It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020.

I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr. Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post. I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner.

The Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados, states at section 6:

The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act.

The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament. On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the Minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.

For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007. The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act.

The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission. That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available. There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled.

Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first?

1,036 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Police”

1. I really don’t see the significant support for the Senator. The NATION’s opening sentence to the editorial was quite relevant. At any rate, at a time when persons are more preoccupied by immediate concerns the sentiments expressed by the good Senator are forced to take a backseat to those. There is still a deficit in the political strategy. And I don’t know the NATION has the same influence for you to say that the editorial will have a significant impact on public opinion. These are very different times for traditional media than the two years of activism during the Pele affair, for example.

2. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Cuhdear Khaleel, at 10:22 a.m. aren’t you supposed to be in e-school right now? Or doing your homework or something so?

3. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 11, 2020 10:16 AM

My little friend, I do admire your intellectual spunk and your ability, albeit unknowingly, to expose the Bajan Constitution for what it is; a document badly in need of overhaul.

But don’t worry too much. The time is fast approaching when your favourite party will be confronted with the question as whether to continue being tied to the Monarchy with its constitutionally contrived legalese obfuscation (like how can there be a majority from a group of ONE) or go the presidential republic route of direct simplicity.

We hope you will be on the right side of the debate since the political future of your birthplace will be in the hands of the next generation of business men and women like the three wise men from the East.

How can the miller ever dismiss the views of a ‘child’ especially if he or she is of “independent thought”? Isn’t that the very reason why I engage with you?

But there is one aspect of your ‘independent thought process which is a bit baffling; that is, you ability to evade the request to reply directly to politically uncomfortable questions posed to you, like:

What kind of evidence is (still) contained in your Joan of Arc type heroine MAM’s valise she presented to the revved up electorate?

Why don’t you tell the BU household what did your MAM’s government do between the swearing in by the GG and the appointment of Bishop Atherley as the Constitutionally-defective LoO?

How could such an embryo of an administration have committed such unpardonable sins to make such a committed man of the religious cloth abandon ship so early in its voyage; with some even saying before it left the harbour of political virginity?

“One of the signs of a scholar is criticizing his/her own words and thoughts and being aware of different viewpoints.”

“Do not impose your own traditions on your children, since they are living in a different era than yours.”

4. @ Miller

So I presume you finally admit that section 75 evinces the argument I made yesterday.

Also a majority in this context refers to a simple majority, i.e. percentage-wise, more than 50%. Does Joseph Atherley not enjoy the support of more than 50% of the Opposition MPs? Is 1 not more than 50% of 1 or are you still a disciple of Kellmanomics?

I ask you the same question posed to WARU: being so concerned about corruption and lack of complainants have you visited your nearest police station to report the many instances of corruption evident to you or telephoned Crime Stoppers? Or are you only interested in whining about a very real problem in pursuit of a warped agenda?

5. —–Light hearted—
    @KK
    The use of ‘rabbit hole’ tells me you are well grounded in BU speak. What next “the Bah=jan condition” and “Spot on”

@Tron
    “Overpopulation”?
    Wasn’t the party member calling for a population of one million a few weeks ago. You guys have to make up your mind

6. @ TheOgazerts May 11, 2020 12:26 PM

Please do not confuse loyalty with idiocy.

I quote chairman Mao: “Some people are so undiscriminating that they say a Russian fart is fragrant. That too is subjectivism. The Russians themselves say it stinks. Therefore, we should be analytical.”

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I ask you the same question posed to WARU: being so concerned about corruption and lack of complainants have you visited your nearest police station to report the many instances of corruption ”

This is the reason why the young MUST BE GUIDED…here is Khaleel not understanding the significance of a corrupt crime syndicate that was operating and infesting all taxpayer funded entities with corruption from the 1940s long before myself and many others on here were born……..a criminal syndicate that had has operated GENERATIONALLY without fear of being held accountable or going to prison for their crimes…UNTIL NOW…

..and here he is thinking erroneously believing that one can just walk into a police station and report corrupt ministers, politicians, lawyers and minorities….i don’t want to call him naive because that would be giving him an excuse, even worse the crimestoppers are run by questionable people who are plugged into the same corrupt SYSTEM, so who in their right minds would report anything to them..

