Submitted by Tee White

What does CARPHA mean by saying it’s not the same version?

Are they now saying that AstraZeneca have different versions of their vaccine?

How is the version being used in the Caribbean different from the one being halted in Europe and other parts of the world?

Why were the people of the Caribbean not told that the vaccine to be used in the Caribbean would be a different version from the one being used in Europe?

More questions than answers.

Update from the Caribbean Public Health Agency on COVID-19 Vaccines and Variants

Joseph Charles | 3/13/2021 7:14:00 PM | (0) Comments | (471) View Count | Return

The Caribbean Public Health Agency is aware that some countries in the European Union have suspended their AstraZeneca vaccination campaign, as a result of reports of rare blood coagulation disorders in people who had received the vaccine.   This was done as a precautionary measure while a full investigation is conducted into the reports.  At present, it cannot be determined whether there is a link between the vaccine and the disorders. 

Adverse reactions that happen following immunisation with any vaccine need to be fully investigated to rule out various factors, for example concomitant illnesses, progression of a disease, and batch assessment, before a final decision is made by the health authorities. 

It must be noted that the vaccine being used in the Caribbean is not the same version or batch as the one in Europe. 

Read full text of the articleUpdate from the Caribbean Public Health Agency on COVID-19 Vaccines and Variants

137 responses to “CARPHA says AstraZeneca vaccine in Caribbean Different from Batch in Europe”

1. Well we”re taking the second Pfizer vaccine this day. Full disclosure. For Pfizer has a vast criminal history as well.

But the notion that Astrazenica’s for the Caribbean is any different than the European one is laughable.

This is why none of these companies should be trusted.

We would proffer that this announcement was made so as not to dissuade any guinea pigs. Even as they remain unsure about causation and correlation of the incidences of blood clots.

2. Snake in ya Rass Avatar
    Snake in ya Rass

Of course it is. It was engineered strictly for Caribbean people so it must be different. So all the time they were busy trying to get the efficacy rate close to 100% and ensuring that it got approval from regulatory agencies for distribution, they were busy producing the Caribbean version for approval by Caribbean regulatory agencies in a difference place then that of the vaccine for European use. Yup I got it.

3. @Pacha

It seems from googling the vaccine for the Caribbean was made by Serum Institute based in India. That company is considered the pharmacy for the world. From all report it supplies more that 50% of vaccines for world market. It will be interesting to hear the explanation from Joy St. John who heads CARPHA and the local CMO.

4. The following making its way about social media. Head of CARPHA.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2021/03/joy-st.-john-carpha.mp4

5. The blogmaster agrees with BAMP, it is the only way to robustly test the positivity rate.

Doctors feel wider testing will give more accurate picture of country’s COVID-19 status
    Kareem Smith
    Article by
    Kareem Smith
    Published on
    March 16, 2021

The Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) is not yet convinced that public health officials have done enough to gain an accurate representation of the country’s COVID-19 situation, even as hundreds of Barbadians return to work this week.

The organization on Monday expressed particular disappointment with the low number of daily tests being conducted during a critical six-week period that included strict lockdowns that were implemented to curb the spread of the virus.

Public Relations Officer (PRO) Dr. Russell Broome-Webster revealed that with at least five active COVID-19 hotspots and community transmission still a factor, the next two to four weeks would be critical.

Over the last two weeks, COVID-19 positivity rates have largely fallen below the benchmark of five per cent. However, the number of tests conducted ranged from as many as 742 to as few as 237 daily, which, according to BAMP should now be in the region of 1,000 to 2,000.

“Ultimately, it just feels like we couldn’t get testing levels where we wanted them to be and on this occasion, if you compare it to last year… obviously, we didn’t have as much infection roaming around and it just feels like we had some unfinished business,” Dr. Broome-Webster told Barbados TODAY.

“I heard the Government promised comprehensive testing in communities but yet we are still seeing relatively low numbers on a day-to-day basis which is something I believe the Ministry of Health and Wellness is aware of and trying to improve. But we need to get those numbers up so that we can really see what is happening in our communities,” the physician explained.

In addition to ramped up testing in communities, the BAMP spokesman is calling for more routine testing among frontline workers and those currently returning to their jobs.

“In the healthcare facilities, in the nursing homes and various areas and in media houses like Barbados TODAY, you would expect persons to want to be tested from time to time just to make sure that you are okay. This all adds to the numbers and gives us a much more informed view.

