Recent COVID 19 Dashboards reflect a global picture, one of rising infections caused mainly by the Delta variant. Unfortunately because Barbados does not exist in a fishbowl, our tiny island is being ravaged by the the coronavirus. Given the perilous state of the economy before the pandemic struck, Barbadians should expect a period of economic hardship for the next many years, ten, twenty …it is left to be seen. We will probably be told differently very soon with 2023 rapidly approaching.

It is regrettable the one advantage our island has compared to larger countries we continue to squander. Come together, agree to a way forward , inspire residents to rally behind a sensible plan AND EXECUTE. Instead we see the same old, political opportunism, high class ignorance and panic.

Covid 19 Dashboard 1/9/2021

The blogmaster is hopeful this blog can be used to record constructive suggestions to help onlookers negotiate the ongoing Covid 19 challenge, now and in the long-term. To repeat – the blogmaster is hopeful.

One thing is for certain, it is going to be a bleak Christmas.

439 responses to “Barbados: in the Grip of a Pandemic”

1. Boy, why don’t you go google Elijah McClain and see all your George Floyd and co. racist arguments crash and burn like all the rest of your crazed arguments!

And where is the misnamed Critical Analyzer, last seen predicting Biden’s impeachment two bright and early Monday mornings ago?

Batting zero at present, all you right-wing loonies!

Still no kraken!

Hilarious!

2. The Chinese are doing two things.

FIRST, THEY ARE PREVENTING IT, AN OUNCE OF PREVENTION IS A POUND OF CURE.

SECOND, IF IT ARISES, THEY ARE CONTROLLING IT.

The rest of the world has to figure out how to prevent it!!

THEY HAVE TO BE ABLE TO CONTROL IT BECAUSE THEY CAN BE INFECTED BY TRAVELLERS FROM ANY COUNTRY.

3. John
    stop bashing your head against a brick wall

The simple solution, antidote and remedy for the agony in the body is to exercise like Chinese do with TCM Traditional Chinese Medicine philosophies and energy medicine practise such as internal nei gong and prana breath work to keep your lung chi and Jing-Chi-Shen energies flowing through your 3 dantians clearing all blockages that cause sickness

4. I just heard Mugabe.

I gun tell ya something. Every time I hear Mugabe speaking my head does spin. I does forget that I don like she and admire de mastery of her presentation skills.

De person who gun debate she in 2023 has an uphill task.

5. Ameri-KKK-a has one fifth of the world’s cases

God works in mysterious ways…

you can have all the riches of the world and the most power but it will still never save your soul..

6. For those who have not been left in the dust!!!

China can prevent it therefore it needs no vaccine!!

Sugar water would prevent breakthrough infections and the unvaccinated would not be infected, both of which the data shows.

The problem is when the Chinese Vaccine is used in countries which can’t prevent the virus.

The question for the advanced is why does China need to vaccinate 889 million people and want to have 80% of its population vaccinated with sugar water by year end?

Preparing for war perhaps?

7. President of the dlp.replies to Mottley criticism

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10157906365022553&id=674657552

8. Mottley just implemented a mini pause
    No.hiking
    Yet one hear that open air with sunlight is good in helping to fight the virus
    Don’t understand the different time schedules for employees working at restaurants
    Churches remain. Open
    Hotels carry as many guest as allowed 24 seven
    Don’t understand how moving some of the chairs from one side of the deck to another would make any impact

9. @ TheOGazerts,

Why you doan like she ? She do you something ?

10. September 9, 2021, 1387 tests done, 78 new cases including 17 children. Positivity rate 5.62%
    September 8, 2021, 1373 tests done, 87 new cases including 17 children. Positivity rate 6.33%
    September 7, 2021, 1303 tests done, 69 new cases including 20 children. Positivity rate 5.29%
    September 6, 2021, 1118 tests done, 68 new cases including 7 children. Positivity rate 6.08%
    September 5, 2021, 2827 tests done, 101 new cases including 26 children. Positivity rate 3.57%
    September 4, 2021, 2139 tests done, 65 new cases including 15 children. Positivity rate 3.03%.
    September 3, 2021, 1557 tests done, 31 new cases including 6 children. Positivity rate 1.99%.
    September 2, 2021, 2544 tests done, 80 new cases, including 15 children. Positivity rate 3.14%.
    September 1, 2021, 1665 tests done, 40 new cases including 11 children. 1 death. Positivity rate 2.40%.

636 people are in isolation.

