As part of the Year of Return and the visit of H.E, the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to Barbados in June this year, the Prime Minister of Barbados, H.E. Mia Mottley, arrives in Ghana today for a 3-day visit.

The visit also forms part of the bilateral discussions started during the President’s visit to Barbados.

She will be in Assin Manso where a Durbar of Chiefs will be held in her honour at the forecourt of the Assin Manso Ancestral River Site.

Remains of an unknown enslaved African from Barbados brought along with the Prime Minister will be buried at the site.

This will bring to three, the number of African ancestral remains buried at the Assin Manso slave river site.

Prime Minister Mottley will also visit the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum and participate in the Damba Festival in Yendi over the weekend. Her delegation includes Foreign Affairs, protocol, and business leaders.

According to the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Hon. Barbara Oteng Gyasi, Ghana’s tourism sector seeks to deepen its interest in the Carribean with Barbados as a key gateway.

The Coordinator of the Year of Return and CEO of the Ghana Tourism Authority, Akwasi Agyeman, says the visit highlights the importance of the Year of Return in the Global African discussion.

https://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/Remains-of-unknown-enslaved-African-to-be-buried-in-Assin-Manso-slave-river-site-799150#

Related Link:

https://ghananewsagency.org/social/barbados-prime-minister-arrives-on-three-day-visit-to-ghana-159753

298 responses to “Mia Goes To Ghana”

1. My two concerns are
    (1) the people of Barbados were not informed on the uprooting and transportation of bones across the Atlantic and
    (2) there was no local ceremony apparent for the removal of these bones from a graveyard. Disrespect.

I hope Mia realize that this is a a one-trick pony and do not turn up in another African country with a new set of bones, People aren’t stupid.

2. NEXT MIA WILL BE TRAVELLING TO THE TWO POLES TO TELL US HOW CLIMATE CHANGE IS AFFECTING THE POLAR BEARS AND THE PENGUINS RESPECTIVELY

BARE MOCK SPORT IN WE GUVMENT

3. Another gang of FRAUDS….who make billions of dollars off inferior quality services to Bajans, refuses to replace their aged low speed diesel generators, but want the same population they RIPP OFF on a daily basis to pay for it…

an intelligent government would make sure every home on the island has A SOLAR ROOF…yes they are now a thing…but ya will never have any intelligent governments in Barbados, not with that backward, toxic mentality and brainwash education…..and KICK EMERA off the island.

the blackout is back as i type..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/19/dirty-fuel-aging-generators-blamed-for-13-hour-blackout/

“The approximately 130,000 Barbados Light & Power Company Ltd (BL&P) customers were left without electricity for most of Monday, following an island-wide blackout that started around 7:29 a.m. and led to the early closure of schools and several businesses by midday.

Barbados Light & Power (BL&P) later blamed the outage on contaminated fuel compounded by aging generator equipment, half of which is past its “retirement age”.

Although restoration began just over an hour after the power outage started, up until 3 p.m. as officials provided an update, only about 50 per cent of the power had been restored, and officials said they were expecting full restoration “by late afternoon, post 6 o’clock”. However, customers were reporting intermittent service while others remained without service for close to 15 hours.”

4. Do these ugly wicked THIEVES understand that NO ONE WANTS TO SEE THEM IN THE PARLIAMENT EVER AGAIN…..except maybe their stupid yardfowls.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/19/some-dem-stalwarts-seek-return-to-active-service/

And as for repulsive looking Ronald Jackass Jones…no one wants to see you PERIOD,

5. @ Piece,
    It’s worth a look at what is occurring in the Lebanon. The only difference between us and them is that their people have taken to the streets.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2019/11/lebanon-resembles-sinking-ship-parliament-speaker-191118090812664.html

6. Political and corporate incompetence = failed state. We are in a very bad place.

7. “I hope Mia realize that this is a a one-trick pony and do not turn up in another African country with a new set of bones, People aren’t stupid.”

she is dumb Enuff to repeat it…disrespectful of ancestors, their bones, their experiences…THEIR STILL LIVING AFRICAN DESCENDANTS on the island, the self-hating brainwashed house negro, has NO RESPECT for themselves, each other or Africa..

8. If rogue fuel has been purchased as I believe is the case. Then this would fit a pattern. Condemned chicken making its way into the country. Counterfeit medicine within our supply chain. A country that is being led by bandits is now untangling at a rapid rate. Civil unrest and anarchy is just around the corner. This government is praying for a miracle but we are too far gone. The writing is on the wall.

