For the next days and perhaps weeks there will be palaver about how effective the policies of the Barbados Labour Paty (BLP) have been since taking up the office. The conversation is reminiscent to what follows the annual 11+ exam. It is a must do exercise for ‘stakeholders’- including the media- to purge themselves of any accusation of not delivering on the mandate.

Given the perilous state Barbados finds itself both on the economic and social fronts, it is a challenge to speak with certainty whether measures implemented so far by the one year old government are gaining traction.

If you separate the political noise- loud as it is- there is justifiable concern that although the Mottley government has been active by attempting to tackle the gargantuan debt situation by restructuring, moving with urgency to apply a temporary fix to the sewage issue on the south coast, rationalizing SOEs, drawing-down development loans to fix crumbling infrastructure, dusting off out dated Town Planing legislation, addressing thorny issues like local and regional Transportation (LIAT, Transport Board), breathing life back into brand Barbados by increasing visibility on the regional and international spaces. This is not meant to be exhaustive. A review of the BGIS portal archives can assist with listing government’s effort to date.

A concern of the blogmaster however is a lack of similar energy as it relates to communicating the state of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS),  operationalizing a transparency framework to include Integrity (anti-corruption) in public life, FOIA, political campaign financing, a relevant Public Accounts Committee, Auditor General’s office and related projects.

This concern about the NIS was heightened with a recent public  assurance delivered by Chairman Ian Gooding-Edghill that the NIS is financially healthy. What does his statement mean if we compare to a 2017 IMF report – NIS Reserves Projected by IMF to be Exhausted in 2037 – UPP Candidate Craig Harewood Muted by VoB?

Government needs to do more to encourage people to become investors and create ä Barbados that works for Barbadians – President, Barbados Economic Society

In a related matter is is encouraging to listen to Opposition spokeswoman on economic affairs Senator Cristal Drakes not intimidated to discuss the pros and cons of devaluing the Barbados dollar. Her position was supported – not directly – by President of the Barbados Economic Society (BEC) Simon Naitram. He is on public record promising to dispassionately debate the issue on the BEC website in the coming weeks.

Sorry to disappoint a few members of the BU family who will want to look at the numbers from all angles. Not to forget about the social fabric of the society also busting at the seam. Has the time come for us to focus more on the Vision/Strategy positions of our governments? If we hold our leaders accountable for the Vision the supporting tactics may be better understood. What is the REAL Vision/Strategy of the government for Barbados?

The blogmaster is unable to grade the government A, B, C or D at this stage. To use a race horse analogy – the horse has ‘lathered’ nicely in the paddock before the race, outcome unknown.

269 responses to “Barbados Labour Party One Year Later”

1. May I be the first to congratulate a Bajan on being the first black Master of an Oxford college. Well done, Sonita Alleyne.

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Your definition of a failed state needs to be explained further. A clear definition is needed.

3. @ William,

A failed state is when the key institutions of our democracy are either not fit for purpose or simply mal-functioning. Can anyone name any of our institutions that are working properly, as conventionally understood? Start with the church (any denomination of the Christian church), parliament, judiciary, criminal justice system, etc. The institutions of civil society.

4. TinFoil

I maybe a jackass but not a LIAR. You are a LIAR!!!! The entire blog knows that no thousands of public workers have gone home, far less thousands per month.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Temper, temper, dont let the pressure get to ya…it has not fully started yet.

#karmaandretribution

6. Getting tired so I will say hello and goodbye to my fellow MDF members.’

@Enuff
    ‘”The problem here on BU, the call in programmes and local newspapers’ Facebook pages is that the loudest are clueless/misinformed/uninformed!! Analogs in a digital age. Some are grading the government but regularly display their ignorance if what is being done. Case in point:”

***Your dismissal of the grades assigned to the BLP has me wondering if you are up to the task.. I was expecting you to explain why the low grades in some areas were unwarranted but instead you added the gibberish above and then restated the grading”
    A piece of advice…. refute not repeat
    Your grade 1/5

