The FBI is investigating the death of George Floyd, black man who was pinned on the neck by a police officer and later died in custody. Minnesota’s Attorney General Keith Ellison joins The Beat with Ari Melber’s breaking coverage on the latest from the FBI and the protests. While the officers involved have yet to be charged, Ellison argues a “quick arrest” might “make people feel better about justice” it is “important” for investigators to “take the time to make sure that these charges, if they are brought forward, stick.

‘Haunted’: Minnesota Attorney General responds to death and investigation of George Floyd

1,656 responses to “George Floyd – Black Man Treated Like a Dog by White Policeman in the USA”

1. @ Dr Lucas

I AGREE WITH YOU FROM THIS PERSPECTIVE.

POLICE KILLINGS AND BRUTALITY AGAINST ANYONE WHETHER BLACK OR WHITE INDIVIDUAL BY BLACK OR WHITE OFFICER IS WRONG.

WHETHER IT OCCURS IN US, UK OR BARBADOS.

AT LEAST IN DEVELOPED COUNTRIES THERE HAS BEEN SOME PROSECUTIONS AND CONVICTIONS EVEN THOUGH NOT ENOUGH.

IN BARBADOS 0 POLICE CONVICTED FOR KILLING OR THE BRUTALITY OF LOCAL BLACKS IN CUSTODY.

THAT IS WHAT LOCAL BARBADIANS SHOULD BE FOCUSED ON THE INJUSTICES TO BLACK MEN IN THEIR LOCAL SYSTEMS BY LOCAL UNIFORM POLICE AND DETECTIVES.

2. Lawson May 29, 2020 11:32 AM

Are you saying the ones doing the looting are only blacks??????

No. I am saying that you would like to think so.

3. re If you want learn note this- you cannot post a local link to your Outlook inbox and seriously expect it to work externally.

huh? what is this about bosie?

DPD……YOU ARE A STATISTICIAN NOW?

BAJEMay 29, 2020 12:09 PM

@ Dr Lucas

I AGREE WITH YOU FROM THIS PERSPECTIVE.

POLICE KILLINGS AND BRUTALITY AGAINST ANYONE WHETHER BLACK OR WHITE INDIVIDUAL BY BLACK OR WHITE OFFICER IS WRONG.

WHETHER IT OCCURS IN US, UK OR BARBADOS.

i AGREE WITH BOTH YOU AND DR LUCAS MR BAJE
    THERE IS A NEED FOR BALANCE

4. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

@GP crime is crime, murder is murder, wrong is wrong regardless of who does it..you know what is the irony through this saga? …a CNN black reporter was arrested LIVE on air while peacefully asking the white officer where to report, while a CNN hispanic and white reporter broadcasted relatively unmolested, granted that the white and hispanic reporter were broadcasting from within the rioting crowd. Both doing the same job but getting different treatment. I contended to you if 4 black officers that done that to a white person charges would have put on them faster than a sno-cone could melt. That is the problem, this is why in the USA “blacks cant breathe”. ingrained Discrimination is the virus that people have caught for hundreds of years and it is blacks that are the ones suffering the most from it.

5. Yes, David. The governor seems to have an understanding of why it is happening and what needs to be done. His speech was near perfect. Maybe there is some hope.

Those who are so sure that the officers will be convicted should really take a look at the statistics. It is more likely that they will not be and hence the riots. Maybe they are finally being heard. If they are it is BECAUSE OF THE RIOTS. I think they understand that the black people are at the point where –

“NO LIVES MATTER UNTIL BLACK LIVES MATTER!”

Many reporters are noting the change in attitude that matches those words.

6. I just saw this via Washington Post

“Minneapolis City Council Vice President Andrea Jenkins said George Floyd and fired police officer Derek Chauvin knew each other for many years because they worked security at the same night club. Both men worked at El Nuevo Rodeo on Lake Street before their last encounter.”

They knew each other? Did the Cop have it in for a co-worker?

7. Took a scared shitless suspect the police had been harassing in to Central years ago at his request and told them what would happen if I found one mark on him. They smiled at my audacity but he was released unharmed. I am ready to march in Barbados anytime. Until others are willing to join me, I work alone.

8. THERE IS A NEED FOR BALANCE

What nonsense and hypocrisy
    When you with your persecution complex get on here complaining about how you were treated in Barbados (or where ever else you went begging for work) or accusing David of blocking your posts and others try to bring “balance” you start name calling and attacking others
    Well Mr proctologist you can go find one of your melanin deficient masters and find your balance you know where.

