It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020.

I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr. Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post. I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner.

The Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados, states at section 6:

The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act.

The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament. On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the Minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.

For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007. The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act.

The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission. That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available. There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled.

Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first?

1,036 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Police”

1. @ Senator Caswell Franklyn

It is expected that by tomorrow when the bank that has been assigned to Barbados Underground as your bane when they awaken they will all come and say that you are being enthusiastic and seeking to show boat here on BU.

Few if any will see what de ole man and a few others here have been crying daily as to the machinations of the Rules and the abrogations of the Regulations and the downright discarding of the Constitution that Mugabe Mottley continues to do every single week in Barbados

https://imgur.com/DHzBdGh

2. @ Senator Caswell Franklyn

Yesterday de ole man had was to tell the 2nd of the rented Jackasses whom we shall beat because he is rented that you know more of the Rules and Regulations of the House and the Senate than ALL OF THE #) of the Mugabe Regime put together

You did not even permit my words to fall to the earth and you came here and placed this Act of Dictatorship squarely into the eyes of the Public of Barbados for the whole world to see.

You wrote and de ole man quotes

“…The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission.

That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available.

There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled…”

Yet only a few days ago there were a bevy of poochlickers here on Barbados Underground speak about how great Mugabe got them feeling with her CNN Interview with Amanpour

And her is Mugabe Mottley trying “as man to pour” some good doggie into the behinds of Bajans every time a body turn a corner

But the ingrunt sheeple acting like COVIDIOTS as she appointing 30 ministers and now adding a next Deputy Commissioner to that list of big salaries while de poor man in Barbados suffering

https://imgur.com/P20mh4Q

3. Piece the Legend Avatar

A second item here needs your assistance Honourable One

4. Given how we know government works who should be held accountable? Should the Attorney General Marshall put his hand up?

5. Once again the Atty. General asleep at the switch……

6. @ Senator Caswell Franklyn

When de ole man see statements like the one you wrote my ole bones does shudder

You wrote

“…It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020…”

When you are hitting 80 nuff heheheheheheheh you does get a sort of feeling of discernment that comes wid de years and with de passage soon to be taken.

It like if you gone up high pun a mountaintop and you can look over and see tings

Leh de ole man tell you whu I see!

Dis is Covid Times Right! and here we gots a Protective Service Commission get convene several months ago, AND MEK AN ILLEGAL APPOINTMENT OF A SENCOND DEPUTY COMMISSIONER!

Much like dere is a Second Prime Minister called Santia Bradshaw.

In fact Seanator Franklyn, if you check through all de BLP Regime Mugabe has appointed nuff people who is serving in duplicated positions.

And while it is true dat she too big to be considered one woman or ***, and would be inclined to appoint two bodies like she self, dis practice of mekking two positions got to stop

But she was doing dis rule brekking for a long time now

You remember the illegal appointment of Charles Me Love you Jong time without him going through the Services Commission or the job getting advertised?

Or dis one below which was a next constitutional amendment?

https://imgur.com/CsHuYRy

Every week dat woman doing she own ting like she feel like!!

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

In the Feb 17 2020 Nation paper the following appeared.

“Acting Commissioner of Police Erwin Boyce (right) addressing yesterday’s press conference supported by Deputy Commissioner Oral Williams (centre) and Assistant Commissioner Sylvester Louis.” [Caption under a picture]
    https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243962/cops-gear-murder

Then just over a week ago, I read this
    https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/152176/boyce-deputy-police-chief

“The Royal Barbados Police Force has a new second in command. And just like previous appointments, this one could lead to controversy within the force.
    Erwin Boyce is the new Deputy Commissioner of Police and his elevation was announced internally yesterday by Commissioner Tyrone Griffith.
    “This memo serves to inform that Mr Erwin Boyce has been appointed on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner with effect from May 1, 2018,” Griffith wrote.
    The commissioner also revealed that Acting Deputy Commissioner Oral Williams would retain the position until Monday.
    Boyce was one of five senior cops interviewed by the Police Service Commission (PSC) last year for the vacant post.”

We all know there is significant ACTING in public positions. The second article suggests both Boyce and Williams were in Acting positions in February?

