way ….opium dens.

That was nasty. You don’t know your own British history. It was the Brits who grew the opium in Afghanistan and Pakistan and took it to China to addict the population by selling it and opening the so-called opium dens. When the Emperor requested that the practice stop, that was the beginning of the opium wars. the nasty Brits used the Chinese invention, gun powder, weaponized it and defeated them. To pacify the Brits and save his people, the Emperor handed over Hong Kong for 100 years. Hong Kong was always part of China and belongs to China, same as Formosa.

15. Dear White People Avatar
    Dear White People

“That was nasty. You don’t know your own British history. It was the Brits who grew the opium in Afghanistan and Pakistan and took it to China to addict the population by selling it and opening the so-called opium dens.”

Dear White People

Common as muck

It is common practice for smart ass white boys to make subtle and not so subtle cracks stereotyping non-whites as drug fiends and then Laughing Out Loud with their fake ass laughs at their own jokes which is really stupid

ironically whites have now become biggest opium fiends in the world and want a pass saying it is a social issue and not criminal one
    so big boohoo for poor white smack heads everybody
    and all the poor hillbilly and redneck meth heads
    they want some sympathy
    it’s just like when crack crossed over into white neighbourhoods and became a problem

16. RE DIAZEPAM will take the edge out of the flutters in you heart from the Propanalol and will help you sleep for 6+ months

YOU ARE TALKING SHITE
    AND INDICATING THEREOF

PROPANOLOL (INDERAL) DOES NOT CALL FLUTTERS DUMMY
    HOW CAN IT BY YOUR DEFINITION DAT IT CALMS THE HEART YA IDIOT
    AND IT MAKES NO SENSE TO GIVE VALIUM AND PROPANOL TOGETHER MORON

I HEY LAFFING MY HEAD OF AT THE NEGATIBVITY HERE

‘KEEP TEKING DOWN MY POSTS MAN LOL

17. @555

Put up bob stand up for yah rights Song 🎵for King David (AKA- Babylon) people dem. Me can’t do it. Phone no capable.

One love, star 🇯🇲

Hails salassie I 👏🏿

18. So what are you saying Pat no englishman learned chinese in the act of selling opium christ everything has to have an eye dotted or t crossed .
    Dub that wasnt hard I didnt type lol and you didnt post a music video see whites and blacks can find common ground, if there is a will there is a way.

19. “………….Dub I will stop using lol if you promise to stop posting your shit music that sounds like kids banging on the kitchen pots with a wooden spoon..fair “

Have you ever heard of the Scottish (Dame) Evelyn Glennie the (deaf) percussionist who feels sounds and uses all sorts of traditional and make shift instruments like spoons pots sheet metal exhaust pipes her youtube channel shows you how to make them

You should check out the film Touch the Sound it’s abstract subtle entertaining and a must watch even for ignorant Bajans who prefer to identify as Scots

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9PPNNDgDSA

20. my cousin

21. Your posting aberdonians Dub I may have misjudged you

22. “YOU ARE TALKING SHITE
    AND INDICATING THEREOF
    PROPANOLOL (INDERAL) DOES NOT CALL FLUTTERS DUMMY
    HOW CAN IT BY YOUR DEFINITION DAT IT CALMS THE HEART YA IDIOT
    AND IT MAKES NO SENSE TO GIVE VALIUM AND PROPANOL TOGETHER MORON”

As an old retired doctor you really have no clue what goes on today do you

Doctors are prescribing Propanolol + Valium for Stress and Anxiety
    which can not be refuted by any big headed vassy hole in the whole wide world

another benefit in giving you a course of propanolol and valium for treatment
    is it would wipe out your memory like rebooting your hard drive
    and you would not remember your days as a scholar and boring unsuccessful career as a journeyman doctor
    and you would forget all the big words your learned to show off with
    it can also be used for rape victims to forget their trauma and everything else

23. What ever happened to the cautious approach of yesteryear?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=pWy43XLyzZs

24. FactsBarbados (@Facts Barbados) Tweeted: Driving through #Bridgetown #Barbados April 1990

https://twitter.com/factsbarbados/status/1462044321092362244

25. Lawson,

You keep saying we were given an island. That is a racist narrative.

It POSITIVELY needed correcting. I can get past slavery but I cannot get past a racist narrative told today on BU.

Your words add insult to injury. It keeps the wounds from healing.

And you went on to tell another false racist narrative about opium dens and the Chinese.

You need to stop!

26. I see GP has not yet caught on to Tron’s methods. Still taking it straight!

Oh dear!

27. Robert Nesta Marley
    Underground Sounds
    Get Up Stand Up

Thievery Corporation Remix

28. What a freaking mess, all indications are things will blow up before they get better….am already safely ensconced in my padded hole….everybody on their own….lol…am so glad for the break, will sleep all day for a long, long, time…

Pacha…it’s going to start to pour down..

29. Ahem! “SHITE”????????????????????

Riddle me this- what is the difference between shite and asshole?

