Prime Minister Mia Mottley  advised the country tonight that Barbados will impose a curfew from 8PM to 6AM starting on Saturday 28 March 2020  until 14 April 2020. On a personal note the Prime Minister also shared she will be MIA for a while because her medical team advised her to undergo a medical procedure this coming weekend. Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw will act as prime minister. The blogmaster wishes her well.

790 responses to “Barbados Goes on Partial LOCKDOWN”

1. Boris Johnson , the UK PM, has contracted Covid.

2. Last Saturday people crowded in to a South Coast hotel to buy and eat black pudding. Will the same happen tomorrow?

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Davíd, debating this stuff is becoming overly distressing.

One on hand some bloggers contradict themselves so easily with statements one day that say the opposite a few days later and then of course it’s the validation of one’s preferred leader regardless of the impracticality of his/her reasoning.

In that regard I must agree with @Greene re moving to the stage 3 weeks ago!

It’s not a cudda, shudda second guessing but very simple facts.

If the Mottley govt has only done about 210 tests in 3 weeks and have about 24 cases and growing isn’t it fair and rationale to expect that if they had done 600 tests that the results could have long ago be closer to about 60 or the same 10%+ ratio.

On WHAT basis was her admin assessing when to move to a lock down if in fact their data was basically INVALID.

How could they be allowing folks from hotspots and NOT enforcing quarantines and yet not expect possibly more cases?

How can we NOT be giving works PPE and not expect possibly more cases?

There are stories of Min of Health exceptions being given to high net worth individuals who are coming to Bim to stay at their private residences … But the stories don’t say whether the Health Minister is also mandating that the butlers and other staff supporting these types of visitors are required to wear PPE when in contact with these exempt folks.

There have been TOO MANY gaps in our process and I find it shocking.

I wish Ms Mottley well.

Her leadership and that of the BLP govt overall on this has been difficult to comprehend.

This entire COVID19 debacle is astonishing for the many missteps across all governments…

‘Houston, we have a problem’!

4. BILLY G IS A GLOBALIST, WHO SPEAKS OUT OF BOTH SIDES OF HIS MOUTH FOR HIS OWN AIMS AND OBJECTIVES.

Don’t you get it …it is in Billy G’s interest to Lock Down the Economy that way all Small Business will go out of Businesses and the Powerful Conglomerates will have a Bigger Share of the Pie! That is the End All of Game for the Globalist Elite like Billy Boy and the (New World Order Minions). In Addition, their Plan is to Depopulate the world for the same Reason! These are the Greedy ones Masquerading as having the Populations Interest at Heart!

BEWARE OF BG’S ARTIFICIAL SWEET WATER WORDS…

BILL GATES SENDS OVER $11 MILLION TO PRO-ABORTION GROUP PUSHING POPULATION CONTROL WORLDWIDE (between 2918 -2020 Alone)

Bill and Malinda Gated Foundation has also given at least $81,009,329 to Planned Parenthood and its affiliates from 2009 and before to 2018, according to records taken from the foundation’s website.

Billy G’s Daddy was a EUGENICIST who was head of Planned-murder-hood in his time and Billy Boy is walking in his Pappies footsteps…He is a Globalist who is all for Depopulation & Population Control!

WHO STANDS TO PROSPER FROM THE PATENT ON THE CORONA VACCINES?

REMEMBER A BITTER FOUNTAIN DOES NOT BRING FORTH SWEET WATER!

Billy G IS ALL ABOUT “Reducing The Population Growth”

HEAR BILLY IN HIS OWN WORDS!!

SO VERY TRUE!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10222344026775227&set=a.1796846286629&type=3&theater

5. @Dee Word

The blogmaster gives way to your infinite wisdom on this matter.

6. @ Hal Austin March 27, 2020 5:08 AM
    “Equally questionable is the idea of a night-time curfew. Why is that? Normally a night-ime curfaew is to control social problems, such as riots and robberies. But the nation is facing a health pandemic and this virus does not stop at 6am and resume at 8pm.
    The government should have imposed a round-the-clock lockdown, except for essential workers, since it is during the daytime that people mingle, congregate, cluster, from going to work, travelling on public transport, to congregating in Oistin’s to play dominoes.
    But, as so often, there is the normal way and there is the Bajan way. We impose a curfew for the time when most people will be in bed, but when they are busy and walking around we let them do so freely.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Well, said, Hal!