So was there controversy, and Mr.Boyce was axed prior to May 1? Did the GIS get the name wrong? Or is this a cock-up? Or………? Both the latter above, and GIS announcements, were effective may 1, 2020

8. While you say asleep at the switch we have to be realistic here!

The decision to appoint the Deputy commissioner IS NOT AN APPOINTMENT that the Prime Minister of Barbados would not be aware of!!!

That would never happen!!

Wunna remember this?

http://imgur.com/W9MoEHw

So then it would follow that both Mugabe, AS WELL AS Teets Marshall, WOULD HAVE KNOWN WHO THE DEPUTY COMMISSIONER IS GOING TO BE!!!

Unless wunna is saying dat Teets Marshall went ahead on he own volition WITHOUT THE KNOWLEDGE of Mugabe Mottley and appointed Oral Williams ultra vires???

9. IT SEEMS THE CORRUPT ATTORNEY GENERAL DALE MARSHALL IS MORE CONCERNED IN STEALING BAJANS LIVING ABROAD AND LOCALLY PROPERTIES IN ADDITION TO LOCKING UP THE POOREST OF THE POOR BLACKS IN BARBADOS OR FINING THEM HEAVILY FOR MIA’S CURFEW VIOLATIONS.

DALE MARSHALL IS SO INCOMPETENT HE HAS MADE ADRIEL BRAITHWAITHE LOOKED GOOD IN COMPARISON AS HE IS ALSO RESPONSIBLE FOR HAVING THE MOST MURDERS IN ONE YEAR IN BARBADOS HISTORY SINCE INDEPENDENCE.

DALE MARSHALL IS NOT ONLY AN ARROGANT IDIOT HE IS INCOMPETENT AND A WASTE OF SPACE.

40+ LAWYERS IN PARLIAMENT AND SENATE AND CAN’T GET SIMPLE SHIT RIGHT.

WELCOME TO MORE BLP ONGOING MISMANAGEMENT.

10. MAN IN LA CALIFORNIA BREAKS CORONAVIRUS LOCKDOWN 3 TIMES IN 1 DAY WHILST COMMITTING CRIMES GETS BAIL EACH TIME WITH NO 6 MONTHS JAIL OR FINES.

MIA MOTTLEY AND DALE MARSHALL MEANWHILE LOCKING UP THE POOREST OF THE POOR BLACKS OR HEAVY FINES FOR BREAKING CURFEW.

WHILST FELLOW CRIMINALS MARK MALONEY AND CHRIS SINCLAIR FREE AS THE BIRDS.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Man arrested 3 times in 1 day under CA’s coronavirus-based zero-bail policy

Officers in Los Angeles County arrested and released a suspect three times in one day after he was repeatedly let go based on the zero-bail policy that California has put into effect due to the coronavirus pandemic, police said.

https://www.yahoo.com/gma/man-arrested-3-times-1-day-under-cas-234137591–abc-news-topstories.html

11. But Baje….how can you say dese tings dem?

Jes 3 days ago Barbados was pun CNN wid Amanpour

Whu you saying ???

Is you saying dat Mugabe Mottley leading a country wid an illiterate Attorney General Teets, 40 ingrund lawyers and a Prime Minister with an LSE from de leading University in de world heheheheheheheheh and dem cant get a simple law right?

Jes in case you and udder people forget he here is he place in history as de man dat oversee barbados’ mostest murders

https://imgur.com/gallery/BRPuA9k

12. Why has the Mottley government set about a programme of humiliating the commissioner of police, treating him like a naughty schoolboy following the death of a black British woman, then marginalised him like a thief?
    Is this the world class nation that punches above its weight with the best female political leader in the world? Why do members of her Cabinet and senior civil/public servant s tolerate this humiliation? Is a pension and status worth the embarrassment?

13. One has to assume this is an administrative mess up with Civil Establishment perhaps?According to the Senator, and we know this, the Commission would have submitted a recommendation to the minister who would have taken it to cabinet for final agreement.

14. Sometimes I wonder if I am as dumb as a rock (as one person has already stated).

I read the post but cannot get my head around it.

Think I will put up the toy train in the basement. It sounds like a real train; it has all the bells and whistles and it can even produce steam…

15. Will Minister Dale Marshall issue a statement to clarify this matter please.

Facts please!

