verseewildpushitback
VerseeWild Push It Back Music Video – Bajantube.com

As we do with the 11-plus Examination Barbadians engage the same conversations every year come Crop Over time; too much wukkin-up, lyrics too lewd and quality of the music, and the stakeholders who stoke controversy etc. In 2009, add to the list whether the festival should  proceed in light of the H1N1 virus threat and the mother of all issues the leak of the 18 semi-finals of the Pic-O-De-Crop competition.

What is evident to BU is the transition from a culture driven festival to one greatly influenced by economic considerations. Is it not obvious to the decision makers that  there is a conflict of interest if the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) continues in the role of sole producer of the festival? The Crop Over Festival is the premier national event used to attract visitors to Barbados, a bonus benefit is the large number of Barbadians living overseas who see Crop Over as the ideal time to visit the land of their birth. There is no question the important economic activity which is linked to Crop Over.

In our opinion culture issues have taken a backseat in recent years at the expense of  running the festival as a business. BU has no issue with the need to make money, however it is important to have the correct model to satisfy the business side as well as the need to facilitate cultural expression.

The burning question which must be given serious thought is, can the NCF adequately enable the environment to accommodate cultural expression and in the process grow the cultural industries in Barbados?

The Crop Over Festival in Barbados has become subsumed by one stakeholder, the Calypsonians. The NCF has had to allocate disproportionate resources to manage this disorganized group through the years. The perception seeded in the public domain and given root suggests a high level of distrust which exist between the NCF and the Calypsonians.  Barbados has been overseeing Crop Over too long for the controversy level to be at critical year after year.

We listened very carefully to Christopher Sinckler singing the benefits of the EPA with the EU when he had responsibility for Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and International Business. One of the selling points was the economic opportunity the EPA would provide for our entertainers. He was at pains though to point out that Barbados had a lot of work to do to build structure to our entertainment industry if Barbados was to capitalize on the EPA. The EPA was signed on the 15 October 2008 and to date BU remains ignorant about any initiatives to efficiently organize the entertainment sector in Barbados. Is the NCF responsible for managing the cultural and entertainment industries in Barbados to ensure a smooth transition from an immature to competitive industry which can compete on the EU stage?

Until we have some sense about the role of the NCF in the overall strategy of managing the cultural industries cum entertainment industry in Barbados we are going no where fast.

1. Dah vidia hot… Wallaas… Dun kno’

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhh

2. Great imagery! Didn’t understand a word being sung but then I don’t think that mattered. Oh to be 40 years younger!!

3. […] Barbados Underground suggests that when it comes to Crop Over, “culture issues have taken a backseat in recent years at the expense of running the festival as a business”. Cancel this reply […]

4. … and here we were discussing our children who appeared in the classroom video and finding so much to say.

One thing is noticeable however, the children are far more “decently” attired than these adults.

Guess that is the strict dress code that is enforced in schools now so atleast something works.

How can those children be told they are doing something that is wrong?

…. maybe it isn’t!!!

5. @ 2:19 that girl look good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6. Crystal Clear Avatar

Is the heading correct? Most of the article speaks about running crop over as a business or is gyrating a business. I question the purpose of posting the video. I am only 38 (today that may be regarded as old), but this video is clearly for young girls and men, judging by the comments here. There is no difference between the acts in this video and those of the school children.

This is hilarious. I’ve lived on the campus in Jamaica with plenty fetes taking place every week, and I’ve yet to meet any artiste or DJ trying to sound Bajan.

7. @Crystal Clear

Why do you think we have to present a mesage in a traditional way?

Why cant we use this blog to present mulitple messages?

We have a commenter who loves to tell the BU family a lot of what is happening is connected.

8. Crystal Clear Avatar

I don’t want to get in a tussle about whether the video ought to be posted. I recognise the blog carries a variety of topics, and I see nothing wrong with that.

However, I saw a video posted under crop over and a waistline culture, but an article written about the NCF and crop over being run as a business (which is true), but I didn’t see a connection to the video.

9. @Crystal Clear

The inference perhaps abstract is these are the type of videos being produced. Will this quality of video push our entertainment industry over the top? Is this reflective of our culture?