Your observations and suggestion are well grounded in the field of pure COMMONSENSE.

How can poor people practise so-called social distancing travelling on an overcrowded Bajan ZR during the day?

The cases of Prince Charlie and PM Johnson certainly go to show the Covid is indeed blind; and, like death, can be no respecter of colour, creed, gender, or social status.

We are just hoping your former overly ‘animated friend’ Donville remains safe in NY under two lockdowns and have his sentencing delayed for another year of misery.

7. Stop touching up each other, keep ya distance and big up the frontline workers giving them the confidence and support they need, without whom you will all die.

https://www.facebook.com/borisjohnson/videos/1448907895270327/?t=7

8. We are just hoping your former overly ‘animated friend’ Donville remains safe in NY….(Quote)

????????

9. Radio waves radiation poison cells which in turn excrete the damage via the orafices in the form of a virus with flu like symptoms that can quickly lead to serious complications or death.

Which countries have the highest rated of death?

What has been introduced in these countries in form of new radiation waves?

Cruise ship industry is been halted. Which cruise ship upgraded to new mobile connection technology?

Wuhan China, Italy, Spain, UK and the US just rolled out 5G. These countries are recording the highest death rates.

Why does the flu season record record deaths, dispute being given flu shots annually?

What discernment is there in diagnosing flu like symptoms from their causes that can lead to bloated infection numbers?

What roll is media hype playing for control of narratives and agendas?

The quest to implement 5G globally is being met with resistance by those in the know. Former pandemics surfaced after the introduction of new radio waves globally now with the assistance of satellites, towers and a matrix of closely knit cells that can penetrate all forms of matter.
    Humanity is in danger

10. @David,

on the whole i hope that they are keeping records and minutes and when it is all over someone will develop a protocol or SOPs for how to deal with this kind of disaster. this is usually conducted for disaster planning.

11. @Greene

Agree with you here. The world will change after this pandemic is over.

Some are saying including Bill Gates last night this virus will recycle next year. Hopefully the vaccine would have been identified by then, some countries would have built herd immunity. We will see.

On Fri, Mar 27, 2020 at 12:56 PM Barbados Underground wrote:

12. UK Health secretary also tested positive for coronavirus.

13. BBC is just reporting that the British Health Matt Hancock Secretary has tested positive for the corona virus.

14. “David Why are u being so negative?”

How is David BU being negative?

I would ‘say’ he was ‘spot on’ by ‘saying “You continue with your lies.”

A few days ago, you were trying to convince this forum that talk about a 3 month food supply was untrue.

Now. all of sudden, you “have enough food supply enough that (you) can share with others who might not have or cannot afford to buy items.”

It is upon this basis I would ‘say’ David was ‘spot on’ when he ‘said’ “You continue with your lies.”

You also mentioned your unwillingness to adhere to ‘government’s’ precautionary measures and having implemented measures of your own. And, you’ve also been ‘saying’ there are many more cases of people testing positive COVID-19 than what is being reported by ‘government.’

This is evidenced by your following comment: “Now that the horse is bolted the fear factor lingers a lot longer as hit and miss rules and regulations take on the role of containing the virus whilst most people especially the elderly cower in fear of the virus.”

Since you seem to believe the virus is widespread and there is fear among the population, the Blogmaster asked you a very important question re:

“How do you plan to share your food with Barbadians?”

15. @ Hal Austin March 27, 2020 8:50 AM

Sorry, Hal!

That ‘gut-wrenching verbal’ punch was intended for your mate Green(e). You can pass it on (like the Covid) to that other member of the Cawmere Mafiosi in the UK.