16. this is not a mess up. in fact this is just the official ratification of the appointment of Mr Williams. he has been in the post for almost a year now.

notwithstanding that this post may not be legal, just like how it manoeuvred Dottin to be promoted over Bertie Hinds, the newly established MAM Protective Services Commission recommended 2 deputy commissioners and that Williams be the second.

there is a move afoot not to have Mr Boyce as Commissioner of Police or in any case have a Govt man near the leadership just in case.

17. @greene

Thanks, the politics continues. Hard ears we wun hear.

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, you said: “One has to assume this is an administrative mess up with Civil Establishment perhaps?”

I marvel at your interpretations, brother.

There is a cadence to this admin … announce a food system shutdown (arbitrarily it seemed) overnight for next day; announce and then rescind a major plan re 11-plus (arbitrarily it seemed) ; tells the nation it’s having student distance learning (arbitrarily it seemes) while ONLY NOW completing teacher training in the Google suite of tools and getting equipment into the hands of teachers n students ….

I would NOT put those on civil servants cockups… Nor this matter.

They simply could give a damn.

There is no comeuppance for poor process, subverting rule of law or dismissing good practice.

Do you really perceive that any rational, NON PARTISAN person SHOULD accept this and more as anything but an all powerful leader indifferent to control.

I listened to Prof Patrice Lumumba the African academic, scholar and freedom fighter recently (an address at the University in Tanzania) and he passionately remarked – as he chronicled – the defiling of his continent, that modern African leaders had lost the “hygiene” of leadership … a word best described as ‘enthused with the people’s spirit’.

Ms Mottley is an awesome public figure but she too has loooong lost the “hygiene” of leadership.

19. @Dee Word

Unlike you and others the blogmaster always leave room for all sides to give a position. There is enough written on BU pages to support the blogmaster’s distrust for the political class. It does not mean that all sides should not be given a change to defend what position there is even if for the sake of it. the shenanigans has been played with the police force for years, it never stops. The police hierarchy contributes to it with their political alliances/allegiances as well. Last administration had the audacity to appoint Guyson Mayers to head the PSC. SMH

20. If we can have a mock parliament why not a mock police?

21. Nice to see others are waking up to the fact that the president is not a democrat. The more rope we give her the more……She can’t help it. She feels she is entitled to not only leading Barbados, but the Caribbean. She is obsessed with being world class and punching above her weight.
    Just look at her CoVid economic council and the timing of her so-called stimulus. She did not even have the patience to go through the motion of consulting her appointees and waiting for them to report – even if she ignores it.
    Does @PLT still think she is the greatest leader since Attila the Hun?

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dp D at 8 :46 AM

I wonder where I got the impression from that this was the kind of behaviour that you relish. It is nice to be wrong.
    Were all the procedural steps taken? Could this be fake news? Or is this another smoke and mirror exercise? I would recommend that we verify the information.

23. “this is not a mess up. in fact this is just the official ratification of the appointment of Mr Williams. he has been in the post for almost a year now.”

Mr. Greene

I agree with you 100%.

Oral Williams was already performing duties as a DepCoP, since June last year.

The RBPF is a highly politicized institution….. as evidenced by the public feud between former CoP Darwin Dottin and former DCoP Bertie Hinds. I understand Hinds expected to be promoted to CoP when the political administration changed in 2008.

Two ‘loyal sons,’ then Snr.SuPoP Lionel Thompson and Erwin Boyce were being groomed to take over the helm of the Force. Unfortunately, Thompson died during heart surgery in Venezuela.

Hinds eventually retired in frustration and Dottin was subsequently sent on ‘administrative leave’ by the Governor General, after the PSC recommended his retirement ‘in the public interest.’ This paved the was for another ‘loyal son,’ Tyrone Griffith, to be promoted to CoP(ag).

Mr. Greene, I could recall a situation where “there was a move afoot not to have DepCoP Williams as CoP, or in any case have a Govt man near the leadership just in cast,” is SIMILARLY applicable.

Remember, your mates CHANGED the qualifying requirements for CoP. SnrSuPoP Erwin Boyce was sent to the UK to pursue the specific course and on his return, promoted to the rank of DCoP.

It is interesting to note the ONLY other police officer that possessed the specific qualification, even long before Boyce, IS Oral Williams.

As Mr. Skinner says… “the duopoly rules.”