11. @angela cox September 9, 2021 5:20 PM “Mottley just implemented a mini pause No.hiking
    Yet one hear that open air with sunlight is good in helping to fight the virus”

No GROUP hikes, but nothing stopping you from going alone or with your household from Long Bay to River Bay.

Nothing stopping you from standing in your yard or skipping in your yard in the midday sun.

Stupppssseee!!!

SMH.

12. @TheOGazerts

She say she is a Jimmy Cliff girl. lol

13. “No GROUP hikes, but nothing stopping you from going alone or with your household from Long Bay to River Bay.

Nothing stopping you from standing in your yard or skipping in your yard in the midday sun.

Stupppssseee!!!

SMH.”

Well done

14. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 9, 2021 5:32 PM

@angela cox September 9, 2021 5:20 PM “Mottley just implemented a mini pause No.hiking
    Yet one hear that open air with sunlight is good in helping to fight the virus”

No GROUP hikes, but nothing stopping you from going alone or with your household from Long Bay to River Bay.

Stupppssseee!!!

SMH.
    Xxxxxxxxxxx
    Not the same as group hiking
    Also.i am.not a fan of restriction of movement especially when I see airplane loaded with people landing in Barbados and nothing is said or done in that area to slow that movement
    Yet a weekly hike becomes great concern
    Xxxxxxxxxxxxx

SMH

15. Whuh de hikers do she now?

16. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 9, 2021 5:26 PM

September 9, 2021, 1387 tests done, 78 new cases including 17 children. Positivity rate 5.62%
    September 8, 2021, 1373 tests done, 87 new cases including 17 children. Positivity rate 6.33%
    September 7, 2021, 1303 tests done, 69 new cases including 20 children. Positivity rate 5.29%
    September 6, 2021, 1118 tests done, 68 new cases including 7 children. Positivity rate 6.08%
    September 5, 2021, 2827 tests done, 101 new cases including 26 children. Positivity rate 3.57%
    September 4, 2021, 2139 tests done, 65 new cases including 15 children. Positivity rate 3.03%.
    September 3, 2021, 1557 tests done, 31 new cases including 6 children. Positivity rate 1.99%.
    September 2, 2021, 2544 tests done, 80 new cases, including 15 children. Positivity rate 3.14%.
    September 1, 2021, 1665 tests done, 40 new cases including 11 children. 1 death. Positivity rate 2.40%.

636 people are in isolation.

While in China!!

September 9 (GMT) Updates 28 new cases in China [source]

September 8 (GMT) Updates 19 new cases in China [source]

September 7 Updates 36 new cases in China [source]

September 6 Updates 18 new cases in China [source]

September 5 Updates 28 new cases in China [source]

September 4 Updates 28 new cases in China [source]

September 3 Updates 28 new cases in China [source]

Nothing really to report!!

Doesn’t even register on the graph.

https://imgur.com/OMzccpO

17. The thing to realise is that it can be prevented and that is how you control it.

Right now only China knows how!!

…. and me!!

18. A weekly hike with fifty people or less
    Some of them elderly and having stuck to a daily grind of staying home and now looking forward to connect with other hikers having the same interest
    Yet as I mentioned the airplanes loaded with vaccinated and unvaccinated people have been given free movement to land on Barbados shores and nothing is said or done
    Hell if govt is so concern about the health of a country
    Govt first and foremost concern would be one of making sure that movement to stop the spread is given priority
    Not a punishing approach to the locals who have followed every portocols as had been asked by govt
    How is it that govt is quick to react to what locals are not doing but let tourist from high point areas come into the country some who flaunts and mek mock sport of Barbados portocols
    Some even showing proof of being vaccinated with false documents
    Good grief barbadians are now being made scape goats and being punished whilst tourist slither there way onto Barbados shores exempt out of a called towards movement
    Btw tourist have back yards too maybe them too can Stan home
    Tek long walks in the beautiful parks as some one suggest that I should do
    But this I can bet that govt interest in the health of the economy is their first priority having the tourist as their lynch pin to jump start the economy

19. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Did I hear our PM right in today’s briefing when talking about a home isolation policy for people with COVID meeting certain criteria?

If this is true, what happened to everyone testing positive for COVID including the PM must isolate at Harrison’s Point and are they backpedaling now because they know the weak vaccine can never contain COVID and the rich will get it sooner or later and be forced to go there?

20. BU sure has more than its share of delusional “geniuses”!

Only John Knox, of all the people of the world has been able to sit in his chair and using only his “little grey cells” outdo even the world’s most famous fictional detective. Like Hercule Poirot , he did not need to visit the scene of the crime, look for footprints, fingerprints or cigarette ashes or indeed even collect any physical evidence to solve this most vexing case. But where he outshines Poirot is that he did not even have to interview witnesses.

