Increasingly the local monkey population has been encroaching on the human habitat. It is common place to spot the primates navigating rooftops, fences, foraging anywhere for food, even lounging in patios and swimming pools.

Along with praedial larceny and easy affordable access to water, another threat farmers have to add to challenges affecting agriculture production is the monkey problem. The Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir has been talking up a storm about progress occurring in the sector. The reality is that if you listen to the farmers the needle is not moving enough to convince onlookers that significant progress is being made.

Obviously a reasonable expectation is that it will take time if we are serious about boosting agriculture production BUT it is fair to say agriculture talk is a political narrative. In a recent review of the economy Barbados Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Kevin Greenidge confirmed the obvious, Barbados will be reliant on tourism for the foreseeable future. Daily we hear about too many problems not being solved. The latest is our inability to correctly plant sweet potatoes. There is the high cost of commercial water farmers need for irrigation, praedial larceny was noted. Of late Weir has been mouthing about a plan to implement a system of licensing to address crop theft.

Thanks to Bentley.

The blogmaster hates to be negative on this matter but it seems we making sport about developing other economic sectors. Especially in a post Covid 19 period. Obviously a small island with limited land space has to be smart by using technology to maximise the agriculture production.

The other side of the discussion is what is government, partnering with civil society players, plan to do about it. If we judge from our sloth dealing with the PSV sector, NOTHING!

110 responses to “Monkey problem!”

1. My suggestion is that we include the monket meat in our national cuisine. By so doing, we protect our agricultural crops, but also we save on our meat import bills.

2. Don’t know why the monkey should become a threat to an individual livelihood
    Laws on the books gives people a right to protect their life and property
    Can’t understand all the long talk about protecting monkeys
    The rights of any animal should not in any way supersede mankinds rights
    There is no monkey problem but govt allowing the monkey to take the rule of law into their own hands
    Other countries have found solutions for this problem
    Why not barbados ?

3. I note that other Caribbean islands are looking into humane ways to deal with this problem. Obviously, this will cost the Government/taxpayers money but when you look at the pros and cons you can only reach this decision.

The population will constantly increase. I lived in a property where they came through like a herd twice a day and were a great threat to my small dogs, which was one of my businesses. In fact they almost killed one of them.

When I called the MInistry of Health I was met with lacklustre enthusiasm and zero results.

Barbadians are too laid back. This is a threat to many industries that provide Bajans with much needed food and other means of making a living.

4. What about the monkeys, who by a minor anatomical deviation walk around erected, even as constant erections serve the one near-human population explosion on the island, but ‘who’ as similar humanoids or near, are doing, and have done, more danger to all other living things than the events of 65 million years ago.

Maybe, weee might as well harvest the flesh of the erect, two-legged, monkeys first, ‘eating all the flesh off earth’! Most of them only prevent real monkeys from getting a feed.

5. The monkeys are planning for the humans too! Their plan is even more draconian!

6. They have stockpiled guns!

7. It is unfortunate that every problem that presents it must trigger political responses. In the meantime the problem gets worse.

8. So David who should placed a solution in action
    This is a problem that can negatively deplete batbados Agriculture industry of revenue
    Also the small business person struggling to see dividends from the financial resources placed in their hard work while monkeys have a party devouring their resources and livelihoods
    So yes this problems begs for political interference

9. @ac

There are solutions out there, we need to decide on a plan and execute. Currently there is no plan and in the meantime the monkey playing whoopwham.

10. Every problem is by its very nature political. It that still unknown.

Problems have alway been wid us and shall always be.

Columbus?

There’s nothing new about this. Hundreds of years of history reflex this. Requiring you to be ‘nostalgic’.

Like Columbus, you and your human exceptionalism will solve this problem like you’ve always done.

Killing everything that you can’t control. It’s about time that the monkeys kill the human monkeys like you!

11. @ David,
    Are you playing Devil’s advocate?

Historically in Barbados, monkeys always had their own space to exercise, eat and roam.

