In the lead in to the 2018 general election there was a buzz about Guy Hewitt perceived in some quarters to be man with political aspirations to lead the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) after the period dubbed The Lost Decade. He has always had a voice in the Barbados non secular space- received by the general public as erudite and articulate with his social and political commentaries not unlike the Dean Harold Crichlow. It did not hurt the recognition gained from the leadership role he played in the infamous Windrush matter.

One should never say never – in this instance Reverend Hewitt being a future leader of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). Of recent his articles are a must read for those following current affairs in similar vein to a Senator Caswell Franklyn. A high compliment for sure.

The Windrush debacle created the opportunity for Hewitt to add priceless elements to his brand and of late the Donville Inniss matter created a dicey window of opportunity for him to express loyalty for a friend, an endearing and respected human quality. Although Inniss was charged and convicted of money laundering in the USA- the first local high ranking former politician to achieve such ignominy- he continues to enjoy some support among Barbadians. In a macabre way Hewitt the priest may be seen as supporting a son of the soil who has stumbled, the words of country and western singer the late Glen Campbell:

If you see your brother standing by the road

With a heavy load from the seeds he sowed

…just stop and say, you are going the wrong way

You have got to try a little kindness …

If President Verla De Peiza could borrow from Hewitt’s resume and modus operandi what a formidable opponent she would be perceived to be. To have the ability to inhale some of the oxygen from the political space being sucked in by her counterpart Mia Mottley is required now more than ever with the failure of the third party political movement to gain political traction in the aftermath of an unprecedented 30 to 0 shellacking in the 2018 general election.

Guy Hewitt has the opportunity to play a significant role in the rebuild of the DLP. It is difficult to see him being accepted by the DLP establishment party apparatus for the highest office in the party. Unlike a few of the opportunists who have jumped ship or become disinterested in DLP politics, Hewitt continues to fight the good fight. For believers miracles have been known to happen and Reverend Hewitt may have heard a repeat of the message whispered in his ears from the one above “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful with few things. I will put you in charge of many things”.

It may be wise for President De Peiza to find a way to hitch her wagon to Guy Hewitt’s rising star. He is one of those rare personalities who has crossover appeal in the land. She must find a way to overcome the negative perception caused by the delayed endorsement of her decision to run in St. Lucy by Denis Kellman. She will never be seen as a threat if unable to win a seat in parliament.

How can and will Reverend Guy assist a sister carrying a heavy load?

281 responses to “Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?”

1. David

This offering demonstrates thefailings, hard limitations yet permanence of duopoly politics in Bim.

We have long suggested that both sides of such a formation can only be gotten rid of simultaneously, circa 2018.

And to have “hope” in a feckless third party was always going to be a mere self delusion not dissimilar to religious deliefs. And with religious actors now front and centre the table is well set for duopoly to rule for ever.

There was a time when these men-of-the-cloth knew better than to re-establish the link between church and state, stemming from the socalled criminal Holy Roman Empire. But Jesus Christ man all bets are now off. Certainly, it is a misguidance to support or propagate the “tyranny of the religious zealots” as one writer so eloquently called this lot.

BTW, Inniss’s failings as judged by US courts are at the upper end of actions which in Barbados happen all the time but there are seem as fraud in the American system of injustice.

2. @Pacha

Good comment.

3. One must wonder if this is an attempt to manipulate people’s opinion and to sow division in the ranks of the DLP.

‘Big-up’ Hewitt and ‘downsize’ Verla.

Right thinking men and women can understand Denis Kellman’s reluctance to support her. Could it be possible she made the announcement without discussing it fully with him and that he had it in his mind to run in 2023?

The spinners will be out in force for 2023. One of the strategies will be to always cast Verla in a negative light.

Think for yourself.

