Submitted by Ziggy Greene

Voter annihilation
The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was wiped out in the 2018 general elections in Barbados. It lost all 30 seats that constitute the House of Assembly. So devastating was the defeat that the DLP won only one or two of individual constituency voting boxes. Previous strongholds of St John and St Lucy were swept away like coastal lands in a tsunami. Many pundits, political and otherwise, have prophesied, more in hope than serious thought, that the DLP is now dead and defunct. It is deceased they declare; it cannot rise again. Good riddance to bad rubbish was how one Barbados Labour Party supporter, a friend, framed it.

And so it seems after the election if one drove along George Street, Belleville, the headquarters of the DLP affected a forlorn and shabby appearance, a reflection of the state of the party. For weeks nothing was heard from former Cabinet Members. Not even from the former PM Freundel Stuart; he remained as silent after the loss as he had been during his leadership.

The show must go on
Nevertheless after sometime, an election for party leadership was held. It pitted Guy Hewitt, former UK High Commissioner from 2014-2018 against Verla De Peiza, a previous unsuccessful candidate for the party. Hewitt represented a break from the past and De Peiza a continuation thereof albeit one who was never in government. Without going into the reasons why, De Peiza won.

Can DePeiza make the DLP viable again?
That is question on the lips of party faithful and Barbadians who want to see a robust opposition. After two years in the leadership role it is difficult to tell if the question has been answered. What comes out of George Street is an amalgam of worn out political utterances and defensive statements that give no clue to the personal political underpinnings of Miss De Peiza or what a DLP Administration under her leadership would portend. There is no inkling on where she stands on the pressing issues that plagued Barbados, whether it is crime, social or economic concerns.

Every party suffers defeat
At some point a party will lose an election. At some point the political philosophies of a party will clash with the wishes of voters. Between 1932 and 1952 during and after the great depression, and the Second World War Americans favoured the Democratic Party for its social policies. Between 1980 and 1992 the Democratic Party was in opposition to the Republicans in presidential elections when Americans opted for the conservative policies of Ronald Reagan. At home, the DLP won 24-3 over the BLP in 1986. In 1999 the BLP defeated the DLP 26- 2 and in 2018 30-0.

It ought to be pointed that the Democratic Party in the US began life as a conservative party and the Republicans as more liberal per the America definitions of those terms. They flipped ideologies around the 1970s although it can be argued that the change started around 1932 when FDR instituted social and welfare reforms to combat the great depression. In Barbados, there is no defined political ideological demarcation between the DLP and the BLP. Demonstrably, political parties form and reform or reinvent themselves according to the philosophies of their leaders and members, and the voting tendencies of the public.

The DLP Party must reform
Without doubt it must. But how is that to be achieved? My advice would be to first apologise to the citizens of Barbados and to DLP members if there is a distinction or if such a specific apology is warranted. Sorry for not living up to expectations of those who voted for the DLP, Sorry for besmirching the values and name of Errol Walton Barrow and those who started the Party and carried its banner for many a year, Sorry for the failures of the past 8 or so years. Pledge that it would never be repeated. That would represent a break from the past and signal a new dispensation. One rightfully may argue that it may anger some members not least the old guard from the previous administration and that may be true. I say so what? But an apology is not the end all.

Political reform – a review
Jose Moroni in a 2009 paper about Brazilian politics considered the question of political reform and advanced seven basic but fundamental challenges, that any serious attempt at political reform must overcome.

There are to quote Maroni:-

• Male dominance: Any system of political, economic, industrial, financial, religious or social organization in which the vast majority of the senior positions in the hierarchy are held by men.
  • Patrimonialism: Political conduct on the part of dominant elites in the exercise of public government functions whereby public resources (of the State and/or its institutions) are appropriated as if they belonged to these elites.
  • Oligarchy: A form of government in which power is concentrated in the hands of a small number of individuals who are in many cases united by family ties or political connections, and who belong to privileged social classes. Typically, oligarchies tend to be dominated by men and to function in a patrimonialist way.
  • Nepotism: The practice of individuals in positions of executive power in the State apparatus granting favours by awarding jobs to their relatives.
  • Cronyism: The exchange of favours and mutual preferential treatment by individuals in executive positions in State structures and public services.
  • Personality cults: Creating cult status for individuals in the political sphere, which leads to the devaluation of political debate and the de-politicizing of conflicts.
  • Corruption: When individuals appropriate or re-allocate public resources for private ends and are able to act with impunity and maintain themselves in power. Another aspect of corruption is that it is a way of usurping the power that rightly belongs to the people.