9. @TLSN

Use you brain for a second, if it is a bad shipment of fuel does it absolve the BL&P from doing quality assurance checks before loading into the system.

10. It’s nothing to do with fuel. It’s a generator issue at the spring garden.

So where is the public statement from the fair trading commission on the matter?

11. @ David.

Also are you telling me on a system as vital as this there is no filter system on the fuel lines? Even my old car got 2 filters. One on the tank and the other on the engine.

They clearly have not been maintaining the equipment and we are here today. This new company is nothing compared to the old BLP.

Plus why haven’t we heard from the FTC on this issue?

12. Those old archaic low speed diesel generators should have been replaced over a decade ago…..BL&P knew this and so does Emera when they bought the plant..

Barbados should have gone FULLY SOLAR POWERED…over a decade ago, christ the SUN IS FREE….

..i remember posting years ago that the likes of the useless DLP government was just waiting for some crook from Canada, US or UK to come sell them the sun…low and behold…before i could even breathe after that post…..Donville the DON…went all the way to Canada to find the Del Mastro crooks to do just that…but ah would bet me last dollar that the two do not even exchange photos of their MATCHING ANKLE MONITORS NOW…

your black leaders are uselesss…they stay useless…Emera should never be on the island playing those games, but both governments ALWAYS put their bribetaking before the needs of the people..

13. @ David.

Check your email

14. @John A

That audio is bouncing about WhatsApp, it needs to be confirmed.

15. And when ya see Bajans are now going FULL BLAST on this government, on EMERA, on the last crooked government…all happening on FB, ya done know that they have had ENUFF…

their kids CANNOT go to school…no electricity, no water..

their elderly are sick, starving and dying….they can get no money…the pension fund WAS ROBBED by both governments and their bribers….

the QEH is a mess you do not want to get stuck in while sick, injured or dying …ask Jerome and Donville both what they did to cause that….

people are not eating healthy, they can find no work, getting laid off in secret…

it was bound to be reduced to this, the island has been going BACKWARD for years and no matter how mcuh we warned the COLONIAL BLIGHTS in the parliament, they refused to listen….now ya replaced the old blights with the same blights, both colonial, and ya expect to get somewhere…ha!!!!

16. Heard Mia is having a press conference to explain to the people how in 18mths barbados has become a sh.it hole
    Hal was right
    It would all end in buckets of tears

17. What Mia said is that she has a meeting with the Chairman of Emera this evening to explain what is happening at the power plant. You are a one trick pony. Go and advise Verla how to fix the rotten windows in Belleville. She can advise the rebels DLP group is she is up to the challenge.

18. @ David.

Sound like the engineer on WhatsApp knew what he was taking about. Didn’t you recognise his voice?

No it wasn’t grenville!

19. BTW…they need to get tiefing Bizzy and the covetous Williams family out of any renewable energy or solar power for all houses on the island, no one needs that minority trash stealing more from the majority population.

If Mia thinks people are going to sit quietly by and allow her to continue bigging up and enriching those racists, thieves and two legged pigs, at the expense of the majority population as is the norm for sell out negros….she better get a new plan.

20. Ok David u win
    Barbados is not a shit hole but getting close
    Speaking of one trick pony
    Dont forget the duppy dust Mia unleashed on the island
    Knowning how u think u would call the past days problems a treat

21. Barbados has no running water and no electricity, but Mia is off in Africa making speeches. Great. Punching above her weight.(Quote)

What does Mia away have to do with EMERA being exposed for the lack of redundancy in their business? We should ask the FTC for an explanation.(Quote)

The president has now stepped up and taking control of this mess. Glad to see she does not take advice from some people on BU. Who is the responsible minister?

22. The prime minister was very deliberate in stating she is not an engineer and will be asking BL&P to explain the situation. So what is your point?

23. So what about the lack of water…some households even in the heights have had no water since last night.

no excuse please…”gimme de vote and watch muh” we watching..

24. @ David.

Never ask a fish seller if their fish fresh?

In other words the FTC were they any use, would be seeking an independent opinion.

25. David how many times must The power company spokes person say the oil was contaminated
    The question which needs to be asked is how did contaminated oil get into the power supply
    Next was this oil tested
    Why is the minister in charge. Of the agreement between jamaica and barbados not questioned about this problem

26. @John A

So true.

Still waiting to hear why Minister Toppin resigned from the responsibility of managing the FTC.

