Grenville Phillips, Candidate for St. George North and Leader of Solutions Barbados

From my visits to almost every community in St George North, I have found one consistent desperate need. The employed want work for the unemployed, and the unemployed want work. All other issues were secondary.

All five candidates in this by-election (BLP, DLP, Solutions Barbados, UPP, and PdP) have a responsibility to propose workable solutions to the unemployment problems in St George North. The plans must not depend on new government funding, because the Government will claim that they have no money.

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they need to devise one. The plan should be fully operational in the 30 months remaining in the current election cycle.

UNCONSCIONABLE PRETENSE

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they should stop pretending that they do. It is unconscionable to give desperately hurting people false hope and empty promises.

The people of St George North do not only need a Member of Parliament (MP) in this by-election. There are so many MP’s in the House of Assembly, that the Prime Minister does not know what to do with them. The people of St George North need someone to manage workable employment generating projects.

Our plan is designed to make St George North the most prosperous constituency in Barbados. Both the plan, and my capacity to implement it, are contained in Solutions Barbados’ manifesto (attached). Please contact us if you have not received your copy.

All constituencies in Barbados are hurting. St George North voters have a responsibility to give them hope, and not let them down. They can do this by voting for the best plan for themselves, not their party.

If people are prospering, then families, businesses, churches, and community organisations automatically benefit.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and Solutions Barbados Candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

Two and one half minute) audio recording of “What do the Residents of St George North Want?

580 responses to “What do the Residents of St George North Want?”

1. i saw in one of these blogs someone wrote that Gline Clarke’s family was well off. i dont where he got that from. according to my wife Gline’s family was just as well off as anyone from the Retreat Woods / Cottage Tenantry area. people does talk bare nonsense and things they dont know about on these blogs

another thing- St George is no more neglected that any other part of Barbados. the so called neglect is for pure political gain. a pavilion is a big issue? is it only now that govt can debush and green areas in Flat Rock as if Flat Rock needs greening. debushing yes, as many areas of the island need. all political gamesmanship.

and for those who think one should only vote for a candidate whose party is in power then Gline Clarke should never have spent 26 years as the rep for SGN.

I am pleased that Reifer is putting up some stiff resistance. the problem that MAM didnt grasp is that for all her weight she cant make St George people accept a candidate they dont think is one of them. that is why Reifer has gained some momentum. Moore is not from St George. her father was the pastor at the Wesley Holiness Church (i believe it is called) in Flat Rock and she spent time down there but they are from St John i have been told.

Moore may win but in the general election she will get a good run if Reifer remains a candidate.

BTW- he should not debate either. debates are not a good representation of the impact of a candidate or the party’s policies will have in the constituency. it will be better for them to do house to house canvassing and learn the concerns of residents and do spot meetings taking questions from voters

Grenville’s solution for SGN should be adopted for the entire island. it is one of the better submissions for improvement that i have seen in a long time

2. @Greene

Is Reifer putting up ‘stiff’ resistance or benefiting from a clawback from the 30-0.

3. Greene

Ask your wife how many familes in cottage could have afforded the car that clark use to drive in the late 70 – 80s, even if he bought it on HP.

Ask the editor if there wasnt a family in the ivy that was better off the the others.

the words i used before well of were “financial fortunate” or something to that effect because i didnt want to give the impression the he was “rich” at that stage .

From the time i know him (in his early 20s) he seemed to be more finincially blessed the at normal village bajans

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

‘The roofs of most houses in St George North are vulnerable to blowing off during a hurricane. We will offer to economically strengthen the roofs of all houses in St George North, for the cost of the labour and materials, but no profit.

Those who want their roof strengthened for only the cost of the materials, can volunteer their time with the no-profit company one day each week, for seven weeks. They will help to strengthen the roofs of other houses in St George North.’

You reading MIA AMOR MOTTLEY????????

5. Moore was borned in edgecliff st john but moved with her father to SGN – i dont know how many years ago

Whjo is talking nonsence that they dont know about? who is tslking from hear say?

