In the lead in to the 2018 general election there was a buzz about Guy Hewitt perceived in some quarters to be man with political aspirations to lead the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) after the period dubbed The Lost Decade. He has always had a voice in the Barbados non secular space- received by the general public as erudite and articulate with his social and political commentaries not unlike the Dean Harold Crichlow. It did not hurt the recognition gained from the leadership role he played in the infamous Windrush matter.

One should never say never – in this instance Reverend Hewitt being a future leader of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). Of recent his articles are a must read for those following current affairs in similar vein to a Senator Caswell Franklyn. A high compliment for sure.

The Windrush debacle created the opportunity for Hewitt to add priceless elements to his brand and of late the Donville Inniss matter created a dicey window of opportunity for him to express loyalty for a friend, an endearing and respected human quality. Although Inniss was charged and convicted of money laundering in the USA- the first local high ranking former politician to achieve such ignominy- he continues to enjoy some support among Barbadians. In a macabre way Hewitt the priest may be seen as supporting a son of the soil who has stumbled, the words of country and western singer the late Glen Campbell:

If you see your brother standing by the road

With a heavy load from the seeds he sowed

…just stop and say, you are going the wrong way

You have got to try a little kindness …

If President Verla De Peiza could borrow from Hewitt’s resume and modus operandi what a formidable opponent she would be perceived to be. To have the ability to inhale some of the oxygen from the political space being sucked in by her counterpart Mia Mottley is required now more than ever with the failure of the third party political movement to gain political traction in the aftermath of an unprecedented 30 to 0 shellacking in the 2018 general election.

Guy Hewitt has the opportunity to play a significant role in the rebuild of the DLP. It is difficult to see him being accepted by the DLP establishment party apparatus for the highest office in the party. Unlike a few of the opportunists who have jumped ship or become disinterested in DLP politics, Hewitt continues to fight the good fight. For believers miracles have been known to happen and Reverend Hewitt may have heard a repeat of the message whispered in his ears from the one above “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful with few things. I will put you in charge of many things”.

It may be wise for President De Peiza to find a way to hitch her wagon to Guy Hewitt’s rising star. He is one of those rare personalities who has crossover appeal in the land. She must find a way to overcome the negative perception caused by the delayed endorsement of her decision to run in St. Lucy by Denis Kellman. She will never be seen as a threat if unable to win a seat in parliament.

How can and will Reverend Guy assist a sister carrying a heavy load?

281 responses to “Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Focus on the neglect of St Lucy.”

11 parishes and at least 6 or 7 have been wickedly neglected by DBLP…they maliciously pauperized a huge cross-section of the majority population for over 50 YEARS………now it has culminated in their handiwork of corruption and selloutism on FULL display everywhere.

don’t know what their slow thinking yardfowls/Slaves are on about…. both DBLP honorable Slaves did this…..it’s ALL ON THEM and they have to PAY…

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Focus on how justice is distributed”

you do realize that Verla is a lawyer and a member of the same close-knit cabal…who live in their little syndicated world of doing nothing to affect change.

3. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Instead of toxic honorable Slaves turning another generation of young minds into slow thinking yardfowls/Slaves…this is where they should be positioned as the island’s future….into being inventors etc…..look at what raising and cultivating slow thinking yardfowls who can’t even create a viable thought has cost the island in productivity etc.

the photo i saw of them, none of these kids are yet 20…

“A 2018 article in the journal HardwareX details “an open source hardware setup to measure locomotor activity in rodents”. It has a simple design. But for developer Victor Kumbol, then a neuroscience master’s student at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology in Kumasi, Ghana, that device, called Actifield, has had an outsized impact.

Actifield is an actimeter, a device that quantifies animal activity (V. Wumbor-Apin Kumbol et al. HardwareX http://doi.org/ggb8hw; 2018). “I needed the actimeter to test for potential drug compounds that could modify behaviour in mice. But my department had only one actimeter available, and it was outdated,” Kumbol says. “So I decided to build one for myself.”

4. “Verla will not penetrate St. Lucy unless she gets the support of Dennis Kellman.”

