As part of the Year of Return and the visit of H.E, the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to Barbados in June this year, the Prime Minister of Barbados, H.E. Mia Mottley, arrives in Ghana today for a 3-day visit.

The visit also forms part of the bilateral discussions started during the President’s visit to Barbados.

She will be in Assin Manso where a Durbar of Chiefs will be held in her honour at the forecourt of the Assin Manso Ancestral River Site.

Remains of an unknown enslaved African from Barbados brought along with the Prime Minister will be buried at the site.

This will bring to three, the number of African ancestral remains buried at the Assin Manso slave river site.

Prime Minister Mottley will also visit the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum and participate in the Damba Festival in Yendi over the weekend. Her delegation includes Foreign Affairs, protocol, and business leaders.

According to the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Hon. Barbara Oteng Gyasi, Ghana’s tourism sector seeks to deepen its interest in the Carribean with Barbados as a key gateway.

The Coordinator of the Year of Return and CEO of the Ghana Tourism Authority, Akwasi Agyeman, says the visit highlights the importance of the Year of Return in the Global African discussion.

https://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/Remains-of-unknown-enslaved-African-to-be-buried-in-Assin-Manso-slave-river-site-799150#

Related Link:

https://ghananewsagency.org/social/barbados-prime-minister-arrives-on-three-day-visit-to-ghana-159753

298 responses to “Mia Goes To Ghana”

1. Hopefully she left on a ONE WAY TICKET.

2. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

Coyote you made me spill my gin and juice. Don’t have the finances to travel so cheap gin and Pine Hill OJ is my escape. Stop making me laugh and waste my Saturday night drink.

3. Remains of an unknown enslaved African from Barbados brought along with the Prime Minister will be buried at the site.

Hope Ms. Mockley did the DNA testing because those remains could in all likelihood be of a Quaker!!

The remains of one person from the Newton Burying Ground were tested for lead and the signature concentrations put the origins of the individual as Bristol!!

Heard that with my said very ears in July at the conference on Archaeology held at the Hilton!!

4. Donks it’s Friday night? Look like you got into the sauce early. Or you going straight through?

5. (Quote):
    Prime Minister Mottley will also visit the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum and participate in the Damba Festival in Yendi over the weekend. Her delegation includes Foreign Affairs, protocol, and business leaders. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Who are these “business leaders” of African descent?

Does that ‘business-leaders’ category include “Davis” the Welsh poor white slave driver aka plantation overseer whose mortal remains (DNA) have been identified as of Quaker ancestry by our own BU forensic scientist called John?

When is this black-conscious government going to relieve black Bajans of their cultural misery by giving them the ‘free’ opportunity to do some DNA testing to trace their ‘true’ African ancestry?

Many of them might just be surprised to find out that they are not descended from Christianized African aristocracy but the captives and cargoes of trade wars between Islam and European Jews of commerce.

Here is that golden opportunity for Barbados to fulfill (again) its economic dream- as foreseen by the current administration and that gang of nonsensical economists like Clyde M and Jeremy S- of having a million consumers packed cheek by jowl on a 2×3 coral island.

There must be modern-day Ghanians in the thousands just ready to make that journey (again) across the Atlantic but this time on jet planes instead of wind-powered ships whose only cargo was that of the human black gold for the sweet sugar plantations in the ‘English’ West Indies.

6. Is anyone keeping a record of the prime minister’s travel, and the reasons for her travels? Is there a record of the number of people in her parties, who they are, and who pays for their travel and accommodation? Is anyone collating her speeches on these overseas visits and costing any promises made?
    Why does Barbados want to have its own high commission in Ghana and a joint CARICOM one would be better and more productive?

7. All these trips and not one blasted thing to show barbadians that would be beneficial to barbados
    On this trip she takes some duppy dust to Africa as a show of unity between barbados and Ghana
    Wuhloss muh belly

8. This blogmaster agrees with establishing a link with countries from the motherland. It present an opportunity to explore a virgin market.