6. isnt Reifer claiming that SGN is/was neglected?

7. SGN will not vote for a candidate who isnt one of them – SGN will vote for someone who can do something for them.

Although glyne didnt get any “big works” done through the lost decade he was still there for his people (even if he had to do things like pull his pocket to buy a bat) thats why every election he keep increasing his number of votes.

8. Grenville will get no traction without a “known” party.

9. @David,

however you want to slice or dice it, it appears that it isnt as easy as many thought it would be. i fall into that category too. Given the Reifers’ name in St George especially in that area, he was a brilliant choice. Verla has at least done one thing right or got lucky. the DLP appear to be making good use of social media too. admirable developments i must say

10. yes they came to Flat Rock as he became the pastor at the church there, i have been told. St George people are v parochial and like their candidates to be born and bred in the area.

11. Agreed that reifer is an excellent choice for the DLP.

It can also be said that SNG is strickly a BLP seat.

12. Campbell reason i speak of Moore record is fundamental to how she thinks.. acts ..and how much of what she has done in the senate has benefited those whom she has represented as a Senator and a voice for the worker
    But then again those who have followed her as Senator have seen her voting interest dead smack of an interest for govt
    Hence now running as a blp candidate the party has avoided talking about her record in Parliament
    Gline is not the issue his record does not reflect anything that can be applied to Moores record in the Senate
    As dismal as Clarke record has now been shown
    Govt ploy to use his name against a background of political influence has been torn to threads
    Reifer personality and fresh approach has caught the blp party off guarded with SGN looking inward instead across the political landscape of self interest
    Reifer momentum gives him a good chance of restoring democracy in parliament for the people

13. Michael Campbell Avatar
    Michael Campbell

But then again those who have followed her as Senator have seen her voting interest dead smack of an interest for govt
    Hence now running as a blp candidate the party has avoided talking about her record in Parliament.

Mariposa, stop talking foolishness. All you trying to say is that Moore record in parliament should be based on if she vote FOR government policies, which is bare nonsense.

You like you believe that opposition and independent senators would have good records in parliament if they vote against every bill the government sent to the senate.

You talk about those who followed Moore’s voting record.
    That means you had to be one of the people following it.

And since your argument is also about voting for government policies, then tell us what is Moore voting record. Tell us how many times she vote FOR government policies and how many times she vote AGAINST.

If you CAN’T DO THAT, then you just talking for talking sake. You just ain’t making no sense.

But I would bet you anything if opposition and independent senators vote against a DLP government, you would say it would be self interest and in the interest of the country. Because I know the see they way how you argue.

Look, I done with you, because you talking all over your face about foolishness about record in parliament and up to now you can’t tell us what it is.

14. Michael Campbell Avatar
    Michael Campbell

Let me correct my self.

But I would bet you anything if opposition and independent senators vote against a DLP government, you would say it would be self interest and NOT in the interest of the country. Because I know the see THE way how you argue.

15. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

‘We plan to identify the owners of all dilapidated and unoccupied houses in St George North. We will then negotiate with the owners an arrangement, where we will economically repair the house, and get it rented. The rent will be split between the homeowner and the non-profit company, until the construction cost is repaid.’

MIA AMOR MOTTLEY must be getting GRIPE reading about this.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

John2 and the other WHITE BAJANS must shivering in their boots.

As they should be.

17. Campbell
    What i have said is that Moore’s record as a Senator is opposite to that of a person who supposedly speaks on behalf of the workers interest
    Now u can toss and twist my comments in every which way
    The bottom line stems and concludes that her voting record has not been of help to the worker

18. What makes Reifer a good candidate? A NIFCA video?🤣🤣🤣

19. Mariposa needs to tell BU about Verla’s record as a Senator and Board Member on workers’ interests? We all know what happened to workers while she was a Board member at UDC and of course during her time in the Senate. Not to be forgotten is the day she jumped off a truck to shout “free education” at children in CCW, this even after UWI tuition fees had been introduced by her government and supported by her in the Senate. The people are not foolish.🤣🤣🤣

20. Verla De Peiza is remembered for her labeling of this blogmaster as committing treason for publishing the CAHILL documents.