9. The officer must be charged with Murder, this can not be a mistake, split second mistakes with a gun are possible but not kneeling on a persons neck for 6 minutes. This policeman should have been fired years ago check this—Ira Latrell Toles didn’t immediately recognize Minneapolis cop Derek Chauvin in the now-viral video of him holding his knee on George Floyd’s neck as the handcuffed black man repeatedly told him he couldn’t breathe.

But when news outlets identified the officers involved, Toles, 33, realized the man responsible for Floyd’s death was the same police officer who barged into his home and beat him up in the bathroom before shooting him in the stomach 12 years earlier while responding to a domestic violence call.

Another salient point is that these 2 men both worked at the same night club! Chauvin outside as security when off duty and George Floyd inside security. Did they know each other ? Did they have a historical beef? Food for thought.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Lawson…we already know how evil racists can be, look what they caught one doing and put him out there for the world to see too, he could not even get away from those who caught him…

https://www.facebook.com/100009539949499/videos/2619108628417110/?t=39

11. RE David likes to introduce these USA ARTICLES to distract Bajans away from their own PRESSING ISSUES THAT ARE MORE IMPORTANT however the local responsible populace, government, etc is at a TOTAL LOSE ABOUT HOW TO RESOLVE.

If when he wakes up in the morning and has not heard a good rumour, then he turns to USA to find a BLACK RACIAL STORY that he knows will garner traffic from BU black bloggers. This is also racism cloaked under the veil of a STORY. BU lives by the demographic of traffic, No traffic no BU.

WILY COYOTE
    YA LIKE YA RIGHT SIR
    NOT MUCH TRAFFIC YESTERDAY
    BUT THIS LLOYD GEORGE THING IS TRENDING AS THEY SAY
    NUFF TRAFFIC TODAY

12. RE RedguardMay 29, 2020 12:48 PM

THERE IS A NEED FOR BALANCE

What nonsense and hypocrisy
    When you with your persecution complex get on here complaining about how you were treated in Barbados (or where ever else you went begging for work) or accusing David of blocking your posts and others try to bring “balance” you start name calling and attacking others
    Well Mr proctologist you can go find one of your melanin deficient masters and find your balance you know where.

WHEN ALL IS SAID AND DONE……………THERE IS always A NEED FOR BALANCE uh lie?

THE WHITE POLICE WAS UNBALANCED uh lie?
    THE RIOTERS ARE UNBALANCED uh lie?
    THE BU BRIMBLERS ARE UNBALANCED uh lie?

13. GP, U are absolutely correct that there are EVIL humans from every race, hue, religion, class etc. How does burning down your own area help eg low cost housing burnt, stores burnt etc. It is precisely that area that will lose jobs, shopping convenience etc for years to come, just as happened in Ferguson, Baltimore etc. Protesting is the correct method, hold authorities to account.

14. they have white racists and they have black racists too! uh lie?
    this can not be refuted!
    and this is true in both church and chapel! uh lie?
    this also can not be refuted!

15. TO SOME OF YOU BLINDED INDIVIDUALS RACISM WORKS BOTH WAYS.

SEVERAL MONTHS AGO I SAW A WHITE MAN STANDING WAITING FOR A TRAIN.

TWO BLACK MIDDLE AGE AMERICANS WALKED BY AND ONE CHOSE TO VERBALLY ATTACKED THE WHITE MIDDLE AGE MAN ON WHY HE WAS LOOKING AT HIM AND STARTED TO CALL HIM RACIST NAMES UNPROVOKED IN A THREATENING MANNER AS THOUGH TO ATTACK THE MAN, THEN APPROACHED TO KICK HIS ASS FOR LOOKING AT HIM.

SINCE I WAS STANDING A FEW YARDS AWAY AND SAW THE INCIDENT AND KNEW NONE OF THE PARTIES I INTERVENED AND TOLD THE BLACK GUY HE WAS WRONG AND FULL OF SHIT.

HE THEN TURNED HIS ATTENTION TO ME AT THE SAME TIME A WHITE OFFICER APPROACHED FROM OUT OF NOWHERE.

I TOLD THE OFFICER OF MY OBSERVATIONS AND THE BLACK GUY WAS CAUTIONED.

WE LIVE IN A WORLD WHERE RACISM IS PRACTICED BY ALL RACES.

16. re there are EVIL humans from every race, hue, religion, class etc.
    I HAVE BEEN TREATED FAR WORSE BY BLACKS THAN I HAVE BEEN TREATED BY WHITES in both church and chapel!

17. this is making the rounds as to how the looting started. it has been reported that the man is or was a St Paul’s police officer.