Establishing a joint Caricom Embassy is a good idea whose time has not come given the modus operandi. Mottley should be commended for operating out of the box thinking.

9. When is this black-conscious government going to relieve black Bajans of their cultural misery by giving them the ‘free’ opportunity to do some DNA testing to trace their ‘true’ African ancestry?

I’ll give them the freedom.

Try here.

https://www.23andme.com/en-int/

All that is necessary is some spittle!!

10. @Miller

It will be uncomfortable for some to see our government trying to foster a relationship with African countries. Our Eurocentric experience will find it repulsive.

11. Did anybody find it interesting to see the head of Republic Bank invited to make a presentation at one of the functions in Ghana? Also interesting to see the CEO of Invest Barbados in the party, she is the sister of the Bajan IMF official Kevin Greenidge..

12. All these photo ops dont amount to a hill of beans
    Questions still remains when is Mia going to plant her feet on barbados soil long enough to hear the cries of the people
    Come on people the people voted for leadership
    Not a photo op Queen
    Latest i heard out of all these travels was one country donating some of their land for barbadians to grow crops
    Which begs the question after barbadians travel to another crop to plant crops
    How much would it cost in time and money for the agriculture process and to import the food in to barbados

13. I applaud Mia for reaching out to African States after all the vast majority of Barbadians are of African descent.

Yes, we should be looking at expanding our ecomony. The continent of Africa is rich in opportunity for Barbados and Barbadians.

I have noticed a pattern in Mia’s ramblings. She is obsessed with population size. She constantly states that the Barbados economy consistently underperforms due to its small population.

Is Mia aware that Barbados is ranked in the top ten as one of the countries with the highest population density.

Is Mia also aware that respectable countries with smaller populations tend to offer a superior quality of life to their citizens. Boatswana, Finland and Costa Rica come to mind.

The reason why Barbados is punching below its weight is due to incompetent and corrupt governments (past and present) and a local population that has become lazy and complacent.

Mia is a pathological liar when she screams that Barbados needs a tripling in her population in order to develop a strong economy. This narrative must be countered by all.

Mia is scapegoating her own people. She is making out that they are the root cause of all the problems that we have in Barbados. That they are unemployable and incapable of been transformed into greater beings.

We need to expose Mia and not allow her to undermine the demographics of our island. Rather then clocking up air miles she needs to stay at home and manage her country more effectively.

14. @ David,
    Mia is not thinking out of the box. The black diaspora have been travelling to and living on the African continent for many decades.

I would suggest that Mia does some research on the Jamaican Marcus Garvey.

15. She is acting as though someone needs her or any Caribbean government to go to Africa…well NEWSFLASH!!!!!!!!…no one does…Diasporians have been returning to Africa for decades, creating businesses, buying properties, even as we type, Caribbean people are back and forth between the Continent, while these useless slaveminded, colonially brainwashed uppity negro governments were for decades pretending to be white and even more laughable pretending to be conservative while wishing away the reality that Barbdos is a majority BLACK COUNTRY…or even that they were African descendants……all in a bid to please their tiefing minority bribers…..blacks who are aware have already put their futures and that of their generations in motion IN AFRICA…, no one was waiting for Barbados’ backward governments…ya will get nowhere if ya do, ya will remain slaveminded if ya do..

.Caribbean and North American Blacks have been making a pathway on the Continent for others to follow for a very long time…no one needs colonial minded governments, they are not fit for purpose.

so she is fooling no one…she thinks she can keep the people in bondage to implement her own selfish plans, but that is over…only yardfowls would fall for that scam, hope they all get robbed.

16. I agree with David she is licking…….sorry ticking all the boxes

17. @TLSN

Some of you are always on the blog touting the importance of pushing Black awareness, know our roots bla bla. Here it is we have a political leadership trying a thing and to be expected the destructive criticism comes.

Many of you lack the ability to give Jack his jacket.