“Whoever wants to grade the government is entitled to do so, just like I am entitled to show them up.”
    *** In your mind, the text above is “showing them up. A piece of advice…. refute not repeat
    Your grade 0/5

“In 2016 central government had about 16,970 employees before Sinckler cuts. If “Mugabe” sending home thousands every month, how come we even still have a civil service?”?🤣🤣🤣#talesoftheexpected
    **** Not much I can add here. Three underwhelming appearances.
    The visionary already pointed out your calculation was flawed. I quote him now:
    “Then today you are asked about 35,000 government employees, you only mention 16,000 whose numbers are depleted by 5,000 and automatically you arrive at 16k minus 5k equal zero? ”
    Your grade: 0/5

Recommendation to Mia Mottley: You need to deploy stronger members of the MDF to BU. Patrick King on FB does a much better job and Patrick would willingly admit that he is a yardfowl. This member is not up to the task. Fire him.

@Lorenzo
    “.Anyway congratulations to Ms Mottley and the government for the work they are doing a nd hopefully now that we are stabalized we can see some growth.Forget the bellyachers, most bajans in Barbados are with you.”

The truth is you bring nothing to the table; but you display a level of suck-up that makes me feel proud. It is not a half-hearted but a firm pressing of the lips against the pooch.

Recommendation to Mia Mottley: Not up to the task, but loyal and determined. Do not Fire. Keep, but do not promote. Already in above his head.

7. Ah, I see that you returned when I was posting
    🤣🤣🤣#UnableToCutThe Mustard
    ✋#TryingButNotAble
    ✋#InAboveHead🛑

8. @ Fractured BLP May 26, 2019 11:05 AM

Wrong. Wrong.

The unionists, pastors and employees of social agencies defend the big socialist welfare state that ruined Barbados. They all have a blue party book, a blue soul and not much else.

I pray to Goddess Bim that the government will adhere to its good and just course of austerity and toughen it even further. Goddess Bim, protector of Barbados, wants it so. New prosperity can only grow through great effort. Goddess Bim will reward all Barbadians who believe in her and work hard.

9. God blimme. Tron asking govt to execute more austeriry
    You got t9 be a narcissists
    The people are crying out about the pain and suffering ans u calling on govt to give more
    Yuh got to be a cu…nt of the lowest denominator

10. @ Hal Austin
    I don’t know what Adams can offer this country. The bit coin connotes the dark web, conmanship, fraud and so on. Barbadians are for the most part not very scientific and I expect some skullduggery to be in the winds. I view this whole thing (bit coin) as one big rip-off of a population that is uninitiated . Basically a get rich scheme (like a Ponzi caper).

11. The-O-Gas (H2S)

More layoffs to come, PM Mottley says

Article by
    Barbados Today Published on
    February 10, 2019

Workers at State-owned enterprises are being put on notice that there are still more layoffs to come as Government seeks to manage a huge wage bill. “We’ve sent home so far just about 1,000 [people],” Prime Minister Mia Mottley said today on the call-in programme Down To Brass Tacks on Starcom Network Inc. “There are still a few more layoffs, what I call the peak structural layoffs, to come in one or two State-owned enterprises.” The Prime Minister said the additional layoffs will come during Phase three of the Government’s restructuring programme for the Barbados economy.

You’re clearly confused or just a plain LIAR. Now keep trying!!

12. @ Mariposa May 26, 2019 1:14 PM

All I see are happy faces. The celebrations in Sandy Lane are as roaring as ever, the green of the golf courses silky and noble.

Many people tell you that it is a privilege to live in Barbados.

13. Fractured BLP Avatar

Tron & 1:26 PM

With $ 21 million in Consultancy Fees…..paid by you & Mia Mottley to CONSULTANTS…..we are not surprised to hear that they gather & celebrate in Sandy Lane !!!

But one day coming soon…..they will find themselves in the South Coast sewers…….instead !!

The oppressed people will rebel against BERT !!!

You watch & see !!!!

14. @ Hal Austin

NOT ONE SHITE WORK IN BARBADOS EXCEPT FOR CORRUPTION AND KICKBACKS.