4. David what purpose does this article serves
    Verla is the established leader until another Dlp election of officials says differently
    All the long talk an innuendo is not going change that
    What is observed in this article and it’s long string of words are intented actions trying to position Guy as the alternative
    Actions “well meaning” and intentional to cause strife and division in the DLP
    All I can say to those reading
    Buyer beware

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ et al
    It’s all about replacements. Who will replace Mia if needed; who will replace Verla ; who /what will replace the coral reefs; who / what will replace the current economic policy post COVID.
    We have real serious replacements to consider. Heaven forbid if something happens at BU who will replace David; what will replace the Common Entrance; who will replace Dale if he is fired; @ Pacha probably wondering who/what will replace Jesus;.
    And now@TheOGazerts wondering if this piece is well placed pro BLP propaganda and who / what will replace it.
    Yep; it’s all about replacements . I here wondering with no tourists coming who/ what will replace tourism to avoid the economy being anchored in a reefless coral ocean forever.
    Yes my people. Time to think about replacements !

6. Verla is merely a temporary placeholder. And everybody knows that. Has she been able to accomplish a single thing to convince anybody but a narrow group of yardfowls seeking to minmic the BLP wid a “female” leader that she is anything but out of her depth. Poor Verla!

7. Let the DLP replace her.
    BU is now a spinner’s paradise
    https://youtu.be/pxQxY5fZXQs

8. In all countries we have political pundits who offer opinions, share perspectives. Only on BU we have some who are of the view the blogmaster of BU cannot and should not share an opinion. The ignorance of it all is astounding.

#tough!

9. BU could any and everything writers want it to be at any moment in time.

10. Be

11. The coral reefs is a big story
    A story which tells how a clueless govt can easily underestimate how environmental issues on land sea or air can affect the economy
    Barbados today has a stellar editorial about the reefs and govt well meaning but out of it’s league in guidance

12. If Verla Depeiza were to be taken seriously she should have contested and won the recent by-election in saint george. Leading from the front, but no.

We never understood the political illogic of putting a man who loves power to possibly capture the only seat the party would of had and simultaneous pretending that you are president, party leader or whatever – leading from behind!

13. The country is in a shambles and Verla is not the PM
    Think about that
    Come next election govt win or Dlp party lose the big loser would be the country as all now see a clueless govt hell bent on driving people’s Constitutional rights into the ground
    Having no clue on how to rescue the economy after the bottom of the only bread basket falls to the ground
    My question of the day who will be paying for the damage coral reefs
    Ask Mia

14. Your dlp has no legitimacy on this matter. None at all.

For we’ve just had, from you, nearly 10 years of the most cowardice misleadership known to man.

15. On BU the lines between patriot, traitor and partisan are blurred.

I can recall when patriots attacked the DLP and partisans like ac were on the defense. One would think with the change in government and with roles reverse that the labels would change. They haven’t.

Former attackers are now defenders but still see themselves as patriots. AC stopped defending and now is in attack mode and is still seen as a partisan; and those in the diaspora who dare comment live somewhere between partisan and traitor.

Fortunately, we each have our own bag of labels.

16. Back to Guy Hewitt. What can he bring to the political landscape to assist the DLP party?

He brings a freshness and scholarly critique of the politics of the day. Will he help Verla or does it require a difference leadership that resonates.

17. Time Will Tell

If geezer is truly the truth and light then he got no place in politicks.
    What more can I say. Don’t hate the player hate the game.

What is his stance on the holy herb is the big issue in politics to quote prophet Bob I’m still waiting

(I’m still waiting;
    I’m still waiting;
    I’m still waiting for you,
    Why, oh why? Why, oh why?)

Turn lose
    (Wake up)
    Turn lose
    Turn lose
    For the rain is falling
    Got to have kaya now
    For the rain is falling
    I’m so high
    I even touch the sky

Jah would never give the power to a baldhead
    Run come crucify the dread
    Time alone, oh, time will tell
    Think you’re in heaven but you’re living in hell

18. @ David

BU is such an amazing forum. Articles described by DEMS as being critical of the DLP are viewed by them as ‘distractions from the real issues,’ ‘sowing the seeds of discord,’ attempts “to cause strife and division in the DLP.”
    And, we all know the BEES will wholeheartedly embrace any BU article that focuses on the DLP.