16. Govt: We have ‘more than enough’ test kits
    Government moved again tonight to dispel rumours about its readiness to fight COVID-19, denying that there is a shortage of COVID-19 testing kits.
    Updating the country in an address to the nation on the impact of the virus in Barbados, Prime Minister Mia Mottley said there are more than enough testing kits on the island.
    She said: “And I want to say this, because that has been one of the unfortunate rumours going around. This Government has not only received more than 600 recently, when the last time we spoke last week, but 2,500 came in again today.
    “And I can assure you that the Government of Barbados has ordered 50,000 with a requirement now for the Ministry of Health to order another 50,000 in the event that we shall need them.”
    She noted that the same applies to swabs and ventilators.
    Mottley declared: “Let us desist from forwarding around these mischievous messages about an inadequate supply of medical supplies.
    “It is simply not true and it causes unnecessary panic in our population especially for persons who ought really just to be reflecting and resting and allowing us to get out of this situation.”
    Earlier today, the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs refuted a WhatsApp message advising people that the Welfare Department is distributing $300 grants to families in need. (EJ)

17. @john2 March 26, 2020 11:21 PM “They should push a mop up your Asset. mia gine retire from politics and be someplace relaxing and firing one with owen and sinklar and you Asset gine be in some ole people home getting nursing because you aint going to recover from the mia stroke.”

You being very cruel to our Mari.

18. (Quote):
    Since you seem to believe the virus is widespread and there is fear among the population, the Blogmaster asked you a very important question re:
    “How do you plan to share your food with Barbadians?”
    (Unquote).

Simple! A classic case of fighting fire with fire.

Two viruses will be at war with the devil the peacemaker.

Just imagine the old multi-faced “ac” (bedecked in a germ-laden weave and all) in mortal combat with the new kid on the block called Covid!

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

God moves in a mysterious way
    His wonders to perform.
    BU Household, relax. We are doing the best we can with the resources and information at our disposal. The public is responding quite well by self imposed isolation. They are not so far hoarding supplies nor rioting. Contact tracing is bearing good results. Since there are not 2k test kits, the sensible approach is to test those most likely to be infected or are transmitters and isolating and testing those who are probably transmitters. Trust me, we are doing well. Our approach is fit for purpose.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Correction. I should have keyboarded 280 000 test kits rather not 2000.

21. @ David BU

Barbados implemented precautionary measures for COVID-19, called the “National COVID-19 Preparedness Plan,” which was supposed to be progressively ‘rolled out’ in stages, according to how the island is being affected by the virus.

STAGE 1: Isolated case of COVID-19 detected in Barbados

….. Activation of National Emergency Operations Centre for national preparedness
    ….. Activation of Isolation Centre.
    ….. Preparation of severe treatment facility and Paragon, St. Lucy District Hospital or Field
    ….. Medical Hospital for screening, quarantine and isolation.
    ….. Reconfiguring of polyclinics to facilitate local screening.
    ….. Advice on limiting mass gathering to reduce risk for local spread.

STAGE 2: Confirmed human-to-human spread of COVID-19 in Barbados.

….. Small clusters in Barbados (≤ 25 cases) with limited human-to-human spread, but spread is highly localised.
    ….. Continued sensitisation of general public.
    ….. Standing up of one supplementary facility for moderate cases requiring hospitalisation (schools and Field Medical Hospital).
    ….. Designated additional capacity for screening (churches, community centres, schools).

STAGE 3: Large clusters of COVID-19 human to human spread.

….. Increased and sustained transmission in the general population
    ….. Evidence of widespread locally and health services are overwhelmed (increase in visits of more than 10%) – State of Emergency Declared.
    ….. Cabinet members sequestered.
    ….. Additional supplementary hospitalisation facilities for moderate cases deployed. Prohibiting mass gatherings.
    ….. Persons without respiratory distress to self-isolate.
    ….. Recommend that ill workers get 5-7 days without sick leave form.

To ‘say’ government should have gone to Stage 3 ‘a week or 2 or weeks ago’ is, in MY opinion, a bit unreasonable, especially if one takes the plans into consideration and how the authorities responded accordingly.

Although I’m not a Mottley fan, I prefer to be fair and give credit when it’s due. However, we have some individuals whose hatred for her sees them preferring to be ‘oppressively constant’ in their criticisms of whatever she does. For them, Mottley seems unable to do anything right and they’re hoping she fails….. ‘crash and burn.’

