The first method for estimating the intelligence of a ruler is to look at the men he has around him – Niccolo Machiavelli

The blogmaster read a report in the press yesterday that former Minster of Drainage (and the Environment) Denis Lowe,  “still has fervour for politics” and intends to throw his hat in the ring come next general election due in 2023. There was an attempt to make his intention serious by giving the story prominence on the front page of the Nation newspaper.

The blogmaster is challenged to present a cogent response to Lowe’s outlandish desire to offer himself as a candidate in the next election.  This is a man who left his ministry with a handful of garbage trucks and had to resort to commandeering MTW trucks and bobcats to remove piles of garbage from the streets of Barbados. What Lowe will be most remembered for is an attempt to foist a gasification waste to energy plant on Barbadians under the cloak of night. Cahill Energy … anyone?

The Nation newspaper reported Lowe’s desire to contest the next election was ratified by the Christ Church East constituency. The blogmaster notes the interesting comeback from president of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Verla De Peiza when asked to comment, the party will make candidate announcements at a later date”.

Political pundits are left to ask – how come the leadership of DLP Christ Church East  is so out of touch with the political reality prevailing in the country? What would have motivated a handful of individuals to ratify Lowe’s selection at this time? What would have motivated them to retrieve a spent, incompetent and shady  Denis Stephenson Lowe from the political dust bin? By the way, has he been given a clean bill of health? We recall he had to be away from office for unacceptable periods of time.

The blogmaster criticized Verla De Peiza when she allowed Stuart to share his specious concerns under the party banner earlier in the year. Once again this blogmaster is suggesting she should move with haste to excoriate political skeletons associated with Stuarts unpopular reign. At a time Prime Minister Mia Mottley continues to suck the political oxygen from Barbados’ political space,  Verla De Peiza leader is being undermined by political fiends stinking up her leadership space. If De Peiza wants to establish the party as hers, if she wants to match and surpass Mottley, she must respond with a ruthlessness borrowed from the Machiavellian handbook. If she does not the label of ‘watchman’ will flourish.

The ratification of Lowe by the constituency raises the perennial issue discussed many times on the blog. The private selection of candidates by the duopoly who eventually find themselves elevated to members of the cabinet. BU has posted several blogs exposing Lowe as a stool pigeon and plan for Peter Allard going back to when he was appointed to the Senate.

It is time for political parties in Barbados to reinvent themselves. Men and women must hold their noses and offer to serve. We can implement the best systems to ‘democratize’ the process, it will not work as intended unless intelligent  people with copious integrity raise their hands.

316 responses to “Denis Lowe Go Away!”

1. Poverty level off the chain in barbados
    Murder rate keeps climbing barbados is now up to an official count of 27 murders almost one murder a week
    Dennis lowe as a private citizen has a right to present himself as a candidate
    That being said is no news and is not of any high priority since Dennis lowe utterances at present does not in any way interact with the economic turmoil of barbados
    Presently barbadian households are at their wits end trying to survive the economic pangs of Covid and barbados have a govt who has failed miserably in rolling out policies that can help stimulate the economy and helping to decrease the ongoing increase of unemployment
    However BU rather than hold govt feet to the fire for its inept lacklustre performance in not pushing forward policies that would slow the economic grind on the road to poverty on barbadian households brings forward stale news in the form of political poop calling out Dennis Lowe
    Unbelivable

2. Nobody is voting for a stinking cadaver!

Not our problem if he doesn’t know he is dead.

Steupse!

The only issue here is the insult to our intelligence that he actually can’t tell the difference between us and foolish Americans.

3. David

We disagree with the tenor of your article not because it is misguided but because there is a larger problem infecting the entire body which you are implicitly ignoring.

Nobody, wants to indict the entire system!

In essense, there are nearly 30 Dennis Lowes sitting in parliament right now and more than 30 fielding at first slip, just waiting for the Bajan people to take an edge.

So Dennis Lowe is no exception to the rule.

4. Observing this one very carefully!

Dem would have to be mad to go back down this road again.

Just observing

5. i dont know where Lowe think he is going or that he should be embraced by present DLP leadership? certainly a backward step and i would be joining or offerring my support if the DLP does that.

please go away Dennis. and take Gline Clarke, George Payne and Weir with you.

6. correction-

i dont know where Lowe think he is going or that he should be embraced by present DLP leadership?

certainly a backward step and i wouldnt be joining or offering my support if the DLP does that.

please go away Dennis. and take Gline Clarke, George Payne and Weir with you.

