Grenville Phillips, Candidate for St. George North and Leader of Solutions Barbados

From my visits to almost every community in St George North, I have found one consistent desperate need. The employed want work for the unemployed, and the unemployed want work. All other issues were secondary.

All five candidates in this by-election (BLP, DLP, Solutions Barbados, UPP, and PdP) have a responsibility to propose workable solutions to the unemployment problems in St George North. The plans must not depend on new government funding, because the Government will claim that they have no money.

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they need to devise one. The plan should be fully operational in the 30 months remaining in the current election cycle.

UNCONSCIONABLE PRETENSE

If a candidate does not have a workable plan, then they should stop pretending that they do. It is unconscionable to give desperately hurting people false hope and empty promises.

The people of St George North do not only need a Member of Parliament (MP) in this by-election. There are so many MP’s in the House of Assembly, that the Prime Minister does not know what to do with them. The people of St George North need someone to manage workable employment generating projects.

Our plan is designed to make St George North the most prosperous constituency in Barbados. Both the plan, and my capacity to implement it, are contained in Solutions Barbados’ manifesto (attached). Please contact us if you have not received your copy.

All constituencies in Barbados are hurting. St George North voters have a responsibility to give them hope, and not let them down. They can do this by voting for the best plan for themselves, not their party.

If people are prospering, then families, businesses, churches, and community organisations automatically benefit.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and Solutions Barbados Candidate for St George North. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

Two and one half minute) audio recording of “What do the Residents of St George North Want?

580 responses to “What do the Residents of St George North Want?”

1. Maybe you are the fool. What if he goes home with only his pension and allow a fresh face in the job? These old tired moves can be spotted a mile off.

Steuspe

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hal 8.57 PM

Well said.

You hitting the nail on the head.

3. When the Russians buy whole blocks in the Royal Borough, it is do nothing more than launder money. Fact. Luxembourg, Liechtenstein etc more laundering. Yes, the EU on shit. I’ve been saying it even when the Dems were in power.

4. @Carson

Some people debate to inform and educate, some to make cheap jokes. It reminds me of the old days; some men went to work all week, got paid on Fridays, and went straight to the rum shops and spent it all.
    By the way, where is George Payne?

5. DAVID

u said Forde or Toppin maybe next.

Tell me something. When they go wont we still have to pay them a pension and the new MPs salaries?

And isnt it so if they are enticed by MM, if they resign/retire or if the lost their seats in a general election?

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, what have the DLP done since the last election that will “energize people who did not vote in the last election and hope their votes are for the opposition”???

As is very clear we “doubt the BLP can lose this upcoming election” … although nothing is supposedly impossible in politics this would be a close to that as is imaginable!

Reifer has excellent name recognition (at close to 60 and never lived in St. George just simply going to school with one of his uncles gives even me an immediate sense of ‘welcoming’ association with the lad) but it seems complete political delusion to expect him to handle this BLP full court press successfully!

By the same token it’s amazing that the PM is ruthlessly sparing no quarter to maintain her victory margin … this is obviously an indicator for the new elections and the opposition parties need to understand that she will ‘protect’ her unprecedented victory with greater vigour, fabrications, dissembling and shenanigans as seen up north now.

They do NOT have the ‘independent’ state agencies to help stall her, however, thus they better be properly prepared to get that better opposition voice in parliament.

7. “Don’t play us for fools. We know Clarke was enticed to relocate from sitting on prime real estate. Forde and Toppin will probably be next.”

So what? Isn’t succession planning a key element to the success of any organisation? Maybe the Dems should have asked Boyce, Lowe, Jones, Estwick, Freundel, Kellman et al to retire in 2018. The beating might have not been so severe. Damn if yuh do, damn if yuh don’t.

8. Enuff reread, ‘don’t try to fool the public’. We the taxpayers paying for the plan. The flowery talk about Clarke being loved in Ottawa bla bla bla I’d bs.

9. After the distraction and entertainment of the by-election reality will bite.

The Economy could and likely get much worse before it gets better.

https://www.nationnews.com/2020/10/10/look-beyond-debt-relief-says-world-bank-economist/

10. DAVID

Maybe you are the fool. What if he goes home with only his pension and allow a fresh face in the job? These old tired moves can be spotted a mile off.

Steuspe

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

That was exactly my question to donna.

If that had happenned if we would have to still pay his pension and the new MP salary.

But you two want to twist it as much as you like .

11. Donna

October 9, 2020 7:46 AM

Mia needs to know her place. She keeps overstepping her boundaries.
    This is indeed worth watching. So far she is meeting adequate opposition from all quarters We obviously cannot fall asleep on this job

Also, I think these election shenanigans are a distraction. We have more urgent business to take care of in this country. Now we have a pension to pay Clarke and another MP salary.

I guess there is no shortage of funds. (quote)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

John2October 9, 2020 8:02 AM

Donna

If Clarke did resign in his own and do nothing would we still have to pay is pension and another mp salary?

