Submitted by Yardbroom
On January 20, 1999, The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won 26 Parliamentary Seats to the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) 2. It must have seemed as if the foundations of the DLP had been shaken to its core, and there would be a period of irreversible decline. However, on the 21, May 2003, the DLP made a comeback of sorts, capturing 7 seats to the BLP’s 23; after much DLP effort this meagre return in the BLP’s victory underlined the enormity of the task facing the DLP, as the BLP rode on the crest of a wave. The DLP was not a place to reside for faint hearts….as the populace “went with Owen”.
Some say complacency by the BLP, others give different reasons but however you call it, there was a mood swing in Barbados and on 15 January 2008 the Democratic Labour Party of Barbados led by David Thompson won by 20 seats to the BLP’s 10 and secured the majority to form a Government.
Against this background, we now look forward to the next general election, the important players and the factors which will influence voters to choose either DLP or BLP.
On the 23 October 2010 our Prime Minister The Honourable David Thompson QC, MP died at the relatively early age of 48 years while in office, he had been Prime Minister for just under three years. David Thompson’s illness caused a frenzy of activity in the BLP, culminating in the removal of Mia Mottley as opposition leader of the BLP. I will return to the main players later but now I will focus on Mia Mottley.
Most Barbadians of unbiased political leanings, ask, what was wrong with Mia Mottley? No satisfactory explanation has ever been given. She was removed, as was the right of her parliamentary colleagues, it is true but the ramifications of that single act will take many years to abate. She must not allow herself to be a single outrider. She just has to play the waiting game, and she will see off many who replaced her. It would do her well to go nowhere, stay put, her mere presence is a trump card.
Owen Arthur is a “last man standing politician” and he should never be underestimated. However, the expected turmoil in the DLP Government never materialised. Someone in the DLP with the influence, authority and the ability to talk sense, must have spoken to them, for they never sought the easy route of loud talk into political oblivion. Was the gentle urgings of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart at work?
Prime Minister Stuart leads without confusion and ego. He thus allows young shoots to flourish, giving them space to tower in their own light, surely a touch of genius. A rare treat, few are they who are “quietly” prepared to do great deeds unsound.
I give you one of the most undemonstrative of West Indies cricket captains the late Sir Frank Worrell, who was able to mould individual stars into an impregnable tower of strength. No shouting from the roof tops; quietly flows the dawn.
To the election “itself.” Elections are not won on the backs of the die hard DLP or BLP supporters, they are won with the support of the middle ground masses. People who do not know CLICO from BICO or Bolt On from Bolt Down, but they know if there is a better chance of decent housing and if they can express themselves in convivial company and keep their pick – job – and if there is genuine hope for their children’s future. The intricacies of Government matter little to those voters, they ask themselves how does what is being done affect me.
We should never forget, there is a “selfish” component in the voting public’s exercise of their democratic right. There is still a large gap between the DLP and the BLP in terms of popular support, but it is not as yet unbridgeable.
I will identify three constituencies which are of particular interest, and a fourth to gauge acceptance of Prime Minister Stuart. In the general election of 15th January 2008:
St Michael North West
Christopher Sincker DLP 2,330 53%
Clyde Mascoll BLP 1,990 47%
It can be said that Chris Sincker’s status has increased immeasurably since the last election and his influential position in the cabinet will work to his advantage.
St Andrew
George Payne, BLP 2,639 50%
Irene Sandiford-Garner, DLP 2,590 50%
George Payne “perhaps” has improved his status in the BLP, but Irene Sandiford- Garner has studiously gone about the people’s business and some would say discharged them with some skill. This will be a close contest, the die hard in St George voters are not prone to movement, but there are enough “floaters” to make the difference. The Party that wins this seat will probably form the next Government. It is a bellwether for the general election, the DLP should concentrate resources here.
St Michael West Central
Rommel Marshall, BLP 2,142 48%
James Paul, DLP 2,167 50%
An overcrowded ZR van of “25 passengers” separates the combatants here, it would be a brave man who “predicts” this one. I will leave it to the electorate, one word or event misplaced will make the difference….but the general mood at the time will hold sway.
St Michael South
Fruendel Stuart, DLP 2,435 60%
Noel Lynch. BLP, 1,625 40%
So much has happened since January 15, 2008 that Fruendel Stuart is not the same man in terms of authority and command as he was then, and that will make the difference in this result.
In Summation. Mia Mottley is the “key” that can open many doors. Owen Arthur can never be easily dismissed, but he will need all his tactical acumen and skill to bring this situation back from the brink.
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart just needs to keep his troops together, and they in turn must remember, a good team is more than the sum of individual players; or they will find themselves in that dark forbidding abyss and lonely place of the politician, who once had great authority and position and then has much “time” to ponder on what could have been.
HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!
DLP Yardfowls trying to be subtle…No-one knows CLICO from BICO or BOLT…go on believing that.
Owen or Mia…DLP going to lose because of COST OF LIVING, TAX GOUGING, FRUENDEL’S FRIENDSHIP WITH PARRIS AND LASHLEY’S JADA RICHES.
