If the late great Gladston Holder were alive he would take the opportunity to remind us that it does not matter who is elected to the White House, it the wealthiest families in the USA where the power is located- the Vanderbilts, Rockefellers et al. That said many will agree party colours aside, Trump’s legacy will be remembered as being one of the most bigoted and divisive.
Let it be no secret this blogmaster cannot wait to see the back of the man. He has disgraced the office of president of the USA and by extension the human race.
Discuss for 2 marks.

3,917 responses to “2020 US Presidential Election”
https://apnews.com/article/congress-count-electoral-college-vote-5605532631a251ac8f902d1d1ca55428
Simple majority vote!! Not what Dirty John said at all!!
@ Donna December 17, 2020 5:25 PM
Thanks for posting an informative article, with simple explanations.
Artax,
Sometimes you just have to deal with the lies.
No point trying to explain.
Meanwhile Christmas and then Epiphany approach.
John go and drink a rum or eat a slice a ham.
UH OH
https://www.cnn.com/2020/12/17/politics/trump-silence-cyber-hack/index.html
Run out of lies, have you?
UH OH
Anyone know if this true?
Uh oh!!
@Sargeant December 17, 2020 10:16 PM “UH OH.”
Glad that Christie has finally seen the light.
Maybe one of these days our John will also see the light.
@John December 18, 2020 12:05 AM
Absolutely accurate and brilliant explanation of the US election situation and all the options on the table in a succinct presentation.
You can’t help but marvel at the foresight of the writers of the US Constitution way back when to put such a balanced structure with contingencies in place. No wonder the US is the poster child for democracy.
If we in Barbados are serious about going this Republic route, we should be having proper conversations and years of consultations to craft something proper that attempts to fix the problems and failures of our current system.
@Cuhdear Bajan December 18, 2020 1:04 AM
“Maybe one of these days our John will also see the light.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Our own BU ‘Johnny’ Knox will never admit to being on the wrong side of history, again.
The same way he will never admit that black slaves were not freed through any religious impact by the slave owning Quakers (who, according to the gospel of our Johnny, saved them from Arabic conquest) but through the moral integrity of some hard-working white-skin people along with the technological changes which forced Capitalism to realize that it was less costly (more profitable) to employ landless cheap labour still tied to the plantations than to carry black slaves as ‘liabilities’ on the books.
@Critical Analyzer
What are you talking about , we are proposing to go the route of a ceremonial republic is this not correct?
Has the PM said anything other than superficial comments without substantial declarations on the form they are definitely going for?
A ceremonial republic is a big joke. All it means is we say President instead of Governor General and waste money to select a figurehead, rubber-stamping president.
What I am talking about is if Barbados really wants to go republic, form a proper republic with a president that has real power, re-examine our entire constitution and make amendments to better protect our citizens and correct its current failings. Here re some examples as food for thought.
– All budgets must be balanced or run a surpass, no deficits
– Fixed Date MP elections
– Constituency MP recall with petition signed by a certain percentage of the constituency members.
@ Critical AnalyzerDecember 18, 2020 11:19 AM
“A ceremonial republic is a big joke. All it means is we say President instead of Governor General and waste money to select a figurehead, rubber-stamping president.
What I am talking about is if Barbados really wants to go republic, form a proper republic with a president that has real power, re-examine our entire constitution and make amendments to better protect our citizens and correct its current failings. Here re some examples as food for thought.
– All budgets must be balanced or run a surpass, no deficits
– Fixed Date MP elections
– Constituency MP recall with petition signed by a certain percentage of the constituency members.”
CA, you are on to something big here.
Moving from the current monarchical setup to another rubberstamping republic in red clothing is like exchanging Tweedle Bee (BLP) for Tweedle Dem (DLP).
Why undergo such a massively costly re-branding exercise when the products and services continue to be the same and to perform under par?
Does the current administration appreciate what is involved in overturning centuries of history?
Not just an Act in Parliament but a whole program(me) of implementation starting with the use of ‘calling’ some people “Sirs” and Ladies” and “QCs”.
Neither would the adjective ‘Royal’ nor its regal paraphernalia like crowns and colours be allowed to describe or be used in reference to those Institutions funded from the Public Purse.
How about starting with a ‘Committee’ tasked with the responsibility of ‘redrafting’ and modernizing the Bajan Constitution which- in its current dispensation- does not recognize every citizen and resident as equals under the Sun of the Republic of mankind.