Barbados gullies provided the perfect environment for monkeys to feel at home. Unfortunately due to the nasty behaviour of Bajans the gullies became a dumping ground for white goods such as fridges, general household waste, motor vehicles and the rest.

Added to this, we have witnessed the wholesale destruction of Barbados natural environment which was never that much after the intervention of those white devils on their “discovery” of the new world. What do we expect as a people when we destroy green spaces and fill these spaces with tonnes of concrete and refuse to grow adequate food which all walks of life should have access to for their very own survival.

When you have major floods, rats will flee from their underground sewage which they inhabit. It’s the same with monkeys when you reduce and destroy their natural environment.

It would be good if some on here could go and see the importance of gullies and why they should be preserved rather than chant the mantra that monkeys are bad and should be culled. Let Quaker John fill you in about the significance of gullies.

It is utterly bizarre on here that many of us fail to understand that the plight of monkeys are similar to black Bajans whom are being driven out and impoverished by those who are buying up every single blade of grass and land in Barbados. Damn we even complain of the lack of windows to the sea. The monkey is not our major problem; rather it is this present government and the “opposition” who look at their own people as being no better than common green monkeys.

12. Look out for the MoA to advertise how much per monkey tail they will be paying.

With all its problems, we’ve seen monkeys in India causing all kinds of interactions in the town centres they populate.

But nobody interferes with them. They are not seen as a problem in the way this country has, will. Nobody will dream about eating them or killing them. Same for cows.

For the Hinduistas, monkeys of the four legged variety are sacred. This too has a long history before India.

However, the mind of the strict adherent to capitalism here will see them as problems which prevent a marginal production within a long unproductive environment.

It’s monkey blaming, as a way of escaping cultural failures.

13. @TlSN
    So you say all that to say what !
    The issue here being that the Agriculture industry privately owned or govt owned is being confiscate destroyed by the prevelance of an over grown monkey population
    In all your comments you have avoided or refused to address a viable and concrete solution
    Yes the environment is a natural habitat for animal.plant and human life
    However there comes a time as of now when logical solutions must be applied that forms corrective measures in protecting mankind from the destroying actions of the primate world

14. “It is unfortunate that every problem that presents it must trigger political responses.”

Surely because some people are simply ‘politically narrow-minded.’

In their attempts to ‘score cheap political points,’ they seek to politicise every issue, while spreading innuendos and suspicion, because they believe it is politically advantageous to the political party they support.

Those are some of the dangers presented by ‘closed-minded political ideological thinking.’

We must ask ourselves how these people could overcome such a conditioned mindset to perpetuate ‘small-mindedness’ as the solution to every issue confronting this island.

These ‘political die-hard’ supporters have convinced themselves that, when their ‘party is not in power,’ their ‘political opponents’ must be held responsible for all the problems confronting Barbados. That the ‘monkey problem’ is NOT a Barbadian problem, but one that is political.

Several trees in the area stretching from Pile Bay, Clear Water to Paradise and Batts Rock, was a natural habitat for monkeys, providing them with a sanctuary of abundant food and shelter.
    I remember when the buildings between Paradise and Batts Rock were being demolished and the site excavated in preparation for the construction of ‘Four Season.’

As a result, residents in Lower Black Rock experienced several problems with monkeys, simply because destruction and encroachment of their habitat forced the monkeys living there to seek food and shelter in new and unfamiliar environments.

That political intervention is the only solution to solving every problem, is ‘politically narrow-minded.’ And, before the ‘usual suspects’ come out ‘saying’ I’m defending the duopoly, let me remind them that, in the ‘recent past,’ Barbados had problems with ‘wild dogs, goats and sheep.’ The RSPCA and similar special interest groups, for example, took care of the ‘wild dogs’ problem.

Special interest groups usually unite to support common issues.

The ‘monkey problem’ is a common concern among citizens and farmers that could unite them to form alliances with environmentalists, vets, wild-life conservationists etc, to formulate policies and persuade lawmakers to pass supporting legislation that benefits the society.