The people are not liking the CHANGE they got…they are being given a 6 for a 9 and told that the economy is getting better…..their pockets no this is not true….they will let their pockets vote in the next election.
Two years or so ago, I stated that Arthur was only taking a sabbatical and would be back to lead the BLP at the next general election and I’m being proved right. If only you would listen to me! Yuh see! Yuh see!
The DLP is in the box seat to win the next elections, that is not to say they can’t throw it all away in the next two or so years. Certainly the CLICO & Parris issue, the Jada & Coverley & Lashley issue, the Glyne Bannister & Pierhead Marina & Bridgetown Cruise Pier & Darcy Boyce issue and the Barrack & $60M issue will all pose very serious challenges for the DLP. Within the next two years the people of Barbados will discover the true extent of the Coverley project liability on the GOB…………..this project has the potential to create hundreds of millions of dollars of liability for the tax payers of Barbados and their mood when asked vote cannot be fully predicted at this time.
In addition the GOB of Barbados is facing a serious legal challenge from some company in Ireland who claims another $60 M for taking a contract to build the Pierhead Marina. This a serious political issue which could extremely harmful to the DLP if sunlight is allowed to disinfect the darkest corner of the deal with SMI.
@Yardbroom
There is the St. George South riding which will be contested between Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo and home boy Sutherland which would be foolhardy to call. Actually St. George South is considered the bellwether by many.
“……but Irene Sandiford- Garner has studiously gone about the people’s business and some would say discharged them with some skill.”
Where is the evidence to back up this statement? It surely can’t be in her capacity as Parliamentary Secretary with responsibility for the QEH.
You are correct in noting that St.George South is the bellwether seat.
@Rose Art | May 6, 2011 at 12:31 AM |
“…the CLICO & Parris issue, the Jada & Coverley & Lashley issue, the Glyne Bannister & Pierhead Marina & Bridgetown Cruise Pier & Darcy Boyce issue and the Barrack & $60M issue will all pose very serious challenges for the DLP.”
well said, i don’t belong to a political party. i am watching everything and was leaning towards DLP for my vote. the PM is too silent for too long and he have not even bothered to consider even a 5% increase in salaries for public (due to the Dennis Clarke, NUPW promising not to ask for an in increase in salaries for public servants if they (NUPW) have access to that old ridiculous building in Newton for a co-op) talk what u may, Arthur might be many things but EVERY year the public servants got an increase in salaries. even tho it was not commensurate to the increase in cost of living, it still help to bridge the gap. come 2013 the DLP will see why they have lost the elections. people love to cry down the public servants but they are many, many who work hard, have their qualifications, experience and are ALWAYS overlooked for promotion. it might have happened in the BLP but lord have mercy, it is horrible now. dismissing people because “they are uneasy working with them” and obviously having to pay them out, close to $2 million (one person) but that is ok, it would come from the public purse…sick, sick, sick. I can see the 1937 repeating itself if the DLP remains in power. the DLP gave the public servants and 8% salary cut after increasing theirs…now they have given us a 20% salary cut in another form. sorry but my vote has already been cast
You could be right, however I have based my assertion on the high profile of events in which George Payne was involved. It could be argued that they could work to his advantage. Against that view, Irene Sandiford-Garner is no longer a “neophyte”, if when she was, she could run the long established incumbent so close with her percentage of the vote, it makes the seat very interesting indeed.
In St George South there is not the “form” of a previous contest to read as there is in St Andrew; logic says you must have based your view on the perceived home boy advantage of Sutherland against the Parliamentary performance of Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo now in office. Views are often based on perception of performance. I still believe previous results are a much better indicator of outcomes …but you could be right.
Hi, Enuff
The Problems of the QEH are many and varied, few who have entered that arena have left it with much credit. Not because of a lack of ability but due to the complexity of the problems there.
Anyhow, I am not as you last described me:
“a political pimp”
I choose not to respond in kind then, neither will I now, perhaps we just have a difference of opinion.
Yardbroom’s mastery of political spin is nothing short of absolutely amazing.
He is as impartial as an Indian spectator watching India v Pakistan in a T20 match at Lahore.
@ Yardbroom
Are you sure I referred to you as a ‘political pimp’? I don’t recall ever using such language on BU–not in my vocabulary–though it is a term that makes me laugh.
Regarding Senator Sandiford and her ‘studious’ and ‘skillful’ work, did you just capitulate?
NEWSFLASH_______NEWSFLASH__________NEWSFLASH
Is there any truth to the rumour that that Lagan Contractors Ltd have engaged an impressive team of lawyers in Barbados to sue the BTTI and the government of Barbados. I hear they have:-
1. Pilsbury Law – New York
2. Sir Johnny Cheltenham QC
3. Elliot Mottley QC
4. Rick Scott
@ Enuff
Hi, “@ Yardbroom regarding Senator Sandiford and her “studious and “skilful” work did you just capitulate?”
A definite no! I honestly believe that what I have written is a fair assessment of the political situation. It can sometimes be uncomfortable when an opposite view presents itself….but so it is.
I have called many things right first time on the Blogs, having first being told I am wrong.