18. David,

just saw that WARU posted so can you delete my last 2 posts

19. this is about what happened to Mr George. nothing more nothing less. why bring all sort of extraneous issues to bear?

when the black cop shot the white lady did white people ever say well what about white on white crime. or what about the white lady who said he child was kidnapped by a black man etc. or the white woman who threatened to sic the police on a black bird watcher? you never heard that. the matter is prosecuted for what it is.

black people are something else i must say. we find excuses for a whole host of crap perpetrated on us. it is always our fault that we get killed. the white man barely has to lift a finger in defence.

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“ingrained Discrimination is the virus that people have caught for hundreds of years and it is blacks that are the ones suffering the most from it.”

Glass houses…stones…same in Barbados…and it’s a MAJORITY BLACK COUNTRY…

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now there are those who have been stained with the same racist brush who will now have to clean up the mess and apologize…

https://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/ny-police-across-country-condemn-george-floyd-custody-death-20200529-6drnbkugevgvpapr7b33h3qfku-story.html#nt=oft-Double%20Chain~Recommender~~curated-recommender-photos~~1~no-art~automated~curatedpage

In a rarely seen display of indignation with people in their own profession, police across the country have taken to social media this week to publicly condemn the Minneapolis officers involved in the appalling custody death of George Floyd.

“There is no need to see more video,” said David Roddy, the police chief in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

“There no need to wait to see how ‘it plays out,’” he tweeted. “There is no need to put a knee on someone’s neck for NINE minutes. There IS a need to DO something. If you wear a badge and you don’t have an issue with this… turn it in.”

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That bullshit about black people looting…ya see who is responsible now, MoneyB and Lawson, same lowlife racist as both of you already know, that is what racists do….they can’t get away with it anymore, social media is not about that…

.the lies and lies and lies and lies done…..they can’t even make themselves invisible so more and more will be exposed…get used to it…

23. The White former policeman and now murderer was arrested moments ago.

Good!

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — Fired Minneapolis police officer Derek Chauvin has been arrested four days after George Floyd’s fatal arrest that sparked protests, rioting and outcry across the city and nation.

On Friday, John Harrington, commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, announced that Chauvin was taken into custody by the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

Chauvin is the former officer in the video seen around the world with his knee on Floyd’s neck. He’d been with Minneapolis police for 19 years.

25. Not so very long ago, Trump criticised the Chinese for harassing black citizens in China and warned black Americans to beware. The Chinese government responded by stating that unlike the American government they do not shoot and kill blacks.

Pachamama was critical of R. Lucas earlier. As bad as Dr Lucas comments were, I feel more anger with the silence of our CARICOM leaders and the African Union. These events are sadly a regular occurrence within the African diaspora whether it be in Brazil, the UK, France, et al. A couple of days ago three members of the Chinese community in Zambia were murdered and burnt in their factories by, I believe, some of their disgruntled workers. The Chinese government reacted immediately and called for an investigation,

26. Saw Andrea Jenkins speak twice yesterday. Eloquence personified!

27. Least we forget, these are the same racist crackers whom Barbados loves as tourists. How we love our American, British and Canadian travellers.

28. This comment has nuisance value.

There are white people protesting in Minneapolis.

Where is the value is painting with a broad brush?

Injustice can be found anywhere, there are degrees of it that fuels different establishments.

29. RE The White former policeman and now murderer was arrested moments ago. Good!
    THAT FELLA IS A REAL TRUE TRUE SINNER.!

NOW THE HYSTERICS ON THIS BLOG WILL DIE DOWN?
    A FEW FELLAS WHO ARE AT WORK WONT CHIME IN NOW?

WHEN WILL THEY ARREST SOME FELLAS FOR BLACK ON BLACK KILLINGS IN THE BLACK CITIES NOW……….FOR A LIKKLE BALANCE?

30. Here come all the “But” people! But me no buts! Peaceful protests for how many effing decades??????

Why do you think the man has been charged so swiftly? They tried their usual bullshit yesterday at the press conference. “This was a horrible tragedy that should not have happened but was it criminal?” “There is other evidence that suggests that this is not a case for criminal charges.”

It did not work and that is why they have changed their tune. But watch out! Don’t take your eyes off because as we did yesterday we still have – “We give our officers leave to use a certain amount of force. We have to prove that it was excessive force.”

Who the hell can’t see that it was excessive force?????? The man had his hand casually in his pocket for chrissake! Was he feeling threatened????????

As the sign said at the top of the burning building –

Can you hear me NOW???????