I agree. But, if you remember how Kellman was fighting to lead the DLP; the adverse relationships with Mascoll and Thompson; and how he was ‘left out’ of Thompson’s first Cabinet……. would he rise to the challenge?

However, based on reports, it seems as though Peter Phillips has been doing an excellent job in St. Lucy.

I believe Verla would be making a ‘big mistake’ if she “focused on the neglect of St Lucy,” especially talking into consideration such neglect occurred under the DLP as well…… and when Kellman was the parliamentary representative.

5. David

So I can scratch St L. From ur list of three seats?

6. @ David, I am so lucky. lol

I just switched the TV to channel 14 in Toronto and G G was peforming Titanium at the Eurovision Song Contest.

I will now search YouTube for a repeat. got it. sharing is caring.

7. Kellman will eventually support her.

8. DavidMay 23, 2021 2:58 PM Kellman will eventually support her.

Again you see the issue. People above complaining that Sin Lucy has not have any development in thirty years.

But then, the de facto leader of the DLP must get the approval of the prior sitting member for that parish, including the prior constant ten years?

This example is symptomatic of cognitive dissonance and a lethargic thought process.

Is the question ‘what have you done for me lately?’, enough to determine the result of each election? Surely the electoral process should be more rigorous?

But I guess that is what we get with 50 years of corned beef and biscuit politics. The only thing that has changed over the fifty years, is that the nibbles have changed to more esoteric demands, money, guns, drugs.

Grynner’s words ‘no more rice grain, cyan swell up my brain’, have been proven to depict momentary lucidity and not a permanent change of stance.

Alas, we tremble.

9. Crusoe,

You did not see the airport Denis Kellman built in St. Lucy???????

10. http://www.smallarmssurvey.org/fileadmin/docs/T-Briefing-Papers/SAS-BP-Civilian-Firearms-Numbers.pdf

I did not read it, but I can assure you that statistical estimation can be done. Gun ownership can be sensitive. In some places the estimates may be off and in others spot-on.

Old story (40 years) – a friend call me to show me something.. it took me a few seconds to realize I was looking at a gun pointed at my head, and that was in St. Lucy ….10, 000 may be realistic

11. Don’t click. Search for
    smallarmssurvey.org SAS-BP-Civilian-Firearms-Numbers

12. This data picking and measuring is not relevant for Barbados.

13. @ Sargeant May 23, 2021 2:09 PM
    Actions and consequences, when the Police are thrown under the bus as per the recent speaker phone episode don’t expect some people to respect them. (Unquote).

Sound warning, there Sarge!

That’s what happens when one has to dine regularly with the devil after selling one’s political soul for a mess of electoral pottage.

How can well-known drug lords and distributors of illegal gun be invited, so unashamedly, to the Coronation of a Queen Bee in the highest Court of the red republic and then don’t expect them, in true Shylock fashion, to demand their pound of flesh paid in immunity from the ‘long’ arm of the law in return for their electoral support?

Karma is indeed one queen of a bitch.

“Dangerous consequences will follow when politicians and rulers forget moral principles. Whether we believe in God or karma, ethics is the foundation of every religion.” – Dalai Lama XIV

14. Don’t dismiss it so easily. The 10,000 come from this list.
    I would bet that the US/RBPF has some estimate of the number of guns coming to Barbados each year.

15. First and foremost my deepest condolonces to the family of the slain police officer.In my view i wish to see the resumption of hanging in Barbados.It is not suppose to be a deterent but a PUNISHMENT FOR MURDER.For certain the guilty person cannot kill anyone else.Time to rid the country of these lawless persons who i am sure will think twice about killing someone if they too loses theirs.I do not know what the present AG position on the death penalty is but i remember the in my view do little ex AG saying words to the effect that no one will be hanged under his watch.Hence crime getting out of control under his watch.I believe we need a referendum on the death penalty.
    As for AC you nor the dems have any credibility on the issue of crime.As for Skinner i am glad that the blogmaster recognize finally what others and myself has posited here repeatedly.The guy has an anti BLP agenda and he hides it under the cover of talk about the duopoly and parties giving fowls scrap but he is one of the fowls undercover on BU for years.I gone.