(1) I said David Thompson was conducting the correct type of campaign just before the last election was called…when he was being criticized. I even went on the DLP blog to do so.
(2) I said the DLP would win by a substantial majority and was called a “dreamer” on this blog.
(3) I read an Owen Arthur’s speech “carefully” and wrote that he would make a return for leadership of the BLP, others said he was finished. This was long before Mia Mottley was ousted.
(4) When Marston Gibson’s name was mentioned as CJ and others said he should speak. I cautioned he should not say a word “yet” as Barbados is Barbados the list goes on.
My opinions are not based on any political bias, but on listening to what is said in context, and on the beat of the “unspoken word”.
——————————
If I have attributed a comment to you which you have not made, I publicly apologize, a quick recap of notes would suggest it was either you or Kissmya…but I accept your word.
@ Kracker Jack
Hi, It is you who is “amazing”. I will shoulder my bat and allow that turning one to go on to the wicket keeper.
i dont want those blp crooks back in with owen and his gang to sell of the country again and flood the remainder with illegals
Every day on these blog the BLP operatives keep saying that the DLP do not know what they are doing.
Well the international organizations like the IMF and Standard and Poor’s are saying that Barbados is on the right track for a two percent growth this year.
Owen Arthur and Clyde Mascoll could really stop trying to create confusion about the economy because their arguments are nullified by these agencies.
@ Yardbroom
Why do you insist on blowing your own trumpet so much, do you really think anyone here cares about your so-called ability to call things right? In case you think your clearly political rhetoric is convincing anyone here please let me be the first to disabuse you of that mistaken belief.
However, if you think the DLP can go a general election with a leader like Mr. Fumble-Mumble, make a connection with the electorate and actually win the next elections then I will not waste my time seeking to assure you otherwise.
Hi, Rose Art
It does not matter what name you ascribe to Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, he is still the Prime Minister of Barbados and will discharge his duties as such.
Dare I be bold enough to say, that others who were supposed to be able to make this “connection” of which you speak; were heavily defeated at the polls.
The much talked about collapse of Government – by others – has not happened, the economy is improving. Everything is not perfect…but green shoots have started. On a “personal level” in the scheme of things, I do not really matter….but the truth is just that.
What is the purpose of a column like this, based purely on the political sympathies of the author? One might well ask, “where’s the beef?”
hats off to the minister of transport .the hon john boyce for meetin the public to discuss concern, as it relate to mass transport in barbados, i feel that more ministers should meet with the public as it relate to their ministry, my question, can a case be made for member of the constituency council to be given free bus fares to travell to the constituency to conduct the task…. just a question from and old man river. sitting at the top of the bay………
The results of the next election lie “almost” entirely on the strength and unity of the opposition, and the turnout of the DLP faithful. On current path the DLP will win. A “fractured” opposition will see them winning handsomely. A united opposition will see them winning marginally. A united opposition properly firing the many “bullets of controversy” that are out there and sowing further seeds of doubt could see a large enough swing for a government change. BLP’s problem is that the “old boys” network will have a hard time convincing the public that they have changed from perceived corrupt ways in 5 years and the new guys are just that, new. Also, outside of housing and an attempt to maintain the social net the DLP is hard pressed to point to any major shining policy initiatives that fully resonate fully with JOHN public (not entirely their fault but hey). They can’t win only on bashing/blaming the “past” opposition or global climate.
I also agree on St. George South and St. Andrew being pivotal.
Interesting analogy Yardbroom. However, one day in politics can create an about turn. I will say it is too early to make a prediction on the 2013 poll. PM Stuart might come out swinging with economic jargon instead of his Chaucerian verbiage. Mia might wait until the eleventh hour and embrace Owen chanting “We belong together” and the two economic watchdogs might rate Barbados AA+ giving our Minister of Finance full bragging rights. So people, nuttin’ is final until the lady sings the blues.
Peace my brothers and sisters
In 2008 , foolish people wanted change and foolish people who were fooled by foolish people with foolishness foolishly went head and fooled themselves that fools were needed.
There are many shady issues that the DLP has to clean up before they can be considered frontrunners in the next general elections. Voters are still waiting for a legal case to be made about the Hardwood project, the 3S and ABC highway project. The DLP was critical of the flyovers and the amount of money they would cost, yet they are spending $45 million in Warrens alone to try to ease the traffic which the flyovers would have done. CLICO and all the little underhand matters that are alleged, must be cleared up, plus the fact that the DLP has gone to bed with the same people that cursed over the Dodds Prison project and with the same BOLT arrangement and for a much larger sum than the previous government. These matters have got to be cleared up long before the next general elections. The DLP also was critical about the size of the previous government’s cabinet, yet in a recession, they find it fit to increase their cabinet way above the previous government’s, to the point where at the moment there are two ministers of the Environment and Drainage, all this while the average bajan is smarting under increasing cost of living. The DLP has to start yesterday to prepare for the 2013 elections or they will get a shock of their lives. P.M Stuart should have called elections shortly after the death of David Thompson.