“We want to maximize the resources that we have to test widely and that is within the capacity of the lab and we certainly know right now that we are testing well below the capacity of the lab. The specific numbers are hard to nail down because…I’m not sure that that has been translated in firm terms to anyone, so I can just speak to the past and I know at one point we reported on 2700 tests in a day, so that means you could probably approach somewhere between 1,000 and 2,000 tests a day,” Dr. Broomes-Webster contended.

He added that these targets will be much more important when tourists return so that further testing can be conducted.

Despite the challenges with testing, BAMP has commended Government for the COVID-19 vaccine campaign that has covered more than 52,000 people.

While Dr. Broome-Webster admits that more in-depth metrics like the number of “excess deaths” and “mortality rates” would assist the fight, he is also heartened by promises of genomic sequencing here to identify COVID-19 variants.

He further acknowledged the need to balance epidemiology with the country’s economic situation, but added that constant and in-depth surveillance would be critical.

“We need to monitor the re-opening situation closely and the best way to do that is what we have advocated from the beginning, which is to do as much testing as possible, contact tracing and isolation,” the physician concluded.
    (kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb)

6. https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

7. https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

8. Mean while up North

Canada will change its guidelines on the AstraZeneca-Oxford COVID-19 vaccine and recommend it be given to those over age 65, according to documents obtained by CBC News and sources with direct knowledge of the guidelines

https://www.cbc.ca/news/health/astrazeneca-vaccine-canada-covid-19-1.5950580

9. David

It is unlikely that the manufacturer in India which is merely a production site would be tampering in this way with a licensed product. A product with patent protection. This would not seem likely at all, especially considering the liability issues involved.

10. Pacha,

I think the point is not the design of the vaccine, but the production capability and standard.

That the Serum Institute has known and assured capability in production capability is the point.

11. March 14, 2021

What does it mean for India?

The Indian version of Oxford-AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine is known as Covishield. Serum Institute of India, the world’s largest vaccine manufacturer by volume, joined hands with AstraZeneca to produce 1 billion doses of its COVID-19 vaccine. Several countries have ordered the vaccine from SII.

Following the suspension of the vaccine by several countries, the central government has decided to conduct a deeper review of post-vaccination side-effects from the Oxford-AstraZeneca coronavirus vaccine, as per a news report by AFP on Saturday.

“We are looking at all the adverse events, particularly serious adverse events like deaths and hospitalisation. We will come back if we find anything of concern,” N.K. Arora, a member of India’s national task force on COVID-19 told AFP.

of concern as the number of adverse events (in India) is very, very low. We are relooking at (adverse events that were reported) to see if there is any issue of blood clotting.”
    “As of yesterday there were 59 or 60 deaths, and they were all coincidental,” the doctor said, according to AFP.

“In fact there is a real effort from our side that once the complete investigation is done, to put its results in the public domain, on the ministry of health website,” Arora also told AFP.
    Till now, India has reported 0.020% of Adverse Event Following Immunisation (AEFI), or side-effects, and 0.00025% hospitalisation. The vaccine hasn’t been linked to any deaths in India.
    As the world’s largest COVID-19 vaccination drive is underway in the country, India has nearly administered three crore cumulative vaccination doses with a total of 2,97,38,409 through 5,10,400 sessions, as per the provisional report till 7 am on Sunday.

According to the health ministry, a total of 2,91,92,547 vaccine doses has been given as per the provisional report till 7 pm today.

12. @Crusoe

Our version of the AstraZeneca re Coversheild maybe better LOL.

13. Crusoe

In all production units there are small variabilities. This however is not the claim being made. The claim is that the batch sent to the Caribbean is unlikely to be associated with clots, like. the European one is said to be.

India has been the drugs factory of the world for decades. And while there are many unscrupulous actors in the business we would have assumed that a large company like Astrazeneca. would avoid such.

14. […] CARPHA says AstraZeneca vaccine in Caribbean different from batch in Europe [https://barbadosunderground.net/2021/03/16/carpha-says-astrazeneca-vaccine-in-caribbean-different-fr…] […]

15. The European Union’s medicines regulator has reiterated there is no indication that the Oxford-AstraZeneca Covid vaccine causes blood clots, after several countries paused their rollouts.
    Source: BBC

Coronavirus latest news: ‘No indication’ AstraZeneca vaccine causes blood clots, says European Medical Agency-
    Source: The Telegraph

The [Canadian] National Advisory Committee on Immunization says there is now enough “real-world evidence” to show the Oxford-AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine is both safe and effective for seniors.
    Source: Toronto Star

Domestically, [that is in the USA] the AstraZeneca vaccine is still undergoing phase-three clinical trials and has therefore not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, but the New York Times reported Friday [12th March] that the federal government has purchased roughly 30 million doses that are being packaged in an Ohio facility.

