2019 Crop Over has started its long climate starting with Pic-o-de-Crop Finals last night – Classic won – followed by Foreday Morning Jam. Today will be the street fair Bridgetown Market on the Mighty Gryner Highway and street party Kadooment on Monday.

Thousands of Barbadians and visitors have taken the opportunity to visit at this time of year. In recent days business establishments, seasides, roadways and sights of interest have been jammed.

Have a safe Crop Over Barbados!

161 responses to “2019 Crop Over – Eat Drink and be Merry”

1. David

Very well, fair enough!

Afraid, don’t understand the import of the second sentence.

2. Mariposa

RE: “……… are you suggesting that the babies murdered themselves?”

My friend, all I “said” was that “I’m bit curious……….. so, I’ll ask a few questions.”

I DID NOT attempt to make any SUGGESTIONS as to the circumstances surrounding the deaths of the babies or their father.

However, unlike you, I’m not making any assumptions concerning how the three victims died, based on gossip or in the absence of an official report indicating how they actually died.

RE: “……..have not police indicated that the deaths were murder by suicide?”

Whereas the word “murder” basically means the unlawful killing of one human being by another……. “suicide” refers to when an individual deliberately or intentionally takes his/her own life.

With those definitions out of the way, would you care to explain to this forum what exactly is “MURDER BY SUICIDE…….. and present the source of your information relative to the “police indicated that the deaths were murder by suicide?”

RE: “……..have you heard or been told by police authorities that people of interest were being sought by police in connection to that case?”

When a crime is committed and a suspect or suspects has/have been identified, the police would usually issue a statement saying a “person” or “persons of interest is/are being sought by police in connection with the case.”

If, according to you, the father “murdered his children” and then killed himself……. why would the “police be looking for people of interest” ………. unless you’re suggesting OTHER individuals are known to or suspected of having assisted in perpetrating what you described as “murder by suicide?”

3. What used to be a day of family to enjoy the art and culture of barbados
    Has turned into a display of vulgar behaviour amongst old and young
    Would be hard to see this kind of cultural despicable display performed on the streets of communist regimes many of which are atheist and are absent of Christain teachings and principles
    Here is a country that speaks of moral values defined in Christain principles yet every year at crop over time the same lewd actions between the male and female gender are pefromed openly in public view
    SMH

4. 🙂 A national award to Mariposa.
    Based on her statements, the nation was spared the sight of her shaking he bum-bum in public 🙂

More seriously, I am somewhat concern about this yearly display of ridiculous behavior. Do you realize that the men are usually more conservatively dressed than the women advertising in the meat market.

I am no prude, but I would be very disappointed if my female relatives joined the crowd…

I guess I agree with Mariposa

5. Was now watching Cbc.and lo and behold they are airing a programe on teaching children to pray
    In the meanwhile some of these kids parents on thr wind and grind pooch back day line
    Lawd have merci

6. Rihanna Is a Pink Feathered Dream at Barbados’ Crop Over 2019
    We’ve been blessed with another Bad Gal Riri look at the annual Barbados festival.

https://www.harpersbazaar.com/celebrity/latest/a28612045/rihanna-crop-over-2019/

7. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 5, 2019 4:22 PM “Was now watching Cbc.and lo and behold they are airing a programe on teaching children to pray. In the meanwhile some of these kids parents on thr wind and grind pooch back day line.”

Dear Mariposa: Don’t you know that it is possible to wind, grind, pooch back and pray AND raise your children to be good adults?

I always say that God must love naked bodies, since he makes millions of them every year.

8. Some body ought to tell the Michelin type body shapes they need to stay on the sidelines and watch the bands pass by instead of exerting themselves to all kind of ridiculous poses and clothes customs which over exposes their body rolls in every area

9. As for the costumes most of them looked cheap and not well designed
    A body suit is not a costume
    Nor shorts and a tie shirts

10. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron August 3, 2019 4:22 PM “Only the usual slaughter in the Caribbean that tourists love so much. The panic at the beginning of the year was again typical propaganda of the opposition.”

You are evil.

One of these days the dead one will be somebody that you love, then I hope that you will be man or woman enough to say “Only the usual slaughter.”

11. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 5, 2019 4:51 PM “Some body ought to tell the Michelin type body shapes.”

Imagine the li’l boney woman body shaming others.

12. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Artax August 4, 2019 9:19 AM “If the babies were NOT included in the July 2019 murder stats, could you please tell us how did you arrive at 36?”

The babies MUST be included in the murder statistics. Parents DO NOT OWN their children. Children are not chattle that angry parents are free to dispose of at will. Children are NOT property. Children are NOT slaves. Those two babies were fully human. As fully human as our Governor General or our Prime Minister.

And they deserve to be mourned as such,.

I noticed an obit in yesterday’s paper, page 11 D of the Sunday Sun of August 5, 2019. and the mother of the children was not mentioned. It is as though the mother does not exist. And since the father is dead by his own choice, is not the mother the next of kin of these children, so how can a memorial announcement be made with no mention of their mother?

We are an evil people. We are too willing to identify with male perpetrators, agreeing with nonsense statements about men being “unfaired” by the court”

One of these days the victims will be our daughter, and our grandchildren, and then we will know what pain feels like.

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

We put ourselves in the shoes of the murderer, and not in the place of the dead victims.

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 5, 2019 12:57 PM “every year at crop over time the same lewd actions between the male and female gender are pefromed openly in public view”

i am one of the old. i spent several hours at the festival today with some of the young. I did not see any male/female lewdness.

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Artax August 4, 2019 9:19 AM “Or, are you suggesting the father “murdered” the two babies…Would you mind telling us how you knew the “babies (were) murdered by their father?”

Be mindful that none of the violent deaths which have taken place this year have not yet been tried in court. Yet you seem to have no difficulty referring to the first 30 as murder. But this father? You want to treat him special? Why?

Would you think it is better if we said that there have been zero murders this year because “how do we know that the other 30+ people were murdered?”

16. Unless my eyes are seeing things which no else is seeing
    Then i will make a quick visit to my eye doctor
    A male grinding om a female backside will the female invites his every move with a rapid roll of her posterior in pouch back fashion while the male responds with a sexual grinding movement on tge female backside .. in my eyes is lewd and despicable behaviour
    This type of art or cultural back in my younger days was frowned upon and unacceptable by the elders with if introduced into the Carnival with verbal tones of immoral and down right disgraceful by the elders
    Carnival was always a part of our culture however a show of festivity that prsented barbados and its citizens in. Classy fashion of culture and Pride
    Barbados crop over has now become a part of a culture that waits every year to show case barbadians as a model of indifference and immorality
    What happen to Pride ? IMHO barbadians need to rethink which barbados they want to expose to the rest of the world as the world watches this grand event washed in patriotic costumes

17. BTW why is BU not stating what happen to Bush Tea
    When ever a member of the household is taken to a safer and better place beyond the horizon the members are told of the glorious transistion

18. You are always relied upon to tell lies. You are a very dishonest person. In fact you have zero credibility in the blog.

19. After winning STARCOM popular monarch last week bands voted his song #1 again on the road.

https://youtu.be/RV1riJsShjU

20. “Be mindful that none of the violent deaths which have taken place this year have not yet been tried in court. Yet you seem to have no difficulty referring to the first 30 as murder. But this father? You want to treat him special? Why?
    Would you think it is better if we said that there have been zero murders this year because “how do we know that the other 30+ people were murdered?”

SirSimpleSimon

Yuh know, from time to time you duz contribute some real shiite to BU, yuh……….. as is evidenced by your above comments.

Look, if yuh en gots nutten to say …….. just keep quiet, nuh?

“It harrows me with fear and wonder.”

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 5, 2019 6:08 PM “A male grinding om a female backside will the female invites his every move with a rapid roll of her posterior in pouch back fashion while the male responds with a sexual grinding movement on tge female backside .. in my eyes is lewd and despicable behaviour. This type of art or cultural back in my younger days was frowned upon and unacceptable by the elders.”

Impotent elders have always objected to the sexual vigour of the youth. But the new generation of workers/taxpayers/voters comes directly from the loins of the sexually vigourous youth.

