Grenville Phillips, Candidate for St. George North and Leader of Solutions Barbados

From my visits to almost every community in St George North, I have found one consistent desperate need. The employed want work for the unemployed, and the unemployed want work. All other issues were secondary.

All five candidates in this by-election (BLP, DLP, Solutions Barbados, UPP, and PdP) have a responsibility to propose workable solutions to the unemployment problems in St George North. The plans must not depend on new government funding, because the Government will claim that they have no money.

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they need to devise one. The plan should be fully operational in the 30 months remaining in the current election cycle.

UNCONSCIONABLE PRETENSE

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they should stop pretending that they do. It is unconscionable to give desperately hurting people false hope and empty promises.

The people of St George North do not only need a Member of Parliament (MP) in this by-election. There are so many MP’s in the House of Assembly, that the Prime Minister does not know what to do with them. The people of St George North need someone to manage workable employment generating projects.

Our plan is designed to make St George North the most prosperous constituency in Barbados. Both the plan, and my capacity to implement it, are contained in Solutions Barbados’ manifesto (attached). Please contact us if you have not received your copy.

All constituencies in Barbados are hurting. St George North voters have a responsibility to give them hope, and not let them down. They can do this by voting for the best plan for themselves, not their party.

If people are prospering, then families, businesses, churches, and community organisations automatically benefit.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and Solutions Barbados Candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

Two and one half minute) audio recording of “What do the Residents of St George North Want?

580 responses to “What do the Residents of St George North Want?”

1. Enuff Mariposa does not underdtand basic stuff.Imagine she criticising Ms Mottley for saying approval for projects have to come through her.As you ststef SHE IS MINISTER OF FINANCE and hence has to sign off on such projects.That is simple logic but Mariposa the simpleton does not get it anyone surprised?She was running up her mouth about Ms Moore, s contribution in the senate and has been challenged to bring the evidence up to now cannot produce any.Just making wild statements hoping something sticks but you are a known liar who would say anything to promote the dems.I hope Austin, CCC and you got your excuses ready whe n you lose yet again in my view.

2. David Blame Mia she wants to control the narrative
    Floyd set a trap for Mia and she fell into it
    She just couldn’t help trying to prove Floyd wrong on big works for SGN
    Silly woman next day sent bulldozers to flatten bush and re-start 26 year old projects
    So here we all are because of an opportunist in the name of Mia pressured and blindsighted by two words big works which Mia interpret as flattening bush and fixing works
    Wuhloss Floyd is the boss man
    Never seen a govt running so fast to cover 26years worth of projects in a day

3. BAJE
    You shudda come run. Multi-degreed, multi-jobbed, multi-experienced, multi-talented multi-travelled, multi-egoed and multi-moneyed. You would win easily as the MULTI MAN. Murdaaaa!🤣🤣

Xxxxxxxx

TRUTH IS I ENJOY WATCHING ABROAD FROM FAR THE LOCAL CIRCUS WHILST THE 2 X 3 ISLAND CONTINUE TO WALLOW IN DUMB SHIT.

THE 2020 PANDEMIC HAS HELPED MY TECHNOLOGY BUSINESS TO QUADRUPLE OVER THE LAST 6 MONTHS AS DEMAND IN THE AREA GROWS.

WHY WOULD I SUBJECT MYSELF TO JOIN IN THE DECEPTION OF THE BLACK MASSES?

THANKS ALMIGHTY I LIVE IN A PLACE WHERE I CAN SEE REALITY FROM BULLSHIT WHILST LOCAL BLACKS BAJANS SEEMINGLY SUFFER AND ACT LIKE THEY ARE STILL LIVING IN MENTAL SLAVERY AND BONDAGE.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

‘To address monkeys and other crop thefts, and provide some food security for St George North residents, we will participate in the Government’s tree planting scheme. We will plant thousands of fruit trees near drainage courses, open spaces, and wooded areas across the constituency.’