16. You can estimate anything. Just remember it is an estimate. It can be in or out of the ballpark. There are some things you cannot count.. only estimate

“The volume of sand was obtained by multiplying the length of the world’s beaches by their average width and depth. The number they calculated was seven quintillion five quadrillion (that’s 7.5 followed by seventeen zeros or 7.5 billion billion) sand grains!”

17. @ Lorenzo May 23, 2021 4:59 PM
    “I do not know what the present AG position on the death penalty is but i remember the in my view do little ex AG saying words to the effect that no one will be hanged under his watch.Hence crime getting out of control under his watch.I believe we need a referendum on the death penalty.”

But, but the death penalty is still on the Statute book, isn’t it?

If you don’t need a referendum for going republic why would you need a referendum on the death penalty which is already in place? For its removal?

What you should be pushing for is the enforcement of the death penalty and then you would see how much your red administration- under the coming republic- differs from the DLP administration when it comes to the death penalty and its ‘execution’.

Barbados cannot expect to join all the human rights clubs at the United Nations and around the world and then expect to revert to cruel, inhumane and barbaric treatment of people who commit murder.

What is needed as a matter of emergency is the functioning of the Bajan justice system in your ripening banana republic.

Why should an accused murderer have to wait more than 5 years to receive a ‘timely and fair’ in a competent court of law?

What kind of Justice is that?

18. @Miller

What about our treaty obligation? e have discussed this many times especially before Jeff was made a Justice.

19. @ David May 23, 2021 5:40 PM

That’s why the ‘enforcement’ of the death penalty is off the table under any administration.

What is required is for its replacement with a ‘life-imprisonment’ sentence or a sentence to be served at the President’s pleasure instead of ‘Her Majesty’s’.

Barbados needs to up it’s game when it comes to the ‘execution’ (no pun intended) of justice for serious criminal offences.

Why should accused murderers and other accused of committing serious criminal offences have to wait years to be tried and which is clearly in breach of their Constitutional right(s)?

Why should people who are accused of committing murder, especially through the use of illegal firearms, be allowed to walk the streets on bail for such a long time without a ‘speedy’ trial?

Why not take as an example the George Floyd (BLM) event which resulted in the timely execution of Justice?

20. @Miller

We can agree but there is low confidence in executing anything. Why is it taking months to register a vehicle at BRA these days as one example?

21. Kellman may be a problem. I saw that he re-posted an item from 2018. The good he did for St Lucy.

22. Floyd’s case was easier because of the video and numerous eye witnesses

23. Here we go again with the death penalty! Most of these footsoldiers don’t live to get old anyway.

They live in the Valley of the Shadow of Death.

We cannot kill them faster than they kill themselves.

24. “Guns don’t kill people, but people do is the old adage be expressed by those who support the right to bear arms”

Now with that being said, the police in Bim have been dealing with gun violence from as far back as the days of Dr. Rat, who shot several Officers back in the early 70s. And Mark Young and Harding who engaged in a gun battled police Bush Hall in the 80s, but unfortunately for Young,he was shot dead by police, and Harding on the other hand, escaped injury and death by rubbing Young’s blood on himself.

Nevertheless, my point is this: guns are here in Bim already and stopping them from further flooding Bim is only one step in the attempt to addressing their illegal used, but the focus should be on changing the mentality of those individuals who elect to use them in the process of engaging in their criminality.

Now there is much talk about the reinstatement of the Death Penalty, but the history of penology has taught us that State Sanctioned Murder, has never been an effective deterrent for those persons who choose to take the life of innocent people through the barrel of a gun.