18. @ Waru,
    Earlier this year I met a travel agent based in Warrens, she was organising a trip to Ghana. She was going to charter a flight from Bridgetown to Accra. So Mia is certainly no trendsetter.

I wonder if Mia has witnessed the rush to Africa by all and sundry to get a piece of the mother continent. The latest being Putin and his crony countrymen.

Perhaps she needed to seek approval from Trump or Boris before seeking a relationship with mother Africa.

19. @ David,
    Calm down. The black diaspora does not require approval from Caribbean leaders to tell them that it may be a good idea to form a strategic relationship with mother Africa.

It is always best to by-pass government and for the people to come up with their own solutions. If more Bajans were to realise this then our two big parties would become surplus to requirement.

20. Piece the Legend Avatar

Mugabe believes in the old maxim

“…a fool and his money ARE SOON PARTED…”

This Year of Return and Gathering 2020 IS FAST BECOMING the Year of Rape and a Congregation for Bajans in the Diaspora who are Certifiably Mad, mad enough to GATHER for their RAPE, ROBBERY OR POSSIBLE SHOOTING while in Bim.

But de ole man digresses momentarily

I was talking about Ghanaian fools…

In this submission de ole man will give you the names of the top 20 richest Ghanaians the business tycoons billionaires who are being courted in this Cultural Rape

De ole man regularly tells wunna dat I was trained by THE BEST so leh me explain to wunna a few things dat wunna “seeing”, but cant see

Africans are a people who are steeped in “certain customs” which give much interpretation to Rites for the Dead.

Someone who understands these superstitions, like how US soldiers have a fear of Haitians and Vodoo, CAN EASILY GET SOME BONES OF A SUPPOSED GHANIAN SLAVE, CREMATE THEM AND FLY DEM TO AFRICA.

Where one sits down in a big chair like a fat cow, or fatted calf, AND GLARE AT PEOPLE while your 40 man delegation flying to Ghana to trick Ghanaians.

Is wunna feeling de ole man yet?

http://imgur.com/a/6KJ4cOn

Take a look at this Grand Heist and GRAND THEFT GHANA in the making!

One thing dat de ole man gine tell wunna doah!

Ghanaians ARE NOT LIKKLE BORYS OR GIRLS, so wunna go ahead and try to teif dem money like wunna do wid CLICO AND HARDWOOD

And watch how wunna going dead!

21. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here that sets all this bull shit talk in its proper perspective.

22. The issue is not about whether Mia is a trendsetter. It is about her government establishing links with countries in Africa to pursue government to government economic opportunities. See the initiative as positive and move on. Let us hope it does not fizzle but the first step to initiate a strategic relationship is required.

23. If you are interested.

24. @ John November 16, 2019 6:35 AM
    “All that is necessary is some spittle!!”

What about yours, John? Did your ‘free’ DNA test reveal you to be related to a ‘barbadosed ‘Quaker Adam the Jew who dipped his DNA pale stick, without spittle, in a warm wet west African hole of a black Eve 2 centuries back in a plantation cane piece?

At least the British government can underwrite the cost of DNA testing for those black Bajans who want their ancestral freedom but are still saddled with names that disclose their false English, Scottish welsh and Irish heritage.

White Americans are proud of their British and European heritage, why should black Bajans continue to be like Tom Dooley and hang their heads in cultural shame?

After all, white Jews (even the many with skin cancer) are not ashamed of their mythological 400 years of mysteriously made-up captivity in ‘black’ Egypt of Ra or on the banks of the Rivers of Babylon?

So why can’t black Bajans get the ancestral monkey of shame off their backs and see their history of enslavement in the Caribbean (with the help of Portuguese Jews) as the work of their Yahweh through Jesus to prepare them for the return to the Promised Land called the Golden Coast on the belly of Mother Africa?

25. @David,

My advice to Mia is simple. Fix Barbados problems first. Provide a transport system that functions. We do not require the latest technologies.