It would have been nice to have a positive test for the virus in the water from the desal plant but it really isn’t necessary.

For John Knox, the biggest brain in the whole damn world operates above the limits of all other human minds!

He alone apart from the Chinese culprits has the answer to the pandemic!

Barbados punches above its weight!

Makes me proud to be a Bajan!

21. It is good to know that we have a very intelligent Supreme Leader. So the totally insane quarantine rules will be relaxed. Hopefully soon fully vaccinated tourists can come to us without quarantines. Given the great vaccination progress, it is only logical.

However, I advise our Supreme Leader to be careful! She should take the leaders of the opposition and the BAMP president into protective custody at Drax Hall or other confined places for a few months, as they are working against the vaccination campaign and/or unsettling our tourists.

22. @Critical Analyzer September 9, 2021 7:29 PM “COVID and the rich will get it sooner or later and be forced to go there?”

So who tell you that no rich people have been in Harrison Point.

Didn’t Covid19 begin and spread first in the richest countries of the world? China, the UK, the USA, Italy, Germany, France etc.?

23. Rich people hurrying up and getting the vaccine, while poor people listening to damn foolishness, and getting sick and dying.

24. “[U.S.] President Joe Biden on Thursday imposed stringent new vaccine rules on federal workers, large employers and health care staff in a sweeping attempt to contain the latest surge of Covid-19…The new requirements could apply to as many as 100 million Americans — close to two-thirds of the American workforce…At the center of Biden’s new plan is directing the Labor Department to require all businesses with 100 or more employees ensure their workers are either vaccinated or tested once a week, an expansive step the President took after consultation with administration health officials and lawyers. Companies could face thousands of dollars in fines per employee if they don’t comply.”
    Source CNN

25. “All eligible students attending Los Angeles Unified public schools — the nation’s second largest school district — will be required to be vaccinated against Covid-19 by the end of the calendar year, the school board of education has voted. In a special meeting held Thursday, the Los Angeles Unified School Board decided by unanimous vote that a mandate was appropriate based on the sudden surge of the virus brought about by the Delta variant and data showing lower rates of infection and hospitalization among those who are vaccinated.”
    Source: CNN

26. Yup! Even Rupert Murdoch of Fox News got the vaccine early o’clock. No doubt he has managed to procure a third shot by now.

His viewers have not taken their first.

Of course, he will end up with fewer viewers. They are dropping like flies.

Human beings are curious creatures. The more you study them the more baffling they seem. Television magnates killing their viewers, Politicians killing their supporters and voters.

Shooting themselves in the foot!

Didn’t think it through to its logical end. Cannot extricate themselves without exposing themselves as the frauds they are. And too besides, the supporters/voters have made it into a religion. Backtrakers will be seen as heretics.

Watching this crap play out has shaken my view of the intelligence of human beings.

27. Backtrackers

28. @ Cuhdear Bajan September 9, 2021 8:59 PM

The impoverished masses in Barbados listen to the opposition on BU and elsewhere and will soon end like flies. Indeed. Whereas our diplomats, expats, businessmen and other minorities are now preparing for their third shot.

You can’t call it anything else: The opposition is committing a black genocide with its vaccination skepticism.

29. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan September 9, 2021 8:54 PM

I have no information on how many of the real rich or influential people in Barbados caught COVID and went to Harrison’s Point but I bet they imported their own COVID test kits and have arrangements with their own doctor all ready to go if they do get it and need treatment to get in the comfort of their own home.

My question is why change isolation protocols to allow some to home isolate when we all know it will create two Barbadoses for treatment. If home isolation is going to be made an option, it has to be done in such a way as to make it available to everyone.

30. At about 25 minutes into the video…..

“Just like Dengue, chicken pox and serious flu a miniscule number will pass”

Wunna friten yet ?

31. @ Critical Analyzer September 9, 2021 10:36 PM

Those who pay so much property tax obviously deserve preferential treatment. In my opinion, home quarantine should be allowed for all villa owners in our gated communities.

We should also think about differentiation in voting rights. It is totall unjust that people who are on food stamps have the same right to vote as our high achievers. I think of a system where you have from 5000 BBD property tax 2 votes, from 10000 BBD 4 votes and from 20000 BBD 10 votes. This way, our minorities would also be adequately represented in parliament, since they pay the most taxes.