The roles of the respective party supporters would be reversed if, for example, the article was about someone who appeared to be challenging Mottley for leadership of the BLP. Surely some people wouldn’t see it as ‘causing strife and division in the BLP.’

Ironically, during the years prior to the 2008 general election, when the forum was dominated by DLP supporters who were given ‘free rein’ to express their views ……… you and BU were ‘the best thing since sliced bread’ and deemed to be the ‘beacon of democracy.’
    You offered your opinions then, as you do now. The only difference is, back then, the BEES called you a DEM, and BU, a forum controlled by the DLP……. a ‘spinner’s paradise.’
    Now, under similar political conditions, the DLP sympathizers are ‘saying’ your only role should be that of moderator and not to express an opinion; you’re being paid by the BLP; and suddenly there is the existence of ‘several Davids.’

Remember, BU has an archive that is easily accessible.

Anyhow, it seems as though Hewitt has been positioning himself for a long time and even more so after the DEMS lost the 2018 general elections.

And, so what if the article appears to ‘big up’ Guy and ‘downsize’ Verla? Other than her ‘few and far between soundbites,’ which could also be attributed to the resident ‘yard-fowl’ that is ‘spot on’ occasionally, what has Verla done to reassure confidence in the electorate to vote for her and the DEMS?

Read Barbados Today’s April 28, 2021 article entitled, “Hewitt: A friend in need,” in which it was reported he travelled to Brooklyn, New York to support and give Donville Inniss a ‘glowing’ character reference at his sentencing.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/04/28/hewitt-a-friend-in-need/

How about BT’s May 20, 2021 article entitled, ‘Hewitt’s reflections on Windrush Scandal’ that’s essentially ‘bigging him up?’

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/20/hewitts-reflections-on-windrush-scandal/

Hewitt also wrote a book entitled, “Fathering A Nation: Barbados And The Legacy Of Errol Walton.” So far, he has demonstrated his leadership skills and loyalty to Barbados, Barbadians and friends.

What has Verla done to rival the three examples I gave of Hewitt?

Interestingly, he was born in the UK, which may draw comments such as, ‘beware of converts’ or ‘he may want to do more than Barbadians born here.’

19. David
    A what? Is this not the same reverend that in the middle of December 2017 declared that he was in a quandary about who to vote for and shortly after the elections was appointed chair of QEH? The same reverend who was subsequently made HC to UK? Maybe he should tell B’dos about the QEH, the hiring of Dr.James and others and the procurement practices while he was chairman. Don’t be gaslighted or attempt to gaslight. What about Dr.Yearwood’s columns for “freshness”?.🤐

20. David

BTW is this ac the same as the ac-dc from before. AC reborn!

21. Artax
    All those Hewitt articles and ALL the ‘positive’ ones about Donville post his arrest are written by the same individual. Y’all stand dey!🤫

22. @enuff

What is your point?

@Pacha

The blogmaster has walked this road alone many times. Political partisans must be seen for what they are…

23. “Only on BU we have some who are of the view the blogmaster of BU cannot and should not share an opinion.”

Hey scavengers, hey scavengers
    Hey vampires out there
    Hey scavengers, hey scavengers
    Hey vampires out there

Rats invade the corn field (corn field)
    Eating up the sufferers’ meal
    (Sufferers’ meal)
    Every day they gnaw the same song
    (Same song, same song)
    Every day they cut another version
    (Version, version)

East west north, east west south
    The world is roundabout
    East west north, east west south
    People keep squeaking out
    (Squeaking, squeaking)

Every man have his own opinion
    (Stoo stoobi doo-oo)
    Everyone want to reign dominion
    (Stoo stoobi doo-oo)
    But Jah Jah set a super trap
    (Super trap, super trap)
    To catch all you bionic rats
    (Stoo stoobi doo-oo)

They must get a beating
    They must get a blow
    They must get wounded
    (Stoo stoobi doo-oo)

