As the 65th Annual Conference of the Democratic Labour Party nears, it is appropriate to examine that disastrous political party, which I shall do in a series of articles.
The Dems have faced an existential challenge since the death of its most beloved leader, E.W. Barrow. That the DLP has failed to build up a sustainable political movement after this tragic event, is perhaps best seen in the fact that the DLP’s list of notable achievements as a government seems to stop in 1976. Let us set aside the fact that the Democratic Labour Party has had two failed administrations since 1986, and that their last dispensation was particularly awful, and that to this day in 2020, they remain bankrupt of ideas and inspiring leadership. Let us look, presently, instead at the DLP’s paltry electoral performance since 1991 to illustrate the deep hole which the Dems have found themselves in, long before their much-deserved rout in 2018. [Note: the analysis which follows does not include the 2018 election, which is clearly a remarkable statistical outlier].
Since 1991, there have been six elections, three of which the DLP have won. However, a closer examination reveals something more interesting. In 1991 (with historically low turnout), a mere 1,075 votes gave the DLP another term in office. Similarly, in 2013, had two seats or 164 votes swung the other way, Barbados might have been saved the peril of the 2013-18 period. The post-1991 period simply has not been the DLP’s “golden era”, to put it mildly.
While the national picture is bad enough, a microanalysis at the constituency level reveals a party which simply has not created or maintained a solid, winning support base, even though the DLP is said to have more grassroots supporters than the BLP.
St Michael East is a somewhat marginal seat, however the Dems have done little to translate Joe Tudor’s commanding lead in 1991 and ‘94 into enduring success.
Where the BLP has been able to pull off substantial margins when they have won St Michael West Central (when you remove 1994), the DLP has not achieved anything more than a 4% margin of victory, since Wes Hall in 1991.
In reliable constituencies, they fare no better.
In St Michael West, after Branford Taitt, the DLP has not risen above 53% of the vote share at any time.
In St Philip South, since 1991, the Dems have won the seat four times, but have never made it back to 1991 levels, in terms of vote share.
St Michael South Central is much the same. The BLP has only won the seat once at its highest tide (again excluding 2018). However, since 1991, the DLP has not risen above 54% of the vote share in any election
In St Lucy, apart from 2008, there has been no significant expansion in vote share for the DLP, beginning and ending the period with 53/54%
Not only is the DLP not entrenching themselves in ‘safe’ and DLP leaning seats. They have also failed to make any tangible inroads in areas that are historically unfriendly to them, making it much harder for them to ever hope to turn those seats into DLP seats.
Apart from Byer-Suckoo’s win in 2008 in St George South, the Dems have remained consistently under 44% of the vote share since 1991.
In St James North between 1991 and 2013, DLP vote share fluctuated but ultimately returned in 2013 to the 1991 level of 45% showing little long-term growth.
The DLP faces a tough road ahead and will almost certainly remain in Opposition for quite a while to come. To get through the rough times, you should have a reserve store to fall back on. A mixture of terrible candidate selection and bad governance since 1991 has made that store remarkably thin, even without considering 2018 and the disastrous mouthings of their members and leadership since then.
Can they survive this time in the wilderness? Probably. It would be politically immature to count them out just yet. But certainly, if not dead, the Democratic Labour Party is, now and for the foreseeable future, comatose. Considering that Barbadians live better and Barbados functions better when the DLP is out of office, their time in the wilderness is for the best. Next, we delve into the quality of their performance, in and out, of government.
Yes, 2013 was close. You did leave out a key piece of what turned that election. That second term, the DLP atrocious mismanagement pushed the economy much further into the gutter, under Stuart. They would not have won but for Arthur going after Mottley in the run up to the election. A lot of people will remember that clearly.
Worst thing that he could have done.
@Khaleel
You should avoid expressing glee at the DLP struggling in the guava season. There was a time there were 3 blind mice.
A well- known partisan supporter of the BLP deliver an opinion piece disguised as an impartial analysis on the state of the DLP. I suggest that it fails the objective test ah mean he shows his true colours with the title of the submission…..
Rise Beresford Leon Padmore…..
@ Koochie Koo,
De ole man recognizes the purpose of this article at this Preliminary Stage of Preparations for the General Elections.
You have been tasked to get a gauge of the receptivity of the BU population for the Democratic Labour Party
I, Piece the Prophet, pray dat Barbadians DO NOT LET any candidate who was an MP during the last 10 years of the David Thompson or Freundel Stuart led administration BACK INT THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY!
Nor that egomaniac Grenville Phillips aka Bedroom Police!