22. Artax

A few days ago, you were trying to convince this forum that talk about a 3 month food supply was untrue.
    Xxxxxxx
    Where did i make mention of what u say in the above comment
    You are a bold face liar
    Prove yuhself to be right with that comment
    I remember mentioning that Mia talk of having 3mths supply was not enough to feed the country

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Artax at 9:43 AM

I agree with your analysis 100%. Some of us prefer to ignore the issues and comment on persons .

24. SW
    What you called cruel I call tough love 🙂

25. It is now obvious that govt talk of partial shutdown is simply placing a small band aid over a large wound
    For one their is too much uncertainty as to how many people living in households who are infected and can be carries of the virus as they interact amongst the people in various area such as workplace
    Mia words like mild does not cut it for those people in high risk category

26. Artax,

a plan is a mere guideline devised for the best case scenario. no plan survives the first encounter with the enemy. one must be nibble and also plan for if the plan goes wrong. therefore there should have been many what if / contingency plans.

rigidly sticking to a plan is like having no plan at all. there must be maneuverability built in. you cannot tell me that seeing how the virus spread locally in Italy and Spain and now NY and England that you would not consider moving to stage 3 just in case. couple that with knowingly allowing bajan students from China to return without alerting the public or quarantining them knowing that China was the epicenter of the virus: that is only commonsense.

i know we will say that was not Govt’s fault but when planning one must also take into account the likely reaction of certain groups of people. students are young and think they are indestructible therefore they should have been quarantined.

27. https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/covid-19-coronavirus-thursday-new-cases-1.5510534

“There are approximately 10,965 people awaiting test results. Some 2,439 tests were completed in the past 24 hours, and there remains a backlog of at least, on average, four days.”

28. Barbados is either blessed or lucky to have so few cases of the virus.

BU family should let Google be your friend. Doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/coronavirus-covid19-canada-world-march27-1.5511991

29. Hants
    March 27, 2020 10:47 AM

Barbados is either blessed or lucky to have so few cases of the virus.
    BU family should let Google be your friend. Doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.
    https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/coronavirus-covid19-canada-world-march27-1.5511991

Lucky Kadooment wasn’t in February!!

30. I think you will find that the cities in Canada that held New Year celebrations are hardest hit.

Tell me I am wrong.

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@robert lucas March 27, 2020 2:10 AM
    “Cannot do wide spread testing at the moment. Have not got the number of test kits.”
    +++++++++++++++
    Ms Mottley said that “600 test kits have been on the Island, while 2,500 were to arrive yesterday. There was another order for 50,000 and a requirement for the Ministry of Health to order another 50,000 if the need arose…”

Highly reliable test kits are available from Germany at a cost of Bd$346 per hundred tests from the Berlin biotech firm TIB Molbiol.

Yet I am told we have run only 246 tests so far and have yet to test, not to mention re-test, any of the front line health care staff.

32. David
    March 27, 2020 8:59 AM

@Greene
    Agree with you here. The world will change after this pandemic is over.
    Some are saying including Bill Gates last night this virus will recycle next year. Hopefully the vaccine would have been identified by then, some countries would have built herd immunity. We will see.
    On Fri, Mar 27, 2020 at 12:56 PM Barbados Underground wrote:

Every year a new flu vaccine has to be made because the flu is different from the last year.

Might be nothing next year or might be Montezuma’s revenge.

Not sure if I agree with old Bill …. or for that matter Fauci!!

Time will tell

33. Relax folks Mia has the virus under control
    This govt has the answers that top scientist does not have

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Greene March 27, 2020 7:01 AM
    “i disagree that MAM is the best at this time.”
    ++++++++++++++++++=
    I have compared her to all the: opposition figures, public intellectuals, the rest of the Cabinet, people on Brasstacks, and BU colleagues. My opinion stands. For all her faults nobody else even come close.

35. John

Trini carnival was in feb

36. @PLT

I have compared her to all the: opposition figures, public intellectuals, the rest of the Cabinet, people on Brasstacks, and BU colleagues. My opinion stands. For all her faults nobody else even come close (Quote).