David, further to ur point in all of the debates and papers of ideal governance structure is there a defining and truly substantive difference between an all powerful PRIME Minister and the executive President … beyond the fact that the electoral process to elect for those roles is determined by a vote for a party team in the first instance and for THE individual as the leader of a party in the second!
And there is also the obvious circumstance that the President’s tenure is a function specific to him/her whereas a PM can be ‘removed’ from office and replaced by his elected party colleagues .
But for all practical purposes is there a difference!
The Presideng in the US scenario was installed as a non-King who yet had authoritative individual power circumscribed by the other elected bodies.
This palaver that the engines of governance are any more transparent, purposeful or indicative of operational excellence vis westminister primisterial best practices is NOT supported by any credible evidence over these many years.
They have both failed miserably often and any good PM can give a good President an equivalent tit for tat.
Funny thing is that there is NO WAY in my view this POTUS could have governed and fabricated and be as divisive as he was and remain in power… so really not seeing the upside of an executive president vis a PM.
No system is perfect because the people are not perfect. The quest for a foolproof system is a futile one.
Look at the much touted system in the USA!
The fools have broken it!
Biden or no, America is in serious trouble.
Emotionally America has moved on. Not even the late night comedians can muster the enthusiasm to properly deliver a Trump joke anymore and still CA and John Knox cling to false hope and looney narratives.
When the late night comedians’ Trump jokes fall flat, you know he is yesterday’s news.
@Critical Analyzer
Your opinion to which you are entitled.
If Trump does impose Martial Law I think he will do it just before the Georgia run offs.
@John December 18, 2020 6:15 PM
The contents of the DNI’s foreign election interference report due on Trump’s desk today and required as part of Trump’s 2018 executive order will determine his Martial Law options and the level of support for it by the public. Ideally I would like to see the military move in and do a manual verification and count of all the ballots to settle the whole affair once and for all.
So many pieces will be in play between now and Jan 6th that I tuning out until the new year.
I enjoy the twists and turns.
Cuhdear BajanDecember 18, 2020 1:04 AM
@Sargeant December 17, 2020 10:16 PM “UH OH.”
Glad that Christie has finally seen the light.
Maybe one of these days our John will also see the light.
I see Macron has the COVID pretty bad.
Didn’t he wear a mask?
Besides the Ferrol I get alot of Vitamin D as I am in the sun alot and burnt bronze.
I also hang up my mask on my rear view mirror so I don’t forget it.
I realize now that might be a stroke of genius as the UV rays from the sun will also disinfect it.
Macron is probably driven all over by a dedicated chauffer and never takes off his mask or hangs it up on his rear view mirror.
Could be the mask that made him so sick.
D – 19 and counting.
Could someone please tell me what conditions have to exist for Trump to impose martial law? Do people think it is done on a whim? steupse. The Supreme Court was “the Big One’, now martial law. Keep dreaming cultists.
@Dame Bajans
Martial Law does conjure up frightening images and bad memories for some but in this case, it does not have to be a whole country lockdown and troops on every street with guns, it can also be in a limited form as well.
If the states in contention, SCOTUS and Congress refuses to act appropriately when presented with evidence of massive fraud and block all attempts to examine the ballots and voting machines to search for fraud, that will leave only the martial law option since the US Constitution would have been violated.
In the above scenario, I can see Trump using the emergency broadcast system to address the nation stating he has ordered the military to seize all ballots and voting machines in the contested states to supervise a proper validation and recount of all valid ballots to determine the true election result in those states.
Insurrection act?
It’s been invoked multiple times already in various states from 1808 to 1992!!