Well ….the shite comes through the asshole but neither of the two would be heard during worship.

30. HERE WE ARE TODAY MEANT TO BE TALKING ABOUT NEGATIVITY

THE BIGGEST NEGATIVITY GOING ON IN THE WORLD TODAY IS THE SUPRESSION OF THE TRUTH BY THE NEWS MEDIA TO INFLUENCE THE OPINION AND ACTIONS OF OTHERS

THE BIGGEST NEGATIVITY GOING ON IN THE WORLD TODAY IS THE DESIRE TO CONTROL PEOPLE AND THEIR THINKING

A FEW MORONS WHO THINK THEY KNOW–BELIEVE THAT THEY- AND THEY ALONE HAVE THE ABILILITY TO TELL FOLK HOW THEY SHOULD THINK AND WHAT THEY SHOULD BELIEVE

ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUNFD ONE IS ASKED TO JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, Y SINCE YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

WHAT EXACTLY DOES THAT MEAN IN SANDRAS ENGLISH

IT MEANS SAY WHAT ONE IDIOT THINKS THAT YOU SHOULD SAY0 RATHER IT IS A LIE OR NOT

AND WE WONDER WHY BARBADOS GOING TO THE DOGS AND WE TALING BOUT NEGATIVITY ?

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

I heard last week (Sen McConney) there would be no change of name, flag, anthem etc on becoming a republic. Do you think the Barbados flag should be now draped with a scarf at official functions?

32. PLEASE KINDLY NOTE
    I AM NOT HERE TO CATCH ON TO TRONS METHODS OF SPEAKING SANDRA’S ENGLISH
    I SPEAK PLAINLY
    BLASPHEMY IS BLASPHEMY
    MIA IS A FAILURE
    SHE IS NOT ANY SUPREME LEADER

IF SHIPS ARE BEING STUCK UP IN THE ARCTIC HOW CAN THERE BE GLOBAL WARMING?
    IF THERE ARE MORE POLAR BEARS RUNNING ABOUT AT THE NORTH POLE IT IS CERTAINLY NOT WARMING UP THERE
    EVEN A NON OR EX SCHOLAR CAN WORK THAT OUT

FOR MORONS WHO BELIEVE THAT CARBON DIOXIDE CAUSES GLOBAL WARMING OUGHT TO DO A SURVEY OF THE COMMON CHEMICAL REACTIONS WHICH CARBON DIOXIDE UNDERGO

AND PAY SPECIAL ATTENTION TO THE TWO MOST PROMINENT OF THESE
    ESPECIALLY THE ONE WHEREBY IN THE PRESENCE OF LIGHT CARBON DIOXIDE INTERACTS WITH WATER TO FORM HYDRATES OF CARBON I.E CARBOHYDRATES I.E FOOD

THIS REACTION I OUGHT NOT TO HAVE TO TELL YOU HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE THE DAWN OF CREATION
    DEMONSTRATE YOUR NEGATIVITY AND TEK DIS DONG TOO

33. @NO

Your sense of humor is noted LOL

34. RE As an old retired doctor you really have no clue what goes on today do you
    OLD
    RETIRED
    BUT CURRENT
    TEACH PHARMACOLOGY
    STILL READ AND UNDERSTAND WHAT I LEARNED AND KNOW AND TEACH

I AM NOT NOW OR EVER WILL BE TAUGHT BY A MEDICAL ILLITERATE OR CUT AND PASTER ON GOOGLE WHO HAS NEVER ONCE WRITTEN A PRESCRIPTION OR ONE DONE EXPERIMENTS INVOLVING THE DRUGS ABOUT WHICH YOU SPEAK
    YOU ARE HOWEVER PLAYING INTO MY HANDS AS YOU DISCUSS “NEGATIVITY”
    KEEP GOING MAN OR WUH EVER YOU IS
    I GOT DE TIME LOL
    BUT YOU ARE LOSING DIS GAME BIG TIME

35. RE Do you think the Barbados flag should be now draped with a scarf at official functions?

VERY GOOD IDEA SIR
    AND ATTACH A MICROPHONE
    OR IMBED THESE ITEMS IN DE FLAG…….NOT ONLY FOR OFFICIAL FUNCTIONS

LET IT PORTRAY THAT WE ARE NOTHING MORE THAN A BIG MOUT TALKING SCARF THAT ACHIEVES NOTHING OF SUBSTANCE PUNCHING THE AIR AND HARPING DAT WE PUNCHING ABOVE WE WEIGHT

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    “I see GP has not yet caught on to Tron’s methods. Still taking it straight!

Oh dear!”

Sounds like you on lawson? You haven’t figured out yet he doesn’t give a flying flamingo how you, or anybody else, take things? At times his inswingers swing so big, even de keeper can’t get over, and he is stationed half way to the boundary. TheO occasionally is upset, especially if you just flail at an errant delivery, but then again he is stationed at long leg, so the big inswingers gravitate naturally to that location. Even if the ump fails to call it, I play it as a Wide and wait for the next delivery.