This blog of yours is going to descend into the usual mudslinging for several hundred entries
But de ole man hopes that people can rise above that and say what the characteristics of their representatives should be AND HOW THEY ARE GOING TO MAKE SURE THIS IS WHAT BARBADOS GETS!
Until then, I Piece the Prophet expects this to be the same old same old!
I would have more respect for you Koochie Koo if in all the faeces that will follow you guide the conversation to how Bajans can change our political arena and upgrade it AS OPPOSED TO FOLLOWING THE SAME SET OF BLP AND DLP INCOMPETENTS!
One can reasonably assume we will not have a snap General Election. Several promises were made in the throne speech and as Tennyson Joseph opined in his recent column, MAM will pay a political pride if she does not deliver.
What are you suggesting? The political directorate are fiddling while Barbados is burning?
No David,
I am trying to distract the young BLP operative with eye candy. lol
David 5:09
There can be no delivery on the manifesto pledges by the admission of the regime itself
And if you were to have your way no price will be paid, based on your previous defenses of the regime.
Why would the bar be any higher for these new litany by which the GG was so abused.
The truth is that not even these new promises will be kept.
@Pacha
To repeat, there is a high expectation from general public. The BLP will create a foothold for the opposition if it reneges on the promises. With significant political stock, why risk it?
@Pacha
On a serious note- the list of candidates the DLP present on the 27 September will be an indication how serious the party has taken onboard reform.
You grossly underestimate the malevolence of the political animal. How many times must they fool you?
Not me Pacha, general public.
What general public?
The people are fickle and can be easily swayed one way or the other. They are of little consequence in these calculations.
Further, are you not fronting their perceived position.
In any event the duopoly covers for itself and will resurrect the Dems to pretend to hold an alternative, an answer to built-in factional limits
@Pacha
BU’s target is the political directorate, we are not mass.
David, again
DLP candidates list hold no importance.
We know already that no party has had more than 2 or 3 sensible candidates.
Can they survive this time in the wilderness? Probably. It would be politically immature to count them out just yet. But certainly, if not dead, the Democratic Labour Party is, now and for the foreseeable future, comatose. (Unquote).
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
What you are trying to say is that the DLP has lost its soul.
The wicked deeds and deals of David T. brought an evil curse over the Dems.
Maybe a séance to awaken the spirit of Errol Barrow is needed to rekindle the flame of the ‘real’ DLP.
BTW, didn’t a recently ‘passed’ soul say the same thing about the BLP which- like Macbeth on ‘seeing’ the ghost of Banquo- would soon have its date with the ghost of Abijah?
“Then comes my fit again: I had else been perfect,
Whole as the marble, founded as the rock,
As broad and general as the casing air:
But now I am cabin’d, cribb’d, confined, bound in
To saucy doubts and fears. But Banquo’s safe?”
Dead @ Deceased Labour Party! 🤣🤣🤣🤣
PM tells Australia the time to become Republic is now
https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/17/pm-tells-australia-the-time-to-become-republic-is-now/
What snap election what. The government has over 2.5 years before an election is due. Garbage trucks and buses have been bought; Fairchild Street Market in progress; Spring Garden Market done; roads in St.Joseph, St Andrew etc getting fixed; NHC selling land and about to cut up land at Chancery Lane and other locations to make available to ‘key workers’ in the public service at $12/sq ft; people gine get wuk to clean, signage etc ( I wish the government would include the introduction of named bus stops in this exercise); wuk and modernising the tourism plant (RE, sustainable drainage, efficient payment systems, techno-centred rooms etc); record number of schools being repaired; agriculture doing better and to be expanded and be tech-oriented; full scale move to make RE more accessible, with a Green Park; new industrial policy focused on repurposing the industrial parks (industrial use is not just manufacturing clothes and macaroni); the airport (tourism is not dead as I kept saying nor is logistics, in fact new opportunities have emerged); weed industry; and continued digitisation of govt processes etc. More importantly, WATER. I doubt the government will call a snap election before the water woes in St.John, St.Joseph and Barbados as a whole are resolved or significantly improved. Look at the activity around Vineyard and getting water to northeastern parishes. IL and participatory governance via the People’s Assemblies seem likely too. Just imagine if we had not done the debt restructure and IMF programme? MAM makes hard decisions–look at the controversial issues the government is willing to and have tackled in 2 years? Stuart and crew had 10years…apart from the ERT is known for 20+ downgrades. All yuh mind Hal and the gaslighters. Good luck to Verla/George, Joe, Grenville et al……I sense more licks! If yuh doubt me read the Bishop and Verla’s reaction to the Throne Speech and their BU operatives. Question if in 2020 you have a throne speech mid-term will it not include elements of your manifesto promises, what you have accomplished and new initiatives based on Covid? The latest is nonsense about the GG being forced to read a speech.🤣🤣
@enuff
The talk about a snap election had to be addressed based on comments out there by some pundits.