Nothing new.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Insurrection_Act_of_1807
Date of invocation Invoking President State requested? Affected area Occasion
April 19, 1808 Thomas Jefferson Lake Champlain Embargo Act violations[11]
August 23, 1831 Andrew Jackson Yes Norfolk, Virginia Nat Turner’s slave rebellion[17]
January 28, 1834 Andrew Jackson Yes Williamsport, Maryland Labor dispute by workers on Chesapeake and Ohio Canal[18]
April 15, 1864 Abraham Lincoln South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Virginia, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Arkansas Civil war[19]
October 17, 1871 Ulysses S. Grant No South Carolina Suppression of Ku Klux Klan[20]
September 15, 1872 Ulysses S. Grant No New Orleans, Louisiana Unrest following 1872 Louisiana gubernatorial election[21]
May 13, 1874 Ulysses S. Grant Yes Little Rock, Arkansas Brooks–Baxter War [22]
October 7, 1878 Rutherford B. Hayes Yes Lincoln County, New Mexico Territory Lincoln County War[23]
July 7, 1894 Grover Cleveland Yes Chicago, Illinois Pullman Strike[24][25]
April 28, 1914 Woodrow Wilson Yes Colorado Colorado Coalfield War[26]
July 28, 1932 Herbert Hoover Yes Washington, D.C. Conflict with Bonus Army[27]
July 22, 1943 Franklin D. Roosevelt Yes Detroit, Michigan 1943 Detroit race riot[28]
September 24, 1957 Dwight D. Eisenhower No Little Rock, Arkansas To protect Little Rock Nine[29]
September 30, 1962 John F. Kennedy No Oxford, Mississippi Ole Miss riot of 1962[11]:13
June 11, 1963 John F. Kennedy No Tuscaloosa, Alabama Stand in the Schoolhouse Door[30]
September 10, 1963 John F. Kennedy No Alabama Enforce desegregation orders on Alabama public schools[11]
March 20, 1965 Lyndon B. Johnson Yes Alabama Provide protection to marchers during the Selma to Montgomery Marches[31] [32]
July 24, 1967 Lyndon B. Johnson Yes Detroit, Michigan 1967 Detroit riot[33]
April 5, 1968 Lyndon B. Johnson Yes Washington, D.C. 1968 Washington, D.C., riots[34]
April 7, 1968 Lyndon B. Johnson Yes Baltimore, Maryland Baltimore riot of 1968[35]
April 7, 1968 Lyndon B. Johnson Yes Chicago, Illinois 1968 Chicago riots[36]
September 20, 1989 George H. W. Bush Yes Saint Croix, United States Virgin Islands Disorder following Hurricane Hugo[37]
May 1, 1992 George H. W. Bush Yes Los Angeles County, California 1992 Los Angeles riots[38]
“Defense Department guidelines describe “homeland defense” as a “constitutional exception” to Posse Comitatus restriction, meaning that measures necessary to guarantee National Security from external threats are not subject to the same limitations.”
EXTERNAL THREATS??
Barbados??!!
If you think Trump won’t act to defend the country he loves, think again!!
https://www.google.com/search?q=trump+hugging+flag&sxsrf=ALeKk01_DY8mZk2hyzNpNFUCXS6JVAHU6Q:1608358955657&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=L47jc7odop3VfM%252CRDA_IBV9zPGjnM%252C_&vet=1&usg=AI4_-kSX6sws1bm5wOobX2SoakGf17cwZg&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjgjeSBtNntAhXFzlkKHUJeBq0Q9QF6BAgHEAE&biw=1366&bih=657#imgrc=L47jc7odop3VfM
Here is an instance when the President used the insurrection act of 1807 to send in the army.
The Governor of Arkansas refused to let the “Little Rock Nine” enter high school.
He used the National Guard to prevent them entering.
Eisenhower sent in the 101st Airborne division to ensure they entered safely.
Trump may use the 82nd Airborne if he has to.
He doesn’t have to do it Nationwide, just where there is a clear and present danger from foreign intervention to threaten National Security.
To the cultists:
As you know recent Presidential libraries have been established for recent ex- Presidents, here is a visualization of what DJ Trump’s will look like, there’ s even a gift shop, hope you like the “lock him up” key chain and Spank the Stormy ping pong ball.
Enjoy the tour and Merry Xmas
https://djtrumplibrary.com/
Eh…. another ‘let’s get a rise post’ of pure nonsense!
“act of 1807 to send in the army…
The Governor of Arkansas refused to let the “Little Rock Nine” enter high school.
He used the National Guard to prevent them entering….Eisenhower sent in the 101st Airborne division to ensure they entered safely.”
What does this have to do with LEGALLY CERTIFIED elections by a Governor? This is the epitome of absurd demagoguery used to incite ANARCY.
No POTUS can subvert the LEGAL actions of a state governor … that is sedition!
POTUS Eisenhower was responding to an ILLEGAL action by the governor … you are offering the exact OPPOSITE.