Rose Art | May 6, 2011 at 12:31 AM | The DLP is in the box seat to win the next elections, that is not to say they can’t throw it all away in the next two or so years. Certainly the CLICO & Parris issue, the Jada & Coverley & Lashley issue, the Glyne Bannister & Pierhead Marina & Bridgetown Cruise Pier & Darcy Boyce issue and the Barrack & $60M issue will all pose very serious challenges
———————–
nobody votes a givernment in or out on the above issues. Not this electorate that we have in Barbados. Such things do not sway any electorate. Believe me !
The electorate in Barbados will vote on a perception as to if the DLP can get the job done . Perceptions/Impressions count in politics
A charismatic leader is important though not essential. Freundel S tuart is not perveived as such – niether charismatic nor essential —talks too much shite when he eventually speaks for one man ! -oh what a bore.
Dris Sinckler, step up to the plate Sir
Political opponents of the DLP should attack the leader hard hard hard in the next election because this would be good strategy
line’ 1-government
line’ (?)= Chris Sinckler
@Tina Roach | May 6, 2011 at 10:41 PM | In 2008 , foolish people wanted change and foolish people who were fooled by foolish people with foolishness foolishly went head and fooled themselves that fools were needed.
=========================
Sometimes change is necessary. The beautiful thing is that we get to vote at lease every 5 years.
The DLP was critical of the flyovers and the amount of money they would cost, yet they are spending $45 million in Warrens alone to try to ease the traffic which the flyovers would have done.
——————————————
Some of these measures now being untaken at Warrens were recommended by the contractors 3S in addition to the flyovers . They have been resurrected by MPT who refused to impliment them at the time of the widening of the highway.
The deliberate hatchet job done on the ABC highway project by the DLP has come back to bite them in the rear.
Who is ru4real? My guess its that pain in the ass know it all Bizzy he shoots his mouth off as if he runs this country. What an annoying dipstick.
” A collapsing economy that would not collapse”
Looking good!
2011-05-05
Standard & Poor’s maintains good rating for Barbados
Things are looking up for the local economy, prompting influential credit rating agency Standard & Poor’s to sustain its ratings for the island.
The institution, based in New York, has announced it is maintaining its ‘BBB-/A-3′ ratings and its stable outlook for Barbados after the most recent visit to Barbados by an S&P team in March.
S&P credit analyst Olga Kalinina said the decision was made on account of Government’s efforts to stabilise the economy, in addition to the expectation that growth would be two per cent this year.
The firm explained that on the qualitative side, several factors continue to support the ratings on Barbados.
These included “the unwavering strength of the social contract between the government, trade unions, and the private sector; political stability; and strong institutions”.
“The stable outlook hinges on our expectation that the economic rebound will continue, helping revenue collection, and that the external accounts will remain stable. Erosion of the external balance sheet, including, but not limited to, deterioration in the fiscal trend, could lead to pressure on the currency peg. If this were to occur, we would consider lowering our ratings on Barbados,” it noted.
“Conversely, we would consider raising the ratings if the economic prospects strengthen in a sustainable manner or if fiscal accounts show structural improvement.”
The rating agency said “Barbados’ economy is slowly recovering from the global financial crisis, and we expect real GDP growth of two per cent this year”.
“Fiscal measures passed in December 2010, together with constrained expenditures, are helping to stabilize the fiscal accounts. The general government deficit narrowed to 5.6 per cent of GDP in 2010, and we project it will decline further, to 4.6 per cent of GDP, in 2011.”
“S&P noted real GDP for Barbados increased by 2.8 per cent in the first three months of 2011 and that its team was not only projecting two per cent growth in 2011 but three per cent in 2012-2013.”
http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticlenew.php?ptitle=Looking+good%21&article=5300&pdate=2011-05-05
Caribbean economies improving
Thu, May 05, 2011 – 3:02 PM
WASHINGTON – The International Monetary Fund (IMF) says the Caribbean is beginning to turn the corner after a “long and deep recession”.
In its latest “Regional Economic Outlook,” the Washington-based financial institution said weak external demand and high public debt levels have held back economic activity in much of the region for the last two years, “which has also been adversely affected by natural disasters”.
It said tourism is “recovering gradually,” with The Bahamas, Barbados, Dominican Republic, and Jamaica observing a “faster and earlier pickup in tourist arrivals” than the islands of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU).
The IMF said the Caribbean economy, excluding the Dominican Republic and Haiti, is projected to expand by an average of about two per cent in 2011, following a contraction of about 0.5 per cent last year.
“The recovery is supported by a mild improvement in labour market conditions in advanced economies, as fiscal consolidation proceeds in most of the region,” it said.
However, it said rising commodity import prices present a “clear downside risk for most countries, with the exception of Trinidad and Tobago, which stands to benefit from higher oil export prices”.
Meanwhile, the report said reconstruction efforts in Haiti are expected to take growth above eight per cent this year.
In countries, where a well-functioning social safety net is not in place, the IMF recommended that temporary subsidies on staples consumed by the poor be considered, “with the fiscal cost offset by adjustments in other fiscal outlays”.