Khaleel…please google the definition of corruption and its damaging, knock on, domino effect in any country, the EFFECTS of such destruction which can last FOR decades AFTER DECADES of practice by warped, dangerous, tiefing leaders…..and come in many different social fabric destroying ways…

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

We even have a prime EXAMPLE for Khaleel to sink his teeth into and go ask questions about..

Fruendel the Fool…told people when he was PM that if they had any evidence of corruption to take it to the CORRUPT DPP…no i did not make that up, he knew the the DPP, deceased, was corrupt as hell and was sending people there to be set up…anyway, those who knew better knew to ignore that fool and people like myself are still very happy he got a 30-0 just for being that deceitful..

..you will note that although Fruendel invited even the then opposition Mia to take evidence of corruption to the DPP…. she never ACCEPTED THAT INVITATION…

fast forward to 2017-18 and Mia is running all over the place hither, tither and yon with this BIG RED BAG OF EVIDENCE OF DLP CORRUPTION and not only evidence of minister’s corruption a la Donville now stuck in US…but she also knew back then how corrupt Maloney was too….because she couldn’t stop talking about it..

well…ah don’t know what happened between the time she had this bag of evidence and the day she got elected…but since then the big red bag of evidence of DLP corruption…NEVER MADE IT TO THE COMMISSIONER OF POLICE nor the new nuisance for a DPP for that matter and seems to have completely DISAPPEARED from the landscape….

so tell us again Khaleel….whom are you trying to get to go to the police about government corruption, your time would be better spent asking Mia why she did not take the evidence she has to the police now that she is PM with SWEEPING POWERS….then i will see you as actually making sense…but until then…lol

don’t ask the fowls like Enuff and Lorenza anything though, they too stupid….go straight to Mia.

9. So how do you propose to fix it Waru? Or again are you only willing to whine about it? You clearly know more that I, so you’d be better placed to speak to solutions.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

As i said some time back and you can be forgiven for not knowing anything about this, but the only way that level of corruption can be UPROOTED is through the international community, who are well aware of what is happening, including EU who, despite their self preservation stance, are also trying to stem the money laundering tide that is impacting them and in so doing will REDUCE the money laundering and thefts that have impacted the Bajan taxpayers for years and ROBBED GENERATIONS OF THE YOUNG IN THE MAJORITY POPULATION OF OPPORTUNITIES, that is part of the corruption package, but EU can only do so from a diplomatic standpoint.

little by little it has to be DISMANTLED…it will not happen overnight, your generation IS NOW RESPONSABLE for making absolutely sure that there is no REPEAT…as long as you understand that when politicians…no matter who they are…beg you for your votes and you elect them, pay their salaries, with perks mind you…they are not supposed to rob you and generations of your people nor sell you out, they are YOUR SERVANTS AND NOT YOUR MASTERS….

these low level small time crooks have for decades abused the power they begged the electorate for and acted like they are entitled to commit in your face crimes against the people, because they were never held accountable for all the reasons we have been posting..

honestly…most of them should be in prison or wearing an ankle monitor just like Donville…but i do believe it will happen sooner than they think..

11. It is not a least bit ironic for you WARU to pontificate about future looking solutions while obsessing over historical wrongs! I’m not saying that they ought to go unanswered because people should be held accountable but the reality is it doesn’t always happen anywhere in the world at any point across time or space. So you can either be hung up on it WARU, seek to solve it or work with what you have. You really don’t grasp the solutions-oriented which you wax poetic about.

12. @WARU

The international community which you and others fetishize have commended the GoB for recent steps taken by way of legislation as well as enhanced policing to ensure that terrorism financing and other aspects of money laundering do not become characteristic of our jurisdiction. You ought to read what the Financial Action Task Force had to say about that. All I can say is whining again!

13. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 11, 2020 11:41 AM

Are you insinuating that poor old ‘sole’ Joe was cut in half and still lives with two heads proving the Biblical tale of King Solomon ruling of cutting the baby in two could have been done for the sake of Justice for the two women.