Enuff
you forget the completion of DT clinic 🙂
The BLP was in opposition from 1961-1976. They won back the government.
The DLP was in opposition from 1994-2008.They won back the government.
I once heard that Errol Barrow was unbeatable.
I once heard that Owen Arthur was unbeatable.
I am now hearing that Mia Mottley is unbeatable.
I was told the BLP came back after only having 3 seats.
I was told the DLP came back from 2 seats.
I am now being told that the DLP cannot come back from 0 seats
I once heard that Tom Adams will never be Prime Minister
Then I heard David Thompson will never be a Prime Minister
Then I heard Mia Mottley will never be Prime Minister
Nobody ever expected Freundel Stuart to be Prime Minister
I was told all of these things. Then I discovered that they actually happened.
I was told that my generation grew up stupid under the Union Jack.
Now I am being told that the current generation is growing up ignorant under the Broken Trident.
A man once told me : Make sure the brain is engaged before you put your mouth in gear.Back then every body was driving manual cars. Today ignorance seems to be automatically driven. We don’t balance clutches anymore. Foot on gas and brugadong!
Unfortunately, the DLP will come back into power one day. Maybe even with Big Sinckor the American Don as PM.
Our people are simply not intelligent enough to permanently vote for BLP.
Enuff you gine kill them with facts.Look who come talking after your list of achievements one William Skinner a so called neutral.I wonder why every time someone praises this government he appears with a lot of long talk? It confirms my view that he is a Dem and always was.Although some of what he says are true he speaking like a political heavyweight not like someone who lost his deposit in 1991.Let him refute the facts you brought Enuff and then tell us who in their right mind wants to see the return of his dems in under 15 years led by either of the two losers.Especially if the ecomomy rebounds like it was before covid 19.
Piece the ProphetSeptember 17, 2020 4:55 PM Well said.
EnuffSeptember 17, 2020 8:40 PM Agree with much there. Obviously there are a few agents sprouting on BU, criticising MIA, despite her having only two years thus far to pull the country back from the brink of total disaster, with the last six months being impacted by the worst world event since the second world war.
Some even claim to be impartial, but one can easily see their colors. 100% right on her making tough decisions, as opposed to the pretence (yes, pretence, that is how snakes work) of being asleep, no communication and having other ministers do the dirty work, as a prior person did. Managed to fool most that he was asleep, but was simply a snake.
MIA has achieved much in two years and hopefully will have another seven to continue bringing Barbados back into some semblance of viability.
EnuffSeptember 17, 2020 8:40 PM
I doubt the government will call a snap election before the water woes in St.John, St.Joseph and Barbados as a whole are resolved or significantly improved. Look at the activity around Vineyard and getting water to northeastern parishes.
From lammy to sammy!!
In the drought years, besides problems in St. John and St. Joseph there will in all likelihood be problems in St. Philip and Christ Church as well.
If they wait for a drought year they are, by your logic, toast
Then again, we might never have another election!!
For the moment, falling Pacific temperatures will probably get them through next year.
CrusoeSeptember 17, 2020 12:44 PM
Yes, 2013 was close. You did leave out a key piece of what turned that election. That second term, the DLP atrocious mismanagement pushed the economy much further into the gutter, under Stuart. They would not have won but for Arthur going after Mottley in the run up to the election. A lot of people will remember that clearly.
Worst thing that he could have done.
Truer words have never been spoken.
Bajans vote out governments and in 2013, the DLP should have been voted out.
O$A ensured his party lost with the result that the natural cycle was broken.
Imagine, we got 5 years of Freundel instead, … just to avoid O$A!!
Time is fast approaching when unless the elections are managed by the PIP, the zeroes of the two major parties will be gone.
Their only way back will be if the new lot are also a bunch of zeroes too.
Grenville better get his troops ready!!
Notwithstanding that Greene is correct in concluding that both parties have failed to live up to expectations over the years, I have to agree with Enuff that the criticism of this Mottley administration is overdone. I do not agree with everything she does and errors have been made and strange bedfellows and large political manoeuvres have been made cabinetwise but I see improvements in many areas.