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @David, no bro I do not share your “Unlike you and others the blogmaster always leave room for all sides to give a position.”.. I am a very balanced sorta guy and ALWAYS give room for clarification… but I also look at patterns or trends.

The info that @Greene provided was less a clarification than a statement of reality. A CAREFUL reading of the news @Northern quoted and of Senator Caswell’s statements actually established that point: that govt intended to ‘illegally’ have two Dep. Commissioners….

And what can further be intimidated from your “shenanigans [have] been played with the police force for years” is that the unflavored deputy will be jettisoned through some combination of casual workplace ‘harassment’ or marginalization leading to retirement/resignation or placing him on paid leave or whatever ploy they conceive.

Thus I see NOT one single iota of CLARIFICATION that the admin can offer to validate the subversion of the rule of law as detailed by the Senator which can properly sanitize this matter.

The thing about trends is that once a skunk pisses over your stuff for so long it’s absolutely hard to remove the smell and taint …. the awesome speeches or ‘we gathering’ spectacles simply detract or temporarily mask the malodorous nature of things!

Now lets be CLEAR…. I am NOT calling this admin skunks; its an analogy only –

25. What a smear campaign by the so-called opposition against our honourable government!

Wow … unbelievable …

The nation is struggling with the worst economic crisis since the abolition of slavery and the senator lectures like an academic theorist on minor details that only a handful of technocrats understand in Barbados.

I won’t even dwell on the petty details of the statutes.It’s obvious that the senator is getting on the government’s nerves because he’s secretly hoping for a promotion. What ambassadorial post does he have in mind? Beijing or Venezuela? Geneva, New York City, Miami or London?

26. I don’t think that anyone has noticed the obvious constitutional irregularity in the first paragraph of this article. The Protective Services Commission cannot approve the appointment of any public officer. They can only recommend to Her Excellency the Governor-General, who would make the appointment.

This “appointment“ shows the level of incompetence at the senior level in the Ministry of the Public Service. That proposed appointment should have been brought to the commission by the Director General and the commission should then consult with the Prime Minister before making the recommendation to the Governor-General. This grave error should not have passed the Director General but as usual there will be no adverse consequences.

The requirement to consult with the PM was introduced by the 1974 amendments. Since then prime ministers have used that requirement to consult to get their way with gutless independent commissions, when appointing permanent secretaries, deputy permanent secretaries, and heads of department and their deputies. Consultation does not mean that the PM always gets his/her way but that is the case in the Barbados context.

27. HOW DOES A DEPUTY BECOME :”UNFLAVOURED”
    REMINDS ME OF THE TIME THE TIED TONGUE TENOR SANG IN THE CAROL GABRIEL’S MESSAGE…………MOST HIGHLY FLAVOURED LADY!
    OH ME AM…………as the Kittians say

28. @Caswell

Are you in a position to share the names of the members of the PSC?

29. The end of our democracy. While Barbadians sleep, the Trojans slip in and take control. The Trojan War should be a lesson for all of us. Our political and business leaders are incompetent, and large numbers of our appear people are docile.
    The president is carrying out a coup d’etat

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Dear doc re “HOW DOES A DEPUTY BECOME :”UNFLAVOURED”

Happens all the time… when you no longer like the flavour from Sherry you hook up a new deputy Candy or Candi… if that flavour loses its zest then you may opt for Cookie, or Apple or even Sweetie!

For a BTW example… did you read the news that the James Bond deputy Pussy Galore (Honor Blackman) in ‘Goooold Fingeeer’ passed some months back… now there was a man who changed his deputy flavouring for each movie … he had Honey and Kissy too apart from all that Pussy Galore brought to the partnership!

Of course when Mr Typo doesn’t intervene you may just simply have an ‘unfavoured’ deputy, too!

31. @ Caswell,

man, you know how these games are played in Bim. Consultation means agreement with the PM’s choice or no objection in some cases. after that it is a mere rubber stamp from the GG.

you maybe right about the procedure (i havent cast my mind there yet) but i doubt you will be successful in arguing it or convincing anyone to argue it.

Bim already knows the PM giveth and the PM taketh away.

there is no independent civil or public service commissions in Bim.

everyone of those bodies and promotions therefrom at a certain level are politicised

a friend of ours from school was almost passed over by a junior and Thommo had to remind a certain commission of its rules and regulations.