In that case, Joe has indeed committed political suicide and is nothing more than a walking dead occupying the viewing room at a funeral home.

What sin did the MAM administration commit to force the red Bishop Joe to bring such dishonour to himself and spawn a vampire of political bloodletting in senator Caswell?

BTW, does the invocation of section 75 give the power of the GG to appoint two Opposition Senators in The Upper Chamber?

For the above reason the miller prefers to be in the same arithmetic class as Sinliar who is now the active prince of advisers to your Majesty.

As far as your advice of reporting the many “instances of corruption” to the police is concerned, it goes only to prove the point of your utmost competence in evading things which will prove rather embarrassing to you.

Shouldn’t that same advice be also given to the ONE who held a suitcase of evidence high in the air and made such grand charges of corruption against the same people who are now her friends and advisors including the estranged Donville the rookie jailbird?

Why are you evading this issue of broken promises? Because it would expose you to be exactly what Piece says about?

We, Waru and the miller’s son, will take our bagatelle of evidence when your Majesty offloads her valise at the Central gate of Hypocrisy & Deceit.

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

Your help please

15. @ Miller
    “For the above reason the miller prefers to be in the same arithmetic class as Sinliar who is now the active prince of advisers to your Majesty.”

I know that you like to distort reality to suit your argument but this really is quite a stretch. The prince of advisers? How on earth one can take a position on a broad-based advisory council (a position based not on personality but by virtue of previous office held) can be taken to be the enthronement of a “prince of advisers” says a great deal about the ruthlessness with which you pursue your agenda. If the facts don’t match up with your viewpoint, who cares? Let’s just fabricate them. Right, Miller!

16. @Tron
    Please do not confuse loyalty with idiocy.
    🙂 🙂
    I did not know that lockstep allowed for departures from idiocy…

17. @ Miller May 11, 2020 2:20 PM

Miller,

Perhaps the call to Sinckler is simply due to the inclusion of marginalised social groups.

We already had an impostor (OSA), a handicapped person (Big Sinck) as a MoF. So we are almost through with the minorities. Now all we need is a white minister of fine ants.

18. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 11, 2020 2:31 PM

You mean like how your Majesty fabricated the evidence still stored in the valise against the now elevated prince of advisers and his cabal during the last rule of financial terror (according to you) for which the Don was caught with his money-laundering hand in the USA-painted cookie jar?

Now who is more guilty of distortion, whether it be that of the Truth or Facts?

Come on KK, stop wiggling like a small fish caught with a big hook in his stomach.

Cough up your confession that you are unable to swallow the bitter truth about the evidence in the red valise.

BTW, if you had to choose between Sinckler and Dr. Worrell to sit on your special advisory economic council which one would you choose to have faith in any recommendations involving numerical analysis?

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“You really don’t grasp the solutions-oriented which you wax poetic about.”

me thinks you missed the part where i said YOUR GENERATION IS RESPONSIBILE FOR SEEING THat level of corruption never happens again. My generation and there have been many of us on BU…started the process rollig where it has been EXPOSED at so many levels that our parents and grandparents never even knew existed or that they were victims of deceitful lawyers, ministers, liars posing as leaders, we did the hardest part and with a little help from those who have more power than small island tinpot leaders….hopefully they will be held accountable…

AGAIN…your generation is now responsible for keeping the ones who don’t end up in a prison cell for their crimes against the people…IN CHECK…so they do not get comfortable enuff to resort to their old ways of selling out their people and the island to the highest bidder FOR BRIBES and using oppression and suppression tactics and, all the colonial blights, as a weapons against their people to promote themselves and those who help them steal..

……you are welcome that we have the presence of mind to EXPOSE and start the process of dismantling the corrupt practices of black leaders who lack basic ethics and morals……and who have gotten away with many crimes just because they could..

“The international community which you and others fetishize have commended the GoB for recent steps taken by way of legislation.”

So you are telling yourself they did that all on their own without PROMPTING…don’t be deluded, you can ask the international community how much pressure they brought to bear……those tinpot governments never do anything to benefit the people willingly, especially if there is no BRIBE INVOLVED…you have a lot to learn..