25. The death penalty does not stop murder
    However the object and focus should be that of getting the guns off the street
    Gun shops in Barbados should only be registered for the sale of hunting rifles
    Too bad if the sale of hunting rifles does not meet their bottom line
    In an earlier posting I called for closure of the gun shops
    Still stand by that call with an exemption to the shops that sell hunting rifles
    A small country having a statistic of over ten thousand guns 70% unregistered is in the early stages of becoming a garrison with a possibility of having laws unto themselves
    Hence more murderous rampage will occur
    Govt must do the right thing and look at the source of the gun and stop believing that the criminal mentality would have a moral reasoning and the killings would cease
    The guns can only be access if they are legal avenues which gave dealers the go ahead to buy and sell the guns

26. What will the hunting rifles be used for?

27. Jihn2May 24, 2021 7:55 AM

What will the hunting rifles be used for

Ask govt why was permission given to have guns on this 166sq miles

28. Mari

I heard that the most guns came into the island during the lost decade – both legally and illegally

Also – I still waiting to see verlas condolences to the officers close ones – I hear he got nuff family in st Lucy

29. WURA
    The fact that you came to that realisation about coral reefs few years ago after a trip to a museum in Queens is comedy goal. It shows what a dummy you are.🤣🤣🤣

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Slow Thinker Enuff….over 20 YEARS AGO is NOT a few years ago…i mentioned it over 7 years ago…and still the taxpayer SUCKING clueless in DBLP still KNOW NOTHING ABOUT IT……

and still invited cruise liners to DESTROY THE REEF.

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Must be something in the water that the island’s managers are so goddamn backward, UNINFORMED and self-destructive….the know nothing, know it alls.

32. WURA
    Oh shite, the lady that swore a man that never won a seat in parliament was an MP for years calling me a slow learner. The same woman who now boldly declares she discovered, through a visit to a museum in nu yawk, the impacts of certain activities on coral reefs. Salemite, coral reefs have been on the secondary school Integrated Science curriculum for musse near 40 years and in primary schools for years too. Yuh ever hear bout Bellairs or the junior coral reef ambassadors? Yuh see why on this context 20 years is recent? You carry on with high intellect.🤣🤣

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Slow Thinker Slave Enuff…so WHY ARE THE CORAL REEFS in Barbados now DAMAGED….

if ya would stop PIMPING behind who is a colonial minister, or colonial MP and focus on reality, the reefs may still be in better shape than they are right now…i don’t check for who is colonial Slave or colonial yardfowl, it’s beneath me…..i just call yall by ya known names…

34. The voice of Hewitt speaking on behalf of the DLP is ringing loud with his call for Cummins to resign or be fired.

35. As a citizen he has a right to call for action against this incompetence govt
    People are growing tired of their lies and cover up
    Better than what Hewitt has said the whole lot should retire
    Not one of them have recorded a portfolio of success for their ministry
    Not one of them

36. Stuuupse! The reverend believes Donville is innocent but said this about Lisa Cummins “she did not help her credentials by purporting to have been mentored by former Prime Minister Arthur. The Owen Seymour Arthur that I knew professionally was very discerning, choosing substance over form and authenticity over the contrived. He didn’t mince words about her; trust me I know.” I am waiting patiently to read about the reverend’s hoax.🤐

37. we have the damaged to coral reefs one of natures natural environmental mechanism for the preservation of undersea life and humans under Cummins watch
    Then this nigus ad campaign
    How much more must taxpayers shell out because of govt failures cause by not looking before govt leaps

38. “The voice of Hewitt speaking on behalf of the DLP is ringing loud with his call for Cummins to resign or be fired.”

If that is not adversarial, it must be spin.
    Calling for an incompetent to resign should be applauded. We have 700,000 why resignation is a must.

39. WURA de Salemite
    Pure shiiite as usual. Bout you post bout reefs 8 years ago. If you’re such an Ivy League educated reef expert why yuh ain’t remind BU 8 months ago when the ships did park up? I rather be slow than illiterate.🤣🤣🤣🤣

40. Enuff, you ain’t realise yet that WARU is a first class liar?

41. As usual you missed the point big time.

42. Enuff, you ain’t realise yet that WARU is a first class liar?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

DOES SHE LIE ON THE FACTS:

BOTH BLP AND DLP POLITICIANS ARE CORRUPT ANIMALS KICKING VOTERS TO THE CURVE EVERY 5 YEARS?

MARK MALONEY AND MANY OTHER WHITE MINORITIES HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN BIG TIME BRIBING OF PAST AND CURRENT POLITICIANS WINNING NO BID CONTRACTS TO THE TUNE OF $$$BILLIONS AND NO ONE HAS GONE TO DODDS PRISON INCLUDING FALSE PROMISES BY MIA TO WIN AN ELECTION AND DECEIVE THE VOTING PUBLIC?