I may be proven wrong but I think she is trying. She will not get everything done and she will not get everything right and we may have to “bless” her sometimes but I am giving her a chance.
I gave her my vote and I am watching her.
P.S. Enuff forgot to mention the speeding up of the court system.
Wuhnuh could call me sheeple, shit eater, Kool aid drinker or whatever wuhnuh like and try to convince me that I live in an unbearable hellhole now but I do not see dictatorship, doom and gloom ahead. I do see struggle because life is a struggle. I am too old to believe in the fairy tale happily ever after ending. The struggles of life never end.
As usual, I don’t see devils and demons but flawed human beings who need us to keep them on the straight and narrow. That is democracy – the worst system except for all the rest.
There is much in Barbados that needs fixing. We all have to play our part. I still wake up most mornings thankful to be living here. “The road [will be long] with many a winding turn…”
That is the human condition.
@Enuff
“look at the controversial issues the government is willing to and have tackled in 2 years”
Can we look at how many controversial issues they have had to reverse?
@KK
” It would be politically immature to count them out just yet.”
Honesty is the best policy.
With 29-1 there is no need for a snap election. MAM has the next one in the bag. The question is, what narrative will be spun post-Covid.
Just observing
Ha ha ha! This is the longest time I have been off Lorenzo’s list. I just earned myself another day.
DonnaSeptember 18, 2020 2:30 AM
Good balanced thought. Have a great day.
All that Mia has achieved was all about Mia
Nuff publicity on the international stage
However for those wesring blinders there are enough warts showing on her backside that mainstream media including BU refuse to reveal
The public would not be distracted by the noise of Republic but will be keen in asking govt about those issues that govern their pocket books
@ Donna, et al
The problem here is that sustained pressure from the broader society and some here, myself included, resulted in the deserved demise of the DLP at the last elections.
All the talk was about corruption and a lack of transparency of the then administration. After two years of the other part of the twin, we call the BLP, we notice a lack of transparency to date. You and others would note, that to date , no reason has been given as to why the COVID Czar, Carter, is no longer functioning in that capacity.
It is also noted that several policy statements and legislation have been “ walked back; these include the decision to abolish the 11 plus, that I have supported, since the mid 70s and the recent bungling of the Integrity Legislation. We note that it took Senator Franklyn to publicly undress two QCs (Mottley and Marshall) regarding the Assistant Commish of Police fiasco. Now, he is again exposing how the administration is attempting to fool hotel workers about their severance payments. Just this morning in the news, the hoteliers are saying they have to look at BEST that was announced as a fait acompli in the recent Throne Speech. In other words a policy was announced that apparently those for whom it is meant, now have to look at it.
Nobody , in their right mind , would question the great job , that the current administration has done with the COVID-19 crisis. Those who are not hypocrites on BU, would confirm, that I refused to contribute any criticism of the Mottley government , when the dangers of my country being threatened by the virus were clear. One kool aid BLP drinker , even wrote on BU, that he had found “respect” for somebody called William Skinner!
The problem is that there are political jokers on BU, who cannot accept that there are genuine Barbadians at home and abroad, who actually love their country. Anybody who has lived overseas, knows that far from wanting to destroy ones country, it gives you a better appreciation, of how far we have come with little resources. Your passion for seeing your country do better actually increases.
So, to all those kool aid drinkers and apologists , who think that they are going to get away by silly posts and embarrassingly written nonsense and that one Mia Amor Mottley , is going to bluff her way beyond criticism, let them be now served that the honeymoon is over and that the pen will be as sharp as it was for Barrow when he brought the Public Order Act; for Arthur when he attempted to sell out Barbados by making deals like the Marina where Barbadians have been treated to the indignity of having to wait on a bridge to close so that luxury yachts can have access to their owners multi-million dollar condos and one Freundel Stuart who along with a pack of idiots almost ruined the country.
Let them know the party now start and if for one moment they feel that the Duopoly will be spared they are sadly mistaken . I will give credit where it is due but I have made it clear that those who have been wearing masks long before COVID cannot intimidate, threaten or scare me. It is not my intention to scare anybody either but we must see Barbados beyond our petty part politics.
@ William Skinner at 9 :10 PM
I love this intervention. It is in simple prose ; but it has said a lot. Members of the Bu Household should all learn something about prediction from these wise words.
@ William
Well said. The problem is that you are pee-ing in the wind. I have been saying for over two years the president is not a democrat, that she has little respect for our parliamentary democracy or for the people of Barbados.