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@NorthernObserver May 10, 2020 1:34 AM ““This is all about getting a higher pension, plain and simple!” I concur..”

Not sure why they need a higher pension, and especially not sure why they need more gratuity, because a lotta, lotta our policemen die quite early, very likely from their machismo, and I am not saying this to be mean, because some of the early dead ones have been my closest my most beloved kinsmen.

What our policemen should be seeking for themselves and their spouses is an annual PSA screening for every officer older than 40, and an annual rectal examination for every male officer older than 40, or earlier if they have a close relative with prostate cancer, and a decent health insurance plan which will pay for their cancer and other treatments for a LIFETIME. And for the female officer a breast cancer screening for the women over 40, or earlier if they have a relative who has died of breast cancer, and an annual PAP smear for every female officer older than 40 or earlier if she has had a relative who has has cancer. And in addition a dental plan which would keep the officers and their spouses in a state of dental niceness for the rest of their lives. And a decent prescribed medicines plan.

And I would suggest EXACTLY the same for our members of Parliament, both the upper house and the lower house. And attendance at an annual half day wellness seminar once each year for everybody.

But what do i know? i am just a Silly Woman and a Cuh Dear Bbajan.

21. @ Miller & WARU

My final comments to the both of you on this post will be to kindly reflect upon the virtue of actually answering questions posed.

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

My final answer is that you do your own research instead of expecting answers that you can so easily find elsewhere…..most things are commonsense by nature and not found in books, but the basic answers are right before you……….can’t spoon feed young people in the information age everything, use your own initiative, we have set the stage…and most of the the answers are right at your fingertips anyway, so that you can make informed decisions with your functioning brain.

.. if you start now, by the time you are 40, you will know how to navigate these treacherous traps set by deceitful leaders, you will know how to recognize their deceit and not be set up to appear so uninformed that you are seen as bait….or be so blatantly misused that it is difficult for you to comprehend hidden agendas.

Don’t be like the twin fowls Enuff and Lorenza…they are a total disgrace to fowlism..

23. @ Tron ye olde Sexton

You said and de ole man quotes

“…We already had an impostor (OSA), a handicapped person (Big Sinck) as a MoF. So we are almost through with the minorities.

Now all we need is a white minister of fine ants….”

But we got one dont we

Rawdone!

24. For the record to this nonsense point, Rawdone’s grandfather was all Black.

25. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Khalel

Heheheheheheheheheheheheh

You said and de ole man quotes

“… Khaleel Kothdiwala May 11, 2020 4:49 PM

@ Miller & WARU

My final comments to the both of you on this post will be to kindly reflect upon the virtue of actually answering questions posed…”

About 200 posts ago de ole man told you that we ole warriors were 10 times smarter than you will ever be!

To be precise look at my comment on may 10th at 1.23 pm

Then go back further on May the 8th at 6.22 pm

When I Piece the Prophet prophesied your cessation of this talk as one of two things.

The asterices meant THAT YOU WOULD BE SILENCED BY MUGABE MOTTLEY!!!

You is a young man-child so you cant see these battle outcomes!

Your involvement and your mouth was used by those wiser than you to achieve OUR MISSION OBJECTIVE

It is imperative that the state of affairs led by your boss Mugabe Mottley is broadcast!

Now that that message has been conveyed to you by the Gag Order from Mugabe Mottley perhaps now you can dimly comprehend what we have been telling you

Mugabe fears Caswell Franklyn AND FEARS HIM BAD!!!

You now understand 425 comments

You now understand 50,000 Anti Mugabe Mottley views for the Stoopid Cartoons campaign

You now understand major coverage for My Senator and our Next Prime Minister Caswell Franklyn in every major local newspaper

You now understand 126,267 resends of dese Stoopid Cartoons

You now understand his message being on some many social media pages

And you now understand why you will be forever silenced on Barbados Underground

26. Piece the Legend Avatar

So what Tron said was not nonsense too?