32. @ my old friend De Pedantic Dribbler formerly known as De Ingrunt Word

“…Thus I see NOT one single iota of CLARIFICATION that the admin can offer to validate the subversion of the rule of law as detailed by the Senator which can properly sanitize this matter…”

My friend, and that is the be it all and end it all of this matter!

This is plain and simple subversion of the law WHICH IS WHAT DE OLE MAN BEE TELLING WUNNA FROM DE BEGINNING.

Mugabe Mottley is a Dictator in the making!!!

If wunna allows her to exist beyond 5 years!!!

And this is why de ole man encouraged wunna to vote she in IN THIS QUANTITY so that you would all see the nature of the Despot in the Full light of day UNRESTRAINED BY ANY FETTERS doing what she RH PLEASES!!!

And if this is the type of bahaviour that she is inclined to utilized with a 30 to love result without any need to be a Dictator THEN WUNNA WILL UNDERSTAND DE OLE MAN PROPHECY BETTER

33. Oh Piece, You Prophet!

Our leader is not a dictator, but the most brilliant politician of her generation. She plays on the keyboard of power like Mozart plays on the Gembalo. She positions her ministers and advisors like Kasparov positions the chess pieces. Every stroke is in place, every move five steps ahead.

I wouldn’t be surprised if the annoying senator and BU blogger soon takes high office – like Jeff Cumberbatch before him. A full bank account and a Mercedes at the expense of the government then replaces independent thinking.

So there is no reason at all for our young politician Kool Calcutta to get involved in the debate. Our leader, Mia Mottley, will survive this small mosquito bite.

34. Emergency Directive no 3: A curfew is hereby imposed throughout Barbados from the 15th April, 2020 to midnight on 3rd May, 2020 between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m each day.

Emergency Directive no 4: A curfew is hereby imposed throughout Barbados from midnight on the 3rd day of May, 2020 until midnight on the 17th day of May, 2020 between the hours of 8:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. each day.

Are we still under 24 hour curfew? Or were we never under 24 hour curfew?

These directives, produced by the AG’s office presumably, have been an inaccurate disservice. Barbados deserves better.

And poor unfortunates out in the middle of the day are being locked up based on them?? Give me a break.

35. Piece, You Prophet!

Our leader, Mia Mottley, is obviously very popular so far. Otherwise, the disloyal opposition would not intensify their attacks on our leader.

Think about this motto:

If you want to swim against the current, you have to be especially streamlined.

You, on the other hand, behave like a big block of granite in the surf, where the waves keep hitting it until it breaks apart.

Our leader Mia Mottley will still be Prime Minister when you can no longer hold your keyboard.

36. More top cops
    ANTOINETTE CONNELL, antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com
    Added 01 June 2019

There is now a second Deputy Commissioner of Police, a fifth Assistant Commissioner and a lot of shifting within the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF).

And Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith has said more changes are in the works as the RBPF moves to beef up some of the areas complained about, and looks to gain more of the public’s trust.

Yesterday Griffith confirmed to the Sunday Sun the two recently created senior posts while pointing out that the force was prioritising the reduction of time taken for cases to be prosecuted from the police end and the force’s human resource matters.

Traditionally the force has had a sole deputy commissioner, but Oral Williams has now been appointed in a similar position. He joins Erwin Boyce, who was promoted to the number two spot in May last year. (AC)🤐

37. The appointments are good and right, no matter what the traitorous opposition says.

With up to 50-70,000 more unemployed, crime will rise dramatically. The government is therefore well advised to strengthen the military and police forces to keep the impoverished masses in order.

In addition I demand police protection day and night for all villas of our foreign guests and all gated communities.

38. I’ve said it over and over again: this administration seems always to get it wrong at the first attempt. The obvious question is: Why? The answer is simple. The Mottley Administration has surrounded itself with friends, BLP hacks and an assortment of non-Dems or rather people who they suspect to be non-Dems, who are mostly incompetent to carry out the tasks that are required. As a result, the Government does not get the benefit of the best advice available. This is one such case. This matter should not have reached the commission in this form before the necessary legislative changes were made. It is an embarrassing to the PM and the commission.

39. Senator,

The problem is not some legal detail in the appointment of new civil servants, but the fact that there are far too many of them.