Introduce a “Marshall” plan that will make Barbados a functional country.

All of her visits to friendly countries and pushing for growing our economy will count for nothing if we can not manage the cents in our wallets. Oh and cut out the nepotism and her ugly sister: corruption.

26. @TLSN

Does Barbados exist in a fish bowl? Are the economic fortunes of Barbados not inextricably linked to our ability to earn our way in a competitive world?

27. @ Hants,
    Thanks for the video clip. What does it tell you? Here we have an oral history been narrated to returnees/tourists. Do we have the equivalent of this in Barbados. Try finding a burial ground for slaves that are signed posted and I will show you my Mercedes. You can go to Barbados as a tourist and return home without having any idea that it was an island built on slavery.
    Is our great leader aware of this?

28. @ David,
    You simply do not get it. Irrespective of what we earn; irrespective of how fast we can grow our economy we will never see an improvement in the quality of life for the majority population. This government will siphon off everything and allocate it to a selected minority group. Remove the scales from your eyes.
    As we talk this government has made it clear that Barbadians will never become players in the marijuna industry.

29. Who will earn the money from marijuana has already been guaranteed, Barbados is late to the party.

30. @DAVID

“Does Barbados exist in a fish bowl? ”

To answer your question- YES

Barbados has been operating in an enclosed fish bowl ever since independence and all the BLACK NATION TRIPS will not change the inferior mental capabilities of the nation’s leaders or advance the ethical position of the country. As John implies it’s more likely to advance the access to illegal and corrupt money laundering capabilities.

31. @Wily

A negative perspective from you is not surprising.

32. @ David November 16, 2019 9:49 AM
    “Who will earn the money from marijuana has already been guaranteed, Barbados is late to the party.”

So why all the fanfare with political bells and legislative whistles including the proposed street parade of misinformed brain-washed masses of religiosity called a referendum on the decriminalization of marijuana for purposes other than medicinal to be prescribed and dispensed by licensed drug pushers called doctors and pharmacists?

At least the decriminalization of locally cultivated and processed marijuana for whichever purposes would save a massive amount of forex leaving the country via the underground route and would be available to help payoff the massive foreign debts.

Over the last 25 years Millions in hard-earned foreign money have gone up in smoke over the country Barbados; sufficiently ‘high’ enough to payoff the foreign national debt with the regular roll of locally produced spliffs.

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at9 9:54 AM

How is it that Wily’s perspective is not closer to reality? Where is the evidence that his is negative?

34. @ Wily E Coyote

What happened?

Suddenly all your currency as an accredited financial consultant and competent reader of the economy WHICH YOU ENJOYED BEFORE MAY 28 2018, has evaporated!!!

Whu you done bin gone and do?

35. @Vincent

Cannot recall Wily ever posting a positive comment about anything going on in Barbados. Some comments on the blog are predictable.

36. @ Mr Vincent Codrington

Of late we are agreeing too often.

It is time for us to start cussing each other kind Sir.

That way we wont be writing similar things on BU

PS. prior to my use of TOR software I could “like” posts BUT, GIVEN HOW “LIKES” operate and their dangers with conveying malicious code on machines, de ole man has certain scripts disabled and as a result I dont seem to “like” ant comments

But I periodically express my thanks and endorse points by fellow bloggers

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Even if that were true, and that is not my recollection, past behaviour is no indication of future behaviour. We should examine each submission on its merit.

38. @David

“A negative perspective from you is not surprising.”

THE TRUTH HURTS, does it not to blind BLP yardfoul.

39. @Vincent

Your opinions are invited the blogmaster will post his views.

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@JohnNovember 15, 2019 10:48 PM “Hope Ms. Mockley did the DNA testing because those remains could in all likelihood be of a Quaker!!”

Good morning John: Can you please explain how one can use DNA testing, which is a biological process, to test for religious belief?

Thanks.

P.S. I Dr. GP who is a physician and well versed in biology, chemistry etc. can explain, I will be thankful.