10. to sound like a jamaican is idiotic and these artistes need to know that

11. David,

Most of the people producing music at this time of the year are not thinking about culture.
    Their objective is to perform at as many shows as possible, get into party monarch, people’s monarch and now sweet soca monarch, win the road march and hope to get a couple of gigs in T&T the following year.

This means you have to be able to make women “wuk up stink”

The role of the NCF has to be questioned, when songs like the above have a chance of winning NCF organized competitions.

Picture NIFCA and then Crop Over, if the NCF wanted to promote and develop a cultural industry, NIFCA would be as big, if not bigger, than Crop Over.

12. The NCF now is being run by someone who is “qualified” in human resource management. She is an ex-school teacher who has been around dance theatres for a while. Being fair to the lady, with the utmost of respect, and taking all other sensitivities into consideration,… SHE IS IN THE WRONG F#CKIN JOB..!!

The entire board, packed to the seam with useless academics should move on. Cultural Enterprise is part of an “Action Agenda”. The only players are those skilled in one or more of the following: – Design, Production, and Selling. There is no space for teachers or consultants or Phd’s or none ah dat dey…

Dun kno’

13. @Dennis Johnson

Has Wayne ‘Cool’ Simmons gotten back to you with a decent explanation on the Sweet Soca Competition, the one which the best sounding kaiso did not make it?

14. Lawd, dese gals cud ‘wuk’. Wish I cud do um like dem. Fa realllllllllll.

Go girls, show dem wah ya got.

Phewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

15. My fav’rite kaiso fa dis year is ” Wuk up pun it’. Not sure who singing it but um real sweetttttttttttttttttttttttttt.

16. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

No! still asking, and waiting.

@Bonny Peppa
    His name is King Shepherd

17. @DJ

Doesn’t Starcom (Fourth Estate) see this as a serious breach of transparency in government and merits a structured response?

A rhetorical question!

This action by the NCF perhaps needs to be placed under the microscope a little, especialyy in the context of a government when in opposition promised transparency by rolling out FOI/Integrity laws.

18. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

I agree.
    Have tried to get support for a complete overhaul of [or at least an in-depth investigation into ] the Sweet Soca Competition. The response, thus far, seems to be: “this is a case of sour grapes”.
    First: The rules state that the names of the judges would have been publicised prior to the preliminary judging. As far as I have been able to ascertain, the tent managers were informed of the names of the judges, but there was no general publication of those names. In fact, when I asked Wayne [on air] to name the judges, he could not. He said he was not at his desk and could not give me those names. This was after the preliminary judging was done.
    Second: the criteria. To date no one seems to know. Everyone quotes the points to be awarded. But even those seem inaccurate; as they refer to “5 points for crowd response”, and “points for performance/rendition”. How does one judge this from a CD?
    Third: Judges who [1] are producers, and [2] were involved in the production process [mastering, mixing etc.] Not casting aspersions, but the appearance of impartiality should be maintained.
    Then, there was the cancellation of the internet voting, after votes were cast.
    All these things cannot be excused as simply “teething problems” of a new competition.

19. Dennis Johnson,
    Tanks fa de info man. I wun’t mind being one a he sheeps a ‘tall.

Dah tune sweeetttttttttttttttt.

20. @ General Lee

who “develops a cultural industry”, the the people producing music or the NCF?

I think the answer is given by the expressed choices of the intended consumers of the products of said cultural industry.

21. STINGING NETTLE Avatar
    STINGING NETTLE

“The burning question which must be given serious thought is, can the NCF adequately enable the environment to accommodate cultural expression”

CULTURAL EXPRESSION? Where? Here in Barbados? Gimme uh break….

22. @
    Anonymous // July 22, 2009 at 11:04 pm

The public can only consume what the NCF has on offer.

Recentlycurrently on Welfare TV there wasis a local drama about HIVAIDS, sponsored by the BHTA, if I am not mistaken.
    The production of this film gives a sneak peek of what could be possible if there was a will.

What happens to all of the material that have won prizes at NIFCA over the years?

Where would the Crop Over festival, as presently constituted, be, if the NCF stops pumping taxpayers money into it?

If the festival can continue without the involvement of the NCF, then I humbly suggest that the NCF let it do so.

Do we not have anything other than wukking up to offer to the world?

http://www.ncf.bb/about/mission.htm

Our Mission

To fuel the development of culture through training, research and the creation of opportunities in cultural industries.