I have another 2 items in suspense Honourable Blogmaster

27. One item speaks to why Khalel the misguided young man was silenced on this blog and the other one was yesterday.

I responded to his rambling statements about “…There is still a deficit in the political strategy. And I don’t know the NATION has the same influence for you to say that the editorial will have a significant impact on public opinion…”

Like if Caswell is a clown from yesteryear and does not have people on his side to show him the way heheheheheheheh

28. @Piece the Legend May 11, 2020 10:14 PM

Piece,

You wondering about my knowledge of the local politics business? The court jester is always closest to the lord, right under the feet, never forget that!

You still haven’t answered my question how the senator wanted to reform the civil service after his “election victory”.

The problem with socialism is simply that Marx designed it for modern industrial society. But socialism does not work in a banana republic. We can’t socialise factories on the island, we can only distribute poverty and drugs.

I suppose under a senator as PM our big entrepreneurs would leave the island within a month. What would be left behind would be the clueless masses of socialist Aborigines who, in their feverish delusion, believe that socialism works with bananas. They confuse semi-education and literacy with economic expertise, and bankrupt state companies with prosperous corporations.

A year as PM and Barbados would have to take out an emergency loan from the World Bank. – Good thing this is all just a nightmare. Our leader will serve at least four terms.

29. Piece the Legend Avatar

@Tron ye olde Sexton

You are speaking of Senator Caswell Franklyn in the same configuration as that by which Dictator Mugabe Mottley is forced to rule Barbados

As a one man, sorry, one woman, sorry de ole man war right the first time, A ONE MAN TEAM!!!

When you are part of a team of Patriots ALL parts of the whole work together!

The PdP has attracted these people who are each competent contributors and experts in their own fields.

Unlike the rule of a Dictator who wants to be at the head of every ministry, the PdP has taken its time and has attracted quality members each of whom will hold their own.

De ole man suggests that the Senator immediately start creating a few 150 second profile messages which are compact purpose built video-documentaries for himself and particular members of his team.

I know I used the word “his” as opposed to “their” team but you, not being as schooled in the political strategy side of things, would not understand the gravitas that the Senator leverages nationally.

The first set of videos would utilize a storyline of

“I am Caswell Franklyn AND I WANT TO INTRODUCE So and So.

“He is my Minister of Finance at the People’s Party for Democracy and Development ”

“I want you to listen and understand why he is my choice for Minister of Finance”

I can take an intro like that and make it seem like 30 different types of introductions

But, at the end of the day, de ole man talking bout 18 seats to 12!

By the way you see how we run way your golden boy rather man-child??? In 72 hours?

You see why you does call me Prophet AND RIGHTFULLY SO???

30. Piece the Legend Avatar

Your assistance please with a single item here Honourable Blogmaster

31. @ Piece the Legend May 12, 2020 8:56 AM

Piece, You Former Legend!

You want to sell politics like ice cream or hamburgers.

But that only works if the ingredients are right. In your case, the burger meat has passed its sell-by date by a hundred years. A union leader like the senator will completely stifle the economy and drive the last entrepreneurs off the island.

Look at Venezulea. There a former union leader rules the country. I hope your party has bought enough toilet paper rolls.

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Very good reading for the younger folks who are unwittingly being deceived by slimy lawyer politicians/PM/leaders…who never think that their corrupt actions would cause the island to be blacklisted just because they do not care, so no one should care when pressure is put on them by EU to do the right things either, they never care about anything when they are focused on robbing the treasury and pension fund, skimming off loan money borrowed in the people’s names to promote and elevate the private sector and their latest scamss…. them and their minority fellow crooks…..they have destroyed everything with their greed, lies and arrogance, all those destructive actions are now following them everywhere they go..yep, and everyone is watching, watch muh nuh.

“James LynchMay 11, 2020 8:23 PM

For a couple of years now I have been encouraging the replacement of ALL politicians – globally – with employed Country, City and Town managers who earn the same benefits and pension as the rest of us, and are audited every year to at least try to ensure they remain honest. Major decisions would be made by use of a mandate from all of the people voting in a Referendum, lesser decisions made by the managers – with their jobs on the line.

I sicken of the lies and false political promises made before every election, the posturing up to the final minute, followed by the winner apologising because they did not know their promises were not possible. Or not apologising at all and behaving as though it were their God-given right to tell the people lies.