It said the region’s financial system “remains vulnerable” to shocks from cross-border financial conglomerates, adding that the resolution of the insurance subsidiaries of the CL Financial Group in Trinidad and Tobago is still pending, “with potentially large fiscal costs”. (CMC)
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/caribbean-economies-improving/
Boy these old Gems returning to haunt the crooked Barbados Labour Party.
“In their next life, I would suggest that the current leadership of the Barbados Labour Party become missionaries. No other group of persons I know has come close to carrying a message of imminent rapture as has those who have for the past 30 months predicted the total destruction of Barbados and its economy.
Growing up in Barbados for the past two score and more years, I have been told that “we are living in the last days” and “Christ is about to come”.
Two things we know, for sure, are that the second coming is closer today than it was 40 years ago, and that no man knoweth the day or the hour when Christ the King shall appear. Our mandate therefore is to be prepared!
Ever since the change of government in this country 30 months ago, we have had a tri monthly avalanche of soothsayer’s advice, telling us the collapse of the Barbados economy is imminent. Indeed, two estimates debates ago, we were told the country could not have gotten through the financial year and that all systems would have grounded to a halt.
Those in the Barbados Labour Party who still have not come to terms with the election result of January 15th 2008, have made a favorite past time of coming to the country every three months with the most outlandish of forecasts; warning that the meal we eat could be our last and that the job we have and the home we possess will all be taken.”
http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/07/18/reflections-of-a-collapsing-economy-that-would-not-collapse/
The only people who take “white rum” Arthur seriously are Barbados Labour Party members and supporters.
“White Rum” Arthur is facing a Hat-trick of election defeats.
It could not happen to a better person.
@ Tell Me Why May 6, 2011 at 10:04 pm
Quote: “Mia might wait until the eleventh hour and embrace Owen chanting “we belong together.”
Hi,
How right you are, the DLP should “mentally expect this” and plan for it; nothing is impossible in politics. You cannot expect a long established Political Party like the BLP, accustomed to power and influence, to lay down and play dead…they will not.
@ Scout
Your points are valid, but the critical thinking you have brought to specific issues, is not always evident when some people are asked, why they are voting for a particular party at an election, some things “unfortunately” go under the radar.
If I may quote:
Tina Roach who summed it up most” succinctly” in her response to Rose Art:
“Nobody votes a government in or out on the above issues. Not this electorate that we have in Barbados. Such things do not sway any electorate. Believe me! .”
I was told by a man in Price mart last week” wunna wanted change nuh, and wunna got change up wunna A*S without de vasseline!” I was brekking down wid laughter! And you know what? He right as sh*te!
islandgal246
It does not take much to crack you up, does it?
islandgal246
“tings suh bad” but you can still shop at Pricemart as usual.
It does not matter if the economy is improving, or if PM Stuart deserves the job or whatever criteria the political scientists, political hacks or pundits come up with. What will matter come election time is whether the electorate ‘perceives’ Stuart has what it takes to lead the country. This perception is based some believe on many ingredients but BU believes it has in large part to do with the perceived ‘stature’ of whoever is leading the party. Barbadians have a thing about their leaders being cloaked in this ‘stature’. They perceived Barrow had it, Tom Adams, Owen Arthur, David Thompson and funny enough many believe Mia Mottley has it. They did not believe Bree had it, Sandiford, Henry Forde and some others.
At this point Stuart is not perceived as someone with this ‘stature’ although events can occur over the next 2 years to grow it in some way. For DLP supporters they will be wishing for it to happen to soon to quell the flaring of factional position which he has satisfactorily managed to date.
Good morning Carson! Clearly you don’t have a sense of humour but nevertheless It still cracking me up. BTW where do you shop? At cost u less?
islandgal246
Good morning to you too. I forgot my manners.
DAVID
Give it a rest. You are flogging a dead horse.
DAVID
You justl ike Donald Trump, in spite of all the evidence you are still holding to the rediculous.
Whats doing in BIM hey bought my Bajan newspapers yesterday trying to figure out what DLP government doing so wrong? Looks to me like they doing fine given the situation here in US of A. BIM economy dont seem to be in the tank and I’m reading about mob a ton of economic positives on BIM horizon. Even the IMF say BIM looking good.Whats the problem people?
@David | May 7, 2011 at 8:17 AM | It does not matter if the economy is improving, or if PM Stuart deserves the job or whatever criteria the political scientists, political hacks or pundits come up with. What will matter come election time is whether the electorate ‘perceives’ Stuart has what it takes to lead the country. This perception is based some believe on many ingredients but BU believes it has in large part to do with the perceived ‘stature’ of whoever is leading the party. Barbadians have a thing about their leaders being cloaked in this ‘stature’. They perceived Barrow had it, Tom Adams, Owen Arthur, David Thompson and funny enough many believe Mia Mottley has it. They did not believe Bree had it, Sandiford, Henry Forde and some others.