7. @Pacha

You are reminded of the Berlin Wall and how one one blow caused it to fall when it did.

8. @Pacha

The loud message from the blog is the critique of the party system and the need to democratize it as much as is practical. That we have a few partisans who can manipulate the nomination/selection of candidates to challenge the executive of the party should be of wider concern. The blogmaster posted similar blogs when MIA was kicked out by the gang of 5 which prompted her to promise she will democratize the selection of candidates of the BLP should she lead the party. We are waiting. It is a political class duopoly thing.

This hand me down system that fits like a bad suit needs to be overhauled.

9. David

We do not question your commitment to good governace regardless to who is in power, which factions wins or not.

What we question is your enduring refusal to see obvious limitations of the very systems held dear.

Are we not living in a time where all popular systems of social organization can go no further? Is this not clear?

10. @Pacha

You are sufficiently read to know that what Churchill opined all those years ago remains the greatest challenge to western system of government.

Many forms of Government have been tried, and will be tried in this world > of sin and woe. No one pretends that democracy is perfect or all-wise. > Indeed it has been said that democracy is the worst form of Government > except for all those other forms that have been tried from time to time.…’ > > Winston S Churchill, 11 November 1947 >

11. The only issue here is the insult to our intelligence that he actually can’t tell the difference between us and foolish Americans.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I THINK YOU SHOULD LOOK INTO THE MIRROR BEFORE CALLING ANYONE FOOLISH.

LIKE POT CALLING THE KETTLE BLACK.

12. What the hell is going on. We have a nation that is in crisis; a bully for a prime minister who has lost control to a clique of small business people; her sacking of her minister of tourism, the ministry with the remit to rescue the economy; a minister for the environment who has been sacked, and all we can talk about is the return of a failed politician, who was not even important when he was a minister.
    Here we have a tearful prime minister offering a minister a diplomatic post in order to soften the blow of his sacking; a minister sacrificed in order to satisfy the political thirst of a small business mafia; a prime minister that has no programme; a prime minister whose bluff has been called; and one of the principal platforms for public discussions is obsessing over an issue the voters have long settled.
    What political illiteracy; what nonsense; what buffoonery.

13. David

Well we were never persauded that there was any democracy in Western led systems.

Churchill himself, was a devout racist who gassed the “sand niggers” of West Asia. Where was their democracy? We are not capable of being impressed by his like. This was Churchill the vagabond.

Yes, he also happened to be brave enough to defend his island from the fascists. At best we have a mixed bag. When weighed in the balance we remain unimpressed.

Yes, many forms of social organization have been tried. And yes most have failed, most of them aimed at serving elite forces, some failing spectacularly.

Are we to wait for the spectacular demise of the Western elected dictatorships, or as you would put it “democracies”, before we fashion a system of our own making.

14. @Pacha

Some of us thought when COVID reared its head, it would have served to be the tipping point to achieve real change. Are we there yet?

15. David
    No. We are not there and will never get there.

What we have seen is countries throwing poor and working people into the mau of Covid in order to serve corporate interest. Similar to any other “war”.

Governments caring more about big business interests and economic indicators than preserving lives or reordering priorities in fundaments ways.

Governments only wanting to get back to a vicious normalcy. Not to change any of the disparities allowing Covid, a microscopic agent, to topple sand castles built near the water’s edge.

16. @Pacha

The blogmaster rest, no more to add to what you have stated.

17. “Fun Reading” to start the weekend. Blogmasters intentions are honorable, however the term FLOGGING A DEAD HORSE comes to mind. I agree that POLITICAL CHANGE IS DUE, the BIG question is with what and by whom and will the citizenry buy in.

Hal has a good point, numerous urgent issues are pending, however what prevails is bluster and fluff.

18. @Wily

What is more important than discussing governance issues under which ALL issues in the country incubate?

19. The first method for estimating the intelligence of a ruler is to look at the men he has around him – Niccolo Machiavelli

Ms. Mockley is not a man so the adage does not apply.

She is however a zero as is her Government.

Her existence speaks volumes to the intelligence of the electorate as a whole.

So, Dennis Lowe will run again … and probably win again!!

20. Yes David
    Rest, without conceeding. LOL

21. David

Anybody can get a handful of aged women in any constituency branch anywhere in Barbados to nominate any donkey to contest any seat. Even the straight-haired Kuche Kuche boy on the other side. This is what you have always called democracy.