Without the sexually active young people, who would pay our pensions?

22. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Artax August 5, 2019 10:44 PM “SirSimpleSimon. Yuh know, from time to time you duz contribute some real shiite to BU, yuh…as is evidenced by your above comments. just keep quiet, nuh?”

I asked you a couple of simple questions. If you cannot answer them truthfully why don’t you just say so. Instead you try to silence me? Why?

The late teacher is suspected to be the murderer of the two infants. Have you heard the police say that they are looking for a suspect? if not why not? The infants were not only his children. They were also their mother’s children. The grandchildren of the mother’s parents, the niece of nephew of their mother’s siblings, etc.

We do not OWN our children.

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Artax August 5, 2019 9:30 AM “how the three victims died.”

But were there 3 victims? Or only 2? We can be pretty certain that children under the age of 2 do not have the capacity to victimize anyone.

24. SirSimpleSimon

RE: “I asked you a couple of simple questions. If you cannot answer them truthfully why don’t you just say so.”

I believed I answered your questions appropriately. Because I believe on occasion, you wake up from some sort of stupor (perhaps after spending long hours in the sun), misinterpret what you read on BU and then post a “multiplicity” of responses that can only be best described as shiite.

RE: “Instead you try to silence me? Why?”

What I ACTUALLY WROTE was “Look, if yuh en gots nutten to say …….. just keep quiet, nuh?

Then, for your own duplicitous reasons, you PURPOSELY took what I wrote out of context and DELIBERATELY EXCLUDED the sentence re “Look, if yuh en gots nutten to say ………”

………… to make it appear as though I was attempting “to silence” you.

You are a DISHONEST INDIVIDUAL.

RE: “The late teacher is suspected to be the murderer of the two infants. Have you heard the police say that they are looking for a suspect?”

I have NOT read or heard any media or police report in which it was definitively stated ” the late teacher is suspected to be the murderer of the two infants.”

If YOU are privy to this information, perhaps you may want to share or direct me to its source.

All I know there were reports of an ongoing, domestic situation between Barrow and his wife, before he and their children unfortunately perished in the fire. As a result, people, INCLUDING YOU, are ASSUMING it was a murder-suicide (and for Mariposa, it was “murder by suicide).”

But, according to Police Public Relations Officer, Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss:

“Our investigations are STILL CONTINUING into the CAUSE of the fire and whether any other witnesses would have SEEN and been able to GIVE us ANY INFORMATION in respect of that. Obviously, it is very tragic for the neighbours and the family members around and we are hoping we can CONCLUDE our investigations soon.”

I therefore ask you, is it UNREASONABLE for me PREFERRING to WAIT until AFTER the police and fire service CONCLUDE their investigations and the circumstances surrounding the cause of death (e.g. whether by murder-suicide or accidental fire), is “OFFICIALLY DETERMINED,” BEFORE rushing off to make assumptions based PRIMARILY (i.e. for the most part) on rumour?

25. BTW why is BU not stating what happen to Bush Tea
    When ever a member of the household is taken to a safer and better place beyond the horizon the members are told of the glorious transistion

You are always relied upon to tell lies. You are a very dishonest person. In fact you have zero credibility in the blog

Mariposa is being called a liar
    all because she asked out of concern after not seeing Bush Tea commentary on BU
    Mariposa also made note as as a reference point or as an example as to the many occasions where BU has given reason as to why some members of the household does not comment any longer and David retorts by calling Mariposa a liar
    Well i’ll be dam .however the question still remains to be answered.
    Where is (or )what happened to Bush Tea a long outstanding member of the BU household

26. SirSimpleSimon

I believed your questions were “simply silly, Simon” and therefore not deserving of a response. However, since you implied I could not answer them truthfully………… here goes!!!

RE: “Be mindful that none of the violent deaths which have taken place this year have not yet been tried in court. Yet you seem to have no difficulty referring to the first 30 as murder.”

I’m trying to understand the correlation between the “violent deaths which have taken place this year have not yet been tried in court” and I “having no difficulty referring to the first 30 as murder.”

Perhaps you may want to explain.