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

****Do you think the Barbados flag should be now draped with a scarf at official functions?***

🤣🤣🤣

Yes @David that was a good one by @Northern!

Some of the folks here are truly awesome on the comedy line!

38. POSITIVE IDEA FOR ALL BAJANS ABROAD WHO SPEAK IN PUBLIC

FROM HENCEFORTH
    ALWAYS STAND WITH SOME PIECE OF CLOTH DRAPED OVER YOUR SHOULDER
    ALLWAYS PUNCH DE AIR AND SAY THAT YOU ARE PUNCHING ABOVE YOUR WEIGHT
    TALK NUFF TRY TO SOUND GOOD BUT ACHIEVE NUTTIN BY YOUR TALK

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

I can say this, for friends and acquaintances, many of whom still get the Bahamas, Bermuda and yes “the Barbados” confused (the B islands), the lady with the scarf, given her penchant for international airtime, has caught on. They still aren’t sure if she is the PM or President, of Barbados, Bermuda or the Bahamas, but they know the lady with the scarf.

40. GP-TALKING CRICKET? Avatar
    GP-TALKING CRICKET?

NO
    WITH YOUR AFFINITY FOR LONG LEG, I PERCIEVE THAT YOU PREFER TO HAVE TWO LONG LEGS, A WIDE GULLY AND A DEEP MID ON——-BUT NO SHORT LEGS

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

Actually GP once they are enveloped around my neck or other body parts I really don’t mind is they originated from short or long leg. At this stage of life, beggars cannot be choosers.

42. THE FIRST POST ON THIS BLOG WAS BY ANGELA WHO OPINED CORRECTLY
    Let’s start with the media
    There is where all the negative crap is filtered into the minds of the people
    Let’s face the reality that the information given by those in charge of what people see and hear is negative
    Garbage in garbage out
    Unfortunately the church no longer or can master the way people think
    The church once a staple of righteous thinking has lost its way also

AND WHAT SHE SAID CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    WHAT SHE SAID IS AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:16
    READ IT AGAIN FOR A BROKEN CLOCK IS RIGHT AT LEAST TWICE DAILY
    AND SHE IS CORRECT HERE SO SHE CAN AFFORD TO LOOK INTO THE MIRROR

SO LIKE SHE SAYS ONCE MORE……Let’s start with the media
    There is where all the negative crap is filtered into the minds of the people
    Let’s face the reality that the information given by those in charge of what people see and hear is negative
    Garbage in garbage out
    Unfortunately the church no longer or can master the way people think
    The church once a staple of righteous thinking has lost its way also

BARBADOS UNDERGROUND IS PERHAPS THE LEADING PLACE IN BARBADOS FOR SUPRESSING THE TRUTH AND ALLOWING GARBAGE

THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    BUT ITS SUCH A SOURCE OF MIRTH O

43. “HAS NEVER ONCE WRITTEN A PRESCRIPTION OR ONE DONE EXPERIMENTS INVOLVING THE DRUGS ABOUT WHICH YOU SPEAK”

As mentioned my dad was a better doctor than you by a million miles as are my two brothers
    I have written prescriptions in my youth, there were prescription pads in my Dad’s office

44. NO
    RE Actually GP once they are enveloped around my neck or other body parts I really don’t mind is they originated from short or long leg. At this stage of life, beggars cannot be choosers.

I PERCIEVE THAT YOU ARE A POSITIVE MAN WHO IS WILLING BOTH TO STAND UP AND FACE HIS PROBLEMS OF VARIOUS APPEARANCES OR HOE EVER THEY MIGHT PRESENT THEMSELVES

45. DPD,

What makes you think I have not caught on to Lawson?????????

I correct him for the record.

46. Pacha…for future reference, there is now a Pan Afrikan Univeristy opened in the last couple weeks in Brazzaville Kongo, just heard a colleague of Nana Cheik Diop, Prof. Theophile Obenga, Prof James Small and Prof, Jeffreys speaking about it, Kemet, Kush and TImbuktu revisted…very impressive.

47. RE As mentioned my dad was a better doctor than you by a million miles as are my two brothers
    I have written prescriptions in my youth, there were prescription pads in my Dad’s office
    POOR YOU YOUR FATHER AND DRS WERE DOCTORS AND YOU WERE AND ARE AND REMAIN A MORON
    AND YOU WERE ACTUALLY BREAKING THE LAW BY WRITING PRESCRIPTIONS WHEN YOU WERE NOT A REISTERED MEDICAL DR

ONE CAN ONLY WONDER HOW MANY MORE LAWS THAT YOU HAVE BROKEN

KEEP GOING GIVE MORE MIRTH

48. @ Dread

Babylon block bob 🎶 to rata. Nah play man.
    blood clot hem bus head. Me nex later try.

1 love star..