=======================
I agree more with the person who said that come next election, people will vote according to the fullness or emptiness of their pockets. The status of the economy and cost-of-living will be the deciding factors, the image of Stuart will be a distant second.
analysis next election,
Duguid gone seat to Dees, Payne gone Irene come forward, Rawle might stay now woman drop charges, Dale Marshall on the bubble if Dees have good candidate and Romell true to his word Dale ass might be grass, Gline Clarke on the bubble, Owen will continue to fool St.Peter people. Mia and Cynthia wins. Toppin is an enigma he might resign and curse Owen again.
@David,
While I agree the obvious, that there is more than just the economy and there are other issues that have been been addressed properly i.e. Clico, CJ matter etc, unfortunately it looks like the opposition is not reallly keen on bringing a strong slate of candidates.
There is really not much change to their team and not much quality either.
At present, even if Owen and Mia make a formidable duo to lead, the DLP ‘middle order and tail enders’, far outstrip the BLP equivalent.
So, the sad reality is that the voters are between a rock and a hard place.
On the leadership issue, I must disagree with one nam mentioned.
Henry Forde did have the stature, witness his powerful wins in his constituency, which was then gifted to Duguid.
The thing is, he never seemed interested in the leadership, suspicion may fall on whether he would have been willing to give up such a lucrative law practice to be PM at less than 200k a year.
You gotta be kidding!
But then, I wonder if that is also what is keeping the CJ issue delayed i.e. emoluments?
US Circuit Court judges earn just under USD136 thousand, so referees must earn upwards of USD 100 thousand, at least, but that is conservative.
At that rate, he now earns more than he would earn as CJ in Barbados.
Maybe he is having second thoughts, bearing in mind cost of living and value of dollar etc.
Plus too, his Barbados pension would be denominated in barbados dollars, so that if he ever returns to US, it would be subject to the value of the Barbados dollar?
http://longislandbankruptcyblog.com/long-island-bankruptcy-judges-earn/
Errata…..other issues that have NOT been addressed properly i.e. Clico, CJ matter etc, unfortunately
Here is another chart, showing that ‘Magistrate Judges’, earn $149 thousand per annum.
http://www.senate.gov/reference/resources/pdf/98-53.pdf
I am convinced that politics alone is incapable of solving the great problems now weighing upon us ,and that it is a serious error to pin all our hopes on its development or upon arbitrary changes in its normal procedure .
The above quotation by Antonia De Salazar springs forth when I witness the BLP pundits and members expressing glee at their predicted return to power under the leadership and Owen S Arthur .
The same superman that could not touch the hearts of the nation in 2008 and faced a major defeat by the late Prime Minister David Thompson is coming to us four years later with nothing new but wants us to believe he will work magic .
Modern political history ought to inform great minds as we look to the future, that this party has to offer more to this country than simply relying on its record which faced public rejection in the last election . If the management of the economy by the last dispensation was exemplary, then they have done something wrong that drove us away from the institution .
The leader could not defend his record and his team buckled under the heavy artillery of the Democratic Labour party.
The point here is, the BLP team which marched to battle then was much stronger than the team you have today, so what scientific analysis is there responsible for such conclusions . In addition , the prescriptions offered so far to rescue the various sectors of our society are not new and simply don’t bare the resemblance of hope .
As we witness Owen Arthur’s commitment of focusing absolutely on victory in the next election, let me remind you that most Barbadians are concerns with their human conditions..
There are concerns related to our health policy, and the cost of housing , the future direction of our educational system at all three major stages .
While I don’t expect much from the BLP team, the options available in the alternative DLP are very narrow and this is not a time for sentiment or fantasy .
I once read a story of a fictional existence in a land called Timar.
Inhabitants there, found solace in their mystical traditions, spending long nights in their rice plantation huts, reciting the legends and attempting to explain to the world how man came to possess rice .
THIS IS A SCIENTIFIC AGE AND WE NEED A SOUND FOUNDATION TO ANCHOR OUR OPINIONS NOT FANTASY.
AS AN INSTITUTION, YOUR MESSAGE MUST DEMONSTRATE TRUST IN THE WISDOM OF THE PEOPLE TO UNDERSTAND WHAT IS NEEDED, AND THEIR ABILITY TO MAKE THE REQUIRED ADJUSTMENTS IN ORDER TO ACQUIRE THE RELEVANT OBJECTIVES.
DON’T RELY ON MAGIC OR VICTORY BY DEFAULT!
wALTER !
Here are the real results-the real election show
DEMS=3 SEATS-(Kellman +Mara+ Sinckler)
BEES=27 SEATS
Biggest Losers-Stuart+Pitbull+Suckoo
Tek that in yuh pipe and smoke it !
If yuh doubt me
ask me !
Attention CCC,
do you really think that this bankrupt of ideas , leader less party called the DEMOCARATIC LABOUR PARTY could win the next election in Barbados ? Boy Bajans ‘ mins done make-up and the DLP would be lucky if they get noticed farless win an election
dont make me laugh !
Stuart is a Prime Minister ?
Do you think that somebody can take 5 years with the man as PM ? -if you can answer that then you can say how the DLP will survive that big scandal that burst out about an hour ago.
Crusoe, those are federal, not state salaries!