21. Ah waiting for the big BU fowl arguments justifying Mia trying to circumvent the authority of the Elections and Boundaries Commission and continue to put forward to the dumb yard fowls that she is all-powerful with absolute powers, ah told her already she is NOT GETTING ELIZABETH’S JOB…

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/s403x403/121242800_3737026489660872_5234953532069462859_n.jpg?_nc_cat=110&_nc_sid=dbeb18&_nc_ohc=jJPm1SuIpPMAX-70AOT&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&tp=7&oh=99a6bb4fb488cfdbf490b3dcd0422f73&oe=5FA6E23C

22. Michael Campbell Avatar
    Michael Campbell

Mariposa, everybody reading your posts know that the only person who is tossing twisting your comments is YOU.

All you doing is talking about Moore and her record in parliament, but you ain’t being specific. You just rambling on and on like somebody that just put something out there hoping people going to accept it and not ask you to prove it. That is why you on the back foot.

Grow up, stop the crap, forget the shenanigans, answer the question and let us have a serious debate.

Tell us what is Moore’s record as a Senator and how it opposite to that of a person who supposedly speaks on behalf of the workers interest?

23. Verla is not contesting the SGN seat
    Her record does not come into play
    Until she decides to be a candidate in any one of the constituencies her record cannot be used as a defense pro or con for Reifer
    That is the mistake the blp has made
    Using a smoke and mirror illusion of Clarkes record which they thought would have benefit Moore
    By George it has backfired

24. what makes Toni Moore a good candidate? settling with the BLP for 5%

25. It does not matter the quality of candidates, party paramountcy/priorities will win every time.

26. The people of SGN will decide. There’s no denying she’s a superior candidate to Floyd Reifer. In any event 29-1 or 28-2 is the same difference. This is why I find the ongoing talk so laughable. Would be bachannal on the Opposition benches if it were to be the latter tbh. Would Caswell keep his senate pick? Who would be LOTO? Reifer’s response to the estimates and the budget would require a front row seat. NIFCA every werk in the house. Y’all keeping up with the reality of the SGN by-election or just talking shyte? Gline got a whole police station, post office and library for his constituency. The Dems rebuild one post office and one police station for the whole country in 10 years. And all yuh on here trying the say the man did nothing. I feel if I do up a chart, Gline would easily win a SGN v Barbados under the Dems capital works comparison. Cuz I sure he achieved more road projects in SGN than the Dems did from 2008-2018. Maybe just housing projects the Dems would win and those were comipliments George, Gline and Reggie. The people are not foolish.🤣🤣🤣

27. Whatever! if the dlp wins one seat
    It would deflate the monstrous entitlement of superior power that the govt believes they have been given a mandate and therefore entitled
    Todays remarks in BT makes for good and careful reading factually stated and which exposes the beast of prey that lives within govt

28. Greene

Moore did not settled for 5% THE UNION settled for the 5 % if THE UNION did not approved she would not be their leader today.

29. @enuff

This is a red herring. On what basis would the GG rescind her decision to appoint Atherley?

30. Reifer still batting well on social media platforms
    Very few can attack his sincerity or credibilty
    Hard as they the oness is on them to show proof
    The blp supporters have somewhat retreated from their early utterances
    Funny enough Floyd a newbie effect and influence on the political scene has become a bigger concern for them and there loud noises have all but become a whisper
    Btw some one needs to tell Mia she does not own the treasury

31. that the DLP was the mail party during the last general election …therefore they would also be allow the money for the opposition that MM wouldn t give to atherley

My assumption.