16. @Pacha

That is not what was stated. There is a suggestion the two vaccines are different, that is all. On that conclusion regional authorities have continued with inoculation until the WHO investigates and clarify.

17. Critical Analyzer Avatar

They mean the batch those countries got is not the same batch that came to the Caribbean. Just like how you might have a product recall of a particular manufactured batch or lot no. because some ingredient used in the making of it was contaminated or maybe it was not properly stored.

Investigations will determine if it is the particular batch or if it is a larger problem with the overall vaccine recipe now coming to light. Barbados and the Caribbean will most likely increase their vigilance to see if that problem happens here but they will not stop the rollout until they know more.

18. @CA

The implication being that it may point to a production issue?

19. “Are they now saying that AstraZeneca have different versions of their vaccine?”

we knew from the get go that there are several versions.

“Mar 10, 2021 · L.A. County’s COVID-19 vaccine supply is expected to tighten just as more people become eligible, because of a shortage of Johnson & Johnson shots.”

“The Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccine is a single-dose shot and does not require extreme cold storage, which means it can be more easily shipped, stored and administered — factors that will help ..”

“President Biden on Wednesday is expected to order 100 million more COVID-19 vaccine doses from Johnson & Johnson, just weeks after the one dose vaccine received its Emergency Use Authorization’ …

everybody got a version going, there are probably 13 or so floating around…that’s why most were warned to hold up until they are sure the kinks are mostly ironed out…before rushing to get the jab.

20. What a mess???

UK To Receive 10 Million AstraZeneca Covid Vaccine Doses From India: Report
    “The UK has ordered 100 million doses of AstraZeneca’s COVID-19 vaccine, of which 10 million doses will come from the Serum Institute of India,” a UK government spokesperson told Reuters..

21. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David March 16, 2021 10:27 AM

It very well might be a manufacturing issue considering it is now showing up in particular countries, could also be a result of better monitoring and more publicity or could also be as a result of those persons in those countries having already been exposed to the virus before or while getting the vaccine causing some reaction.

That is why I keep saying this mass vaccination is dangerous because there are no long term studies to look back at if unpredictable things happen.

22. A top vaccine scientist/virologist from Belgium who has worked in senior positions for Bill Gates’ GAVI and other pro-vaccine companies and organizations, Geert Vanden Bosche PhD, has published an open letter to the WHO and all scientists and citizens of the world. The letter calls for an immediate stop to the Covid-19 vaccine campaign worldwide. He says the present vaccines are suitable to use as prophylactic vaccines before an outbreak occurs, but it will turn out to be a very big mistake to use them during the ongoing worldwide pandemic, as the vaccines will enable the Sars-Cov-2 virus to mutate and become more infectious and/or virulent at a much more rapid rate than would otherwise be the case.

<strongVirologist: ‘We Are Going to Pay Huge Price’ for COVID Mass Vaccination Campaign
    In an open letter to WHO and in a follow-up video interview, Dr. Geert Vanden Bossche, says that by vaccinating everyone with a vaccine that doesn’t prevent transmission, we are destroying people’s immune systems, and setting the stage for a global health disaster.

By
    Children’s Health Defense Team

Geert Vanden Bossche, DMV, Ph.D., has nothing against vaccines. In fact, the independent virologist formerly worked for Gavi, The Vaccine Alliance and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Bossche says the COVID vaccines approved so far have been developed by “just brilliant” people and he has no criticism of them But, as he tells Dr. Phillip McMillan in an interview, “please use the right vaccine at the right place. And don’t use it in the heat of a pandemic on millions of millions of people.”

Bossche says that a mass vaccination campaign in the middle of a pandemic, with vaccines that don’t prevent transmission, is disastrous at an individual — and at a global — level:

“We are going to pay a huge price for this. And I’m becoming emotional because I’m thinking of my children, of the younger generation. I mean, it’s just impossible what we are doing. We don’t understand the pandemic.”

In an open letter to the World Health Organization (WHO), Bossche wrote that “we are currently turning vaccinees into asymptomatic carriers shedding infectious variants.”

Bossche hasn’t heard back from WHO, which concerns him.