People should really listen carefully to wha mm said about the debates

ps wouldnt instead of would correction was made later.

12. David
    You ended up asking the same question as i did so maybe i am the fool………..

13. Another shooting. Where is Dale Marshall? What are his plans for this uncontrolled crime? The people of St George North want to know.

14. Another shooting. Where is Dale Marshall? What are his plans for this uncontrolled crime? The people of St George North want to know.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU SHOULD BE ASKING THE 5 DRUG LORDS INVITED TO PARLIAMENT BY DALE MARSHALL AND MIA MOTTLEY.

THEY HAVE THE BLP IN CHECK.

15. i read in the Bim nation that Clarke and Weir say Reifer is being used by Verla nd the DLP? i hope i misread that cos it makes no bloody sense. so Reifer is being used and Moore is not? is that what they are peddling. man piss in my pocket.

didnt Wood make certain allegations about Weir misusing his office to benefit friends and family and accepting bribes or something so? were these allegations ever investigated by police or the central committee of the BLP if Wood did not formally complain to police?

16. Attention
    All blp supporters yuh run the risk of allowing the blp ministers and s supporters controlling the narrative
    Speak yuh peace and move on fast
    Dont get stuck in the blp flytrap of polutical jobb..by
    They have one thing in mind is discredit floyd and steal his momentum

17. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Is MIA AMOR MOTTLEY really a LAWYER????????

18. @ Carson

Yes she is a lawyer. What you mean is does she have a LEC. The proper question is: is she a political leader?

19. If Glyne Clarke was still in the post he applied for under the guise that he would be there for five years, we would be paying him an MP’s salary and we would be paying another person for the post in the High Commission.

We now, at the instigation of the PM, pay a new MP’s salary, the High Commissioner’s salary and the MP’s pension.

If he had retired on his own, which in good faith he should not have done except for health reasons, then that expense would have been UNAVOIDABLE.

I thought we were trying to avoid UNNECESSARY EXPENSES.

THIS IS A POLITICAL MOVE THAT BENEFITS NO-ONE BUT THE BLP and costs the taxpayers of Barbados both Bee and Dee.

Anyone who challenges that needs the coop door slammed in his or her face because they are looking for excuses.

20. @Donna “…costs the taxpayers of Barbados both Bee and Dee…”

Dear Donna: Please be reminded that those of us who are neither ‘B” or “D” also pay taxes.

Havta to to BRA towards the end of the month, to pay some land taxes, I’ll report to BU whether they ask me whether I am “B” or “D” befre they allow me to put in my PIN number.

21. Bottom line Gline was miffed because he didn’t get a Ministry, he believed that he was entitled to a Ministry because he was a Minister under Owen, and to a lesser extent so did Atherley. Gline complained about his salary as deputy speaker and made his feelings public. Mia made Gline an offer he couldn’t refuse note he said when he told the Speaker the response was “wuh yuh waiting for” or words to that effect. Atherley chose another route to get his money, he saw an opening as LOO and went for it.

Politics too sweet.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David said a mouth some time back.
    St. George is home to some PRIME REAL ESTATE.

And the WHITE BAJANS want to get their hands on it thru the Barbados Labour Party

23. A beach and a pier to fish off at night. Who ever bring that got my vote. Lol

24. @ Carson

Sagicor got a bit of it already. Black lawyers do not want to own the estates, they just want a fee. They are servants of a higher level then their parents and grand parents.

25. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

If she is a Lawyer why didt she take her credentials and display them in Parliament as she said she would do?????

Dr. Lowe who she challenged went to Parliament and displayed his. She was PM two and half years now and she has done nothing.
    Why, why?????

26. CCC,

what nonsense are you talking? that MAM certificate issue is done and dusted so stop flogging a dead horse. st george is made up of some of the biggest plantations in Bim (Drax Hall with Kendall bordering) and whites want to get their hands on prime real estate? name the prime real estate and tell us who own it.

you can score political points on the BLP and MAM without resorting to nonsense you know

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

‘Nonsense’ in YOUR opinion.
    But not in reality.

28. Where is Donville Inniss ? Note with interest that former Dlp cabinet members are out in their numbers canvassing the st George North Hope that at least one them will tell us why Donville is missing in action

29. CCC i know you were hiding for rwo years but the LEC nonsence is a dead issue.You go up in SGN with tjat rather than solutions to people, s problem then both Mr Reifer and your new choice dead in the water. By the way where is Dr Lowe now? He is on the outside like you looking on poor fellow shows how much bajans thought of his nonsense.Pick sense from nonsense.

30. @Carson C Cadogan October 10, 2020 3:57 PM “If she is a Lawyer why didt she take her credentials and display them in Parliament as she said she would do????? Dr. Lowe who she challenged went to Parliament and displayed his. She was PM two and half years now and she has done nothing.
    Why, why?????”

Stupssseee!!!