I sicken – in Barbados – of the utter bureaucracy which makes its citizens suffer to have the slightest contact with their own government, that any un-civil servant should be allowed to steuppss out loud in ANY office and in the presence of ANY public person, that lawyers should be allowed (or encouraged) to steal their clients’ money, that judges should be allowed to indefinitely delay the cases assigned to them (whether out of spite or for corruption). The waste in productivity, time and money is incredible.

We have had Prime Ministers recently who were lawyers, who KNEW the problems, yet did nothing. I have heard, from his clients, that Fumble was perhaps the most incompetent lawyer of his time, and his somnolent incompetent performance as PM seems to confirm this. What of Magnificent Munificent Queen Mia, who in two years with every seat in Parliament in her pocket has done NOTHING to improve the relationship between the citizens and their government? Between the citizens and their Judiciary?

I sicken when I think of all those who have died because our health system, once the pride of the EC where others used to be brought to Barbados for treatment, is now so sick itself that Bajans prefer to go overseas and pay tens of thousands of foreign exchange dollars for real and effective care.

What the HELL has Barbados come to??”

33. @ Tron ye ole sexton

There was once a time when you were impartial and could be relied on to call a spade a spade.

Suddenly, mid stream you have done a volte face and now no longer can be seen to support reasonable positions but you align with dictatorships and despotism!

Why is that?

Why has the usually impartial court jester now fully endorsing that which you previously denigrated albeit behind the veil of comedy?

You have grown into a true Iago though Mugabe is no Desdemona neither in face, body or character

What potion have you imbibed? tell de ole man so that i might vehemently guard against imbibing same!

34. @ Senator Franklyn

I find that each time de ole man has the pleasure to reread your articles so much more information comes to the surface

“…The people of this country should not be surprised by the indecent haste with which the PM procured the appointment for daddy dearest. It would appear that indecent haste is the hallmark of everything associated with this new Mottley administration.

The indecent haste of amending the Constitution to secure the appointment of friends to the Senate.

The indecent haste of terminating public workers, ostensibly to save money, rather than go after tax defaulters who owe in excess of one billion dollars to the Treasury.

And let’s not forget the indecent haste of rushing legislation through parliament to forgive tax defaulters who failed to pay their taxes between 1968 and 2000…”

I see more and more each day why Mugabe Mottley wants you silenced and has sent these little man children and her Rented jackasses Hee Hee and Hee Haw and Robert the Rapist to make derogatory and untruthful remarks against you

Your type of constant truth hurts them SO THEY MUST SILENCE YOU!

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

I endeavour always to be truthful and I am not perturbed by anything they do

36. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 11, 2020 4:49 PM

Now that your ‘can-do-no-wrong AG has admitted the error of his ‘legal-knowledge’ ways and has apologized profusely to the public are you now going to be “man” enough and apologize to Caswell Franklyn your elder in every respect?

“When li’l man put on big man pants, ‘e must tek wha’ he get.” ~Good ole Bajan proverb.

“What is learned during youth, like an engraving on a stone, will never be forgotten.”

37. The AG must have felt some heat to profer a public apology. This is something we do not often see in Barbaos.

38. Any apology is inadequate. It is based on an incorrect assessment of the legal situation. In a one-party democracy without separation of powers, Mia Mottley is supreme justice, legislator and head of government and administration in one person. According to the Emergency Constitution, she can change laws at will, even by implied action of her ministers.

If I were finally official phantom advisor to the government, such mistakes as an apology would no longer occur. The senator’s interpretation of the law was deliberately narrow. “Deputy” can also be interpreted functionally as plural.

By the way, the Most Honourable Attorney General shows once again that he is a man of great integrity who always wants to obey the law. Barbados is lucky to have Dale Marshall as Attorney General.

A bitter aftertaste remains in the behaviour of the opposition: the opposition exaggerates the smallest details and stabbs the government in the back during the biggest crisis since the abolition of slavery. This is simply incredible and totally unpatriotic. Obviously, some opposition members are frustrated that the government has handled the COVID19 crisis brilliantly.