She is an intelligent woman and has a better political brain than any other member of the House of Assembly or Senate and knows full well that governments do not announce policy before first doing so in parliament. This is part of her contempt. She also knows that none of the 28 jokers behind her will challenge her about any of this.
@ William, only last night she gave an interview to Australia’s ABC, their equivalent of the BBC, about what we all though was a proposal for a Republic.
Yet, she is spelling out the powers of the president to be, she is telling the Australians that any president will have more power than a ceremonial office holder, but not exactly executive. This is an issue that should first be discussed in parliament, then with the people of Barbados.
Yet, instead of doing the right thing, she is telling the Ozzies. The only reason, apart from her desire for global reach, is to give her relatives in Oz bragging rights.
Did you see the nonsense that Simon and Peter said on CBC last night? The quality of our national debate is a reflection of our parliamentary governance.
By the way, what is the difference between same sex civil union and same sex marriage?
@Skinner, re “Back then every body was driving manual cars. Today ignorance seems to be automatically driven. We don’t balance clutches anymore. Foot on gas and brugadong!”
Too sweet … propa! that imagery is just awesome: we dont BALANCE things again, we just stupidly partisan automatically… and Bajans suffer!
Realistically tho bro, anyone who deals in “balance” does NOT stay in or around elective politics !
I could never do it … because of a propensity to call spades as they are when bad policy is being continued.
And that’s a problem because I also support practical policy or actions … but then you are not considered a good driver who can balance the clutch sweetly at Bridge Rd stop lights … you get labelled a fella who burning out the clutch with a wishy-washy pressure!
Polictis ain’t easy!
However for those wesring blinders there are enough warts showing on her backside that mainstream media including BU refuse to reveal
Mariposa
Why you keep saying
Barbados Underground is part of the mainstream media, when it is not? You should stop it. You should also stop trying to force BU to pick up your fire rage and run with your agenda.
BU is an open forum just like the call in programs where people can call in and talk about whatever they want to talk about.
I can’t understand why some of you here think the blog master should only post things you want to discuss. You think we should be cursing Mottley, the other idiot feel we should talk about the economy, the Trumpsters feel we should turn everything into something about Donald Trump, and some nut case is on about the same boring copy and pasting foolishness every single effing day.
BU caters to a diverse readership and should be open for us to talk about other interesting things instead of politics, the political party blame game, Mottley, Stuart, Arthur, the economy, Trump and black faces in parliament, otherwise it will become a boring place to be. Maybe that is why BU don’t have contributors beyond the usual 9 or so regulars. I can understand. I stopped listening to Brass Tacks because the same 10 or so regular callers calling to talk about the same thing every single day, only water down the program and
make it boring as hell too.
David blog master should not let this happen to BU and allow a few arrogant contributors control the narrative here.
So Mariposa, why don’t you do like other people and post whatever you want to discuss and let those of us who choose to, discuss it too, instead of coming here trying to force your agenda down our effing throats?
William Skinner,
No problem with critiques or negative criticism. It is often necessary. But so is positive acknowledgement.
And so is truth!
I try to be balanced whilst applying my pressure.
What I cannot get you to understand is the difference in attitude between an overseas Bajan, like yourself, who thinks we have imperfections as do all people, wants to help us get better and still, has one foot here with us and an overseas Bajan who daily speaks contemptuously of our Bajan condition, regularly likens us to savages and wants to know who would leave overseas to live here.
In other words we are to be pitied because we supposedly have no options.
I say that I do. I do not have to beg the Brits for a lodging and there are still some Brits with arms open wide if I choose to return to the land of my birth.
I choose Barbados!
Yes @VC, simple prose … @Skinner has taken the time to say to the ramblings about DLP demise et al: please review the bald historical record and get REAL.
Over this last few days … it seemed as if folks disengaged their brains and simply got so politically peeved to be hyperventilating ridiculously.
Anyhow @Skinner a few ‘pedantic’ points:
1.“The problem here is that sustained pressure from the broader society and some here, myself included, resulted in the deserved demise of the DLP at the last elections.All the talk was about corruption and a lack of transparency of the then administration.”
That intro could have been used to herald ANY change of admin at all points of your earlier chronology… not so!
2.Why do we believe that a political leader HAS TO EXPLAIN “why the COVID Czar, Carter, is no longer functioning in that capacity.”
Why do they have to EXPLAIN why they removed a cabinet minister (sans some illegal act done)??
Yes it’s good governance and transparency and all that but beyond that… WHY?
3.“…several policy statements and legislation have been “ walked back; … and the recent bungling of the Integrity Legislation.’