@Rose Art | May 6, 2011 at 5:20 PM |
@ Yardbroom
“Why do you insist on blowing your own trumpet so much, do you really think anyone here cares about your so-called ability to call things right? In case you think your clearly political rhetoric is convincing anyone here please let me be the first to disabuse you of that mistaken belief.”
i love that. hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
Yardbroom, u said “The much talked about collapse of Government – by others – has not happened, the economy is improving”
do u really think that mature adults accept that hogwash? the government has already collapse…the ministers are trying to put it together but spreading propaganda that the economy is sound
Judicial Nassau County Payroll District Gibson, Marston D Ct Attorney-Referee Annual $120,990 YTD $126,201
http://www.seethroughny.net/Payrolls/EmployeeSearch/tabid/69/Default.aspx
don’t you just love the US. You can find most public person salary quite easily.
current year emoluments for Chief Justice is 190,825
difference of about 62 thousand
Rambling Rose —–what is the scandal?
Anthony, how could the year to date salary exceed the annual salary? We are only in May!
smooth chocolate
Read my lips:
Standard and Poor
IMF.
respected international agencies are saying that the economy is improving not because of the BLP but in spite of the BLP.
“White rum” Arthur has no ideas for helping this country. He is bankrupt of ideas. He is a spent force. He is like a category 4 hurricane downgraded to a Tropical storm watch.
He has not said or done anything sensible in the last 3 years other than to bury his long knife deep into the back of the Hon. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY.
Anthony, thanks much.
So, as you said looks like shortfall of 62 thousand Bds.
For USD 126×2 = 252 thousand bds, compared to 190 thousand bds, leaves a shortfall of bds 62 thousand.
Assuming tax at say, 35 %, that leaves him a shortfall of Bds 62-21= 42 thousand bds per annum or 3.5 thousand bds per month.
That is a LOT of money….
Houston, they have a big problem!!!
Or they can just pay him more than the PM!!! Lol
jack that the payment for 2010. some years they seem to get a bonus/overtime . it about 6G difference between that and normal salary
for jack sprat
Judicial Nassau County Payroll District Gibson, Marston C Ct Attorney-Referee Annual Rate $120,990 YTD $122,898 2008
Judicial Nassau County Payroll District Gibson, Marston C Ct Attorney-Referee Annual (didn’t include rate for some odd reason or the other) YTD$126,021 2009
Judicial Nassau County Payroll District Gibson, Marston D Ct Attorney-Referee Annual Rate $120,990 YTD $126,201 2010
crusoe
then you also have to factoring the the buying power in NY vs the buying power in barbados. for 21K us you can actually buy nice midsize car fully load car brand new. let say you want buy a tv you find the price is 3-5 times the us price. veggies/fruit/meat etc the cost is more. if he has mortage in the us then that could be a big chunk. but of course we have no reason to beleive that this is reason for him not being installed yet. When he does take the post he would have taken a big pay cut on himself. that really duty to country before all else ( if the salary isn’t increase of course, selling the salary increase to the population& opposition might be pretty hard as well).
CHANGE is what won the DLP the Government but the more important question is change from what to what?
I suggest the people wanted change for two reasons, namely, change for the sake of change and because changes was needed because the last Government was perceived as corrupt and the leader was percieved as arrogant.
If this assessment is correct, what have the electorate of Barbados got to show (after three years) for the change they usher in in 2008?
I suggest to you that what the electorate today believe/ perceive they have a Government that is no less corrupt than what they thought about the Owen Artur administration. That leaves us with the issue of leader, is Stuart less arogant than Arthur?
Personally I think PM Stuart goes over the heads of most of the electorate in Barbados when he talks i.e. he fails to make a connection with them and this can easily be mistaken for arrogance, leaving him vunerable to someone like Owen Artur who is charismatic and viewed by most Barbadians as a competent and rational leader.
The last government and its leader were not only perceived as corrupt.
Have to give Donville Inniss credit for decentralizing the ambulance service. I think it is something that should have been done long ago.
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/ambulances-to-be-decentralized/
Rose Art
“someone like Owen Artur who is charismatic”
…..and calls people he does not like “negrocrat”, “indentured servant” and makes nasty midnight calls to those who cross him “cursing dem stink” .
Oh, don’t forget the great love of white rum, maybe that is why he has such a nasty disposition.
Hi Anthony,
‘Duty to country before all else’, while nice thinking, I think we should not kid ourselves that earning power will not matter, particularly when the gentleman must only now (based on what he said in the interview which showed he did not have a clear understanding of the issues) be realising the work he would have ahead of him and the fact that it is a hands-on management role and not a guidance management role.
I do note that he may get some additional benefits such as housing as the PM gets, but note that I am discounting this because he probably gets other allowances or benefits in the US also. This is whay I did not make a big deal of adding in considerations like cost of living, such may balance out, the salary probably depicts his true net economic deficit between the two positions.
A basic adage in governance is that in the absence of information people will surmise, means that yes I can surmise that what is happening, is that he is having serious second thoughts or has already refused the role and government is still trying to figure out how to get out of this one, that so much time has already been invested into, with the decision apparently made without proper consideration.