For ease of reference, Moroni succinctly explains those challenges. To varying degrees and deferring terms, these are comparable issues that plagued Barbados.. Nevertheless this is by no means an exhaustive list. There are other issues like encouraging a more broad-based economy, debt and debt financing, the welfare state, civil service reform, crime, targeted free university education, technical and vocational schools or studies, same sex marriage, school zoning, legal reform, and single sex schools. Coterminously, there is the matter of in- house DLP recalibration surrounding attracting new members, candidate selection restructuring, and maintenance of party headquarters.

Back to Moroni
Addressing the political scene in Brazil, Moroni offers up more incisive guidance for reform, which on examination has exogenous appeal. He advises reformers to-

1. Strengthen direct democracy;
  2. Strengthen participative democracy;
  3. Improve representative democracy (the electoral system and political parties);
  4. Democratize information and communications;
  5. Democratize the judicial system

How germane, given what has been trending in Barbados. The President of the Senate recently resigned and has been replaced by a party insider, with no reason given for the particular appointment. The Chief Justice has retired and advertisement for a replacement has been broadcasted. Despite that, critics are confident that a party affiliate is a surety for the post.

And with the recent Throne Speech and the intent of the Government to implement measures towards same sex civil unions and republicanism, there has been some furore over whether Government should proceed unilaterally in the case of becoming a Republic or by way of referendum, as it has for same sex marriage notwithstanding the civil union stop gap.

Such political angst is ubiquitous in democratic forms of government but there are lesson to be learnt here for the DLP. Changes are not easy. They are disruptive and divisive, but they are inevitable.

My Advice to DePeiza
Scrutinize these political reforms posited by Maroni. Juxtapose them against the political landscape of Barbados and your ideals for the DLP. In detail, pen how you would realign the political principles of the DLP taking into account this framework. Promulgate it to the public along with any other reforms that you deem necessary under the circumstances.

Above all, mean it, and demonstrate that you do. We must know where you stand. We must know where you intend to take us and above all we must believe you. You may not win the next election and you may not win any election but you would have propelled the DLP into the future and perhaps ensure its existence.

262 responses to “Reform or Die”

1. Man, I cannot understand how you can write something like this and Lorenzo called you a ‘D’. You sharing licks, left right and center.

“The real apology should come from both the BLP and DLP for their collective failure to transform this country after over a half century of leadership and we are still driving on bad roads; can’t get water; blacks still at the lowest ends of economic power; an archaic education system ; black workers still earning less than $300 per week; paying consultants millions of dollars ;
    After more than a half century of independence we jump for joy when we buy a new bus or a frigging garbage truck! Poor people waiting years for medical treatment at the QEH and somehow we behave as if every single problem was created in the so called lost decade drivel. ”

It seems as if his cataloguing system only has two categories ” we and thee (D)”

2. WS
    i vehemently disagree. Aside from Stephen Lashley and Sealy i see no other former MPs that deserve or would inspire anyone to vote for them. that is not to say that they should not play a part but that part is not standing as a candidate. they were defeated for a reason.

the persons you cited re Tom are not in the same boat as these ex MPs. rightfully or wrongfully there is a stench associated with them. it is best that they ride off into the sunset and let the party revive itself with new front line candidates whilst they work in the background on in house matters and how not to do it our way warnings

3. Wuhloss…
    Can you imagine a man whooping your butt, having you in a death grip and telling you to ask another man for an apology.

4. David

We have no interest is a mass uprising in an attempt to influence your “policymakers”.

The aim should be for the masses to be the policymakers, period. You hold too much loyalty to the status quo in spite of its recurring failures.

5. @ William

Sadly, there is an arrogance of youth.

6. David don’t count yuh chickens just yet
    Remember the blp promised better
    The people as of yet to see a better that adds and not subtract to their pocket books
    Buses and garbage trucks although necessary does not add to peoples pocket books
    However people would with earnest look at jobs .taxes and fees along with productivity
    If the govt can overcome such hurdles then govt have a chance
    Until then the new flying and spinning horse let out of the stable having wings spotlighted with glorious appeal from govt next winning would be shot down with glad delight by the numerous dlp supporters who stay home last election

7. The BLP propaganda machine has done a fantastic job of selling to members of the DLP.

It must amuse them when they hear DLP members embrace the BLP spin and repeat it word for word as if it is gospel.