32. David
    I don’t eat red herring! Gimme sardines, lime and a drop ah one drop. I am no expert, but I can read. Furthermore, I never said Atherley would be removed. But pray tell on what basis would Atherley be justified to have 2 senators upstairs and Floyd none?🤣🤣🤣

33. What i have said is that Moore’s record as a Senator is opposite to that of a person who supposedly speaks on behalf of the workers interest
    Now u can toss and twist my comments in every which way
    The bottom line stems and concludes that her voting record has not been of help to the worker

Xxxxxx

what makes Toni Moore a good candidate? settling with the BLP for 5%

Xxxxxxxxx

THIS SHITE IS ABOUT VOTING FOR A PARTY AT ALL COST IS WHY BARBADOS IS SUCH A BACKWARD 2 X 3 ISLAND STILL OPERATING STUCK IN TIME.

KEEP BEING STUPID VOTING FOR DONKEYS AND TRICKSTERS AND EXPECTING THE OUTCOME TO BE DIFFERENT IN 2020 AND BEYOND.

34. MIA
    You dont own the treasury

Mia said neither does floyd or verla and for right now she she at the crease

35. @enuff

First come first serve. He is in seat, given the anomaly, he stays.

36. Yet with all of that, no one except for fowl slaves, yard fowls, and the dumber than dumb are impressed, the whole PRETEND “dynasty” and “clan” has a very bad reputation everywhere, only those who are just like them would even want to be associated or seen with any of them…small-timers, banana republicans pretending to be elite and world-class, frauds and bottomfeeders, living off the backs of the average Bajan.

BTW…now that all the furor surrounding that world-renowned accused swindler Odle has DIED DOWN, as Mia was hoping for, guess he’s still at the port as Chairman on taxpayers dime….and that is why intelligent people will NEVER trust her, due to the enabler of crimes and corruption factor….in that circle of greedy crabs.

“Yah can’t get big works today without talking to me”. – The words of MAM

This comment by Prime Minister Mia Mottley should be seen as a call to action by the defenders of our democracy. Over the last two years, mendicancy and dependency have become the bonding relationship between the governed and the governors.

I have written elsewhere and repeat now that while most people ascribe to MAM’s rule, I believe her aim is to leave a legacy designed to shore up the not so spectacular forays into the political arena of the early members of the Mottley dynastic clan. It has become an obsession. She will accept only quiet acquiescence to her actions.

Miss Mottley by her statement at a political meeting on Sunday for all intent and purposes places her like some demagogue or as the late Owen Arthur publicly stated – a despot. Her statement also infers that DLP candidate Floyd Reifer was out of his league to suggest that he could dream big and galvanize enough momentum to deliver big plans for St. George North.

Politics for Mottley seems to be about controlling people. Examples abound from the treatment of Mrs. Merchandani to the awful expose concerning the $400 grant given to Senator Caswell Franklyn.”

37. If Floyd Reifer wins the seat for the DLP they should allow Joe Atherley to continue as opposition leader until the next elections.They should then ask OL to remove Chrystal Drakes from the Senate and allow the young economist Kemar Stuart to move into that seat. The GG should appoint Crystal Drakes to take Toni Moore seat as she speaks more like an independent senator than a party senator.

38. Lest we forget it os wishful thinking on your part concerning Mr Reifer winning in SGN as he cannot do anything in opposition for the people in SGN
    He knows that and you dems know that.The only reason he may win is if the people wishes to increase the opposition numbers in parliament not otherwise as a good a cricketer as he was he is a novice politician.

39. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

‘We will offer to install a Photovoltaic (PV) system on every roof in St George North at cost, with no profit. It would be connected to the BL&P grid, so that home-owners will have more disposable income.

Those who want the PV systems installed at only the cost of the materials, can volunteer their time with the no-profit company one day each week, for seven weeks. They will help to install PV systems on other houses in St George North.’

SGN future looks BRIGHT. But not under:

TONI MOORE

40. Lorenzo
    31-0. Look out.🤣🤣🤣

41. LWF

Miss Moore as an independent senator representing the WORKERS – CD can not fill her spot it would more likely have to be Caswell.

Just saying.

42. Due to the resources that the Gov’t has it will be an uphill battle for Reifer to win this election – I said Reifer although there are other candidates, the Gov’t seems to have trained its fire on him and I used the word Gov’t -well because its true- as the Gov’t not the BLP is promising to fix roads etc. and indicating that all rebuilding efforts will cease if Reifer is elected.