“It is about humanity … I mean, it’s about your children. It’s your family. It’s my family. It’s everyone. Right. And it’s simply for me, I put everything at stake because I’ve done my homework. And this is simply a moral obligation. A moral obligation.”

More: https://childrenshealthdefense.org/defender/virologist-huge-price-covid-mass-vaccination/

Another video commenting on the Vanden Bosche open letter to WHO: brighteon(DOT)com/8721f7c3-bb35-4825-9d4d-42089c912f87

A link to Vanden Bosche’s open letter to the WHO here:
    theautomaticearth(DOT)com/2021/03/mass-vaccination-amidst-a-pandemic-creates-an-irrepressible-monster/

23. @CA

Could be you are correct. Having issued over 52k vaccines The CMO should have been able to confirm deaths from blood clots since the start of the immunization program.

24. @ Tony

The UK has a population of about 65m, so vaccines for that population would be 65×2 = 130m. But it is good medical procurement in a crisis to order drugs from all the producers. It is precautionary.
    Canada has ordered vaccines fore five times its population. They all do. The Johnson & Johnson drug is a one jab drug. Yet is being over ordered.
    There is a bigger issue which we have not discussed on BU yet: why is it the developed countries are hoarding the drug while others are without.
    This tells us something about geopolitical ethics.

25. David
    There seems to be a problem understanding the underlying issue here.

This thread seems inconsistent with what the mainstream media are saying. And we know they are mouthpieces for big-pharma

Say it aint so!

26. This is a good read. Things are not in black and white as some would suggest.
    https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-00450-z

27. Greenie

What are the alternatives. Remain in lockdown forever?

We ‘ve already been indoors for a whole year.

28. Well barbados govt. bought the Indian version , which the people of Imdia do not trust taking this vaccine. A cnn report also states that many Indians were getting sick and dying and the Indian government were hiding evrying from the public.

29. As an Indian born in India I watch Indian news and may indians are not asking this vaccine because they don’t trust the Modi Govt.

30. Oh what a tangled web we weave when we practice to deceive
    But then again people still believe that man landed on the moon
    A child once asked how come no man landed on the moon since those lo many years

31. Blame Mia.

32. “Blame Mia”

That’s what big broad shoulders are for as the head of any Government.

33. Wow 😳?

34. @Abdul March 16, 2021 12:49 PM “As an Indian born in India I watch Indian news and may [many] indians are not asking [taking] this vaccine because they don’t trust the Modi Govt.”

India has a population of 1,352,642,280, so how many of that number constitutes “many”?

We know that Modi is Hindu, and that some people who are not Hindu may have issues with him? But since about 80% of India’s population is Hindu presumably a lot of that 80% [not I did not say all] voted for the Modi government and have no issues with the Modi government.

35. GreenMonkeyMarch 16, 2021 11:45 AM

Albeit I am of no such claim to fame as your reference, note that his assertion is contrary to the latest assessment from Oxford Uni and Scottish health services i.e. that the vaccines actually do reduce transmission by as much as two thirds. This basically (mostly) renders his position moot (considering the whole problem in social and economic terms). There are a few other factors that I will not go into, which make his concern valid, but that is the biggest.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/study-finds-covid19-vaccine-may-reduce-virus-transmission-transmission-astrazeneca-anthony-fauci-covid19-vaccine-b1797203.html

That said, even if we took his position as the law, what the heck are we supposed to do? Critical care units are overflowing, countries locked down, what more do we want to say that we need to vaccinate?

Ideally, we need to vaccinate everybody and yesterday. But what we have is a dire situation. You really want to wait for community natural (herd) immunity, that in itself will not guarantee against and may actually encourage mutations due to the time taken for it to spread and those in whom it may mutate (allegedly immune compromised individuals) to get it?

Humbly I suggest that approach will also be disastrous.

Needless to say, the only thing that anyone of us can say with certainty at this time, is that we are up the creek with a piece of board for a paddle and hope that it does not break.

But, take it one step further, if what he says is true, is he saying that the mutations will be even worse?? May the Almighty help us if so.

However, what I cannot reconcile is that the alternative of mutations from allowing the virus to run rampant is any better.

36. @GP March 16, 2021 2:10 PM

The correct question is:

“Can you GP get it up?”

37. @Tony March 16, 2021 2:19 PM “Wow 😳?”

Don’t mind GP.

He is a right leaning misogynistic christian fundamentalist trumpist, who seems to think that every woman except his dead mother, and submissive second wife is a whore.