The Role of the NCF

The NCF’s two major roles are: developmental and commercial. In its developmental role, the Foundation uses culture as a tool for national development fostering and supporting the various art forms and new cultural products.
    In its commercial role, the Foundation is responsible for the promotion, production and hosting of cultural festivals and associated events that are considered economically viable or socially acceptable.
    A key part of this function now includes the responsibility for the staging and execution of major governmental and national events.
    In addition, as culture becomes more pivotal to national and international policy, the National Cultural Foundation continues to re-assess its responsibilities in light of all its functions.

FUNCTIONS of the NCF are:

* To stimulate and facilitate the development of culture generally

*To develop, maintain and manage theatres and other cultural facilities and equipment provided by Government

*To organize cultural festivals

*Assist persons interested in developing cultural expression.

OBJECTIVES of the NCF are:

* To provide opportunities for Barbadian artists/artistes to showcase their talents with the end result being an increased demand for local work

* To educate Barbadians concerning their heritage

* To offer Barbadians and visitors alike a high quality product that informs, educates and entertains

* To equip our cultural workforce with technological skills and training to excel in their particular art forms

* To strengthen the local cultural product and in the process increase profits to the shareholders

* To create high quality products that will be competitive on the local, regional and international markets

* To maximize the role of the cultural sector in the tourism industry

23. What is the resume of Chairman Ken Knight?

Does he have a background working in the cultural industries or is he a political hack?

24. The Radio Stations in Barbados need to play more local music -all genres

25. General Lee

The NCF does not produce anything. Artists (poets, painters, dancers, musicians, sculpters, dramatists etc) produce works. The NCF facilitates their production by providing resources. To what extent will those artists hoping to make a living from their work be influenced by the tastes of the consuming public?

In EVERY society what is termed ‘low brow culture’ is the most popular form of music, literature etc. The NCF is probably under pressure from the politicians (who approve its budget) to limit its involvement in the performing arts to that which resonates with the largest cross section of the public.

It is my view that the vast majority of Bajans are mainly interested in wukking up and associated music productions and any presentation of a salacious nature. Bajans seem to be motivated by copulation and greasy food all else they find incomprehensible.

26. @Anonymous

If what you say is true and we know it is we should have been seeing some resignations down at West Terrace if these people are culture practitioners. Seems we have NCF people working for a salary with no fire in their bellies.

What recommend Ken Knight as Chairman? Seems he is a poor comparison to Elombe and Boo.

27. Good question, David.

What is Knight’s background?

And the same goes for the new CEO – Hunte-Cox. I believe she was at the University Arts Centre previously, but for a very short time.

Do we know what she achieved there?

28. NOTHING.. NADA. Another example of finding a job for an academic.

Now here is the thing. Steve Blackette and the Ministry of Culture (includes a PS, a Dep. PS and a whole set of “consultants”) draw salaries like you won’t believe. Now what do they achieve there …? … In all of these years, what? A little community project here, a little one there.

Both the NCF and the Ministry of Culture are lead by and are staffed by the most ineffective people on the planet (bar Adja). My opinion… scrap the Culture Ministry with all the consultants (all lotta red and white people anyway) and staff the NCF with well paid competent marketers and sellers, and bring them under the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Commerce. No more Blackettes, No more Coxs.

Dun Kno.

29. “The Children are our Future” raised an eyebrow …….

……. this article as a sequel, could have been entitled “The Mothers of our Future Children ….. The Future exposed”

30. Congrats to Red Plastic Bag who has done one more time!

31. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

How do you feel about T.C. coming 9th and colin spencer last?

32. Mash Up Buy Back,
    I feel dat dese judges (if ya can call dem dat) does be listenin to something else. How on earth can TC come before Spencer or Ruel and Heehaw come before him too? Gimme a break man.I was hoping beyon’ hope tonite dat TC woulda come 12th outta 10. She is a real show- hog man. Can’ tek she a’ tall.

I luv de bag wid everyting in me man. I doan kno’ if is possible to luv he any moe.

RED PLASTIC BAG I LOVE YOU.

33. Just got back from Georgetown a.k.a Spring Garden. The Guyanese tek over Crop Over.

RPB is the greatest.