Displaying a piece of paper don’t say a ping or a pang. The paper was from accredited universities? And i don’t mean universities which accredit themselves. Lol!

It was said that my parents, may they both rest in peace, were married for more than 60 years but yet I have never seen a marriage certificate for them, and I doubt that any of my siblings, children, nieces or nephews, great nieces and great nephews have ever seen it either. We had no need to. They were good parents, grandparents etc. so why would we care about a marriage certificate, or need to go hunting for an old musty piece of paper?

The same way, we don’t care if Mia is a lawyer or not. She is NOT being hired as a lawyer, so we don’t care whether or not she is a lawyer We never cared about that LEC foolishness as 30-0 tells.

31. @Spikes October 10, 2020 4:23 PM “Where is Donville Inniss?”

You know very well that Donville keeping his American friends company.

32. We Bajans too boring.

33. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

He was challenged by MIA AMOR MOTTLEY. He rose to the challenge admirably. She has not to this day. Even though she said that she would.

Her words, not mine.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Barbados told not to expect debt relief

A top official of the World Bank has poured cold water on any hopes of Barbados getting debt relief from lending partners.

World Bank Chief Economist for Latin America and the Caribbean Martin Rama said countries in the Caribbean should not count on getting any debt relief and should therefore look seriously at other alternatives of effectively managing and growing their economies.

35. LEC is nonsense.

Running a horse that couldn’t win during the 2018 election. Died and now resurrected to run again.

Not even a distraction.Spinning top in mud.

36. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

So why is it a Legal requirement to practice LAW in Barbados????

Why not strike it off the Stature books?????

Send no one should be sent to the Hugh Wooding Law school, The Caribbean’ Premier Law School in Trinidad and Tobago then???

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

While we on the subject of Lawyers , I see that Barbados has a new Chief Justice.

38. Patterson Cheltenham, GCM, QC, will become the fifth Chief Justice of Barbados since Independence.

The appointment will take effect from November 1, 2020, while Madam Justice Margaret Arlene Reifer will be elevated to the office of Justice of Appeal from December 1.

39. Reifer had a big turn out today as SGN turn out in huge numbers to show their support
    The blp is miffed and confused to all the attention he is getting
    Now all is waiting to see what is left at the bottom of the sewer for the blp gutter rats to throw at Reifer
    Btw nobody in the blp camp is pushing Moore’s candidacy any MORE
    Now all the blp ministers and rabble rousers talk about is Reifer
    MORE MOMENTUM FOR REIFER

40. Is Madam Justice Margaret Arlene Reifer related to Floyd Reifer ?

41. Masks and social distancing ? Cricketers immune to Covid 19 ?

https://www.nationnews.com/2020/10/10/bca-salutes-pride/

42. that Pat Cheltenham is the new CJ is no big news. i have posted this here long ago. when the CJ resigned Pat was all over Bim telling his women that he is the new CJ. i heard that he didnt even score the highest at the interview and a certain judge who was overlooked has been asked to help him through the job. the fix was in long time ago and the interview was only a charade to legitimise the process. friends and family is the BLP mantra

43. @Greene

What twiddleD see twiddleB do?

44. all the Reifers from St George are related. Margaret Reifer is from St George. she is the sister of Colin (murdered his wife) whom some BLP operative linked to Floyd as if to say he is related to a murderer.

now the said BLP has elevated Margaret. the Reifers, I heard, are mostly BLP. Margaret went to QC and is not particularly known for her jurisprudential prowess.

45. @David

true but please the BLP shouldnt try to pull the wool over the eyes of bajans

46. Reifer momentum have govt ministers and yardfowls supporters scratching the bottom of the barell.like gutter rats
    Shame shame
    Reifer response has shattered the Mia appeal that she believes that she has as a stronghold on the people
    Today the warmth and love showered on Reifer is reminiscent of the young Barrow days
    Win or lose he has a political career that awaits him

47. Mariposa all i have heard from Mr Reifer is the same repetitive thing unemployment and listenimg to the people.Finally a reporter asked him the obvious question what do you plan to do about the problems and as if surprised by tje question he started to stumble but did not say much.It is one thing to speak of problems it is another to solve them.Certainly shop crawls and gospel concerts are not the answer.This shows me the Dems ain, t ready just a lot of long talk and the use of social media which do not win elections.

48. Why did Johnny Cheltenham quit his post? Was he concerned about the optics of his position in the Senate and his brother being elevated to the post of CJ?

Rise Sir Pat, has two brothers ever been knighted in Bim?

Sorry forgot we on the path to being a Republic so knighthoods out de door (or should be).

49. @Greene October 10, 2020 6:32 PM “…all over Bim telling his women that he is the new…”

But he is a married man is he not? And I hear nuff, nuff talk about the highest integrity.

I spen’ too much time in Sunday School den?

50. the BLP used long talk and social media to help win the last election and still use long talk and a lot of it and social media to govern.

some of their supporters are now trying ‘gaslighting’