Of course we don’t know hether GP laid down, bent over. or knelt down to get up.

So you need not take him on.

38. “A child once asked how come no man landed on the moon since those lo many years”

I admire those who persevere and try to bring balance to the discussion, but it statements like the one above that makes it difficult to believe that some discussants are not just throwing stuff on the wall.
    Spot on .. not

39. Bajans are the most risk averse people on earth.

And if anybody takes a calculated risk and anything goes wrong idiots like GP will have nuff to say.

Oh jesus christos, nothing that Mugabe has done is as foolish or risky as sitting down praying and hoping that the sky will open for the elect to be elevated.

40. @TonyMarch 16, 2021 9:19 AM

It is imperative that our Supreme Leader and General Bosstic now keep their correct course!

Astrazeneca is just as harmless as the other vaccines. I personally know many people who are fine after vaccination. What we are experiencing in the EU is a mass psychosis. If the EU Commission told its citizens today that Pfizer-Biontech causes erectile dysfunction, half of Europe would be limping along tomorrow. It’s called homeopathy or “faith moves mountains”.

Thanks again for the great vaccination campaign! We are a small island, but at the same time our Supreme Leader and her team are vaccinating like divine titans.

41. I WONDER WHY NASTY THINGS CAN BE SAID ABOUT ME HERE
    BUT I CANT RESPOND BY TELLING THE STRAIGHTFORWARD TRUTH
    I ALWAYS TELL THE TRUTH IN PUBLIC BECAUSE I KNOW WHAT I HAVE TO SAY CAN NOT BE REFUTED WHEN I JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

42. Why don’t we hear about bad collateral effects of AZ in Barbados? Quite simple. Our population is not as sick, decadent and whiny as the whites in the European Union.

We should take our inspiration from the UK and not from the deadbeats on the continent.

Thank you for all the vaccinations, dear Mia!

43. End of an era…what an actor.

https://www.nydailynews.com/snyde/ny-yaphet-kotto-dead-81-alien-20210316-ks43ee4v4bbnvl7osq4zg7sfau-story.html#nt=pf-single%20chain~new-left-chain~flex%20feature~curated~kotto-913a~KS43EE4V4BBNVL7OSQ4ZG7SFAU~1~1~2~5~art%20yes

“Yaphet Kotto, whose decades-long acting career included a memorable turn as a James Bond villain and prominent roles alongside Arnold Schwarzenegger and Robert De Niro, has died.”

44. Never a good sign when they start talking this crap. They still won’t learn that they put nothing on our earth and have no say on what will stay or go.

“DOOMSDAY vault on the MOON?

Scientists want to build an underground lunar network to store millions of seed, sperm and egg samples from Earth.

Engineers propose using an ark of sorts to house the planet’s genetic “doomsday” backup under the moon’s surface.

A similar vault already exists on Earth on a remote island in Svalbard, an archipelago located between Norway and the North Pole.”

45. The blogmaster agrees with BAMP, it is the only way to robustly test the positivity rate.
    IS THIS MONKEY HANDLING MUSKET? ON WHAT BASIS AND INFORMATION DID YOU USE TO REASON OUT SUCH AN ANSWER

Doctors feel wider testing will give more accurate picture of country’s COVID-19 status
    DO YOU KNOW HOW ACCURATE PCR TESTS THAT ARE BEING USED ARE

TEACH ME ABOUT PCR . GIVE ME A BIT OF MIRTH HERE

I HAVE FOUND THAT WHEN WITH A SMILE AND A SUPERIOR WIT AND INTELLECT ONE RESPONDS TO THE NASTINESS THROWN AT ME PEOPLE GET OFFENDED AT MY RESPONSE

BUT I ALWAYS ENSURE THAT I SPEAK THE TRUTH LOL MURDAH

JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

JUST MEK SURE THAT YOU IN THE CLUB AND THE RIGHT CLIQUE

46. TRON YOUR IDOLOATRY IS SICKENING AND PUTRID
    GO AND READ PSALM 115 DO

47. WHY DOES THE TRUTH OFFEND SO? LOL

48. RE as sitting down praying and hoping that the sky will open for the elect to be elevated.

DUMMY, NOT ONLY WILL THEY BE ELEVATED AS CLEARLY TUGHT IN 1THES 4: 14-18 ETC, BUT THEY HAVE ALREADY BEEN ELEVATED AND “MADE TO SIT IN HEAVENLY PLCES WITH CHRISTJESUS” AS TAUGHT IN EPHESINS 2:8