32. protest Thursday in St Vincent and the Grenadines as members of the Public Service Union, SVG Teachers union and other social groups are in the Capital city standing up for their rights in relation to the COVID-19 vaccine and other matters of concerns.

Vincentians returned to Kingstown to peacefully protest against the amendments to the Public Health Act, in particular, the vaccine mandate for frontline workers.

33. Let me see if this helps.

Wuhan is located on the Yangtze River, very polluted.

https://imgur.com/oC0SSEj

The Yantze River is fed by tributaries and lakes which are not polluted!!

https://imgur.com/rfyK8cT

When the airborne spread first occurred, it was controlled.

The water supply remained unaffected.

34. Once the authorities gained control of the airborne spread they could prevent it getting into the water.

So Wuhan opened back up in short shift.

For good Governance to take place, it is a question understanding the resources at your disposal.

35. Critical AnalyzerSeptember 9, 2021 10:36 PM

My question is why change isolation protocols to allow some to home isolate when we all know it will create two Barbadoses for treatment. If home isolation is going to be made an option, it has to be done in such a way as to make it available to everyone.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have not been following the protocols and don’t know about changes.

However, I would suggest that if it is in the water all the protocols are useless until it is taken out of the water.

Every 60 days or so it will be the same sh!te!!

36. @ Hants September 9, 2021 11:11 PM

We have to watch this very closely: That is no peaceful protest. I just recall the cowardly assassination attempt on the Most Honourable Prime Minister of St. Vincent. The riotous mob obviously wants to spread the disease over the whole island of St. Vincent.

Our government must be prepared for the worst case scenario, namely further riots in the inner city. I hope our military and police have enough rubber bullets, tear gas and shackles. Likewise, we need enough space for internment camps, i.e. for the Corona rioters, the opposition and their lawyers supporting the riots.

Enough is enough!

37. New duplex houses.

38. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 9, 2021 11:57 AM

“President Joe Biden on Thursday is toughening COVID-19 vaccine requirements for federal workers and contractors, according to a person familiar with the plans.

Just weeks after he mandated federal workers get a shot or face rigorous testing and masking protocols, Biden has signed a new executive order to require vaccination for employees of the executive branch and contractors that do business with the federal government.”
    Source: Bostonglobe.com

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here is Biden on mandatory vaccinations in December 2020!!

He is a useless POS!!

39. Anyone who believes 78 million Americans voted for him needs to have their head examined.

40. @🐰
    🐇 Courses are now open
    Trolling: Trimp, Obama, Biden
    Twistory: Quaker
    Statwistics: water
    Lies: everything

41. This science is not really a science

if the Covid rates go up
    it must be their water

if the Covid rates go down
    it must be their water

Keep repeating for brainwashing

Up Down Up Down Up Down
    It’s Water Water Water Water

Depth Charge, Still Waters

42. The New Today

Local News
    Grenada

Government announces EC$36M stimulus to assist poor and vulnerable
    by The New TodaySeptember 4, 2021

Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Gregory Bowen says the $36M stimulus package is expected to protect the most vulnerable, promote job creation and stimulate the economy.
    Close to 9000 vulnerable Grenadians are expected to benefit directly from an EC$36M stimulus package which was officially launched by the Keith Mitchell-led New National Party (NNP) administration on Wednesday to tackle the coronavirus pandemic.

It is the second package to be implemented in approximately 16 months to curb the significant financial and economic impact of Covid-19 on the people of Grenada, Carriacou and Petite Martinique.

A major component under the stimulus is the “temporary expansion” of beneficiaries under the Ministry of Social Development’s Support for Education, Empowerment and Development (SEED) cash transfer programme to include less fortunate individuals, who had previously qualified but were not receiving SEED payment, which is geared to provide support for school transportation, necessities fund, and public assistance programmes.

In making the disclosure, Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister, Gregory Bowen announced an EC$ 5.3M allocation to support the temporary SEED expansion “for a period of up to 12 months.”

The Number Two man in the NNP regime pointed out that internet support through the inter-connectivity programme that targets vulnerable households is a significant component under the multi-million dollar stimulus, which is geared to “protect the most vulnerable, promote job creation, and help micro, small and medium-sized enterprises.”

He identified these as being “critical to help boost economic recovery, and prevent further economic scarring and social dislocation.”

Minister Bowen said that 1500 households are expected to benefit from the inter-connectivity programme, which “will extend broadband access to vulnerable households with particular focus on students sitting examinations in 2022 as an immediate priority.”