22. BAJE,

I don’t even advise you to look in the mirror. I think your stupidity would overwhelm it.

NOW TO YOUR SUBSTANCE OR LACK THEREOF.

As deficient as our leadership has been and as much as they have fooled or disappointed us, we have not yet sunk to the level of being fooled by a Donald Trump – a moron, an ignoramus and a sociopath, all rolled into one. Not to mention a toddler in a man’s body.

Our politicians are normal human beings – flawed but normal. They have taken much longer to destroy our 2×3 country with no natural resources. Trump has taken the WORLD’S SUPERPOWER and brought it to its knees in less than four years.

NINETY-FIVE PER CENT OF BARBADIANS, THIS FOOL INCLUDED, AND HER TEENAGED SON ALSO, PREDICTED THAT VERY OUTCOME.

SIXTY MILLION AMERICAN ADULTS THOUGHT HE WOULD MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN.

Conclusion: no matter how foolish we may be, we (including teenagers) are not as foolish as almost fifty per cent of American adults.

Evidence or TRUTH that cannot be refuted. WHETHER YOU LIKE TO HEAR IT OR NOT!

23. David

This system is incapable of attracting “intelligent people” with copious integrity”.

When and where has such a thing happened?

24. @Pacha

You are of the theory x disposition we see? This is not a healthy state of mind to sustain LOL

25. BLACK JOHN wanking and cranking early in the morning!

Ms. Mottley may not be my cup of tea but she is not a zero.

The fact that we are alive to complain bears witness to that.

I do not believe in exaggerating to prove a point.

But I remind you of another use for zero that is indeed worthy of mention.

Barbados did indeed go “down to zero” – in COVID CASES!

26. David

We seem to recall that McGregor’s theory x denotes the authouitarian personality trait.

This would make us anathema since we have concluded that your system is indeed an elected dictatorship and not the participatory democracy it advertises itself to be.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol…it’s a participatory dictatorship, unless there is a minority Parliament, which Barbados hasn’t experienced since 1966.

28. Northern
    We like that one

29. How do you reduce the size of a Cabinet, oft called fir on BU, without “sacking” people? Some of the same people “sacked” were deemed useless on this same BU. The BU gang are hard at work….failing. 🤣🤣🤣

30. “This hand me down system that fits like a bad suit needs to be overhauled..”

it’s even worse than that, Pacha might have an inkling about just how bad it really is, others will have to wait on the book about fowl slaves to understand the total ramifications,they are part of the key..

31. It’s good to know that Lowe wants to run again. He will continue to oppress, spit on and exploit the black masses in the spirit of the KKK.

Those who despise the black masses will vote for DLP so that they continue to live in poverty!

DISCLAIMER
    Observe the irony!

32. BAJE,

I don’t even advise you to look in the mirror. I think your stupidity would overwhelm it.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I WOULDN’T ARGUE WITH A WOMAN WHO LIVES IN ONE OF THE TINIEST ISLANDS IN THE WORLD AND HAS NO SIGNIFICANT BUSINESSES OR MAJOR MAJOR ASSETS BUT CLAIMS SHE IS ONE OF TEN PERCENT OF RICHEST PEOPLE IN THE WORLD.

KEEP FOOLING YOURSELF IN YOUR GRANDEUR OF DELUSION WHILE CALLING PEOPLE FOOLS AND STUPID.

GTFOH

33. Conceiving of and designing a system of governance is not something my mind stretches to at all. And from what little I know of what has been tried I can think of none better than so-called democracy. If anyone can enlighten me, I would be willing to learn.

I think that no matter what the system the flaws of mankind would demand that those who participate serve as a check on eachother.

It is my belief that we the people have behaved like little children giving way to our politicians like to a parent. Some of us have been naive and others of us have been lazy. The politicians have simply taken advantage of that. Even with our flawed system I believe there is much we could have done to keep our interests foremost in the minds of our leaders.

But somehow the people “wanted a king” . We are the ones who convince them that they are more than servants.

So… they rule instead of serve!

34. Meanwhile the one with the “Bajan living in the UK condition” declares: our democracy is under threat. As if the UK where he resides is an exemplar. A big able Cabinet minister just got exposed for ignoring his technocrats’ advice and approving a scheme for a party donor he sat next to at a party fund raising dinner few weeks prior. His decision saved the party donor £40M and the party received a £12,000 just before. He was forced to quash the decision and admit “apparent bias”. Today, I see the PM gave his brother a peerage. #Googlecanbeapowerfultool

35. Thing is, he promised he would never come back to live in Barbados so I hope he spends even more time trying to sort them out.