The word “murder” basically means the unlawful killing of one human being by another. Barbados has so far this year recorded 33 individuals who were INITIALLY SUSPECTED to be unlawfully killed by other individuals. Police investigations subsequently determined these people were actually murdered and as a result, the police’s PRO was able to definitively state that, as at August 4, 2019, Barbados recorded 33 murders.

Some of these murders have been solved by police and the alleged perpetrators arrested and charged with the capital offence of “murder,” while investigations are continuing as it relates to those cases that still remain unsolved at this time.

On July 4, Ackeem Jabarry Leon, 27, of 3rd Avenue Mannings Land, Bank Hall, St Michael = 31;
    On July 6, Rupert Stoute was stabbed and beaten to death outside the entrance of the Fairchild Street terminal = 32;
    August 2nd, a 25 year-old ZR conductor was stabbed in the Cheapside Terminal and subsequently succumbed to his injuries = 33.

Ironically, this incident occurred on July 25, 2019 and 22-month-old Riodan Barrow and 8-month-old Rhea Barrow have NOT been INCLUDED in the murder stats for July 2019. If this was so, the rate would have been 35. Perhaps there is a REASON for this. Hence, why I’m PREFERRING to WAIT.

So, under these circumstances, I “have no difficulty referring to the first 30 as murder.”

It is “simply silly, Simon,” if you are trying to juxtapose this with the deaths of Barrow and his children. A man and his children died as a result of an apartment fire. Yet, in the absence of any official report in which the circumstances surrounding the cause of death were determined, “you seem to have no difficulty referring to this case as murder.”

Unlike you and others, WITHOUT an investigation, the police cannot say Barrow “murdered” his children, based primarily on gossip originating from the ongoing domestic situation between the teacher and his wife, which, at this stage is “more or less” circumstantial. The police may however include that situation as a motive on which to base their investigations.

Once again, this is why I PREFER to WAIT.

RE: “But this father? You want to treat him special? Why?”

If you believe my PREFERRING to WAIT until it has been “OFFICIALLY DETERMINED” HOW “this father” and his children died is “treating him special,” ……….. then, so be it…… “knock yourself out.”

RE: “Would you think it is better if we said that there have been zero murders this year because “how do we know that the other 30+ people were murdered?”

Although I’m of the opinion your above question is “simply silly, Simon,” I believe it’s a question to be best answered by the police.

27. Again you are a liar, you indicated you understand he has transitioned.. BU is an anonymous blog, some commenters will change monikers or leave as is their decision. In the case of Bush Tea he posted this comment in April 2019. How would you know anything about Bush Tea if he posted anonymously> Again you are a bold faced liar.

http://barbadosunderground.net/2019/04/14/barbadians-cry-out-as-barbados-bar-association-continue-to-protect-crooked-lawyers-and-dysfunctional-system/comment-page-2/#comment-1183932

28. @ David,

Good to see that Barbados had a peaceful Crop over weekend.

Meanwhile Toronto police chief pledges more resources after 17 people shot over Civic Holiday long weekend.

29. Why do we call people liars. It is a word rarely used in more sophisticated societies. That someone is economical with the truth, a fabricator, factually incorrect, misinterpreting the facts, etc are all terms used in place of calling someone an outright liar. The assumption is that there are not deliberately wrong.
    Maybe there is a cultural difference. A difference of opinion does not make one a liar. There is an unseemly aggression in Barbadian discourse.

30. they

31. Thanks Hants we have to direct resources where it will translate to the biggest bag for buck.

32. Again i reiterate never in my earlier commentary did i make mention of Bush Tea demise
    Never one to miss a beat u David made a judgement call with hubris and misguided intent to intrepret my comment as u seen fit and calling me a liar
    Rather than posting the link to which you now reference
    Maybe if u David had read my comment with a sympathetic ear u would not have been so easily misguided with hubris and unfounded emotional dribble towards Mariposa
    U can have the last word

33. Here is what you posted, LIAR.

BTW why is BU not stating what happen to Bush Tea

34. I know what i posted and for reason and with intentions
    My responses to u David remain the same
    No need to school me into how i should interpret my comments
    Have a Bless day

35. The good.

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, the folks who post under @Mariposa are indeed often less than explicit in their written comments but in this instance there was a benign interpretation of their post alternate to yours…

It could safely have been taken as a maliciously genuine query 😁 of Bushie’s well being with the add on on how other missing bloggers were heralded when they were called away from this mortal joy!