You all know that it was I, Tron, who prophesied from the beginning that the plague would not spread to the deep tropics at all. In contrast, the vicious opposition on BU spoke of many hundreds of infected people until the end of April, up to a thousand dead. I seriously wonder how deplorable one has to be to campaign with dead people.

39. @ the Sage Annunaki

“…Now that your ‘can-do-no-wrong AG has admitted the error of his ‘legal-knowledge’ ways and has apologized profusely to the public are you now going to be “man” enough and apologize to Caswell Franklyn your elder in every respect?…”

The man-child WILL NOT APOLOGIZE.

Have you been watching his style of deliberation?

That is not how he argues his points. He seeks to overwhelm you with his position as is the style of the BLP dictatorship.

They gag you with their opinions and despotism

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

Your assistance please Honourable Blogmaster thank you all

41. @ Miller May 12, 2020 5:48 PM

Now seeing this ridiculous comment. What is that I ought to apologize for? You can refer to my previous comments re the Senator and his contribution. You really are ridiculous. You all have some onanistic fascination with adulthood that completely ignores the fact that I know of few of the world’s problems caused by persons my age. You can foist yourself in all of your age discriminating, racialist glory upon most people but you are little more than a bitter little person hiding behind what David calls an inflated online ego. I shan’t apologise for expressing a viewpoint in a democracy. Once again you all confound with your crusade against Mottley’s supposed dictatorial rule but God forbid that anyone, a mere, ignorant little child no less, dissents from your established opinion. You all do make me laugh. And that is why I have enjoyed BU. The Jews would say as soap is to the body, laughter is to the soul. And boy have I gotten a good scrub recently.

42. The AG’s comments bode well for our democracy reassuring me that the rule of law is still very much alive and that the citizenry are still able to hold their leaders to account. The people are ultimately the ones in whom power is vested and events such as these serve as timely reminds to governments.

43. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for Tron

44. Piece the Legend Avatar

Oh Sage you got he vex

He crying for he pottie

Saying he up late and he diaper wet

45. @ Piece

🤣🤣🤣. I forgot to thank you too for your service to me in providing much mirth 😂

46. @David

The AG must have felt some heat to profer a public apology.
    ++++++++++++
    Apology? What apology? Was an apology directed at anyone? It was more an excuse that the Gov’t acted in good faith because it was necessary to split the roles of the Deputys in keeping with the modernization of the Force blah,blah blah. I didn’t see at least a “thank you” to Caswell for bringing the irregularity to their attention.

They can’t even keep politics out of the way in the statement e.g.

“but followed robust and extensive consideration of the impact of the criminal element on the safety of our country and citizens, predating even our election to Government”.

47. @Sargeant

Call it what you want we are still in the dark and here is why.

Public servants as Senator Franklyn alluded are involved in the process. The buck stops with the AG but there has to be others we need to hold accountable.

48. Franklyn: Think first
    Advice for AG after Govt admits misstep with appointment
    by ANTOINETTE CONNELL
    antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com
    ATTORNEY GENERAL DALE MARSHALL has conceded that Government jumped the gun by appointing a second Deputy Commissioner of Police when the law was not in place.

ORAL
    WILLIAMS
    In response, Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn, who robustly brought the issue to light, has advised the Attorney General that the next time he should think before he speaks.
    Marshall, who also served as attorney general in the Owen Arthur administration, last week refused to engage Franklyn after it was announced that Oral Williams, an Assistant Commissioner, was appointed deputy alongside Erwin Boyce who took up the post effective May 1, 2018.
    Franklyn insisted that the May 9, 2019 creation of the second post and Williams’ subsequent appointment on March 15 this year was done without parliamentary approval that would call for an amendment to the Police Act.
    In a statement yesterday, Marshall said: “We take note that the Police Act