Verla and company must identify and resist this bunch of cuckoos. Let their advice blow in the wind; don’t let them pick your candidates.

8. David

The blogmaster did not see a lot of things. Throughout the world discontent is rife. Barbados is always subject to time lags. It will soon be reaching these shores. Stay tuned!

9. change is inevitable so embrace it and get ahead of it or you will be swept away. the choice is the DLP’s. change does not mean you are ashamed of you past it is the acceptance of the presence

10. Agree, the blogmaster never pretended to be Nostradamus. We need practical approaches.

11. change does not mean you are ashamed of you past it is the acceptance of the present

12. Let them go to hell with their big pharma opiods, it’s just as poisonous as the spread of political colonial poisons that have no place in this new realm.many of us were born with the spiritual sense that something was not right, we are seeing that our instincts were on point as Miller, Pacha and others have been saying for years.

https://youtu.be/wZu9oVbZzLs

13. @ac

You need to untether yourself from the partisan anchor. Only then can true learning flow.

14. Cant want for the next election to come to hear what excuse the BU DLPite come up with for another 0 seats .

Fuh the talk bout hiring consultants from outside instead of locals.

BWA, TB, QEH . under DLP

15. Do not envision the old hands becoming mainstream in the frontline of the dlp
    However saying that any reservoir of knowledge that can be applied to the party should be extinguished is foolhardy
    Some reflects on 30-0 but forgets that the blp had a ten year stint in the wilderness and within those ten years was division
    They lick they wounds dust themselves off returned with a Opposition leader who was not trusted amongst their own and who OSA openly stated outside of parliament was egomaniacal driven with gimmickry
    Yet the people turned deaf years to those criticism and elected her
    If the blp with all warts and hatred within the party can revived itself so can the dlp
    Barbadians after time would forgive just in like manner they forgave the blp for all mistakes done in 14years

16. I forgot. Bim is part of trini so theem cant be from outside

17. David as u know i have told you over and over
    Have never been in close proximity to the the party members or any supporter
    Never seen the inside of George st
    Just an observer placing my opinion on issues that matter to the bajan household
    Past govt lost because they let the blp carry a narrative of lies and deceit
    Just take a look at present govt policies some of what is a clear reflection of policies taking from past govt only on a more devastating level for the people

18. @ac

You protest too much.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, your assertion that political parties are “private clubs’ is one of your provocative remarks … this is not a new thesis but its inherent upside-downness would suggest an absurdity … you are technically right as these parties are principally consisted of a group of dues paying members but practically they are vast numbers of ‘free loading’ non-paying public members who fanatically embrace their ‘membership’ to the party continually and the those who link ‘membership’ to the party as they see fit and very much affect they activities of those who actually pay dues! A strange type of ‘private party’ surely!

But a political party is really a “nonentity” in country governance… there is no such entity established by constitutional direction as far as I know … in fact our document says that the person who has the support of a majority of elected members is the PM … nothing about being the leader of an ‘party’.

In short, they are private parties in format only but absolutely otherwise very public in practice!

This review of the DLP is understandable but relatively boring for anyone not a devout member- due paying or otherwise – on the party.

It’s much more interesting to examine the ABSOLUTE control Ms Mottley has enforced over HER party and preview what this presages for them: what will be the comeuppance from her nepotistic, cronyistic reign. She now gets to set an agenda in Bim for a generation or more with a new CJ and ‘President’. Talking the late PM Arthur at his warning about this lady never ascending to the PM post one can surmise that we have dark days ahead …regardless of what this moribund DLP do or don’t do.

@Skinner, in that regard and more I completely agree with your 7:32 above!

Maybe its merely semantics but political parties […] reform or reinvent themselves according to the philosophies of the voting tendencies of the public, who drive the selection of their members and thus the philosophies of their leaders NOT the other way around!

A populist leader DEVELOPES his/her rhetoric from the popular discontent/trending narratives … and grows their popularity by whipping those sentiments into a cohesive populist appeal… Grantly Adams did it for the disenfranchised of his day and his ‘nemesis’ Barrow outdid him by driving the popular independent message !

20. The published essays would provide me with much mirth.

I have no interest in DLP affairs. If the DLP dies, it dies. What is there about a party to love? When it serves no good purpose it should die.

Next!

21. @Dee Word

What are you smoking this morning? Then again tampie is probably legal in your neck of the woods. The comment about political parties being private clubs is a fact if you take the context it was made. The blogmaster cannot vote no to George next weekend because? The fact that decisions taken by this private club has implications for the country has always been the topic of heated discussion in this forum.