Don’t talk nonsense. This is the kind of crap that gives Barbados a bad name. How are you measuring?

37. I agree with Artax! You Mariposa need a time out!

https://youtu.be/O4irXQhgMqg

38. John
    March 27, 2020 10:59 AM

I think you will find that the cities in Canada that held New Year celebrations are hardest hit.
    Tell me I am wrong.

This virus responded like a fire given a lot of fuel at the beginning.

It spread out of control.

Starve it of fuel and it will abate.

Like all fires it isn’t out till every flame and flicker has been extinguished.

Pity it was fed fuel in January/February.

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin March 27, 2020 11:27 AM
    “How are you measuring?”
    ++++++++++++++++
    I am measuring by paying attention, listening, and evaluating. Can you point out a leadership voice that is outperforming her??? I have looked without discovering same. If you can help me find that voice I will certainly listen.

Don’t get me wrong… I find a great deal wrong with Ms. Mottley’s approach, but I find even more wrong with the others.

40. Russia has 1036 cases, 3 deaths, and 8 serious/critical cases.

It also shares a land border with China.

But, Russia is Russia and China is China!!

Here is an example of this year’s attempts at multiculturalism in Russia.

Understated to say the least when compared with the countries which embrace multiculturalism.

https://sputniknews.com/russia/201802161061709455-china-russia-culture-new-year/

41. This is how the virus deaths unfold, very slowly, then jumps, then doubles.

“An elderly man who was among the cruise ship passengers quarantined at Camp Balandra and then transferred to the Couva Hospital after falling ill, has died from complications as a result of the COVID-19 coronavirus.

The Express was told he was an 80 year old.

He is the second fatality recorded in Trinidad and Tobago.

The first death was that of 77-year-old Hansel Leon, who died at the Couva Hospital on Wednesday.”

42. Our PM & her team are doing very well and not being ‘out-performed’ by any in our region or internationally. But let us be frank….this is what we expect from our leaders so its not ‘above & beyond’, greatest & best in the world, future Nobel prize, etc., etc., etc……. let us however, thank out lucky stars that this crisis did not rear its ugly head 3 years earlier …. when Fumble & company were in-charge!!!

43. John maybe Chinese newyears celebrations at the end of jan

44. @ PLT

It is a silly game. Go and spend your time doing more interesting things. What do you know about leadership? By definition, you must be the top leader since you set yourself up as the top judge. What do you pay attention to? What do you listen to? How do you evaluate? Stop talking just because you have a mouth – or typing because you have ten fingers.
    So for the last two years we have had the best leadership we can produce as a nation, a leader that has crashed the economy on the rocks? A woman whose economic competence and knowledge is not even comparable to yours. She maybe the best in a poor talent pool of politicians, but the politicians (mostly second rate lawyers) are not the best in the nation.
    Silly suggestion.

45. @Hal Austin March 27, 2020 8:17 AM “Last Saturday people crowded in to a South Coast hotel to buy and eat black pudding.”

I’ve seasoned a chicken and plan to roast/bake it this afternoon. i normaly stuff with eclispe biscuits, but right now Idon’t want to use up my dry biscuits but I do have a fair amount of frozen, grated sweet potato on hand. I’ve never stuffed poultry with sweet potato before, but I’ll do so this afternoon and let you know how it turns out.

46. @ peterlawrencethompson who wrote ” we have run only 246 tests so far and have yet to test, not to mention re-test, any of the front line health care staff.”

If true that could mean that there are a lot of people who are likely carrying and spreading Covid 19 in Barbados.

47. @PLT,

if we are talking about the voice of the Govt’s response to Covid 19, who else is out there leading the fight against Covid 19? who else is in a position to do so? this is a govt led fight, is it not so? what use are the comparison with others then?

that notwithstanding it is a matter of opinion and that speech last night was too long and full of gratuitous nonsense. it could have been limited to 10 minutes.

if you are talking about her leadership as PM, you may have a point. But we have no choice. she was elected overwhelmingly