only speaks to a single Deputy Commissioner of Police, and it is, therefore, to be regretted that the required amendment did not take place in advance of this confirmation.”
    This was in contrast to his position, as reported
    (FP)
    in last Thursday’s DAILY NATION, that he would not engage in a tit-for-tat with the outspoken Franklyn. “I do not propose to respond to that,” he said then. When contacted about the revelation, Franklyn responded: “The Attorney General needs to think first and then speak. He didn’t have to behave like that. It did more harm to his image than mine. I didn’t do anything wrong. The Government did something wrong and I wanted to draw it to their attention and have them fix it.” The trade unionist maintained that appointing Williams, who is due to retire next year at 67, appeared more of an attempt to ensure his pension at half the salary of a deputy along with his gratuity.
    Marshall in the statement said that even though the matter had not gone through the legal process, it did not take away from Williams being qualified and deserving of the post, which was aimed at improving management of the force.
    He had taken a roasting in the Press and on social media on the issue, but maintained the decision did not result from “any whimsical or capricious approach, as some would wish to suggest, but followed robust and extensive consideration of the impact of the criminal element on the safety of our country and citizens, predating even our election to Government.
    “This Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Government was convinced then, and

remains convinced today, that efforts to reduce crime will not have the desired effect if the modernisation of the management of the Royal Barbados Police Force is not an integral part of the exercise,” Marshall said.
    But Franklyn dismissed the appointment as having more to do with political interference than the running of the force.
    “I have never said Williams is not qualified or deserving of the post; that was not the issue. The issue is what the Government did was wrong.
    “Politicians have to stop getting involved at this level in the public service. This is more a reward for Mr Williams than any need to have the management of the force improved, because there is nothing that Mr Williams could do now as deputy that he couldn’t do before. His ability doesn’t change because he is now promoted. He still has the same ability,” Franklyn stated.
    He said it was offensive to him that there were those out there whose pensions had been erroneously reduced and Government had not fixed that, but found a way to increase one man’s pension.
    “It looks bad, it smells bad and it is bad,” he said, adding that arrogance had crept into the BLP at an early stage.
    The Attorney General gave the assurance that once the strictures of COVID-19 allowed for the sittings of Parliament, the necessary amendment would be made to the Police Act to allow for the post.

49. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 12, 2020 9:11 PM
    “The AG’s comments bode well for our democracy reassuring me that the rule of law is still very much alive and that the citizenry are still able to hold their leaders to account. The people are ultimately the ones in whom power is vested and events such as these serve as timely reminds to governments.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And who was mainly instrumental in bringing this breach of the “rule of law” to the same citizenry if not the same man you accused of interpreting the facts to suit his own political agenda?

All Caswell did was to present the facts surrounding the breaching of the law to reveal the light of Truth.

Now that the Truth has been established for all to see, don’t you think it would be a bit ‘magnanimous’ of you to say you got it wrong as far as the honourable Senator ‘s motives are concerned?

Or should we continue to see you in the same light Senator Franklyn sees you from above?
    “Aquila non capit muscas.”

We await a similar eagerness in putting into the body of the people’s democracy the long promised additional organs of ITAL & FOI.

BTW, this debate is not one about an old man with “onanistic” tendencies bearing the weary marks of life’s battles against another young boy filled with the exuberance of youth but one about naïveté versus wisdom earned from the university of life.

Why do you think the miller is an ardent admirer of Greta Thunberg and not an overzealous fan of your idol whom you liken to Joan of Arc?

Maybe the contriteness shown by your AG would be the washcloth of hygiene to remove the speck from your own ‘red’ eye.

50. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“In a statement yesterday, Marshall said: “We take note that the Police Act only speaks to a single Deputy Commissioner of Police, and it is, therefore, to be regretted that the required amendment did not take place in advance of this confirmation.”

And we take note that if all these lawyers in the parliament are not WATCHED CAREFULLY …they will continue to violate and abuse the constitution and do as they please..

…someone had said there are about 40 lawyers in the current government…so how come one or two out of the 40 SAID NOTHING including the AG……did not see any of this BEOFRE THE APPOINTMENT OR more realistically, DELIBERATELY IGNORED IT..

…so now this POLICE ACT will be made RETROACTIVE since we know the appointment will not be rescinded …making laws retroactive is something the same AG SAID could not be done for creating and amending laws to start the process of arresting the corrupt in the previous DLP government for crimes and corruption committed against the majority population…

alyuh should not be public servants and wannabe dicktators if ya cant remember the LIES YA TOLD PREVIOUSLY…