Sincerely

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Miller “Many of them might just be surprised to find out that they are not descended from Christianized African aristocracy”

How does one used DNA, a biological method to test for Christianized or religious anyhing?anything?

All human beings, including so called aristocrats are descended from gatherers, hunters, laborers and small farmers, so why would anybody be surprised about anything?

42. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinNovember 16, 2019 3:54 AM “who they are, and who pays for their travel and accommodation?”

The taxpayers of Barbados, of which you are unlikely to be one, pays for the Prime Minister’s travel and accommodation, just as the British taxpayers, of whom my sister is one, pays for the travels and accommodation of the British Prime Minister.

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I commend the Prime Minister on her visit to Ghana.

I am always happy to welcome my Ghanian visitors when they come here.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TLSNNovember 16, 2019 7:38 AM

So how many smart, healthy, well educated young people have you contributed to Barbados?

45. @Simple Simon

The Ghanaian nurses are coming!

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece “I was trained by THE BEST…flying to Ghana to trick Ghanains.”

So weren’t Ghanians not also trained by the best?

Why do you feel that Ghanians can be easily tricked?

You realize don’t you that the average Ghanain is just as smart as you are?

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Good. Happy to hear, although I am rarely sick so I may not get to encounter them. Lol!!!

48. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Vincent CodringtonNovember 16, 2019 10:30 AM “past behaviour is no indication of future behaviour.”

Dear Vincent: Wong. In fact past behaviour is an extremely strong predictor of future behaviour. Remember the saying “a leopard can’t change his spots”

Or the Bajan saying “teach a dog to suck eggs, and then…”

49. “…Soft Targets and Crowded Places (ST-CPs), such as sports venues, shopping venues, schools, and transportation systems, are locations that are easily accessible to large numbers of people and that have limited security or protective measures in place making them vulnerable to attack…”

De ole man does talk nuff foolishness pun a Sarday morning yuh!

What de France I cud be meaning mentioning “Soft Targets?

It is almost universally acknowledged that Ghanaians adore the dead and will commit so much to performing expensive and flamboyant funeral rites.

Funerals in Ghana are very much a social event and attended by large numbers of people. It is also an obligation to attend a funeral AND AN ANCESTRAL FUNERAL WITH BONES OF A SUPPOSED SLAVE, whuloss Mugabe Mottley is stroking de whole Parliament of Ghana doggie.

all of you will be surprised to hear that this funeral THAT HAS BEEN CONCOCTED BY MUGABE is going to last for a year!!!

Wunna need to understand Ghanian beliefs and other overarching cultural and family traditions and things that happen within the country.

When you observe the video circulating social media about the insult to the Slaves Who Mugabe interrupted their rest FOR HER FIASCO, you start to understand this trick and its utilization.

Because of the nature of this fabricated funeral what Mugabe did was to skip the usual practice of “going to the head relative and shaking their hand”

The Ashes of our Slave Ancestors have been prostituted since she has moved from the usual “lines of people” that funeral attendees must move through AND GREET AND SHAKE THE HAND OF ALL THE RELATIVES.

De ole man wonders what Mugabe did when it was time to join the queue to make a donation towards the funeral expenses?

Knowing that cheap skate she must have skipped the line but, ALSO KNOW THAT SHE LOVES THE PHOTO OPS, SHE WOULD HAVE GOTTEN A RECEIPT that would have been taken to the announcer who would have read out her name and the donations made

After that Mugabe would have been given a chair in the front.

This is prostitution of the Ashes of Whomever she has dig up these skeletons from their final resting place to prevent that they were Ghanaian slaves.

any one uh wunna ever try to find a grave spot in any one of our RH cemeteries in Barbados?

we cant even find a RH spot after 3 fvucking years of internment YET SHE RH TELLING ME SHE FIND A 200 YEAR OLD GHANAIAN

See why de ole man does curse, we stoopid as fvuck