15. When I was young the monkey were trapped and shipped away to conduct live animal’s experiments. Monkey we normally confined to the natural/ gullies areas and kept away from humans. Export was stopped and the population increased over the years to a point where the gullies are now limited in feed them. They also seem less afraid of humans. I am in the camp of sterilization to reduce the population because of losses to farmers / non farmers

I only know of one person that used to eat monkey and he is dead ( white plantation owner)

16. @TLSN

The problem is bigger. We have been planting more concrete in the last 15-20 years.

17. Agree that monkeys natural habitat has now become overgrown with concrete
    However in the process of planing to disrupt the monkey habitat
    Govt plans should have address such an issue involving solutions
    Now that the problem has outgrown viable solutions some people wants to take a big political stick and whack those who dare ask govt for solutions to the problem
    Needless to say it is a govt problem that begs solution in such a manner that the economy of Barbados stands to lose

18. In West Africa there were predators to control the population. If the monkeys have no predators, the population will increase, without some sort of intervention. The destruction of their habitat exacerbates the problem of their encroachment on ours.

I am never going to eat monkey meat. Never going to eat any sort of wild meat, but especially monkey meat. Too close for comfort.

Monkeys are far from foolish. They can be bargained with. They recognise a good deal when it is offered.

A former agricultural extension officer told me that one of her farmer friends lives in perfect harmony with the monkeys. He leaves the deformed or damaged produce and slim pickings for them on the outskirts of his field. They do not touch the rest of his crop.

Another farmer has planted a small monkey patch, especially for them. It does not receive the tender, loving care he bestows on his main crops. But it’s good enough for the monkeys. They do not trespass.

Monkeys are so smart, I believe you could train them to tend their own patch. Monkey see, monkey do in a monkey whoop wham stylie.

“There’s nothing uh could do de monkey cyan do. Everyting uh do de monkey do too.”

19. Yolande Grant, in her May 18, 2024 at 7:14 pm contribution, gave a perfect description of politicians and their ‘fowls,’ as follows:

“Even worse, it’s the vile politicians making absolutely sure that destructive spirit is kept alive and well amongst their fowls and hangerson….without even caring that the slave mind is TIMED for destruction.”

20. Brilliant, Donna.

Your examples clearly indicate that every problem this island encounters, does not necessarily require the intervention of 30 men and women sitting in Parliament to solve.

21. The reality is that we have a monkey problem and we need to fix it. The longer those in authority procrastinate the problem will get worse.

22. Any govt that allows the monkeys to disrupt its economy with fierce destruction of toppling the agricultural industrt is a tell that the monkey has more brains than govt and its officials

23. I HAVE SEEN THE OCCASIONAL MONKEY HERE IN TANZANIA. HOWEVER DRIVING AROUND I HAVE ALSO SEEN MANY FIELDS WITH DIFFERENT AGRICULTURE IN A COUNTRY OF 60 MILLION PEOPLE AND A HUGE LANDMASS.

THEY HAVE THE SITUATION UNDER CONTROL.

MAYBE THE LEADERS OF THE 2 X 3 ISLAND NEEDS TO REACH OUT TO TANZANIA FOR REAL LEADERSHIP AND TANZANIA’S LEADER IS ALSO A WOMAN

24. The monkey population in Barbados has become a nation unto themselves
    Can’t vote don’t work can’t pay taxes
    Such power
    Yet these primates are being cuddle and protected by many who do understand the meaning of hard life
    Funny enough those who have an ardent cause to protect the monkey very seldom have lived a life of trying to.make ends meet like many in Carribbean Island
    Yes protection of the monkey for the preservation of the eco system is important but not at any price

25. Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes Avatar
    Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes

No one can stop the reign

26. Artax,

Monkeys are very smart. I love watching Youtube shorts of animals online. ALL of them are way smarter than we give them credit for.

I’ve had five encounters with monkeys so far. Two of them were at the wildlife reserve. I was a bit apprehensive so I sat on a table on the edge of the enclosure, with my young son, trying to avoid close contact with them.

Don’t ask me how they did it, must have quietly climbed overhead, but when I turned around we were sitting back to back with two of the cheeky creatures. They had a ball laughing at us.