22. what goes up must come down. bust almost always follows boom. winning hides cracks until a chasm is formed. at some point there will be a day of reckoning for the BLP.

23. @Greene

This is the issue, opposition parties win by default usually and not because of any progressive policies discussed on the campaign.

24. David

We would agree with you characterization, party as private club. If we would not have some much more powerful than the many.

Even Barbados, like most other places, was founded as somebody’s private corporation.

And they are links.

25. I am still waiting to hear from Greene, Skinner or Mariposa who running for the Dems in SGN .The lotta long talk ain, t cutting it.Perhaps Rev Atherley can send Mr Franklyn to see if he has as much clout as his BU supporters think.

26. greene yes

but on todays political landscape that day seems like at least 15 years away from last election .

27. Why 15 years?

Because of the pass and present disfunction of the traditional “main” opposition party

28. Lorenzo
    Why yuh want to know yuh sound frighten

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It would also be ridiculous if the old stalwarts of the DLP turn out to be the likes of:
    Chris SInckler
    Michael Carrington
    Dennis ‘the Low’ Lowe
    Freundel Stuart
    Michael Lashley et al.

What the DLP did while in power pushed Barbados to the brink and made them infamous. To remove that dark stain, every single one of them, including Verla, must go. There can be nothing gain from going back to recycle waste or reusing garbage. That is how the SSS feels about a party she once supported.

I think that Mottley is cognizant that most Barbadians are not that easily duped like before. Perhaps, under the current crisis, cornbeef and biscuits will feature prominently to reel any dissenters back in, but for the most part, there is a feeling that protest against injustices are growing and tolerance over political skulduggery is thinner than it ever was before. We saw that played out in the 30 love beating. If Mottley continues to operate impulsively and in contradiction to the things she promise, what few things that she has established to fan the flames of her legacy-beginnings will be foist into the background as the whipping she will get in the next called elections, will feature far more prominently than the few things she achieved with her oratorical skills. But, the SSS has still given her the benefit of the doubt, only on the basis that she inherited a crisis and went into a pandemic, none of which was of her making. However, her republic move is very much in tune with her Father-Knighthood move. That is because both of these things are/were done in the midst of pain, suffering and crisis and whereas he was honoured by her, it looks very much like she is tring to honour herself with another act of haste.. It really does come over as self indulgence, self gratification and personal aggrandisement above the needs of what is bothering Barbados at this time.

30. Reading the tea leaves

2023: The dead DLP versus the half-dead BLP.

For the first time in decades, it is not a choice of two evils, it’s …..
    A choice of two zombies… Dead or dictatorial.

31. @SSS

An interesting two years ahead. We must continue to raise awareness about the real issues among the citizenry. Change will not come from the partisans, it must come from those with eyes to see see.

32. at some point her chickens will come home to roost or roast as the case may be. Flowery long talk can only obfuscate and bamboozle for a while. every crisis faced cannot be located in last decade. sooner or later the public is going to ask where is the beef?

it is not like we dont MAM. she spent 14 years at a Cabinet member. and 10 as opposition leader de facto or de jure. you cant hope for a civil union stop gap all the time at some point single sex marriage will come into play

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster, alas the same thing I have smoked in recent months … is a nice smooth blend I got outta Costa Rica some years back actually .. it perks me up well😎 : a strong coffee smoke, bro!

I did accept the “fact” of the private club as TECHNICALY true … you apparently refuse to accept the fact that we the public will most definitely get involved and can vote NO to “George” when he COMES to us!

Ease off the pre fancy theory, bro… a political party is a private club in pretty name ONLY! … They are moved by public sentiment of the electorate .. thus there is ABSOLUTELY no way that George Pilgrim could lead a DLP into an election … as said previously, this party conference leadership tussle has NADA to do with who may or may not be at the helm in next three years.

Come 2024 I say bluntly the DLP will be very focused on what the ELECTORATE think about whom they elect to lead their party… our non-member vote will be very, very persuasive …Just saying!

… those private club leaders come from within the society and are moved and deeply influenced by societal needs and desires … “the fact that decisions taken by this private club has implications for the country” is therefore IMPLICIT and practical because those decisions are DRIVEN by us .. When you focus on their *:PRIVATE” decisions you are actually speaking of the ‘CORRUPTION: nepotism, cronyism, greed et al that sets in!

Thus I laughed when I read: “We have no interest is a mass uprising in an attempt to influence your “policymakers”[…] The aim should be for the masses to be the policymakers, period.”