The people of SGN will enjoy the fruits of there Labour.

5. Lorenzo yuh need to stop pressing againt Mariposa
    Yuh sounding frustrated
    Mariposa stands alone Mia is meking my comments come true

6. To Marisposa , Carson and et al
    Why did you guys not finish the the pavilion at the Glebe ? You had 10 years to do it It shows how much you really cared for and loved the folks over there .Don’t expect a straight answer
    Will watch for the usual rantings and ravings

7. Spikes fair enough it wasnt finish under a 14year govt nor a 10 year govt
    However when one count 26 years of having a minister as representative… and a parish that is fully supportive of the blp party it begs the question why did the blp neglect a constituency that for 26 years gave them a vote of confidence
    Now lets fast forward to 2018 moving into 2019 and present time
    My question to You why did not Mottley instead of chasing the ghost of Errol Barrow not use the funds parcelled to blow up the old NIS and used such funds to build a community centre in Gelbe
    Yuh think all and sundry would be talking about bush and fixing roads and Floyd using his bat to clobber the blp party into embarrassment

8. William Skinner Avatar

Humphrey ,Straghn Phillips Jordan King ,Griffith ,Brown ,Rowe ,Caddle
    All of the above were “ rookie” and “ novice” politicians/ candidates . They are now in parliament.
    Every single policeman was once a rookie. Every single lawyer was once a rookie.
    What makes Reifer any different ?
    There is a reason why debating with some BLPDLP jokers is a complete waste of time .
    Where ignorance is bliss………….

9. BOTH REIFER AND MOORE ARE ROOKIES

10. “Humphrey ,Straghn Phillips Jordan King ,Griffith ,Brown ,Rowe ,Caddle…were all rookies”

Firstly, Phillips was not a rookie. And being a rookie is where the similarity begins and ends. The teaspoon depth reasoning eh.

11. William Skinner Avatar

@ Enuff
    Ok. I got one wrong. Thank you. What about all the rest ? Where does the “ similarity” end. We have more rookies in parliament now than we perhaps ever had.
    On this you may have the last word. I have no dog in this fight.

12. Methinks someone(s) made a strategic error and will see blowback in the not too distant future, wuh happen, getting heat from UK police because of that tiefing big brain scheme or what, that yall would use that act of desperation….but it will BACKFIRE BIGLY…that is yall circus and monkeys, we will all watch it come out in the wash…

13. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

The Barbados Labour Party should have used the funds which they destroyed the Fire Station and old NIS Building, in Bridgetown with to Build a Community Centre in St. George, other wise we would not have that stupid hole in Bridgetown. Which is never going to be filled. The last time they blew up the old Hilton and then run out cash. So they had to sell our Bank to the Trinidadians that is why we dont have any Bank.

But you see they were looking for expensive work for the WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS.

Nothing that was happening there benefited POOR BLACK PEOPLE.

14. Carson C CadoganOctober 10, 2020 2:11 AM Nothing that the DLP did for a whole eight years benefited poor black people either…well, maybe just a select few who seem to have done very well.

Ten million ain’t bad in a mother’s bank account, is it? By the way, what happened to that $300 million that was allegedly unaccounted for when the BLP took office?

That is nuff money. Yet you could come on here and talk xxxxe?

Many, go away, do. Bajans do not want to see wunna for years… and not the same old faces that have come out of the woodwork….. after wunna left Froons on election night holding his balls. None a wunna there to take licks like a man. At least he did.

Stupse.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mottley said in Newbury that she will refine the country debt.

She means she will try to refine it, it is highly unlikely lenders will take her on a second time around. That is a new style for Barbados now??? Borrow and dont pay back?????

Only pay back the WHITE BAJANS, we have BILLIONS sitting on Banks , use some of that money to pay our debts. You frighten to use WHITE BAJANS MONEY?????

16. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

SHOULD BE ”refinance ”

17. @Crusoe

was there an investigation into the alleged missing $300 mil or is that the same $300 mil that MAM has given / lent to the tourism sector?

we have go to stop falling for these political gimmicks.

18. @ Crusoe

What are the differences between the $300 million that was allegedly unaccounted for when the BLP took office and the millions of dollars that were allegedly missing, said to in Swiss and other world-wide bank accounts, which the then PM promised to recover, when the DEMS took office?

I could mention the similarities ………………. accusations without any investigations and the alleged missing money, remains missing.

19. @ Greene

Do you remember the panic with which the president and Dale Marshall, came on television after the general election talking about bogus contracts, and missing documents, etc.
    The unexpired contracts had been signed days before the general election, etc, they claimed. Now we know differently. I thought we were in for a massive investigation, although, as I said at the time on BU, if these contracts were dubious all she had to do was not to honour them and let the beneficiaries take them to court. I am no Caswell, but their hysterical claims seemed rather odd at the time.
    This just more of the same; it is her political weapon. She has concluded, after decades in politics, that the Barbadian voter will believe anything, once it is said with flare and pointing fingers and frothing mouths.
    She is a political fraudster, who thinks nothing about misleading people for a political advantage. She has no political moral anchor. The ethnics of her politics is whatever will get her a vote.
    What we do know is that she fears the outcome of the by-election, that is why she is leading the charge. She sees it as a vote in her popularity.
    Voters should give her a bloody nose.

20. Greene

Don’t come with no xxxxe
    Remember I watching

The 300 fir the hotel industry is said many time to be coming from the foreign reserves

21. I guess people either don’t read. Got short memory or just trying ?

22. So, it follows, we have had about Bds$300m of reserves we really id not need, money that could have been better invested?

23. I guess people either don’t read. Got short memory or just trying to mislead.

How many contracts were renegotiated at BWA alone under the new goverment?

they even tried to renegotiate the new sandals in st peter concessions and butch stop work,

24. Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley says she seeking to refinance Barbados’ debt accumulated as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

She said this would be to widen the fiscal space in what is still very uncertain times.

Mottley, who was the final speaker on Thursday night at a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) campaign rally at Newbury, St George, said the hope was to secure a moratorium on monies critical to Barbados’ preparedness for the pandemic.

“The debt that we now have to take in for COVID-19, the money to fix up Harrison Point, the money to buy the drugs, the money to buy the machines and the ventilators, the money to bail out the National Insurance Scheme because of the unemployment, all of that debt . . . we want . . . refinanced,” said Mottley….(Quote)

Now the president wants to restructure debt built up since CoVid. How much debt is that? Who is it owed to? How does the White Oak project affect this? Has the White Oak deal been finalised? W£hat does she mean by fiscal space?
    Plse breakdown this supposed debt: how much was spent to bring Harrison’s Point up to speed? How much was spent on drugs? How much was spent on the machines and ventilators? How much was needed to bail out the national insurance scheme? How much has unemployment grown since March 2020?

25. @John2

White Oak earning its pay?

26. David

Wrong person.

The only thing i know about WO is what i read in the media and most of it is instigated/discussed on BU.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The EU is just standing firm as they should. They are not moving any Goal posts.

The present Govt. not followed the proposals laid down by the EU and the EU have the RIGHT to Black list Barbados.

28. It was the previous government who did not implement the legislation required. The incumbent did but the rafe of legislation required was not done in sufficient time to meet time required to judge the effectiveness of the implementation.

29. Ms. Mockley has been making mock sport with a mock parliament now for years.

No point looking for her to deal with reality.

30. @ John2 and David BU

I’m sure you’ll both agree, in the interest ‘good governance,’ it’s about time Barbadians are given some sort of report on the debt restructuring services White Oaks provided for the island.

31. @Atax

Yes.

We know they are still active.