He also announced an “EC$10.6M” allocation for persons employed in informal sector businesses, including cultural artistes, cruise ship workers, taxi drivers, water taxi operators, tourist vendors, tour guides, street, and school vendors, small shop operators, small caterers, cleaners, domestic workers and EC$6.7M towards “monthly income support to vulnerable people.

Additionally, $1.35M has been set aside to support youth entrepreneurship programmes, EC$10.6M for vulnerable populations that are not on the rosters of existing cash transfer programmes but work in the informal sector which will include the provision of EC$ 2.6 M for temporary unemployment benefit and EC$8.2M to businesses to promote growth and sustainability.

Minister Bowen also indicated that although these beneficiaries are not registered with the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) at this point they will have to do so later.

The stimulus package is open to vulnerable businesses, and individuals affected by the pandemic in Grenada and is expected to range from one-off payments to monthly transfers for up to six (6) months based on the category of eligibility.

Speaking to reporters ahead of Wednesday’s stimulus package launch, the Strategic Programme Manager within the Internal Revenue Department (IRD), Chinnel Andrews said the Ministry of Finance is working along with all the relevant stakeholders with the “hope to target all the vulnerable persons” who were critically affected by COVID-19.

“We are working with numerous stakeholders, other ministries, for example, the Ministry of Social Development in terms of the SEED (programme). So, it’s no longer just the Ministry of Finance doing research, and disbursing monies…” Andrews told Tuesday’s weekly Post-Cabinet media brief.

The EC$36M package will be funded through the Barbados-based Caribbean Development Bank (CDB), under the Inter-American Development Bank, Caribbean Development Bank Global Loan programme, and the Government of Grenada.

In April last year, the Grenada Parliament approved an EC$50M stimulus package in which EC$20M was reportedly used to ensure workers in the tourism sector received payroll assistance.

Three (3) months later in July 2020, the Government said it had expended over “EC$17M” under the first stimulus in which 7000 persons benefited from various measures that were implemented by the administration including payroll support, reduction in electricity bills for consumers, and grants to the Grenada Development Bank (GDB) to support the Small Business Development Fund and the Small Hoteliers Business Fund which offer concessionaire loans to help stimulate business activity.

The launch of the second stimulus package on Wednesday saw the reopening of the COVID Economic Support Secretariat, which is the central location responsible for the implementation, and coordination of all the components of the stimulus package.

This development comes approximately two (2) months after the government announced the acquisition of a US$8.95M loan from the Inter-American Development Bank to use as a stimulus with a variable interest rate of about 2.06 percent, and terms and conditions that include a 5-year grace period with repayment over 20 years
    Xxxxxcc
    So what is Barbados doing for its most vulnerable?

43. Nobody able to address the China anomaly I see!!

COVID rates neither rising or falling!!

Like it don’t exist.

44. @🐰
    What became of the prediction of trimp’s triumphant return in August?
    Was that delayed?

45. @ Tron September 9, 2021 11:49 PM
    Our government must be prepared for the worst case scenario, namely further riots in the inner city. I hope our military and police have enough rubber bullets, tear gas and shackles. Likewise, we need enough space for internment camps, i.e. for the Corona rioters, the opposition and their lawyers supporting the riots.
    Enough is enough!
    (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tron, it would appear as if you have joined the Pinochet-type cult of former minister Jonesing of cracking skulls and shooting people.

Maybe your Supreme leader should get rid of some of the non-productive consultants (including the Big Sink liar) and engage the services of Jonesing to be the special advisor in strong-arm tactics to deal with the looming hungry mass of the unemployed.

Maybe the fast disappearing Crapaud has started to smoke your MAM’s pipe!

All Barbados got is sea water and sand.

46. I applaude Antigua for doing what is right in helping the most vulnerable by interjecting stimulus pkgs monies which will reenter into the lifeless body of the economy
    Meanwhile here in Barbados govt threatens the people hum and haw about protocols

47. “Maybe your Supreme leader should get rid of some of the non-productive consultants (including the Big Sink liar)……”

@ Miller

You know “Big Sink liar,” as you call him, is NOT a government consultant.

So, come on, let’s be fair and not purposely misrepresent the truth.

48. @ Artax September 10, 2021 10:00 AM

OK, you are technically ‘correct’.

Let’s dub him ‘Advisor’ especially on all matters involving fractions, percentages, decimals and ratios which even your 11plus son or daughter can figure out.

49. @ac
    Brown is on the verge of being unable to pay Antigua’s public employees. Not unlike why DrWorrell was fired, only he cannot print $EC as he chooses.
    As many here remind us, Karma can be a bitch!
    Or is this a Barven moment?