Didn’t we grasp the reality of that remark from George Orwell’s ‘Animal Farm’! Seriously we perceive that in 2020 some 75 years later that we have finally found a remedy to “recidivism” 😎🤣 Fah trute!

34. David

Are we not nearing the end of practical approaches. It is your practical approaches landing us here in the first place .

35. @Dee Word

Recommend you change the brew.

The argument from the blogmaster is how do we democratize the process at the door step of the private club before it shows at the national door step.

36. “only on the basis that she inherited a crisis and went into a pandemic, none of which was of her making. ”

ahhh..but Karma and Retribution are MARCHING on the EARTH….and BOTH are WELL DESERVED.

37. @ David
    You have a singular purpose and you are entitled to your position. I don’t know if any political party that would unleash thirty new candidates including a leader who has contested and failed to win a seat.
    I can tell you from experience back in 1991, that most people believed if the NDP had about ten experienced candidates, it would have done better. First many of our candidates were actually unfamiliar with the boxes and so on ; there is need for actually understanding several other factors. All of this talk about the DLP abandoning candidates who were successful before is pure pie in the sky crap. It serves the BLP narrative and politically backward DLPs are buying into foolishness.
    Of course , you remain a formidable apologist and obstructionist and these days I figure that @Pacha is either trying to give you tutorials or is merely humoring you with the long hops he keeps bowling you .
    I don’t have a dog in this fight but as one who was slaughtered at the polls, I can tell you that the best mix for the DLP is at least ten former candidates in the mix otherwise the campaign will flop before it starts.
    As for the BLP the very worst outcome will be losing between five and eight seats next time and even that will depend on whether other third parties gather momentum.
    In other words it is quite possible for the BLP to repeat a 30-0. However we all know that a day in politics is a life time.
    In the meantime you should try to hit as many of @Pachas long hops for six because sooner or later he will begin to unleash his most vicious balls. I myself have been bowled a few over the years.
    A word to the wise.

38. @William

Which of the loosing candidates you believe can add value? Some have offered Stephen Lashley and Richard Sealy. The blogmaster stated Lowe, Jones and a few others bring too much baggage. Do you observe Mottley is already jettisoning baggage. Forget the generalizations, be specific,

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL…@David that argument re “The argument from the blogmaster is how do we democratize the process at the door step of the private club before it shows at the national door step.” is a fallacy of profound impracticality!

So when you figure that out in your super improved method please immediately proceed to a patent lawyer and set the foundation for your next round of millions!

As far as I know and can determine the process is already perfectly “democratized” … anyone can start a political movement, anyone can contest a position in any established political party and we have full control to reject ANY political member !

What exactly and realistically and practically do you want changed at the “door step”… remember it was true that *”All animals are equal” until it became ‘truer’ that, *”All animals are equal, ***but some animals are more equal than others.”***! 🤷‍♂️

I gone, bro!

40. Reform! Reform! Reform! Is the new buzz word, never have I ever heard a politician utter the words “we are going to maintain the status quo”. It’s simple the BLP is in the ascension and the DLP is going the other way; the BLP is led by a leader who is adept at garnering attention from the International media while the DLP has a leader who can scarcely get any attention from the local media. The BLP has a leader who can turn negative into positive e.g. when the backlash about discrimination against gays raised its head following the Barbados Stamp initiative quickly introduced the notion of Civil unions for same sex partners; similarly, when locals protested against the Nelson statue the leader one upped the protestors by announcing the Gov’t is going Republic or bust.

If we look at the climate today the DLP can expect some time in the wilderness that time can be prolonged if they select the wrong person to head the Party but Gov’ts rise and fall and even popular Gov’ts overreach and the DLP should remain ready to take advantage of any arrogance that rears its head. It also has to attract a young cadre of members who can be standard bearer for the Party a daunting proposition in a small island like Barbados where public alliance to a political party not in power can derail careers.

What do the people want? They want a Gov’t that will provide good and efficient health care; they want their children to have access to good quality education; they want them to be able to find jobs when they complete that education; they want efficient garbage collection; they want to know that their homes are secure and that the Police will respond swiftly if that security is breached; they want an efficient Justice system that will enforce the laws and provide swift justice to those that contravene them and they want to know when they turn on the taps that water will flow;

its all bread and butter issues not pie in the sky in the name of “Reform”.