Thing is, as a trained journalist he could have lost the attitude and been a great help to the blog. He should know what questions to ask and where we should look for the evidence.

36. I hope Lowe, Inniss, Big Sinck, Lashley et al run again in 2023 – to ensure total defeat of the DLP.

Today, DLP grandees in the USA claim a kind of blue privilege. They claim they are allowed to commit unlimited crimes such as corruption in Barbados and are therefore allowed to do the same in the USA.

37. @Greene

Here are 2 pages from that book mentioned on the weekend where the author gives a local flavour to politics. The quality is poor.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/07/page-1.png

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/07/page-2.png

38. Thing is, he promised he would never come back to live in Barbados………….(Quote)

???????

39. Am I mistaken then? Are you coming back to live in the failed state among the unfortunates who suffer from the Bajan Condition for whom it will all end in tears?

40. Thirty zeroes is still zero!!

41. For the very stable genius!

https://youtu.be/Brp8Va8XVQw

How many zeros in 4,000,000? How many in 150,000?

42. Dear Baje,

I see you are still not aware of how to calculate net worth. I also see that you are not aware of all the various ways to gain possession of money. I am also surprised that you do not know that what a person did not get in a year they can get in a day.

I leave you to find out the name of my accountant.

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Nothing infuriates me more than a stinking low life DLP crook. If he the deads tomorrow, not a boy will feel bad because he is just a useless piece of sick work. Moving on to Mottley’s shuffling and ridding herself of few useless fools. Kudos to you Madam Prime Minister. It is clear that your many hands making light work certainly is not working in the context that you expect it would. I mean you really got some challenges in the plate and the pandemic has come along and compounded a bad situation into a major disaster. Trying to keep Barbados together at this time is not an easy task, and with all that is going down with the bad going up, I can understand if it appears like you are failing the people at this time. So here is two things you Madam Prime Minister.

A- I believe that you can get a lot more done if you put back things the way they were before. All this splitting up ministries to ensure that friends, associates and those who pledge their allegiance can get a little pick will not work under the current circumstances.
    B- Reduce the VAT back to what it was before. People need to eat. The ridiculous food prices in Barbados is turning many into desperados. Desperate people does do desperate things, here.

44. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Pachamama July 31, 2020 9:40 AM “Anybody can get a handful of aged women in any constituency branch anywhere.”

Why are you putting the blame for political failures on us old women?

45. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Enuff July 31, 2020 12:09 PM ” His decision saved the party donor £40M and the party received a £12,000 just before.”

My response: You are kiddin’ When I was a girl, a girl in my village “gave it to him for 2 biscuits” This 12,000 to the party decision seems very similar to me. If you are going to give away your virginity at least have the decency to give it away for something substantial. Lol!

@Enuff July 31, 2020 12:09 PM “I see the PM gave his brother a peerage.”

Tell me it ain’t so. Lol!

46. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Since the beginning of the Covid19 pandemic i made a decision to continue giving 1% of my monthly income to my church, and in addition I selected a charity and I give 1% there as well. I plan to continue for at least 12 months, or perhaps until the pandemic is over. It is easy enough to do.

Are our politicians, including Dennis Lowe and our political aspirants doing the same?

If not why not?

47. Cuhdear Bajan

Our most humble apologies.

48. Lowe will not run. He is just floating a balloon

Lynette Eastman need to take back the leadership of UPP now it cannot be said to be doing the work for the late PM..

Time to hit the road for 2023 to gain experience and known in preparation for 2028.

49. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@BAJE July 31, 2020 11:55 AM
    “… HAS NO SIGNIFICANT BUSINESSES OR MAJOR MAJOR ASSETS BUT CLAIMS SHE IS ONE OF TEN PERCENT OF RICHEST PEOPLE IN THE WORLD.”
    The world is mostly made up of poor people, so being among the 10% of richest people in the world takes a net worth of only about Bd$200,000. That’s right Baje, anyone who owns a tiny bungalow on a postage stamp of land in Barbados is among the top 10% of richest people in the world. It makes you realise either how lucky we are or how unlucky most people in the world are.

50. @John2

The fact that we have to be begging third parties to organize two years in does not bode well.