This is poor management or incompetence and is a feature across ALL admins …. the question of course is why does it persist.
This admin did this from the git-go of covid as an example when some did lambaste them here for some initial seemingly wrong headed acts (staying open, the supmt folly) … but kudos to them they got it together quite well eventually and were suitably praised.
All that to say … it’s more important that you walk-back and FIX your poor management decisions. Many loathe saying ‘I was wrong’ and let the poor decision become a major problem.
So then it’s why the hell do you continue to make poor process decisions rather than get them right from the start!
Clearly this admin is arrogant and have no intention of following correct procedure and protocol… but the fact is we knew that going in based on the leader’s very arrogant behaviour with alleged phone-taps, intervention in policing matters and more.
Undoubtedly this admin will be thrown out … the question of course is simply how soon will that be … may they function well and fix their errors quickly until such change.
Change is generally good.
Michael
My opposing views are not hoisted or driven by the dlp or afire rage
However a fire rage driven by a govt and leader who placed distractions high on the tantum pole
In meanwhile the burning economic issues of the day are being emptied like the smell of rotten eggs
In my mind the now talk about issue of Republic is a political up in the face front which in the end if come to fruition would satisfy only Mia attempt to become a “first” in line with the rght Hon. Errol Barrow the Father of Independence
With the media helping to drive the issue
One would have thought the burning question of the day to be asked
What benefits would people and country get from barbados being a Republic
No! But the bandwagon effect has taken over by the media with a determined attitude Mia is right
Thanks Media for nothing
Mariposa
I see you diverted. Anyhow, Arthur, Thompson and Stuart talked about Barbados going republic, which means the talk was in the public domain for over 24 years.
There is nothing new about the rey talk, so why blame the media?
Would you ask these same questions if George Pilgrim is the next PM and decides to come with the same old warmed over soup again about going republic?
Would you think that Pilgrim would liken himself as “first” in line with Barrow?
*****There is nothing new about the republic talk, so why blame the media?
Michael
Of course there is nothing new about the Republic issue
Heard that same warmed over soup bandied about for years
The only difference now that it has been put on a slow boil by Mia to garnish attention to herself
A self which is beholden to privilege and political posturing
So why all the loud noises about a republic if i may asked
Once again why has the media make a concerted attempt to shove the issue down the peoples throw
What i do smell is a long winded approach by the media to help govt bring this issue as close to an election which might happen sooner rather the later
Mariposa, the media has not dealt with the republic issue with Mottley no different than how they dealt with it over the past 24 years when Arthur, Thompson and Stuart talked about it.
All that is happening here is that whatever Mottley says or do must draw some level of criticism from you. Just like how Donna said it is impossible for you to be spot on all the time, it is impossible for Mottley to be wrong all the time.
There was a time when you used to get annoyed that almost everybody on BU used to criticise Freundel Stuart day in and day out. The man just couldn’t do nothing right for some people. You also said the people were preaching doom and gloom, they were unpatriotic and wanted to see the country fail.
Now, you have descended to that same level by doing the same thing to Mottley.
How can people take the level of debate here seriously?
Mariposa descended a long time ago, Michael Campbell. From way back when she was AC.
Politicus Interruptus – her political brain has not yet developed beyond the yard bird stage. Don’t try to introduce the concept of shame! Birds do not have the capacity.
Signed,
A former DLP voter who does not regret changing her vote. Freundel and Co. would have allowed us to die from COVID and said “They are dying all over the world. Here I live to fight off Mia when she turns Barbados into dictatorship. Of course, she will need either the army, the police or a Mongoose Gang to do that. I signing up early.
Close quotation marks after world.
@ Koolaid Kid (BLP)
INSTEAD OF YOU TRYING TO DO SOMETHING PRODUCTIVE WITH YOUR YOUNG LIFE YOU CONTINUE TO POST BOVINE NONSENSE.
BLP AND DLP LABOUR PARTIES SHOULD BE BOTH DEAD AND BURIED.
I POSTED A VIDEO UNDER YOUR LAST ARTICLE SHOWING HOW A 9 YEAR OLD BLACK AMERICAN BOY STARTED LEARNING ABOUT INVESTING AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP WHO NOW AT 13 IS A MILLIONAIRE AND GIVING BACK TO HIS BLACK COMMUNITY.
WHILE YOU CONTINUE WAFFLING SEWAGE ON BU ON A REGULAR BASIS BLINDED BY YOUR BLP INDOCTRINATION..