IN THOSE ACTIVITIES BARBADOS IS 100 PERCENT PUNCHING ABOVE ITS WIGHT ALONG WITH THE POLITICIANS, JUDICIARY, CUSTOMS AND POLICE.

15. One can always tell a fake antonymous moniker.

16. Do you see your last response. That is the level you need to rise to.
    You have been going through the motions and not doing anything for a long time.

17. A few random words, a hashtag and an emoticon are an inadequate response.
    Do you see the level of your last response. That is the level you need to maintain.
    You have been going through the motions and not doing anything for a long time.

18. @ Lorenzo

Prodigal,welcome back.You are spot on.There are about 10 of these overseas bajans whose purpose it seems , is to pull down Barbados everyday.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Maybe these people living overseas have their own autonomy and don’t buy into the shit happening on the island where most people toe the line and suffer among themselves.

These are some of the same people Mia and the BLP want to return in 2020 to spend and invest in the economy.

It seems on the island Barbados want everyone to continue to be blinded by the dishonesty of Politicians to carry on for the next 50 years of empty promises whilst the Duopoly Party in power grow rich and IGNORANT taxpayers living in FALSE HOPE of a better life whilst suffering ongoing taxation to benefit a few and not the masses.

19. Here, let me give you a little help.
    But you need to be at this level or you will get slammed.
    https://www.inewsguyana.com/barbados-pm-denies-thousands-of-civil-servants-to-be-laid-off/

20. So you see it is not the number… It is the lame and lazy responses you want to deliver.
    Your response to WS was a joke.
    I have seen others admonish and to treat concerns more seriously.
    ✋SillyResponse_DumbHashtag

21. “One can always tell a fake antonymous moniker.”

No comment. I respect your knowledge of fake monikers.

22. @ Robert Lucas,

Cryptocurrency was created to bypass central banks. In the Eastern Caribbean they are now working with the central bank; and Barbados is expressing interest. This is highly likely to end painfully. What about the regulatory framework the prime minister and minister of economic affairs introduced months ago? Who are its members?

23. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Hopefully from the criminal Abeds to Rawdone shitehound and the whole lot of them end up in prison.

24. If you do not know what you are talking about you should hush. The partnership is with the ECCB to mint a EC virtual currency using blockchain technology.
    https://www.eccb-centralbank.org/news/view/eccb-to-issue-worldas-first-blockchain-based-digital-currency

25. @David,

I do not want to offend your fan base, but do you see why I think you are the most stupid person on BU? According to you, the partnership ( I did not mention any partnership or any particular cryptocurrency) is with the ECCB (ie the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank) to mint an EC virtual currency….ie a digital currency, ie a cryptocurrency.
    @David BU Shut up, you brain-dead fool. I hope you did not benefit from Barrow’s ‘free’ education. You are an irritating buffoon.

26. This woman deceit is showning more and more each day
    Today saying more employees thrown under the bus
    Serve them civil servants right for joining hand in hands with the Private business in the past five years who had nothing to offer them

27. William Skinner Avatar

Hal

Is the government still in control of the state ? A state cannot be determined as “failed “ simply because it’s institutions are not functioning properly.
    What is the definition of a failed state ? You have failed to provide the answer.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hal Austin

You are no slouch. There was a time when I found your writing to be quite laborious, but recently, you have the SSS attention- big time. You have put forward some serious compelling arguments. None of that hyperbole stuff intended to soft soap the reality of things seen not yet fully understood. Some people would find what you say hard to accept. One of them is the graduated Pooch licker, BLP Lorenzo

29. Thanks Lorenzo………but I dont have the time to spend reading the out right nonsense written daily and sparring with DLP hacks who have gone bat shit crazy as a result of the famous REDWASH. Who Hoo!

I have been using my time to give back to the underprivileged who were made poorer as a result of the lost decade.