Then later, we went for a walk to the Cotton Tower. One of them climbed overhead and directly over the path. When I refused to walk under, at the end of our conversation, he took pity on me and moved away.

Had one come to my mango tree. We had a good conversation in which I told him to take some and leave some for me, and not to bring back his troop. Never saw him again. They raid others around me but never bother me. If you chase them, they come back and shake up or pull up EVERYTHING at the first opportunity.

Dogs and cats understand us eventually. You think monkeys can’t do even better.

Oops! Just heard another mango hit the roof of the shed. I’m off to do some picking.

27. A monkey, skinned, looks much like a baby human, a killer of them once remarked!

This factoid is unlikely to deter the mentality of that humanoid known to skin others, scalp their enemies and destroy hundreds of thousands of species.

28. William Skinner Avatar

The monkey “ problem” pales into comparison , when we collectively look at how we seem hell bent on destroying our country. We cannot accept that we embarked on a post independence socio- economic model that we now seem incapable of correcting.
    We see “wild fowls “ all over the place and this has been evident for the last fifteen or so years; problems with animals being abandoned and not one of these issues are of recent vintage.
    We have been on a quick march to collectively treating our country like one big garbage dump. This is far from a political problem. It’s us. When we go to live in other countries we quickly fall into disposing waste in the provided receptacles.
    We have been pissing on Bridgetown forever. All through the 60s , the stench around the Fairchild Street Market was our constant companion.
    We destroyed the public baths and lockers that used to be provided at beaches; go on picnics and leave the garbage behind for others to “pick up” and then pretend we love the country and are more Barbadian than anybody else.
    We recall very vividly when Vic Johnson was Minister of Transport, the Fairchild Street bus terminal, was given a fantastic remodeling and it was destroyed inless than five years; the same thing happened to the new St. George school, the people took turns in removing the louvres.
    All of this newly found talk about partisanship and the need to put Barbados first is pure hypocrisy by some on BU that only know that now because they are embarrassed because they can’t come here on an hourly basis and defend where our country is heading.
    The seeds of politicizing everything is endemic and it’s firmly planted in the political culture.
    It’s our country and while we agree that the monkey problem is not a political issue, we will once more proffer a bet that it would have been cast as one depending on whose party is in power at the time.
    The archives of BU are there and we should all accept that we collectively are responsible for who we are.
    The same frigging stick that cut Peter’s ass is now cutting Paul’s ass.
    We reap what we sow. Hypocrisy always exposes itself.
    Perhaps, we should all take a bush bath and come back to really solving problems in a truly nationalistic manner and stop trying to defend the indefensible.
    We collectively have not treated our country’s environment well as we used to do in the past. The monkeys are not the problem. We are !

29. Count me out of that “we”. I have not done any of the things you mentioned. Indeed, I am a rescuer of abandoned animals and picker up of other people’s garbage. Never even wrote my name on a school desk, far less taken out a louvre. Never caused the slightest damage to a bus or the bus stand. Cave Shepherd’s bathrooms were and are my Bridgetown pissing place.

So….can I still be more Bajan than anybody else? (whatever that means)

30. After all the long talk about barbadians being irresponsible and blameless for some of societies problems
    The problem of the menacing monkey daily stampede over the business as well as private agricultural land still has to be answered
    With China looking to have a giant footprint one of needing more land for Agriculture just maybe the answer lies in the Chinese hand book on how to make a profit out of a bad situation

31. @William

You have come full circle to the blogmaster’s perspective on these matters. We have to hold ourselves accountable. Civil society is composed of many actors including the government. We cherry-pick somethings to blame politicians and others to randomly point fingers, the rise of zr culture, littering, exhibiting lawlessness on the roads, accepting bad service etc.

Let us agree that all actors in civil society must step up our game for an imperfect system to work at its optimum.

32. “The monkeys are not the problem. We are !”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Another great summary from professor William.