HAVING MISGUIDED ELDERS WHO TOLERATE AND ALLOW YOU TO CONTINUE WITH FOOLISHNESS BECAUSE YOU ARE BEING USED AS SOMEONE TOOL.
I SUGGEST START DOING SOMETHING CONSTRUCTIVE SO THAT YOU CAN CONTRIBUTE TO YOUR LOCAL COMMUNITY. HAVING YOUR NECK STUCK UP THE ASS OF EITHER BLP OR DLP IS NOT CONTRIBUTING TO PROGRESS BUT A CONTINUATION OF THE SAME MERRY GO AROUND OF MUSICAL CHAIRS.
Verla sends Mia a strong message
A message with a reminder that the blp had internal issues by which Mia was a party to division within the party
Also to tell Mia to stay out of the dlp internal affairs
DE PEIZA TO MOTTLEY:
STAY OUT OF OUR INTERNAL AFFAIRS!
“…One would think the Prime Minister would have enough on her hands…with a bloated Cabinet…and 30 no-performing assets…”
Michael Campbell spot on as Mariposa, s side kick in the UK says.Mariposa along with Austin, John A, Pacha, Greene , Skinner and a few others on here agenda is to try and destabilize a democratically elected government by whipping up a frenzy about a lot of trivial nonsense.They hope to bring back the incompetent dems from the dead.Problem is i do not think even the great Mr Barrow can bring them back in under 15 years.Therefore let them continue their nonsense since most of them do not live about here and could stop up in their ideal world and spout nonsense.They care little about Barbados or bajans in my view.
Yuh mean make believe ideal world!
Steupse!
Wunna blp yardies are amazing
Wunna had ten years of bad mouthing past govt and giving past govt hell
The continuous articles on BU left no stone unturned as to where even Mottley described Haiti as a country in better economic standing than Barbados under Stuart
Now the shoe is on present govt foot
You lorenzo and other blp yardies got the nerve to cry unfair and want to have people banned
Wuhloss muh shirt
Therefore let them continue their nonsense since most of them do not live about here and could stop up in their ideal world and spout nonsense.They care little about Barbados or bajans in my view.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
I AM HAPPY YOU ADMIT THAT YOU SEE THINGS IN YOUR SMALL 2×3 ISLAND VIEW.
FORTUNATELY MANY OF US HAVE SEEN THE NARROW MINDED VIEW RAMPANT ON THE ISLAND AND THE BIGGER WORLD.
HENCE HAVE NO PRETEND BIASES.
YOUR ELECTED BLP POLITICIANS PROMISED ANYTHING MATES WERE ELECTED TO CARE AND LOOK AFTER THE PEOPLE NOT BUSINESS AS USUAL.
MOST OF US CALL A SPADE A SPADE AND NOT HAVING OUR NECK STUCK UP SOMEONE’S ASS OR CONTROLLED BY OTHERS AROUND US LIKE HOW IS DONE ON THE ISLAND.
The last DLP administration was the worst we ever had. What did they do that could be praised????
The garbage truck picks up my garbage twice a week almost like clockwork. The buses are running up and down here like mad. The shit is off the streets even if the problem is not totally solved. The courts have been sped up. The COVID is not kiling us. The Government was OVER PREPARED.
AND just yesterday they tried to give me money. Unfortunately the refund for the 2016 income tax was not mine but that of a woman with the same name who once lived in the same area where I used to live. The postman could not find her. I told them it couldn’t be mine, gave them my ID number and they realised it was not.
So… the DLP income tax refunds are being paid.
Signed
Not living in heaven. Not living in hell.
Buses and garbage trucks does not complete any economy
Maybe your life is so economically sustained that the only thing that you have to think about and find comfort are in the fact govt bought air conditioned buses and garbage truckd
However they are people who cannot afford the 3.50 bus fare and the unconscionable sewage fees
Get real fool there are many issues that are effecting barbadians socially and economically and present govt has yet to put feasible policies in place
Btw did you see the condition of the streets after sunday flooding
Yuh mean to say that is how tax payers monies can be easily washed away
Donna – I purposely refused to mention the court system. Lol. Just like I didn’t mention the desal plants promised in Chancery Lane and St.Lucy me thinks (John desal plants are in response to drought, so toast you say?)