41. Mariposa you got to be joking. I know you are not the brightest bulb on here but me afraid?Pray tell me what i should be afraid of the iny view Dead Labour Party?I am hoping you send a proper person to represent the party if need be and certainly not Ms Depeiza or Mr Pilgrim if you hope to be sucessful and get at least one seat in parliament.As for Gazzerts stating that Skinner sharing licks left and right that is to impress political simpletons like you.Mr Skinner was under Dr Haynes a master of optics and Skinner has learned the art well.Notice how as soon as the Dems are criticized he rushes on and tries to steer the conversation to both parties to drag the BLP into it to divert attention away from the Dems.I have been around politics too long for him to pull wool over my eyes.

42. @ David
    I don’t have any names. However, if any political party canvasses a constituency and discovers there is still widespread support for a candidate who was once beaten , it would be fool hardy not to consider that candidate rather than bring a new inexperienced one.
    This goes for any party. Like I said, I don’t have a dog in this fight. Quite frankly , I am hoping that Atherley can make a mark. I repose no confidence in the BLPDLP.

43. Skinner

Contextualize or quote just one _ one long hop.

44. The author misses a few things. The most important, is that no apology is needed from the DLP.

What is needed is one of two things. Either the old party MPs’ who lost seats in the last election, resign membership of the party and walk away, OR Ms.Depeiza throws them out of the party.

There will be no moving forward unless either of these two actions are taken. As to Ms.Depeiza’s leadership, that has now been tainted with the support of the prior PM Stuart. She needed to distance herself from that old guard, rather than be seen to be a continuation of it.

Should have gone to Mr.Hewitt, who then should have politely asked them all to resign from the party. Unfortunately, as the post above re Jones shows, that is not going to happen.

Might not be 30-0 next time, but for sure they will not win the next election, they will lose by a significant margin.

45. When one hear present govt advocating ideas of rebuilding the dlp
    All which should be said is be weary of govt bearing gifts
    Present govt is aware of the hell hole of economic stagnation which country is having
    Present govt is aware of the hell hole of the social environment which stares them in the face
    Present govt took a giant leap in explaining to barbadians that same sex unions in Barbados must be tolerated under the guise that barbadians must fall in line with international standards and not be seen and ridicule as being racist or an intolerant society
    Meanwhile govt did not have a presence of mind built with an understanding that according to judea christain teachings they are morals which build and transformed a country and same sex unions are not one of them
    Present govt after scolding barbadians on racist implications simply forgot that barbados justice syatems carries the badge equal to that of any other country which belives that black lives does not matter
    Hence barbados govt made a decision to decriminalize weed while sending a message that those caught smoking out of restricted areas would have two options
    Both of which most likely would place parents or guardians of children in jail or take money out of the household
    This govt attempt to appease a segment of its voting block all but put hurdles in the family structure without a thought given to decimating

46. Skinner

We have also noticed that full tosses are bowled by you constantly.

Atterley is a member of the blp/dlp duopoly. You profess not to support but would like him to make a mark. Don’t you see stark contradictions therein.

You have elsewhere said the opposite about this writer. Pertaining to our writings. However, we are least interested in what anyone thinks of what and how we think and are as anarchist.

47. Old dogs? Sealy is the only on who has anything to bark about
    Youngster for the future / untainted by the lost decade group? Kemar

IMO DEM two i would build around

48. as richie was also part of the duopoly

49. @ Lorenzo
    “ As for Gazzerts stating that Skinner sharing licks left and right that is to impress political simpletons like you.Mr Skinner was under Dr Haynes a master of optics and Skinner has learned the art well.Notice how as soon as the Dems are criticized he rushes on and tries to steer the conversation to both parties to drag the BLP into it to divert attention away from the Dems.I have been around politics too long for him to pull wool over my eyes.”

You have made my day ! I assure you that I am not that brilliant. To quote a famous somebody: “ I merely call them as I see them.”
    As you have so often reminded me , I tried and lost my deposit. I assure you that if I were that brilliant, I’ll be now into my 29th year in the House.
    Look around you : Ian Edghilll, Comrade Prescod and Rommel Marshall made it after leaving the NDP to join your great party. They now have the pleasure of serving under the greatest Prime Minister we have ever had.At long last we have a powerful world leader. Foolish me was invited to join the Bees and I said no thanks.
    However thanks for a rare compliment from you. Continue to enjoy your Sunday. You are certainly a bigger comedian than I once thought.

50. Two articles in two week.
    Someone is using some good CPR on DEM just before the AGM. Good ploy Greenie – seriously – good thinking