YOU and the thousands like you who offer such seditious commentary under ur real names should be on file in the Intel Dept of local police authorities as you are inherently VERY dangerous based on your training and high level learnings.
This absurd mockery of commonsense is no longer laughable !
Yup! I have already suggested that John Knox postings under his real name is foolhardy. But then again, they can probably find out who we are anyway.
This man is definitely a threat. All the looneys are, in different ways, but John Knox should raise alarm bells.
@Rabbit
There is a story about a snake biting someone who was helping it. When asked why it did so it’s reply was “that is my nature”.
I see now that it is your nature to dig rabbit holes even when on a cement surface.
—-x—–
I would expect something outrageous from trimp as every new day strengthens his lame duck status..
One blogger thought you would come out in China, but it looks as if your holes are going nowhere .
It seems as if you lost one of the alcolytes.
Nope! Still going to China! Xi is sharpening his chop sticks. The green paw paw is at hand.
Chop suey!
Mr Blogmadter, imagine if someone had a Twitter following of 88 mil (or even 117 mil) and figuratively said something like ‘I want my team to RESIST this new administration’ (as Cab Sec Devos actually did say) or mused in ‘perfect convoluted’ cadence: ‘I love Russia, never had any business deal there, and it would be great if they can find those lost Clinton emails … it’s great, what a great relationship, I like him he likes me, and we hack others too … so what’s a little hacking to help this great relationship’!
And then with such a presidential invitation (which POTUS did do re the emails) the big bear Russians proceeded to go hack happy on US systems to the extent that headlines are now blaring…
“US government caught blindsided over sophisticated cyber hack, experts say”!
And then imagine that said friendly POTUS fired the previously independently minded Dir of National Intel and installed his deeply loyal chieftant; fired his independently minded Sec of Def and installed another deep loyalist and so too fired key managers across the system to install loyalists …
And then re-imagine that headline … … … (thinking pause)…
Now imagine that POTUS has tweeted NOTHING about that hack as neither his Dir of Nat Intel or Sec Def have substantively done either … (another pause)!
And finally imagine the recently deceased spymaster novelist John Le Carré had offered this as a draft for a new novel prior to his death … we can definitely imagine his editors laughing and saying ‘Come on John, the insinuations here are too outlandish set in US … amazing plot if we set it as some fictional countryt though’.
Amazing plot, indeed. But it’s NOT freaking FICTION.
SMH! What the badword is going on? Why is the US being hacked so often and so comprehensively. Pardons for Americans sequestered in Russia anyone … or for Manchurian officials!
Maybe Obama should use his 117 million following to spread some crazy fact based’conspiracies’ !
I gone
de pedantic DribblerDecember 19, 2020 10:34 AM
What does this have to do with LEGALLY CERTIFIED elections by a Governor? This is the epitome of absurd demagoguery used to incite ANARCY.
No POTUS can subvert the LEGAL actions of a state governor … that is sedition!
Junior, Junior, Junior
You are not thinking!!
Too childlike.
The unrest in Arkansas affected National Security because it threatened to undermine the Constitution which the President is sworn to uphold.
Eisenhower thus took matters into his own hands.
All the low level or high level learning in the world will say, federal elections conducted in any state will affect National Security!!
This is elementary.
If those elections are fraudulent and/or interfered with by foreign entities, they are a threat to National Security.
Certification of fraudulent results by a State Governor will not miraculous change the inherent nature of those results.
Ratcliffe/DNI seems to be clearly saying there was foreign interference in federal elections.
Congress gets the report first, the classified version anyway.
A joint Session of Congress will count the cast ballots of the electoral college so Congress needs to know if the electoral College was taken for a ride and if as a result National Security has been threatened.
Every member of Congress has been sworn to uphold the constitution.
Looking the other way renders an individual member guilty perhaps of treason.
D-18 and counting!!
@John, I will respond to your absurd nonsense as often as I can… bcz a rudimentary analysis shows it as pure verbal diarrhea.
1*the US Dir of CyberSecurity CERTIFIED that there was no foreign hacking of the electoral electronic apparatus… and to date NO OTHER OFFICIAL has contradicted that! None.
Thus you are LYING by attempting to offer the inference that there was such an attack when u say: “Ratcliffe/DNI seems to be clearly saying there was foreign interference in federal elections.”
They do NOT mean the same thing.