The interpretation that they implied his passing is understood based on their past
    and continued malicious style postings!

37. De pedantic since u pushed your big nose into the issue between me and David
    I therefore ask of u this question
    Where in my comment did i say Bush Tea had transition
    Far less than saying words to imply his transition.. in my first sentence
    I asked a question of David and it began with the word “why” which Therfore would indicate that Mariposa wanted to know what became of Bush Tea and if David might have known why he is not blogging

38. @dee Word

Nonsense.

39. The only costume that stood out as the best was Rhianna
    All others looked poor rakey and ready for the next day garbage pick up
    Well that is all depending on govt time schedule

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin August 6, 2019 6:50 AM “Why do we call people liars. It is a word rarely used in more sophisticated societies. ”

Maybe because they are liars? And because liar is a perfectly good English word. So why not use it.

I mean we call a tree, a tree. We don’t talk about that tall thing, green at the top, and with brown bark do we?

A tree is a tree.

A spade is a spade.

A liar is a liar.

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

So David i won’t beat around the Bush. Lolll!!!

To the best of your knowledge has our darling Bush tea been promoted to higher service? (that is, is he dead, dead dead?)

Or has he been promoted to higher political service, that is to Cabinet or to the the diplomatic service?

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, I would actúally agree with you on your 9:30AM… this is lots of nonsense.

But let’s agree to disagree on exactly what is nonsense 😂!

You have every right to interpret as u did re the Mariposa consortium’s original post….
    That you see it as nonsense that others can take another interpretation or that you simply refuse to see the other nuance is unfortunate !

@Mari…why do u TORTURE English comprehension as u do…oh lordie!

You CANNOT be as whacked as u make out …or are you!

OF COURSE you queried if
    Bush Tea had transitioned!…

The fact that you framed it as some conditional imaginings does not remove the thrust …

As I said the Blogmaster’s interpretation was a VALID one but not the ONLY reasonable interpretation.

The fact that YOU the alleged writer do not SEEM to know what you wrote is truly frightening ☹️!

You did…

##… write (asked) what happen to Bushie

##… You then bluntly implied that he may have transitioned ( *taken to a safer and better place beyond the horizon *)

The ONLY reason I give you the benefit of the doubt (as David Blogmaster didn’t) is because you OBVIOUSLY do NOT know who Bushie is and thus you CANNOT be making a declarative statement of his demise…rather you are just being malicious (gypsy in Bajan) about the man and putting his name on your tongue!

I would end by asking where ú learned English …any of ur former English teachers would be highly offended to see how u butcher the language here daily.

…Anyhow I dun wid dat.

43. De pendantic

What is so hard for u to understand that in my opening statement i asked David a question beginning with Why
    Then i summerized my comment by giving examples of times when David told the BU household why certain members were not active any longer
    Where and when in my comment did i say Bush Tea had transition
    It is obviuos u are the person having problem with comphrension and cannot understand the difference between a question and a summary explicit with examples

44. Are we going to discuss the death of Toni Morrison, her works and their contribution to the Barbados literary canon? Is this a topic for BU?

45. @Hants

Being the musician you are should power soca be split from groovyby reverting to two competitions?

46. The Worst Crop Over ever
    Even the Bsnk Hall people turned their noses up at tgis fiasco

47. Worst crop over
    The images of lewd and disgusting pictures thrown across social media makes dog stomach sick
    People who engaged in these sexual acts should be found and prosecuted
    What disgraceful and total disrespect towards the country of Barbados

48. What images are you referring? You are aware several videos being WhatsApped originate from other islands?

49. @ David,

power soca ( 145 beats per minute and up ) could be split from groovy (110 to 140 beats per minute ) by reverting to two competitions.

I am truly impressed by the performances of all the Bajan artistes.

Crop over was also great based on what I have seen and comments by those who were interviewed.

Hopefully next year will be even better.