They must get a beating
    They must get a blow
    They must get wounded
    (Stoo stoobi doo-oo)

Jah-wah-wah-wah

If you can’t beat the man
    You cannot beat the world
    For Jah Jah word is like
    A two edged sword (edged sword)

Singers and players will be there
    (Gathering, gathering)
    Heathen and vampires, beware
    (Stoo stoobi doo-oo)

Judas and Barnabas, sons of Lucifer
    (Satan, Satan)
    You shall go down in the Valley of Jehoshaphat
    (Bottomless pit)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9onyR34yOSE

24. Enuff

Are you saying that wade gibbons is a dlp actor engaged in propaganda on barbados today? Lol

25. @7:17
    Good line, length and a little pace.
    Will wait for AC turn at bowling.

Very good defense of the blogmaster but he has gone beyond expressing an opinion; in ‘dogma’ territory.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I here wondering with no tourists coming who/ what will replace tourism to avoid the economy being anchored in a reefless coral ocean forever.”

and the only ones to blame are the two STUPID GOVERNMENTS who thought the definition of the word diversify was to DEPEND even heavier on tourism…and NOTHING ELSE…….while FALSELY claiming to be the most educated in the Caribbean if not the world, yet no one other Caribbean island is faced with that problem devastating slide into abject poverty, problem..

too CORRUPT…..shall be the cry.

27. Bajans think they are playing cricket when engaging in politics and/or blogging when they should be practising Tai Chi and Kung Fu to do better and higher Kicks balancing one one leg imho

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYHNbaf-Nq4

28. ‘Bajans think they are playing cricket when engaging in politics and)or blogging.”

No game.

Cricket is part of our blood and a part of a language. Serious thoughts/opinions are conveyed using cricketing terms as metaphors.

Got to go and google metaphors… remembered that from somewhere.

29. Cricket is for subjugated Colonial Lackeys Yard Fowls Slave Minded Children of Slaves and Slave Masters old bean

30. Dub the Rhythm

Speaking of chatting trash using bollocks as metaphors..

In Tai Chi Kung Fu terms Barbados is shifting all it’s weight onto it’s BLP leg and has no weight on it’s empty DLP leg and it’s incumbent Parliament is a one armed boxer with no DLP arm. Opposition have been emasculated and castrated by a woman.

One Armed Boxer Jam #1

31. @555
    You puzzle me. The cricket comments forced me to ask…
    Male/female
    Black/Other
    Bajan by birth or by association

But a non-response is as good as a response

32. Dompey was a poor Hal
    Am a good substitute for Dompey??
    You don’t have to tell me HAGD

33. If some of you do not have anything of value to contribute to the topic why do so?

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ et al
    What puzzles me is the role played by those public servants at the Coastal Unit.
    When the administration decided to allow so many huge ships/tourist liners to dock in our waters should they or did they advise the administration that it would have been destructive to the coral reef.
    I seriously believe that the public needs to know.

35. Nah…… I wouldn’t defend the blogmaster……. he is quite capable of defending himself.

Anyone, even Courtney Walsh, would eagarly await AC’s turn at bowling…….. it has been proven to be very weak. Reminds me of when Boycott used to call Carl Hooper’s deliveries ‘lollipops.’ She may get a one or two wickets. But, with figures of 15 overs, no maidens, 2 wickets, 165 runs, is not something worth writing home about.

36. I attack govt policies that are grossly unfair to people and which disregard the environment
    This govt when in the wilderness for ten years swore on heaven to make things better
    Govt bought garbage trucks which can only serve purpose to clean the streets but cannot dispose of the garbage in a feasible way that would not affect the environment
    The land fills are already filled to capacity
    So now govt pursue another avenue while the pressure of the capacity of the landfills is not handle
    The same with the sewage problem
    Yes if u please govt pumps the sewage in the ocean after a promise of resolved
    So how is it possible not for me or any right thinking barbadian not to openly express concerns about this worsening situation
    We have a PM who goes on international media and sits amongst world leaders engaging with focus on the environment but takes a piece meal approach about the environment
    The people eyes remain wide shut on these issues
    Some one has to speak out even if the task of doing so falls in the lap of a few
    Hence what some might see as an attack is leveled on concerns