27. In barbados Truth always take a back seat
    This govt formed an agreement with Jamaica to buy oil
    Oil which has been said to be contaminated
    Going forward hard questions must be asked of this govt concerning the agreement w with regards to the specification of the crude which barbados had agreed upon buying

28. “Next was this oil tested”

wuh if they don’t test 200 year old bones they dig up… ya expect them to have the intelligence or awareness to test oil…lol

29. @ David.

If we wait for the fish seller to tell us the fish wasn’t fresh we will wait forever.

You forget that spoilage from refrigeration loss etc, along with people checking out of hotels could all lead to legal claims for damages. The truth shall therefore remain a carefully guarded secret !

Could that be why the FTC are like church mice on this issue?

30. Prime Minister Mia Mottley will address the country via CBC’s radio network on the matter of the power outages by the Barbados Light & Power Company.

This broadcast is also expected to be carried live by the Starcom Network as well as on the social media channels of the BGIS and other media houses.
    The Prime Minister will meet with the top brass of Emera, BL&P’s parent company this evening( Quote)

The prime minister got the message. She should put them on probation with the threat of nationalisation.

31. She should kick EMERA OUT…end of story.

they had nearly a damn decade to replace their low speed diesel generators.

BAJANS WILL NOT BE PAYING FOR THAT…yall damn PARASITES..

32. Ms. Ram should take the Government to court and tests its validity!!

33. An FDI thirsty country should nationalize one Canada’s leading companies.

Spot on!

34. Piece,

I am not a mout giant. Suffice it to say that when I open my mouth I get most of my problems fixed. I do so by being like the pesky widow in the Bible. I am very annoying and it is easier to fix the problem than it is to deal with me.

I do not look behind me when I step forward. These Bajans are too frightened and downright foolish. Imagine that when I have to do my thing and stand up for my rights I am labelled a mad woman! However, this mad woman from England gets her problems fixed. My madness takes all fear away. You should ask the police about that.

You could also ask Flow, the doctor (the ones Bajans say yuh cyan fight fuh he medicine), the QEH, the attorneys (the same ones that does tief from poor Bajans) and others too numerous to mention.

So now the problem is islandwide. I saw that one coming. I am sure that Mia will deal with the situation because she has no choice. No need for me to do anything but buy a generator to go with my water tank and .pump. I can afford one. I wish I could say I am sorry for those who can’t but I am not.

This morning I had to switch my radio from Admiral Nelson and one woman with an English accent advocating for patience with Emera because “they have served us well up to now”. These fools were happy to be given the opportunity to talk to their families who had no choice without their electronic devices. I make my son put his down daily and we talk. Yesterday Sharon Millington on Q FM was advising that we calm down because there is nothing we can do about the situation. I switched her stupid ass off as well.

I guess it is civilized and fashionable to buy shit and let the seller wipe it in your face. I guess that’s why they call me mad.

I am not that civilized.

And as i always say – there is treatment for madness but there is as yet no treatment for stupidity. So I choose my madness over their stupidity.

35. Wuh damm u ever bought gas and put in your car and it wasn’t the right grade or quality
    If yuh neva then try doing so and watch wuh happen to the car
    If the crude was not of good quality the sh..it would shut down the whole system
    Cant entirely leave govt out this fiasco cause govt openly stated that the source from which they had agreed to buy oil was a source sufficient and enough to save consumers and customers money
    I always heard the olk folks say cheap things no good

36. Am I de only body that think it interesting that this happen RIGHT AFTER the MIF give Barbados a god report card?

Coincidence?? Or somebody …igging in the rigging?

37. I am certain that Emera is aware of all the reputable suppliers and would have been able to contribute to any decision made by the government and raise any objections that would have been documented.

38. Well well the country has finally reached Haitian status which Mia has spoke and willing to give barbados about ten years ago
    However that Status happened under Mottley
    What a thing doah
    The old folks always say wuh sweeten goat mout one day will bunn de belly
    Yes Mottley fuh u that day has finally arrived
    Too bad

39. Well how can u be so certain u sat at the table
    So far all govt has been doing is meking hot and sweaty decision
    This last one has become a night mare for the country

40. Generators required fuel to work and if the fuel is contaminated it would shut down the whole system
    The next best solution is for Emera to find a different company or country to buy the oil and not depend on those sources which govt provide for them
    The up side means better service
    The downside means consumers might have to pay more for quality

41. There is only one company permitted to import oil into the country.

42. But look at this ting!
    I Just passed the Gap by Worthing.
    Total darkness.

43. Company cannot import without govt approval
    Yes David trying moving the goal post

44. The company does NOT import oil, it has to purchase from BNOC. You may have the last word.

45. But the final word still have to come from govt
    U can have the last word