2*This SAME DNI as a parrot congressman resolutely DISPUTED that there was ANY INTERFERENCE by foreign actors in the 2016 election when the then DNI and his colleagues from the many other intel agencies said there WAS. The special counsel report also defined CLEARLY how it was done and evidence from Facdbook and others corroborated that.
Yet NO ONE talked about using the insurrection act to overturn the election .. steeupse!
But NOW you cite that SAME man as a) AN UNBIASED source of intel data and b) then take the same basic comments of interference and twist them to suit your bogus, false and self serving claims.
Actors foreign and domestic definitely INTERFERED with both elections… none were able to interfere or compromise the ACTUAL voting machinery/electronics, however.
Are you so confused or biased to NOT UNDERSTAND that if proven such direct hacking at this level is an interpretion as an act of war… and the reaction from the US govt would be strong and resolute … even from the trumpet quisling DNI … well, unless he is a true enemy of the people that is.
As you continue to write BS stupidity I will retort with FACTS .
So do your darndest ….
John
You may find this article interesting
Scroll down to the end of the article to read the full report
https://www.conservativejournalreview.com/peter-navarro-issues-36-page-election-integrity-report/?utm_source=cjr3&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=cjr_newsletter_12_19_3
LOL 😂😂 … John you definitely then will NOT find this article headlined : This might be the most embarrassing document created by a White House staffer
Its written by a guy called Phillip Bump… and yep, its all about that amazing Peter Navarro piece.
When I readI Bump I laughed as I immediately thought of you guys when he said at one point ..
“It’s not a report. It’s a garbage dump.
It includes statements such as this:
—“At midnight on the evening of November 3, and as illustrated in Table 1, President Trump was ahead by more than 110,000 votes in Wisconsin and more than 290,000 votes in Michigan. In Georgia, his lead was a whopping 356,945; and he led in Pennsylvania by more than half a million votes. By December 7, however, these wide Trump leads would turn into razor thin Biden leads — 11,779 votes in Georgia, 20,682 votes in Wisconsin, 81,660 votes in Pennsylvania, and 154,188 votes in Michigan.”—
Right. Because they counted more votes — mail-in votes, which heavily favored Biden and couldn’t be counted before Election Day in Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Michigan.
If you are still making claims such as the one above, you should not be taken seriously. [ John u and Critical made this SAME point; how surprising] It can’t be said more plainly than that. It is the flat-Earth theory of election fraud, something that maybe people long ago were justified in believing but that, by now, has no place being treated as a serious argument. If Navarro sincerely believes this implies questionable activity, then his “report” should be treated as inherently ridiculous, since he hasn’t done his homework. If he doesn’t believe his insinuations, then the report shouldn’t be taken seriously, because it’s obviously aimed at misleading the reader
Oh Bump writes for the WP !
Re Macron and masks – for the millionth time – masks are not 100 % effective. Condoms are not 100% effective.
These things reduce the probability of the undesirable consequence. Reducing the probability means that there will be fewer occurrences but there will still be occurrences.
Masks are to be used along with distancing and hand sanitizing. Also, though masks do offer some protection for the wearer, they do more to protect the other person.
So…. it is not whether Macron always wears a mask. The question is whether he came into contact with somebody who wasn’t.
P.S. The virus can also enter through the eyes, therefore a face shield or goggles along with the mask reduces the probability even further. This is why health care workers are so attired.
Again you are either an idiot or a liar.
Time to fire Pompeo! He had the gall to confirm that it was Russia who carried out the hack.
Trump, sorry Jesus the Christ tweets otherwise.
Again Donna this is about Trump taking money from the gullible.
de pedantic DribblerDecember 19, 2020 2:27 PM
Yet NO ONE talked about using the insurrection act to overturn the election .. steeupse!
Junior
The person to have acted in 2016 was of course, none other than OBAMA as he was president!!!
Here is this clown’s take on interference in US elections!!
Impossible he said and then orchestrated the undermining of the 2016 election!!
It is no coincidence that the media mimics and repeats parrot fashion what they heard this jackass say.
Hilary conceded in 2016, Trump has not nor will he in 2020, or is it likely there will be a concession in 2021.
She had no choice.
Trump has a choice and is pursuing his options.
Plus, he has the evidence and he means to trace it back to the source!!
So, relax and enjoy as the plot unfolds.