@Rose Art, fair points, but I remain convinced that the BLP ‘middle order and tail end’ is so weak as to be ridiculous. It also appears to be tired and without any vibrance.
Idiocy and arrogance is what lost the previous administration. I mean it took the current administration much grinding of teeth to come forth and admit that Greenland was ridiculous, after the whole moronic idead was bulldozed through by the previous.
People have not yet fortgotten such idiocy and arrogance. Abd more importantly, aside from liz Thompson being thankfully promoted onwards and upwards to spend time with the other job holders in the UN, the team left has not changed much.
That is their problem and I said this a long time ago.
But yes, bajans are between a rock and a hard place.
I would venture to say, that there has never been a time, when the potential for a third grouping of intelligent people, could put a dent in the election, particularly as so many young people are voting now who would not have the same allegiance to either party and also have not been engendered with the same does of yardfowlism.
errata ‘never been such a time’……’dose of yardfowlism’
and to those who doesn’t believe that charisma is a big plus look at Barack Obama although he didn’t have the political sklls and experience as those in either party he ran against. It was his charmastic endearment that drew people to him people of all colour and races.So those of us of the who support thisgovernment should not fool ourselves into a false sense of security leaning only upon the economy.For sure the BLP for its faults did secure a decent economy for the country. It was charisma which first endeared OSA to the people and everthing else fell in place. Unfortunately for OSA his downfall was to take the people for granted. People have learnt and they would not return to OSA.
David Thompson had it , John F. Kennedy had it. such leaders give the country a sense of security even when everthing is going wrong. It is a plus a big plus and it is one that makes the people feel as if the leader”Is One Of Us”
Owen Arthur’s downfall ”
What downfall ?
Three terms as Prime Minister ?
Listen, dont get tie up , he get nuff
it was time for some body else to shine
I saw Sinckler on TV with Michael Lashley at a place called B’s
Guess who looked like a Prime Minister ?
Guess who had the charisma
Guess who spoke with confidence and authority.
An interesting read by Ezra today:
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/unspoken-words/
Tina
Quote:”It was time for some body else to shine” Is that So! and eversince OSA can’t come to grips with since losingthe last
electionMaybe you ought to whisper that coment in his ear and wait for a response. An answer that he already gave when he ousted MIA Motley. In the last electin the country sent him a message one which he has apparently forgotten.However it is a message needed to sent again!
Help, someone give a straight answer is Owen and Mia on speaking terms. Owen said the worse is behind them but Mia did not unpick her teeth. The bad blood runs deep. Rommell Marshall itching to get at the short men.
What is the true position since the cowardly Gang of Five stabbed Mia in her back have we moved on ? A Blp government under these circumstances could see the first political bloodshed and coup attempt in our post colonial history with Mia’s insurgents against Owen’s insurgents.
Too much is at stake I going with Fruendel.
Zack | May 7, 2011 at 10:43 PM |
“Have to give Donville Inniss credit for decentralizing the ambulance service.”
I am willing to bet that Dr.Georgie Porgie suggested that years ago.
Even if he didn’t, he is certain to say he did!
@Carson C. Cadogan | May 7, 2011 at 6:46 PM |
“Read my lips:
Standard and Poor
IMF.
White rum” Arthur has no ideas for helping this country. He is bankrupt of ideas. He is a spent force. ..He has not said or done anything sensible in the last 3 years other than to bury his long knife deep into the back of the Hon. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY.”
It still won’t change anything in 2013. as i see it freundel DOES NOT have the charisma or appeal as David Thompson. CLICO issue will not be forgotten, Nothing done about Hardwood, more money being spent; less than a 1/4 of the promises houses by NHC being built. I see nothing that would suggest that the DLP will win the elections. i am not political but i know they are many like me, who are watching and shaking our heads
It is clear you were not selecting accepted leaders in our society on the basis of social class . Those whom you identified have one thing in common and that’s charisma,
those personal qualities that give individuals influences over large numbers of people. It is not simply one’s style of speech, but one’s personality as well.
Our PM speeches may be grammatically perfect and eloquent with language but he can’t reach his intended target .So where do we place him ?
The only saving Grace for the DLP is if FM Stuart keeps his word to DHJT and allows Christopher Sinckler enough time to mature into a formidable candidate before calling elections and handing the baton over to him to lead the party.
For the DLP that unfortunately will not come to pass, politics and politicians are not short of egos, remember Sandi. Below is Sinckler’s down fall, its the principle of war which will ultimately ensure his time comes much later (but at the right time), after a few who are ahead of him, from both parties get their opportunity:-
“The quality of decision is like the well-timed swoop of a falcon which enables it to strike and destroy its victim”
Add a little deception (especially from the inside), on account of the ways of politics………and you see the problem Minister Sinckler has if he actually wants to be PM in the very short term.
THE PLAYGROUND OF THE ASININE
THE OUTLET OF THE LONESOME
THE PARADE GROUND OF THE CLOWNS
THIS FORUM IS ALL THIS AND LESS
BORING !!!!!
@ Pragmatist
Your contribution makes you lonesome asinine clown who is boring or less.
Who owns what and where!