However, a by election result may not turn on whether a road would be fixed or a pavilion built it may be a simple matter of the electorate sending a message to Gov’t. It may be a message that says you have an overwhelming majority but we want to hear other voices and a loss here wouldn’t be a death blow to the Gov’t. The DLP couldn’t have done a better job in choosing a candidate, certainly Reifer being a popular local, presents more of a challenge than most other candidates. His opponent already has a platform to fight for her members, not sure whether the PM views her as a possible Minister or will she be content to warm the back benches.

In the final analysis the constituency has proved to be BLP stronghold for the past three decades betting against the ability of the party to retain the seat may not be a wise proposition.

43. Still OSA continues to speak from the grave
    Everytime Mia opens her mouth her words are confirmation as to what OSA had desribed her
    Imagine bodly stating that any projects having to do with SGN has to be approved by her.
    If our demoracy is in trouble now we know why
    Her desperation of having to fight back at Floyd has shown a dangerous side of Mia Mottley of which all should be afraid

44. @ Mariposa

The president has turned this by-election in to a vote on her two plus years of messing up the Barbados economy. It is very unusual for a prime minister to be front and centre of a meagre by-election, especially when she has a 28/29-1 majority.
    She has clearly lost her nerve and is treating St George North as a test. The electorate should give her a bloody nose.

45. Lest we forget it os wishful thinking on your part concerning Mr Reifer winning in SGN as he cannot do anything in opposition for the people in SGN
    He knows that and you dems know that.The only reason he may win is if the people wishes to increase the opposition numbers in parliament not otherwise as a good a cricketer as he was he is a novice politician.

Xxxxxxxxx

WHILST I DON’T SUBSCRIBE TO EITHER BLP OR DLP, FLOYD REIFER CAN’T DO ANY WORSE THAN WHAT HAS HAPPENED OVER THE LAST 2 1/2YRS WITH BARBADOS HAVING RECORD MURDERS, MASS UNEMPLOYMENT WHICH WILL NOT COME TO AN END SOON, CONTINUING CORRUPTION AND TAKING AWAY THE MASSES CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS.

HOW COULD FLOYD REIFER DO WORSE THAN THIS?

46. The last time I checked the “President” was the Minister of Finance. I always thought the MoF controlled the purse and expenditure through the estimates or supplementaries had to be signed off by the MoF. Not the ministry, the Minister. But wait anybody remember when Sinckler, then the MoF, refused to approve the money for BWA and forced Essie the pitbull to order the BWA staff, by letter, not to meet with Sinckler? Democracy was in trouble then? Hal de hypocrite and fraud may describe you as intelligent; nevertheless, the people are not foolish.🤣🤣🤣

47. BAJE
    You shudda come run. Multi-degreed, multi-jobbed, multi-experienced, multi-talented multi-travelled, multi-egoed and multi-moneyed. You would win easily as the MULTI MAN. Murdaaaa!🤣🤣

48. It is disgusting that at this juncture we limit political debate in a by election to fixing roads and clearing bush. We deserve what we get.

49. GRENVILLE PHILIPS EVEN THOUGH MANY MAY BE PUT OFF BY STYLE AND NOT SUBSTANCE IS THE ONLY ONE PROVIDING WORKABLE WEALTH CREATING SOLUTIONS FOR THE LOCALS WHICH NEITHER BLP OR DLP HAS A CLUE OR CARE ABOUT.

IT IS TOO EASY TO CONTINUE THE STATUS QUO POLITICS OF FALSE PROMISES AND DECEPTION.

50. If social media platforms are gauges of what People are thinking of Mia
    Mia is already receiving a bloody nose
    The rage and hositily that she exhibited towards Floyd and the backlash she is receiving is enough to have her gasping for breath
    People have now begining to see what a vincdicative self serving person she can be
    Her words has become her own hangman noose hanging closely to her neck
    What she had bargained for in the people acceptance of Toni without question and what has turned out to be more exposure of Floyd has bruised her manic ego