When you read their comments you would think that it is our Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley who destroyed the economy of Barbados from 2008-2018…..
    ………..racked up more debt in ten years than the BLP did in 14 years
    …………by not buying a bus nor a garbage truck
    ……….fooled people into investing in junk bonds
    ……….. hardly paved or repaired a road, hardly repaired a school
    ……….. did not pay the workers money into the NIS
    ………..allowed sewage to flow on the streets of the south coast for a year
    ………..denied a pay increase for public workers for years
    ………..denied poor people’s children access to free education at UWI and in some cases SJPP

Our PM is doing an incredible job ……what they found a year ago was 100 worse than what they thought they were going to face. These dems on BU could see no wrong with what the dems did but that is politics.

The only people not happy are disgruntled dems whose party has been decimated and dont know how to they are going to come back……..they waiting on Donville……what a thing!!!!

Stay the course Mia!

30. One thing Mia has done is to breath pride back into the Barbados brand. An intangible that is priceless.

31. Gazzerts you are a jackass who pimps around BU everyday looking to make silly childlike remarks.Since your idol Piece big you up ,you somehow beleive you are someone special.Newsflash you also add nothing to most debates and could stay the hell of BU.Imagine you with not an original thought of your own telling anyone they are in above their head.You should be in comedy fest.Enuff just catspraddle both Piece and you with your lies.Obviously you care nothing about Barbados but we will prevail with or without the tag team, therefore get lost j/a.

32. David when you say ” to mint an EC virtual currency ” what exactly do you mean?

To manage and monitor a virtual currency borders on impossible, in that by its share structure it’s not tied to anything measurable.

Based on the fact that it’s been 3 months since the P.M’s budget and she has not gotten the USD accounts for locals off the ground, I really don’t see how we could begin to think we could monitor a system that by its very nature, exist in a virtual world.

33. @John A

In simple terms instead of using paper dollars at the point of sale individuals will be able to use a digital equivalent using the electronic platforms that currently facilitate debit/credit cards.

34. Let me share with you the comments of Warren Buffett when asked by share holders at the Berkshire 2018 meeting what he thought about Bitcoin, below are his direct comments.

” it is a delusion and attracts charlatans. It is rat bait squared but worst it has no unique value based on any measurable basis.”

Those are the words of the man known as ” The Oracle Of Omaha.” He is recognised as the best investor in the world and to buy just 1 share of Berkshire Hathoway, would require a loan for many of us. My point is this is not only his view but the view on many international investors. Remember we are talking about the man that when the crash of 2008 came, the president called him and asked ” Warren what should I do?”

35. @ Hal Austin May 26, 2019 3:46 PM
    I do not know who the members of the proposed regulatory agency are. One thing I will say is, that if the regulation of CLICO is anything to go by; regulation is a no go. Are there the numbers of technical persons of the required expertise available to overlook wrong doing hidden in the dark web? I don’t think so; but like you I expect bad things to happen.

36. David let me give you an idea of the respect and faith people all over the world have in Buffett’s company by using below what people pay for 1 share of his company and compare it to other leading companies traded.

1 Amazon share. $1823
    1 Google share. $ 934
    1 Berkshire Hath share $303,000

37. Again, you added nothing. Sadly, I cannot ask you to raise your game as you are at your maximum.

I doubt you would recognize an original thought if you had one.

You question my patriotism. Let me remind you of a quotation which seem to describe you and your band of brothers… “patriotism is the last refuge of scoundrels”
    How apt.

38. Mottley breath life into the barbafos brand….what

If that is so where are the investors lined up to put their monies worth into the barbados brand

David whatever u smoking u need to give it a rest cause your smokie and mirrors comments are illusions

39. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole MAN only got one ting to add bout dis me money scan dat Mugabe change de cuntstitution for Raydone for.

AMAZON PAYCODE

“…What is Amazon PayCode?

Amazon PayCode is a new payment option that enables you to pay for Amazon orders with cash. You can shop online and pay at a participating Western Union® agent location near you. After you pay, we will ship your order to the shipping address specified at checkout.
    How do I shop with Amazon PayCode?