William Skinner has highlighted some missteps etc, fair enough; but what government is perfect. Yet even in comparing this government and the previous one, this one is willing to admit, amend and move on. Arni Walters? Who thinks voters will vote against the government because of the appointment of a Deputy CoP? Caswell may have “won” the legal argument in the public domain, but failed miserably in demonstrating that a deputy is not essential. Who will vote against the govt for choosing not to let the Rams juck out we eyes or knocking down the old NIS building to make for a park? In response to his point about walking back on the CE, the Throne Speech is clear: “[m]y Government
has already announced its intention to reform the transfer from primary to
secondary school. We will review the Common Entrance Examination and we will
work with all of the stakeholders to make every school in Barbados a top school
as promised, each specializing in different areas.” That does not sound like walking back to me.
@enuff
We looking for the promise to be kept with the reintroduction of integrity legislation early in this session.
Mariposa
But the inability to buy neither, higher debt and 20+ downgrades makes an economy, because a society is more than an economy (while asking UWI students to pay) right?
Me too. But tell the Opposition senators to vote like their party leader and the Independents to don’t play mas if dem fraid powda.
MariposaSeptember 18, 2020 4:59 PM DE PEIZA TO MOTTLEY: STAY OUT OF OUR INTERNAL AFFAIRS!
++++
And long may they stay internal, to the DLP. Shameful! None of the rest of us want to see that lot again.
Buses and garbage trucks does not complete any economy.
++++++
We may be harmonious in consideration of that comment. However, many promises of the former administration were not consummated. From that, the cosmopolite may excogitate that at least some augmentation of reality for the inhabitants accumulates significant improvement over the prior station.
The inabilty to buy neither was due to funds
This govt took and initiative rather than downgrades borrow
Rather than downgrades placed a hangmans noose of debt around the peoples neck
I dont see nothing in present govt policies to cheer about
Busses yes
Garbage trucks yes but at what cost
In the midst of all that is going on people livelihood are evermore becoming a nightmare
And crusoe u speak of better
Check the crumbling and decay state of bridgetown
Small businesses folding daily yet govt found money to blow up a building
Small business played a very important part in building barbados
Present govt has all but handed them their death certificate while pumping millions in the one nest economy a nest which has been handed the keys to the treasury many times over
Your idea of progress has sorely missed the mark having a govt who has placed more debt on the shoulders of barbadians
In legal terms this govt can be described as grossly incompetent
@ Mr William Skinner
Truly well said!
“…So, to all those kool aid drinkers and apologists , who think that they are going to get away by silly posts and embarrassingly written nonsense and that one Mia Amor Mottley , is going to bluff her way beyond criticism, let them be now served that the honeymoon is over and that the pen will be as sharp as it was for Barrow when he brought the Public Order Act; for Arthur when he attempted to sell out Barbados by making deals like the Marina where Barbadians have been treated to the indignity of having to wait on a bridge to close so that luxury yachts can have access to their owners multi-million dollar condos and one Freundel Stuart who along with a pack of idiots almost ruined the country…”
Each iterative point logically penned and soundly reasoned!
You dear sir are an anachronism and belong to an age where men, albeit an exclusive group, met to discuss abstract concepts with similarly gifted minds NOT SHEEPLE, as is the majority of the Barbadian population
A state if being that will not change for the next 500 years
De ole man fears that a discussion such as yours CANNOT BE conducted in a rushed around the island
And that is the shameful reality
Rumshop, rushed is the wrong word
@ Piece
Thanks. There are too many political hypocrites operating on BU. I assure you that while I am prepared to give Mottley and Company their support when deserved, I remain steadfast that I will not tolerate blatant hypocrisy. Nobody has yet mastered how to convince me that a Timex is a Rolex.
For instance : How can we extend hardship on the poor for two consecutive years and then give them $40 million in some sophisticated debushing/ maintenance program and then take up $300 million to support hoteliers in an industry that the entire world knows will not bounce back under two years. Furthermore for every collar earned in Tourism at least 60 cents never reach us.
In the meantime, you are giving a $5000 pittance to small black business people who trying to eke out a living.
This is nothing more than economic genocide being practiced on the most vulnerable while propping up the rich and infamous.
@ Mr. William Skinner
For speaking these truths you can expect to be hounded by the Mugabe Mottley pair of Rented Jackasses Hee Hee and Hee Haw
Watch dem earn their pay
@ Enuff September 18, 2020 11:01 PM
I do not see any mistakes by the government at all. The opponent exaggerates irrelevant details. I have full confidence in Lord Marshal Dale and all other ministers.
Pingback: The Deceased Labour Party – Part Two | Barbados Underground
Hard to take this column seriously when it is titled “THE DECEASED LABOUR PARTY”. Doesn’t matter how much analysis is involved or how many “facts” you use, this sort of thing is probably more suited to be put on the BLP’s website – You should contact them.