32. the EU full of shite. the biggest money laundering and tax dodging take place in the financial sectors of the world and those are the city in London, continental Europe, NY, Tokyo and Hong Kong. so why do they get off on punishing small states i dont know. Might is right as usual. so i agree with MAM, cuss them and cuss them stink.

in the meantime try to get the tax treaty exchanges completed and stop the internal blame game.

Good job by the AG in bringing the fraud, and ML etc laws up to date

33. ccc

how is the black listing helping poor black bajans ? Yuh fake!

34. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

NOW GET OFF HER FAT FANNY.

I received this in the mail only yesterday from the Credit Union.

And it says in part:

‘In meeting the regulatory requirements of the Anti-Money/Combating the Financing of Terrorism(AMI/CFT0 Guidelines for Financial Institutions, ………….Co-operative is updating all customers records, namely information regarding know Your Customer(KTC).

In opening your account, you would have provided the Credit Union with up to date information. However, as time passed, these records are now either illegible or expired……..’ etc., etc., etc.

The 9-10-2020 they now sending out these forms. They have been in Govt. for 2 and half years. The Democratic Labour Party has been out of office for 2 and half years. And they still blaming the DLP.

Years later now.

And telling people that the EU commit a CRIME against Barbados. The people are just STANDING FIRM. They right to Black list Barbados..

35. Seems as if nothing really changed. A circular conversation, hitting some familiar landmarks. It was WO in 2018 and it will be WO in 2021.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It takes ONE to know ONE.

37. For two years many been asking for Transparency on the WOdeal
    PM even got up in Parliament and promised Atherley that she would arrange for a meeting between Atherley and WO
    Never heard such has happened
    But then this is a PM who promised transparency but recently said that those opposed to her policies can expect nothing of her without her say so

38. ART

GOVERMENT IS made up of a political party/politicians. i agreed that any infomation to the public is good.

BUT dont expect the info to come during the “election”. i wold more expect it to come out after the election and before xmas (that is if it is coming out).

39. 2018 elections
    Total Votes: 5,912

Gline Arley Clarke (BLP): 4,779 votes
    Jepter Ince (DLP): 745 votes
    Grenville Walter Phillips (SB): 264 votes
    Everton Ricardo Holligan (UPP): 124 votes.

I doubt the BLP can lose this upcoming election if the same group of people turn out vote. The number of disenchanted folks would be too small to dent the 4800 received in 2018.

The key is to also energize people who did not vote in the last election and hope their votes are for the opposition

Wishes and reality are different beasts.

40. John2,

IF ME NO IFS. Fact is, Glyne Clarke DID NOT resign by himself. It was all engineered by Mia.

You are too one-sided and always inclined to excuses.

I will soon close the coop on you.

41. Pacha,

I agree with you wholeheartedly. Our solutions lie within ourselves. We have become too dependant.

42. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Even though the out going man for 26 years did nothing for the people only himself the people still voted for for him time, after time, after time, after Time, after Time, after Time.

They like it so.

43. Donna

one sided?

lets take out the names.

If under any goverment a pensioned MP retires/resgined/quits for whatever reason, does the goverment have to fill the void? and doesnt the not leed to paying the former mp a pension and the new mp a salary?

is it me that onsided or is it you the boxed youself in to MM and glyne?

44. You can ask anyone here on BU if what i am saying is wrong

45. tried to point a fact to you and you called me a fowl? it all good

46. @John2

Don’t play us for fools. We know Clarke was enticed to relocate from sitting on prime real estate. Forde and Toppin will probably be next.

47. David
    My point wasnt about glyne so you can continue being the fool if you want to be.
    i used glynee because Donna used his name.

my point was about paying a pension and a salary.

if george wake up tomorrow and say f MM and resigns then the same thing will happen- by election + pay pension to george + pay salary to new mp.

48. The whole of barbados that glyne was enticed by MM. Glyne himself said so at his sgn branch meeting
    why should i try to fool someone about that