34. Anonymous,
    Please don’t mention de great RPB and dese GT Banna humbugs in de same breff. It is distasteful. (if dah is a word)

LONG LIVE THE ‘KING’……RPB.

35. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bonny

I agree with you a 100%.

Anon

Are you saying there was a large contigent of guyanese?

I thought they were frighten to show their face for fear that immigration pick them up.

It seems as though roxanne gibbs and starbroek news did their jobs well – now the P.M. and immigration backing off sending home these illegals.

36. @Mash up

Spenscer appeared flat in rendition and very stiff on the stage, he had no energy.

TC was a little better but not by much.

The truth is the separation between RPB and the rest was significant and it reflected in the final points tally.

The only change possibly would have been Blood ahead of John King but 6 one half dozen the next 🙂

It was a poor competition compared to previous years.

37. I agree. The competition was a little lacklustre this time around. But I enjoyed it anyway in the ambience of my living room with some good food, drinks (non-alcoholic) and family and friends. This is our ritual every Finals night. And anybody dat is not hailing for my King,the Bag, knows that he/she is not welcome.(not fa true)

Colin spencer has a real sweet voice and I don’t know that you have to be jumping and prancing all over de stage. (he could sing me a lullaby any time)

I was finding difficulty in the diction in some of the songs too. I doan kno boe. Seems like anyting goes dese days for de Finals. Stupseeeeeeeeeee.

I still trying to undastan Bumba in day.I like I missin sumting.

Anyway, “wuk up pun it, wuk up pun it”. She come in from Hinglan wid out any ‘usband, looking fa a real man. Wuk up pun it, wuk up pun it.

Bimbro ya hear whay she come from? Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, wuk up pun itttttttttttttt.

38. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

But David,

Rendition is only 25 points,and surely rendition means more than not wukking up or moving all over the stage.

I sense the real calypsonians are fed up wid dese crazy judges.

Bonny peppa,Please be careful when yuh wukkin up on it because yuh just might butt up on a swine – and get some flu – and dat will be real ‘do fo do’.

How yuh likes muh?

39. Mash up & buy back,
    According to a fam’lee memba who was enjoying his wknd. delicacy of puddin n’souse, “how dis cud gih anybody de flu? not my swine man. Cuh dearrrr”.

Mash up, I am an optimist and strongly believe in fate or destiny and if Bonny is to ketch de ‘swine’, she gun ketch um regardless caus dere is always de ‘unguarded moment’. Agree? So worry not about things you have no control over and live and let live , dawlin. It is a small world. Let not ya heart be troubled.

Ya gine an ‘fire’ one now fa de Crop? Ya very rite.I can’ tolerate de drinks or I would ‘fire ‘one ta. Cheerssssssssssssssss

40. Feedback on Cohobblopot anyone?

From all reports another flat show compared to last year.

Montana ran a similar set from last year and some are asking if the experiment is working.

41. My man King Shepherd did not perform as was advertised so de Show was more than flat for me. Disappointing as france man.

I enjoyed the Immigration something with Nard, the Chinese fella and can’t remember the other name now. But they were so amusing especially NARD. He is a real mental case.

Stabby de guard cud wuk uup real good hear. He had my mout waterin. Lordddddddddddddddddddd.

42. I will be returning home to Barbados soon, and as a returning national who has been away for a long time, I have been examining Barbados and Barbadians from a sociological perspective during my recent numerous visits.

I have to say that I am confused, perplexed, and disappointed by what I see, at least on the surface. It seems that though the country has advanced economically, it seems stagnant and mired in maintaining heritage issues at the expense of advancing the culture, and by extension, its citizens.

I hope to write more on these issues at a later time. I just happened upon this website and felt the impulse to say something of the cuff.

I must add that there are many other things about Barbados that I find impressive. Heading that list are the advances of the young people, male and female, who I consider to be equally knowledgeable to their counterparts, and possibly more so, in other parts of the world, particularly the industrialized countries, particularly in the new technologies.

43. I rarely drop remarks, however i did some searching and wound up here Crop Over And Growing
    A Waistline Culture | Barbados Underground. And I do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it only me or does it look like a few of these comments come across like they are written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I’d like to follow anything fresh you have to post.
    Would you list of every one of your social sites
    like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?