If Amazon PayCode is available for your order you will see it as a payment option at checkout. You will be asked to provide additional information that is used to process your payment at a Western Union agent location. The price at checkout will be updated to reflect the price in your local currency. Upon completing your order on Amazon, you will be provided a code and instructions on how to make your payment at a participating Western Union agent location.
    Where is Amazon PayCode enabled?

Amazon PayCode is currently available in the following countries and regions: Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Hong Kong, Kenya, Malaysia, Philippines, Peru, Taiwan, and Thailand.

We are continuously working to launch additional countries, please check back frequently for updates…”

WHEN NOT IF, EHDN DAT SHY$E GET TO THE CARICOM MEMBER STATES, all of MeMoney scam dun wid!!!

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

41. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

They actually tell themselves that the real, progressive world got time for little backward, shitehound governments with small island scams..

42. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

To note relative to the piece written by the blogmaster is Rogue Works tentative approach to a Freedom of Information Act, Anticorruption legislation, amendments to the Defamation Act that protects politicians, and providing the same haste as she did for the things she thought expedient to her interest, legislation that would give the Auditor General more power to thoroughly investigate and deal with rogue ministries that think they can flaunt the financial laws with delays and other skulduggery tactics. If the blogmaster is still worth his weight in salt, he would do well to concentrate his next piece of writing on a comparative basis, to show the similarities between promises made by both parties for the above pieces of legislation to come into reality. Rogue Works cannot deny that while she is busy trying to look busy in fixing economy’s crim state, her sidetracking of the aforementioned legislation basically places her in the same category as the DLP and all previous administrations who refused to look into protecting the Treasury from the various schemes concocted by rogue ministers, agents of rogue ministers, and government officials who have benefitted immensely from draw and kickbacks. Until that time, all of Mottley’s efforts are counted by the SSS as cow dung and sheep pellets.

THE IMF WOULD DO WELL (if it is their place to do so) TO INSTRUCT THE GOVERNMENT TO BEEF UP and IMPLEMENT THE ABOVE PIECES OF LEGISLATION SO THAT ALL THE GET RICH SCHEMES THAT HAVE WORKED FOR BARBADOS’ SO CALLED ‘HONEST POLITICAL CLASS’ WOULD BE IN PLACE TO KEEP THEM HONEST AND OPEN UNTIL PROVEN AND FOUND GUILTY.

43. There is no question that our beloved Prime Minister has given something else back to the island, which is much more important than all material values: Dignity, respect and decency.

44. Tron

Well I think the Prime Minister has missed the point then … because what the people of Barbados has elected her to do is to put food on their tables, and not to restore, dignity, respect and decency… And you just go out in the streets of Barbados and ask the common man which is important: dignity, decency and respect or food on his table?

45. Tron

People like you does talk a lot of nonesense when your belly is full … a hungry man don’t care about dignity, decency and respect when he is hungry …he would violate those moral principles in order to eat …

46. “legislation that would give the Auditor General more power to thoroughly investigate and deal with rogue ministries that think they can flaunt the financial laws.”

It is called the Public Finance and Audit Act (2019) passed since January 2019! Please keep up.

47. @enuff

Glad to see the strengthening of the legislation, what people want to see however is action. Let us see the legislation being put the work.

48. William Skinner Avatar

” Saying that we are out of the woods because we can boast $1.1 billion in foreign exchange does not take account of the foreign debt. The man said that our total debt had increased because of BERTIE to Bds. 17 billion.”
    ” May last year was when the news broke. And so far there is no solution to the foreign debt despite the heavy price we are paying for expert guidance.”
    ” The puny efforts of government setting up agencies to dispense giveaways will not cut ice as those in charge are not experienced lenders and have little monitoring capacity.”
    Harry Russell Wild Coot. Nation Monday 27th. 2019

Please note that Harry Russell is a Barbadian living in Barbados.

49. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Am sure they never seek out the intelligent, knowledgeable citizens like Harry Russell for advice..oh no..of course not …where is the BRIBE IN THAT..

…plus he looks just like them and of course they cannot have that, plus he is nonsense and not corrupt…so they won’t want to be even seen with Harry, he is not corrupt or criminal Enuff.