Barbados is the Caribbean country with the most disastrous economic development since 2008: too many civil servants, too much national debt, too high social standards. Barbados cannot afford a civil service apparatus like a country with 100 million inhabitants, since we are a banana republic with exactly one (former) economic driving force.

What we really need is not a diversionary manoeuvre with legal details about the government’s little tricks, but a fundamental debate about why the 30,000 civil servants continue to receive 100 per cent of their salaries and exorbitant pensions, while the rest of the island sinks into long-term mass unemployment.

You should ask yourselve the question for whom you would like to fight: for the civil servant privileges, which are economic madness, or for the many unemployed. It is clear that this question puts a trade unionist like you in a dilemma. But you should finally show your colours here.

With the policy of the bloated state apparatus and high taxes practiced since OSA’s days, Barbados will not emerge from the economic slump, not tomorrow, the day after tomorrow, next year or a thousand years from now.

40. @BAJE May 4, 2020 2:22 AM “…HE IS ALSO RESPONSIBLE FOR HAVING THE MOST MURDERS IN ONE YEAR IN BARBADOS HISTORY SINCE INDEPENDENCE.”

Where, except in the fervid minds of rabidly partisan political yard fowls, is an Attorney General thought to be responsible for murders?

The rest of us, rational people, know that each murderer is responsible for his own mis-deeds.

41. And it is almost always a HIS.

In fact EVERY time last year it was sadly a HIS.

Why wunna doan stop killi’ one annuder doah?

42. The AG mek me do it.

I haven’t heard such silliness since I was in Infants B.

43. @Hal Austin May 4, 2020 4:49 AM “Why has the Mottley government set about a programme of humiliating the commissioner of police… Why do members of…Cabinet and senior civil/public servant s tolerate this humiliation? Is a pension and status worth the embarrassment?”

Who besides you says that people have been humiliated; or that they feel humiliated?

What if the humiliation is only in your imagination?

And should people give up their pensions, who is going to support them–with cash– not with words when they are old and and broken and unable to work?

You?

44. @Tron May 4, 2020 5:02 PM. “A full bank account and a Mercedes at the expense of the government then replaces independent thinking.”

My response; Just reminding you Tron that the government doesn’t work anywhere, doesn’t earn any income. That ALL of the government’s money comes from the people. And that when the people get vex and KNOW that they have been unfaired, they can as they have done in the recent past, get up one morning and deliver a sound 30-0 beating.. A word to the wise…

@Tron May 4, 2020 5:02 PM “Our leader…will survive this small mosquito bite.”

Sadly Tron, oftentimes a tiny mosquito bite kills.

Chikungunya

Dengue.

Yellow fever

Zika

Mosquito bites have killed more people that all of the MALE armies and all of the nuclear weapons, and all of the foolish politicians combined.

NEVER, NEVER underestimate tiny mosquito bites.

45. @Tron May 4, 2020 8:16 PM “In addition I demand police protection day and night for all villas of our foreign guests and all gated communities.”

Protect them from what?

Their abusive but wealthy spouses?

Their drug dealers?

Stupssseee!!!

46. Only female mosquitoes kill!!.

47. the COP was humiliated by MAM and the AG on TV during that silly press conference and if he was not consulted (and i doubt he was) he would have been so when he learnt that another position of Deputy COP was created by the Govt.

what real operational or administrative need is there for a second Deputy COP in Bim? there is a political need however and that is quite evident in what this Govt does?

i would still like to know what it is that Dottin consults on? what are the results?

48. i would still like to know what it is that Dottin consults on? what are the results?

Maybe how many poor black people can be sent to prison for as long as possible for breaking curfew?

49. @ Caswell Franklyn May 4, 2020 8:41 PM

The question to ask is whether this double deputy CoP situation can be found in any other jurisdiction in the English-speaking Commonwealth with similar population size and socio-economic status.

What is there left for the many assistant commissioners and superintendents to do in the 2×3 so-called highly educate country where it is politically propagandized that the incidence of crime is well managed and under control?

50. @ Greene May 5, 2020 8:07 AM

Your COP said everything is OK with Donville Inniss. No complaint, no prosecution. Your COP has exposed Barbados as a banana republic to ridicule.

Our esteemed Prime Minister is absolutely right: we need a major purge among the civil servants.