In sum…
    A big bunch of basically black Bajan Brass Bowls….
    No pride
    No industry
    …and whose ‘fields and hills beyond recall’ belonged to Massa,
    …and now to Massy

What a place
    What a SPECIAL curse

33. Still.waiting on the BU talking heads for a viable solution to the monkey problem
    We all in this together ….

34. William Skinnef Avatar
    William Skinnef

We have always been in agreement but you often couch your perspectives from what we consider apologetic writings that somehow always reference the so-called lost decade.
    We don’t philosophically believe that the people can be blamed for the obvious ignorant policies of the wretched BLPDLP
    miscreants.
    For example the monkey problem has caused more wreckage in rural Barbados than it ever could in suburban Barbados.
    In agricultural areas small farmers have suffered tremendously.
    We don’t see a whole lot of monkeys swimming and sunbathing in no beach area.
    So, half circle or full circle , we still believe that we as citizens have a role to play in progressive , serious national development.
    But, when. a Prime Minister announces that football is going to be given a semi professional lift and the Prime Ministers Cup , will be given to the winners we pause.
    Why couldn’t it be the Victor “Gas” Clarke Cup or the Reggie Haynes Cup etc
    Why not the President Cup ?
    So, as long as we want change and don’t want to blame the people for pure politicking bordering on pathetic crassness , we’ll certainly be on board.
    Reading this thread earlier, we spotted after all the pretty talk , examples used were subtlety political.
    Who will guard the guardians ?

35. Let us agree that all actors in civil society must step up our game for an imperfect system to work at its optimum.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Come on Boss!!
    Time to ‘get a life’ with THAT weak approach.

EVERYONE and their ‘cuntsultants’ have LONG agreed – that we ALL “must step up our game” to just survive – far less ‘work at our optimum’.

CLEARLY THAT HAS NOT BEEN A VERY HELPFUL CALL TO ACTION.

Mia did it with much more flair previously. But now, even she seems to realize that it is a FUTILE call to action.

OUR PROBLEM is MUCH deeper than laziness. it is a SPIRITUAL ISSUE, Boss.

Like it or not….
    Just as there are PHYSICAL Laws like those of ‘gravity’ and ‘light’, there are SPIRITUAL laws that are EVEN more pervasive and all-encompassing….

If you jump off a cliff, then you can ‘step up your game’ as much as you like, …until you hit the bottom.
    UNLESS OF COURSE you engaged a parachute or bungee.

SIMILARLY, if we TURN OUR BACKS on OUR GOD and on the SPIRITUAL LAWS that were established for our success ( Like loving our neighbors, and our CREATOR)
    …PRAY TELL Bushie how ‘stepping up our shiite game’ will be helpful…??!!

Boss, the required ‘parachute’ is SIMPLE and CLEAR. It has been CLEARLY laid out for all (but Pacha) to see…

“If my people, who are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

But you can keep your eyes on this ‘Crapover season’ to judge the likelihood of Bajan BBs heeding such guidance, ….and whether therefore, our urgently needed ‘parachute’ is indeed , a bridge too far…

What a curse!

36. @William

You are correct that the blogmaster’s approach is not a mashup and build back, whether you like it or not it is not who we are.

To your point, why are the people being affected more; lower and blue class not taken to the streets to protest? Pull their children out of school for a week, withhold services to utilities, work etc? Isn’t this how our breathing system of government must work to be effective? We cannot continue to absolve citizens from the responsibility of holding themselves accountable.

37. @Bush Tea

The blogmaster is lagging your extreme positions on these matters. Proceed!

38. Yuh can’t change society
    Society is not under a new world order of goverance
    The truth now lies in the hands that control the world’s economy
    Stop pretending that the answers lie with a society that has no moral ground and has lost its soul
    Just take a look across the landscape of social media and see who calls the shots and find the answers

39. @Wiliiam

Don’t get ‘title up’, reference to a lost decade simply describes a very bad period of economic performance. It doesn’t give a free pass to missteps along the way. This blog is littered with articles criticizing Arthur during the economic boom for example.

40. Donna

“Count me out of that “we,” as well.”

The only encounter I’ve had with monkeys is seeing them walking behind our property or on the wall or when the youngers ones climb our moringa tree to eat the beans.