31. Least we forget, these are the same racist crackers whom Barbados loves as tourists. How we love our American, British and Canadian travellers.
    THIS STATEMENT IS A FACT THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

32. @ Greene

this is about what happened to Mr George. nothing more nothing less. why bring all sort of extraneous issues to bear?

when the black cop shot the white lady did white people ever say well what about white on white crime. or what about the white lady who said he child was kidnapped by a black man etc. or the white woman who threatened to sic the police on a black bird watcher? you never heard that. the matter is prosecuted for what it is.

black people are something else i must say. we find excuses for a whole host of crap perpetrated on us. it is always our fault that we get killed. the white man barely has to lift a finger in defence.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NO ONE IS MAKING EXCUSES.

I BELIEVE ON THIS MATTER YOU ARE FULL OF SHIT AS YOU ARE THE FIRST TO DEFEND MANY CRIMINAL BLACK POLICE AND DETECTIVES IN BARBADOS WHO DOES MANY INJUSTICES TO LOCAL BLACKS REGULARLY WHILST YOU CHOOSE TO LOOK THE OTHER WAY OFTEN DEFENDING THEM.

DEAL WITH BARBADOS AND STOP BEING A BLASTED HYPOCRITE ON THIS ISSUE POLICE BRUTALITY AND MURDER IS INEXCUSABLE ANYWHERE.

NOTE I REPEAT ZERO (0) CONVICTIONS IN BARBADOS FOR POLICE MURDER or BRUTALITY IN CUSTODY AT MANY POLICE STATIONS ACROSS THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

OR IS IT OKAY WHEN BLACKS KILL BLACKS.

ARE YOU LIVING IN LA LA LAND AND NOT IN REALITY.

33. Steupse! They are arrested every day. You call that shit balance??????

34. Q Why do you think the man has been charged so swiftly?
    A BECAUSE OF THIS BU BLOG ON THE MATTER WITH ALL THE BAJANS HEY BAYING FOR BLOOD. LOL

35. You may love them but I never would work in the tourism industry and if any of them play the ass with me they would surely catch the next plane out of Barbados when I am finished with them. But I have never had occasion to complain.

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, facts are facts. Just as it seems quite unlikely that the folks in Georgia will be convicted beyond a reasonable doubt of murder or even man-slaughter for Ahmaud Arbery’s death; it’s well beyond any reasonable doubt that this officer will not be charged AND convicted for killing brother Floyd.

In Georgia and other places you can run after someone in your homestead area and then stand ur ground with a licenced firearm around them … If that gun is discharged in the act of a struggle there are lots of questions about who initiated the struggle, intent to do harm and blah, blah.

There are no questions or no lotta blah, blah about kneeling on the neck of a hand-cuffed man for over 5 mins after he is fully subdued and even as he goes limp and allegedly, particularly remaining on his neck after the EMTs arrive to administer aid.

That is straight-up, callous disregard for life… any jury member that has doubts after a full trail would have to hear some particular revelations about Floyd’s super human fighting ability from a prone and restricted position, and a history of uncontrolled violence against cops/authority with his 6′ 6″ powerful frame.

Maybe the guy was a Black Bruce Banner hulk wannabe… 😡!

Failing any of that… This cop is GOING DOWN hard! The others not as hard.

Facts are facts.

BTW, funny we should be back in the twin cities after that Black cop was convicted.

Back then it was also crystal clear he was going down and … Yes, part of that calculus was because he was non-white but also because he made an absoutely ridiculous decision to draw and fire his weapon in those circumstances…

This is the state after all which elected the wrestler and former Navy Seal Jesse Ventura as governor … they are a very interesting mix there next door to good ole Canada.

37. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@David BU the officer being arresting is a important first step….that is the one reasons for the protests, the slowness to arrest..lets us hope that the protests subsides.

Re:- the video of the man breaking windows: lawlessness is lawlessness; he should be arrested; it wasn’t provoked it didnt benefit anybody other than the lawless looters

@GP there is a cause and effect. Black “Racism” is as of a result of White “Racism”…. Blacks didn’t start the slave trade and (except for Haiti), Whites had to “liberate” the slaves. Also fact that no body is racist at birth. Racism has always been sustained where whites have control of capital .and using racism to keep that control. White control has always been supported by a supremacist agenda and is often violent to other races. Black Racism is mostly “Black Consciousness”, it is little different than Japanese or American Indians highlighting their roots and culture, but it is OFTEN a reaction to White racism. As i stated earlier in this blog, i lived through the 80s; racism had subsided worldwide but apparently it just went underground.
    At the same time some people are just lawless, that i can NEVER condone.