MIA USED THE YOUNG BOY’S DEATH AT THE HANDS OF MARK MALONEY ROUNDABOUT TO FOOL LOCAL BLACKS THAT SHE WOULD GET JUSTICE ONCE ELECTED?

THAT THE JUDICIARY IS BACKWARD AND CORRUPT?

I COULD GO ON AN ON BUT EVERYONE NOT BLINDED SHOULD BE ABLE TO SEE THE PICTURE.

43. @ Enuff May 25, 2021 4:10 PM
    “Stuuupse! The reverend believes Donville is innocent but said this about Lisa Cummins “she did not help her credentials by purporting to have been mentored by former Prime Minister Arthur. The Owen Seymour Arthur that I knew professionally was very discerning, choosing substance over form and authenticity over the contrived. He didn’t mince words about her; trust me I know.” I am waiting patiently to read about the reverend’s hoax.”

A ‘successful’ liar must have a very good memory.

Are you Not that overwhelmingly involved in the billion dollar contracts at your PR firm as to find yourself so deeply bothered about the political petty goings-on in your small-island banana republic?

So which is it, Mr Big stuff “Enuff”?

Are you the only jumped-up black head honcho at the almost all-white PR firm in NY?

Or are just another pimping leftover of a sea dog from the previous red sanctum sanctorum who jumped off the OSA sinking ship but now looking for scraps from the MAM captain’s table to survive?

We are cocksure that you can ‘distinctly’ remember that MAM- when in charge of the HM Opposition- used to ‘demand (hand delivered letters and all) the firing or resignation of petty officers under Admiral Fumble, left, right, left, right now’, for much more ‘petty’ infractions.

So what is so ‘wrong’ with the DLP calling for this tourism whippersnapper to resign, ‘right now’?
    Even if that major cock-up was done either through misguided youthful political exuberance or out of sheer arro-ignorance fashioned from her ability to talk ‘sweet’ a load of pure bullshit.

44. Frank
    I am well aware and her cheerleaders continue peddle the lie that I am a PR professional in Nu Yawk. Then again, 3-degree have two profiles. Murdaaaaaa!

45. Enuff, what is it with you and Miller? He is a cyber admirer?

Man, he does stick on on your backside like glue. He does misquote everything you say and I like the way how you does bring facts to dismiss he and WARU-WAR-on-the-truth.

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“why yuh ain’t remind BU 8 months ago when the ships did park up?”

if ya werent such a SLOW THINKER ya would CHECK the archives and see that i DID REMIND Mia that the reefs would be damaged…and reiterated that tourism causes damaged reefs…. when she started lining off cruise ships with those huge anchors…..

ya teaching about reefs in schools, but ya obviously did not teach the government….

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…ah can’t understand how these Slow Thinkers remember how to breathe on mornings, good thing it’s a reflex action…on second thoughts, maybe not so good.

48. @ Frank May 25, 2021 7:00 PM

Enuff is a big a hypocrite and double-faced liar. We are here to expose him for what he is worth.

Why not ask him if he is still the main man at the PR firm handling billion dollar contracts?

Why don’t you ask your MAM what has become of the evidence in that big red bag?

That should, ‘Frankly’ speaking, shut you up for a while?

49. Salemite
    I ain’t checking nuh archives! if you said that then, good on you. Congrats! But knowing you, if you did you wudda bellow that across BU rather than reference your claimed comments 8 years ago. Yuh know like how you reminded us recently of your connections to international journalists and creatives in Ghana? 🤣🤣🤣

50. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Yall Slow Thinkers will really bring down the government at warp speed…but they so deserve yall for growing yardfowls/Slaves..

don’t worry, there is so much more SHOCK IN STORE for yall.

so you are this billion dollar projects manager and don’t know any international journalists……so what use are you.

do you even know what a creative is or what they do?

ah know yall spent the last 54 years, marginalizing, disenfranchising and TIEFING the literary and intellectual property belonging to creatives…..same people who will have to save the island cause the rest of you are useless squared…

just remember the above heading….don’t blink…wait for the column.