Because I’ve not been affected by monkeys, doesn’t mean I’m unsympathetic towards those people who have been.

Unfortunately, some of us prefer to politicize issues, rather than discuss and propose alternative solutions to solve them.
    As I mentioned in a previous contribution, the ‘political die-hard supporters’ among us have convinced themselves that, when their ‘party is not in power,’ their ‘political opponents’ should be held responsible for all the issues confronting Barbados.

Ironically, the yard-fowls believe we should remain silent, if those issues remain when their ‘party wins the government.’

The ‘monkey problem’ is a BARBADIAN problem and NOT one that’s political.

By introducing the special interest or advocacy groups into the discussion, I was merely attempting to present an alternative perspective rather than ‘going down’ the usual ‘political blame game route.’

Individuals and farmers who have been affected by monkeys share a common concern. They, in addition to concerned citizens, wild-life reservationists, veterinarians etc, could unite into a formally organised advocacy group, whose primary purpose would be to ensure their interests are represented and heard and influence government policies to benefit their cause.

41. “Never caused the slightest damage to a bus or the bus stand. Cave Shepherd’s bathrooms were and are my Bridgetown pissing place.”

Donna

I understand the point being made. The word, ‘we,’ is a ‘generic personal pronoun,’ and was used within the context of referring to people in general.

The new Fairchild Street Market, for example, was recently constructed. Yet, in the male restroom one toilet is not functioning, a urinal and another toilet have been completely destroyed.

Some people piss or shit and do not flush the toilet, or would use their hands to wipe the shit from their asses and ‘paste’ it on the doors and walls of the restrooms, simply because they know the market general workers have to clean it.

‘Pure wickedness.’

But, they ‘respect’ the toilets in Cave Shepherd, Chefette, KFC and other private establishments in the city.

42. William Skinner Avatar

We were visiting the hospital and taking all the hand sanitizers. Our children deliberately destroy Transport Board buses. We go to other countries and our children fall into line. We have had politicians from both sides encouraging people in housing estates to be delinquent with rent. We have people who bluntly refuse to repay the Student Fund but live very well in the heights and Terraces. For donkey years we had party people living in the same housing estates and renting out their properties denying the lower economic group from getting a house.
    We can go on and on. The people have been fed a diet of do what the hell you like when your party is in power.

43. "the too late eight) Avatar
    “the too late eight)

“reference to a lost decade”

For a man who doesn’t believe, I pray quite often. It is my desperation move, born of the belief that life has to be more than a series of random events; my refusal to believe that the passing of a human carries no more significance than the death of a roach and at the center of the universe there must be some great force holding it all together.

Dear God, please spare us from another “lost decade”, The “wasted six” or the “bungled seven” are much as we can spare. We are frightened of the “too late eight” as we know this is too long for us or our children to suffer.

Father I keep the following in mind “‘My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours. 32 But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’” I hope that you hear the sincere prayer of this non-believer, The OG
    –x–
    Believers, I am doing my bit. Get behind me and help push

44. There have been proposals submitted from the experts on how to live with the monkey problem. They were along the lines of what the farmers in my story figured out for themselves. Plant some fruit trees etc. around the monkeys natural habitat. They won’t come out and raid the farmers’ crops.

45. “Trainer.” Avatar
    “Trainer.”

“There have been proposals submitted from the experts on how to live with the monkey problem.”

“The Monkey Problem.”
    the simplest / best solution is to send the monkeys towards the rich tourists

Same time a man come on an seh, ‘Get up!
    Yuh doan see dat dis-ya place ya dutty-up?’
    An a look pon im, an a never seh one ting

For it was de firs time in me life
    A really reel fi seh someting
    An a couldn bring out nuttin
    So a jus walk

46. Planting fruit trees will help but as long as the population continues to grow with a natural predator/ culling sooner or later the population will overwhelm the food source

Where were u around cotton tower? If u are in the road and facing the tower – coming up the steep hill to the right or that area to the left flat area with trees hanging over the road?