37. If I was AC/Hal/Dompey (which I am not) I would place $1 on a long shot bet on DLP winning next GE..

@TheO
    Play the Ball
    That’s The Way
    Jah Jah Planned It
    + Dub Version

Regarding your psychometric questionaire test quiz
    Male/female
    M
    Black/Other
    O
    Bajan by birth or by association
    N

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“should they or did they advise the administration that it would have been destructive to the coral reef.”

the Black lawyers in the bar association don’t want to open their mouths about the human rights abuses AGAINST the Black population on the island because they might lose their imaginary “pick” and that’s supposed to be an independent body of mostly crooks…..but the bits and pieces dropping off the corruption table has to be caught…..can’t let that pass just because rights being violated.

…so do you see a pack of yardfowl/slaves who begged some politician for a job or are related to them or whatever the relationship KNOWING the reefs will be damaged beyond repair opening their mouths to say anything…never going to happen….they don’t plan to miss another paycheck until there are NO MORE checks left.

39. I hate Cricket more than Politics but here is a good Cricket Link
    Try it Yourself »

40. We have a UPP sighting.

41. David BU good article do not mind the dems on here.Once the spotlight falls on them and not Ms Mottley and tjr Bees they will talk utter nomsence about distractions spin bowling and who goimg to replace everybody and everyhing in Barbados.This is their way of saying do not speak of the dems because they arr mot in power.However they are the real opposition and they have to also br in the spotlight.To the topic at hand i believe that Rev Hewitt would be a far better leader than the political nightwatchman would ever be.I do not see her winning any seat in 2023 and for their sake i hope they embrace Rev Hewitt once he is interested.However that is their problem to face.

42. David said, It is difficult to see him being accepted by the DLP establishment party apparatus for the highest office in the party.

THAT is the problem. They are looking back, instead of forward. While MIA looks forward.

Game, Set, Match.

As for Verla De Peiza, Guy Hewitt, both will have challengers.

Donville is still on the cards. Michael Lashley is still on the cards.

Have any of them publicly retired from politics?

43. Less than 6 months to go before Barbados becomes a republic.

44. Would be coming a republic stomp out or put an end to
    Crime and violence
    Price gouging
    Govt empty promises

IMHO unless these problems are resolved the republic only sets a formidable stage for Mia to make history

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

and given all the multiple versions a Republic can be, I did expect a lot more discussion on what it will be, than has been seen thus far.

46. Pachamama
    Not me!🤣🤣

47. NorthernObserverMay 22, 2021 12:07 PM

No doubt that there should have been much more discussion and explanation. Not necessarily for / against, but on the trajectory that it takes the country.

The joke is that the blog opposition has been preoccupied with nonsense and missed the opportunity on this.

Just shows how incompetent they are. And they want their do-nothing-in-ten-years party back in power.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“and given all the multiple versions a Republic can be, I did expect a lot more discussion on what it will be, than has been seen thus far.”

am sure it’s a big secret, a bigger surprise waiting for yall…and seeing how they hyped it up, they surely can’t turn back now..

49. Did Wade Gibbons write this piece?

50. You’re Gonna Lose
    Charge Dem
    Dem Wicked
    Politics is a dutty Business and Dem politicians are always looking for their pocket. The Latin phrase quid pro quo means making a certain kind of deal: you do this for me, and I’ll do that for you. Ever hear the expression, “You scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours”? … Quid pro quo definitely has a shady feel, but it just means making a deal that trades one thing for another. If you chuck some monies into my overseas AC I will stamp your Government Contract so it is fast tracked for approval, no questions asked Capiche. We a Mafia. But, if the Dem Dibi Dibi Soundbwoy and Soundgal wants to challenge the champion sound they will be charged and must get a sentence when the crowd pass their verdict

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKY5O-57esg