38. so Baje, no convictions in Bim when it comes to police brutality or murder of suspects as you put it, has a bearing on what happened to George Floyd?

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I feel more anger with the silence of our CARICOM leaders and the African Union.”

don’t hold your breath on useless Caricom leaders saying anything, they only got mouth for America on certain things…they know why….but now they are too busy PIMPING for tourists to care about any black people being slaughtered by police in US…..their bribes are already at risk at it is…

as for the other jokers for leaders in Africa, they need help getting rid of the colonizers they stupidly let in….

40. I noticed that the young pretender has not entered the debate.

41. RE there is a cause and effect. Black “Racism” is as of a result of White “Racism”….

RE . Black Racism is mostly “Black Consciousness”, i

HILARIOUS! KEEP THE BS FLOWING

VERY GOOD FOR BOREDOM

42. How many times would somebody have to separate the issue of individual actions and state action???????

Sigh…..

There are bad people of all races and racist people of all races. Within a just state they will be brought to justice for any crimes.

In an institutionalized racist state only some races are brought to justice. This then encourages the “Untouchables” to act with impunity.

This is the problem we are discussing.

43. DPD,

Facts are facts???????? You have the heart to say that still?????

How about “alternative facts”?

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That is what people were saying from the beginning, pick them up and charge them before things got out of control, of course they waited until too late..

“On Friday afternoon, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety John Harrington announced in a press conference that Derek Chauvin, the former police officer seen with his knee on Floyd’s neck, has been taken into custody. Hennepin County Attorney Mike Freeman also announced that the former officer has been charged with third-degree murder and manslaughter. Currently, there’s no word on whether Tou Thao, Thomas Lane and J Alexander Kueng, the other officers involved in Floyd’s death, will be arrested and charged as well.”

45. Donna May 29, 2020 12:47 PM

Took a scared shitless suspect the police had been harassing in to Central years ago at his request and told them what would happen if I found one mark on him. They smiled at my audacity but he was released unharmed. I am ready to march in Barbados anytime. Until others are willing to join me, I work alone.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WE DON’T NORMALLY AGREE WITH EACH OTHER HOWEVER I SALUTE YOU FOR ASSISTING THIS LOCAL BAJAN WHILST RECOGNIZING A MAJOR PROBLEM.

THOUSANDS OF BLACKS OVER THE YEARS IN AREAS LIKE IVY, BLACK ROCK/DEACONS, EDEN LODGE, CHECKER HALL, NEW ORLEANS ETC WITH LOCAL BLACK POLICE WITH MANY BEING TERRORIZE WITH NO VOICE TO SPEAK OUT PUBLICLY OR RECORDINGS.

THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS LOCALLY AROUND THE ISLAND IN ALL POLICE STATIONS DAILY BLACK ON BLACK.

SOME WOULD LIKE THE WORLD TO THINK DIFFERENT INCLUDING NO CORRUPT POLITICIANS ON THE ISLAND.

46. @ David May 29, 2020 4:56 AM

I said one should reflect and you end up accusing me of simplifying things.

47. @Dr.Lucas

What is there to reflect on?

A white policeman positioned his knee on the neck of a non threatening black man until he died. It was done with scant regard by a man who swore to serve and rh protect.

Reflect what!

48. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@ GP seriously go buy a clue..(i don’t mean the board game)..i bet you will now want to bring those few instances in history where Blacks FORCEFULLY took capital from Whites. As i said it is a reaction…it is all wrong and highly stupid to use violence and promote race divisions in general society.
    @ Donna sarcasm much??? lol

49. @ Greene

so Baje, no convictions in Bim when it comes to police brutality or murder of suspects as you put it, has a bearing on what happened to George Floyd

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I DON”T SEE YOU COMING TO DEFEND BLACK BAJANS FROM BLACK POLICE UNLAWFUL ACTIONS IN BARBADOS, IN FACT YOU ARE BARBADOS POLICE NUMBER 1 DEFENDER ON BU WHICH LEADS ME TO BELIEVE YOU ARE CUT FROM THE SAME ILK.

WE HAVE SAME IDENTICAL PROBLEMS IN BARBADOS PRIMARILY BLACK ON BLACK INJUSTICE BY LOCAL BLACK POLICE WHO ARE SUPPOSED TO “PROTECT AND SERVE”.

THE SAME WAY WE CAN SPEAK TO THE MANY INJUSTICES IN US/UK/CANADA ETC BY ANY POLICE OFFICER WE SHOULD DO SAME IN BARBADOS.

WE CAN STILL WALK AND CHEW GUM AT THE SAME TIME I LIE.